翻譯: English 中文 GB

福音的信息
應許和條件

神的恩慈

在使他的門徒為接受它做好准備之後,耶穌接下來告訴我們這個應許的本身,這總的來說就是神的恩慈。他通過使徒們在新約書信塈騤埴茼a顯示了這個應許。在律法的義之下,信的對像就是人自己的表現。但在恩典的福音之下卻不是這樣。關于這個區別,保羅寫到:

“所以,凡有血氣的沒有一個因行律法能在神面前稱義,因為律法本是叫人知罪。但如今,神的義在律法以外已經顯明出來,有律法和先知為証:就是神的義,因信耶穌基督,加給一切相信的人,并沒有分別﹔” 【羅馬書 3:20-22】

在恩典的福音之下,義不是靠做工得來的。而人稱義是因著信,不在于他的表現。

“做工的得工價,不算恩典,乃是該得的﹔惟有不做工的,只信稱罪人為義的神,他的信就算為義。” 【羅馬書 4:4-5】

這不是說人的得救狀態與他的表現是完全沒有關系的。因為我們的信將從它的應用媗膆雈X來。我們所相信的將從我們所做的事上清楚地表現出來,比如保羅在哥林多後書媦g到: “但我們既有信心,正如經上記著說:‘我因信,所以如此說話。’我們也信,所以也說話。”哥林多後書 4:13


 
在律法之下
在恩典之下
我們是,因為我們做
我們做,因為我們是
義是由完美的行為得來的
義是由罪得到饒恕得來的
人靠自己稱義
人靠基督的贖罪工稱義
人為自己的義的狀態做工
人從神把義當作禮物白白地得來

基督和基督所做的工

把這個應許用在我們身上的條件是什麼呢?簡單地假定這個應許適用于我們是不夠的。神要求信基督。而要明白,這堜珨〞滿妨H”不是一件簡單的事,而是要具有耶穌一直在講的那種信心的質量。那是一個深深的信。

在恩典的福音之下,所應許的是神的恩典,但基督和他在十字架上所做的贖罪工是那個恩典的具體體現或甚至是其化身。“律法本是借著摩西傳的,恩典和真理都是由耶穌基督來的。” 【約翰福音 1:17】耶穌宣告說:“摩西在曠野怎樣舉蛇,人子也必照樣被舉起來。叫一切信他的都得永生(或作“叫一切信的人在他堶控o永生”。)。”【約翰福音 3:14-15】耶穌指的是民數記第二十一章堛漱@件事,當時神要摩西制造一條銅蛇,挂在杆子上,被毒蛇咬的人一望這銅蛇就活了。這與十字架合在一起成為一個醫療的符號,今天你可以在救護車的後面看到。在十字架上的基督現在成為信的對像,就如那挂在杆子上的銅蛇一樣。“神愛世人,甚至將他的獨生子賜給他們,叫一切信他的,不至滅亡,反得永生。”【約翰福音 3:16】

基督作為使人稱義和成為聖潔的救主

在信基督時,人必須相信他們的罪被饒恕了。因為這是新約保証的一部分:“我不再記念他們的罪愆和他們的過犯。”【希伯來書 10:17】但這只是通過基督得到義的一個方面。罪既得赦免,人就稱義。人的罪被除去,甚至被神忘記。但這個基督徒仍然是個有罪性的人。罪性仍然存在。人要作義人,只是罪得赦免還不夠。所以新約奡N還包括有“成為聖潔”,經上寫到:耶和華說:“那些日子以後,我與以色列家所立的約乃是這樣:我要將我的律法放在他們堶情A寫在他們心上。我要作他們的神,他們要作我的子民。他們各人不再教導自己的鄰舍和自己的弟兄說:‘你該認識耶和華,’因為他們從最小的到至大的都必認識我。我要赦免他們的罪孽,不再記念他們的罪惡。”這是耶和華說的。 【耶利米書 31:33-34】徹底的聖潔(一個完美無罪的狀態)只有在死後才能達到,而今生是達不到的。“我也知道,在我媕Y,就是我肉體之中,沒有良善﹔”【羅馬書 7:18】因此,肉身必須死去才能把罪去掉。在今生過一個義的生活就在于控制住在我們肉體堛爾o性,而不是簡單地去掉人的罪性,這在今生是達不到的。在我們的這一生堙A神把律法放在我們的心堞w─其實就是律法的靈。其實際意義在約翰一書 3:9媗膆雈X來:“凡從神生的就不犯罪,因神的道(原文作“種”)存在他心堙Q他也不能犯罪,因為他是由神生的。”(約翰是在生活方式的意義上說“犯罪”的。)

