翻譯: English 中文 GB

彼得前書
4:12-19

受苦,之三

為基督受苦是有福的

4:12 親愛的弟兄啊,有火煉的試驗臨到你們,
  不要以為奇怪(似乎是遭遇非常的事),

4:13 倒要歡喜﹔因為你們是與基督一同受苦
  使你們在他榮耀顯現的時候,也可以歡喜快樂。


4:14 你們若為基督的名受辱罵,便是有福的,
  因為神榮耀的靈常住在你們身上


4:15 你們中間卻不可有人因為殺人、偷竊、
  作惡、好管閑事而受苦。


4:16 若為作基督徒受苦,卻不要羞恥,
  倒要因這名歸榮耀給神。

4:17 因為時候到了,審判要從神的家起首。
  若是先從我們起首,那不信從神福音的人,
  將有何等的結局呢?


4:18 若是義人僅僅得救,
  那不虔敬和犯罪的人,將有何地可站呢?
【箴言 11:31】
4:19 所以,那照神旨意受苦的人要一心為善,
  將自己靈魂交與那信實的造化之主。


問題討論

第12,13節 我們所面臨的苦難與基督所遭受的苦難有什麼相似之處?
第14節 為什麼為基督的名受苦是有福的?
什麼算是為基督受苦?
第15節 是不是所有的受苦都是為基督受苦?
什麼是好管閑事的人?為什麼這種人會受苦?
第16節 什麼使一個人配基督徒的名?我們是不是把這個名用得太隨便?是不是因為一個人稱自己是基督徒他就配被稱作“基督徒”?
第17,18節 因作基督徒而受苦與我們的得救狀態由什麼關系?(見【馬可福音 13:13】

注釋

不要因遭受逼迫而吃驚

彼得前書 4:12 親愛的弟兄啊,有火煉的試驗臨到你們,不要以為奇怪(似乎是遭遇非常的事),

保羅寫到:“不但如此,凡立志在基督耶穌媟q虔度日的也都要受逼迫。”【提摩太後書 3:12】這有某種必然性在堶情A就如基督會被釘十字架一樣。耶穌對他不信的弟兄說:“世人不能恨你們,卻是恨我,因為我指証他們所做的事是惡的。”【約翰福音 7:7】因此被世人恨是跟隨基督的人的屬性。“弟兄們,世人若恨你們,不要以為希奇。”【約翰一書 3:13】因此要習慣于受苦。跟隨耶穌,“他被藐視,被人厭棄,多受痛苦,常經憂患。”【以賽亞書 53:3】


與基督一同受苦

彼得前書 4:13 倒要歡喜﹔因為你們是與基督一同受苦,使你們在他榮耀顯現的時候,也可以歡喜快樂。

彼得前書以不同的形式十七次使用了“受苦”一詞。這是彼得前書的一個主題。他們如何與基督一同受苦呢?這不只是比喻。基督徒的確受了苦。當然,其中有我們共同遭受的肉身與聖靈相爭的苦:“因為情欲和聖靈相爭,聖靈和情欲相爭。這兩個是彼此相敵,使你們不能作所愿意作的。”【加拉太書 5:17】而耶穌,“所以他凡事該與他的弟兄相同,為要在神的事上,成為慈悲忠信的大祭司,為百姓的罪獻上挽回祭。他自己既然被試探而受苦,就能搭救被試探的人。”【希伯來書 2:17-18】因此,“因我們的大祭司,并非不能體恤我們的軟弱。他也曾凡事受過試探,與我們一樣。只是他沒有犯罪。”【希伯來書 4:15】這是基督徒與基督一同受苦的一個方式。但如彼得前書通篇所暗示的那樣,就如基督受到逼迫,基督徒也因他們的信受到逼迫。比如:“他被罵不還口,受害不說威嚇的話,只將自己交托那按公義審判人的主。”【彼得前書 2:23】

為義受苦是一件好事。這是我們與基督相交的一個方式。保羅寫到:“使我認識基督,曉得他復活的大能,并且曉得和他一同受苦,效法他的死,或者我也得以從死奡_活。”【腓立比書 3:10-11】而且這其中是有賞賜的。我們在今生所遭受的苦,即使是至于死,與將從我們顯現出的榮耀是無法相比的。“聖靈與我們的心同証我們是神的兒女﹔既是兒女,便是後嗣,就是神的後嗣,和基督同作後嗣。如果我們和他一同受苦,也必和他一同得榮耀。”【羅馬書 8:16-17】而且受苦造就品德和深深的信。所以,“不但如此,就是在患難中也是歡歡喜喜地﹔因為知道患難生忍耐﹔忍耐生老練﹔老練生盼望﹔”【羅馬書 5:3-4】


