翻譯: English 简体中文

讓人們聽

神蹟的肯定

除了最後的一個禮拜他在十字架上為罪付出贖價以外,耶穌的事奉主要是由什麼組成的呢?由他的教訓和對他教訓的權威的証明組成。他傳道,并且行神蹟。這些神蹟意在肯定他的信息。

“我奉我父之名所行的事可以為我作見証﹔”約翰福音 10:25b

“我若不行我父的事,你們就不必信我。我若行了,你們縱然不信我,也當信這些事,叫你們又知道,又明白父在我堶情A我也在父堶情C” 約翰福音 10:37,38
 

有人問:“我怎知神曾說話?”
讀讀他的話, 我非戲言。
叫死人復活, 醫治瞎子。
你將要發現, 証據頗多。
當著成千人, 有友有敵。
不隱且不密, 你可知否。
因神若說話, 他很明白。
我們需証椐, 話出他口。

但如果我們跟隨耶穌,我們是不是也要行神蹟呢?的確,使徒們行了神蹟。可是,他們是新約的作者,因此,從邏輯上講需要肯定他們的話。但現在聖經已經寫完了。就連今天那些聲稱預言式地在聖經之外說“神的話”的人也不敢公然地把這些話加進聖經堨h。只有聖經和聖經堛滌繴是神的道。其它所有的都只是看法而已。然而這個概念沒有被廣泛地得到接受,特別是在靈恩派堙A和甚至今天在很多福音派的人中,他們往往隨便地使用“神的道”這個說法(比如:“神對我說”或“我有一句從神來的話”或“牧師要給我們講一句神的話”)來指聖經以外的東西。如果他們要把東西加到聖經堨h,那麼他們就應該用神蹟來証明他們是有新啟示的先知。這是聖經所要求的。

神的道本身已經完成了。雖然有很多的應用還需要在聖靈的領引下得出來。但如果我們不行神蹟,怎麼肯定神的道呢?神的道本身解決了這個問題。因為聖經堜狴]含的不只是基督的教訓和關于他是誰的命題,還有關于他所行的神蹟的歷史記載。在傳神的道時,我們應當包括這些神蹟。的確,保羅肯定了在他傳神的道時,他總要講這些神蹟,比如耶穌從死奡_活是最終極的例子,証明了他的信息。

當我們向別人提議信基督的時候,這不應該是盲目的信。因為耶穌自己就沒有這樣要求,而是用神蹟來証明他自己。基督教與伊斯蘭教和東方的哲理不同,這些有很多的教訓或作品,但它們都沒有神蹟來肯定作者。耶穌神蹟的歷史事實是福音信息不可或缺的一部分。不可能把歷史的耶穌和他的神蹟分開,而不毀壞他的整個信息。不可能把這些神蹟從它們的歷史分割出來,把它們僅看作是比喻,而不貶低它們的目的。

因此,我們不傳我們自己,或我們自己的看法,而是傳神的道和聖經堜畛羲滿A歷史上的基督。但人們為什麼要聽我們呢?耶穌行神蹟的目的不正是把人吸引到他那堙A這樣他們就會聽嗎?這難道不是在贏得聽眾,同時証明他的信息嗎?是的!但同時要從他的教訓和他的事奉明白,那些神蹟本身不能產生使人得救的信。這就是耶穌講財主與拉撒路的寓言要說明的。 “若不聽從摩西和先知的話,就是有一個從死奡_活的,他們也是不聽勸。” 【路加福音 16:31】他在約翰福音第六章堥洃迨d人吃飽的經歷也是如此。

賞賜的保証

因為罪性,人自然地不被神所吸引。因此神用幾種辦法把人吸引到他那堙C神蹟可以吸引人來聽。永生的保証和跟隨基督所得到的賞賜也吸引了人。這些賞賜不是在盡責任的意義下應許的,不是為服務所付出的報酬,而是出于神的恩典。雖然經上說:“吃蜜過多是不好的,考究自己的榮耀也是可厭的。” 箴言 25:27但耶穌鼓勵人們從神那奡M求榮耀。人們應該跟隨基督,因為那是正確的事,不是為了自私的原因,然而以“信他賞賜那尋求他的人。”作為動機是符合聖經的信。希伯來書 11:6因此,因為人的不潔和固有的罪性,神用人自己的不潔來把他們吸引到他那堙C

神還用聖靈,“他既來了,就要叫世人為罪、為義、為審判,自己責備自己。” 約翰福音 16:8就像云柱和火柱領著以色列人穿過曠野一樣,聖靈把尚未被贖的人領到對基督的信堙C

對什麼樣的人就作什麼樣的人

但作為基督的使者,我們除了傳道以外可以做什麼來把別人領到他呢?有些現代福音派的人幹脆放棄傳道,而靠所謂“生活方式傳福音”或被我稱為“與世俗為友傳福音”的方法。但使人得救的信不是由交朋友來的,就像不是由看見神蹟來的一樣,而“信道是從聽道來的” 羅馬書 10:17但我們怎麼才能使人認真地聽呢?我們用什麼方式交流他們才會聽呢?

