翻譯: English 中文 GB

彼得前書
3:13-22

受苦,之一

為把別人引向基督而受苦

3:13 你們若是熱心行善,有誰害你們呢?
3:14 你們就是為義受苦,也是有福的。
  不要怕人的威嚇,也不要驚慌(“的威嚇”或作“所怕的”)。


3:15 只要心奡L主基督為聖。
  有人問你們心中盼望的緣由,
  就要常作准備,以溫柔、敬畏的心回答各人。


  3:16 存著無虧的良心,叫你們在何事上被毀謗,
    就在何事上可以叫那誣賴你們在基督埵釵n品行的人自覺羞愧。

3:17 神的旨意若是叫你們因行善受苦,
  總強如因行惡受苦。


  3:18 因基督也曾一次為罪受苦(“受苦”有古卷作“受死”),
    就是義的代替不義的,為要引我們到神面前。
    按著肉體說,他被治死﹔按著靈性說,他復活了。

    3:19 他借這靈,曾去傳道給那些在監獄堛瘋F聽,
    3:20 就是那從前在挪亞預備方舟,
      神容忍等待的時候不信從的人。
      當時進入方舟,借著水得救的不多,只有八個人。

      3:21 這水所表明的洗禮,現在借著耶穌基督復活,也拯救你們。
        這洗禮本不在乎除掉肉體的污穢,
        只求在神面前有無虧的良心。

      3:22 耶穌已經進入天堂,在神的右邊。
        眾天使和有權柄的,并有能力的,都服從了他。


問題討論

第13-14節 害怕人的威嚇會如何影響我們正確地對待逼迫?
遭受逼迫的非基督徒有哪些恐懼?
第15節 基督是你的主是什麼意思?
人們為什麼要問你心中盼望的緣由?
你不應該怎樣回答?
人們為什麼會因你的好品行誣賴你?
第17節 你因行善而受苦有時會不會是神的意愿?
第19-21節 挪亞時的洪水有哪些方面與基督教的哪些方面相似?

注釋

不因行善而懼怕

彼得前書 3:13-14 你們若是熱心行善,有誰害你們呢?你們就是為義受苦,也是有福的。不要怕人的威嚇,也不要驚慌(“的威嚇”或作“所怕的”)。

顯然,有些人會因為你行善而傷害你。只需看一看發生在基督身上的事。但這樣的人一點也不可怕。因為耶穌說:“我的朋友,我對你們說,那殺身體以後,不能再作什麼的,不要怕他們。我要指示你們當怕的是誰。當怕那殺了以後,又有權柄丟在地獄堛滿C我實在告訴你們,正要怕他。”【路加福音 12:4-5】

不要因過基督徒的生活和按你所蒙的召去事奉而懼怕。不要讓屬世的懼怕影響你的決定。要懼怕神,不要懼怕人。“懼怕人的陷入網羅。惟有倚靠耶和華的,必得安穩。”【箴言 29:25】事實上,“不但如此,凡立志在基督耶穌媟q虔度日的也都要受逼迫。”【提摩太後書 3:12】經歷逼迫是有福的。耶穌說:“為義受逼迫的人有福了,因為天國是他們的。人若因我辱罵你們,逼迫你們,捏造各樣壞話毀謗你們,你們就有福了。應當歡喜快樂,因為你們在天上的賞賜是大的。在你們以前的先知,人也是這樣逼迫他們。”【馬太福音 5:10-12】是的,你在世上所受的一切不公都將得到補償。因此要大膽。


贏得聽眾

彼得前書 3:15 只要心奡L主基督為聖。有人問你們心中盼望的緣由,就要常作准備,以溫柔、敬畏的心回答各人。

尊主基督為聖就是要使你自己順從基督的命令和他的權威。“并且他替眾人死,是叫那些活著的人不再為自己活,乃為替他們死而復活的主活。”【哥林多後書 5:15】面臨敵對和生活中的試煉我們可以有信心,因為我們是在神的權威之下行事,那將有永恆的結果。因此我們不應為使世人所耽憂,壓得他們喘不過氣的小事而氣腦。這種信心和忍耐本身就是一個見証。這表現出深深的信,并有可能為福音打開門。你所做的善工是在基督的權柄之下,因此那些反對你的人沒有權力來反對。通過堅持做善工,盡管面對困難和反對,顯示出它們是多麼的重要,并表現出你這樣做是出于深深的信。