神通過基督所提供的拯救包括兩方面:

雖然人一但對基督有了能夠使人得救的信,這些都是有保証的,但在今生不能完全地經歷這些。被贖的人其實已經通過了審判,如耶穌說:“我實實在在地告訴你們,那聽我話,又信差我來者的,就有永生,不至于定罪,是已經出死入生了。”【約翰福音 5:24】實際地通過這個審判,并在罪被饒恕的基礎上被算作義,這本身就是一個非凡的經歷。但在死後,人的罪性被徹底地除掉,將是更加美好的經歷。那將是我們被拯救的完成。

稱義靠的是神的恩典。成為聖潔靠的也是神的恩典。我們不只是靠恩典,憑著信稱義,然後必須靠做工來成為聖潔。反之,雖然在我們稱義的時候我們還沒有完全成為聖潔,但我們是以與我們稱義相同的方式成為聖潔的。一個由神的人不可能生活在罪的生活方式中,因為神通過聖靈住在我們堶情A促使我們端正我們的行為。(【約翰一書 3:9】)而且不可避免地:“凡從神生的就勝過世界﹔”【約翰一書 5:4a】因為對于那些由神生的人來說:“他的誡命不是難守的。”【約翰一書 5:3b】因為這是被贖的人新的本質之一。神恩慈地潔淨我們。是的,這的確包括在某種程度上去掉我們的自由意識。但要明白,以後神將徹底地去掉我們去犯罪的自由意識,我們就完全不再犯罪了。這是我們所渴望的拯救的一部分──從自己的罪性堻Q救出。那些只想從被定罪堻Q救出來,但不愿放棄他們的罪性的人不能得到拯救。這都是包裝在一起的。要麼就完全得救(既稱義也成為聖潔),要麼更本不得救。

在恩典的福音之下:

要看作你的罪已經被赦免。而同時要把你自己看作是有一個新的本質,聖靈住在你堶情C此時還不是完全無罪。這是一種雙重性──一是屬靈的,一是肉體。但這使得你能夠自然地過基督徒的生活。要把你看作在死後將成為完全無罪的人,你的罪性將完全被去掉。

你怎麼才能知道你是不是已經由神生了呢?

你如何知道你是不是已經由神生了呢?看一看你的行為。省查你的生活方式。“你們總要自己省察有信心沒有,也要自己試驗。豈不知你們若不是可棄絕的,就有耶穌基督在你們心媔隉H” 哥林多後書 13:5

哪種試驗呢?

“我們若遵守他的誡命,就曉得是認識他。人若說:‘我認識他’,卻不遵守他的誡命,便是說謊話的,真理也不在他心堣F。凡遵守主道的,愛神的心在他堶措磞b是完全的,從此我們知道我們是在主堶:人若說他住在主堶情A就該自己照主所行的去行。”【約翰一書 2:3-6】

“凡從神生的就不犯罪,因神的道(原文作“種”)存在他心堙Q他也不能犯罪,因為他是由神生的。從此就顯出誰是神的兒女,誰是魔鬼的兒女:凡不行義的就不屬神,不愛弟兄的也是如此。”【約翰一書 3:9-10】

“我們因為愛弟兄,就曉得是已經出死入生了。沒有愛心的,仍住在死中。凡恨他弟兄的就是殺人的,你們曉得凡殺人的沒有永生存在他堶情C” 【約翰一書 3:14-15】

“小子們哪,我們相愛,不要只在言語和舌頭上,總要在行為和誠實上。從此就知道我們是屬真理的,并且我們的心在神面前可以安穩。”【約翰一書 3:18-19】

“遵守神命令的就住在神堶情A神也住在他堶情C我們所以知道神住在我們堶情A是因他所賜給我們的聖靈。”【約翰一書 3:24】

基督是主

“你若口婸{耶穌為主,心堳H神叫他從死奡_活,就必得救。”【羅馬書 10:9】

只接受基督為救主還不夠。很多基督徒今天也許還不明白這一點。只接受基督為救主還不能使人得救。要得救還必須接受基督為主。

承認基督為主不只是嘴上說說,而是在這種靈的意義下:“我因信,所以如此說話。”【哥林多後書 4:13】一個人信基督是主,因此說出來。但“主”是什麼意思呢?對使徒們來說,承認耶穌是主的一個方面就是承認他是就約堛漸D耶和華。

