翻譯: English 中文 GB

哥林多前書
第四章

謙卑地對待為基督作工的人

4:1 人應當以我們
   為基督的執事,
   為神奧秘事的管家。

4:2 所求于管家的,
   是要他有忠心。

4:3 我被你們論斷,或被別人論斷,我都以為極小的事,
   連我自己也不論斷自己。

4:4 我雖不覺得自己有錯,卻也不能因此得以稱義:
   但判斷我的乃是主。


4:5 所以,時候未到,什麼都不要論斷﹔
   只等主來,他要照出暗中的隱情,顯明人心的意念。
   那時,各人要從神那堭o著稱贊。

4:6 弟兄們,
   我為你們的緣故,拿這些事轉比自己和亞波羅,
   叫你們效法我們不可過于聖經所記,
   免得你們自高自大,貴重這個,輕看那個。


4:7 使你與人不同的是誰呢?
   你有什麼不是領受的呢?
   若是領受的,為何自夸,仿佛不是領受的呢?

4:8 你們已經飽足了,已經丰富了,
   不用我們,自己就作王了。
   我愿意你們果真作王,叫我們也得與你們一同作王。


4:9 我想神把我們使徒明明列在末後,
   好像定死罪的囚犯﹔
   因為我們成了一台戲,給世人和天使觀看。

4:10 我們為基督的緣故算是愚拙的,
   你們在基督堶邠O聰明的﹔
  我們軟弱,
   你們倒強壯﹔
  你們有榮耀,
   我們倒被藐視。

4:11 直到如今,我們還是又飢、又渴、
   又赤身露體、又挨打、又沒有一定的住處,

4:12 并且勞苦,親手作工。
   被人咒罵,我們就祝福﹔
   被人逼迫,我們就忍受﹔

4:13 被人毀謗,我們就善勸。
   直到如今,
    人還把我們看作世界上的污穢,
    萬物中的渣滓。

父親般的話

4:14 我寫這話,
   不是叫你們羞愧,
   乃是警戒你們,
    好像我所親愛的兒女一樣。

4:15 你們學基督的,
   師傅雖有一萬,為父的卻是不多,
   因我在基督耶穌堨庥眴等秅F你們

4:16 所以,我求你們效法我。
4:17 因此我已打發提摩太到你們那堨h。
   他在主堶惇O我所親愛、有忠心的兒子。
   他必提醒你們記念我在基督堳蝻辿璅ヾA
    在各處各教會中怎樣教導人。

4:18 有些人自高自大,以為我不到你們那堨h。
4:19 然而主若許我,我必快到你們那堨h,
   并且我所要知道的,
    不是那些自高自大之人的言語,
    乃是他們的權能。

4:20 因為神的國不在乎言語,乃在乎權能。
4:21 你們愿意怎麼樣呢?
   是愿意我帶著刑杖到你們那堨h呢?
   還是要我存慈愛溫柔的心呢?


問題討論

第1節 你覺得仆人會受到什麼樣的待遇?
第2節 交給保羅管的是什麼?你呢?
第3節 不關心別人對你的論斷有什麼益處?
第4節 不覺得自己有錯是不是意味著我們是無罪的?
第5節 不恰當地論斷別人的動機有哪些例子?
第6節 過于聖經所記有哪些例子?
第7-13節 基督徒現在扮演的角色有哪些?
第15節 你有沒有像父親或師傅一樣待其它的某些基督徒?