要為如何回答做好准備。“義人的心,思量如何回答。”【箴言 15:28a】考慮別人心堜珝Q的哪些問題與我們的信有關。或者說我們應該把哪些問題放在他們心堙C就如彼得在下一章講的那樣,我們的生活應該激起對我們為什麼不像世人那樣去生活的好奇。“因為往日隨從外邦人的心意行邪淫、惡欲、醉酒、荒宴、群飲,并可惡拜偶像的事,時候已經夠了。他們在這些事上,見你們不與他們同奔那放蕩無度的路,就以為怪,毀謗你們。”【彼得前書 4:3-4】從這種意義上講,如果基督徒被世人看作是“奇怪的”其實是好事。當我們像基督那樣忍受苦難,甚至帶著喜樂,這的確是一個令人好奇的現像。在別人逼迫我們的時候,以愛和寬容相報,這是奇怪的。當我們滿足于世人難于忍受的事時,就會吸引尋求知足的人。無論遭遇如何,如果我們能夠行如基督,就能贏得聽眾。

然而,有些基督徒簡單地使用“搖旗”的方式來激發人提出問題。他們不是以像基督那樣的方式,而只是想以怪異的行為來激發人提出問題或產生興趣。還有些屬于健康發財的基督徒以他們的財富夸口,作假見証說只要你成為基督徒,就能又健康又發財。但如果一個人所追求的是屬世的健康和財富,那麼這個世界也許更能滿足他的奢望。基督在三十三歲死的時候很貧窮。他的很多虔誠的追隨者也遭受相似的命運。反之,愿富有的人慷慨大方。他們也許可以因此而贏得聽眾。

還有,我們的回答不應該粗暴,高傲或帶著居高臨下的優越感,而應該做為一個同樣是接受不配得的恩典的罪人──就像一個討飯的告訴另一個討飯的如何討得一口水喝。謙卑是最重要的品德。沒有謙卑我們就不能幫助迷失的人造就使人得救的信。事實上在一個沒有謙卑的人身上,基督的愛就失去了應有效果。


存著無虧的良心

彼得前書 3:16 存著無虧的良心,叫你們在何事上被毀謗,就在何事上可以叫那誣賴你們在基督埵釵n品行的人自覺羞愧。

一個好的良心就是一個健康的良心。一個健康的良心會使我們在行善時有好的感覺,在做惡的時候有壞的感覺。造就健康的良心是一個過程,就像造就一個不健康的良心一樣。它取決于順服神的旨意。“但命令的總歸就是愛﹔這愛是從清潔的心和無虧的良心、無偽的信心生出來的。”【提摩太前書 1:5】作為罪人,我們的良心在一定程度上是敗壞的。但在由神生之後,神的道和聖靈幫助醫治我們的良心,使我們能夠更好地區分善與惡。但我們必需鍛練它。“惟獨長大成人的,才能吃干糧,他們的心竅,習練得通達,就能分辨好歹了。”【希伯來書 5:14】保羅說:“我因此自己勉勵,對神,對人,常存無虧的良心。”【使徒行傳 24:16】不要違背你的良心。如果你因做什麼或不做而感到良心有愧,那麼要順著你的良心。你的成熟取決于此。

在你面對敵對的時候也要常存無虧的良心。無辜的犧牲者從長遠的來說總是得勝的。而惡人將得到恥辱。(這在基督徒弟兄內外都是如此。)


因行善受苦──神的旨意?