為基督的名受辱罵

彼得前書 4:14 你們若為基督的名受辱罵,便是有福的,因為神榮耀的靈常住在你們身上。

神榮耀的靈常住在一個人身上是什麼意思呢?首先,其意思是說你若為基督受苦,那麼你是在榮耀基督,因而對于神付予你的生命的永恆的目的來說,是在眾目所矚的中心。舊約婺g常說到在先知說預言的時候聖靈住在先知的身上。同樣,在我們為基督的名受苦的時候,所傳遞的深深的信正像先知傳講神的道一樣。關于彌賽亞,經上寫到:“耶和華的靈必住在他身上,就是使他有智慧和聰明的靈,謀略和能力的靈,知識和敬畏耶和華的靈。”【以賽亞書 11:2】這些特征也同樣可以在那些為基督的名遭受逼迫的人身上看到。那些因基督的原故遭受逼迫的人會得到深深的信和啟示。因此,不要把避免遭受反對作為你的目標。遭受反對能夠造就品德。


因犯罪受苦

彼得前書 4:15 你們中間卻不可有人因為殺人、偷竊、作惡、好管閑事而受苦。

雖然為犯罪而受苦是好的教訓,是公義的,但基督徒不應該為這樣的事受苦,當然更不應以之為榮。事實上約翰寫到:“凡殺人的沒有永生存在他堶情C”【約翰一書 3:15b】保羅寫到:“你們豈不知不義的人不能承受神的國嗎?不要自欺!無論是淫亂的、拜偶像的、奸淫的、作孌童的、親男色的、偷竊的、貪婪的、醉酒的、辱罵的、勒索的,都不能承受神的國。”【哥林多前書 6:9-10】

“好管閑事”譯自希臘文“αλλοτριεπισκοποζ”一詞,它是“陌生人”和“監督”這兩個詞的組合。這樣的人盜用對別人事物的監督。他管與他不相干的事。所以,與其去管閑事,應該“又要立志作安靜人,辦自己的事,親手作工,正如我們從前所吩咐你們的,”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 4:11】


忍受不公的苦難

彼得前書 4:16 若為作基督徒受苦,卻不要羞恥,倒要因這名歸榮耀給神。

“基督徒”一詞在聖經媮`共出現了三次。“門徒稱為基督徒,是從安提阿起首。”【使徒行傳 11:26b】聖徒”一詞是內部對堶惜H的稱呼,而“基督徒”則是外人對堶惜H的稱呼,其中有一層貶意。但這個詞為基督徒所接受。把某個人稱為“基督徒”在當時是意在侮辱,但彼得在這塈滼o個侮辱轉化為一個喜樂的機會。這很像耶穌在登山寶訓堜珨〞滿G“為義受逼迫的人有福了,因為天國是他們的。人若因我辱罵你們,逼迫你們,捏造各樣壞話毀謗你們,你們就有福了。應當歡喜快樂,因為你們在天上的賞賜是大的。”【馬太福音 5:10-12a】

在遭受逼迫之後,彼得和“他們離開公會,心媗w喜。因被算是配為這名受辱。”【使徒行傳 5:41】

因此,愿你也能像帖撒羅尼迦教會那樣:“甚至我們在神的各教會堿飢A們夸口,都因你們在所受的一切逼迫患難中,仍舊存忍耐和信心。這正是神公義判斷的明証,叫你們可算配得神的國,你們就是為這國受苦。”【帖撒羅尼迦後書 1:4-5】


經受審判

彼得前書 4:17-18 因為時候到了,審判要從神的家起首。若是先從我們起首,那不信從神福音的人,將有何等的結局呢?“若是義人僅僅得救,那不虔敬和犯罪的人,將有何地可站呢?”

這堛漱W下文說的是基督徒遭受逼迫。“審判”一詞譯自“κριμα”,通常被譯作“被定罪”。我們所生活的教會時代是神的家庭經受世人的審判的時候。這不應使人吃驚,耶穌說:“世人不能恨你們,卻是恨我,因為我指証他們所做的事是惡的。”【約翰福音 7:7】但是,“神既是公義的,就必將患難報應那加患難給你們的人﹔……要報應那不認識神和那不聽從我主耶穌福音的人。他們要受刑罰,就是永遠沉淪,離開主的面和他權能的榮光。”【帖撒羅尼迦後書 1:6,8-9】因此不敬神的和罪人將有他們受到審判的時候,而且是受到神的審判。