注釋

作盡責的仆人

哥林多前書 4:1-2 人應當以我們為基督的執事,為神奧秘事的管家。所求于管家的,是要他有忠心。

出于人的本性,有名的人不愿放棄他們名人地位。自負,名譽會敗壞有名的人。但記得施洗約翰,在他名聲頂盛的時候,他說:“他必興旺,我必衰微。”【約翰福音 3:30】同樣,在這堳O羅也把榮耀歸于基督。在聖徒堭N沒有名人。沒有一個聖徒對另一聖徒的“崇拜”。都是蒙神賜福的,但都是服于基督的仆人。

記得彼得去訪問哥尼流時,哥尼流俯伏在他腳前拜他。但彼得卻拉他說:“你起來,我也是人。”【使徒行傳 10:26】與此相反的是總有些宗教名人,他們喜聽人的贊譽。他們穿上特殊的宗教禮服以顯出他們是宗教名流。他們拒絕把自己看作是不比別的基督徒更高的神的仆人。

但那些接受基督的仆人這個角色的人──事奉基督徒弟兄的人──不在乎他們是不是有名。他們所關心的是盡他們蒙召的職責。對那些在他們權柄之下的人:“你們要依從那些引導你們的,且要順服。因他們為你們的靈魂時刻儆醒,好像那將來交賬的人。”【希伯來書 13:17a】


愿你的稱贊來自于神

哥林多前書 4:3-5 我被你們論斷,或被別人論斷,我都以為極小的事,連我自己也不論斷自己。我雖不覺得自己有錯,卻也不能因此得以稱義:但判斷我的乃是主。所以,時候未到,什麼都不要論斷﹔只等主來,他要照出暗中的隱情,顯明人心的意念。那時,各人要從神那堭o著稱贊

到頭來,人對你的論斷,無論是好是壞,都無關緊要。要緊的是神對你的稱贊。試圖取樂于人是徒勞的。當你的企圖被識破時,你就會丟面子。盡管你是出于清潔的良心,也就是說,你沒有因之而覺得自己有錯,也不能使你洗清。因為我們的良心有可能會被罪敗壞。特別地,眾人的稱贊會敗壞良心──驅使人喜愛人的夸贊。

“雖然如此,官長中卻有好些信他的,只因法利賽人的緣故,就不承認,恐怕被趕出會堂。這是因他們愛人的榮耀,過于愛神的榮耀。”【約翰福音 12:42-43】

“你們互相受榮耀,卻不求從獨一之神來的榮耀,怎能信我呢?”【約翰福音 5:44】


唯聖經

哥林多前書 4:6 弟兄們,我為你們的緣故,拿這些事轉比自己和亞波羅,叫你們效法我們不可過于聖經所記,免得你們自高自大,貴重這個,輕看那個。

“不可過于聖經所記”換句話說就是“唯聖經”(Sola Scriptura),這是當時宗教改革者提出的口號,因為天主教和正教會遵從他們聖經之後的神學家──他們的名人──的著作。然而,新教和福音派在歷史上也做了同樣的事。“神的言語,句句都是煉淨的,投靠他的,他便作他們的盾牌。他的言語,你不可加添。恐怕他責備你,你就顯為說謊言的。”【箴言 30:5-6】

雖然神的話──聖經──從內容來說是不可添加的,但我們必須思考其意義,看如何將其付之于應用,這種應用必須與聖經相符。這正是我們學習聖經的目的所在,也是這些注釋的目的所在。但絕不能把人的觀點放在與聖經等同的地位上。


你把什麼歸功于神?

哥林多前書 4:7-8 使你與人不同的是誰呢?你有什麼不是領受的呢?若是領受的,為何自夸,仿佛他們因基督得到丰富的應許不是領受的呢?你們已經飽足了,已經丰富了,不用我們,自己就作王了。我愿意你們果真作王,叫我們也得與你們一同作王。

出身富貴的人往往覺得他們的財富是他們應得的,而看不起那些出身貧寒的人,仿佛財富和社會地位完全是人努力的結果。那些靠自己工作變富的人也都把他們的財富歸功于自己。然而,是神,“他從一本造出萬族的人(“本”有古卷作“血脈”),住在全地上,并且預先定准他們的年限,和所住的疆界。要叫他們尋求神,或者可以揣摩而得,其實他離我們各人不遠。”【使徒行傳 17:26-27】“恐怕你心婸﹛G‘這貨財是我力量,我能力得來的。’你要記念耶和華你的神,因為得貨財的力量是他給你的,為要堅定他向你列祖起誓所立的約,像今日一樣。”【申命記 8:17-18】