新約宣告說耶穌就是舊約堛漸D耶和華

新約媄鬗_耶穌經文
所引用的舊約經文
希伯來書 1:10 又說:(關于耶穌主啊,你起初立了地的根基,天也是你手所造的。” 詩篇 102:24-25 我說:“我的神啊,不要使我中年去世。你的年數世世無窮。你起初立了地的根基,天也是你手所造的。”
羅馬書 14:11 (關于耶穌經上寫著:“主說:‘我憑著我的永生起誓,萬膝必向我跪拜,萬口必向我承認。’”

提多書 2:13 等候所盼望的福,并等候至大的神和(或作無“和”字)我們救主耶穌基督的榮耀顯現。

以賽亞書 45:21b-23 除了我以外,再沒有神。我是公義的神,又是救主,除了我以外,再沒有別神。地極的人都當仰望我,就必得救。因為我是神,再沒有別神。我指著自己起誓,我口所出的話是憑公義,并不反回,萬膝必向我跪拜,萬口必憑我起誓
使徒行傳 2:17 神說:“在末後的日子,我要將我的靈澆灌凡有血氣的……到那時候,凡求告名的,就必得救。”

使徒行傳 2:36 故此,以色列全家當確實地知道:你們釘在十字架上的這位耶穌,神已經立他為主為基督了。

約珥書 2:27,32 你們必知道我是在以色列中間,又知道我是耶和華你們的神,在我以外并無別神。我的百姓必永遠不至羞愧。以後,我要將我的靈澆灌凡有血氣的。……到那時候,凡求告耶和華名的就必得救。因為照耶和華所說的,在錫安山耶路撒冷必有逃脫的人,在剩下的人中必有耶和華所召的。
羅馬書 10:9,12-13 你若口婸{耶穌為主,心堳H神叫他從死奡_活,就必得救。……猶太人和希利尼人并沒有分別﹔因為眾人同有一位,他也厚待一切求告他的人。因為“凡求告名的,就必得救。”
帖撒羅尼迦後書 2:1-2 弟兄們,論到我們主耶穌基督降臨和我們到他那婸E集,我勸你們:無論有靈、有言語、有冒我名的書信,說的日子現在到了(“現在”或作“就”),不要輕易動心,也不要驚慌。 約珥書 2:27,31-32a 你們必知道我是在以色列中間,又知道我是耶和華你們的神,在我以外并無別神。我的百姓必永遠不至羞愧。……日頭要變為黑暗,月亮要變為血,這都在耶和華大而可畏的日子未到以前。到那時候,凡求告耶和華名的就必得救。
使徒行傳 2:25 大衛指著他(耶穌)說:‘我看見常在我眼前,他在我右邊,叫我不至于搖動。’ 詩篇 16:1-2,8 神啊,求你保佑我,因為我投靠你。我的心哪,你曾對耶和華說:“你是我的。我的好處不在你以外。”……我將耶和華常擺在我面前。因他在我右邊,我便不至搖動

把基督當作主

“你們為什麼稱呼我‘主啊,主啊,’卻不遵我的話行呢?”【路加福音 6:46】

有很多人雖然承認基督是主,卻不按他說的去做。這就像天主教會一樣,其中很多人雖然很尊敬教皇,但在他們選擇離婚或人工流產時卻對其不加思索。如果基督徒承認基督是主,但卻不按他說的去做,那麼他們其實并沒有接受他為主。因為使人得救的信是付之于應用的信。雖然基督徒認為自己是神的仆人,很多人卻不愿受仆人的待遇。

“天上、地下所有的權柄,都賜給我了。所以,你們要去使萬民作我的門徒,” 【馬太福音 28:18b-19a】

基督是主的另一方面就是他的權柄的范圍。我們不但有責任去使人作門徒,我們還有權柄去這樣做。不但屬世的權威,甚至可見教會堛滿巫v威”,都試圖篡奪基督的權柄,阻撓基督徒去使人作門徒。那些自認為也許是“權威”的在阻撓基督徒執行基督給他們的使命時,就越過了他們的合法權威的界限。使徒們在使徒行傳奡N遇到了這種情況,宗教權威對他們說:

