翻譯: English GB

提多書 第三章

過多結果子的生活

3:1 你要提醒眾人,叫他們順服作官的、掌權的,
  遵他的命,預備行各樣的善事

3:2 不要毀謗,不要爭競,
  總要和平,向眾人大顯溫柔。


3:3 我們從前也是無知、悖逆,受迷惑,
  服事各樣私欲和宴樂,常存惡毒(或作“陰毒”)、嫉妒的心,
  是可恨的,又是彼此相恨。

3:4 但到了神我們救主的恩慈和他向人所施的慈愛顯明的時候,
3:5 他便救了我們,并不是因我們自己所行的義,
  乃是照他的憐憫,借著重生的洗和聖靈的更新。

3:6 聖靈就是神借著耶穌基督我們救主厚厚澆灌在我們身上的,
3:7 好叫我們因他的恩得稱為義,
  可以憑著永生的盼望成為後嗣(或作“可以憑著盼望承受永生”)。


3:8 這話是可信的。我也愿你把這些事切切實實地講明,
  使那些已信神的人留心作正經事業(或作“留心行善”)。
  這都是美事,并且與人有益。


3:9 要遠避無知的辯論和家譜的空談,
  以及分爭,并因律法而起的爭競,
  因為這都是虛妄無益的。

3:10 分門結黨的人,警戒過一兩次,就要棄絕他﹔
3:11 因為知道這等人已經背道,犯了罪,自己明知不是,還是去做。

3:12 我打發亞提馬或是推基古到你那堨h的時候,
  你要趕緊往尼哥波立去見我,
  因為我已經定意在那媢L冬。

3:13 你要趕緊給律師西納和亞波羅送行,
  叫他們沒有缺乏。

3:14 并且我們的人要學習正經事業(或作“要學習行善”)
  預備所需用的,免得不結果子


3:15 同我在一處的人都問你安。
  請代問那些因有信心愛我們的人安。
  愿恩惠常與你們眾人同在。


問題討論

第1-2節基督徒在社會中媕釦鵀酗偵羆邞漲甈陛H
基督徒在教會堥銗L基督徒周圍的行為往往與他在社會堳D基督徒周圍的行為有什麼不同?
第3節這在什麼程度上描繪了成為基督徒之前的你?
這在什麼程度上描繪了成為基督徒之後的你?
第4-7節得救是什麼意思?
從什麼堻Q救出來?
稱義的依據是什麼?
重生的洗和聖靈的更新是什麼意思?
第8節這些事實如何激勵基督徒行善?
第9節基督徒應該避免哪種辯論?
你應該如何對待“異端”?
第14節保羅所說的這些正經事有什麼特點?

注釋

和平地順服權威

提多書 3:1-2 你要提醒眾人,叫他們順服作官的、掌權的,遵他的命,預備行各樣的善事。不要毀謗,不要爭競,總要和平,向眾人大顯溫柔。

新約書信堛澈雃h命令都與縱向關系有關,其中有些是那些在權威之下的要順服在他們之上的權威,無論是兒女順服他們的父母,妻子順服丈夫,或仆人(雇員)順服主人(雇主)。對于民間的權威也同樣。

當然在現實中人的權威都限定在有限的范圍之內,在這個范圍之外,他們就沒有合法的權威。因此,如果一個權威若在他合法的權威范威之外命令你做什麼,你沒有義務要服從他們,因為他們沒有下那個命令的權威。但在他們的合法權威之內,信徒必須順服他們。無論這個權威是不是信徒,是不是凶惡。

“你們作妻子的,要順服自己的丈夫。這樣,若有不信從道理的丈夫,他們雖然不聽道,也可以因妻子的品行被感化過來。”【彼得前書 3:1】

“你們作仆人的,凡事要存敬畏的心順服主人,不但順服那善良溫和的,就是那乖僻的也要順服。”【彼得前書 2:18】

要有意識地去過基督徒的生活。要為行善做好准備。而在你熱心的時候,要當心不要毀謗別人。在衝突中總要尋求和好。真正的謙卑將由你和別人如何對待針對個人的批評和如何在其合法的權威范圍之內服從合法的權威表現出來。


