翻譯: English 中文 GB

迷失的羊

馬太福音18:12-14路加福音15:3-7
路加福音15:3-7   耶穌就用比喻說:
“你們中間誰有一百只羊失去一只,不把這九十九只撇在曠野,去找那失去的羊,直到找著呢?找著了,就歡歡喜喜地扛在肩上,回到家堙A就請朋友鄰舍來,對他們說:‘我失去的羊已經找著了,你們和我一同歡喜吧。’我告訴你們:一個罪人悔改,在天上也要這樣為他歡喜,較比為九十九個不用悔改的義人歡喜更大。”


問題討論

誰是失去的羊?
為什么他要去找失去的羊?
羊是怎么回來的?
耶穌只是把他們領回來嗎?
羊為回到羊群付出了多少努力?


注釋

誰是失去的羊?

路加福音第15章埵酗T個具有共同主題的寓言:失去的羊,失落的錢幣,浪子。但失去的羊,失落的錢幣,浪子指的是誰呢?他指的也許是以色列家迷失的羊。耶穌說:“我奉差遣,不過是到以色列家迷失的羊那堨h。”馬太福音15:24 還有彼得前書2:25 “你們從前好像迷路的羊,如今卻歸到你們靈魂的牧人監督了。”彼得前書的一開始表明,彼得前書是一封寫給猶太基督徒的書信。

以色列人分為兩種,如保羅在加拉太書中寫到的那樣──一種是應許的後裔,一種是肉身的後裔。這兩種人的例子有以撒和以實瑪利,雅各和以掃。基督徒也如此分為真正的和唯名的信徒。

雖然所有的以色列人都可被稱作羊──就如以撒和以實瑪利都被稱為亞伯拉罕的後裔一樣,但只有那些在圈中聽了而且服從的才可算作是應許的後裔,至于別的,耶穌說:“只是你們不信,因為你們不是我的羊。” 約翰福音10:26由此我們看到,在圈堿O他的羊先于信基督。因為這種羊已經按主在舊約堻Q顯示的那樣信了他──就像亞伯拉罕那樣。這種人在聽到福音之前就在羊群堣F,他們已經像亞伯拉罕那樣稱義。當聽到他們的彌賽亞說話的時候,他們就自然地認出他的聲音,信了他。這并不意味著別的羊將來就不能得救。我毫不懷疑使徒保羅在他的轉化之前就是這樣一個被耶穌稱作不屬他的羊的法利賽人。他曾是一只失去的羊,但後來得到了救贖。

我想這些圈堛漲洉あ雈i能還包括外邦人堛澈H徒,比如使徒行傳10堛滬竷妞y。耶穌說:“我另外有羊,不是這圈堛滿Q我必須領他們來,他們也要聽我的聲音,并且要合成一群,歸一個牧人了。”約翰福音10:16“這圈”指的可能是以色列,而另外的羊指的可能是這樣的外邦人:他們雖然不知到基督本身,但盡管是外邦人,信以色列的神,因而像亞伯拉罕那樣稱義。(見羅馬書4:9-11

主題之一:永恆的保障

我的羊聽我的聲音,我也認識他們,他們也跟著我。我又賜給他們永生﹔他們永不滅亡,誰也不能從我手塈漭L們奪去。我父把羊賜給我,他比萬有都大,誰也不能從我父手塈漭L們奪去。”約翰福音10:27-29
那些屬基督的就有永恆的保障。可是如果他們迷路走遠了呢?一般說來,當他們聽到他的聲音時就會跟隨他。這是他的羊的特征,盡管他們有時會在某種程度上走失,他們總會回來的。“因為義人雖七次跌倒,仍必興起。”箴言24:16但我想他們不會走得如此之遠以致失去。我不認為失去的羊代表已得救贖但走失了的以色列人,而是未得救贖的以色列人,他們的特點就是沒有聽,并容易走遠,不與已得救贖羊群認同。

這些人就像如今唯名的基督徒一樣,他們的行為與神的兒女不相稱。俗語說得真不錯:“狗所吐的,它轉過來又吃﹔豬洗淨了,又回到泥堨h滾。”這話在他們身上正合式。 彼得後書2:22而就那些由神生的,從生活方式的意義上,約翰寫到:凡從神生的就不犯罪,因神的道(原文作“種”)存在他心堙C他也不能犯罪,因為他是由神生的。從此就顯出誰是神的兒女,誰是魔鬼的兒女:凡不行義的就不屬神,不愛弟兄的也是如此。”約翰一書3:9,10