同樣,對于重生的聖徒來說,他們因基督得到丰富的應許,包括監督和屬靈的恩賜。但要當心,不要覺得自己當之無愧,要謹慎不要把你所得的恩賜,你勞苦所得的果實,你對別人的影響歸功于自己。是神的恩典提供了這一切。


使徒的一台戲

哥林多前書 4:9-10 我想神把我們使徒明明列在末後,好像定死罪的囚犯﹔因為我們成了一台戲,給世人和天使觀看。我們為基督的緣故算是愚拙的,你們在基督堶邠O聰明的﹔我們軟弱,你們倒強壯﹔你們有榮耀,我們倒被藐視。

顯然保羅在這堥洏峈漪O詼諧的說法。我們是無法扮演基督徒的生活的。使徒的生活給我們樹立了榜樣,但不是給我們提供娛樂,或虛無的崇拜對像。不能把他們當作偶像而府服下拜。而應模仿他們。符合聖經的基督教的歷史不只是有几個名人的歷史,而是由那些被神的靈所感動的普通基督徒主導的,他們按照聖經去生活。

很多待在教會的聖徒就像在家玩耍的小孩一樣,他們不知道他們的父母在外,面對世界所遇到的爭扎。拿著福音去面對世界與拿著福音去面對別的聖徒是很不相同的。如果你只在那些同意你的人當中,你所遇到的挑戰是什麼呢?你為福音遇到了或避免了哪些危險呢?你作出了或躲過了哪些犧牲呢?


基督徒對迫害的反應

哥林多前書 4:11-13 直到如今,我們還是又飢、又渴、又赤身露體、又挨打、又沒有一定的住處,并且勞苦,親手作工。被人咒罵,我們就祝福﹔被人逼迫,我們就忍受﹔被人毀謗,我們就善勸。直到如今,人還把我們看作世界上的污穢,萬物中的渣滓。

這種生活方式符合耶穌的登山寶訓:“為義受逼迫的人有福了,因為天國是他們的。人若因我辱罵你們,逼迫你們,捏造各樣壞話毀謗你們,你們就有福了。應當歡喜快樂,因為你們在天上的賞賜是大的。在你們以前的先知,人也是這樣逼迫他們。”【馬太福音 5:10-12】

同樣,保羅在給提摩太的信婸﹛G“但你已經服從了我的教訓、品行、志向、信心、寬容、愛心、忍耐,以及我在安提阿、以哥念、路司得所遭遇的逼迫、苦難。我所忍受是何等的逼迫,但從這一切苦難中主都把我救出來了。不但如此,凡立志在基督耶穌媟q虔度日的也都要受逼迫。”【提摩太後書 3:10-12】

希臘原文中“渣滓”一詞有一個有意思的細節。這個詞的希臘文是“περιψημα”(直譯就是“關于海神波塞冬”),來源于雅典的一件事。當時雅典人為了防止大災難的發生,每年把一個罪犯投入海堙A給海神波塞冬獻祭。這個詞後來經過演變被用來表示為我們的孩子的贖罪祭、贖金,也就是說,為了我們的孩子的生命,讓我們自己成為可棄的和無價值的東西。這個詞被用來表示一個因宗教為拯救它人而經受嚴厲的磨難的人。

同樣,“污穢”譯自“περικαθαρμα”,這個詞在希臘文堛磳凗姣讞恓姜o祭,因為希臘人曾用“καθαρμα”一詞表示為眾人而獻為祭的人,或甚至那些用公共資金養活的罪犯,這些罪犯在瘟疫流行時或其它災難的時候就可能為除災而被獻為祭。

