翻譯: English 中文 GB

哥林多後書 第十二章

肯定和謙卑

被他關于天上的異像所肯定

12:1 我自夸固然無益,但我是不得已的。
   如今我要說到主的顯現和啟示。

12:2 我認得一個在基督堛漱H,他前十四年被提到第三層天上去。
   或在身內,我不知道﹔
   或在身外,我也不知道,只有神知道。

12:3 我認得這人,或在身內,或在身外,我都不知道,只有神知道。
12:4 他被提到樂園堙A
   聽見隱秘的言語,是人不可說的。

12:5 為這人,我要夸口﹔
   但是為我自己,除了我的軟弱以外,我并不夸口。

12:6 我就是愿意夸口,也不算狂,因為我必說實話。
   只是我禁止不說,恐怕有人把我看高了,
   過于他在我身上所看見、所聽見的。

12:7 又恐怕我因所得的啟示甚大,就過于自高,
   所以有一根刺加在我肉體上,
   就是撒但的差役要攻擊我,免得我過于自高。

12:8 為這事,我三次求過主,叫這刺離開我。
12:9 他對我說:
   “我的恩典夠你用的,因為我的能力是在人的軟弱上顯得完全。
   所以,我更喜歡夸自己的軟弱,好叫基督的能力覆庇我。

12:10 我為基督的緣故,就以軟弱、凌辱、急難、逼迫、困苦為可喜樂的。
   因我什麼時候軟弱,什麼時候就剛強了。

12:11 我成了愚妄人,是被你們強逼的。
   我本該被你們稱許才是,我雖算不了什麼,
   卻沒有一件事在那些最大的使徒以下。

12:12 我在你們中間,用百般的忍耐,
   借著神蹟、奇事、異能,顯出使徒的憑據來。

避免在經濟上累著別人

12:13 除了我不累著你們這一件事,
   你們還有什麼事不及別的教會呢?
   這不公之處,求你們饒恕我吧!

12:14 如今我打算第三次到你們那堨h,也必不累著你們,
   因我所求的是你們,不是你們的財物。
   兒女不該為父母積財,父母該為兒女積財。

12:15 我也甘心樂意為你們的靈魂費財費力。
   難道我越發愛你們,就越發少得你們的愛嗎?

12:16 罷了,我自己并沒有累著你們,
   你們卻有人說我是詭詐,用心計牢籠你們。

12:17 我所差到你們那堨h的人,
   我借著他們一個人占過你們的便宜嗎?

12:18 我勸了提多到你們那堨h,又差那位兄弟與他同去。
   提多占過你們的便宜嗎?
   我們行事,不同是一個心靈嗎?
   不同是一個腳蹤嗎(“心靈”或作“聖靈”)?

激起悔改

12:19 你們到如今,還想我們是向你們分訴。
   我們本是在基督媟禫垠惚e說話。
   親愛的弟兄啊,一切的事都是為造就你們。

12:20 我怕我再來的時候,見你們不合我所想望的,
   你們見我也不合你們所想望的﹔
   又怕有分爭、嫉妒、惱怒、結黨、毀謗、讒言、狂傲、混亂的事﹔

12:21 且怕我來的時候,我的神叫我在你們面前慚愧﹔
   又因許多人從前犯罪,行污穢、奸淫、邪蕩的事,不肯悔改,
   我就憂愁。


問題討論

第1節 即然自夸無益,他為什麼還要接著自夸呢?
第7,8節 神是如何幫助保羅維持適當程度的謙卑的?
神是如何幫助你維持適當程度的謙卑的?
羞辱的源泉有哪些例子?
第9節 聖經埵陪些選擇軟弱而不是強壯的例子?
第12節 使徒有哪些憑據?這與普通基督徒的標志有什麼不同?
第14節 聖經媄鬗_父母與兒女間在經濟上依賴關系的原則是什麼?
保羅在他與哥林多的聖徒的關系中是如何實踐這個原則的?
第21節 為什麼如果保羅發現哥林多的基督徒的行為不合宜,他會感到慚愧?

