翻譯: English GB

提多書 第二章

教導敬虔的行為

2:1 但你所講的,總要合乎那純正的道理

2:2 老年人要有節制、端庄、自守,
  在信心、愛心、忍耐上都要純全無疵。


2:3 又勸老年婦人舉止行動要恭敬,
  不說讒言,不給酒作奴仆,用善道教訓人,

2:4 好指教少年婦人愛丈夫,愛兒女,
2:5 謹守貞潔,料理家務,待人有恩,
  順服自己的丈夫,免得神的道理被毀謗。


2:6 又勸少年人要謹守。
2:7 你自己凡事要顯出善行的榜樣,
  在教訓上要正直、端庄,

2:8 言語純全,無可指責,
  叫那反對的人既無處可說我們的不是,便自覺羞愧。


2:9 仆人要順服自己的主人,
  凡事討他的喜歡,不可頂撞他,

2:10 不可私拿東西,要顯為忠誠,
  以致凡事尊榮我們救主神的道。


2:11 因為神救眾人的恩典已經顯明出來,
2:12 教訓我們除去不敬虔的心和世俗的情欲,
  在今世自守,公義,敬虔度日,

2:13 等候所盼望的福,并等候至大的神和(或作無“和”字)
  我們救主耶穌基督的榮耀顯現。

2:14 他為我們舍了自己,要贖我們脫離一切罪惡,
  又潔淨我們,特作自己的子民,熱心為善。


2:15 這些事你要講明,勸戒人,用各等權柄責備人。
  不可叫人輕看你。


問題討論

第2節鑒于這些敬虔的品德,如何描繪一個不敬虔的人?
第3-5節敬虔的婦女有哪些品德?
年老婦女今天應該教哪些關于作好妻子的事?
第6-8節考慮這幾節,如何描繪一個不敬虔的年輕人?
第9-10節今天誰是仆人?應該給他們教些什麼?
基督徒應該如何實踐順從來把別人引向基督?
第11-14節神的恩典什麼時候教會了你對不敬虔和世俗的情欲說:“不”?作為結果,這如何改變了你的生活?
第15節“不可叫人輕看你”是什麼意思?

注釋

勸老年人

提多書 2:1-2 但你所講的,總要合乎那純正的道理。勸老年人要有節制、端庄、自守,在信心、愛心、忍耐上都要純全無疵。

雖然有人提出“純正的道理”是被某些聖經之後的神學家所提倡的教義,而事實上“純正的道理”是由聖經本身所定義的教義。教義要符合聖經實際所講的。因此保羅對提摩太說:“務要傳道。無論得時不得時,總要專心,并用百般的忍耐、各樣的教訓,責備人,警戒人,勸勉人。因為時候要到,人必厭煩純正的道理,耳朵發痒,就隨從自己的情欲,增添好些師傅,并且掩耳不聽真道,偏向荒渺的言語。”【提摩太後書 4:2-4】

“老年人”指的不只是長老。他指的是聚會中所有成熟的人。

“節制”不只是不醉酒,而是講道理──頭腦清醒認真的人。

“端庄”就是品德值得尊敬的。可敬的(【腓立比書 4:8】

“自守”指的是控制自己的欲望和衝動,有自制。

“在信心上純全無疵”回到第1節,有純正的教義。這還在【提多書 1:13】奡ㄗ魽C

“在愛心上純全無疵”指的是人應用聖經和所造就的態度。

“在忍耐上純全無疵”指的是為基督而甘愿長久忍耐受苦。


勸老年婦人

提多書 2:3 又勸老年婦人舉止行動要恭敬,不說讒言,不給酒作奴仆,用善道教訓人,

“恭敬”指的是神聖。也就是說,她們的行為是聖潔的,做任何事都像是給主做的。

“不說讒言”──女人容易有傳閑話的毛病。而因為她們傳閑話,不可避免地就有讒言。保羅在說到年輕寡婦的特徵時說:“并且她們又習慣懶惰,挨家閑游﹔不但是懶惰,又說長道短,好管閑事,說些不當說的話。”【提摩太前書 5:13】

“不給酒作奴仆”──“不要醉酒,酒能使人放蕩,乃要被聖靈充滿。”【以弗所書 5:18】

“用善道教訓人”──要明白保羅是在指示老年的基督徒婦人成為教師。對我們來說也當如此。事實上希伯來書的作者表達了對老年的基督徒達不到成為教師這個目標的失望:“看你們學習的工夫,本該作師傅,誰知還得有人將神聖言小學的開端另教導你們,并且成了那必須吃奶,不能吃幹糧的人!”【希伯來書 5:12】

