翻譯: English 中文 GB

財主與拉撒路

路加福音 16:19-31 “有一個財主,穿著紫色袍和細麻布衣服,天天奢華宴樂。又有一個討飯的,名叫拉撒路,渾身生瘡,被人放在財主門口,要得財主桌子上掉下來的零碎充飢。并且狗來舔他的瘡。後來那討飯的死了,被天使帶去放在亞伯拉罕的懷堙C財主也死了,并且埋葬了。他在陰間受痛苦,舉目遠遠地望見亞伯拉罕,又望見拉撒路在他懷堙C

就喊著說:‘我祖亞伯拉罕哪,可憐我吧,打發拉撒路來,用指頭尖蘸點水,涼涼我的舌頭。因為我在這火焰堙A極其痛苦。’

亞伯拉罕說:‘兒啊,你該回想你生前享過福,拉撒路也受過苦。如今他在這堭o安慰,你倒受痛苦。不但這樣,并且在你我之間,有深淵限定,以致人要從這邊過到你們那邊,是不能的,要從那邊過到我們這邊,也是不能的。’

財主說:‘我祖啊,既是這樣,求你打發拉撒路到我父家去,因為我還有五個弟兄。他可以對他們作見証,免得他們也來到這痛苦的地方。’

亞伯拉罕說:‘他們有摩西和先知的話,可以聽從。’

他說:‘我祖亞伯拉罕哪,不是的,若有一個從死奡_活的,到他們那堨h的,他們必要悔改。’

亞伯拉罕說:‘若不聽從摩西和先知的話,就是有一個從死奡_活的,他們也是不聽勸。’


問題討論

解釋

你認為什麼即使拉撒路從死奡_活這個財主的弟兄們也不信。
當時是不是有一個“拉撒路”從死奡_活?約翰福音 11
他的復活對不信的人有什麼作用?約翰福音 12:9-11

應用

神跡在使人相信神已經對我們說了話這件事的過程中起到什麼作用?
你認為應該怎樣傳福音?
你認為傳福音是不是應以“不管是什麼,只要有效果”為基礎?
如果是這樣的話,如何衡量是不是“有效果”?


注釋

有些人對耶穌在這媢鴾H死以後的描寫很反感。有些人提出這不過是一個故事而已,不一定是真實的。然而,注意到耶穌的所有其它故事都是真實的。他所講的喻言從未使用幻想故事式的情節。他對人死以後的描述也是真實的。另見約瑟夫斯(Josephus 著名的一世紀猶太基督教史學家)論陰間他也認為耶穌的描述是真實的。

“陰間”譯自希臘文“Αδηζ”一詞,是人死以後的去處。陰間堨悃潃茬﹞徽捰芋C一部分是不義的人的去處,通常被稱作“地獄”,另一部分是義人的去處,被稱為“樂園”,按著耶穌對釘在十字架上的犯人所應許的:“我實在告訴你,今日你要同我在樂園堣F。”路加福音 23:43

那堨u有兩個部分,沒有中間地帶。沒有半義,半不義的。沒有人是一半由神生的。“人有了神的兒子就有生命﹔沒有神的兒子就沒有生命。” 約翰一書 5:12有神的兒子的人就被算作義人,他們的罪已經被赦免,被忘記。

主題:從地獄媔М眴

這個故事堥S有明確地說明這個財主為什麼會進地獄。這媟t示了其原因是他迷戀奢侈的生活,追求快樂享受,而不愛他的鄰舍。但這不是主題。這個故事的主題關鍵在其最後一節,也就是說,聖經本身就足以使人悔改,得到拯救。“信道是從聽道來的。” 羅馬書 10:17耶穌說:“你們如果信摩西,也必信我。因為他書上有指著我寫的話。你們若不信他的書,怎能信我的話呢?” 約翰福音 5:46-47

然而很多基督徒被指教說傳福音在很大程度上取決于傳福音的人。其實并非如此!如果有人不聽聖經所講的,那麼就是有人從死奡_活給他們傳道也沒用!“以生活方式傳福音”是一個謬誤。如果你認為你可以不告訴人聖經上說了些什麼,而只靠你是多麼多麼好來使人轉變,你真地會使一些人轉變,但他們中間很少有信聖經的。他們結果會像你一樣──把他們的信建筑在他們自己身上,而不是建筑在神的道上。