有時,我們基督徒被稱為世界上的污穢,萬物中的渣滓,最終是為了使那些害我們的人受益,使他們也能知道神的恩典。


父母般的訓導

哥林多前書 4:14-16 我寫這話,不是叫你們羞愧,乃是警戒你們,好像我所親愛的兒女一樣。你們學基督的,師傅雖有一萬,為父的卻是不多,因我在基督耶穌堨庥眴等秅F你們。所以,我求你們效法我。

有些教派把“父”這個稱乎當作一個宗教頭銜,與耶穌的教訓相反:“也不要稱呼地上的人為父,因為只有一位是你們的父,就是在天上的父。”【馬太福音 23:9】耶穌說的是當時那些宗教精英,他們追求人的榮耀,喜歡別人以宗教的頭銜來稱乎他們,正像今天那些這樣行事的人一樣。保羅在這堣ㄛO把“父”作為一個宗教頭銜,而是在描寫他所起的作用。

作屬靈父母是基督徒生活的一部分,這是與耶穌的命令相結合的:“你們要去使萬民作我的門徒”【馬太福音 28:19】保羅就是這樣一個例子,這不但體現在他與他的教會的關系上,還特別地體現在他與提摩太的關系上。但監護人與父母有什麼區別呢?很多基督教的牧師扮演監護人的角色。你可以到他們的教會去,待上几年又離開,他們對此無關痛痒。他們也許注意不到你已經離開了。

但作屬靈的父母則往往被忽視。我想其原因大概是因為很少有基督徒領袖本人受到過這種訓導。所以,那些被他們教出來的人沒有掌握帶門徒這個概念并不令人吃驚。的確“帶門徒”的責任往往被划歸為某些程序。親身地,“父母”般地帶門徒是基督徒帶門徒的本意所在。回想一下耶穌與他的門徒的關系。那是給每一個基督徒的圖像。同樣,父親的作用和家庭的單元是帶門徒的一個圖像,正如婚姻關系是基督與教會關系的一個比喻。“為這個緣故,人要離開父母,與妻子連合,二人成為一體。這是極大的奧秘,但我是指著基督和教會說的。”【以弗所書 5:32-32】并且保羅命令我們在這件事上模仿他。

正如有像父母那樣帶門徒的需要,同時也需要聖徒順服這種關系。至少從我的經驗來說,很少有基督徒愿意受這樣的訓導。時代的特征?


一個具體的榜樣

哥林多前書 4:17-18 因此我已打發提摩太到你們那堨h。他在主堶惇O我所親愛、有忠心的兒子。他必提醒你們記念我在基督堳蝻辿璅ヾA在各處各教會中怎樣教導人。有些人自高自大,以為我不到你們那堨h。

提摩太是一個接受保羅父母般培訓的一個例子,因而是培養門徒的具體一課。提摩太在這方面是出眾的。在給腓立比基督徒的信堙A保羅提到提摩太說:“因為我沒有別人與我同心,實在挂念你們的事。別人都求自己的事,并不求耶穌基督的事。但你們知道提摩太的明証,他興旺福音,與我同勞,待我像兒子待父親一樣。”【腓立比書 2:20-22】

這不只是因為提摩太了解保羅,更因為提摩太在生活上和教義上都如保羅那樣。所以,提醒他們保羅怎樣行事不只是說保羅,而是活生生地在他們面前像保羅那樣行事。保羅需要派提摩太去,因為像培訓門徒這樣的事不光是靠言語,還要靠具體行動來傳講。這不只是知識,還是生活方式。有很多人不實踐自己所教的,但教不只在于說,學也不只在于聽。


自高自大的人只在乎言語

哥林多前書 4:19-21 然而主若許我,我必快到你們那堨h,并且我所要知道的,不是那些自高自大之人的言語,乃是他們的權能。因為神的國不在乎言語,乃在乎權能。你們愿意怎麼樣呢?是愿意我帶著刑杖到你們那堨h呢?還是要我存慈愛溫柔的心呢?