我由此推論,牧羊人未必一定能找到失去的羊。可是一但找到,失去的羊就有了永恆的保障。失去的羊自己需要為回到羊群作出什么努力呢?一點也不需要。因為當他被找到之後,牧羊人不單單是把羊領回來,而是把羊扛回來。牧羊人不是告訴羊怎么回來,給羊留下張地圖,然後說:“祝你好運,你自己摸著回家把。”他甚至不管羊自己的意愿是不是想回來。事實上,他是把羊抱起來扛在肩上,強迫羊回去的。直到回到羊群堙A那曾經失去的羊沒有自己走一步。失去的羊似乎沒有為悔改付出任何努力。而牧羊人為把羊帶回來做了所有的工。

我們不需要為我們的拯救做工。那是白白給我們的。我們做工是把我們的救贖付諸應用,比如悔改的工。但其實是神在做工。我們基本上是在被動地與神合作。但看上去好像我們是在主動地這么做。對于那些被找到的,神與我們所做的悔改的工不可避免地會使我們改變生活方式,使之與神的兒女相符。雖然根據麥子與稗子的寓言,開始很難看出誰是已經被贖的。但當他們成熟之後,就很容易從他們所結的果看出,這也是不可避免的。

主題之二:個人的價值

機構化的哲學注重人數多少,以致于降低了個人的價值。牧師們也許會為他們教會的人數而喜樂,但很少想到那偏離真道的。事實上只有很少的這種“屬靈領袖”甚至知道他們的羊群的狀況,他們用純粹的演講方式講道,不容任何反饋。人們去教會,聽講,然後回家,與牧師以及互相之間交流甚少。

但好牧人知道他的羊。他化時間精力去領著他們,甚至是個別地。耶穌所呈現的傳道模式就是親自去個別地帶門徒。是的,他曾給眾人講道,但他特別地帶了十二個門徒。他這么做,沒有修筑一幢建筑。現在有誰像耶穌那樣帶門徒呢?機構化教會的目的本來是為傳道提供方便,但它們本身竟成了目的。它們變成像公司企業一樣的實體,那些不符合其項目的往往被忽視。在這種企業堙A花在尋找失去的羊上的力氣往往很少。

但注意耶穌是如何傳福音的。甚至在眾人的擁擠之中,他都耐心地花時間在個人身上。記得那個患血漏的女人,雜在眾人中間,摸耶穌的衣裳。耶穌感覺到了,但門徒對他說:

“你看眾人擁擠你,還說‘誰摸我’嗎?”耶穌周圍觀看,要見作這事的女人。 馬可福音5:31,32
還有撒該,一個被看作罪人的人。經上記著:
他要看看耶穌是怎樣的人。只因人多,他的身量又矮,所以不得看見。就跑到前頭,爬上桑樹,要看耶穌,因為耶穌必從那婺g過。耶穌到了那堙A抬頭一看,對他說:“撒該,快下來,今天我必住在你家堙C” 路加福音19:3-5
事實上,越是那些被看不起、被忽視的,耶穌越是關心。

主題之三:救失去的羊的優先性

“健康的人用不著醫生,有病的人才用得著,我來本不是召義人,乃是召罪人。” 馬可福音2:17
由于我們所固有的罪性,我們會有意或無意地以為神只關心那些已經被贖的,而不管別的任何人。許多世紀以來,這種自私的哲學妨礙了傳道的工作。的確,在歷史上曾有一些神學觀點,其唯一目的似乎就是要為“被撿選的”找借口,不去關心那些失去的,不以任何方式參與他們的救贖。

基督徒埵陶\多人不求事奉而求被事奉。就連保羅也有類似的經歷,比如他給提摩太所寫到: “因為我沒有別人與我同心,實在挂念你們的事。別人都求自己的事,并不求耶穌基督的事。”腓立比書2:20,21而牧師們也樂意順從,培養出一些只坐椅子的人。

事實上可見教會本身已經成了失去的羊的場所。甚至不用到可見教會外面就可傳福音。在可見教會之內就有許多需要得救的,因為他們只是唯名的基督徒。可是如果你想救這些失去的羊,根據我的經驗,你常常會遇到教會堥銗忖H的敵意,特別是機構化的領袖,他們似乎是在扮演狼的角色,認為你是想辦法把他們的食物偷偷地拿走。