注釋

樂園的異像

哥林多後書 12:1-4 我自夸固然無益,但我是不得已的。如今我要說到主的顯現和啟示。我認得一個在基督堛漱H,他前十四年被提到第三層天上去。或在身內,我不知道﹔或在身外,我也不知道,只有神知道。我認得這人,或在身內,或在身外,我都不知道,只有神知道。他被提到樂園堙A聽見隱秘的言語,是人不可說的。

為了與假教師竟爭,保羅在這埵j他的憑據。然而他說他是不得已。他嘲諷了哥林多聖徒因為假教師虛無的憑據,無端的夸口而效忠于這些假教師。在前兩章堳O羅說到他更可靠的憑據,雖然他那樣做是不情愿的。

這些假教師也許曾為從神來的異像夸口。保羅給歌羅西的聖徒寫到:“不可讓人因著故意謙虛和敬拜天使,就奪去你們的獎賞。這等人拘泥在所見過的(有古卷作“這等人窺察所沒有見過的”),隨著自己的欲心,無故地自高自大,”【歌羅西書 2:18】在這堙A保羅說他也看到異像,但他在這樣說的時候充滿了謙卑,有意不說得很具體。這種異像有使人驕傲的危險,保羅將在接下來的幾節說到,因此他在這堳雂p心地壓抑任何驕傲的意思,甚至在說他自己時使用第三人稱。而且很注意承認他所不知道的。

在說到神對你的默示的時候要當心說話的方式。因為人驕傲的罪性會想方設法地表達自己。

在這堥蒛擐a有這些:

前十四年
有意思的是在加拉太書堙A他在說過他的轉變之後說:過了十四年,我同巴拿巴又上耶路撒冷去,并帶著提多同去。”【加拉太書 2:1】在那堨L與墨守割禮的異端交鋒。假如他在耶路撒冷的交鋒和他給哥林多聖徒寫信發生在同一年的話,那麼這個異像就是在他信主不久的時候看到的。

第三層天
指的是通常所說的“天堂”,也就是天父所在的地方,比如說:“我們在天上的父”。那麼第二層天指的就是星體所在的空間,第一層天指的則是大氣層。

樂園
在此作一點猜測。主對那個與耶穌同釘十字架,死在他身旁的人說:“今日你要同我在樂園堣F。”【路加福音23:43b】可是耶穌那天在哪堜O?他不在天堂。因為他是在復活四十天之後升天到他父那堨h的。在使徒行傳第二章堙A彼得說到耶穌在墳墓堮伒﹛G“他的靈魂不撇在陰間,他的肉身也不見朽壞。”【使徒行傳 2:31b】之後他說到基督的復活。但在耶穌在復活之前是在陰間。耶穌在路加福音第十六章婸○捷′O死人所在的地方,那堻Q不可逾越的深淵分為兩邊。一邊是快樂的(我們稱之為“樂園”),另一邊是我們通常所說的“地獄”。當耶穌從死奡_活時,他有可能把樂園的門打開了,因為他已經為罪付出了贖價,所以基本上就把樂園搬到了天堂。因此今天我們在說到基督徒死時就進了“天堂”,而在基督復活之前他們說人死了以後就去“陰間”。


限制你的夸口

哥林多後書 12:5-6 為這人,我要夸口﹔但是為我自己,除了我的軟弱以外,我并不夸口。我就是愿意夸口,也不算狂,因為我必說實話。只是我禁止不說,恐怕有人把我看高了,過于他在我身上所看見、所聽見的。

指著自己夸口的人的特點就是把多于他們所應得的功勞歸到他們自己身上,因此撒謊,夸口通常是人的驕傲本性的表露。因此保羅很當心不過多地夸口。“我們不愿意分外夸口,只要照神所量給我們的界限夠到你們那堙C”【哥林多後書 10:13】謙卑和講真話是手牽手的。還記得在使徒行傳第五章堥拿尼亞和撒非喇夸口他們獻給主的多于他們真正所給的嗎?神因他們撒謊把他們兩個人都殺了。我們基督徒只要不在乎別人怎麼看我們,就可在這方面避免很多的罪。

