翻譯: English 中文 GB

哥林多後書 第一章

在基督徒的事奉中感受神

1:1 奉神旨意,作基督耶穌使徒的保羅和兄弟提摩太,
  寫信給在哥林多神的教會,并亞該亞遍處的眾聖徒。

1:2 愿恩惠、平安從神我們的父和主耶穌基督歸與你們。

安慰

1:3 愿頌贊歸與我們的主耶穌基督的父神,
  就是發慈悲的父,賜各樣安慰的神。


1:4 我們在一切患難中,他就安慰我們,
  叫我們能用神所賜的安慰去安慰那遭各樣患難的人。

1:5 我們既多受基督的苦楚,
  就靠基督多得安慰。

1:6 我們受患難呢,是為叫你們得安慰,得拯救﹔
  我們得安慰呢,也是為叫你們得安慰。
  這安慰能叫你們忍受我們所受的那樣苦楚。

1:7 我們為你們所存的盼望是確定的,
  因為知道你們既是同受苦楚,也必同得安慰。


1:8 弟兄們,我們不要你們不曉得,
  我們從前在亞西亞遭遇苦難,
  被壓太重,力不能勝,
  甚至連活命的指望都絕了。

1:9 自己心堣]斷定是必死的,
  叫我們不靠自己,只靠叫死人復活的神。

1:10 他曾救我們脫離那極大的死亡,
  現在仍要救我們,
  并且我們指望他將來還要救我們。

1:11 你們以祈禱幫助我們,好叫許多人為我們謝恩,
  就是為我們因許多人所得的恩。

聖潔和誠實

1:12 我們所夸的,是自己的良心,
  見証我們憑著神的聖潔和誠實,
  在世為人,不靠人的聰明,乃靠神的恩惠,
  向你們更是這樣。

1:13 我們現在寫給你們的話,
  并不外乎你們所念的、所認識的,
  我也盼望你們到底還是要認識,

1:14 正如你們已經有幾分認識我們,以我們夸口,
  好像我們在我們主耶穌的日子以你們夸口一樣。

1:15 我既然這樣深信,就早有意到你們那堨h,
  叫你們再得益處。

1:16 也要從你們那婺g過,往馬其頓去,
  再從馬其頓回到你們那堙A叫你們給我送行往猶太去。

1:17 我有此意,豈是反復不定嗎?
  我所起的意,豈是從情欲起的,叫我忽是忽非嗎?

1:18 我指著信實的神說,
  我們向你們所傳的道,并沒有是而又非的。

1:19 因為我和西拉,并提摩太,
  在你們中間所傳神的兒子耶穌基督,
  總沒有是而又非的,在他只有一是。

1:20 神的應許不論有多少,在基督都是是的,
  所以借著他也都是實在的(“實在”原文作“阿們”),
  叫神因我們得榮耀。

靠神得堅固

1:21 那在基督堸磼T我們和你們,并且膏我們的就是神。
1:22 他又用印印了我們,
  并賜聖靈在我們心塈@憑據(原文作“質”)。

1:23 我呼吁神給我的心作見証,
  我沒有往哥林多去是為要寬容你們。

1:24 我們并不是轄管你們的信心,
  乃是幫助你們的快樂,因為你們憑信才站立得住。


問題討論

第3-11節 主帶給你的哪些安慰和解救的經歷也許對別人也是個鼓勵?
我們的禱告是如何幫助別人的?這對我們在神的事工中所起的作用意味著什麼?
第12-20節 你對基督教堣ㄡM楚或模糊的信息的經歷和看法是什麼?
顯然保羅曾計劃到他們那堨h,但後來有改變了主意。為什麼他把“反復不定”和“忽是忽非”看成是這麼大的一件事?
第21-24節 聖靈在我們堶捲ㄔ耵漁蘆G是什麼?
這堛滬句話支持永恆的保証的教義(一朝得救永遠得救)?