雖然他指示所有成熟的基督徒都要成為教師,但這在男人和女人之間,關于他們教誰,是有區別的。比如保羅還寫到:“我不許女人講道,也不許她轄管男人,只要沉靜。”【提摩太前書 2:12】接下來,保羅將具體說年老的婦女應該教誰。


勸已婚的婦女

提多書 2:4-5 好指教少年婦人愛丈夫,愛兒女,謹守,貞潔,料理家務,待人有恩,順服自己的丈夫,免得神的道理被毀謗。

年老的婦女應該教年少的婦女。注意到特別地這些教導應該集中在家庭上,順服自己的丈夫,行為和態度。如果妻子對她們自己家庭做得不好,那麼就會給神的道帶來不良的聲譽。因此彼得說:“你們作妻子的,要順服自己的丈夫。這樣,若有不信從道理的丈夫,他們雖然不聽道,也可以因妻子的品行被感化過來。這正是因看見你們有貞潔的品行和敬畏的心。”【彼得前書 3:1-2】

至于其它這些詞:

“愛丈夫”其實譯自一個單詞“φιλανδροζ”。“φιλοζ”就是在“喜歡”的意義上愛。更直接地翻譯過來就是要教年輕婦女喜歡她們的丈夫。類似地,“愛兒女”的原文是“φιλοτεκνοζ”。愛你的丈夫和兒女是一回事。而喜歡他們則是更大的挑戰。

“謹守”與第2節堛滿圻萓u”在希臘文堿O同一個詞,指的是控制自己的欲望和衝動,有自制。

“貞潔”就是對于罪來說是純潔的。

“料理家務”與我們生活所在的現代女權主義社會的文化是相反的,但正因如此,將使這樣的婦女突出出來,因為她們把她們家庭的價值看作高于她們的事業。這并不排斥有一分工作來支持家庭的經濟。但與此相反,丈夫的角色則不是“料理家務”。所以這是妻子所特有的角色。


勸少年人

提多書 2:6-8 又勸少年人要謹守。你自己凡事要顯出善行的榜樣,在教訓上要正直、端庄,言語純全,無可指責,叫那反對的人既無處可說我們的不是,便自覺羞愧。

基督徒的領袖應該樹立榜樣。耶穌自己說:“我給你們作了榜樣,叫你們照著我向你們所做的去做。”【約翰福音 13:15】保羅說:“你們該效法我,像我效法基督一樣。”【哥林多前書 11:1】樹立起榜樣是一個強有力的教導方法。你通過作榜樣給別人教了什麼呢?

這幾件堶漸提到的是謹守自制,對于年輕人來說猶為如此。而且年輕人要以老年人為榜樣。關于自制,他們從基督徒領袖學到些什麼呢?關于控制性欲,他們從領袖們所樹立的榜樣上學到了什麼呢?在努力工作和勤奮學習上,他們學到了什麼呢?

領袖應在善行上作出榜樣。但伴隨著領袖的地位也有變得自高自大的誘惑。所以注意到在前面提到的【約翰福音 13:15】堙A耶穌以卑微的事奉作榜樣來訓練他的門徒,雖然他們不時地試圖夸大自己,把自己看作高于別人。(【路加福音 9:46】【使徒行傳 6:2】

教神的道是一件嚴肅的事。“神的言語,句句都是煉淨的,投靠他的,他便作他們的盾牌。他的言語,你不可加添。恐怕他責備你,你就顯為說謊言的。”【箴言 30:5-6】要教得清晰,并且純全,不要錯誤地解釋聖經或用聖經堜畛羲漣@跳板,來說自己想說的。在教的時候,要好像你說的每個字都將在法庭上受到審斷,被你的敵人告到法庭,他們要作捶死掙扎,想從你的話塈銗X什麼來指控你。


勸仆人

提多書 2:9-10 勸仆人要順服自己的主人,凡事討他的喜歡,不可頂撞他,不可私拿東西,要顯為忠誠,以致凡事尊榮我們救主神的道。

基督徒生活的美德之一就是順從合法的權威。扮演從屬的角色需要謙卑。在自由至上的今天很少有人接受這個概念。但這是基督徒能夠從世界堿蟔膆X來的另一方面。

“你們作仆人的,凡事要存敬畏的心順服主人,不但順服那善良溫和的,就是那乖僻的也要順服。倘若人為叫良心對得住神,就忍受冤屈的苦楚,這是可喜愛的。”【彼得前書 2:18-19】

