翻譯: English 中文 GB

哥林多前書
第八章

關于灰色區

祭偶像的食物

8:1 論到祭偶像之物:我們曉得我們都有知識。

  但知識是叫人自高自大,惟有愛心能造就人。

8:2 若有人以為自己知道什麼,按他所當知道的,他仍是不知道。
8:3 若有人愛神,這人乃是神所知道的。

8:4 論到吃祭偶像之物:
  我們知道偶像在世上算不得什麼,也知道神只有一位,再沒有別的神。

8:5 雖有稱為“神”的,
  或在天,或在地,就如那許多的“神”,許多的“主”,

8:6 然而我們只有一位神,就是父,萬物都本于他,我們也歸于他﹔
  并有一位主,就是耶穌基督,萬物都是借著他有的,我們也是借著他有的。

8:7 但人不都有這等知識。
  有人到如今因拜慣了偶像,
  就以為所吃的是祭偶像之物,他們的良心既然軟弱,也就污穢了。

8:8 其實食物不能叫神看中我們﹔
  因為我們不吃也無損,吃也無益。


8:9 只是你們要謹慎,
  恐怕你們這自由竟成了那軟弱人的絆腳石。


8:10 若有人見你這有知識的在偶像的廟塈亢u,
  這人的良心若是軟弱,豈不放膽去吃那祭偶像之物嗎?

8:11 因此,基督為他死的那軟弱弟兄,
  也就因你的知識沉淪了。


8:12 你們這樣得罪弟兄們,
  傷了他們軟弱的良心,就是得罪基督。

8:13 所以食物若叫我弟兄跌倒,
  我就永遠不吃肉,免得叫我弟兄跌倒了。


問題討論

處理灰色區堛漕ヾG
填空:
      不能使我們接近神﹔
      不能使我們更壞,也不能使我們更好。
你看到哪些被基督徒所普遍接受,但卻使某些基督徒跌倒的行為?
在有爭議的事上,或在“灰色卻區”的事上,我們應該按誰的意見去做?
如果一個機構化的教會在做某件事使一些“軟弱”的弟兄反感,那麼該怎麼辦呢?是教會改變政策,還是這些軟弱”的弟兄另找一個教會,或者這些“軟弱”的弟兄干脆容忍其他基督徒的在他們看來是“有罪”的行為?如果那些“軟弱”的弟兄在機構化的教會婸P別人分享他們的觀點,在何種情況下那將被看做是“分爭”呢?


注釋

知識叫人自高自大

哥林多前書 8:1-3 論到祭偶像之物:我們曉得我們都有知識。但知識是叫人自高自大,惟有愛心能造就人。若有人以為自己知道什麼,按他所當知道的,他仍是不知道。若有人愛神,這人乃是神所知道的。

實踐基督徒的生活不只是獲得知識和啟示。更重要的是在愛中把你所知道的付之于應用。有些人因他們的知識而自高自大,但如果你有知識卻不把知識用來做有益的事,那又有什麼用處呢?若沒有把知識用在愛堛犖@望,尋求知識又有什麼好處呢?

人們也許會為自己所具有的知識而自高自大。但若沒有謙卑,“這等人拘泥在所見過的(有古卷作“這等人窺察所沒有見過的”),隨著自己的欲心,無故地自高自大,”【歌羅西書 2:18b】因有知識而自高自大與按信心活是截然相反的。“迦勒底人自高自大,心不正直。惟義人因信得生。”【哈巴谷書 2:4】然而,“因我們行事為人是憑著信心,不是憑著眼見。”【哥林多後書 5:7】


偶像算不得什麼

哥林多前書 8:4-6 論到吃祭偶像之物:我們知道偶像在世上算不得什麼,也知道神只有一位,再沒有別的神。雖有稱為神的,或在天,或在地,就如那許多的“神”,許多的“主”,然而我們只有一位神,就是父,萬物都本于他,我們也歸于他﹔并有一位主,就是耶穌基督,萬物都是借著他有的,我們也是借著他有的。

神只有一位,再沒有別的神。聖經也說到其它的“神”。“萬民各奉己神的名而行。我們卻永永遠遠奉耶和華我們神的名而行。”【彌迦書 4:5】事實上,“外邦的神都屬虛無。惟獨耶和華創造諸天。”【詩篇 96:5】

以賽亞嘲諷拜偶像的人說:“他砍伐香柏樹,又取柞(或作“青桐”)樹和橡樹,在樹林中選定了一棵。他栽種松樹得雨長養,這樹,人可用以燒火,他自己取些烤火,又燒著烤餅。而且作神像跪拜,作雕刻的偶像向它叩拜。他把一分燒在火中,把一分烤肉吃飽。自己烤火說:“啊哈!我暖和了﹔我見火了。”他用剩下的作了一神,就是雕刻的偶像﹔他向這偶像俯伏叩拜,禱告它說:“求你拯救我﹔因你是我的神。”他們不知道,也不思想﹔因為耶和華閉住他們的眼不能看見,塞住他們的心不能明白。”【以賽亞書 44:14-18】