“我們不是嚴嚴地禁止你們,不可奉這名教訓人嗎?你們倒把你們的道理充滿了耶路撒冷,想要叫這人的血歸到我們身上。”彼得和眾使徒回答說:“順從神,不順從人,是應當的。 【使徒行傳 5:28-29】

總結

當我們傳講恩典的福音時,神的恩慈是這個應許的核心,并通過基督所做的贖罪工表現出來。然而,雖然現代福音派對此有很好的理解,但常常對以下這些有誤解:



庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)
Jul 29,2015

Chinese Translations: GB Big5

The Message:
Promise & Conditions

God's Graciousness

Having prepared his disciples to receive it, Jesus goes on to communicate the promise itself, which may be summarized as God's graciousness to us. And it is this promise which he revealed more extensively through the apostles in the New Testament letters. Under the righteousness which is of the law, the object of faith was one's own performance. But it is different under the gospel of grace. Concerning this distinction, Paul writes:
"Therefore no one will be declared righteous in his sight by observing the law; rather, through the law we become conscious of sin. But now a righteousness from God, apart from law, has been made known, to which the Law and the Prophets testify.This righteousness from God comes through faith in Jesus Christ to all who believe." Rom 3:20-22
Under the gospel of grace, one does not work in order to obtain righteousness. But rather one is justified by simply believing, apart from his performance.
"When a man works, his wages are not credited to him as a gift, but as an obligation. However, to the man who does not work but trusts God who justifies the wicked, his faith is credited as righteousness."Rom 4:4,5
This is not to say that one's salvation status is completely uncorrelated from one's performance. For our faith will reveal itself through its applications. What we believe will become evident by what we do, as for example Paul writes in 2Cor 4:13 "I believed; therefore I have spoken." With that same spirit of faith we also believe and therefore speak.
 
Under the Law
Under Grace
We are because we do
We do because we are
Righteousness is obtained by perfect behavior
Righteousness is obtain through the forgiveness of sins
A person justifies himself
A person is justified through the atoning work of Jesus Christ.
A person works for his righteous status
A person accepts righteousness as a free gift from God.

The Person & Work of Christ

What are the requirements for the promise to be applicable to us? It is not sufficient to simply presume that the promise applies to us. God requires faith in Christ. And realize that the "faith" referred to here is not a trivial thing, but rather the quality of faith that Jesus had been describing all along. It is a conviction.

Under the gospel of grace, God's grace is the thing which is actually promised, but Christ and his atoning work on the cross are the manifestation or even the personification of that grace. "For the law was given through Moses; grace and truth came through Jesus Christ." John 1:17 Jesus declared: "Just as Moses lifted up the snake in the desert, so the Son of Man must be lifted up, that everyone who believes in him may have eternal life." John 3:14,15 Jesus was referring to an event in Numbers chapter 21 in which God had Moses erect a bronze serpent and put it on a pole for people to gaze upon, which would heal whoever had been bitten by poisonous snakes. And this in combination with the cross became the medical symbol that you can see on back of ambulances today. Christ on the cross now became the object of faith as that bronze serpent was. "For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life."John 3:16

Christ as Savior
Justification and Sanctification

In believing in Christ, one must believe that their sins have been forgiven, Christ having atoned for them. For this is part of the New Covenant promise, "Their sins and lawless acts I will remember no more." Heb 10:17. But this is only one aspect of obtaining righteousness through Jesus Christ. Having been forgiven, one is justified. One's sins have been removed, having been even forgotten by God. But the Christian is still a sinful person. The sinful nature remains. For one to live as a righteous person, it is not sufficient to simply be forgiven. Therefore what is known as "Sanctification" is also included in the New Covenant, as it is written, "This is the covenant I will make with the house of Israel after that time," declares the LORD. "I will put my law in their minds and write it on their hearts. I will be their God, and they will be my people. No longer will a man teach his neighbor, or a man his brother, saying, 'Know the LORD,' because they will all know me, from the least of them to the greatest." Jer 31:33,34 Complete sanctification (a state of perfect sinlessness) is not achieved in this lifetime, but after death. "For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh,) dwelleth no good thing" Rom 7:18 (kjv) And thus the flesh has to die for sin to be removed. Living a righteous life in this lifetime then becomes a matter of control over the sinful nature dwelling in the flesh rather than simply the removal of one's sinfulness which will not be accomplished in this lifetime. For this lifetime God puts the Law in our minds and hearts - really the Spirit of the law. The practical implications of this are revealed in 1John 3:9 "No one who is born of God will continue to sin, because God's seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been born of God." (John is speaking in a lifestyle sense in referring to "sinning")