今天,雇主與保羅說的主人相比具有較小的權威范圍。但無論如何,雇員要尊重,并在他們的工作中誠實,不偷盜,不愧對所得的報酬。最終,他們的雇主應該感到他們可以信賴基督徒雇員。

順便說一下,注意第3-10節堛熙W律

你的行為方式可以為福音贏得或失去一個聽眾。


恩典教我們對不敬虔說“不”

提多書 2:11-13 因為神救眾人的恩典已經顯明出來,教訓我們除去不敬虔的心和世俗的情欲,在今世自守,公義,敬虔度日,等候所盼望的福,并等候至大的神和(或作無“和”字)我們救主耶穌基督的榮耀顯現。

如果神在福音媗蓂{出的恩典沒有教你對不敬虔和世俗的情欲說“不”,那麼你所聽見的就是一個不同的福音。“因為有些人偷著進來,就是自古被定受刑罰的,是不虔誠的,將我們神的恩變作放縱情欲的機會,并且不認獨一的主宰,我們(“我們”或作“和我們”)主耶穌基督。”【猶大書 1:4】

“你們豈不知不義的人不能承受神的國嗎?不要自欺!無論是淫亂的、拜偶像的、奸淫的、作孌童的、親男色的、偷竊的、貪婪的、醉酒的、辱罵的、勒索的,都不能承受神的國。你們中間也有人從前是這樣。但如今你們奉主耶穌基督的名,并借著我們神的靈,已經洗淨,成聖稱義了。”【哥林多前書 6:9-11】

“凡屬基督耶穌的人,是已經把肉體,連肉體的邪情私欲,同釘在十字架上了。”【加拉太書 5:24】

那些由神生的人在今世自守,公義,敬虔度日,等候所盼望的福。“凡向他有這指望的就潔淨自己,像他潔淨一樣。”【約翰一書 3:3】


熱心為善

提多書 2:14-15 他為我們舍了自己,要贖我們脫離一切罪惡,又潔淨我們,特作自己的子民,熱心為善。這些事你要講明,勸戒人,用各等權柄責備人。不可叫人輕看你。

“我們原是他的工作,在基督耶穌堻y成的,為要叫我們行善,就是神所預備叫我們行的。”【以弗所書 2:10】

神不但希望我們為善,而且為之造就我們,他還要我們為之有熱心,采取主動。但要當心墨守律法的人在每一個命令堨[上“為了要得救”這樣的字眼。因為我們行善不是為了要得救,而是因為我們是被救來行善的。我們行善是因為已經得救,并且我們對永生的盼望有永恆的保証。

至于提多和那些教神的道的人,不要給任何人合法的原因來輕看你。不要容讓因你堅持神的道而藐視你的基督徒。要充滿信心地用權柄去傳講神的道。因為有些人需要你充滿信心地去鼓勵,有些人需要你充滿信心地去責備。


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Titus 2 (web)

Teaching Godly Behavior

2:1 But say the things which fit sound doctrine,

2:2 that older men should be temperate, sensible,
sober-minded, sound in faith, in love, and in patience:

2:3 and that older women likewise be reverent in behavior,
not slanderers nor enslaved to much wine, teachers of that which is good;
2:4 that they may train the young women to love their husbands, to love their children,
2:5 to be sober-minded, chaste, workers at home, kind,
being in subjection to their own husbands, that God's word may not be blasphemed.

2:6 Likewise, exhort the younger men to be sober-minded;
2:7 in all things showing yourself an example of good works;
in your teaching showing integrity, seriousness, incorruptibility,
2:8 and soundness of speech that can't be condemned;
that he who opposes you may be ashamed, having no evil thing to say about us.

2:9 Exhort servants to be in subjection to their own masters,
and to be well-pleasing in all things; not contradicting;
2:10 not stealing, but showing all good fidelity;
that they may adorn the doctrine of God, our Savior, in all things.

2:11 For the grace of God has appeared, bringing salvation to all men,
2:12 instructing us to the intent that, denying ungodliness and worldly lusts,
we would live soberly, righteously, and godly in this present world;
2:13 looking for the blessed hope and appearing of the glory of our great God and Savior, Jesus Christ;
2:14 who gave himself for us, that he might redeem us from all iniquity,
and purify for himself a people for his own possession, zealous for good works.

2:15 Say these things and exhort and reprove with all authority.
Let no man despise you.