這個財主想在地獄媔}始他自己的傳福音事工。他有在他自己看來合理的想法。讓我們來演一場大戲,用神跡來吸引人們的注意。那是從地獄媔М眴。盡管福音派迷戀于以“生活方式傳福音”,靈恩派沉醉于試圖以所謂的“征兆和異像”來吸引人,但讓那些從神的道而生的人依靠的是聖經。讓所傳的耶穌是聖經堜畛羲滬C穌,而不是人們在頭腦埵菑v構造出的“耶穌”。讓那些他們依靠神的道的謙卑傳道者來頌揚和傳播福音的信息。

然而有些人拒絕留心聽耶穌的信息,而說:“怎麼做有效果就該怎麼傳福音。”他們用轉變的人數來衡量是不是“有效果”。但他們不管他們所產生的究竟是什麼樣的轉變。是的,如果在其間傳了神的道,那麼那些轉變了的人很有可能是由神生的。但“數量”往往被是放在第一位,很大一部分這樣“轉變了的人”往往只在名義上是基督徒,因為沒有從聖靈生。這種轉變的人結果與傳信的人有同一種心態──不把神的道放在眼堙A而把自己的觀點凌架于聖經之上,因而過分地提高自己的或傳信人的觀點。被這樣轉變的人的“耶穌”往往不是聖經堜畛羲滬C穌,而是在他們的頭腦堳鬘L們自己的形像造出來的“耶穌”。

拉撒路的復活

即使拉撒路從死奡_活也不能使懷疑的人變為信徒,這也許很難令人相信。但事實上的確有一個“拉撒路”,他是耶穌的朋友,在約翰福音第十一章堭q死奡_活。下面是耶穌的敵人對這件事的反應:
有許多猶太人知道耶穌在那堙A就來了,不但是為耶穌的緣故,也是要看他從死堜珒_活的拉撒路。但祭司長商議連拉撒路也要殺了。因有好些猶太人,為拉撒路的緣故,回去信了耶穌。約翰福音 12:9-11
這就引出另一個問題。因為耶穌常常用神跡來肯定他的信息。
猶太人圍著他,說:“你叫我們猶疑不定到几時呢?你若是基督,就明明地告訴我們。”耶穌回答說:“我已經告訴你們,你們不信。我奉我父之名所行的事可以為我作見証﹔只是你們不信,因為你們不是我的羊。”約翰福音 10:24-26
但注意到他說雖然神跡肯定了他所傳的信息,正如這個在地獄堛煽I人所想的那樣,但如果他們不相信他已經通過摩西聽到的神的道,那麼神跡對他們來說也是沒有用處的。(約翰福音5:46,47)還因為這樣,那些在前面提到的約翰福音12:11婸〞漕漕リH因拉撒路的緣故信了耶穌的人有那些已經信了摩西和先知的人,還有那些因為驚嘆于這個神跡,而在名義上信的人。

記住福音書和使徒行傳著重于記錄史實,記錄的是人們外在地是如何被稱乎的,而未必是他們內在的究竟是什麼。因為很多人,比如在約翰福音第六章堙A他們因耶穌所行的神跡跟著他,但卻因他所說的話離棄了他。耶穌回答說:“我實實在在地告訴你們,你們找我,并不是因見了神跡,乃是因吃餅得飽。”約翰福音6:26“從此,他門徒中多有退去的,不再和他同行。”約翰福音6:66這就是依靠“從地獄媔М眴窗赤滌暋D。如果你想保持數量,就得放棄聖經。但耶穌對從數量上講,“無論如何,只要有效就行”不感興趣。他更關心質量,而不是數量。的確,似乎在很多教會堙A耶穌基督會被從他們的宣道隊婸陞X去。看哪!進展真好!我們有這麼多的人。但當你開口講神的道時,大多都散去了。除了只有几個熱衷于聖經的,誰也不來了。看來事情總是老樣子!


Rap

There was rich man dressed in fine linen
Living in luxury though he was sinnin
At his gate lay a beggar, Lazarus by name
Covered with sores being treated with shame
He wanted to eat crumbs from the rich man's table.
Even dogs licked his sore, for he was not able.
Then the time came when the beggar died
And angels carried him to Abraham's side.
The rich man man died also his body but a shell
For he awoke to his torment, ending up in hell
He looked up and saw Abraham far away
And Lazarus by his side. That's what he saw that day
He called "Father Abraham have pity on me
And send Lazarus to attend to my plea
For I ask just a bit of water to acquire
For my tongue burns in agony in this fire
But Abraham replied, "Remember my son
You received your good things and had plenty of fun.
While Lazarus had only asked for a crumb
While he suffered he was treated just like a bum
But now he is in comfort and you in agony
That seems rather fair, wouldn't you agree?
And besides all this a big gap has been fixed
Between here and you so we cannot be mixed."
The rich man answered, "Then I beg you
Send him to my house to tell my brothers what's true
So they won't come to this place" (He supposes)
Abraham replied, "They have the prophets and Moses
Let them listen to what is read"
"No," He replied, "Let someone come from the dead.
Then they will listen and even repent."
But he got this reply to his argument
"If they don't listen as the Bible advises
Nor will they listen even though someone rises."