Rap

Suppose you owned a hundred sheep
And one wandered away when you fell asleep
Wouldn't you leave the rest to find
The one that left. Aren't you inclined
To seek the one that you own
Though you must leave the rest alone
And when you find the sheep off track
What would you do to get him back?
Would you simply hand him a map?
Or perhaps you might try and give him a slap.
No, you would lift him right off his feet
And carry him home all the way down the street.
Rejoicing all the way you go.
Just as God's angels do, you know.
For there is more rejoicing over one who repents
Than over those who simply stayed in the fence


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

The Parable of 
The Lost Sheep

Matt 18:12-14; Lk 15:3-7
Luke 15:3-7   He told them this parable.
"Which of you men, if you had one hundred sheep, and lost one of them, wouldn’t leave the ninety-nine in the wilderness, and go after the one that was lost, until he found it?  When he has found it, he carries it on his shoulders, rejoicing.  When he comes home, he calls together his friends and his neighbors, saying to them, ‘Rejoice with me, for I have found my sheep which was lost!’ I tell you that even so there will be more joy in heaven over one sinner who repents, than over ninety-nine righteous people who need no repentance." (web)


Discussion Questions

Who are the lost sheep?
Why did he seek for the lost sheep?
How did the sheep get back?
Did Jesus simply lead them back?
How much effort did the sheep have to make to return to the flock?


Comments

Who are the Lost Sheep?

Luke chapter 15 contains three parables with a common theme: The lost sheep, the lost coin, and the lost son. But who do these lost sheep, lost coin, and lost son refer to? He may be referring to the lost sheep of Isael. Jesus said, "I was sent only to the lost sheep of Israel." Mt 15:24 And notice also 1Pet 2:25 "For you were like sheep going astray, but now you have returned to the Shepherd and Overseer of your souls." And 1st Peter was written to Jewish Christians, as his introduction indicates.

The people of Israel are divided into two groups, as Paul also writes in Galatians - those who were sons of the promise and those who were sons of the flesh. These two groups have been exemplified by Isaac and Ishmael and also by Jacob and Esau. The Christian community is also divided this way between the nominal and true believers.

Although all of Israel may be spoken of as sheep - just as both Isaac and Ishmael were sons of Abraham, yet those in the pen who listened and obeyed may be likened to the sons of the promise, while of the others Jesus says: "but you do not believe because you are not my sheep." John 10:26 So here we see, being his sheep in the pen precedes having faith in Christ. For such sheep have already believed in the Lord as the Old Testament had revealed him - as Abraham had. Such people are already in the flock before they even hear the gospel, having been justified as Abraham was. But upon hearing their Messiah speak, naturally they recognize his voice and put their faith in him. This is not to say that these other sheep could not be saved in the future. For I have little doubt that the apostle Paul before his conversion was one of these type of Pharisees that Jesus referred to as not being his sheep at the time. But he was a lost sheep redeemed later on.

I think also that the sheep in the pen may even incorporate Gentile believers, like perhaps Cornelius of Acts 10. For Jesus said, "I have other sheep that are not of this sheep pen. I must bring them also. They too will listen to my voice, and there shall be one flock and one shepherd." John 10:16 "This sheep pen" may refer to Israel, whereas the other sheep pen may refer to the Gentiles who while being ignorant of Christ himself, believe in the God of Israel and are thus righteous as Abraham was - even when he was a Gentile. (See Rom 4:9-11)

Theme 1: Eternal Security

"My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one can snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father's hand."John 10:25-29
Those who belong to Christ are eternally secure. What if they wander away? Generally speaking, when they hear his voice they follow him. This is characteristic of his sheep, though at times they may wander to some extent, of course always returning. "Though a righteous man falls seven times, he rises again." Pr 24:16 But I don't think they can wander so far as to get lost. I don't think that the lost sheep represents the redeemed of Israel who got lost, but the unredeemed of Israel who characteristically hadn't listened and was prone to wandering far away, not identifying with the redeemed flock.

