翻譯:English GB

羅馬書 16

個人問安

16:1 我對你們舉薦我們的姊妹非比
   她是堅革哩教會中的女執事。


16:2 請你們為主接待她,合乎聖徒的體統。
   她在何事上要你們幫助,你們就幫助她,
   因她素來幫助許多人,也幫助了我。


16:3 百基拉亞居拉安,
   他們在基督耶穌婸P我同工,

16:4 也為我的命將自己的頸項置之度外。
   不但我感謝他們,就是外邦的眾教會也感謝他們。

16:5 又問在他們家中的教會安。
   問我所親愛的以拜尼土安,
   他在亞西亞是歸基督初結的果子。

16:6 又問馬利亞安,
   她為你們多受勞苦。

16:7 又問我親屬與我一同坐監的安多尼古猶尼亞安,
   他們在使徒中是有名望的,也是比我先在基督堙C

16:8 又問我在主堶惟瓵侇R的暗伯利安。
16:9 又問在基督婸P我們同工的耳巴奴
   并我所親愛的士大古安。

16:10 又問在基督婺g過試驗的亞比利安。
   問亞利多布家堛漱H安。

16:11 又問我親屬希羅天安。
   問拿其數家在主堛漱H安。

16:12 又問為主勞苦的土非拿氏土富撒氏安。
   問可親愛為主多受勞苦的彼息氏安。

16:13 又問在主蒙揀選的魯孚他母親安,
   他的母親就是我的母親。

16:14 又問亞遜其土弗勒幹黑米八羅巴黑馬
   并與他們在一處的弟兄們安。

16:15 又問非羅羅古猶利亞尼利亞他姊妹,同阿林巴
   并與他們在一處的眾聖徒安。

16:16 你們親嘴問安,彼此務要聖潔。
   基督的眾教會都問你們安。


16:17 弟兄們,
   那些離間你們,叫你們跌倒,背乎所學之道的人,
   我勸你們要留意躲避他們。

16:18 因為這樣的人不服事我們的主基督,
   只服事自己的肚腹,
   用花言巧語誘惑那些老實人的心。

16:19 你們的順服已經傳于眾人,所以我為你們歡喜﹔
   但我愿意你們在善上聰明,在惡上愚拙。


16:20 賜平安的神快要將撒但踐踏在你們腳下。
   愿我主耶穌基督的恩常和你們同在。


16:21 與我同工的提摩太和我的親屬路求耶孫所西巴德問你們安。
16:22 我這代筆寫信的德丟,在主堶掠搷A們安。
16:23 那接待我,也接待全教會的該猶,問你們安。
16:24 城內管銀庫的以拉都和兄弟括土,問你們安。

16:25 惟有神能照我所傳的福音和所講的耶穌基督,
   并照永古隱藏不言的奧秘,堅固你們的心。

16:26 這奧秘如今顯明出來,而且按著永生神的命,
   借眾先知的書指示萬國的民,使他們信服真道。

16:27 愿榮耀因耶穌基督歸與獨一全智的神,直到永遠!阿們。


問題討論

在你們教會的基督徒堙A有多少人你知道他們的名字?
你平時有多少時間與基督徒單獨在一起或同在一個小組堙H
如果你要與志向相同的人交朋友,他們會是什麼樣的人?
你認為你需要具備什麼才能被看作是保羅的朋友?耶穌的朋友?
第17節 他說的“離間”指的是什麼?
人在我們的路上放有哪些種絆腳石?
第18節 把耶穌講道的方式與那些說話圓滑、阿諛奉承的人作比較。
你能肯定你的牧師對你講的一切話都是對的嗎?

