翻譯:English GB

羅馬書 6:16-23

成為聖潔與罪,之二

從罪堭o了釋放
奴仆的行為

6:15 這卻怎麼樣呢?
  我們在恩典之下,不在律法之下,就可以犯罪嗎?
  斷乎不可!

6:16 豈不曉得你們獻上自己作奴仆,
  順從誰,就作誰的奴仆嗎?
  或作罪的奴仆,以至于死﹔
  或作順命的奴仆,以至成義。


6:17 感謝神,因為你們從前雖然作罪的奴仆,
  現今卻從心媔隍A了所傳給你們道理的模范。

6:18 你們既從罪堭o了釋放,就作了義的奴仆。
6:19 我因你們肉體的軟弱,就照人的常話對你們說:
  你們從前怎樣將肢體獻給不潔不法作奴仆,以至于不法﹔
  現今也要照樣將肢體獻給義作奴仆,以至于成聖。

6:20 因為你們作罪之奴仆的時候,就不被義約束了。
6:21 你們現今所看為羞恥的事,當日有什麼果子呢?
  那些事的結局就是死。


6:22 但現今你們既從罪堭o了釋放,作了神的奴仆,
  就有成聖的果子,那結局就是永生。

6:23 因為罪的工價乃是死﹔
  惟有神的恩賜,在我們的主基督耶穌堙A
  乃是永生。


問題討論

這一段婸〞爾o的奴仆指的是罪決定了我們的歸宿,還是罪控制了我們的行為?

按照這一段,若有人問你:“如果基督徒被白白地赦免,如果他們是否得救不取決于他們的行為,他們何必還要耽心不要犯罪呢?如果得救是有保証的,為什麼不喜歡做什麼就做什麼?不犯罪有什麼益處呢?”你將如何回答?

罪對人生有哪些害處?

按義的方式生活對你的現在和將來有什麼益處?


注釋

從罪堭o了釋放,但不是自由地去犯罪

羅馬書 6:16-18 豈不曉得你們獻上自己作奴仆,順從誰,就作誰的奴仆嗎?或作罪的奴仆,以至于死﹔或作順命的奴仆,以至成義。感謝神,因為你們從前雖然作罪的奴仆,現今卻從心媔隍A了所傳給你們道理的模范。你們既從罪堭o了釋放,就作了義的奴仆。

說我們有犯罪的自由是自相矛盾的,因為犯罪是奴役的一種形式。但即使在新約的時代,也有人雖然口口聲聲地稱自己是基督徒,但宣揚基督徒應自由地繼續犯罪。“他們說虛妄矜夸的大話,用肉身的情欲和邪淫的事引誘那些剛才脫離妄行的人。他們應許人得以自由,自己卻作敗壞的奴仆。因為人被誰制伏就是誰的奴仆。”【彼得後書 2:18-19】

欺騙是罪性最有效的武器,試圖讓重生的人相信罪性的欲望是我們的愿望。它們不是。保羅後面將在第七章和第八章塈騤埴茼a說明這個區別。順服于神是那些由神生的人的特征,如耶穌說:“我的羊聽我的聲音﹔我也認識他們,他們也跟著我。”【約翰福音 10:27】因此,“我們若遵守他的誡命,就曉得是認識他。”【約翰一書 2:3】與使人得救的信相隨的是順服。雖然在順服的過程中有與肉身的爭戰,但它不是不情愿的,墨守律法的順服,而是發自內心的。事實上,為了避免墨守律法式的順服,神對于基督徒的生活所下的命令很少。而在使徒書信堣j部分給基督徒的命令都是關于態度,一個人若不是出內心,就無法遵行這些命令。

不要錯誤地以為從罪堭o了釋放就意味著我們可以想做什麼就做什麼。因為,“并且他替眾人死,是叫那些活著的人不再為自己活,乃為替他們死而復活的主活。”【哥林多後書 5:15】重生的性質從某種意義上講使我們作義的奴仆。因此,“凡從神生的就不犯罪,因神的道(原文作“種”)存在他心堙Q他也不能犯罪,因為他是由神生的。”【約翰一書 3:9】


你想要哪種結果?