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

The Parable of 
The Rich Man & Lazarus

Luke 16:19-31 "Now there was a certain rich man, and he was clothed in purple and fine linen, living in luxury every day. A certain beggar, named Lazarus, was laid at his gate, full of sores, and desiring to be fed with the crumbs that fell from the rich man’s table. Yes, even the dogs came and licked his sores. It happened that the beggar died, and that he was carried away by the angels to Abraham’s bosom. The rich man also died, and was buried. In Hades, he lifted up his eyes, being in torment, and saw Abraham far off, and Lazarus at his bosom.

He cried and said, ‘Father Abraham, have mercy on me, and send Lazarus, that he may dip the tip of his finger in water, and cool my tongue! For I am in anguish in this flame.’

"But Abraham said, ‘Son, remember that you, in your lifetime, received your good things, and Lazarus, in like manner, bad things. But now here he is comforted and you are in anguish. Besides all this, between us and you there is a great gulf fixed, that those who want to pass from here to you are not able, and that none may cross over from there to us.’

He said, ‘I ask you therefore, father, that you would send him to my father’s house; for I have five brothers, that he may testify to them, so they won’t also come into this place of torment.’

"But Abraham said to him,
‘They have Moses and the prophets. Let them listen to them.’

"He said, ‘No, father Abraham, but if one goes to them from the dead, they will repent.’

"He said to him, ‘If they don’t listen to Moses and the prophets,
neither will they be persuaded if one rises from the dead.’" (web)


Discussion Questions

Interpretation:

Why do you suppose the brothers would not have been convinced even if Lazrus was raised from the dead?
Was there ever a "Lazarus" raised from the dead? (John 11)
What effect did it have on the skeptics? (John 12:9-11)

Application:

What part do miracles play in convincing people that God has spoken?
What kind of evangelism program would you recommend?
What do you think of basing on evangelism program on "whatever works"?
And if so how would you measure "what works"?


Comments

There are those who object to the illustration of the afterlife that Jesus presents here. There are those who propose that this is only a story and therefore is not necessarily true to life.  However, notice that all of Jesus' other stories and parables were true to life.  He doesn't use science-fiction scenarios in his stories.  He presented the after-life the way it actually was.

The afterlife was referred to as Hades and was composed of two parts. One for the unrighteous, which is often called "Hell", and the other for the righteous which may also be called "Paradise" along the lines of Jesus promise to the thief on the cross to whom he promised "Today you will be with me in Paradise" Luke 23:43

There are only these two sections and nothing in between. There is no one half-righteous and half-unrighteous. There is no one half-born of God. "He who has the son has life. He who does not have the son of God does not have life." 1John 5:12 Those who have the son are reckoned righteous, their sins having been forgiven and forgotten.

The Major Theme:
Evangelism from Hell

In this story, it is not specified as to why the rich man went to hell. It was implied that it was because he was given over to luxuries and pleasure while at the same time not loving his neighbor.  But this was not the major theme. The major theme has to do with the last verse.  It has to do with the Bible alone being sufficient to bring people to repentance and salvation. "Faith comes from hearing the message." Rom 10:17  And Jesus said, "If you believed Moses, you would believe me, for he wrote about me. But since you do not believe what he wrote, how are you going to believe what I say?" John 5:46,47

Yet many Christians have been taught that it is highly dependent upon the messenger.  It is not!  If someone doesn't listen to the Bible, it wouldn't matter even if the messenger speaking to them had been raised from the dead! "Lifestyle Evangelism" is a misnomer.  If you think you are going to convert people by not telling them what the Bible says, but rather by impressing them by what a good person you are, you will indeed make converts, few of whom will believe the Bible. Rather they'll end up being just like you - putting their faith in themselves rather than in the Word of God.