“到那日,眼目高傲的必降為卑,性情狂傲的都必屈膝。惟獨耶和華被尊崇。”【以賽亞書 2:11】

就如做父母一樣,培訓基督徒門徒既需要有鼓勵也需要有責備──需要有“刑杖”,也需要有慈愛溫柔的心,如經上所記:“我兒,你不可輕看主的管教,被他責備的時候,也不可灰心。因為主所愛的他必管教,又鞭打凡所收納的兒子。”你們所忍受的,是神管教你們,待你們如同待兒子。焉有兒子不被父親管教的呢?管教原是眾子所共受的,你們若不受管教,就是私子,不是兒子了。【希伯來書 12:5-8】父親表現出恨他的兒子的一個方法就是不管教兒子。“不忍用杖打兒子的,是恨惡他。疼愛兒子的,隨時管教。”【箴言 13:24】

很多紛爭都來源于空想神學,只空談而沒有實踐。權能是在應用中和品格媗膆雈X來的“因為神賜給我們,不是膽怯的心,乃是剛強、仁愛、謹守的心。你不要以給我們的主作見証為恥,也不要以我這為主被囚的為恥。總要按神的能力,與我為福音同受苦難。神救了我們,以聖召召我們”【提摩太後書 1:7-9a】



庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Jul 29, 2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

1Corinthians 4 (web)

Regard Christian Workers with Humility

4:1 So let a man think of us as Christ's servants, and stewards of God's mysteries.

4:2 Here, moreover, it is required of stewards, that they be found faithful.
4:3 But with me it is a very small thing that I should be judged by you,
or by man's judgment. Yes, I don't judge my own self.
4:4 For I know nothing against myself.
Yet I am not justified by this, but he who judges me is the Lord.

4:5 Therefore judge nothing before the time, until the Lord comes,
who will both bring to light the hidden things of darkness,
and reveal the counsels of the hearts. Then each man will get his praise from God.
4:6 Now these things, brothers,
I have in a figure transferred to myself and Apollos for your sakes,
that in us you might learn not to think beyond the things which are written,
that none of you be puffed up against one another.
4:7 For who makes you different? And what do you have that you didn't receive?
But if you did receive it, why do you boast as if you had not received it?
4:8 You are already filled. You have already become rich.
You have come to reign without us.
Yes, and I wish that you did reign, that we also might reign with you.
4:9 For, I think that God has displayed us, the apostles, last of all,
like men sentenced to death.
For we are made a spectacle to the world, both to angels and men.
4:10 We are fools for Christ's sake, but you are wise in Christ.
We are weak, but you are strong.
You have honor, but we have dishonor.
4:11 Even to this present hour we hunger, thirst,
are naked, are beaten, and have no certain dwelling place.
4:12 We toil, working with our own hands.
When people curse us, we bless. Being persecuted, we endure.
4:13 Being defamed, we entreat.
We are made as the filth of the world,
the dirt wiped off by all, even until now.

Speaking as a Father

4:14 I don't write these things to shame you, but to admonish you as my beloved children.
4:15 For though you have ten thousand tutors in Christ, yet not many fathers.
For in Christ Jesus, I became your father through the gospel.
4:16 I beg you therefore, be imitators of me.
4:17 Because of this I have sent Timothy to you,
who is my beloved and faithful child in the Lord,
who will remind you of my ways which are in Christ,
even as I teach everywhere in every assembly.
4:18 Now some are puffed up, as though I were not coming to you.
4:19 But I will come to you shortly, if the Lord is willing.
And I will know, not the word of those who are puffed up,
but the power.
4:20 For the Kingdom of God is not in word, but in power.
4:21 What do you want? Shall I come to you with a rod,
or in love and a spirit of gentleness?

Discussion Questions

vs 1 How would you expect servants to be treated?
vs 2 What "trust" was Paul given? And you?
vs 3 What benefits would result from not caring what others think of you?
vs 4 Does having a clear conscience mean that we are innocent?
vs 5 What are examples of inappropriately judging others motivation?
vs 6 What are examples of going beyond what is written?
vs 7-13 How would you describe the role that we Christians are to play here for now?
vs 15 Have you been a "father" or "guardian" over some other Christian?