注釋

問安

哥林多後書 1:1-2 奉神旨意,作基督耶穌使徒的保羅和兄弟提摩太,寫信給在哥林多神的教會,并亞該亞遍處的眾聖徒。愿恩惠、平安從神我們的父和主耶穌基督歸與你們。

雖然哥林多後書是答復哥林多的基督徒因保羅給他們的第一封信所采取的行動,但這封信還使我們看到保羅對基督徒事奉的觀點,這是這封信的主題之一。雖然“職事也有分別”【哥林多前書 12:5】,但每一個成熟的基督徒都應參與某種形式的事奉,因此都將能從這封信塈鋮嚆鬗_一個人在事奉堛犖A度及其代價的指南和應用。

這婸﹞@下這個問安,保羅通常說明他的身分,同時保羅的特點是總要承認他的同工。盡管每個人有個人的蒙召──即使是使徒──事奉包含團隊的工作。至于他的生分,要保羅作使徒是神的旨意。在接受聖靈之前,十一位使徒莽撞地搖簽選了一個使徒來代替猶大(使徒行傳第一章)。這不是主揀選使徒的方式。馬提亞是十一位使徒的選擇,而保羅是主的選擇。主說:“他是我所揀選的器皿,要在外邦人和君王并以色列人面前宣揚我的名。”【使徒行傳 9:15b】主對他說:“我們祖宗的神揀選了你,叫你明白他的旨意,又得見那義者,聽他口中所出的聲音。因為你要將所看見的、所聽見的對著萬人為他作見証。”【使徒行傳 22:14-15】


基督徒的同情

哥林多後書 1:3-7 愿頌贊歸與我們的主耶穌基督的父神,就是發慈悲的父,賜各樣安慰的神。我們在一切患難中,他就安慰我們,叫我們能用神所賜的安慰去安慰那遭各樣患難的人。我們既多受基督的苦楚,就靠基督多得安慰。我們受患難呢,是為叫你們得安慰,得拯救﹔我們得安慰呢,也是為叫你們得安慰。這安慰能叫你們忍受我們所受的那樣苦楚。我們為你們所存的盼望是確定的,因為知道你們既是同受苦楚,也必同得安慰。

我們每個人都不時會問:“這件事為什麼會發生在我身上?”對于這個問題的一個可能的回答就是,神讓我們遭遇不幸是為了讓我們能夠對遭受同樣不幸的人有同情心。

事實上,甚至關于基督,經上說:“所以,他凡事該與他的弟兄相同,為要在神的事上成為慈悲忠信的大祭司,為百姓的罪獻上挽回祭。他自己既然被試探而受苦,就能搭救被試探的人。”【希伯來書 2:17-18】還有,“因我們的大祭司并非不能體恤我們的軟弱,他也曾凡事受過試探,與我們一樣──只是他沒有犯罪。”【希伯來書 4:15】同樣,耶穌對他的門徒說:“我在磨煉之中,常和我同在的就是你們。”【路加福音 22:28】

還注意到保羅的例子,他說:“并且那在主堛漣怚S,多半因我受的捆鎖,就篤信不疑,越發放膽傳神的道,無所懼怕。”【腓立比書 1:14】

雖然有的人從別人得到安慰和鼓勵,但在這堨L說的是從神得到安慰。以前,人們在山上選一棵樹,把這棵樹周圍的樹都砍掉,讓它單獨經受風雨。過一段時間,他們把這棵樹砍下來,用它作船的桅杆。因為經受患難本身就能使一個人特別強壯。

“我的弟兄們,你們落在百般試煉中,都要以為大喜樂,因為知道你們的信心經過試驗就生忍耐。但忍耐也當成功,使你們成全完備,毫無缺欠。”【雅各書 1:2-4】


這為什麼發生在我身上?