我們從前的樣子

提多書 3:3 我們從前也是無知、悖逆,受迷惑,服事各樣私欲和宴樂,常存惡毒(或作“陰毒”)、嫉妒的心,是可恨的,又是彼此相恨。

以弗所書中也類似地說:“你們死在過犯罪惡之中,他叫你們活過來。那時,你們在其中行事為人,隨從今世的風俗,順服空中掌權者的首領,就是現今在悖逆之子心中運行的邪靈。我們從前也都在他們中間,放縱肉體的私欲,隨著肉體和心中所喜好的去行,本為可怒之子,和別人一樣。”【以弗所書 2:1-3】

雖然這是我們在信主之前的行為和態度的特徵,但注意到在兩處用的都是過去時態。同樣哥林多前書說:“你們豈不知不義的人不能承受神的國嗎?不要自欺!無論是淫亂的、拜偶像的、奸淫的、作孌童的、親男色的、偷竊的、貪婪的、醉酒的、辱罵的、勒索的,都不能承受神的國。你們中間也有人從前是這樣。但如今你們奉主耶穌基督的名,并借著我們神的靈,已經洗淨,成聖稱義了。”【哥林多前書 6:9-11】


靠恩典得救和重生

提多書 3:4-7 但到了神我們救主的恩慈和他向人所施的慈愛顯明的時候,他便救了我們,并不是因我們自己所行的義,乃是照他的憐憫,借著重生的洗和聖靈的更新。聖靈就是神借著耶穌基督我們救主厚厚澆灌在我們身上的,好叫我們因他的恩得稱為義,可以憑著永生的盼望成為後嗣(或作“可以憑著盼望承受永生”)。

第3節婸”鴘滿A我們的行為和態度的特徵的改變是賜給我們聖靈,使我們重生的結果。因此約翰寫到:“凡從神生的就不犯罪,因神的道(原文作“種”)存在他心堙Q他也不能犯罪,因為他是由神生的。”【約翰一書 3:9】

這就是聖靈的重生和更新的洗,正如前面提到的哥林多前書堛漱@節:“你們中間也有人從前是這樣。但如今你們奉主耶穌基督的名,并借著我們神的靈,已經洗淨,成聖稱義了。”【哥林多前書 6:11】

以西結預言說:“我必用清水洒在你們身上,你們就潔淨了。我要潔淨你們,使你們脫離一切的污穢,棄掉一切的偶像。我也要賜給你們一個新心,將新靈放在你們堶情A又從你們的肉體中除掉石心,賜給你們肉心。我必將我的靈放在你們堶情A使你們順從我的律例,謹守遵行我的典章。”【以西結書 36:25-27】

“若有人在基督堙A他就是新造的人,舊事已過,都變成新的了。”【哥林多後書 5:17】

神已經恩慈地使我們稱義,靠同樣這個恩典,我們成為新生命的後嗣。一個像基督那樣的生命。神恩慈地賜聖靈給我們,以及聖靈所帶來的重生都先于,并且不在于,我們所做的任何義行,比如善工,在水堥洗,從罪堮洹鵅A所有這些都是我們的信──那使我們得救的信──的外在表現。“你們得救是本乎恩”【以弗所書 2:5b】


被救來行善

提多書 3:8 這話是可信的。我也愿你把這些事切切實實地講明,使那些已信神的人留心作正經事業(或作“留心行善”)。這都是美事,并且與人有益。

雖然那些有“靠做工得救”思想的人往往給新約堛漕C一個命令和指示都加上“為了要得救”這樣的字眼,但使徒們卻教我們說我們行善不是為了得救,而是因為我們已經得救了,是因為我們是誰而行善,不是因為我們做什麼而是誰。行善是我們的新本質的特徵。我們是被造成這個樣子的。“我們原是他的工作,在基督耶穌堻y成的,為要叫我們行善,就是神所預備叫我們行的。”【以弗所書 2:10】