注釋

個人的價值

羅馬書第十六章概觀

羅馬書第十六章大部分用來賞識每個基督徒的價值,這些人大多是保羅的同工。耶穌珍視這樣的人更甚于他自己的家人(包括馬麗亞)。“耶穌還對眾人說話的時候,不料,他母親和他弟兄站在外邊,要與他說話。有人告訴他說:‘看哪,你母親和你弟兄站在外邊,要與你說話。’他卻回答那人說:‘誰是我的母親?誰是我的弟兄?’就伸手指著門徒說:‘看哪,我的母親,我的弟兄。凡遵行我天父旨意的人,就是我的弟兄姐妹和母親了。”【馬太福音 12:46-50】

而今天,教會往往貶低個人的價值,而注重節目和數量。但如我們將在這一章堿搢鴘滿A保羅看重個人。盡管他的事奉概括了羅馬帝國的很大一部分,然而他顯然花時間與個人在一起,與每個人建立起關系,這種關系遠深于通常在機夠化教會堿搢鴘瑤妓L關系。最近的一個調查表明百分之七十的牧師說他們沒有親近的朋友。

還要注意到這些人都是做工的。而今天,基督徒只要能參加查經就可能受到表揚,而在這堙A他表彰他們為主做工。但在今天,很少有基督徒受到鼓勵把自己看作是做工的。


非比

羅馬書 16:1-5a 我對你們舉薦我們的姊妹非比,她是堅革哩教會中的女執事。請你們為主接待她,合乎聖徒的體統。她在何事上要你們幫助,你們就幫助她,因她素來幫助許多人,也幫助了我。

雖然保羅不許女人講道或轄管男人(【提摩太前書 2:11-14】),但在教會堙A女人仍然可以積極地在實際的事上事奉。在耶穌的事奉堣]同樣,比如關于釘十字架,經上說:“有好些婦女在那堙A遠遠地觀看。她們是從加利利跟隨耶穌來服事他的。”【馬太福音 27:55】使徒行傳第九章表彰一個女人說:“在約帕有一個女徒,名叫大比大,翻希利尼話,就是多加(“多加”就是“羚羊”的意思)﹔她廣行善事,多施周濟。”【使徒行傳 9:36】

堅革哩在哥林多地區,哥林多是一個港口城市。因此,看上去非比當時在計劃到羅馬去。

問百基拉和亞居拉安,他們在基督耶穌婸P我同工,也為我的命將自己的頸項置之度外。不但我感謝他們,就是外邦的眾教會也感謝他們。又問在他們家中的教會安。

注意到雖然當時保羅還沒有去過羅馬,但這些人他大多很熟悉。有些人猜測百基拉和亞居拉建立了羅馬教會。經上還數次提到這對夫婦。他們本是羅馬人,但在哥林多待過一段時間。“這事以後,保羅離了雅典,來到哥林多。遇見一個猶太人,名叫亞居拉,他生在本都。因為革老丟命猶太人都離開羅馬,新近帶著妻百基拉,從義大利來。保羅就投奔了他們。他們本是制造帳棚為業。保羅因與他們同業,就和他們同住作工。”【使徒行傳 18:1-3】他們還曾與保羅一同差傳。“保羅又住了多日,就辭別了弟兄,坐船往敘利亞去,百基拉、亞居拉和他同去。他因為許過愿,就在堅革哩剪了頭發。”【使徒行傳 18:18】他們還更加詳細地將神的道講解給亞波羅聽(【使徒行傳 18:26】)。


同工

羅馬書 16:5b-9 問我所親愛的以拜尼土安,他在亞西亞是歸基督初結的果子。又問馬利亞安,她為你們多受勞苦。又問我親屬與我一同坐監的安多尼古和猶尼亞安,他們在使徒中是有名望的,也是比我先在基督堙C又問我在主堶惟瓵侇R的暗伯利安。又問在基督婸P我們同工的耳巴奴,并我所親愛的士大古安。

從他給教會的書信可以看出,保羅在個人的基礎上深深地關切很多人。他與以拜尼土的友情表明他繼續關心那些受他的影響轉化的人。而且他特別贊賞那些努力事奉別人的人,無論男女。

至于安多尼古和猶尼亞,“親屬”一詞也許不大准確。因為雖然這個詞的希臘原文“συγγενηζ”有親戚的意思,保羅很可能是像新欽定譯本(NKJV)所翻譯的那樣,指的是他的同胞,即猶太人。因為他還在第九章使用了同一個詞說:“為我弟兄,我骨肉之,就是自己被咒詛,與基督分離,我也愿意。”【羅馬書 9:3】,泛指猶太人。我們不知道他們是什麼時候與保羅被關在一起的,因為使徒行傳沒有說。至于在使徒中是有名望,羅伯遜注釋說:“自然地,這表示他們在一般意義上為使徒們所知,比如巴拿巴、雅各,基督的弟兄、西拉,和其它人。但其意思也可以簡單地是他們在使徒中聞名。