讓我們不要把別人的功勞歸到自己身上。有些人在傳福音時這樣做。耶穌說:“我差你們去收你們所沒有勞苦的。別人勞苦,你們享受他們所勞苦的。’【約翰福音 4:38】要記住把神的功勞歸到他身上,因為我們所有的勞苦都有神在堶情C比如:“嗐,你們有話說:‘今天、明天我們要往某城堨h,在那埵矰@年,作買賣得利。’其實明天如何,你們還不知道。你們的生命是什麼呢?你們原來是一片云霧,出現少時就不見了。你們只當說:‘主若愿意,我們就可以活著,也可以做這事,或做那事。’現今你們竟以張狂夸口,凡這樣夸口都是惡的。”【雅各書 4:13-16】


加在肉體上的一根刺

哥林多後書 12:7-10 又恐怕我因所得的啟示甚大,就過于自高,所以有一根刺加在我肉體上,就是撒但的差役要攻擊我,免得我過于自高。為這事,我三次求過主,叫這刺離開我。他對我說:“我的恩典夠你用的,因為我的能力是在人的軟弱上顯得完全。”所以,我更喜歡夸自己的軟弱,好叫基督的能力覆庇我。我為基督的緣故,就以軟弱、凌辱、急難、逼迫、困苦為可喜樂的。因我什麼時候軟弱,什麼時候就剛強了。

雖然撒但是敵人,其實他有助于管教基督徒,就像以前神用巴比倫人和其它國家的人來管教以色列一樣。保羅自己也曾用撒但來管教基督徒。“要把這樣的人交給撒但,敗壞他的肉體,使他的靈魂在主耶穌的日子可以得救。”【哥林多前書 3:5】但要知道管教不總是懲罰性的。有時也可以是預防性的,就像在這堳O羅的情形這樣。注意他說:“免得我過于自高。”但正像這種攻擊可以幫助基督徒保持適當程度的謙卑一樣,富有和舒適可以使人驕傲。我們的罪性會對我們的遭遇做出反應。因此要當心不要太舒適了。

注意到在這堹姘屪咩i的回答,雖然這個回答也許是“不”。盡管如此,恆切地禱告往往使我們有更深的理解,如我們在這堿搢鴘滯w─這個理解在十四年之後被應用到生活中。因此不要以為你的禱告是白費的,盡管神的回答也許是“不”。

我們往往為不要經歷苦難而禱告,或只為在苦難來臨時把我們從中解脫出來禱告,但在我們逐漸成熟時,我們開始認識到經歷苦難的益處。保羅甚至為這樣的事而喜樂。“你們所忍受的是神管教你們,待你們如同待兒子。焉有兒子不被父親管教的呢?”【希伯來書 12:7】還有,“你要和我同受苦難,好像基督耶穌的精兵。”【提摩太後書 2:3】


因行神蹟而顯出使徒的憑據

哥林多後書 12:11-12 我成了愚妄人,是被你們強逼的。我本該被你們稱許才是,我雖算不了什麼,卻沒有一件事在那些最大的使徒以下。我在你們中間,用百般的忍耐,借著神蹟、奇事、異能,顯出使徒的憑據來。

在此,他再一次像他在【哥林多後書 11:5】堥獐侅ㄗ魽妊怳j的使徒”。這并不是說這些人帶著牌子到出游行。他暗指的是哥林多的基督徒對名人的熱衷──這種狂熱後來發展成天主教和東正教媢儭t徒的偶像崇拜。保羅在這“我雖算不了什麼”的說法與他們的這種做法格格不入。

但雖然保羅就名人的地位來說把自己說成是算不了什麼,但他用他所做的工來証明他的確是一位使徒。就像彼得說耶穌的那樣:“神借著拿撒勒人耶穌,在你們中間施行異能、奇事、神蹟,將他証明出來,這是你們自己知道的。”【使徒行傳 2:22b】保羅也是這樣。神蹟是耶穌和他的使徒的憑據。為什麼信耶穌呢?為什麼信他的使徒呢?因為他們所行的神蹟。這些神蹟提供了可以用在法庭上的証據,証明了他們的見証。“神借保羅的手,行了些非常的奇事。甚至有人從保羅身上拿手巾,或圍裙,放在病人身上,病就退了,惡鬼也出去了。”【使徒行傳 19:11-12】

因為如此,這樣的神蹟今天在基督徒中很罕見就不足為奇了,否則若這樣的神蹟在今天很常見的話,使徒的憑據就被衝淡了。


避免成為經濟負擔

哥林多後書 12:13-15 除了我不累著你們這一件事,你們還有什麼事不及別的教會呢?這不公之處,求你們饒恕我吧!如今我打算第三次到你們那堨h,也必不累著你們,因我所求的是你們,不是你們的財物。兒女不該為父母積財,父母該為兒女積財。我也甘心樂意為你們的靈魂費財費力。難道我越發愛你們,就越發少得你們的愛嗎?