有人問耶穌說:“主啊,得救的人少嗎?”耶穌對眾人說:“你們要努力進窄門。我告訴你們,將來有許多人想要進去,卻是不能。”【路加福音 13:23-24】他還在別處說:“引到永生,那門是窄的,路是小的,找著的人也少。”【馬太福音 7:14】這對富人來說猶為如此──那些在今生經歷舒適的人。耶穌說:“我實在告訴你們,財主進天國是難的。”【馬太福音 19:23】得救容易嗎?顯然不容易。得救的人多嗎?顯然不多。

在這堙A“義人”指的是聖經堭q始至終所說的具有行義的特點的一類人。約翰說:“小子們哪,不要被人誘惑。行義的才是義人,正如主是義的一樣。犯罪的是屬魔鬼,因為魔鬼從起初就犯罪。”【約翰一書 3:7-8a】那不虔敬和犯罪的人也同樣。雖然我們都是罪人,但他在這堳的是生活在罪中的人,如保羅所講的那樣:“你們豈不知不義的人不能承受神的國嗎?不要自欺!無論是淫亂的、拜偶像的、奸淫的、作孌童的、親男色的、偷竊的、貪婪的、醉酒的、辱罵的、勒索的,都不能承受神的國。”【哥林多前書 6:9-10】事實上彼得暗指的是箴言堜珨〞漸肮﹞云漱@個一般原則:“看哪,義人在世尚且受報,何況惡人和罪人呢?”【箴言 11:31】所以真正的基督徒是由他們的行為看出的(這就是為什麼他們被稱作“基督徒”)。“從此就顯出誰是神的兒女,誰是魔鬼的兒女:凡不行義的就不屬神,不愛弟兄的也是如此。”【約翰一書 3:10】


如何對待苦難

彼得前書 4:19-20 所以,那照神旨意受苦的人要一心為善,將自己靈魂交與那信實的造化之主。

雖然世人在審判義人,使他們遭受不公的苦難,神是信實的,神將像他所保証的那樣伸冤。這就是溫柔。“對神的溫柔就是這樣一種屬靈的狀態,我們接受神對我們是好的,因而毫不爭辯,毫不抗拒。”《電子聖經希臘辭典》“你們要將一切的憂慮卸給神,因為他顧念你們。”【彼得前書 5:7】耶穌用他的最後一口氣把他自己交給神說:“父啊,我將我的靈魂交在你手堙C”【路加福音 23:46】

愿不公的受苦不至使人停止行善。基督徒不應心懷苦毒。如果神允許事情發生,那麼一定會有好的結果來自其中。要繼續行善。“那忍受罪人這樣頂撞的,你們要思想,免得疲倦灰心。”【希伯來書 12:3】



庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Jul 29, 2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

1Peter 4:12-19 (web)

Suffering Persecution III

The Blessedness of Suffering for Christ

4:12 Beloved, don't be astonished at the fiery trial which has come upon you,
to test you, as though a strange thing happened to you.
4:13 But because you are partakers of Christ's sufferings, rejoice;
that at the revelation of his glory also you may rejoice with exceeding joy.

4:14 If you are insulted for the name of Christ, blessed are you;
because the Spirit of glory and of God rests on you.
On their part he is blasphemed, but on your part he is glorified.

4:15 For let none of you suffer as a murderer, or a thief,
or an evil doer, or as a meddler in other men's matters.

4:16 But if one of you suffers for being a Christian, let him not be ashamed;
but let him glorify God in this matter.
 

4:17 For the time has come for judgment to begin at the house of God.
If it begins first with us, what will happen to those
who don't obey the gospel of God?

4:18 "If it is hard for the righteous to be saved,
what will happen to the ungodly and the sinner?"
(Prov 11:31)


4:19 Therefore let them also who suffer according to the will of God
in doing good entrust their souls to him, as to a faithful Creator.


Discussion Questions

vs 12,13 What similarities are there between the sufferings we face and those of Christ?
vs 14 Why is it considered blessed to suffer in Christ's name?
What constitutes suffering for Christ?
vs 15 Does all suffering count as suffering for Christ?
What is a meddler and why would such a person suffer?
vs 16 What makes a person worthy of the name Christian? Do we tend to use it too casually? Is a person worthy to be called a "Christian" just because he calls himself one?
vs 17,18 How is suffering as a Christian related to our salvation status? (Mark 13:13)


Comments

Suffer Persecution - no surprise!

1Peter 4:12
Dear friends, do not be surprised at the painful trial you are suffering, as though something strange were happening to you.