The Salvation that God offers through faith in Christ involves both

And though these are guaranteed once one has put salvific faith in Christ, they are not fully experienced in this lifetime. The redeemed have already effectively passed through the judgment, as Jesus said: "I tell you the truth, whoever hears my word and believes him who sent me has eternal life and will not be condemned; he has crossed over from death to life." John 5:24 But actually going through the judgment and being reckoned righteous on the basis of the forgiveness of sins will be quite an experience of itself. But the removal of one's sinfulness after death will be even a greater experience. It will be the completion of our salvation.

Justification is by the grace of God. And Sanctification is also by the grace of God. It is not that we are justified by grace through faith and then we must work to be sanctified. But rather that though we are not completely sanctified at the same time when we became justified, we are sanctified in the same manner in which we are justified. There is no such thing as a person born of God who lives a lifestyle of sin, because God through the Holy Spirit dwelling in us influences us to behave ourselves. (1John 3:9) And it is inevitable that "everyone born of God overcomes the world." (1John 5:4) For those born of God, "his commands are not burdensome." (1John 5:3) For this is simply part of the new nature of the redeemed. Graciously God sanctifies us. Yes this does involved a removal of our free will to an extent. But realize that God is going to completely remove our free will to sin later on so that we will no longer sin at all. This is part of the salvation that we yearn for - Salvation from one's innate sinfulness. Those who want simply to be saved from condemnation, but want to hold on to their sinful nature are not qualified to receive salvation. It's a package deal. Complete salvation (both justification and sanctification) or no salvation at all.

Under the gospel of grace:

Reckon yourself to be forgiven of sin. But also reckon yourself to have a new nature, the Holy Spirit dwelling in you. It is not a sinless nature at this time. It is a dual nature - one of spirit and flesh. But one which makes it natural for you to live the Christian life. And reckon that you will become a sinless person after death, your sinful nature having been removed.

How do you know whether you've been born of God?

How do you know whether you've been born of God? Look at your behavior. Examine your lifestyle. "Examine yourselves to see whether you are in the faith; test yourselves. Do you not realize that Christ Jesus is in you-- unless, of course, you fail the test?" 2Cor 13:5

What kind of test?

"We know that we have come to know him if we obey his commands. The man who says, "I know him," but does not do what he commands is a liar, and the truth is not in him.  But if anyone obeys his word, God's love is truly made complete in him. This is how we know we are in him:  Whoever claims to live in him must walk as Jesus did." 1John 2:3-6

 "No one who is born of God will continue to sin, because God's seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been born of God. This is how we know who the children of God are and who the children of the devil are: Anyone who does not do what is right is not a child of God; nor is anyone who does not love his brother."1John 3:9,10

"We know that we have passed from death to life, because we love our brothers. Anyone who does not love remains in death.  Anyone who hates his brother is a murderer, and you know that no murderer has eternal life in him." 1John 3:14,15

 "Dear children, let us not love with words or tongue but with actions and in truth.  This then is how we know that we belong to the truth." 1John 3:18,19

"Those who obey his commands live in him, and he in them. And this is how we know that he lives in us: We know it by the Spirit he gave us." 1John 3:24

Christ as Lord

"If you confess with your mouth, 'Jesus is Lord,' and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved." Rom 10:9
It is not sufficient to simply accept Christ as Savior. Many Christians today may not realize this. Accepting Christ as Savior only does nothing for the person. Christ must also be accepted as Lord as well.

Acknowledging Jesus as Lord is not simply a matter of mouthing the words, but rather in the spirit of 2Cor 4:13 "I believed; therefore I have spoken.", a person believes Christ is the Lord and therefore verbally acknowledges it. But what does "Lord" mean? To the Apostles one aspect of this is that to acknowledge Jesus as Lord is to acknowledge him as the Lord of the Old Testament.

