翻譯: English 中文 GB

約翰一書總結

主要教義:

因信得救與因行為得救

這是約翰一書所闡明的一個主要教義。約翰一書幫助我們闡明了在有些人看來似乎是互相矛盾的一些經文,有些似乎是說得救是以人的表現為基礎,而有些則說得救純粹是以信為基礎。比如:

“如此說來,我們的祖宗亞伯拉罕憑著肉體得了什麼呢?倘若亞伯拉罕是因行為稱義,就有可夸的,只是在神面前并無可夸。 經上說什麼呢?說:‘亞伯拉罕信神,這就算為他的義。’【創世紀 15:6】

做工的得工價,不算恩典,乃是該得的﹔惟有不做工的,只信稱罪人為義的神,他的信就算為義。正如大衛稱那在行為以外蒙神算為義的人是有福的。”【羅馬書 4:1-6】

“你們得救是本乎恩,也因著信。這并不是出于自己,乃是神所賜的﹔也不是出于行為,免得有人自夸。”【以弗所書 2:8-9】

佯謬:

“這樣,信心若沒有行為就是死的。”【雅各書 2:17】

答案:

約翰幫助我們回答了這個在某些人眼堛漸椄煄C他指出,那些真正相信的人會不可避免地有因信所做的工與他們的信心相隨。這個原則是如此可靠,以至約翰提出用其作為甄別真基督徒的一個方法,這也正是雅各在此所講的。

還有,是什麼“善”工表現出亞伯拉罕的義呢?他要殺他的兒子。這按今天的標准很難被算作是善工。然而神已經應許亞伯拉罕,他將通過以撒成為一個大國。盡管神命令他殺他的兒子以撒,亞伯拉罕相信神仍然能夠實踐他的諾言,即使這意味著讓以撒從死奡_活(【希伯來書 11:19】)。因此這是使他稱義的信心所做的工。他在神的眼媞椓q并不是因為他所做的這個工,因為在此之前神已經宣告了他的義。但他所做的這個工使他在其它人的眼媞椓q,正如我們因我們的表現被認出是由神生的一樣。

另一個佯謬:

最後的審判:馬太福音 25:31-46 簡要地說:

答案:

這與約翰一書完全一致。注意到他們被分成兩類,正如約翰所說:“人有了神的兒子就有生命﹔沒有神的兒子就沒有生命。”【約翰一書 5:12】沒有第三個類別或兩者之間黑白不分明的地方。沒有像有的天主教徒所相信的煉獄。還有,他們是按他們是什麼分開,棉羊或山羊,而不是按他們所做的分開。正如我們將按我們是不是由神生的被分開。棉羊和山羊的行為特征表明它們是誰。山羊不會長出棉羊的毛,棉羊也不能產出山羊的奶。那麼棉羊做的是什麼呢?他們愛其它基督徒。這正是約翰強調的那些真正得救的人的特征。

基本應用

甲、悔改

對于尚未得救的人,約翰暗示悔改不是始于行為的改變,而是始于信仰的改變。未得救的人以俘獲他們的,有罪的生活方式生活。雖然傳道的人要求他們改變他們的行為,他們卻沒有能力這樣做。然而如果他們信了基督,成為由神生的,他們將不再能夠以罪的生活方式生活(【約翰一書 3:9】)。

乙、下面是一個人已經由神生的一些証據:

還有就是聖靈對這個人做見証,以及源于確實相信的深深的信。


約翰一書中關于“聖徒的堅忍不拔”

聖徒的堅忍不拔的教義就是說一但由神生,基督徒的生命就會不可避免地變得與神的兒女的特征相一致,而且無論是他的信仰,還是作為那個信仰的特征的行為,他都將持守到底。當然,這意味著“永恆的保証”的教義(一朝得救,永遠得救)。