哥林多後書 1:8-11 弟兄們,我們不要你們不曉得,我們從前在亞西亞遭遇苦難,被壓太重,力不能勝,甚至連活命的指望都絕了。自己心堣]斷定是必死的,叫我們不靠自己,只靠叫死人復活的神。他曾救我們脫離那極大的死亡,現在仍要救我們,并且我們指望他將來還要救我們。你們以祈禱幫助我們,好叫許多人為我們謝恩,就是為我們因許多人所得的恩。

遭遇困苦的一個常常被人忽視的一方面就是這些經歷對促進一個人的事奉的潛在效果:

問題的關鍵不僅在于一個人對遭受患難的反應,而且還在遭受患難的過程中經歷神的安慰。因為過基督徒的生活不單單基于自己的愿望和決定,還在于在順服神的時候,基督徒在經歷神的安慰中找到力量。

保羅就在患難中找到了力量,他說:“我們從前在亞西亞遭遇苦難,被壓太重,力不能勝”但他的力量不是從自己的意愿或決心塈鋮鴘滿C基督徒經受患難是有好處的,就如保羅說,遭遇苦難是“叫我們不靠自己,只靠叫死人復活的神。”無論我們是習慣于靠自己還是依賴別人,我們都需要學會依靠神,指望他將要救助我們。

依賴神是在忍受患難的過程中學會的。“弟兄們,你們要把那先前奉主名說話的眾先知,當作能受苦能忍耐的榜樣。那先前忍耐的人,我們稱他們是有福的。你們聽見過約伯的忍耐,也知道主給他的結局。明顯主是滿心憐憫,大有慈悲。”【雅各書 5:10-11】如果你打算長期地事奉神,就要預見到將會遇到挫折和使人恢心的事,甚至會遇到幻滅,因為一個人的期望會被撕碎。這全是學會依賴神的過程中的一部分。以色列人被帶到曠野堙A去學習依賴神:“他苦煉你,任你飢餓,將你和你列祖所不認識的嗎哪賜給你吃,使你知道,人活著不是單靠食物,乃是靠耶和華口堜狴X的一切話。”【申命記 8:3】

耶和華啊,認識你名的人要倚靠你。因你沒有離棄尋求你的人。【詩篇 9:10】

“你們要以感謝為祭獻與神。又要向至高者還你的愿。并要在患難之日求告我,我必搭救你。你也要榮耀我。”【詩篇 50:14-15】


基督徒誠實為人

哥林多後書 1:12 我們所夸的,是自己的良心,見証我們憑著神的聖潔和誠實,在世為人,不靠人的聰明,乃靠神的恩惠,向你們更是這樣。

就像在加拉太書堣@樣,保羅在這堣]把他們與那些對哥林多的基督徒有壞影響的人作對比。比如他在後面說:“乃將那些暗昧可恥的事棄絕了,不行詭詐,不謬講神的道理。只將真理表明出來,好在神面前把自己薦與各人的良心。”【哥林多後書 4:2】指那些歪曲福音的信息來為自己可恥的生活方式開脫的人。他在後面還說:“我們不像那許多人,為利混亂神的道,乃是由于誠實,由于神,在神面前憑著基督講道。”【哥林多後書 2:17】指那些為了在金錢上牟利而在哥林多混亂神的道的人。

生活的好原則就是:“我因此自己勉勵,對神,對人,常存無虧的良心。”【使徒行傳 24:16】因此,“請你們為我們禱告。因我們自覺良心無虧,愿意凡事按正道而行。”【希伯來書 13:18】


不要搞得過于復雜

哥林多後書 1:13-14 我們現在寫給你們的話,并不外乎你們所念的、所認識的,我也盼望你們到底還是要認識,正如你們已經有幾分認識我們,以我們夸口,好像我們在我們主耶穌的日子以你們夸口一樣。

保羅的真誠從他的信的真誠坦率堛穛{出來。他沒有在其中隱藏其它的企圖。他的交流總是公開、直接了當、言詞坦率。如果你讀一下聖經之後的神學家的作品,很多都很難懂,有時甚至使用很多詞藻,而很少聖經。對我來說,這是不稱職的教師的一個征兆。很多這樣的人喜歡說“聽上去”屬靈的事,但卻很含糊,以致實際上沒有什麼意義。“但命令的總歸就是愛﹔這愛是從清潔的心和無虧的良心、無偽的信心生出來的。有人偏離這些,反去講虛浮的話,想要作教法師,卻不明白自己所講說的,所論定的。”【提摩太前書 1:5-7】“我只怕你們的心或偏于邪,失去那向基督所存純一清潔的心,就像蛇用詭詐誘惑了夏娃一樣。”【哥林多後書 11:3】不要搞得過于復雜。聖經本身要比很多聖經之後的神學家所寫的東西容易懂得多。