羅馬書 6:19-21 我因你們肉體的軟弱,就照人的常話對你們說:你們從前怎樣將肢體獻給不潔不法作奴仆,以至于不法﹔現今也要照樣將肢體獻給義作奴仆,以至于成聖。因為你們作罪之奴仆的時候,就不被義約束了。你們現今所看為羞恥的事,當日有什麼果子呢?那些事的結局就是死。

我認為影響行為的一個動機就是考慮其最終結果。罪所生的就是罪。妥協會導致更大的罪和癮,使人陷在其中。保羅在第一章奡y述了這個敗壞的過程。在那堙A他說到可羞恥的情欲(【羅馬書 1:26】)。雖然未重生的人也許不會感到羞恥,但當一個人來到基督時,隨之而來的是對罪惡行為所感到的羞恥。良心會因此而促使一個人行善,同時意識到罪的惡果。罪帶來的是羞恥,雖然它不至使由神生的人被定罪,但它會帶來敗壞,使人結不出好果子,因此為什麼要犯罪呢?罪是沒有成效的。注意到這種動機與罪和死的律法所帶來的動機的區別。這是隨著聖靈走。這出自觀點和態度的改變,是信基督的結果。

信徒有多結果子的生活的潛力。事實上關于他自己的生活,保羅甚至沒有考慮他的生活會不結果子的可能性。因為他說:“但我在肉身活著,若成就我工夫的果子,”【腓立比書 1:22a】因為耶穌說:“常在我堶悸滿A我也常在他堶情A這人就多結果子﹔”【約翰福音 15:5b】


工價與恩賜

羅馬書 6:22-23 但現今你們既從罪堭o了釋放,作了神的奴仆,就有成聖的果子,那結局就是永生。因為罪的工價乃是死﹔惟有神的恩賜,在我們的主基督耶穌堙A乃是永生。

雖然奴仆有負面的意義,但事實上我們都是奴仆。別的不說,我們要麼是神的奴仆,要麼是罪的奴仆。但意識到奴仆不同與玩偶。奴仆有自由意識,要麼順服,要麼不順服他們的主人。那些罪的奴仆被他們的罪性逼著去犯罪,而神的奴仆甘愿讓耶穌作他們的主,并得到恩賜,使順服于神的性質成為他們自然的屬性“我們原是他的工作,在基督耶穌堻y成的,為要叫我們行善,就是神所預備叫我們行的。”【以弗所述 2:10】

罪的代價就是我們與神的關系的死亡。但永生不是神給我們的工價,而是神給我們的恩賜。記得前面在第四章堙A他比較了工價與恩賜。“做工的得工價,不算恩典,乃是該得的﹔惟有不做工的,只信稱罪人為義的神,他的信就算為義。”【羅馬書 4:4-5】人為被定罪而做工。他們應該被定罪,因為他們為之做了工。但我們得到永生不是掙來的。永生的生命是神的恩賜。因此信徒產生聖潔的果子不是為了得救。反之,我們先了得救,永生的生命有了保証,之後才為聖潔而做工──這個過程被稱作成為聖潔。


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Romans 6:16-23 (web)

Sanctification and Sin II

Set Free From Sin
Slaves with Respect to Behavior

6:15 What then? Shall we sin, because we are not under law, but under grace? May it never be!
6:16 Don't you know that to whom you present yourselves as servants to obedience,
his servants you are whom you obey;
whether of sin to death, or of obedience to righteousness?

6:17 But thanks be to God, that, whereas you were bondservants of sin,
you became obedient from the heart to that form of teaching whereunto you were delivered.
6:18 Being made free from sin, you became bondservants of righteousness.

6:19 I speak in human terms because of the weakness of your flesh,
for as you presented your members as servants to uncleanness and to wickedness upon wickedness,
even so now present your members as servants to righteousness for sanctification.
6:20 For when you were servants of sin, you were free in regard to righteousness.
6:21 What fruit then did you have at that time in the things of which you are now ashamed?
For the end of those things is death.

6:22 But now, being made free from sin, and having become servants of God,
you have your fruit of sanctification, and the result of eternal life.

6:23 For the wages of sin is death,
but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Discussion Questions

Is the idea of a slave to sin in this section talking about sin determining our destiny or sin controlling our behavior?

How do you answer people, according to this section, who may ask "If Christians are freely forgiven and if their salvation status is not dependent upon their performance, then why should they worry about not sinning? If salvation is secure, then why not do whatever you feel like doing? What incentive is there for not sinning?"

What corrupting effects can sin have in a person's life?

What benefits do you and will you get from living righteously?