考慮完成時態。完成時態用來表示發生在過去,一直持續到現在的事。

“凡住在他堶悸煽N不犯罪。凡犯罪的是未曾看見他,也未曾認識他。”【約翰一書 3:6】
這與(自由恩典反律法主義)和(威思萊主義)認為在得救之後,一個基督徒還有可能以罪的生活方式生活這個觀點相反。因為如果你遇到有人生活在罪的生活方式堙A那麼你可一斷言這個人從來沒有認識耶穌,無論是過去,還是現在。這與約翰對某些從前被看作是基督徒的人的分析是一致的:
“他們從我們中間出去,卻不是屬我們的。若是屬我們的,就必仍舊與我們同在。他們出去,顯明都不是屬我們的。”【約翰一書 2:19】
這是聖徒的堅忍不拔這個教義的一個應用。一但得救,這個人就不可避免地會“待在信堙芋A否則,他們得救的狀態就由他們的行為顯示出來,(如“顯明”這個詞所表明的)。
是什麼使得聖徒能夠堅忍不拔呢?
“凡從神生的就不犯罪,因神的道(原文作“種”)存在他心堙Q他也不能犯罪,因為他是由神生的。”【約翰一書 3:9】
重生就改變了一個人的性質,這必然會帶來這種行為。如經上寫到:
“若有人在基督堙A他就是新造的人,舊事已過,都變成新的了。”【哥林多後書 5:17】
這是新約保証的一部分,如
“耶和華說:‘那些日子以後,我與以色列家所立的約乃是這樣:我要將我的律法放在他們堶情A寫在他們心上。我要作他們的神,他們要作我的子民。他們各人不再教導自己的鄰舍和自己的弟兄說:你該認識耶和華,因為他們從最小的到至大的都必認識我。我要赦免他們的罪孽,不再記念他們的罪惡。’這是耶和華說的。”【耶利米書 31:33-34】
而且聖靈使之對所有屬基督的人有效
“如果神的靈住在你們心堙A你們就不屬肉體,乃屬聖靈了。人若沒有基督的靈,就不是屬基督的。”【羅馬書 8:9】

對于那些由神生的人來說,基督的命令是不難守的

“我們遵守神的誡命,這就是愛他了,并且他的誡命不是難守的。因為凡從神生完成時態的就勝過世界﹔使我們勝了世界的就是我們的信心。勝過世界的是誰呢?不是那信耶穌是神兒子的嗎?”【約翰一書 5:3-5】

被生出來本身是一個發生在過去某一個時刻的事。這堛漣髡車仴A指的是發生在過去的事件,就像肉身的出生一樣,其效果一直延續到現在。這節經文回答了有些人用比如:“聖靈向眾教會所說的話,凡有耳的,就應當聽。得勝的,我必將神樂園中生命樹的果子賜給他吃。”【啟示錄 2:7】這樣的經文對永恆的保証這個概念提出的異議。

得勝的,我必將神樂園中生命樹的果子賜給他吃。”

這還可見于【啟示錄 2:11,17,26;3:5,12,21;21:7】。對于已經由神生的人來說,得勝是必然的。如果他們不得勝,那麼他們還沒有由神生。


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

1 JOHN CONCLUSION

MAJOR DOCTRINES:

SALVATION BY FAITH VS. 
SALVATION BY WORKS

Here's a major doctrine that 1John clarifies. 1John helps to clarify what appears to some as an apparent contradiction in which some passages indicate that salvation is based upon a person's performance and others which indicate it is based purely on faith. For example:

"What then shall we say that Abraham, our forefather, discovered in this matter? If, in fact, Abraham was justified by works, he had something to boast about - but not before God. What does the scripture say? "Abraham believed God, and it was credited to him as righteousness. (Gen 15:6)

"What shall we say then that Abraham our father, as pertaining to the flesh, hath found? For if Abraham were justified by works, he hath whereof to glory; but not before God. For what saith the scripture? Abraham believed God, and it was counted unto him for righteousness. Now to him that worketh is the reward not reckoned of grace, but of debt. But to him that worketh not, but believeth on him that justifieth the ungodly, his faith is counted for righteousness. Even as David also describeth the blessedness of the man, unto whom God imputeth righteousness without works," Romans 4:1-6

"For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: Not of works, lest any man should boast." Eph 2:8,9

APPARENT CONTRADICTION:

"This is how we know who the children of God are and who the children of the devil are: Anyone who does not do what is right is not a child of God; nor is anyone who does not love his brother." 1John3 :10

RESOLUTION:

John helps to resolve what some see as a contradiction here by pointing out that it is inevitable that those who truly believe will have works of faith which accompany their belief. This principle is so dependable that John proposes it as means to distinguish real Christians.

Furthermore, what "good" work did Abraham do which demonstrated his righteousness? He attempted to murder his son. Hardly a good work by today's standards. Yet Abraham had been promised that through Isaac he shall become a great nation. Despite the fact the God had commanded him to kill his son, Abraham believed that God was still able to carry out his promise even if he had to raise Isaac from the dead. (Hebrews 11:19) This therefore was a work of faith, which justified him, not in the eyes of God, since God had already declared him righteous, but it justified him in the eyes of other people, just as we are recognized as being born of God by our performance.