有意識地和確定性地去計劃

哥林多後書 1:15-20 我既然這樣深信,就早有意到你們那堨h,叫你們再得益處。也要從你們那婺g過,往馬其頓去,再從馬其頓回到你們那堙A叫你們給我送行往猶太去。我有此意,豈是反復不定嗎?我所起的意,豈是從情欲起的,叫我忽是忽非嗎?我指著信實的神說,我們向你們所傳的道,并沒有是而又非的。因為我和西拉,并提摩太,在你們中間所傳神的兒子耶穌基督,總沒有是而又非的,在他只有一是。神的應許不論有多少,在基督都是是的,所以借著他也都是實在的(“實在”原文作“阿們”),叫神因我們得榮耀。

這堛熒N思是要有意地按一個人深信的去行,而不是半心半意,對自己的計劃憂柔寡斷。雖然不可莽撞地夸口自己的計劃,就如雅各所說:“嗐,你們有話說:‘今天、明天我們要往某城堨h,在那埵矰@年,作買賣得利。’其實明天如何,你們還不知道。你們的生命是什麼呢?你們原來是一片云霧,出現少時就不見了。你們只當說:‘主若愿意,我們就可以活著,也可以做這事,或做那事。’現今你們竟以張狂夸口,凡這樣夸口都是惡的。”【雅各書 4:13-16】,然而基督徒應該有意識地為將來作計劃,就如保羅在這婸”鴠L的計劃那樣。

至于他提到他所傳的信息,他的意思是不要對其疑惑。就像雅各說的那樣:“因為那疑惑的人,就像海中的波浪,被風吹動翻騰。”【雅各書 1:6b】

無論神保証的什麼都將實現,因為神是守信用的,我們因此也應按律法的靈保守我們的諾言:“人若向耶和華許愿或起誓,要約束自己,就不可食言,必要按口中所出的一切話行。”【民數記 30:2】“你向耶和華你的神許愿,償還不可遲延。因為耶和華你的神必定向你追討,你不償還就有罪。”【申命記 23:21】


用印印了我們

哥林多後書 1:21-22 那在基督堸磼T我們和你們,并且膏我們的就是神。他又用印印了我們,并賜聖靈在我們心塈@憑據(原文作“質”)。

耶穌說:“并且你們要為我的名,被眾人恨惡,惟有忍耐到底的,必然得救。”【馬太福音 10:22】事實上那些在基督堛漱H由于重生的性質將會堅守到底,就如約翰所寫的:“凡從神生的就不犯罪,因神的道(原文作“種”)存在他心堙Q他也不能犯罪,因為他是由神生的。”【約翰一書 3:9】因此關于那些離開信的人他可以說:“他們從我們中間出去,卻不是屬我們的。若是屬我們的,就必仍舊與我們同在。他們出去,顯明都不是屬我們的。”【約翰一書 2:19】因此沒有一個由神生的人離開信。

然而站立得穩還包括實踐信。“因為你們憑信才站立得住。”【哥林多後書 1:24b】那些在信堛漱H事實上將實踐他們的信,并具有跟隨耶穌的特征:“我的羊聽我的聲音﹔我也認識他們,他們也跟著我。”【約翰福音 10:27】這樣做顯示出他們是蒙揀選的。

聖靈是一個印有兩層意思。其一是他是所有權的一個標志。因為“人若沒有基督的靈,就不是屬基督的。”【羅馬書 8:9b】“你們既聽見真理的道,就是那叫你們得救的福音,也信了基督,既然信他,就受了所應許的聖靈為印記。這聖靈是我們得基業的憑據(原文作“質”),直等到神之民(“民”原文作“產業”)被贖,使他的榮耀得著稱贊。”【以弗所書 1:13-14】那些在基督堛漲野禱磲澈O証。