彼得前書 3:17 神的旨意若是叫你們因行善受苦,總強如因行惡受苦。

很多人認為如果一個人行善,神就不會讓他受苦。但事實并非如此。按神的旨意行事不但會受苦──還會受到逼迫,如經上所記:“不但如此,凡立志在基督耶穌媟q虔度日的也都要受逼迫。”【提摩太後書 3:12】

許多人問:“為什麼神讓好人受苦呢?”因行善而受苦是不是不公呢?讓人因做惡受苦,而不是因行善受苦不是更好嗎?但彼得是在承認神的公義的前題之下,從神的恩典的角度出發這樣說的。兩個角度都是合理的出發點。但如果我們考慮到神的計划和目的,現在更要以恩典為主。公義將會到來,但現在讓我們在恩典埵獢C把別人帶到基督需要恩慈地在一定程度上容忍不公的對待,如果我們以耶穌走在通往十字架的路上同樣的靈而行,就應犧牲我們自己的權利。


基督為罪受死

彼得前書 3:18 因基督也曾一次為罪受苦(“受苦”有古卷作“受死”),就是義的代替不義的,為要引我們到神面前。按著肉體說,他被治死﹔按著靈性說,他復活了。

讓基督受苦是神的旨意。“耶和華卻定意(或作“喜悅”)將他壓傷,使他受痛苦。耶和華以他為贖罪祭。”【以賽亞書 53:10a】耶穌說:“我現在心媦~愁,我說什麼才好呢?‘父啊,救我脫離這時候’?但我原是為這時候來的。父啊,愿你榮耀你的名!”【約翰福音 12:27-28a】基督為世人的罪而死是福音的核心。“我當日所領受又傳給你們的,第一,就是基督照聖經所說,為我們的罪死了,而且埋葬了,又照聖經所說,第三天復活了,”【哥林多前書 15:3-4】“他為我們的罪作了挽回祭,不是單為我們的罪,也是為普天下人的罪。”【約翰一書 2:2】

基督從死奡_活給我們提供了適用于法庭的証據,証明關于他是神的兒子的見証,也對我們自己的復活有了盼望。“然而,叫耶穌從死奡_活者的靈若住在你們心堙A那叫基督耶穌從死奡_活的,也必借著住在你們心堛爾t靈,使你們必死的身體又活過來。”【羅馬書 8:11】


陰間

彼得前書 3:19-20 他借這靈,曾去傳道給那些在監獄堛瘋F聽,就是那從前在挪亞預備方舟,神容忍等待的時候不信從的人。當時進入方舟,借著水得救的不多,只有八個人。

基督死的時候到哪堨h了呢?在使徒行傳第二章堙A彼得引用詩篇說:“因你必不將我的靈魂撇在陰間,”【使徒行傳 2:27a】說明耶穌去了陰間。那麼陰間是什麼呢?在【路加福音 16:19-31】堙A耶穌說到兩個人在死了以後到了那堙C在陰間有樂園,比如耶穌對同釘在十字架上的犯人說:“今日你要同我在樂園堣F。”【路加福音 23:43b】陰間還有地獄的火。在路加福音第十六章堙A耶穌描述一個財主說:“他在陰間受痛苦”【路加福音 16:23a】財主說:“我在這火焰堙A極其痛苦。”【路加福音 16:24b】陰間的這一邊被稱作“地獄”,比如耶穌說:“倘若你一只眼叫你跌倒,就去掉它。你只有一只眼進入神的國,強如有兩只眼被丟在地獄堙C”【馬可福音 9:47】所以陰間有兩邊。一邊是樂園,一邊是地獄,地獄是一個受折磨的地方。耶穌死的時候,他去了樂園,在深淵的這一邊給地獄那邊的靈傳道。

那些被他傳道的當中包括那些在挪亞的時候不信從的人。彼得提到這一件事的原因也許是要給他的讀者拿現在作類比。因為福音就像救人的方舟一樣。在挪亞的時候只有八個人得救。有一個人問他說:“主啊,得救的人少嗎?”耶穌對眾人說:“你們要努力進窄門。我告訴你們,將來有許多人想要進去,卻是不能。”【路加福音 13:23-24】


拯救的比喻

彼得前書 3:21-22 這水所表明的洗禮,現在借著耶穌基督復活,也拯救你們。這洗禮本不在乎除掉肉體的污穢,只求在神面前有無虧的良心。耶穌已經進入天堂,在神的右邊。眾天使和有權柄的,并有能力的,都服從了他。