至于耶穌基督,“萬物是借著他造的。凡被造的,沒有一樣不是借著他造的。生命在他媕Y,這生命就是人的光。”【約翰福音 1:3-4】關于基督聖經還說:“主啊,你起初立了地的根基,天也是你手所造的。”【希伯來書 1:10】


不要污穢你的良心

哥林多前書 8:7-8 但人不都有這等知識。有人到如今因拜慣了偶像,就以為所吃的是祭偶像之物,他們的良心既然軟弱,也就污穢了。其實食物不能叫神看中我們﹔因為我們不吃也無損,吃也無益。

“因為神的國,不在乎吃喝,”【羅馬書 14:17a】但在乎良心。保羅寫到:“但命令的總歸就是愛﹔這愛是從清潔的心和無虧的良心、無偽的信心生出來的。”【提摩太前書 1:5】“你們不要被那諸般怪異的教訓勾引了去。因為人心靠恩得堅固才是好的。并不是靠飲食。那在飲食上專心的,從來沒有得著益處。”【希伯來書 13:9】但如果一個人的良心因吃祭偶像之物而受到遣責,那麼他就應在這事上順從他的良心。

事實上,有些人是從拜偶像的文化堛齯j的。他們也許曾經為他們的“神”獻過祭。因此他們的良心在這類事上軟弱是可以理解的。基督徒有可能遇到的其它灰色區的事──有關良心的事──也同樣。


不要傷害它人的良心

哥林多前書 8:9-13 只是你們要謹慎,恐怕你們這自由竟成了那軟弱人的絆腳石。若有人見你這有知識的在偶像的廟塈亢u,這人的良心若是軟弱,豈不放膽去吃那祭偶像之物嗎?因此,基督為他死的那軟弱弟兄,也就因你的知識沉淪了。你們這樣得罪弟兄們,傷了他們軟弱的良心,就是得罪基督。所以食物若叫我弟兄跌倒,我就永遠不吃肉,免得叫我弟兄跌倒了。

“信心軟弱的,你們要接納,但不要辯論所疑惑的事。有人信百物都可吃,但那軟弱的,只吃蔬菜。吃的人不可輕看不吃的人,不吃的人不可論斷吃的人,因為神已經收納他了。”【羅馬書 1-3】

在所疑惑的事上,也就是基督徒生活堛漲レ滶秕堙A我們不但要在聖靈的帶領下順從我們的良心,同時還要考慮到其它人的良心,否則雖然你覺得你是在按清潔的良心而行,但卻傷害了別人的良心。如果我們只顧行使自己的自由卻傷害它人的良心,那算什麼愛呢?

記住耶穌說過:“凡使這信我的一個小子跌倒的,倒不如把大磨石拴在這人的頸項上,沉在深海堙C這世界有禍了,因為將人絆倒。絆倒人的事是免不了的,但那絆倒人的有禍了。”【馬太福音 18:6-7】

因此不要讓你的自由使其它人的良心受到傷害,因為那是犯罪。



庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Jul 29, 2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

1Corinthians 8 (web)

Dealing with Gray Areas

Food Sacrificed to Idols

8:1 Now concerning things sacrificed to idols: We know that we all have knowledge.

Knowledge puffs up, but love builds up.
8:2 But if anyone thinks that he knows anything, he doesn't yet know as he ought to know.
8:3 But if anyone loves God, the same is known by him.

8:4 Therefore concerning the eating of things sacrificed to idols,
we know that no idol is anything in the world, and that there is no other God but one.

8:5 For though there are things that are called "gods,"
whether in the heavens or on earth; as there are many "gods" and many "lords;"
8:6 yet to us there is one God, the Father, of whom are all things, and we for him;
and one Lord, Jesus Christ, through whom are all things, and we live through him.
8:7 However, that knowledge isn't in all men.
But some, with consciousness of the idol until now,
eat as of a thing sacrificed to an idol, and their conscience, being weak, is defiled.
8:8 But food will not commend us to God.
For neither, if we don't eat, are we the worse; nor, if we eat, are we the better.

8:9 But be careful that by no means does this liberty of yours
become a stumbling block to the weak.

8:10 For if a man sees you who have knowledge sitting in an idol's temple,
won't his conscience, if he is weak, be emboldened to eat things sacrificed to idols?
8:11 And through your knowledge, he who is weak perishes,
the brother for whose sake Christ died.

8:12 Thus, sinning against the brothers,
and wounding their conscience when it is weak, you sin against Christ.

8:13 Therefore, if food causes my brother to stumble,
I will eat no meat forevermore, that I don't cause my brother to stumble.
 

Discussion Questions

Indentifying gray areas:
Fill in the blank: What are examples of behavior in the world that you see is commonly adopted by Christians and causes other Christians to stumble?

When it comes to controversial issues, or "gray areas", whose opinion should we conform our behavior to?

If an institutional church is engaging in a behavior offensive to "weak" brethren, should they change their policy, or should the "weak" ones look for another church, or should the "weak" ones simply tolerate what they reckon to be "sinful behavior" by other Christians? If these "weak" brethren share their convictions with others in such an institutional church, under what circumstances would that be considered "divisive"?