他在此又是帶著諷刺意味說話。但他重復了這個實際的論點──他的真誠的一個証據就是他有意識地不因他的事奉而收取報酬。因為如果別人為你的事奉給你付報酬的話,你就像雇工一樣,而不像羊群的牧人。這堳O羅使用了一個家庭的比喻。“兒女不該為父母積財,父母該為兒女積財。”但事實上很多父母有意不愿達到這個標准。因為有些人養孩子就是為了在他們年老的時候有人照顧他們。雖然,“若寡婦有兒女,或有孫子、孫女,便叫他們先在自己家中學著行孝,報答親恩﹔因為這在神面前是可悅納的。”【提摩太前書 5:4】但父母通常認識到他們養育子女的責任,恩慈地為他們積財。這也應該是事奉的人的觀點。作父親的在經濟上依靠他的子女是不是丟人呢?是的,有時不得已只有這樣,但不應該把這當作正常的模式。在機構化的基督教堙A這似乎成了不容置疑的。

保羅在經濟上不但不累著哥林多的聖徒,他還在這方面幫補他們。再重復一下他對以弗所教會的長老說的話:“我這兩只手,常供給我和同人的需用,這是你們自己知道的。我凡事給你們作榜樣,叫你們知道,應當這樣勞苦,扶助軟弱的人,又當記念主耶穌的話,說:‘施比受更為有福。’”【使徒行傳 20:34-35】


不要占別人的便宜

哥林多後書 12:16-19 罷了,我自己并沒有累著你們,你們卻有人說我是詭詐,用心計牢籠你們。我所差到你們那堨h的人,我借著他們一個人占過你們的便宜嗎?我勸了提多到你們那堨h,又差那位兄弟與他同去。提多占過你們的便宜嗎?我們行事,不同是一個心靈嗎?不同是一個腳蹤嗎(“心靈”或作“聖靈”)?你們到如今,還想我們是向你們分訴。我們本是在基督媟禫垠惚e說話。親愛的弟兄啊,一切的事都是為造就你們。

雖然他有憑據,雖然他在他們當中行了神蹟,為他們做出了犧牲,但他卻不得不為自己辯護,保羅為這個事實而傷心。因此他使用了這種帶著諷刺意味的說法。在這堨L嘲諷他的敵人的詭詐,這些人很有可能因他們的事奉而要求收取報酬。他以嘲諷他們的詭詐來說明他的真誠,因為他與他們正好相反。他給帖撒羅尼迦的聖徒寫信說:“因為我們從來沒有用過諂媚的話,這是你們知道的﹔也沒有藏著貪心,這是神可以作見証的。我們作基督的使徒,雖然可以叫人尊重,卻沒有向你們或向別人求榮耀,只在你們中間存心溫柔,如同母親乳養自己的孩子。”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 2:5-7】同樣,提多學習了這個榜樣。事奉的人若犧牲了個人的權利和所當得的就能贏的信譽。

正像父母應該想方設法造就他們的兒女,即使這樣做要求他們做出犧牲一樣,兒女也應該認識到,并且感激別人為他們做出的這種犧牲。


不完美的基督徒

哥林多後書 12:20-21 我怕我再來的時候,見你們不合我所想望的,你們見我也不合你們所想望的﹔又怕有分爭、嫉妒、惱怒、結黨、毀謗、讒言、狂傲、混亂的事﹔且怕我來的時候,我的神叫我在你們面前慚愧﹔又因許多人從前犯罪,行污穢、奸淫、邪蕩的事,不肯悔改,我就憂愁。