Discussion Questions

vs 2 Considering these characteristics of godliness, how would you describe a man who ungodly?
vs 3-5 What are characteristics of godly women?
What kinds of teaching concerning being a good wife should older women teach today?
vs 6-8 Considering the antonyms of these verses, how would you describe an ungodly young man?
vs 9-10 Who are slaves today? What should they be taught?
How does Christians practicing submission attract others to Christ?
vs 11-14 When did the grace of God teach you to say "No" to ungodliness and worldly passions? How has your life changed as a result?
vs 15 What does it mean by "let no one despise you"?


Comments

Instructions for Older Men

Titus 2:1,2
But as for you, speak the things which are proper for sound doctrine:
that the older men be sober, reverent, temperate, sound in faith, in love, in patience;


While there are those who propose that "sound doctrine" is that which is advocated by certain post-Biblical theologians, in fact "sound doctrine" is that which is defined by the scriptures themselves. Teachings are to conform to what the Bible actually says. Therefore Paul said to Timonthy, "Preach the word! Be ready in season and out of season. Convince, rebuke, exhort, with all longsuffering and teaching. For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine, but according to their own desires, because they have itching ears, they will heap up for themselves teachers; and they will turn their ears away from the truth, and be turned aside to fables." 2Tim 4:2-4

"Older men" are not simply elders. Rather he is speaking generically of the mature among the assembly.

"Sober" is not simply referring to not being drunk, but to be reasonable - a serious person of a sound mind.

"Reverent" is one who is venerated for their character. Honorable, Noble (Php 4:8)

"Temperate" refers to curbing one’s desires and impulses, self-controlled

"Sound in faith" goes back to verse 1, having sound doctrine. This came up in Titus 1:13.

"Sound in love" refers to the attitude with which one develops and applies the Bible.

"Sound in patience" refers to the longsuffering one endures for the sake of Christ.


Instructions for Older Women

Titus 2:3  the older women likewise, that they be reverent in behavior, not slanderers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things——

Here "reverent" is a different word than in verse 2. Here it's allude to sacredness. That is, that their behavior be holy, doing everything as unto the Lord.
 
"Not Slanderers" - women tend to particularly be prone to gossip. And where there's gossip, there's inevitably slander. Paul characterizes younger widows saying, "they get into the habit of being idle and going about from house to house. And not only do they become idlers, but also gossips and busybodies, saying things they ought not to." 1Tim 5:13

"Not given to much wine" -   "Do not get drunk on wine, which leads to debauchery. Instead, be filled with the Spirit." Eph 5:18

"Teachers of good things" - Understand that Paul is instructing older Christian women to become teachers. And this likewise the case for me as well. In fact the writer Hebrews expresses frustration at older Christians not achieving this objective, "In fact, though by this time you ought to be teachers, you need someone to teach you the elementary truths of God’s word all over again." Heb 5:12

While all the mature are instructed to become teachers, there is a difference between men and women with regards to whom they teach. For Paul also writes, "I do not permit a woman to teach or to have authority over a man" 1Tim 2:12a Rather Paul will next focus on whom the older women should be teaching.


Instructions for Married Women

Titus 2:4,5 that they admonish the young women to love their husbands, to love their children, to be discreet, chaste, homemakers, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be blasphemed.

Older women should be disciplining young women. But notice in particular the focus of such teachings should be upon family, submission to the husband, behavior and attitude. If wives do not behave well with regards to their own family, that reflects badly upon the word of God. Thus Peter also says, "Wives, in the same way be submissive to your husbands so that, if any of them do not believe the word, they may be won over without words by the behavior of their wives, when they see the purity and reverence of your lives." 1Peter 3:1,2

As for some of these other words:

"to love their husbands" is actually a single word "philandros". "Philos" is to love in the sense of "to like". So more literally younger women have to be taught to like their husbands. And similarly with "love their children". "philoteknos" is used. To love your husband and children is one thing. But the bigger challenge is to like them.

"discreet"
is the same Greek word "temperate" found in verse 2 referring to curbing one’s desires and impulses, self-controlled

"chaste" is pure with regards to sin.

"homemaker" is counter-culture to the modern feminist society in which we live, but consequently will cause such women to stand out as they put the value of their family above that of a career. This does not exclude carrying on business in support of the family. But in contrast it is not the role of the husband to be the "homemaker". So there is a role here intended to be unique to the wife.