避免過細地管理成熟的基督徒

哥林多後書 1:23-24 我呼吁神給我的心作見証,我沒有往哥林多去是為要寬容你們。我們并不是轄管你們的信心,乃是幫助你們的快樂,因為你們憑信才站立得住。

基督徒的領袖應以作出榜樣來帶領,而不是轄制羊群。彼得對長老們寫到:“務要牧養在你們中間神的群羊,按著神旨意照管他們﹔不是出于勉強,乃是出于甘心﹔也不是因為貪財,乃是出于樂意﹔也不是轄制所托付你們的,乃是作群羊的榜樣。”【彼得前書 5:2-3】假如基督徒按照你的樣子去做,那麼基督徒弟兄們今天會是什麼樣子呢?

同樣耶穌對他的門徒說:“你們知道外邦人有君王為主治理他們,有大臣操權管束他們。只是在你們中間不可這樣。你們中間誰愿為大,就必作你們的用人。誰愿為首,就必作你們的仆人。正如人子來,不是要受人的服事,乃是要服事人。并且要舍命,作多人的贖價。”【馬太福音 20:25-28】

有意思的是注意到保羅在這堛瑰野峞C有時,最好是讓人自己去應用,而不是過細地管理。這使人想起過分保護自己孩子的母親永遠不讓她的孩子長大。基督徒領袖需要讓基督徒自己主動,自己去應用,而不要過細地去管理。過分地強調計構的節目,過多地監管,不給成熟的基督徒自由事奉的機會,會使教會成為一些永遠長不大的嬰孩。


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Experiencing God in Christian Ministry

2Corinthians 1 (web)

1:1 Paul, an apostle of Christ Jesus through the will of God, and Timothy our brother,
to the assembly of God which is at Corinth, with all the saints who are in the whole of Achaia:
1:2 Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.

Minister Empathy

1:3 Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ,
the Father of mercies and God of all comfort;

1:4 who comforts us in all our affliction,
that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction,
through the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.
1:5 For as the sufferings of Christ abound to us,
even so our comfort also abounds through Christ.
1:6 But if we are afflicted, it is for your comfort and salvation.
If we are comforted, it is for your comfort,
which produces in you the patient enduring of the same sufferings which we also suffer.
1:7 Our hope for you is steadfast, knowing that,
since you are partakers of the sufferings, so also are you of the comfort.

1:8 For we don't desire to have you uninformed, brothers,
concerning our affliction which happened to us in Asia,
that we were weighed down exceedingly, beyond our power,
so much that we despaired even of life.
1:9 Yes, we ourselves have had the sentence of death within ourselves,
that we should not trust in ourselves, but in God who raises the dead,
1:10 who delivered us out of so great a death, and does deliver;
on whom we have set our hope that he will also still deliver us;
1:11 you also helping together on our behalf by your supplication;
that, for the gift bestowed on us by means of many,
thanks may be given by many persons on your behalf.

Minister in Holiness and Sincerity

1:12 For our boasting is this: the testimony of our conscience, that in holiness and sincerity of God,
not in fleshly wisdom but in the grace of God we behaved ourselves in the world,
and more abundantly toward you.
1:13 For we write no other things to you, than what you read or even acknowledge,
and I hope you will acknowledge to the end;
1:14 as also you acknowledged us in part, that we are your boasting,
even as you also are ours, in the day of our Lord Jesus.
1:15 In this confidence, I was determined to come first to you, that you might have a second benefit;
1:16 and by you to pass into Macedonia, and again from Macedonia to come to you,
and to be sent forward by you on my journey to Judea.
1:17 When I therefore was thus determined, did I show fickleness?
Or the things that I purpose, do I purpose according to the flesh,
that with me there should be the "Yes, yes" and the "No, no?"
1:18 But as God is faithful, our word toward you was not "Yes and no."
1:19 For the Son of God, Jesus Christ, who was preached among you by us,
by me, Silvanus, and Timothy, was not "Yes and no," but in him is "Yes."
1:20 For however many are the promises of God, in him is the "Yes."
Therefore also through him is the "Amen," to the glory of God through us.