的確,這是那些由神生的人的標志。“從此就顯出誰是神的兒女,誰是魔鬼的兒女:凡不行義的就不屬神,不愛弟兄的也是如此。”【約翰一書 3:10】

因此要認識到聖靈領引你行的善是什麼。要養成為善的習慣。找一些你投身于其中的善事。因為已經得救,被造為永生的後嗣,這就是你在基督耶穌堛漸堛滿C“并且他替眾人死,是叫那些活著的人不再為自己活,乃為替他們死而復活的主活。”【哥林多後書 5:15】


遠避搞分爭的基督徒

提多書 3:9-11 要遠避無知的辯論和家譜的空談,以及分爭,并因律法而起的爭競,因為這都是虛妄無益的。分門結黨的人,警戒過一兩次,就要棄絕他﹔因為知道這等人已經背道,犯了罪,自己明知不是,還是去做。

保羅在此指的是第一章婸”鴘犒鳥它u律法那樣的異端,但這個原則在今天有更廣泛的應用。正常有序地討論神的道是有價值的。人們往往提出論點和解釋,并聲稱他們是以聖經為基礎的,但在很大程度上只是猜測,不是基于對神的道的全面、歸納性的學習。有些值得一辯,以指出他們的弱點。但如果這演變成爭吵,最好避開這件事。

看一看使徒行傳是怎麼結尾的:他們和保羅約定了日子,就有許多人到他的寓處來,保羅從早到晚,對他們講論這事,証明神國的道,引摩西的律法和先知的書,以耶穌的事,勸勉他們。他所說的話,有信的,有不信的。他們彼此不合,就散了。未散以先,保羅說了一句話,說:“聖靈借先知以賽亞,向你們祖宗所說的話,是不錯的。他說:‘你去告訴這百姓說,你們聽是要聽見,卻不明白。看是要看見,卻不曉得。因為這百姓,油蒙了心,耳朵發沉,眼睛閉著。恐怕眼睛看見,耳朵聽見,心堜白,回轉過來,我就醫治他們。’所以你們當知道,神這救恩,如今傳給外邦人,他們也必聽受。”(有古卷在此有,保羅說了這話,猶太人議論紛紛地就走了)。【使徒行傳 28:23-29】

意思就是說不要第一次或第二次就棄絕一個搞分爭的人。但如果他繼續下去,就不要再與他辯論了。但要當心不要曲解別人。若是那樣的話,你就是在誣告。至于這個人的特徵,“分門結黨”譯自希臘文“αιρετικοζ”,就是異端的意思。因此我們說的不是一件小事。還有,“犯了罪”是現在時態,從我們對約翰一書的學習表明,這樣一個人尚未由神生。因此要明白,保羅所指的是這樣的人。總的來說,要避免為太師椅神學和不能付之于應用的事爭辯。在信堣ㄕ釆籅漱H容易在小道消息之類的事上糾纏。如果你不是按聖經明確所說的去做,那麼神何必要給你顯明更多的呢?


滿足每日的所需

提多書 3:12-15 我打發亞提馬或是推基古到你那堨h的時候,你要趕緊往尼哥波立去見我,因為我已經定意在那媢L冬。你要趕緊給律師西納和亞波羅送行,叫他們沒有缺乏。并且我們的人要學習正經事業(或作“要學習行善”),預備所需用的,免得不結果子。同我在一處的人都問你安。請代問那些因有信心愛我們的人安。愿恩惠常與你們眾人同在。

雖然這是他的書信堸艉@一次提到亞提馬,但【使徒行傳 20:4】曾提到推基古在保羅的差傳中與他同行。顯然,把以弗所書送到以弗所的聖徒那堨h的就是推基古(【以弗所書 6:21】)。還有,【提摩太後 4:12】奡ㄗ魽A保羅在他的生命即將結束時再次派推基古到以弗所去。他是一個忠心,堅忍不拔的基督徒,保羅常派他作信使。保羅還肯定了律師西納的事奉。在希臘文堙A保羅在律師前面使用的不是不定冠詞,而是定冠詞,表明他在他的行業埵閉Y些出眾的地方。他很可能與亞波羅一道是很有能力的傳道者,來到基督堛澈蒏v往往如此。亞波羅是一位很強的講道者,又是哥林多教會的牧師。我猜想西納和亞波羅一起在持懷疑態度的希臘人中傳福音。