Comments

Knowledge Puffs Up

1Cor 8:1-3  Now about food sacrificed to idols: We know that we all possess knowledge. Knowledge puffs up, but love builds up. The man who thinks he knows something does not yet know as he ought to know. But the man who loves God is known by God.

The practice of Christian living is not simply about gaining knowledge and revelation. It's more importantly about applying what you know in love. While there are those who are proud of their knowledge, what good is knowing something unless you're doing something constructive with it? What good is seeking knowledge apart from the intention of applying it in love?

People may be proud of their factual knowledge. But apart from humility, "such a person goes into great detail about what he has seen, and his unspiritual mind puffs him up with idle notions." Col 2:18b Being puffed up with knowledge is contrary to living by faith. "See, he is puffed up; his desires are not uprightó but the righteous will live by his faithó" Hab 2:4 and "we walk by faith, not by sight." 2Cor 5:7



The Truth about Idols

1Cor 8:4-6  So then, about eating food sacrificed to idols: We know that an idol is nothing at all in the world and that there is no God but one. For even if there are so-called gods, whether in heaven or on earth (as indeed there are many "gods" and many "lords"), yet for us there is but one God, the Father, from whom all things came and for whom we live; and there is but one Lord, Jesus Christ, through whom all things came and through whom we live.

There is but one God and there are no others. Yet the Bible speaks of gods. Mic 4:5 "All the nations may walk in the name of their gods; we will walk in the name of the LORD our God for ever and ever." In reality "all the gods of the nations are idols, but the LORD made the heavens." Ps 96:5

Isaiah mocks idolaters saying, "He cut down cedars, or perhaps took a cypress or oak. He let it grow among the trees of the forest, or planted a pine, and the rain made it grow. It is manís fuel for burning; some of it he takes and warms himself, he kindles a fire and bakes bread. But he also fashions a god and worships it; he makes an idol and bows down to it. Half of the wood he burns in the fire; over it he prepares his meal, he roasts his meat and eats his fill. He also warms himself and says, 'Ah! I am warm; I see the fire.' From the rest he makes a god, his idol; he bows down to it and worships. He prays to it and says, 'Save me; you are my god.' They know nothing, they understand nothing; their eyes are plastered over so they cannot see, and their minds closed so they cannot understand."

As for Jesus Christ, "Through him all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made. In him was life, and that life was the light of men." John 1:3,4 And it also says of Christ, "In the beginning, O Lord, you laid the foundations of the earth, and the heavens are the work of your hands." Heb 1:10



Don't Violate Your Conscience

1Cor 8:7-8  But not everyone knows this. Some people are still so accustomed to idols that when they eat such food they think of it as having been sacrificed to an idol, and since their conscience is weak, it is defiled. But food does not bring us near to God; we are no worse if we do not eat, and no better if we do.

"The kingdom of God is not a matter of eating and drinking" Rom 14:17a But it is a matter of the conscience. Paul writes, "The goal of this command (warning against false doctrines) is love, which comes from a pure heart and a good conscience and a sincere faith." 1Tim 1:5 "Do not be carried away by all kinds of strange teachings. It is good for our hearts to be strengthened by grace, not by ceremonial foods, which are of no value to those who eat them." Heb 13:9 But if one's conscience is bothered with the idea of eating foods which had been sacrificed to idols, then one should follow their conscience in the matter.

Afterall, there are those who have grown up in idolatrous cultures. They may have formerly offered sacrifices to other gods. And so it is reasonable that their conscience would be weak in that realm. And likewise concerning other gray areas - matters of conscience - the Christian may run across.



Don't Violate Other People's Conscience

1Cor 8:9-13  Be careful, however, that the exercise of your freedom does not become a stumbling block to the weak.  For if anyone with a weak conscience sees you who have this knowledge eating in an idolís temple, wonít he be emboldened to eat what has been sacrificed to idols? So this weak brother, for whom Christ died, is destroyed by your knowledge. When you sin against your brothers in this way and wound their weak conscience,  Therefore, if what I eat causes my brother to fall into sin, I will never eat meat again, so that I will not cause him to fall.

Rom 14:1-3 Accept him whose faith is weak, without passing judgment on disputable matters. One manís faith allows him to eat everything, but another man, whose faith is weak, eats only vegetables. The man who eats everything must not look down on him who does not, and the man who does not eat everything must not condemn the man who does, for God has accepted him.

When it comes to disputable matters, gray areas of the Christian life, one must not only follow their own conscience as the Spirit leads, one must also take into account the conscience of others, lest others be defiled while you feel you're walking in a good conscience. For what kind of love is it if in exercising my freedom I defile the conscience of another?

And remember that Jesus said, "If anyone causes one of these little ones who believe in me to sin, it would be better for him to have a large millstone hung around his neck and to be drowned in the depths of the sea. "Woe to the world because of the things that cause people to sin! Such things must come, but woe to the man through whom they come!" Mt 18:6,7

Therefore let not your freedom lead others to violate their own conscience, which would be sin.


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015