Paul writes, "everyone who wants to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted" 2Tim 2:12 There's a certain inevitability about it just as it was inevitable that Christ would be crucified. Jesus said to his unbelieving brothers, "The world cannot hate you, but it hates me because I testify that what it does is evil." John 7:7 Thus it is in the nature of those who follow Christ to be hated by the world. "Do not be surprised, my brothers, if the world hates you." 1John 3:13 So get familiar with suffering. After Jesus "was despised and rejected by men, a man of sorrows, and familiar with suffering." Is 53:3


Fellowship with Christ's Sufferings

1Peter 4:13 But rejoice that you participate in the sufferings of Christ, so that you may be overjoyed when his glory is revealed.

The letter of 1Peter uses the word "suffer" in various forms 17 times. It's a major theme in 1Peter. How did they participate in the sufferings of Christ? This is not merely allegorical rhetoric. The Christians actually suffered. There is of course the common suffering we experience between the flesh and the Spirit. "For the sinful nature desires what is contrary to the Spirit, and the Spirit what is contrary to the sinful nature. They are in conflict with each other, so that you do not do what you want." Gal 5:17 And Jesus "had to be made like his brothers in every way, in order that he might become a merciful and faithful high priest in service to God, and that he might make atonement for the sins of the people. Because he himself suffered when he was tempted, he is able to help those who are being tempted." Heb 2:17,18 Thus "we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are— yet was without sin." Heb 4:15 This is one way Christians fellowship with Christ's suffering. But as is alluded to throughout 1Peter Christians were being persecuted for their faith, just as Christ suffered persecution. For example 1Peter 2:23 "When they hurled their insults at him, he did not retaliate; when he suffered, he made no threats. Instead, he entrusted himself to him who judges justly."

It's a good thing to endure suffering for doing what is right. It is one way we fellowship with Christ. Paul writes, "I want to know Christ and the power of his resurrection and the fellowship of sharing in his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, and so, somehow, to attain to the resurrection from the dead." Php 3:10,11 And there is reward in it. There's no comparison between the meager persecutions we suffer in this life, even if it be to death, with the glory to be revealed in us in the future. "Now if we are children, then we are heirs— heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings in order that we may also share in his glory.  I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us." Rom 8:16,17 And such suffering builds character and conviction. Therefore "we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope." Rom 5:3,4 
 

Insulted for Christ

1Peter 4:14 If you are insulted because of the name of Christ, you are blessed, for the Spirit of glory and of God rests on you.

What does it mean for the Spirit of glory and of God to rest on a person? First of all it means that by suffering for Christ you are glorifying Christ and thus are in the limelight with respect to God's eternal purpose for your life. In the Old Testament it is often said the Spirit rested on the prophets when they prophesied. Likewise when we act on Christ's behalf and suffer for it, it communicates conviction just as the prophets communicated God's Word. And of the Messiah it is written, "The Spirit of the LORD will rest on him— the Spirit of wisdom and of understanding, the Spirit of counsel and of power, the Spirit of knowledge and of the fear of the LORD" Is 11:2 These are attributes that likewise can be imparted to those who suffer persecution for Christ's sake. Those who legitimately suffer persecution for Christ gain conviction and revelation. So don't make it your objective to avoid opposition. Opposition builds character.


Criminal Suffering

1Peter 4:15
If you suffer, it should not be as a murderer or thief or any other kind of criminal, or even as a meddler.

While it is good discipline and just to suffer for sinning, such is not the category of suffering appropriate for Christians, and certainly not something Christians should glory in. In fact John writes, "no murderer has eternal life in him." 1John 3:15b and Paul writes, "Do you not know that the wicked will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: Neither the sexually immoral nor idolaters nor adulterers nor male prostitutes nor homosexual offenders nor thieves nor the greedy nor drunkards nor slanderers nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God." 1Cor 6:9,10

The term "meddler" is "allotriepiskopos", which is the combination of the words "stranger" and "overseer". Such a person is one who usurps supervision over other people's matters. He meddles in things which should be none of his business. So rather than meddling in other people's affairs, "make it your ambition to lead a quiet life, to mind your own business and to work with your hands, just as we told you" 1Th 4:11 


Enduring Unjustified Suffering

1Peter 4:16 However, if you suffer as a Christian, do not be ashamed, but praise God that you bear that name.