Comments

Freed from Sin, but not Freed to Sin

Rom 6:16-18
Do you not know that to whom you present yourselves slaves to obey, you are that one’s slaves whom you obey, whether of sin leading to death, or of obedience leading to righteousness?  But God be thanked that though you were slaves of sin, yet you obeyed from the heart that form of doctrine to which you were delivered. And having been set free from sin, you became slaves of righteousness.

It is an oxymoron to say we are free to sin, seeing as sinning is a form of slavery.  But even back in New Testament times there were those who claimed to be Christians but preached that Christians should feel free to continue in sin. "For they mouth empty, boastful words and, by appealing to the lustful desires of sinful human nature, they entice people who are just escaping from those who live in error. They promise them freedom, while they themselves are slaves of depravity— for a man is a slave to whatever has mastered him." 2Peter 2:18,19

Deception is the sinful nature's most effective weapon, convincing the regenerate that it's sinful desires are our desires. They're not. Paul will elaborate upon this distinction later in chapter 7 and chapter 8. Obedience to God is characteristic of those born of God, as Jesus said, "My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me." John 10:27 Thus "We know that we have come to know him if we obey his commands." 1John 2:3  Obedience accompanies saving faith. And while there is a struggle against the flesh in the process of obedience, it is not begruding, legalistic obedience, but rather from the heart. In fact to avoid a legalistic sense of obedience, God has given very few regulations with regards to Christian living. Rather most commands given to the Christians found in the epistles are about attitude, commands which cannot be followed if one weren't doing so with one's heart.

Let not people have the misconception that being set free from sin we are free to do whatever we want. For "he died for all, that those who live should no longer live for themselves but for him who died for them and was raised again." 2Cor 5:15 And the regenerate nature in a sense enslaves us to do what is right. Thus "No one who is born of God will (characteristically) continue to sin, because God’s seed remains in him; he cannot (characteristically) go on sinning, because he has been born of God." 1John 3:9


What Fruit Would You Prefer?

Rom 6:19-21 I speak in human terms because of the weakness of your flesh. For just as you presented your members as slaves of uncleanness, and of lawlessness leading to more lawlessness, so now present your members as slaves of righteousness for holiness. For when you were slaves of sin, you were free in regard to righteousness. What fruit did you have then in the things of which you are now ashamed? For the end of those things is death.

I reckon one thing that motivates behavior is considering the end product. Sin begats sin. Compromises can lead to greater sins and addictions in which one can become entrenched. Paul described the general process of depravity in chapter 1. There he also spoke of shameful lusts (Rom 1:26) But while the unregenerate may not feel ashamed, when a person comes to Christ, shame for sinful deeds follows. Shame for sinful deeds is indicative of a healthy conscience. And consequently the conscience can motivate one to right behavior, as also one's perception of the outcome of sin. Sin brings shame and while it doesn't bring condemnation for those born of God, it does bring depravity and unfruitfulness, so why sin? Sinning is unproductive. Notice how this kind of motivation differs from the law of sin and death. This is walking by the Spirit. It's motivated by perspectives and attitudes which are a product of faith in Christ.

The believer has the potential of living a fruitful life. In fact with regards to his own life Paul didn't even consider it possible that his life would be unfruitful. For he says, "If I am to go on living in the body, this will mean fruitful labor for me." Php 1:22a For Jesus said, "If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit" John 15:5b


The Wage vs. The Gift

Rom 6:22,23 But now having been set free from sin, and having become slaves of God, you have your fruit to holiness, and the end, everlasting life. For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.

While slavery has a negative connotation, in fact we are all slaves. Among other things, we are either slaves to God or slaves to sin. But realize also that being a slave is not the same as being a puppet. Slaves have a free will to obey or disobey their master, but those who are slaves to sin are coerced by the sinful nature to sin, while those who are slave to God have pledged allegiance to Jesus as Lord and are given such a nature such as obedience to God becomes natural. "For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do." Eph 2:10

Death with respect to our relationship with God is the wage of sin. But eternal life is not the wage of God but the gift of God. Remember back in chapter 4 he made a contrast between a wage and a gift. "Now when a man works, his wages are not credited to him as a gift, but as an obligation. However, to the man who does not work but trusts God who justifies the wicked, his faith is credited as righteousness." Rom 4:4,5 People work to be condemned. They deserve condemnation because they worked for it. But we don't earn eternal life. Eternal life is God's gift. Consequently the believer does not produce fruit to holiness in order to be saved. Rather we are first saved, guaranteed eternal life, and then work to be holy - a process known as sanctification.


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015