但總而言之,他稱贊他們的傑出,如他在此稱贊其它人一樣。因此,讓我們稱贊,表揚和榮耀那些在為事奉主勞作中表現傑出的人。


勞苦的工人

羅馬書 16:10-12 又問在基督婺g過試驗的亞比利安。問亞利多布家堛漱H安。又問我親屬希羅天安。問拿其數家在主堛漱H安。又問為主勞苦的土非拿氏和土富撒氏安。問可親愛為主多受勞苦的彼息氏安。

如果人們尋求別人的贊同,他們先要經歷一段時間的試煉。“忍受試探的人是有福的,因為他經過試驗以後,必得生命的冠冕,這是主應許給那些愛他之人的。”【雅各書 1:12】在這一節堨L提到另外三位婦女,又說她們勞苦。“勞苦”指的是一個人工作的強度,也就是竭力地工作。并且用“多”形容彼息氏和第六節堸豆Q亞的勞苦,區別于土非拿氏和土富撒氏的勞苦。這表明保羅不但稱贊了別人的勞苦,而仔細地注意到他們的勞苦的程度。

你會因為基督徒的事奉多受勞苦而得到稱贊嗎?或者你根本就沒有為之勞苦呢?


魯孚

羅馬書 16:13-16 又問在主蒙揀選的魯孚和他母親安,他的母親就是我的母親。又問亞遜其土、弗勒幹、黑米、八羅巴、黑馬,并與他們在一處的弟兄們安。又問非羅羅古和猶利亞、尼利亞和他姊妹,同阿林巴,并與他們在一處的眾聖徒安。你們親嘴問安,彼此務要聖潔。基督的眾教會都問你們安。

魯孚有可能是那位曾幫耶穌背十字架的西門的兒子。有一個古利奈人西門,就是亞力山大和魯孚的父親,從鄉下來,經過那地方。他們就勉強他同去,好背著耶穌的十字架。【馬可福音 15:21】

前面提到的那些人都受到了特別的表彰,我認為保羅在提到這些人時沒有像前面那些人那樣特別地表彰他們。這有點像在審判日上有些人將因他們所受的勞苦而大受表彰,而有些人雖然他們的名字被記在生命冊上,但沒有特別的表彰。你想當哪種人呢?

“親嘴問安,彼此務要聖潔”還在別的幾處提到:【哥林多前書 16:20】【哥林多後書 13:12】【帖撒羅尼迦前書 5:26】。這是那種文化堛漱@種問安形式,在關系上表示比一般認識的人更近,在感情上更甚于尊敬。但問安形式的意義和是否合宜往往是文化的問題,這在今天已經很少見。但我們看到其原則在這一章的應用,保羅向所有這些人表達了他的心,如他在他的很多書信堜猁竁F的那樣。


不要太幼稚

羅馬書 16:17-18 弟兄們,那些離間你們,叫你們跌倒,背乎所學之道的人,我勸你們要留意躲避他們。因為這樣的人不服事我們的主基督,只服事自己的肚腹,用花言巧語誘惑那些老實人的心。

每當有了紛爭,每一方都會宣稱他們是衡量對方的准則。但事實上所有一切都應以聖經的光來檢驗,而不是以教派的教義。天主教也許會聲稱新教是造成紛爭的,如果以“天主教教義”來衡量的話,那的確如此,但事實并非如此。衡量一切的准則是聖經,而不是天主教教義。那些自認為是衡量一切的准則的其它教派也同樣。