The term "Christian" is only used three times in the Bible. "The disciples were called Christians first at Antioch." Acts 11:26b While the term "saint" was what insiders called insiders, the term "Christian" was the term outsiders called insiders, and was used in a derogatory sense. But it became a term that Christians embraced. To call someone a "Christian" was meant as an insult, but here Peter turns this intended insult into an opportunity to rejoice. This is much the same kind of antithetical rhetoric Jesus used in the sermon on the mount. "Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Blessed are you when people insult you, persecute you and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of me. Rejoice and be glad, because great is your reward in heaven." Mt 5:10-12a

And after suffering persecution him, Peter and "the apostles left the Sanhedrin, rejoicing because they had been counted worthy of suffering disgrace for the Name." Acts 5:41

So let it also be said of you as with the church at Thessalonica, "among God’s churches we boast about your perseverance and faith in all the persecutions and trials you are enduring. All this is evidence that God’s judgment is right, and as a result you will be counted worthy of the kingdom of God, for which you are suffering." 2Th 1:4,5


Experiencing Condemnation

1Peter 4:17,18  For it is time for judgment to begin with the family of God; and if it begins with us, what will the outcome be for those who do not obey the gospel of God?  And, "If it is hard for the righteous to be saved, what will become of the ungodly and the sinner?"

The context speaks of Christians suffering persecution. The word "judgment" is krima most commonly translated "condemnation". The Church Age in which we live is a time in which the family of God experiences condemnation by the world. And this should be no surprise, as Jesus said, "The world hates me because I testify that what it does is evil." John 7:7b But "God is just: He will pay back trouble to those who trouble you ... He will punish those who do not know God and do not obey the gospel of our Lord Jesus. They will be punished with everlasting destruction and shut out from the presence of the Lord and from the majesty of his power." 2Th 1:6,8,9 So the ungodly and sinners will have their time of condemnation, and that by God.

Jesus was asked, "Lord, are there few who are saved?" And He said to them,"Strive to enter through the narrow gate, for many, I say to you, will seek to enter and will not be able." Luke 13:23,24 Elsewhere he said, "narrow is the gate and difficult is the way which leads to life, and there are few who find it." Mt 7:14 And this is particularly the case with the rich - those who experience ease in this life. Jesus said, "Assuredly, I say to you that it is hard for a rich man to enter the kingdom of heaven." Mt 19:23 Is it easy to be saved? Apparently not. Will many be saved? Apparently not.

By the "righteous" here he is referring to a category of people spoken of thoughout the Bible as those who characteristically do what is right. And as John said, "Do not let anyone lead you astray. He who does what is right is righteous, just as he is righteous. He who does what is sinful is of the devil." 1John 3:7,8 And likewise of the ungody and sinnersl While we are all sinners yet here he is referring to those who live in sin, as Paul said, "Do you not know that the wicked will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: Neither the sexually immoral nor idolaters nor adulterers nor male prostitutes nor homosexual offenders nor thieves nor the greedy nor drunkards nor slanderers nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God." 1Cor 6:9,10. In fact Peter is alluding to a verse in Proverbs which speaks of a general principle in life. "If the righteous receive their due on earth, how much more the ungodly and the sinner!" Pr 11:31 Thus genuine Christians are identified by their behavior (which is why they were callled "Christians") "This is how we know who the children of God are and who the children of the devil are: Anyone who does not do what is right is not a child of God; nor is anyone who does not love his brother." 1John 3:10


Reacting to Suffering

1Peter 4:19 So then, those who suffer according to God’s will should commit themselves to their faithful Creator and continue to do good.

While the world condemns the righteous, causing them to experience unjustified suffering, God is faithful and will bring about the vindication he promised. This is meekness. "Meekness toward God is that disposition of spirit in which we accept His dealings with us as good, and therefore without disputing or resisting." Online Bible Lexicon And "Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you." 1Peter 5:7 In his last breath Jesus committed himself to God saying, "Father, into Your hands I commit My spirit." Lk 23:46

Let not unjustified suffering cause one to stop doing good. Christians are not to develop bitterness. If God allows it, then some good will come of it. Continue to do good. And "consider Him who endured such hostility from sinners against Himself, lest you become weary and discouraged in your souls." Heb 12:3


1Peter 4:12-19 RAP

4:12 Do not be surprised at the trials you go through
As if something strange were happening to you
13 But rejoice that you share in Christ's suffering
That when He does return, oh what joy that will bring
14 If you are insulted for Christ, you are blessed
For upon you does the Spirit of God rest
15 Don't suffer for a crime, with the shame it brings
Or even as a meddler in other people's things
16 Suffer as a Christian and in that there is no shame
But rather you should praise the Lord that you bear that name
17 For judgment starts right now with God's family
18 And if with us the judgment starts, what will the outcome be
For those who don't obey the gospel of the Lord
If we are scarcely saved, on them will wrath be poured
19 Therefore let them suffering doing as they should
Commit themselves to God and continue doing good.


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015