Rely on God to Establish

1:21 Now he who establishes us with you in Christ, and anointed us, is God;
1:22 who also sealed us, and gave us the down payment of the Spirit in our hearts.
1:23 But I call God for a witness to my soul, that I didn't come to Corinth to spare you.
1:24 Not that we have lordship over your faith, but are fellow workers with you for your joy.
For you stand firm in faith.


Discussion Questions

vs 3-11 What experiences of comfort and deliverance has the Lord brought you through that may be an encouragement to others?
How do our prayers help others, and what does this imply about our role in God's ministry?
vs 12-20 What has been your experience with and you opinion concerning Christian messages which are unclear or ambiguous?
Paul apparently had made plans to come to them, but then changed his mind. So why is it that he makes a big deal about "Yes, yes" and "No, no" thing?
vs 21-24 What effects does the Holy Spirit produce in us?
What phrases here support the doctrine of Eternal security (Once saved, always saved)?


Comments

Greetings

2Cor 1:1,2 Paul, an apostle of Christ Jesus by the will of God, and Timothy our brother, To the church of God in Corinth, together with all the saints throughout Achaia: Grace and peace to you from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.

While 2Corinthians is a response to the Corinthians actions as a result of Paul's first letter to them, much of it also gives us insight into Paul's view of Christian ministry which is a major theme in this letter. Though "there are different kinds of service" 1Cor 12:5, every mature Christian is to be involved in some sort of ministry, and as such will find guidance and application from this letter with regards to one's attitude in ministry and with regards to its implementation. Such are given not as the individual wills, nor as institutional leaders will, but as the Spirits determines. "All these are the work of one and the same Spirit, and he gives them to each one, just as he determines." 2Cor 12:11


Just to comment on the greeting, typical of Paul to note his credentials, but also typical of Paul to give recognition to other members of his team. Despite one's personal calling - even that of apostleship - ministry involves teamwork. But with regards to his credentials, it was God's will that Paul be an apostle. Prior to receiving the Holy Spirit, the Eleven presumptuously chose by lot an apostle to replace Judas (Acts 1). That's not the way the Lord chooses an apostle. While Matthias was the Eleven's choice, Paul was the Lord's choice of whom he said, "This man is my chosen instrument to carry my name before the Gentiles and their kings and before the people of Israel." Acts 9:15 and the Lord said to him, "The God of our fathers has chosen you to know his will and to see the Righteous One and to hear words from his mouth. You will be his witness to all men of what you have seen and heard." Acts 22:14,15 And we find Paul much more responsible than the other apostles in carrying out the Great Commission.


Christian Empathy

2Cor 1:3-7 For just as the sufferings of Christ flow over into our lives, so also through Christ our comfort overflows. Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God. If we are distressed, it is for your comfort and salvation; if we are comforted, it is for your comfort, which produces in you patient endurance of the same sufferings we suffer. And our hope for you is firm, because we know that just as you share in our sufferings, so also you share in our comfort.

One of the possible answers to the question, "Why is this happening to me?" which we all ask from time to time is that God may be subjecting us to troubling circumstances so that we may develop empathy for those who are likewise suffering.

In fact even of Christ it is written, "For this reason he had to be made like his brothers in every way, in order that he might become a merciful and faithful high priest in service to God, and that he might make atonement for the sins of the people. Because he himself suffered when he was tempted, he is able to help those who are being tempted." Heb 2:17,18 and "we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we areó yet was without sin." Heb 4:15 And conversely Jesus said of his apostles, "You are those who have stood by me in my trials." Lk 22:28

Also note an example in Paul's life who says, "Because of my chains, most of the brothers in the Lord have been encouraged to speak the word of God more courageously and fearlessly." Php 1:14

But while some receive comfort and encouragement from other people, here he speaks also of receiving comfort from God. Used to be that people would find a tree on a hill and cut down all the trees around it so that alone it would have to endure the wind. After some time they cut it down and used it as a mast of a ship. For enduring tribulation alone can make one particularly strong.