事實上,要求以機構的教條合一到某個機構周圍本身就固有地會造成紛爭。甚至在福音派堙A也有效忠于某個機構化教會而不是另一個的想法。但基督的身體不是一個機構,而是所有信徒的集合,一個合作的身體,以把聖經當作神的道,用同一個聖靈來對其加以解釋和應用,所有信督都從這位聖靈受洗。因為我們“都從一位聖靈受洗,成了一個身體,飲于一位聖靈。”【哥林多前書 12:13b】你可以很容易地看出誰因為他們的教義而造成紛爭。因為要抬高他們自己,給他們自己一種高于其它基督徒的感覺,他們必須夸大,誤解,或扭曲聖經,以造出一些獨特的教義來,使他們有可能與別人區別開來。事實上所有的教派都在不同的程度上這樣做。因此保羅警告說:“因為時候要到,人必厭煩純正的道理,耳朵發痒,就隨從自己的情欲,增添好些師傅,并且掩耳不聽真道,偏向荒渺的言語。”【提摩太後書 4:3-4】不要太幼稚。


順服、聰明與愚拙

羅馬書 16:19-20 你們的順服已經傳于眾人,所以我為你們歡喜﹔但我愿意你們在善上聰明,在惡上愚拙。賜平安的神快要將撒但踐踏在你們腳下。愿我主耶穌基督的恩常和你們同在。

順服是由神生的人的特征。因為按照【約翰福音 1:12】,信使人由神生,我們可以說,順服是由信來的,“信服真道”【羅馬書 1:5b】

信 ─> 稱義 ─> 重生 ─> 順服 ─> 成為聖潔

還有,順服福音為傳播福音打開了門,使別人贊美神。

“他們從這供給的事上得了憑據,知道你們承認基督,順服他的福音,”【哥林多後書 9:13a】

“因為主的道從你們那堣w經傳揚出來,你們向神的信心不但在馬其頓和亞該亞,就是在各處也都傳開了﹔所以不用我們說什麼話。因為他們自己已經報明我們是怎樣進到你們那堙A你們是怎樣離棄偶像,歸向神,要服事那又真又活的神,等候他兒子從天降臨,就是他從死奡_活的,”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 1:8-10a】

“我聽見我的兒女們按真理而行,我的喜樂就沒有比這個大的。”【約翰三書 1:4】

我們要成熟,在行善上變成有經驗的,而要對做惡變成沒有經驗的,但不是幼稚的。保羅寫到:“然而在惡事上要作嬰孩。在心志上總要作大人。”【哥林多前書 14:20b】

將撒但的頭踐踏在腳下的應許可遠遠追溯到【創世紀 3:15】堬臚@個關于彌賽亞的預言。


其它人的問安

羅馬書 16:21-24 與我同工的提摩太和我的親屬路求、耶孫、所西巴德問你們安。我這代筆寫信的德丟,在主堶掠搷A們安。那接待我,也接待全教會的該猶,問你們安。城內管銀庫的以拉都和兄弟括土,問你們安。

有可能關于這些人的經文有這些:

路求 “在安提阿的教會中,有幾位先知和教師,就是巴拿巴,和稱呼尼結的西面,古利奈人路求,與分封之王希律同養的馬念,并掃羅。”【使徒行傳 13:1】

耶孫 【使徒行傳 17:5-9】

該猶 【使徒行傳 19:29】【使徒行傳 20:4】;【哥林多前書 1:14】【約翰三書 1:1】

以拉都 【使徒行傳 19:22】【提摩太後書 4:20】

注意到這封信是由保羅口述,德丟代筆的。雖然保羅能讀會寫,當時他也許有某種疾病,使他寫字有困難,比如眼疾,因此他在加拉太書媦g到:“請看我親手寫給你們的字是何等的大呢。”【加拉太書 6:11】但保羅有時的確親自動筆問安,比如他寫到:“我保羅親筆問你們安。凡我的信都以此為記,我的筆蹟就是這樣。”【帖撒羅尼迦後書 3:17】


被福音堅固

羅馬書 16:25-27 惟有神能照我所傳的福音和所講的耶穌基督,并照永古隱藏不言的奧秘,堅固你們的心。這奧秘如今顯明出來,而且按著永生神的命,借眾先知的書指示萬國的民,使他們信服真道。愿榮耀因耶穌基督歸與獨一全智的神,直到永遠!阿們。