至于第14節,這是提多書堣@個普遍的主題──也就是說基督徒生活的目的就是要行善。特別地,這堭j調行善是滿足實際的所需。這不是討人的歡心,而是滿足實際的需要。而問題在于,對于生活在富足社會堛滌繴徒來說,因為大部分實際的需要都已得到滿足,往往分不清什麼是奢望,什麼是需要。因此,生活在富足社會堛滌繴徒也許應該考慮把他們的康慨大方集中在生活在第三世界的基督徒。

“問那些愛我們的人安”其實是“問那些喜歡我們的人安”。這堥洏峈漪O“φιλεω”而不是“αγαπαω”。這聽上去也許有些奇怪。只問那些喜歡我們的人的安。但如果他們不喜歡我們,就不問他們的安。他在此指的是那些異端的人,他在第10節婸”鴙n棄絕他們,與他們分開。


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Titus 3 (web)

Living Productive Lives

3:1 Remind them to be in subjection to rulers and to authorities,
to be obedient, to be ready for every good work,
3:2 to speak evil of no one, not to be contentious, to be gentle,
showing all humility toward all men.

3:3 For we were also once foolish, disobedient, deceived,
serving various lusts and pleasures, living in malice and envy, hateful, and hating one another.
3:4 But when the kindness of God our Savior and his love toward mankind appeared,
3:5 not by works of righteousness, which we did ourselves, but according to his mercy,
he saved us, through the washing of regeneration and renewing by the Holy Spirit,
3:6 which he poured out on us richly, through Jesus Christ our Savior;
3:7 that, being justified by his grace, we might be made heirs according to the hope of eternal life.

3:8 This saying is faithful, and concerning these things I desire that you affirm confidently,
so that those who have believed God may be careful to maintain good works.
These things are good and profitable to men;

3:9 but shun foolish questionings, genealogies, strife, and disputes about the law;
for they are unprofitable and vain.
3:10 Avoid a factious man after a first and second warning;
3:11 knowing that such a one is perverted, and sins, being self-condemned.

3:12 When I send Artemas to you, or Tychicus, be diligent to come to me to Nicopolis,
for I have determined to winter there.
3:13 Send Zenas, the lawyer, and Apollos on their journey speedily,
that nothing may be lacking for them.
3:14 Let our people also learn to maintain good works for necessary uses,
that they may not be unfruitful.

3:15 All who are with me greet you. Greet those who love us in faith.
Grace be with you all. Amen.


Discussion Questions

vs 1-2 What kind of behavior should Christians have in the society?
How do Christians often behave differently around other Christians in church than around non-Christians in the society?
vs 3 To what extent does this describe you before you became a Christian?
To what extent does it still describe you after becoming a Christian?
vs 4-7 What does it mean to be saved?
What are we saved from?
On what basis are we justified?
What does it mean by the washing of regeneration (rebirth) and renewal by the Holy Spirit?
vs 8 How do these facts motivate a Christian to do good works?
vs 9 What kind of arguments should Christians avoid?
How should you deal with "heretics"?
vs 14 What characterizes the kind of good works Paul refers to?


Comments

Peaceably Submit to Authority

Titus 3:1
,2 Remind the people to be subject to rulers and authorities, to be obedient, to be ready to do whatever is good, to slander no one, to be peaceable and considerate, and to show true humility toward all men.

Many of the commands in the letters has to do with vertical relationships, part of which involves those under authority being subordinate to those in authority over them, whether it be the children to their parents, the wife to her husband, or the slave (employee) to his master (employer). And likewise with regards to civil authorities.

Of course in practice human authority only has a limited realm of authority outside of which they are not legitimate authority. Thus if an authority were to command you to do something outside of their realm of authority, you are not obligated to obey them in that regard seeing as they are not in authority with regards to that command. But with regards to acting within their legitimate realm of authority, believers are to comply. And this regardless of the authority is a believer, or whether they are harsh.