保羅認識到這個問題,并力圖像他看到耶穌做的那樣去解決這個問題,那就是與別人認同,按照他們交流的方式去與他們交流。 “我雖是自由的,無人轄管,然而我甘心作了眾人的仆人,為要多得人。向猶太人,我就作猶太人,為要得猶太人。向律法以下的人,我雖不在律法以下,還是作律法以下的人,為要得律法以下的人。向沒有律法的人,我就作沒有律法的人,為要得沒有律法的人。其實我在神面前,不是沒有律法,在基督面前,正在律法之下。向軟弱的人,我就作軟弱的人,為要得軟弱的人。向什麼樣的人,我就作什麼樣的人。無論如何,總要救些人。”歌林多前書 9:19-22

這包括在不是黑白分明的事上做出妥協,只要這樣做不違背一個人的良心。比如,保羅強烈地反對外邦人必須受割禮的要求。但他自己給提摩太行了割禮,提摩太的父親是希利尼人,以避免不必要地觸犯猶太人。他反對盡摩西律法的義務,但他自己作為基督徒還是參加了數個摩西律法的禮儀。類似地,他與外邦人認同,無論他們蒙召時是為奴的還是自主的。在使徒行傳第十七章他對希利尼人(也就是希臘人)說話的時候按照他們的思考方式給他們講福音,但不在真理上妥協,結果亞略巴古的一個成員,還又幾個其它的人都信了主。

你是不是有點太“信教”,以至人們無法與你認同呢?耶穌和保羅沒有隨身帶著宗教的圈套。他們穿著普通衣服,有普通的職業。他們與普通的人認同,住在他們中間。雖然他們說話帶著權柄,但他們卻以仆人的身份出現。在你傳福音的時候,你也許會感到你應該得到回報,因為你幫助這個人得到的是永生的生命。但在聽的人看來,你其實是在把東西從他那堮釣哄C你是在占用他的時間。因此我們不但要傳道,我們還要給他們報酬來讓他們聽。這種報酬可以是按照這個人的需要為他提供的各種服務。這樣做了已後,這個人也許會感到有義務來聽,做為對你的服務的報酬。另外我們可以用容易聽的形式來講。比如,耶穌以講故事的形式來講道。音樂是另一種方法。因此,在你考慮跟隨耶穌去事奉的時候,要記注你必須傳遞福音的信息,而且必須贏得別人的耳朵。



2020年09月30日

Chinese Translations: GB Big5

Getting People to Listen

The Affirming Power of Miracles

Other than the final week of his ministry in which he atoned for sin on the cross, what did Jesus' ministry really consist of? It consisted of teaching and affirming his authority to teach. He preached and he did miracles. The miracles were meant to affirm his message.

"The miracles I do in my Father's name speak for me." (John 10:25)

"Do not believe me unless I do what my Father does. But if I do it, even though you do not believe me, believe the miracles, that you may know and understand that the Father is in me, and I in the Father." (John 10:37,38)
 

Now some people ask, "How can I know God has spoken?" 
Just read His word and I'm not jokin. 
Raising the dead and healing the blind. 
Oh, there's lots of proofs, you'll find. 
In the presence of thousands, both friend and foe. 
Things not done in secret, don't you know. 
For when God speaks His word, He understands 
We need proof it's His and not man's. 

But if we are to follow Jesus, must we do miracles as well? Indeed the apostles did miracles. But then again, they were the authors of the New Testament and logically would need their words affirmed. But now the Bible is complete. Even those today who claim to prophetically speak "God's words" apart from the Bible do not dare to add such words to the pages of the Bible. The Bible alone and the Christ of the bible is God's Word. Everything else is opinion. However, this concept is not widely accepted especially in Charismatic circles and today even among many evangelicals who casually use the phrase "word of God" (like "God spoke to me" or "I have a word from God" or "The pastor will now give us a word from God") and refer to something other than the Bible. If they are going to add on to the Bible, then let them prove that they are prophets of new revelation by doing miracles. This is what the Bible demands.

The Word itself is complete. Though there are many applications to be worked out under the direction of the Holy Spirit. But if we have no miracles to do, then how can we afffirm the Word. The Word itself solves this problem. For the Bible contains not only the teachings of Christ and the propositions he made of himself, but also an historic record of some of his miracles. When we preach the Word, we should include these miracles. Indeed Paul affirms that whenever he preached Christ, he would included miracles, such as his resurrection from the dead being the ultimate example and affirmation of his messsage.