在這堛`意到神的命令是要把福音傳到所有的國家。那些不參與傳播福音的人是在違背神的命令。但對那些信的人來說,這根本就不應該成為一個問題。因為如果我們信福音,就會說出來。“但我們既有信心,正如經上記著說:‘我因信,所以如此說話。’我們也信,所以也說話。”【哥林多後書 4:13】因為我們明白:“我們既知道主是可畏的,所以勸人。”【哥林多後書 5:11】因為除了信福音之外,沒有任何對從神的忿怒中被救出來的保証。“這道理就是歷世歷代所隱藏的奧秘,但如今向他的聖徒顯明了。”【歌羅西書 1:26】

被“堅固”就是造就深深的,毫不動搖的信,這是成為聖潔的過程的一部分,這本身就是拯救所包括的,如保羅在這婸﹛G“照我所傳的福音和所講的耶穌基督。”因為,“但主是信實的,要堅固你們,保護你們脫離那惡者(或作“脫離凶惡”)。”【帖撒羅尼迦後書 3:3】這是福音信息的一部分。福音不只是關于稱義。福音還包括我們在基督堛澈O証,聖靈給我們的能力,重生對我們行為的效果。


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Romans 16 (web)

Personal Greetings

16:1 I commend to you Phoebe, our sister,
who is a servant of the assembly that is at Cenchreae,

16:2 that you receive her in the Lord, in a way worthy of the saints,
and that you assist her in whatever matter she may need from you,
for she herself also has been a helper of many, and of my own self.
16:3 Greet Prisca and Aquila, my fellow workers in Christ Jesus,
16:4 who for my life, laid down their own necks; to whom not only I give thanks,
but also all the assemblies of the Gentiles.
16:5 Greet the assembly that is in their house.
Greet Epaenetus, my beloved, who is the first fruits of Achaia to Christ.
16:6 Greet Mary, who labored much for us.
16:7 Greet Andronicus and Junias, my relatives and my fellow prisoners,
who are notable among the apostles, who also were in Christ before me.
16:8 Greet Amplias, my beloved in the Lord.
16:9 Greet Urbanus, our fellow worker in Christ, and Stachys, my beloved.
16:10 Greet Apelles, the approved in Christ.
Greet those who are of the household of Aristobulus.
16:11 Greet Herodion, my kinsman.
Greet them of the household of Narcissus, who are in the Lord.
16:12 Greet Tryphaena and Tryphosa, who labor in the Lord.
Greet Persis, the beloved, who labored much in the Lord.
16:13 Greet Rufus, the chosen in the Lord, and his mother and mine.
16:14 Greet Asyncritus, Phlegon, Hermes, Patrobas, Hermas,
and the brothers who are with them.
16:15 Greet Philologus and Julia, Nereus and his sister, and Olympas,
and all the saints who are with them.
16:16 Greet one another with a holy kiss. The assemblies of Christ greet you.
16:17 Now I beg you, brothers, look out for those
who are causing the divisions and occasions of stumbling,
contrary to the doctrine which you learned, and turn away from them.
16:18 For those who are such don't serve our Lord, Jesus Christ, but their own belly;
and by their smooth and flattering speech, they deceive the hearts of the innocent.
16:19 For your obedience has become known to all. I rejoice therefore over you.
But I desire to have you wise in that which is good, but innocent in that which is evil.

16:20 And the God of peace will quickly crush Satan under your feet.
The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you.

16:21 Timothy, my fellow worker, greets you,
as do Lucius, Jason, and Sosipater, my relatives.
16:22 I, Tertius, who write the letter, greet you in the Lord.
16:23 Gaius, my host and host of the whole assembly, greets you.
Erastus, the treasurer of the city, greets you, as does Quartus, the brother.
16:24 The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you all! Amen.

16:25  Now to Him who is able to establish you according to my gospel and the preaching of Jesus Christ, according to the revelation of the mystery kept secret since the world began
16:26 but now has been made manifest, and by the prophetic Scriptures has been made known to all nations, according to the commandment of the everlasting God, for obedience to the faith——
16:27 to God, alone wise, be glory through Jesus Christ forever. Amen.