"Wives, in the same way be submissive to your husbands so that, if any of them do not believe the word, they may be won over without words by the behavior of their wives" 1Peter 3:1

"Slaves, submit yourselves to your masters with all respect, not only to those who are good and considerate, but also to those who are harsh." 1Peter 2:18

Live the Christian life intentionally, not passively. Prepare yourself to do good. And in your zeal, beware of misrepresenting others. Attempt to be conciliatory in conflicts. True humility will be revealed by how you and others respond to personal criticism and by complying to legitimate authority within their legitimate realm of authority.


The Way We Were

Titus 3:3 At one time we too were foolish, disobedient, deceived and enslaved by all kinds of passions and pleasures. We lived in malice and envy, being hated and hating one another.

This is much along the lines of Eph 2:1-3 As for you, you were dead in your transgressions and sins, in which you used to live when you followed the ways of this world and of the ruler of the kingdom of the air, the spirit who is now at work in those who are disobedient. All of us also lived among them at one time, gratifying the cravings of our sinful nature and following its desires and thoughts. Like the rest, we were by nature objects of wrath.

But despite this being our characteristic behavior and attitude prior to coming to faith, notice in both these cases the past tense is used. Likewise in 1Cor 6:9-11 "Do you not know that the wicked will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: Neither the sexually immoral nor idolaters nor adulterers nor male prostitutes nor homosexual offenders nor thieves nor the greedy nor drunkards nor slanderers nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God. And that is what some of you were. But you were washed, you were sanctified, you were justified in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and by the Spirit of our God."


Saved and Reborn by Grace

Titus 3:4-7  But when the kindness and love of God our Savior appeared, he saved us, not because of righteous things we had done, but because of his mercy. He saved us through the washing of rebirth and renewal by the Holy Spirit, whom he poured out on us generously through Jesus Christ our Savior, so that, having been justified by his grace, we might become heirs having the hope of eternal life.

The reason for the characteristic change in our behavior and attitude from verse 3 is due to the effect of regeneration brought upon by the impartation of the Holy Spirit. Thus John writes, "No one who is born of God will continue to sin, because God’s seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been born of God." 1John 3:9,10

This is the washing of rebirth and renewal by the Holy Spirit, just previously noted concerning 1Cor 6:11 "And that is what some of you were. But you were washed, you were sanctified, you were justified in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and by the Spirit of our God."

Ezekiel prophecied, "I will sprinkle clean water on you, and you will be clean; I will cleanse you from all your impurities and from all your idols. I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh. And I will put my Spirit in you and move you to follow my decrees and be careful to keep my laws." Eze 36:35-37

"Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creature; the old things passed away; behold, new things have come." 2Cor 5:17

God having graciously justified us, we become heirs to a new life by that same grace. A life of Christ-likeness. This gracious impartation of the Holy Spirit and the regeneration he brings was prior to and not related to any righteous act we had performed, such as good works, water baptism, repentance from sin, all of which are intended to be outworkings of our faith - the faith that saved us. Thus "it is by grace you have been saved" (Eph 2:5b) and works follows.


Saved Unto Good Works

Titus 3:8 This is a trustworthy saying. And I want you to stress these things, so that those who have trusted in God may be careful to devote themselves to doing what is good. These things are excellent and profitable for everyone.

While those of a "salvation by works" mentality tend to add the phrase "in order to be saved" at the end of every command and instruction in the New Testament, the Apostles teaches us that we should do good not in order to be saved, but rather because we are saved and thus we do because we are, rather than we are because we do. Doing what is right is characteristic of our new nature. It is what we were made to be. "For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do." Eph 2:10

Indeed this is the identifying mark of those born of God. "This is how we know who the children of God are and who the children of the devil are: Anyone who does not do what is right is not a child of God; nor is anyone who does not love his brother." 1John 3:10

Therefore identify what good things the Holy Spirit is leading you to do. Get in the habit of doing good. Find some good things to devote yourself to. For having been saved and made an heir to eternal life, this is now your purpose in Christ Jesus. "And he died for all, that those who live should no longer live for themselves but for him who died for them and was raised again." 2Cor 5:15


Avoid Divisive Christians

Titus 3:9-11 But avoid foolish controversies and genealogies and arguments and quarrels about the law, because these are unprofitable and useless. Warn a divisive person once, and then warn him a second time. After that, have nothing to do with him. You may be sure that such a man is warped and sinful; he is self-condemned.