These are likened today to nominal Christians who have a behavior inconsistent with that of a child of God. Of them the proverbs are true: "A dog returns to its vomit," and, "A sow that is washed goes back to her wallowing in the mud." 2Peter 2:22 But of those born of God, speaking in a lifestyle sense, John writes: "No one who is born of God will continue to sin, because God's seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been born of God. This is how we know who the children of God are and who the children of the devil are: Anyone who does not do what is right is not a child of God; nor is anyone who does not love his brother."1John 3:9,10

I infer that it is not inevitable that the shepherd would have found the sheep. But having found him, the lost sheep was then eternally secure. For what effort did it take for the lost sheep to return to the flock? None at all on the part of the sheep. For when he was found, the shepherd carried him home. He doesn't simply lead them back. He doesn't give them instructs or directions on how to return, as if leaving a map with them and saying "good luck at finding your way back." He doesn't even leave it up to their own will or decision to return. Instead what he does is force them to come back by picking them up and carrying them on his shoulders. In returning to the flock, these lost ones hadn't taken a single step of themselves. It seems they made no effort at all in repenting. But they did repent. Rather, the shepherd did all the work in them to bring them back.

We need not work for our salvation. That is given to us freely. Rather we work out applications of our salvation, such as works of repentance. But really God is doing the work. We are essentially passively cooperating with God. But it appears as if we are actively doing so. For those who have been found, God's work of repentance with us inevitably leads us into living a lifestyle consistent with that of a child of God. Though from the parable of the Wheat and the Weeds, it may be difficult early on to distinguish who the redeemed are. But as they mature it will become apparent by their fruits, which are also inevitable.

Theme 2: The Value of the Individual

Institutional philosophy with its obsession over size has led to the devaluation of individuals. Pastors may rejoice in the size of their congregation, but take little thought of the those who stray from the faith. In fact few of such "spiritual leaders" are even aware of the condition of their flock, subjecting them to a purely lecture format with no feedback being allowed. People go to church, they listen to a lecture and go home, having little interaction with the pastor and with one another.

But a good shephard knows his sheep. He takes time to and effort to lead them, even individually. The model that Jesus' had presented for ministry was one of personal discipleship. Yes, he taught the multitudes, but in particular he discipled 12 men. And he managed to do this without building a building. These days who disciples the way Jesus did? Institutional churches were meant to facilitate the ministry, but have become ends in themselves. They have become entities like large corporations and those who don't quite fit into its programs are often neglected. There is often little effort in such corporations to seek lost sheep.

But notice how Jesus ministers in the gospels. Even in the midst of crowds, he patiently takes time for individuals. One is reminded of the bleeding woman who touched Jesus in the crowd and Jesus was aware of it, but his disciples said:

You see the people crowding against you," his disciples answered, "and yet you can ask, 'Who touched me?'" But Jesus kept looking around to see who had done it. Mark 5:31,32
Or of Zacchaeus, a man reckoned as a sinner. It was written of him:
He wanted to see who Jesus was, but being a short man he could not, because of the crowd. So he ran ahead and climbed a sycamore-fig tree to see him, since Jesus was coming that way. When Jesus reached the spot, he looked up and said to him, "Zacchaeus, come down immediately. I must stay at your house today." Luke 19:3-5
In fact those who are the most despised and neglected seem to be the ones that Jesus pays most attention to.

Theme 3: The Priority of Saving the Lost

"It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners." Mark 2:17
It is inherent in our sinful nature to presume whether consciously or unconsciously that God cares only about us who have been redeemed and no one else. For centuries, mission work has been hindered by such a selfish philosophy. Indeed historically there have been theological ideas developed seemingly for the sole purpose of excusing the "elect" from caring for or in any way being involved in the salvation of the lost.

The Christian community is dominated by people who seek not to serve but to be served. This was even Paul's experience, as he wrote of Timothy, "I have no one else like him, who takes a genuine interest in your welfare. For everyone looks out for his own interests, not those of Jesus Christ." Php 2:20,21 And pastors tend to be willing accomplices, developing mere pew-sitters.

Indeed the visible church has become a field of lost sheep itself. One hardly has to go outside the church to do evangelism. For it seems there are plenty to be saved right inside the visible church, being simply nominal Christians. Yet if you try to saved these lost sheep, it has been my experience that you often run into hostility by others in the church, especially institutional leaders who seemingly play the role of wolves, who think that you're trying to steal their food away.


Rap

Suppose you owned a hundred sheep
And one wandered away when you fell asleep
Wouldn't you leave the rest to find
The one that left. Aren't you inclined
To seek the one that you own
Though you must leave the rest alone
And when you find the sheep off track
What would you do to get him back?
Would you simply hand him a map?
Or perhaps you might try and give him a slap.
No, you would lift him right off his feet
And carry him home all the way down the street.
Rejoicing all the way you go.
Just as God's angels do, you know.
For there is more rejoicing over one who repents
Than over those who simply stayed in the fence

The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Feb 10,2009