Discussion Questions

How many Christians in your church do you know by name?
How many do you spend personal time with individually or in a small group during the week?
If you were to make friends with people of like-heart with yourself,
what kind of people would they be?
What do you think it would require of you to have been considered Paul's friend? Jesus' friend?
vs 17 What kinds of divisions was he referring to?
And what kind of obstacles do people put in our way?
vs 18 Compare the manner in which Jesus presented truth with those who speak smoothly and with flattery. (Example: Matthew 23)
Should you presume that everything you pastor tells you is true?
 

Comments

The Value of the Individual

Romans 16 Overview

Most of Romans 16 is devoted to recognizing the significance of individual Christians most of whom were colaborers with Paul. Jesus cherished such people more so than His own family (including Mary). While He was still talking to the multitudes, behold, His mother and brothers stood outside, seeking to speak with Him. Then one said to Him, "Look, Your mother and Your brothers are standing outside, seeking to speak with You." But He answered and said to the one who told Him, "Who is My mother and who are My brothers?" And He stretched out His hand toward His disciples and said, "Here are My mother and My brothers! "For whoever does the will of My Father in heaven is My brother and sister and mother." Mt 12:46-50

Often churches today tend to devalue individuals putting emphasis rather on programs and numbers. But as we will see in this chapter Paul had individuals on his mind, in spite of the fact that his ministry was to a large portion of the Roman Empire. Yet he obviously spent time with individuals, building relationships beyond the shallow relationships one normally associates with institutional Christianity. One recent survey of pastors noted that 70% of pastors say that they have no close friend.

Notice also that these people were laborers. While today, Christians may be praise just for showing up for church or Bible study, here he praises them for the their laboring for the Lord. But then again so few Christians today are encouraged to think of themselves as laborers.


Phoebe

Rom 16:1-5a I commend to you our sister Phoebe, a servant of the church in Cenchrea.  I ask you to receive her in the Lord in a way worthy of the saints and to give her any help she may need from you, for she has been a great help to many people, including me.

While Paul did not allow women to teach or hold positions of authority over men (1Tim 2:11-14), women were active in serving the church with regards to practical matters. Likewise during Jesus ministry, for being crucified it is written, "Many women were there, watching from a distance. They had followed Jesus from Galilee to care for his needs." Mt 27:55  And in Acts 9 a woman is commended. "In Joppa there was a disciple named Tabitha (which, when translated, is Dorcas), who was always doing good and helping the poor." Acts 9:36

Cenchrea was in the area of Corinth, the port city of Corinth. So it appears Phoebe was planning to travel to Rome.

Greet Priscilla and Aquila, my fellow workers in Christ Jesus. They risked their lives for me. Not only I but all the churches of the Gentiles are grateful to them. Greet also the church that meets at their house.
 
Note that while Paul had not been to Rome he was familiar with many of these people. Some speculate that Priscilla and Aquila founded the church at Rome. This couple is mentioned a number of times. They were originally from Rome but moved to Corinth for a time. "There he met a Jew named Aquila, a native of Pontus, who had recently come from Italy with his wife Priscilla, because Claudius had ordered all the Jews to leave Rome. Paul went to see them,  and because he was a tentmaker as they were, he stayed and worked with them." Acts 18:2,3 They also traveled with Paul for a time. "Paul stayed on in Corinth for some time. Then he left the brothers and sailed for Syria, accompanied by Priscilla and Aquila." Acts 18:18 They also explained to Apollos the way of God more accurately. (Acts 18:26)


Fellow Workers

Rom 16:5-9 Greet my dear friend Epenetus, who was the first convert to Christ in the province of Asia. Greet Mary, who worked very hard for you. Greet Andronicus and Junias, my relatives who have been in prison with me. They are outstanding among the apostles, and they were in Christ before I was. Greet Ampliatus, whom I love in the Lord. Greet Urbanus, our fellow worker in Christ, and my dear friend Stachys.

As is reflected in many of his epistles to the churches, Paul cared deeply about many people on an individual basis. His friendship with Epenetus shows that those he converted he also followed up. And he gives special recognition to those who work hard ministering to others, be they men or women.