Why is this happening to me?

2Cor 1:8-11 We do not want you to be uninformed, brothers, about the hardships we suffered in the province of Asia. We were under great pressure, far beyond our ability to endure, so that we despaired even of life. Indeed, in our hearts we felt the sentence of death. But this happened that we might not rely on ourselves but on God, who raises the dead. He has delivered us from such a deadly peril, and he will deliver us. On him we have set our hope that he will continue to deliver us, as you help us by your prayers. Then many will give thanks on our behalf for the gracious favor granted us in answer to the prayers of many.

An aspect of going through difficult situtations that is often overlooked is their potential effect to enhance one's ministry by But it is not simply one's reaction to circumstances that is the essential issue, but rather one's experience of God's comfort in the midst of difficult circumstances. For the Christian life is cannot be lived simply on the basis of one's own will and decisions, but rather in the midst of obeying God the Christian finds strength in his experience of God.

Paul found strength in the midst of circumstances he describes as ,"We were under great pressure, far beyond our ability to endure." But his strength was not found in his will or determination.  It is good for Christians to go through distressing circumstances, for as Paul says, "this happened that we might not rely on ourselves but on God." Whether we tend to rely on ourselves or on other people, we need to learn to rely on God, setting our hope upon Him to deliver us.

Relying on God is a process learned by persevering through troubles. If you intend to serve God through the long-haul expect setbacks and discouragements, even disillusionment as one's expectations are torn apart. It's all part of the process of learning to rely on God. Israel was sent into the desert to learn to rely on God. "He humbled you, causing you to hunger and then feeding you with manna, which neither you nor your fathers had known, to teach you that man does not live on bread alone but on every word that comes from the mouth of the LORD." Deut 8:3

"Those who know your name will trust in you, for you, LORD, have never forsaken those who seek you." Ps 9:10

Sacrifice thank offerings to God, fulfill your vows to the Most High, and call upon me in the day of trouble; I will deliver you, and you will honor me. Ps 50:14,15


Sincere Christian Conduct

2Cor 1:12 Now this is our boast: Our conscience testifies that we have conducted ourselves in the world, and especially in our relations with you, in the holiness and sincerity that are from God. We have done so not according to worldly wisdom but according to Godís grace.

Now just as in the book of Galatians, so also Paul is alluding to a contrast between his team and that of the those who are having a bad influence upon the Corinthians. For example he later says, "we have renounced secret and shameful ways; we do not use deception, nor do we distort the word of God. On the contrary, by setting forth the truth plainly we commend ourselves to every manís conscience in the sight of God." 2Cor 4:2, alluding to those who are distorting the gospel to justify their shameful lifestyle. And also he says later, "Unlike so many, we do not peddle the word of God for profit. On the contrary, in Christ we speak before God with sincerity, like men sent from God." 2Cor 2:17 alluding to those in Corinthin who are peddling the gospel for financial gain.

A good principle of living, "I strive always to keep my conscience clear before God and man." Acts 24:16  So "Pray for us. We are sure that we have a clear conscience and desire to live honorably in every way." Heb 13:18


Don't Overcomplicate it

2Cor 1:13,14 For we do not write you anything you cannot read or understand. And I hope that, as you have understood us in part, you will come to understand fully that you can boast of us just as we will boast of you in the day of the Lord Jesus.

Paul's sincerity is revealed by his frankness in communication. He doesn't have a hidden agenda. He is open and direct in his communication and speaks plainly. If you read post-Biblical theologians, many of them are hard to understand, even while using an abundance of words and very little scripture. To me that's just a sign of a poor teacher. Many such people like to say things that "sound" spiritual but which are so vague as to be practically meaningless. "The goal of this command is love, which comes from a pure heart and a good conscience and a sincere faith. Some have wandered away from these and turned to meaningless talk.They want to be teachers of the law, but they do not know what they are talking about or what they so confidently affirm." 1Tim 1:5-7 And  "I fear, lest somehow, as the serpent deceived Eve by his craftiness, so your minds may be corrupted from the simplicity that is in Christ." 2Cor 11:3 Don't overcomplicate it. The Bible is alot easier to understand than the writings of many post-Biblical theologians.