Comments

Be Accountable Servants

1Cor 4:1,2  So then, men ought to regard us as servants of Christ and as those entrusted with the secret things of God. Now it is required that those who have been given a trust must prove faithful.

It goes against human nature for those reckoned celebrities to give up their celebrity status. Through pride, popularity corrupts the popular. But recall John the Baptist who in the midst of his popularity said, "He (Christ) must become greater; I must become less." John 3:30 So also here Paul relinquishes his popularity to Christ. There are to be no celebrities among the saints. There is to be no "veneration" of one saint over that of another saint. All are blessed, but all are servants subordinate to Christ.

Recall when Peter visited Cornelius. The Gentile fell at his feet in reverence. But Peter made him get up. "Stand up," he said, "I am only a man myself." Acts 10:26 In contrast there have always been religious figures who love the praise of men. They loved to be called by religious titles. They may dress up in religious garb to distinguish themselves as religious celebrities. They refuse to view themselves as servants of God no greater than the rest of the Christian community.

But those who embrace a role as Christ's subordinate - a minister to the Christian community - don't obsess over their popularity or lack thereof. Rather they focus on fulfilling their responsibilities in view of their being called to account. And to those under their authority,  "Obey your leaders and submit to their authority. They keep watch over you as men who must give an account" Heb 13:17a



Let Your Praise Come From God

1Cor 4:3-5  I care very little if I am judged by you or by any human court; indeed, I do not even judge myself. My conscience is clear, but that does not make me innocent. It is the Lord who judges me. Therefore judge nothing before the appointed time; wait till the Lord comes. He will bring to light what is hidden in darkness and will expose the motives of men’s hearts. At that time each will receive his praise from God.

In the end, people's evaluation of you, whether good or bad, is irrelevant. What matters is that your praise comes from God. It's vain to do things to impress people. When your motives are revealed, you will lose face. But even if you act in a clear conscience, that is, you don't feel guilty, that does not clear you. For our conscience can be corrupted by sin. In particular popularity can corrupt the conscience - driving one to love the praise of men.

John 12:42,43 Yet at the same time many even among the leaders believed in him. But because of the Pharisees they would not confess their faith for fear they would be put out of the synagogue;  for they loved praise from men more than praise from God.

How can you believe if you accept praise from one another, yet make no effort to obtain the praise that comes from the only God? John 5:44



Sola Scriptura

1Cor 4:6 Now, brothers, I have applied these things to myself and Apollos for your benefit, so that you may learn from us the meaning of the saying, "Do not go beyond what is written." Then you will not take pride in one man over against another.

Another way of saying "do not go beyong what is written" is "Sola Scriptura" (The Scriptures alone), which was later the cry of the Reformers over that of  Catholicism and Orthodox Christianity who followed the writings of their post-Biblical theologians - their "celebrities". Nonetheless, Protestant/Evangelical Christianity has historically been involved in doing  the same kind of  thing. "Every word of God is flawless; he is a shield to those who take refuge in him. Do not add to his words, or he will rebuke you and prove you a liar." Pr 30:5,6

However while the Word of God - the Bible - is not to be added on in terms of content, it must be added on by way of application, but with such applications which conform to the scriptures. And in doing so one must think about the meaning, which is the point of these commentaries. But opinion must never be relegated the status of scripture.



What do you attribute to God?

1Cor 4:7,8  For who makes you different from anyone else? What do you have that you did not receive? And if you did receive it, why do you boast as though you did not? Already you have all you want! Already you have become rich! You have become kings— and that without us! How I wish that you really had become kings so that we might be kings with you!