As for Andronicus and Junias, the word "relatives" may be misleading. For while the Greek word "suggenes" can refer to relatives, Paul is likely referring to his countrymen as the NKJV translates it, namely Jews. As he also notes concerning Herodian in verse 11. For he also used the same word in chapter 9 saying, "For I could wish that I myself were accursed from Christ for my brethren, my countrymen according to the flesh", referring to Jews in general. We don't know when they had been imprisoned with Paul as the book of Acts is not comprehensive. As for being outstanding among the apostles, Roberson notes, "Naturally this means that they are counted among the apostles in the general sense true of Barnabas, James, the brother of Christ, Silas, and others. But it can mean simply that they were famous in the circle of the apostles in the technical sense."

In any case he commends them for being outstanding, as he does all these others. So let us recognize, commend and honor those who are doing an outstanding job laboring for the Lord.


Hard Workers

Rom 16:10-12 Greet Apelles, tested and approved in Christ. Greet those who belong to the household of Aristobulus. Greet Herodion, my relative. Greet those in the household of Narcissus who are in the Lord. Greet Tryphena and Tryphosa, those women who work hard in the Lord. Greet my dear friend Persis, another woman who has worked very hard in the Lord.

If people seek approval, they're going to have to go through a season of testing. "Blessed is the man who perseveres under trial, because when he has stood the test, he will receive the crown of life that God has promised to those who love him." Jam 1:12 In this section he notes three more women who were commendable, again characterizing them as working very hard. "Worked" is the word more accurately translated "labored", indicating the intensity of one's work, that which is exhausting. And even makes the distinct between Persis who labored, but adds the modifier "much" to described the labor of Mary in verse 6 and that of Tryphena and Tryphosa here, indicating that Paul carefully noted not only the commendable labors of others, but also the degree to which they labored.

Would you be commended for laboring much, or even laboring at all with regards to Christian ministry?


Rufus

Rom 16:13-16 Greet Rufus, chosen in the Lord, and his mother, who has been a mother to me, too. Greet Asyncritus, Phlegon, Hermes, Patrobas, Hermas and the brothers with them. Greet Philologus, Julia, Nereus and his sister, and Olympas and all the saints with them. Greet one another with a holy kiss. All the churches of Christ send greetings.

There's a possibility that Rufus may have been the son of one Simon who carried Jesus cross.  Mr 15:21 "And they compel one Simon a Cyrenian, who passed by, coming out of the country, the father of Alexander and Rufus, to bear his cross."

And having given special commendation to those previously mentioned, these others I take it Paul mentions without special commendation, not worthy of the same recognition. Kind of like the judgement day where there will be those who will be commended greatly for their labor, and others who will simply be noted as having their names written in the book of life, but without special commendation. Which would you rather be?

"Holy kiss" is mentioned a number of places. 1Cor 16:20; 2Cor 13:12; 1Th 5:26 It was cultural form of greeting expressing the relationship being more than that of acquaintance, and more emotional than that of respect. But as the meanings and appropriateness of forms of greeting are often a matter of culture, this is not widely practiced today. But we see the principle applied in this very chapter as Paul shows his heart for all these people, as he also expresses in many of his epistles.


Don't be Naive

Rom 16:17,18  I urge you, brothers, to watch out for those who cause divisions and put obstacles in your way that are contrary to the teaching you have learned. Keep away from them. For such people are not serving our Lord Christ, but their own appetites. By smooth talk and flattery they deceive the minds of naive people.

Whenever there is division, either side may claim that they are the standard by which the opposition should be measured. But in fact everything should be scrutinized in light of the scriptures, rather that in light of denominational doctrine. Catholics may claim protestants are the those who caused divisions, which would be the case if "Catholicism" were the measure of all things, but it isn't. The Bible is the measure of all things and not Catholicism. And likewise with regards to other denominations which reckon themselves to be the measure of all things.

In fact the demand to unify around an institution with its institutional dogma is itself inherently divisive. Even among evangelicals there is a sense of allegiance to one institutional church over another institutional church. But the body of Christ is not an institution, but a collection of all believers in Christ, a corporate body, being unified in holding the Bible as the Word of God and interpreting and applying it in the same Spirit, the one Spirit into which all have been baptized. "For we were all baptized by one Spirit into one body." 1Cor 12:13a You can most easily identify they who cause divisions and offenses by their doctrine. For in order to make a themselves distinct and give themselves a sense of superiority over other Christians, they must exaggerate, misinterpret, or twist the scriptures in order to fabricate some doctrine unique to them whereby they may set themselves apart from others. And in fact virtually all denominations do this to some degree. Thus Paul warns, "The time will come when men will not put up with sound doctrine. Instead, to suit their own desires, they will gather around them a great number of teachers to say what their itching ears want to hear. They will turn their ears away from the truth and turn aside to myths." 2Tim 4:3,4 Don't be naive.