Plan Intentionally and Decisively

2Cor 1:15-20 Because I was confident of this, I planned to visit you first so that you might benefit twice. I planned to visit you on my way to Macedonia and to come back to you from Macedonia, and then to have you send me on my way to Judea. When I planned this, did I do it lightly? Or do I make my plans in a worldly manner so that in the same breath I say, "Yes, yes" and "No, no"? But as surely as God is faithful, our message to you is not "Yes" and "No." For the Son of God, Jesus Christ, who was preached among you by me and Silas and Timothy, was not "Yes" and "No," but in him it has always been "Yes." For no matter how many promises God has made, they are "Yes" in Christ. And so through him the "Amen" is spoken by us to the glory of God.

The point is to be intentional walking in one's convictions rather than half-heartedly indecisive about one's plans. While one should not boast presumptuously about one's plans, making false promises.

And whatever God has promised will come to pass because He is faithful to his word, and so should we be faithful to our word according to the spirit of the law, "When a man makes a vow to the LORD or takes an oath to obligate himself by a pledge, he must not break his word but must do everything he said." Num 30:2 "If you make a vow to the LORD your God, do not be slow to pay it, for the LORD your God will certainly demand it of you and you will be guilty of sin." Deut 23:21


Sealed with a Guarantee

2Cor 1:21,22 Now it is God who makes both us and you stand firm in Christ. He anointed us, set his seal of ownership on us, and put his Spirit in our hearts as a deposit, guaranteeing what is to come.

Jesus said, "All men will hate you because of me, but he who stands firm to the end will be saved." Mt 10:22 But in fact those who are in Christ will stand firm to the end due to the nature of the regeneration, as John wrote, "No one who is born of God will continue to sin, because Godís seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been born of God." 1John 3:9 Thus he could say of those who leave the faith, "They went out from us, but they did not really belong to us. For if they had belonged to us, they would have remained with us; but their going showed that none of them belonged to us." 1John 2:19 For no one born of God leaves the faith.

Yet standing firm also involves exercising faith. "Because it is by faith you stand firm." 2Cor 1:24b Those who are of the faith will in fact exercise their faith and characteristically follow Jesus, "My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me." John 10:27 And by doing so show themselves among the elect.

The Holy Spirit is a seal in two senses. One is that he is a sign of ownership. For "if anyone does not have the Spirit of Christ, he does not belong to Christ." Rom 8:9 "And you also were included in Christ when you heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation. Having believed, you were marked in him with a seal, the promised Holy Spirit, who is a deposit guaranteeing our inheritance until the redemption of those who are Godís possession" Eph 1:13,14 Those who are in Christ are eternally secure.


Avoid Micromanaging the Mature

2Cor 1:23,24 I call God as my witness that it was in order to spare you that I did not return to Corinth. Not that we lord it over your faith, but we work with you for your joy, because it is by faith you stand firm.

Christian leadership are to lead by example, not lording it over the flock. Peter writes to the elders, "Be shepherds of Godís flock that is under your care, serving as overseersó not because you must, but because you are willing, as God wants you to be; not greedy for money, but eager to serve; not lording it over those entrusted to you, but being examples to the flock." 1Peter 5:2,3 If Christian followed your example what do you suppose the Christian community would look like today?

Likewise Jesus said to his disciples, "You know that the rulers of the Gentiles lord it over them, and their high officials exercise authority over them. Not so with you. Instead, whoever wants to become great among you must be your servant, and whoever wants to be first must be your slaveó just as the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many." Mt 20:25-28

Interesting to note Paul's application here. Sometimes the best thing is to leave people alone to apply themselves, rather than micromanaging. One is reminded of the over-protective mother who never lets her kids grow up. Christian leadership needs to allow for Christians to take initiative and apply themselves, not being micromanaged. Too much emphasize on institutional programs, and too few opportunities to minister as a mature Christian with freedom from unnecessary oversight will make the church into a bunch of babies who never grow up.



The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Feb 03,2017