The New Testament declares Jesus 
to be the Lord of the Old Testment

New Testament quote about Jesus
Taken from the Old Testament 
Hebrews 1:10 He also says (about Jesus), "In the beginning, O LORD, you laid the foundations of the earth, and the heavens are the work of your hands."  Psalm 102:24,25 "So I said: "Do not take me away, O my God, in the midst of my days; your years go on through all generations. In the beginning, O LORD, you laid the foundations of the earth, and the heavens are the work of your hands
Romans 14:8-11 (speaking of Jesus) It is written: "'As surely as I live,' says the LORD, 'every knee will bow before me; every tongue will confess to God.'"

Tit 2:13 while we wait for the blessed hope-- the glorious appearing of our great God and Savior, Jesus Christ

Isaiah 45:21b-23 There is no God apart from me, a righteous God and a Savior; there is none but me. Turn to me and be saved, all you ends of the earth; for I am God, and there is no other. By myself I have sworn, my mouth has uttered in all integrity a word that will not be revoked: Before me every knee will bow; by me every tongue will swear.
Acts 2:21 "'In the last days', God says, 'I will pour out my Spirit on all people ... And everyone who calls on the name of the LORD will be saved.'

Acts 2:36 Therefore let all Israel be assured of this: God has made this Jesus, whom you crucified, both LORD and Christ.

Joel 2:27-32 Then you will know that I am in Israel, that I am the LORD your God, and that there is no other; never again will my people be shamed. 'And afterward, I will pour out my Spirit on all people ... And everyone who calls on the name of the LORD will be saved; for on Mount Zion and in Jerusalem there will be deliverance, as the LORD has said, among the survivors whom the LORD calls. 
Romans 10:9,12,13 That if you confess with your mouth, "Jesus is LORD," and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. ... For there is no difference between Jew and Gentile-- the same LORD is LORD of all and richly blesses all who call on him, for, "Everyone who calls on the name of the LORD will be saved."
2Thessalonians 2:1,2 Concerning the coming of our LORDJesus Christ and our being gathered to him, we ask you, brothers, not to become easily unsettled or alarmed by some prophecy, report or letter supposed to have come from us, saying that the day of the LORD has already come. Joel 2:27, 31,32 Then you will know that I am in Israel, that I am the LORD your God, and that there is no other; never again will my people be shamed ... The sun will be turned to darkness and the moon to blood before the coming of the great and dreadful day of the LORD. And everyone who calls on the name of the LORD will be saved;
Acts 2:25 David said about him (Jesus): "I saw the LORD always before me. Because he is at my right hand, I will not be shaken." Psalm 16:1-2,8 Keep me safe, O God, for in you I take refuge. I said to the LORD, "You are my LORD; apart from you I have no good thing." ... I have set the LORD always before me. Because he is at my right hand, I will not be shaken.

The Practice of Treating Christ as Lord

"Why do you call me, 'Lord, Lord,' and do not do what I say?"Luke 6:46

There are many who acknowlege Christ as Lord, but then don't do what he says. This is like in the Catholic church where many respect the pope, but then they think nothing of getting divorced or having abortions. If Christians acknowledge Christ as Lord but don't do what he says, then they haven't really accepted him as Lord. For the faith that saves is an application oriented faith. And while Christians like to consider themselves servants of God, many don't like to be treated as servants.

"All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me.
Therefore go and make disciples of all nations." Matt 28:18,19

Another aspect of his Lordship is the extent of his authority. We have not only the responsibility to make disciples, but we have the right to do so. There are not only secular authorities, but even "authorities" in the visible church who attempt to usurp Christ's authority by hindering Christians from going and making disciples. Those who may reckon themselves as "authorities" go outside their legitimate realm of authority when they hinder Christians from carrying out Christ's commands. The apostles ran into such a situation in Acts 5:28,29 with the religious authorities

"We gave you strict orders not to teach in this name," he said. "Yet you have filled Jerusalem with your teaching and are determined to make us guilty of this man's blood." Peter and the other apostles replied: "We must obey God rather than men!"

Summary

When we present the gospel of grace, God graciousness is central to the promise and is expressed through the atoning work of Christ. However, while this is well understood in modern Evangelicalism, what is often not understood is that:

Verses quoted from the NIV version

The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015