Those who are born rich often have a sense of entitlement to their wealth and look down upon those born less fortunate, as if wealth and social status were merely a function of human effort. And even for those who worked to get rich, to whom do they attribute thier wealth but themselves. But it's God who "determined the times set for them and the exact places where they should live. God did this so that men would seek him and perhaps reach out for him and find him, though he is not far from each one of us." Acts 17:26b-27 And though "you may say to yourself, 'My power and the strength of my hands have produced this wealth for me.' But remember the LORD your God, for it is he who gives you the ability to produce wealth." Deut 8:17,18

Likewise with those born-again. The saints inherit great riches in Christ, including having overseers and spiritual gifts. But beware of having a sense of entitlement, and beware of attributing your giftedness, the products of your labors, and your influence on others to yourself. God's grace provides all these.



Apostle TV

1Cor 4:9,10  For it seems to me that God has put us apostles on display at the end of the procession, like men condemned to die in the arena. We have been made a spectacle to the whole universe, to angels as well as to men. We are fools for Christ, but you are so wise in Christ! We are weak, but you are strong! You are honored, we are dishonored!

Obviously Paul is speaking facetiously here. We cannot live the Christian life vicariously. The lives of the apostles serve as examples to live by, and don't  merely serve as a form of entertainment or something to vainly worship. They are not to be made statues and bowed down to. They are to be imitated.  The real history of Biblical Christianity is not a history of merely a few famous men, but is dominated by ordinary Christians moved by the Spirit of God to live the Christian life according to the Bible.

Like little children playing at home, unaware of the struggles their parents must face in the world, so is many a saint dwelling the church. Facing the world with the gospel is much different than facing other Christians with the gospel. If you're simply among those who agree with you, then what challenges have you faced? What risks have you taken for the gospel and what risks have you been avoiding unnecessarily? What sacrifices have you made and what have you unnecessarily withheld?



A Christian Response to Mistreatment

1Cor 4:11-13  To this very hour we go hungry and thirsty, we are in rags, we are brutally treated, we are homeless. We work hard with our own hands. When we are cursed, we bless; when we are persecuted, we endure it;  when we are slandered, we answer kindly. Up to this moment we have become the scum of the earth, the refuse of the world.

Such a lifestyle conforms to Jesus' sermon on the mount where he said, "Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Blessed are you when people insult you, persecute you and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of me.  Rejoice and be glad, because great is your reward in heaven, for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you." Mt 5:10-12

Likewise Paul wrote Timothy saying, "You, however, know all about my teaching, my way of life, my purpose, faith, patience, love, endurance,  persecutions, sufferings— what kinds of things happened to me in Antioch, Iconium and Lystra, the persecutions I endured. Yet the Lord rescued me from all of them.  In fact, everyone who wants to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted" 2Tim 3:10-12

An interesting nuance in the Greek concerning that phrase "refuse of the world." The word is "peripsema" (literally "concerning Poseidon") which had its derivation from an event in which the Athenians, in order to avert public calamities, yearly threw a criminal into the sea as an offering to Poseidon; hence the term became used for an expiatory offering, a ransom, for our child, i.e. in comparison with the saving of our son’s life let it be to us a despicable and worthless thing. It is used of a man who in behalf of religion undergoes dire trials for the salvation of others.

And likewise concerning the word "filth" (perikatharma) which was used in Greek as the price of expiation or redemption, because the Greeks used to apply the term "katharmata" to victims sacrificed to make expiation for the people, and even to criminals who were maintained at the public expense, that on the outbreak of a pestilence or other calamity they might be offered as sacrifices to make expiation for the state

Sometimes we Christians are called to be the scum of the earth, the refuse of this world ultimately for the benefit of those who mistreat us, that they too may know of the grace of God.



Parental Discipleship

1Cor 4:14-16  I am not writing this to shame you, but to warn you, as my dear children. Even though you have ten thousand guardians in Christ, you do not have many fathers, for in Christ Jesus I became your father through the gospel. Therefore I urge you to imitate me.

There are denominations which use the title "father" in a religious sense contrary to what Jesus taught saying, "do not call anyone on earth ‘father,’ for you have one Father, and he is in heaven." Mt 23:9 Jesus was speaking of the religous elite of his day who loved to go by religious titles, seeking the praise of men, just as there are those today who do likewise. Paul was not using "father" as a religous title here but rather was describing his function.