彼得在這堳的是挪亞時代的洪水。他指的不是洪水的具體成分。和合本錯誤地在這堨[了這個“水”字,在希臘原文堥S有這個字。挪亞時的洪水代表的不是拯救,而是神的忿怒。方舟代表的是基督,我們的拯救。方舟把我們從神忿怒的洪水堿@救出來。

水的洗禮的確有一個類比。但他說的不是水的洗禮有聖禮般的性質,這就是為什麼他說:“這洗禮本不在乎除掉肉體的污穢”沒有任何對肉身做的事能夠救一個人。在早期有一個基督教的異端認為人可以通過割禮得救。後來基督教歷史上又有一個邪說認為水的洗禮可以使人得救,只不過用水的洗禮代替了割禮──把一個禮儀換成了另一個。這些異端邪說都是出于同一個靈。然而彼得在這婸〞漪O求在神面前有無虧的良心。挪亞得救是因為他追求在神面前有無虧的良心。水的洗禮應該與一個人從罪堮洹麍衈部A開始追求在神面前有無虧的良心。與此相反,異端的洗禮甚至讓嬰兒受洗,與悔改和這樣的追求毫無關系。

水的洗禮是得救的一個比喻。但真正起作用的是聖靈的洗禮,人是因受聖靈的洗歸入基督的。施洗約翰對比這兩者說:“我是用水給你們施洗,叫你們悔改。但那在我以後來的,能力比我更大,我就是給他提鞋也不配。他要用聖靈與火給你們施洗。”【馬太福音 3:11】聖靈的洗禮可以發生在水的洗禮之前,也可發生在水的洗禮之後。比如關于哥尼流一家的轉變彼得說:這些人既受了聖靈,與我們一樣,誰能禁止用水給他們施洗呢?”【使徒行傳 10:47】一個人在接受聖靈的時候就歸入了基督。“你們既聽見真理的道,就是那叫你們得救的福音,也信了基督,既然信他,就受了所應許的聖靈為印記。這聖靈是我們得基業的憑據(原文作“質”),直等到神之民(“民”原文作“產業”)被贖,使他的榮耀得著稱贊。”【以弗所書 1:13-14】而且,“人若沒有基督的靈,就不是屬基督的。”【羅馬書 8:9b】當一個人接受聖靈的時候他就進入了方舟,神關上門,于是他們就有了永恆的保障。耶穌即已升到天上就有這樣的權柄,保証我們在那埵酗@個地方。

“因為我深信無論是死,是生,是天使,是掌權的,是有能的,是現在的事,是將來的事,是高處的,是低處的,是別的受造之物,都不能叫我們與神的愛隔絕﹔這愛是在我們的主基督耶穌堛滿C”【羅馬書 8:38-39】



庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Jul 29, 2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

1Peter 3:13-22 (web)

Suffering Persecution I

Suffering to Draw others to Christ

3:13 Now who is he who will harm you, if you become imitators of that which is good?
3:14 But even if you should suffer for righteousness' sake,
you are blessed. "Don't fear what they fear, neither be troubled."

3:15 But sanctify the Lord God in your hearts;
and always be ready to give an answer to everyone who asks you a reason
concerning the hope that is in you, with humility and fear:
 

3:16 having a good conscience; that, while you are spoken against as evildoers,
they may be disappointed who curse your good manner of life in Christ.
3:17 For it is better, if the will of God should so will,
that you suffer for doing well than for doing evil.
 
3:18 Because Christ also suffered for sins once,
the righteous for the unrighteous, that he might bring you to God;
being put to death in the flesh, but made alive in the spirit;
3:19 in which he also went and preached to the spirits in prison,
3:20 who before were disobedient,
when God waited patiently in the days of Noah,
while the ark was being built.
In it, few, that is, eight souls, were saved through water.
3:21 This is a symbol of baptism, which now saves you -
not the putting away of the filth of the flesh,
but the answer of a good conscience toward God,
through the resurrection of Jesus Christ,
3:22 who is at the right hand of God, having gone into heaven,
angels and authorities and powers being made subject to him.