他在哥林多前書堣]提到這些特征。“弟兄們,我從前對你們說話,不能把你們當作屬靈的,只得把你們當作屬肉體,在基督堿偯托蘆滿C我是用奶喂你們,沒有用飯喂你們。那時你們不能吃,就是如今還是不能。你們仍是屬肉體的,因為在你們中間有嫉妒、分爭,這豈不是屬乎肉體、照著世人的樣子行嗎?”【哥林多前書 3:1-3】然而注意到他在這些節堥S有明確地說到他們的得救狀態,盡管他在【哥林多後書 13:5】媢鵀僑ㄔX疑問。但我們可以看到,不成熟的行為不一定說明這樣的基督徒沒有得救。一個人不需要是完美無罪才被看作是得救的。雖然這是很明顯的,但我提到這一點是因為我遇到有些人,他們認為完美無罪是得救的一個條件。

我遇到的另一件事就是有些基督徒為他們不去教會找借口說教會埵酗尷均B嫉妒、惱怒,以及諸如此類的事。然而保羅并沒有與這樣的教會斷絕關系。需要看醫生的是有病的人,而不是健康的人。需要上油的是吱嘎作聲的輪子。如果那埵陸暋D,就設法解決問題。然而很多基督徒用嬰兒的口氣,找借口為自己找一個可以“吃奶”的地方。你是不是應該從帶尿布的階段走出來,開始喂別人了呢?“又要彼此相顧,激發愛心,勉勵行善。你們不可停止聚會,好像那些停止慣了的人,倒要彼此勸勉。既知道(原文作“看見”)那日子臨近,就更當如此。”【希伯來書 10:24-25】


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

2Corinthians 12 (web)

Affirmation and Humilation

Affirmed by His Heavenly Vision

12:1 It is doubtless not profitable for me to boast.
For I will come to visions and revelations of the Lord.
12:2 I know a man in Christ, fourteen years ago
(whether in the body, I don't know, or whether out of the body, I don't know; God knows),
such a one caught up into the third heaven.
12:3 I know such a man
(whether in the body, or outside of the body, I don't know; God knows),
12:4 how he was caught up into Paradise, and heard unspeakable words,
which it is not lawful for a man to utter.
12:5 On behalf of such a one I will boast,
but on my own behalf I will not boast, except in my weaknesses.
12:6 For if I would desire to boast, I will not be foolish; for I will speak the truth.
But I forbear, so that no man may account of me above that which he sees in me, or hears from me.
12:7 By reason of the exceeding greatness of the revelations,
that I should not be exalted excessively, there was given to me a thorn in the flesh,
a messenger of Satan to buffet me, that I should not be exalted excessively.
12:8 Concerning this thing, I begged the Lord three times that it might depart from me.
12:9 He has said to me,
"My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness."
Most gladly therefore I will rather glory in my weaknesses,
that the power of Christ may rest on me.
12:10 Therefore I take pleasure in weaknesses, in injuries, in necessities,
in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ's sake. For when I am weak, then am I strong.
12:11 I have become foolish in boasting.
You compelled me, for I ought to have been commended by you,
for in nothing was I inferior to the very best apostles, though I am nothing.
12:12 Truly the signs of an apostle were worked among you
in all patience, in signs and wonders and mighty works.

Avoiding Financial Support

12:13 For what is there in which you were made inferior to the rest of the assemblies,
unless it is that I myself was not a burden to you? Forgive me this wrong.
12:14 Behold, this is the third time I am ready to come to you,
and I will not be a burden to you; for I seek not your possessions, but you.
For the children ought not to save up for the parents, but the parents for the children.
12:15 I will most gladly spend and be spent for your souls.
If I love you more abundantly, am I loved the less?
12:16 But be it so, I did not myself burden you.
But, being crafty, I caught you with deception.
12:17 Did I take advantage of you by anyone of them whom I have sent to you?
12:18 I exhorted Titus, and I sent the brother with him.
Did Titus take any advantage of you?
Didn't we walk in the same spirit?
Didn't we walk in the same steps?