Be Obedient, Wise and Innocent

Rom 16:19,20 Everyone has heard about your obedience, so I am full of joy over you; but I want you to be wise about what is good, and innocent about what is evil. The God of peace will soon crush Satan under your feet. The grace of our Lord Jesus be with you.

Obedience is characteristic of those born of God. And since according to John 1:12, faith leads to being born of God, one could say, "obedience comes from faith" Rom 1:5

Faith -> Justification -> Regeneration -> Obedience -> Sanctification

Furthermore obedience to the gospel opens doors for evangelism and causes others to praise God.

"Because of the service by which you have proved yourselves, men will praise God for the obedience that accompanies your confession of the gospel of Christ." 2Cor 9:13a

"The Lord’s message rang out from you not only in Macedonia and Achaia— your faith in God has become known everywhere. Therefore we do not need to say anything about it, for they themselves report what kind of reception you gave us. They tell how you turned to God from idols to serve the living and true God, and to wait for his Son from heaven, whom he raised from the dead" 1Th 1:8-10a

"I have no greater joy than to hear that my children are walking in the truth." 3John 1:4

We are to mature, becoming more experienced in doing good, and inexperienced, but not naive with regards to evil. Paul writes, "In regard to evil be infants, but in your thinking be adults." 1Cor 14:20

The promise of crushing Satan's head goes back to the first Messianic prophecy found in Genesis 3:15.


Greetings from Others

Rom 16:21-24 Timothy, my fellow worker, sends his greetings to you, as do Lucius, Jason and Sosipater, my relatives. I, Tertius, who wrote down this letter, greet you in the Lord.  Gaius, whose hospitality I and the whole church here enjoy, sends you his greetings. Erastus, who is the city’s director of public works, and our brother Quartus send you their greetings. The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you all. Amen.


Possible Cross References to some of these guys:
Note the Paul dictated this letter to Tertius who was the one who actually wrote it down. Though Paul was literate, he may have had an affliction which made it difficult for him to write, likely an eye disease, and thus in Gal 6:11 he writes, "See what large letters I use as I write to you with my own hand!" Though Paul did pen the greetings personally as he said in 2Th 3:17 "I, Paul, write this greeting in my own hand, which is the distinguishing mark in all my letters. This is how I write."


Established by the Gospel

Rom 16:25-27 Now to Him who is able to establish you according to my gospel and the preaching of Jesus Christ, according to the revelation of the mystery kept secret since the world began but now has been made manifest, and by the prophetic Scriptures has been made known to all nations, according to the commandment of the everlasting God, for obedience to the faith—— to God, alone wise, be glory through Jesus Christ forever. Amen.

To be noted here is that it is God's command for the gospel to be made known to all nations. Those who are not involved in promoting and propagating the gospel are not obeying God's command. But that should not even be an issue for those who believe the gospel. For if we believe the gospel, we will speak it. It is written: "I believed; therefore I have spoken." With that same spirit of faith we also believe and therefore speak. 2Cor 4:13 For we realize that "since we know what it is to fear the Lord, we try to persuade men." 2Cor 5:11, given that apart from faith in the gospel there is no promise for salvation from God's wrath,  "the mystery which has been hidden from ages and from generations, but now has been revealed to His saints." Col 1:26

What is it to be "established" but to be made strong in conviction, unshakeable in faith, which is part of the sanctification process, which itself is part of the salvation package, as Paul indicates here saying, "according to my gospel and the preaching of Jesus Christ." For "the Lord is faithful, who will establish you and guard you from the evil one." 2Th 3:3 That's part of the gospel message. The gospel is not just about justification. It's also about the security we have in Christ, the empowering by the Holy Spirit, and the effect regeneration has on our behavior.


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015