ANOTHER APPARENT CONTRADICTION:

The Final Judgment: Matthew 25:31-46 In summary:

RESOLUTION:

This is completely consistent with 1John. Notice that they were separated into two categorizes, just as John says, "He that hath the Son hath life; and he that hath not the Son of God hath not life."1John 5:12 There is no third category or gray area between these two. And there is no purgatory as some Catholics believe. Furthermore, they were separated according to what they were, sheep or goats, not according to what they did. Just as we will be separated according to whether we have been born of God or not. What they did characterized what they were. A goat cannot produce a sheep's wool, nor can a sheep produce goat's milk. And what was it that the sheep did? They loved other Christians. Which is just what John emphasized as being characteristic of those who are truly saved.

BASIC APPLICATIONS

A. Repentance

For the unsaved, John implies that repentance is not initiated by a change of behavior, but by a change of belief that results in a change in behavior. The unsaved may be living a lifestyle of sin to which they are held captive. Although preachers may demand that they change their behavior, they may simply not have the ability to do so. Yet if they come to believe in Christ and become born of God, they will find that they no longer have the ability to live a lifestyle of sin (1John 3:9).

B. The following are some evidences that a person has been born of God:

In addition there is also the subjective witness of the Holy Spirit to the person as well as the confidence that comes from convictions.


"Perseverance of the Saints"
in 1John

The Doctrine of Perseverance of the Saints is the idea that once born of God, it is inevitable that the Christian's life will be consistent with that which is characteristic of a child of God and he will continue to endure to the end both respect to his faith and such behavior as is characteristic of that faith. Implicit in this, of course, is the doctrine of "Eternal Security" (Once Saved, Always Saved)

Consider the Perfect Tense. The Perfect Tense is used to indicate an action which occurred in the past and has continued on till the present. The quotes are taken from the NIV. The italics are mine for emphasis.

1John 3:6 No one who lives in him keeps on sinning. No one who continues to sin has (at any time in the past up the the present) either seen him or known him.
This statement is contrary to the idea that once saved, it is possible for a Christian to live a lifestyle of sin (Free Grace Antinomianism) and (Wesleyanism). For if you meet someone that lives a lifestyle of sin, you can say that such a person had never come to know Jesus either in the past all the way up to the present. This is consistent with John's analysis of a certain group of people formerly considered Christians:
1John 2:19 "They went out from us, but they were not of us; for if they had been of us, they would no doubt have continued with us: but they went out, that they might be made manifest that they were not all of us."
This is simply an application of the doctrine of the Perseverance of the Saints. Once saved, it is inevitable that such people would "remain", but if not, their salvation status is revealed by their behavior (as indicated by the word "showed").
What causes the Saints to Persevere?
1John 3:9 No one who is born of God will continue to sin, because God's seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been born of God.
There is something about the rebirth experience that changes the nature of the person which makes inevitable this kind of behavior. Just as it is written:
2Cor 5:17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!
This was the part of the promise of the New Covenant as Jeremiah wrote:
Jer 31:33,34 "But this shall be the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel; After those days, saith the LORD, I will put my law in their inward parts, and write it in their hearts; and will be their God, and they shall be my people. And they shall teach no more every man his neighbour, and every man his brother, saying, Know the LORD: for they shall all know me, from the least of them unto the greatest of them, saith the LORD: for I will forgive their iniquity, and I will remember their sin no more." declares the LORD. "I will put my law in their minds and write it on their hearts. I will be their God, and they will be my people. No longer will a man teach his neighbor, or a man his brother, saying, 'Know the LORD,' because they will all know me, from the least of them to the greatest," declares the LORD. "For I will forgive their wickedness and will remember their sins no more."
And is made effective by the Holy Spirit to all those who belong to Christ
Romans 8:9 You, however, are controlled not by the sinful nature but by the Spirit, if the Spirit of God lives in you. And if anyone does not have the Spirit of Christ, he does not belong to Christ.
Christ's commands are not burdensome to those who have been born of God
1John 5:3-5 This is love for God: to obey his commands. And his commands are not burdensome, for everyone born of God (perfect tense: "has in the past been born of God") overcomes the world. This is the victory that has overcome the world, even our faith. Who is it that overcomes the world? Only he who believes that Jesus is the Son of God.
Being born itself is an event that occurs at a point in time. The perfect is used to refer to this past event which, just like physical birth, is a continuous state from the point of birth to the present. This verse answers objections to the concept of Eternal Security from verses dealing with "He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches; To him that overcometh will I give to eat of the tree of life, which is in the midst of the paradise of God.", such as in Revelations 2:7
To him who overcomes, I will give the right to eat from the tree of life, which is in the paradise of God.
Along with Rev 2:11,17,26; 3:5,12,21; 21:7. It is inevitable that those who have been born of God will overcome. If they don't then they hadn't been born of God.


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources

Jul 29,2015