Provoking Repentance

12:19 Again, do you think that we are excusing ourselves to you?
In the sight of God we speak in Christ. But all things, beloved, are for your edifying.
12:20 For I am afraid that by any means, when I come,
I might find you not the way I want to, and that I might be found by you as you don't desire;
that by any means there would be strife, jealousy,
outbursts of anger, factions, slander, whisperings, proud thoughts, riots;
12:21 that again when I come my God would humble me before you,
and I would mourn for many of those who have sinned before now,
and not repented of the uncleanness and sexual immorality and lustfulness which they committed.


Discussion Questions

vs 1 If there is nothing to be gained by his continued boasting, they why does he continue to boast?
vs 7,8 How did God help Paul to maintain an appropriate level of humility?
How has God helped you to maintain an appropriate level of humility?
What are examples of sources of humiliation?
vs 9 What are examples in the Bible of choosing the weak over the strong?
vs 12 What kinds of evidence identify one as an apostle and how do these differ from the identifying marks of ordinary Christians?
vs 14 What is the Biblical principle concerning financial dependency between parents and children?
And how did Paul practice this in his relationship with the Corinthians?
vs 21 Why would Paul be humbled if he found inappropriate behavior among the Christians in Corinth when he returns?

Comments

A Vision of Paradise

2Cor 12:1-4  I must go on boasting. Although there is nothing to be gained, I will go on to visions and revelations from the Lord. I know a man in Christ who fourteen years ago was caught up to the third heaven. Whether it was in the body or out of the body I do not know— God knows. And I know that this man— whether in the body or apart from the body I do not know, but God knows— was caught up to paradise. He heard inexpressible things, things that man is not permitted to tell.

In competing against false teachers, Paul has been boasting of his credentials. Though he says he shouldn't have to. He has been deriding the Corinthians for their allegiance to false teachers on the basis of such teachers vain credentials, mere idle boasts. While through these last couple of chapters Paul has spoken of his superior credentials, though reluctantly.

It may be the case that such false teachers had boasted of visions from God. Paul writes to the Colossians, "Do not let anyone who delights in false humility and the worship of angels disqualify you for the prize. Such a person goes into great detail about what he has seen, and his unspiritual mind puffs him up with idle notions." Col 2:18 Here Paul says he also experienced visions, but speaks with much more humility and purposely does not go into details. Such visions would tend to invoke pride, of which Paul will speak of in the next few verses, and as such he is being careful here to suppress any sense of pride, even speaking in the third person of himself. And he is careful to admit what he doesn't know.

Beware of the kind of rhetoric you use when you speak of having a revelation from God. For sinful human pride characteristically finds a way to express itself.

But as for the particulars here:

Fourteen years ago
It is interesting that in Galatians 2:1 he had just spoken of his conversion and then said, "Fourteen years later I went up again to Jerusalem, this time with Barnabas." And there to confront the cult of the circumcision. Could be that his confrontation in Jerusalem and this letter to the Corinthians occurred the same year, in which case the vision occurred early on in his conversion.

The Third Heaven
This simply refers to what we normall call "heaven" as where the Father resides as is used in such expressions as "Our Father in heaven". The second heaven then is the abode of the stars, and the first the atmosphere.

Paradise
A bit of speculation here. To the man on the cross who died next to Jesus, the Lord said, "Today you will be with me in paradise." Luke 23:43 Yet where was Jesus that day? He was not in heaven. For he would not ascend to his Father in heaven until 40 days after his resurrection. In Acts chapter two Peter speaks of Jesus being in the grave saying, "His soul was not left in Hades, nor did His flesh see corruption." Then he spoke of Christ's resurrection. But prior to his resurrection Jesus was in Hades. Jesus described Hades in Luke 16 as a place of the dead divided into two parts separated by an impassable rift. One side was pleasant (we shall call "paradise"), and the other when we typically think of as "hell". Now what may have happened is when Jesus rose from the dead he open the gates of paradise, having atoned for sin, and essentially relocated paradise to heaven. Thus today we speak of Christians dying and going to "heaven", whereas prior to Christ's resurrection they spoke of people dying and going to "hades", also called "sheol".


Limit Your Boasting

2Cor 12:5,6 I will boast about a man like that, but I will not boast about myself, except about my weaknesses. Even if I should choose to boast, I would not be a fool, because I would be speaking the truth. But I refrain, so no one will think more of me than is warranted by what I do or say.