Discussion Questions

vs 13-14 How does fear interfere with our responding properly to persecution?
What fears dominate non-Christians who suffer unjustly?
vs 15 What does it mean for Christ to be Lord to you?
Why would people ask you for a reason for the hope you have?
How should you not answer?
Why would people slander your good behavior?
vs 17 Is it ever God's will for you to suffer for doing good?
vs 19-21 Concerning the flood of Noah what aspects may be likened to various aspects of Christianity?


Comments


Fear not for doing Good

1Peter 3:13,14
  Who is going to harm you if you are eager to do good? But even if you should suffer for what is right, you are blessed. "Do not fear what they fear; do not be frightened."

Obviously there are people who would harm you for doing good. Just look at what happened to Christ. But there is nothing to fear from such people. For Jesus said, "I tell you, my friends, do not be afraid of those who kill the body and after that can do no more. But I will show you whom you should fear: Fear him who, after the killing of the body, has power to throw you into hell. Yes, I tell you, fear him." Luke 12:4,5

Don't be afraid to live the Christian life and carry out the ministry to which you were called. Don't let earthly fears influence your decisions. Fear God, not men. "Fear of man will prove to be a snare, but whoever trusts in the LORD is kept safe." Pr 29:25 It's a fact that "everyone who wants to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted." 2Tim 3:12 And there's a blessing in experiencing persecution. Jesus said, "Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Blessed are you when people insult you, persecute you and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of me.  Rejoice and be glad, because great is your reward in heaven." Mt 5:10-12 Yes there is compensation for all the injustices you have suffered here on earth. So take courage.


Winning a Hearing

1Peter 3:15,16 
But in your hearts set apart Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect.

To set apart Christ "as Lord" in your heart means that you have made yourself subordinate to his commands and to his authority. "And he died for all, that those who live should no longer live for themselves but for him who died for them and was raised again." 2Cor 5:15 We can have confidence in the midst of opposition and through the trials of life because we are acting under God's authority and there are eternal consequences at stake. Consequently we should not become exasperated by the trivial things that weigh down the world with worries. Such confidence and perseverance is itself a witness. It communicates conviction and may open a door for the gospel. The good works you do are being done under the authority of Christ, and as such those who oppose you do not have authority to do so. By persisting in good works, despite the difficulties and opposition, demonstrates how important they are and that you are acting with conviction.

Be prepared to give an answer. "The heart of the righteous studies how to answer" Pr 15:28a Consider what questions are on other peoples minds that are relevant to our faith? Or perhaps what questions should we put on their minds. As Peter says in the next chapter, our lives should invoke curiosity as to why we don't live like the worldly. "We have spent enough of our past lifetime in doing the will of the Gentiles——when we walked in lewdness, lusts, drunkenness, revelries, drinking parties, and abominable idolatries. In regard to these, they think it strange that you do not run with them in the same flood of dissipation" 1Peter 4:3,4 In this sense it is healthy for Christians to be thought of as "strange" by the worldly. When we suffer as Christ did and bear it even with joy, this is certainly a curious phenomenon. When we are mistreated, but in response show love and tolerance, this is strange. When we are content with what the world is not content with, this can be attractive to those who seek contentment. Just behaving in a Christlike manner despite the circumstances, that can win a hearing.

However, many Christians have simply resorted to "flag waving" techniques to generate questions. Rather than behaving in a Christlike manner, they will just behave weird in order to generate questions or interest. And then there are some among the healthy and wealthy Christians boasting in their riches who give false testimony proposing that if you become a Christian you'll be healthy and wealthy. But if its worldly health and wealth that one seeks, the world has a better offer. Christ died poor at the age of 33. And many of his devout followers suffered similar fates. Rather, let the rich be generous. And then perhaps they can win a hearing legitimately.

Furthermore our answers should not be pompous, arrogant and condescending, but rather as a fellow sinner who has received undeserved grace - as one beggar showing another where to get a drink of water. Humility is the most essential of character qualities. Without it we cannot help the lost to develop saving faith. In fact without it, Christian love is nullified.