Paul's alluding back to chapter 1 concerning those like the cult of the circumcision, but the principle applies more generally today. Discourse over the Word is valuable. Many times people will come up with arguments and interpretations they claim to be based upon the Bible, but which are highly speculative, not well founded upon a comprehensive inductive study of the Word. Some are worth arguing about just to show their weakness. But if it ends in a quarrel, might be best to leave the matter.

Consider how the book of Acts ends, Paul explained and solemnly testified of the kingdom of God, persuading them concerning Jesus from both the Law of Moses and the Prophets, from morning till evening. And some were persuaded by the things which were spoken, and some disbelieved. So when they did not agree among themselves, they departed after Paul had said one word: "The Holy Spirit spoke rightly through Isaiah the prophet to our fathers, saying, ‘Go to this people and say: "Hearing you will hear, and shall not understand; And seeing you will see, and not perceive; For the hearts of this people have grown dull. Their ears are hard of hearing, And their eyes they have closed, Lest they should see with their eyes and hear with their ears, Lest they should understand with their hearts and turn, So that I should heal them."’ "Therefore let it be known to you that the salvation of God has been sent to the Gentiles, and they will hear it!" And when he had said these words, the Jews departed and had a great dispute among themselves. Acts 28:23-29

So the idea is not to dimiss a divisive person at first, nor second. But there will come a time if he continues, then stop arguing with him. But be careful not to mischaracterized people. For that would be slander on your part. But as for characterizing this man, "divisive" is literally "heretic" or "hairetikos" in the greek. So we're not talking about a small matter. And secondly "sinful" is "sinning" in the present tense, which from our study of 1John indicates that such a person has not been born of God. So understand, this is the kind of person Paul is referring to. In general avoid arguing about mere arm-chair theology and non-application oriented issues. The immature in faith are quick to get caught up in tabloid issues. And if you are not doing what the Bible clearly says then why should God reveal more to you?


Meet Daily Necessities

Titus 3:12-15 As soon as I send Artemas or Tychicus to you, do your best to come to me at Nicopolis, because I have decided to winter there. Do everything you can to help Zenas the lawyer and Apollos on their way and see that they have everything they need. Our people must learn to devote themselves to doing what is good, in order that they may provide for daily necessities and not live unproductive lives. Everyone with me sends you greetings. Greet those who love us in the faith. Grace be with you all.

Although this is the only time Atemas is mentioned in his letters, Tychicus had been mentioned as accompanying him on his missionary journey in Acts 20:4. It was also apparent that he was the one who delivered the letter to the Ephesians to Ephesus. (Eph 6:21) He was sent again to Ephesus near the end of Paul's life in 2Tim 4:12. He was a faithful and persevering Christian who Paul often used as a messenger. Paul also endorsed the ministry of Zenas, the lawyer. And yes, in Greek he doesn't simply say "a lawyer", but "the lawyer", there being something prominent about his profession. Likely along with Apollos he was a powerful apologist, as lawyers often are who come to Christ. Apollos was a very powerful preacher and the pastor of the Corinthian church. I would infer that Zenas and Apollos teamed up to do evangelism among skeptic Greeks.

As for verse 14, this is a common theme in Titus - namely the purpose of the Christian life is to do good. Now in particular here the emphasis of doing good is with regards to meeting practical needs. This is not simply about making people feel good. It's about meeting practical necessities. The problem with Christians in affluent societies where practical needs are largely already met, is that there is often confusion between desires and needs. Consequently Christians in affluent societies should consider perhaps focussing their generosity towards Christians in the Third World.

"Greet those who love us" is really "greet those who like us". "Phileo" is used rather than "agape". This may sound kind of strange. Greet only those who like us or prefer us. But if they don't like us, then don't greet them. He is referring to the heretics in this, to which he is applying the separation idea of verse 10.



The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015