People who boast about themselves characteristically lie in that they credit themselves more than they deserve, seeing as boasting is generally an expressing of the prideful human nature. Thus Paul is careful not to make too much of himself. "We, however, will not boast beyond proper limits, but will confine our boasting to the field God has assigned to us, a field that reaches even to you." 2Cor 10:13 Humility and speaking the truth go hand in hand. Remember Ananias and Sapphira in Acts 5 who boasted of giving more to the Lord than they gave? God killed both of them for lying. We Christians could avoid alot of sin along these lines if we simply didn't care what others thought of us.

And let us not take credit for other people's work. Some do this in evangelism. Jesus said, "I sent you to reap what you have not worked for. Others have done the hard work, and you have reaped the benefits of their labor." John 4:38 And remember to give God credit for his part in all our labors.

A Thorn in the Flesh

2Cor 12:7-10 To keep me from becoming conceited because of these surpassingly great revelations, there was given me a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. But he said to me, "My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness." Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

Much as Satan is view as an enemy, he is useful in discipling Christians, much like God had previously used the Babylonians and other nations to discipline Israel. Paul himself used Satan to discipline fellow Christians. "hand this man over to Satan, so that the sinful nature may be destroyed and his spirit saved on the day of the Lord." 1Cor 5:5 But realize that discipline is not always punitive. It also can be preventative, as it was here in Paul's case. For note he says, "To keep me from becoming conceited" But as torment can help the Christian maintain a proper level of humility, so affluence and comfort can invoke pride. Our sinful nature responds to circumstances. So beware of getting too comfortable.

Note here also that God answers prayer, though the answer may be "no'. But even so, persistent prayer often results in understanding as we see here - an understanding which results in life applications 14 years later. So don't consider prayer in vain, though the answer may be "no".

Often we pray not to experience hardship, or only pray when hardship comes so that we may be delivered from it, but as we mature we learn to appreciate the benefit of hardship. Paul speaks of even delighting in such things. So "Endure hardship as discipline; God is treating you as sons. For what son is not disciplined by his father?" Heb 12:7 and "Endure hardship with us like a good soldier of Christ Jesus." 2Tim 2:3


The Apostolic Credentials of Miracles

2Cor 12:11,12  I have made a fool of myself, but you drove me to it. I ought to have been commended by you, for I am not in the least inferior to the "super-apostles," even though I am nothing. The things that mark an apostle— signs, wonders and miracles— were done among you with great perseverance.

Again he makes reference to "super-apostles" as he did in 2Cor 11:5 No these are not men who fly around in capes with a big "S" in their chest. He's alluding to the Corinthian's obsession with celebrites - an obsession which later grew into the kind of idolatrous worship of the saints characteristic of the Catholic and Orthodox churches. Paul's rhetoric here "even though I am nothing" simply doesn't fit into such dogma.

But while Paul made nothing of himself with regards to a celebrity status, he proved by this works that he was an apostle. For much as Peter could say of Jesus, "Jesus of Nazareth was a man accredited by God to you by miracles, wonders and signs, which God did among you through him, as you yourselves know." Acts 2:22, so could Paul. Miracles were the credentials of Jesus and his apostles. Why believe in Jesus? Why believe his apostles? Because of the miracles they did. The miracles provide forensic evidence validating their testimony. "God did extraordinary miracles through Paul, so that even handkerchiefs and aprons that had touched him were taken to the sick, and their illnesses were cured and the evil spirits left them." Acts 19:11,12

Now this being the case it should comes as no surprise that such authentic miracles are not as common today among the Christian community, else they water down the credentials of apostleship were they common today.

Avoid Being a Financial Burden

2Cor 12:13-15 How were you inferior to the other churches, except that I was never a burden to you? Forgive me this wrong! Now I am ready to visit you for the third time, and I will not be a burden to you, because what I want is not your possessions but you. After all, children should not have to save up for their parents, but parents for their children. So I will very gladly spend for you everything I have and expend myself as well. If I love you more, will you love me less?