The rich man in hell wanted to start his own evangelistic program. He had his own ideas as to how it should be done which seemed logical to him.  Let's make a big show and impress people with miracles.  That's evangelism from hell. And while the Evangelical community is caught up in "lifestyle evangelism", the Charismatic community is caught up in trying to impress through alleged "signs and wonders".  But let those who are born of the Word, put their trust in the Bible. Let the Jesus who is preached be the Jesus of the Bible and not a "Jesus" that people make up in their own minds. Let the message be exalted and preached through humble messengers who put their trust in the Word of God.

But then there are those refusing to heed Jesus' message who say that "whatever works is how evangelism should be done."  They measure if it "works" based on numbers of converts.  But they fail to consider what kind of converts they produce. Yes, if the word of God is preached, there may very well be those who are converted and born of God.  But often with "numbers" being the priority, a large portion of such "converts" end up being Christians in name only, not having been born of the Spirit. And such converts end up having the same kind of mentality as the messenger - a contempt for the Word of God putting one's own opinion above the Bible and thus an over-exalted view of oneself or of the messenger. The "Jesus" of such converts often becomes not the Biblical Jesus, but the "Jesus" they make up in their own minds conforming him to their own image.

The Resurrection of Lazarus

It may be hard to believe that the raising of Lazarus wouldn't convert the skeptic to truth faith.  But in fact there was a "Lazarus", a friend of Jesus, who was raised from the dead in John 11. And this is how Jesus' enemies reacted:
"Meanwhile a large crowd of Jews found out that Jesus was there and came, not only because of him but also to see Lazarus, whom he had raised from the dead. So the chief priests made plans to kill Lazarus as well, for on account of him many of the Jews were going over to Jesus and putting their faith in him." John 12:9-11
However this brings up another issue. For Jesus often used miracles to affirm his message.
The Jews gathered around him, saying, "How long will you keep us in suspense? If you are the Christ, tell us plainly." Jesus answered, "I did tell you, but you do not believe. The miracles I do in my Father's name speak for me, but you do not believe because you are not my sheep."John 10:24-26
But notice that he says that even though the miracles affirm his message, just as the rich man in hell had reasoned, yet it is to no avail if they had not believed the Word of God that they already heard through Moses. (John 5:46,47) So also, among those in John 12:11 mentioned above who were putting their faith in him on account of the resurrection of Lazarus, were those who had been believing Moses and the Prophets, and also those who were of a nominal faith only impressed by the miracle.

Remember that Acts is historical in nature, recording what people were called and did outwardly, not necessarily what they were inwardly.  For many, as in John 6, who followed him because of his miracles later turned away because of his words. Jesus answered, "I tell you the truth, you are looking for me, not because you saw miraculous signs but because you ate the loaves and had your fill." John 6:26 "From this time many of his disciples turned back and no longer followed him."John 6:66 And that's the problem if you rely on "Evangelism from hell".  If you want to keep the numbers you have to throw away the Bible. But Jesus was not interested in "what worked" in a numbers sense.  He was more concerned with quality than quantity.  Indeed, it seems that in many churches, Jesus Christ would be expelled from their evangelistic ministry team.  Things were going so well, Jesus.  We had so many crowds of people. But then you opened your mouth and spoke the Word of God and screwed up everything. Now no one comes but a bunch of Bible fanatics. Seems that things never change!


Rap

There was rich man dressed in fine linen
Living in luxury though he was sinnin
At his gate lay a beggar, Lazarus by name
Covered with sores being treated with shame
He wanted to eat crumbs from the rich man's table.
Even dogs licked his sore, for he was not able.
Then the time came when the beggar died
And angels carried him to Abraham's side.
The rich man man died also his body but a shell
For he awoke to his torment, ending up in hell
He looked up and saw Abraham far away
And Lazarus by his side. That's what he saw that day
He called "Father Abraham have pity on me
And send Lazarus to attend to my plea
For I ask just a bit of water to acquire
For my tongue burns in agony in this fire
But Abraham replied, "Remember my son
You received your good things and had plenty of fun.
While Lazarus had only asked for a crumb
While he suffered he was treated just like a bum
But now he is in comfort and you in agony
That seems rather fair, wouldn't you agree?
And besides all this a big gap has been fixed
Between here and you so we cannot be mixed."
The rich man answered, "Then I beg you
Send him to my house to tell my brothers what's true
So they won't come to this place" (He supposes)
Abraham replied, "They have the prophets and Moses
Let them listen to what is read"
"No," He replied, "Let someone come from the dead.
Then they will listen and even repent."
But he got this reply to his argument
"If they don't listen as the Bible advises
Nor will they listen even though someone rises."

The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


May 10,2010