Keep a Clear Conscience

1Peter 3:16
keeping a clear conscience, so that those who speak maliciously against your good behavior in Christ may be ashamed of their slander.

A good conscience is a healthy conscience. A healthy conscience is one that feels good when we do good and bad when we do bad. Developing a healthy conscience is a process, as is the development of an unhealthy conscience. It's a matter of compliance to God's will.  "The goal of this command is love, which comes from a pure heart and a good conscience and a sincere faith." 1Tim 1:5 As sinners our conscience is corrupt to a degree. But having been born of God, the Word of God and the Holy Spirit help to heal our conscience that we can discern better between right and wrong. But we must exercise it. "Solid food is for the mature, who by constant use have trained themselves to distinguish good from evil." Heb 5:14  And Paul says, "I strive always to keep my conscience clear before God and man." Acts 24:16 Don't violate your conscience. If you feel guilty for doing something or for not doing something, follow your conscience. Your maturity depends on it.

Keep a clear conscience with regards to how you react to hostility. Innocent victims always end up winning in the long term. While evil men are put to shame. (Works as well both inside and outside the Christian community)


Suffering for Good - God's Will?

1Peter 3:17
It is better, if it is God’s will, to suffer for doing good than for doing evil.

Many are of the opinion that if one is doing the will of God they will be free from suffering. But this is not the case. Doing the will of God involves suffering - even suffering persecution, as it is written, "In fact, everyone who wants to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted" 2Tim 3:12

Many ask, "Why does God allow good people to suffer?" Isn't it unjust for those who do good to suffer for it? Isn't it better for people to suffer for the bad things they do rather than the good? But while it is acknowledged that God is just, Peter is speaking from the perspective of grace rather than the perspective of justice. Both are valid perspectives. But if we take God's plan and purposes in mind, now especially is a time for grace to reign. Justice will come, but let us walk in grace. In leading others to Christ we need to graciously tolerate a degree of abuse and sacrifice our rights if we are to walk in the same Spirit that Jesus walked in on the road to the cross.


Christ died for Sins

1Peter 3:18 For Christ died for sins once for all, the righteous for the unrighteous, to bring you to God. He was put to death in the body but made alive by the Spirit

It was God's will for Christ to suffer. "It was the LORD’s will to crush him and cause him to suffer, and though the LORD makes his life a guilt offering" Is 53:10 Jesus said, "Now my heart is troubled, and what shall I say? ‘Father, save me from this hour’? No, it was for this very reason I came to this hour. Father, glorify your name!" John 12:27-28a Christ dying for sins is central to the gospel message. "For what I received I passed on to you as of first importance: that Christ died for our sins according to the Scriptures, that he was buried, that he was raised on the third day according to the Scriptures" 1Cor 15:3,4 And "He is the atoning sacrifice for our sins, and not only for ours but also for the sins of the whole world." 1John 2:2

The resurrection of Christ from the dead provides us with forensic evidence validating his testimony as the Son of God, and giving us hope of our resurrection. For "if the Spirit of Him who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, He who raised Christ from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through His Spirit who dwells in you." Rom 8:11


Hades

1Peter 3:19,20 through whom also he went and preached to the spirits in prison who disobeyed long ago when God waited patiently in the days of Noah while the ark was being built. In it only a few people, eight in all, were saved through water

Where did Christ go when he died? In Acts chapter 2 Peter speaks of Christ death saying, "You will not leave my soul in Hades" Acts 2:27 Jesus went to Hades. What is Hades? Jesus describes Hades in Luke 16:19-31 where he speaks of two men dying and ending up there. In Hades there is paradise, as Jesus said to the thief on the cross next to him, "today you will be with me in paradise." Luke 23:43b And there is hell fire. In Luke 16 he describes a rich man who "being in torments in Hades" Luke 16:23b says, "I am tormented in this flame." Luke 16:24b  This side is also known as "hell" or "Gehenna", like Jesus said, "And if your eye causes you to sin, pluck it out. It is better for you to enter the kingdom of God with one eye, rather than having two eyes, to be cast into hell fire" Mr 9:47 So there are two sides to Hades. One is paradise and the other is hell, a place of torment. These are separated by an impassible gap. However both sides could talk to each other.When Jesus died he went to paradise and preached across the gap to those in hell.