Again he's speaking facetiously. But he reiterates this practical point - that one evidence of his sincerity is that he intentionally doesn't get paid for ministy. For people paying you for ministry is liken to the hired man and not the shepherd of the sheep. Here Paul uses the analogy of the family. "Children should not have to save up for their parents, but parents for their children." but  in fact many parents intentionally haven't even met this standard. For some have children just  so they may have someone to take care of them in old age. Though "if a widow has children or grandchildren, these should learn first of all to put their religion into practice by caring for their own family and so repaying their parents and grandparents, for this is pleasing to God." 1Tim 5:4 But generally parents recognize their responsiblity in raising children, graciously saving up for them. This also should be the view of the minister. Isn't it shameful for a father to be financially dependent upon his children? Yes, it may be necessary at times, but it shouldn't be the norm as has become the case in institutional Christianity where it goes on unquestioned.

Not only was Paul not financially dependent upon the Corinthians, he was one who spent himself on them. And, just to reiterate, he said to the Ephesian elders, "You yourselves know that these hands of mine have supplied my own needs and the needs of my companions. In everything I did, I showed you that by this kind of hard work we must help the weak, remembering the words the Lord Jesus himself said: ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’" Acts 20:34,35


Don't Exploit Others

2Cor 12:16-19 Be that as it may, I have not been a burden to you. Yet, crafty fellow that I am, I caught you by trickery! Did I exploit you through any of the men I sent you? I urged Titus to go to you and I sent our brother with him. Titus did not exploit you, did he? Did we not act in the same spirit and follow the same course? Have you been thinking all along that we have been defending ourselves to you? We have been speaking in the sight of God as those in Christ; and everything we do, dear friends, is for your strengthening.

Paul was rather annoyed at the fact that he had to defend himself, given his credentials, the miracles he had performed in their presence and the sacrifices he made on their behalf. And thus the facitious rhetoric he's been using. Here he's making fun of the fact that his enemies are being crafty, while here he speaks facitiously of being crafty in that he proved his sincerity in just the opposite way of his enemies, who likely demanded pay for their ministry. To the Thessalonians he wrote, "You know we never used flattery, nor did we put on a mask to cover up greed— God is our witness. We were not looking for praise from men, not from you or anyone else. As apostles of Christ we could have been a burden to you, but we were gentle among you, like a mother caring for her little children." 1Thess 2:5-7 Likewise Titus followed the same example. Ministers who sacrifice personal rights and entitlements gain credibility.

Just as parents should look to the edification of their children, despite the personal sacrifice it may require of themselves, so also children should recognize and appreciate such sacrifices that were made on their behalf.


Imperfect Christians

2Cor 12:20,21 For I am afraid that when I come I may not find you as I want you to be, and you may not find me as you want me to be. I fear that there may be quarreling, jealousy, outbursts of anger, factions, slander, gossip, arrogance and disorder. I am afraid that when I come again my God will humble me before you, and I will be grieved over many who have sinned earlier and have not repented of the impurity, sexual sin and debauchery in which they have indulged.

He noted such characteristics in 1Cor.  "Brothers, I could not address you as spiritual but as worldly— mere infants in Christ. I gave you milk, not solid food, for you were not yet ready for it. Indeed, you are still not ready. You are still worldly. For since there is jealousy and quarreling among you, are you not worldly? Are you not acting like mere men?" 1Cor 3:1-3 Yet also to note that he made no allusions in these passages explicitly to their salvation status, though he calls it into question in 2Cor 13:5. But we can see that immature behavior does not necessarily mean such Christians are unsaved. One does not have to be perfectly sinless to be reckoned saved. And much as this should be obvious, I mention it because I have run across those who reckon sinless perfect a condition of salvation.

Another thing I have also run across are Christians who excuse themselves from attending church because there is quarreling, jealousy, outbursts of anger and the like. Yet Paul did not disfellowship himself from such churches. It is not the healthy who need a physician but the sick. It should be that the squeaky wheel gets oiled. If there's a problem, fix it. Yet many Christian use the rhetoric of babies, excusing themselves for a place where they can get "fed". Might it not be time for you to get out of your diapers and start feeding others? "Let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds. Let us not give up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but let us encourage one another" Heb 10:24,25




The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015