Spiritual parenting is part of the Christian life, which is incorporated in Jesus' command, "go and make disciples of all nations" Mt 28:19 Paul was such an example, not only with regards to his relationship with his churches, but also in particular with regards to his relationship with Timothy. But what is the difference between a guardian and a parent? Most Christian ministers take the role of guardian. You might come to their church, stay for few years and leave, and they're not affected one way or another. They may not even notice you're gone.

But spiritual parenting is largely neglected. I think the reason why this has been is because few Christian leaders had themselves been discipled in such a sense. And so no surprise that those they teach never catch the concept of discipleship. Indeed "discipleship" itself has been largely relegated to programs. Personal "parental" discipleship was what Christian discipleship was meant to be. Consider Jesus' relationship with his disciples. That's a picture of what was intended for every Christian. And likewise the very role of father and the family unit was to be a picture of discipleship just as marriage is a metaphor for the church's relationship with Christ. (Eph 5:31,32) And Paul commanded we imitate him in this regards.

But just as there is a need for parental discipleship, so also there is a need for the saints to submit themselves to it. That is, at least in my experience, rarely can one find any Christian willing to be so discipled. Sign of the times?



A Role Model

1Cor 4:17,18  For this reason I am sending to you Timothy, my son whom I love, who is faithful in the Lord. He will remind you of my way of life in Christ Jesus, which agrees with what I teach everywhere in every church. Some of you have become arrogant, as if I were not coming to you.

Timothy served as an example of one who had been parentally discipled by Paul and as such served as an object lesson in disciplemaking, and Timothy was outstanding in the respect. To the Philippians Paul spoke of Timothy saying, "I have no one else like him, who takes a genuine interest in your welfare. For everyone looks out for his own interests, not those of Jesus Christ. But you know that Timothy has proved himself, because as a son with his father he has served with me in the work of the gospel." Php 2:20-22

It was not simply that Timothy knew about Paul. Rather he lived as Paul did in life and doctrine. So to remind them of Paul's way of life was not simply to talk about Paul, but rather to live Paul's life in front of them. Paul needed to send him because a message like disciplemaking is more caught than taught. It's not just about knowledge, it's about a lifestyle. There have been plenty who don't practice what they teach, but teaching is more than telling and learning is more than listening.



The Arrogant Merely Talk

1Cor 4:19-21 But I will come to you very soon, if the Lord is willing, and then I will find out not only how these arrogant people are talking, but what power they have. For the kingdom of God is not a matter of talk but of power. What do you prefer? Shall I come to you with a whip, or in love and with a gentle spirit?

 "The eyes of the arrogant man will be humbled and the pride of men brought low; the LORD alone will be exalted in that day." Isa 2:11

Just as with parenting, there's room in Christian discipleship both for rebuke and encouragement - for a "whip" and for a gentle spirit, as it is written, "My son, do not make light of the Lord’s discipline, and do not lose heart when he rebukes you, because the Lord disciplines those he loves, and he punishes everyone he accepts as a son."  Endure hardship as discipline; God is treating you as sons. For what son is not disciplined by his father? If you are not disciplined (and everyone undergoes discipline), then you are illegitimate children and not true sons. Heb 12:5-8 One way in which a father shows he hates his son is by not disciplining him. "He who spares the rod hates his son, but he who loves him is careful to discipline him." Pr 13:24

Much division is brought about by mere armchair theology, where there is much talk but little practice. Power is shown by application and character and holding to one's convictions in the midst of hostility. Paul writes to Timothy saying, "God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love and of self-discipline. So do not be ashamed to testify about our Lord, or ashamed of me his prisoner. But join with me in suffering for the gospel, by the power of God, who has saved us and called us to a holy life" 2Tim 1:7

In what way is your practice of Christianity more than mere talk?


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015