Among those he would have preached to were those who died in disobedience during Noah's time. Perhaps the reason why Peter brings this up is to draw an analogy to his readers concerning the present time. For the gospel is the ark of salvation, though few believe it. In Noah's time only 8 people were saved. Upon being asked, "Lord, are only a few people going to be saved?" Jesus said to them, "Make every effort to enter through the narrow door, because many, I tell you, will try to enter and will not be able to." Luke 13:23,24


Salvation Analogy

1Peter 3:21,22 There is also an antitype which now saves us——baptism (not the removal of the filth of the flesh, but the answer of a good conscience toward God), through the resurrection of Jesus Christ who has gone into heaven and is at God’s right hand— with angels, authorities and powers in submission to him.

Peter is referring to the flood of Noah. He is not referring to a particular element of the flood. The NIV incorrectly inserts the word "water", which is not found in this verse in the Greek, and thus I'm quoting here from a more precise version. The water of Noah did not represent salvation but wrath. The ark represents Christ, our salvation. The ark saves us from the flood of God's wrath.

But there is an analogy with regards to water baptism. But he is not speaking of the ritual of water baptism having some kind of sacramental nature, which is why he says, "not the removal of the filth of the flesh". Nothing done to the flesh can save a person. An early Christian cult throught circumcision saves. Later a heresy was introduced in historic Christianity that water baptism saves, simply replacing circumcision with baptism - one ritual with another. Such heresies are of the same spirit. Rather what Peter is talking about is having a pledge of a good conscience towards God. Noah was saved because he had pledged a good conscience towards God. Water baptism is supposed to correspond to one's repentance from sin, having pledged a good conscience to God. In contrast, baptism heretics will baptize infants, which has nothing to do with repentance or making such a pledge.

Water baptism is an analogous to salvation. But what really matters is the baptism of the Holy Spirit in which one is included in Christ.  John the Baptist contrasts to two saying, "I baptize you with water for repentance. But after me will come one who is more powerful than I, whose sandals I am not fit to carry. He will baptize you with the Holy Spirit and with fire." Mt 3:11 Baptism of the Spirit may occur before or after one is water baptized. For example concerning the conversion of the household of Cornelius they said, "Can anyone keep these people from being baptized with water? They have received the Holy Spirit just as we have." Acts10:47 When one receives the Holy Spirit they are included in  Christ.  "You also were included in Christ when you heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation. Having believed, you were marked in him with a seal, the promised Holy Spirit, who is a deposit guaranteeing our inheritance" Eph 1:13,14 And "if anyone does not have the Spirit of Christ, he does not belong to Christ." Rom 8:9 When one receives the Holy Spirit they enter the Ark, God closes the door, and they are eternally secure. Having ascended to heaven Jesus has such authority as to secure a place for us.

"I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord." Rom 8:38,39


1Peter 3:13-22 RAP

3:13 And who will bring the harm to you if you do the good 
So you should in everything do the good you should 
14 But even if you suffer for doing what is right 
How blessed you are and unlike them don't have fear nor fright 
15 But in your hearts make Christ the Lord, ready to respond 
To everyone who asks you of the hope you have beyond 
16 With gentleness and respect keep your conscience clear 
So to shame the ones who speak against your good works here. 
17 It is better if it really be the will of God 
To suffer for the right you do, though it may be hard 
18 For Christ did also suffer once the just one in our stead 
Being put to death in flesh, then risen from the dead 
19 By that Spirit also preached to those who misbehaved 
20 Who disobeyed in Noah's time, when only 8 were saved. 
21 The flood of Noah is a type of washing that saves you 
Not from dirt but to pledge your conscience to be true 
22 Unto God who saves you by the one he gave the crown 
The Christ who reigns at God's right hand and all to him bow down


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


May 06,2016