Instructions for Younger Men

Titus 2:6-8  Similarly, encourage the young men to be self-controlled. In everything set them an example by doing what is good. In your teaching show integrity, seriousness and soundness of speech that cannot be condemned, so that those who oppose you may be ashamed because they have nothing bad to say about us.

Christian Leadership should set the example. Jesus himself said, "I have set you an example that you should do as I have done for you." John 13:15 and Paul, "Follow my example, as I follow the example of Christ." 1Cor 11:1 Setting an example is a powerful teaching method. What have you been teaching others by your example?

Self-control is first on the list, particularly with regards to young men. And young men look to older men as an example. What do they learn of self-control from, for example, the waistline of those in Christian leadership? What do they learn of control sexual passions by the example of leadership? What do they learn of the disciple of hard-work and diligent study?

Leadership should also set the example in doing good. But with leadership comes the temptation to become conceited. Thus notice in John 13:15 mentioned above Jesus attempted to train his disciples in the humility of service by example, though time and again they tried to inflate themselves above others. (Lk 9:46; Acts 6:2)

Teaching the Word is a serious matter. "Every word of God is flawless; he is a shield to those who take refuge in him. Do not add to his words, or he will rebuke you and prove you a liar." Pr 30:5,6 It should be taught clearly and with integrity, not mishandling the scriptures or using them as a springboard to say whatever one wants to say. Teach as if your every word was to be scrutinized in a courtroom, being brought to trial by your enemies who desperately seek to find something to accuse you of.


Instructions for Subordinates

Titus 2:9,10  Teach slaves to be subject to their masters in everything, to try to please them, not to talk back to them, and not to steal from them, but to show that they can be fully trusted, so that in every way they will make the teaching about God our Savior attractive.

One of the virtues of the Christian life is that of submission to legitimate authority. It's take humility to play a subordinate role. And few embrace such a concept today where freedom takes precedence over all other things. But this is another area where Christians can stand out from the world.
1Peter 2:18,19 "Slaves, submit yourselves to your masters with all respect, not only to those who are good and considerate, but also to those who are harsh. For it is commendable if a man bears up under the pain of unjust suffering because he is conscious of God."
Employers today have a smaller realm of authority than masters of the slaves Paul speaks of. But nonetheless, employees need to be respectful and honest in their work, not stealing from them, but doing what they are payed for. In the end, their bosses should feel they can trust Christian employees.

By the way, notice the pattern of verses 3-10
The way you behave can win or lose a hearing for the gospel.


Grace says "No" to Ungodliness

Titus 2:11-13  For the grace of God that brings salvation has appeared to all men. It teaches us to say "No" to ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright and godly lives in this present age, while we wait for the blessed hope— the glorious appearing of our great God and Savior, Jesus Christ

If the grace of God revealed in the gospel isn't teaching you to say "No" to ungodliness and worldly passions, then you have been listening to a different gospel. "For certain men whose condemnation was written about long ago have secretly slipped in among you. They are godless men, who change the grace of our God into a license for immorality and deny Jesus Christ our only Sovereign and Lord." Jude 1:4

"Do you not know that the wicked will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: Neither the sexually immoral nor idolaters nor adulterers nor male prostitutes nor homosexual offenders nor thieves nor the greedy nor drunkards nor slanderers nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God. And that is what some of you were. But you were washed, you were sanctified, you were justified in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and by the Spirit of our God." 1Cor 6:9-11

"Those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the sinful nature with its passions and desires."
Gal 5:24 

Those who have been born of God live self-controlled, upright and godly lives in this present age with the anticipation of that which is to come. "Everyone who has this hope in him purifies himself, just as he is pure." 1John 3:3


Eager to Do Good

Titus 2:14,15 
who gave himself for us to redeem us from all wickedness and to purify for himself a people that are his very own, eager to do what is good. These, then, are the things you should teach. Encourage and rebuke with all authority. Do not let anyone despise you.

"We are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do." Eph 2:10

God not only desires us to do good, and is grooming us to that end, but He wants us to be enthusiastic about it, taking initiative. But beware of the legalists who add the phrase "in order to be saved" to every command. For we do good not in order to be saved, but rather because this is what we were saved into. We do good as those who have already been saved and are eternally secure in our hope of eternal life.

As for Titus and for those who also teach the Word, don't give anyone legitimate cause for despising you. And don't tolerate Christians who despise you for sticking to the Word. Speak the Word confidently and with authority. For there will be those who will need to be confidently encouraged. And there will be those who need to be confidently rebuked.




The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015