When we propose to people that they put faith in Christ, it should not imply a blind faith. For Jesus himself did not ask this, but rather proved himself through miracles. Christianity is different than Islam and the philosophies of the East, many of which have some main teacher or writings, but they have no miracles to affirm the authors. The historic fact of Jesus' miracles are an essential part of the message. You cannot separate the historic Jesus from his miracles without destroying his whole message. You cannot simply interpret the miracles allegorically removing them from their historic context without devaluing their purpose.

Thus we preach not ourselves, nor our own opinions, but the Word of God and the Biblical historic Christ. But why would people listen to us? Wasn't Jesus' purpose in doing miracles also to draw crowds to himself so they would hear? Wasn't it to win a hearing as well as affirm the message? Indeed! But realize also both from his teachings and his ministry, that miracles themselves do not create salvific faith. This was Jesus' point in speaking of Lazarus and the Rich Man. "If they do not listen to Moses and the Prophets, they will not be convinced even if someone rises from the dead." (Luke 16:31) as well as his experience with the feeding of the 5000 in John 6.

The Promise of Rewards

Because of the sinful nature, people are not naturally attracted to God. Thus God draws men to himself and he does so in a number of ways. Miracles attracted people to hear. Promises of eternal life and rewards for following Christ also attracted people. Such rewards were not promised out of a sense of obligation, as if payment for services rendered, but out of God's graciousness. And though it is written that "it is not honorable to seek one's own honor" (Prov 25:27), Jesus nonetheless motivated people to seek honor from God. People should follow Christ because it is the right thing to do and not for selfish ends, but nonetheless being motivated out of the sense "that he rewards those who earnestly seek him" is a characteristic of Biblical Faith. (Heb 11:6) Thus, because of man's imperfection and innate sinfulness, God uses man's own imperfect motivations to draw them to himself.

He also uses the Holy Spirit "who will convict the world of guilt in regard to sin and righteousness and judgment:" (John 16:8) As the cloud and pillar of fire guide Israel through the desert to the promise land, so the Holy Spirit comes along side the unredeemed to lead them to faith in Christ.

All Things to All Men

But what can we as ambassadors for Christ do to lead others to him besides preaching. There are those in modern evangelicalism that abandon preaching altogether and opt for "lifestyle evangelism" or as I call it "Friendship with the world evangelism". But saving faith does not come from making friendships just as it doesn't come from seeing miracles, rather "faith comes from hearing the message". (Rom 10:17) But how can we get people to listen carefully? How can we communicate in way that they will listen?

Paul recognized this problem and tried to solve it as he saw Jesus also doing, by identifying with the people and conforming to their mode of communication. "Though I am free and belong to no man, I make myself a slave to everyone, to win as many as possible. To the Jews I became like a Jew, to win the Jews. To those under the law I became like one under the law (though I myself am not under the law), so as to win those under the law. To those not having the law I became like one not having the law (though I am not free from God's law but am under Christ's law), so as to win those not having the law. To the weak I became weak, to win the weak. I have become all things to all men so that by all possible means I might save some."1Cor 9:19-22

This may involve making compromises in "gray areas", just so long as it doesn't violate one's conscience. For example, Paul strongly opposed the necessity of Gentiles to get circumcised. But he himself circumcised Timothy who was half Greek in order to not unncessarily offend the Jews. He spoke against obligation to the Law of Moses, but he himself as a Christian partook of a number of its rituals. Similarly he identified with the Gentiles in their various callings whether slave or free. In his speech in Acts 17 to the Greek philosophers in Athens, he conformed the gospel to their manner of thinking without compromising the truth and managed to converted a member of the Areopagus and a number of others.

Are you perhaps a little too "religious" for people to identify with you? Jesus and Paul didn't carry around the trappings of religion. They dressed in an ordinary manner and worked at ordinary jobs. They identified with the comman people, living among them. Though speaking with authority, they presented themselves as servants. When you preach the gospel you may feel that you deserve a reward, for you are offering the person eternal life. But from the listener's perspective, you are actually taking something away from him. You are taking away his time. Thus we need not only preach, but somehow pay people to listen. Such payment may come in the form of various services according to the person's need. Having done so, the person now may feel obligated to listen as a form of repayment. Else we can put the message into a form which is easier to listen to. Jesus, for example, entertained by telling stories. Music is another way. So when you consider following Jesus into ministry remember that you must communicate the message and you must win a hearing.


Verses quoted from the NIV version

The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources
Nov 03,2011