翻譯: English 中文 GB

哥林多後書 第十三章

總要自己省察

對待犯了罪的基督徒

13:1 這是我第三次要到你們那堨h。
   憑兩三個人的口作見証,句句都要定准。

13:2 我從前說過,如今不在你們那堣S說,
   正如我第二次見你們的時候所說的一樣,
   就是對那犯了罪的和其餘的人說:
   “我若再來必不寬容。”

13:3 你們既然尋求基督在我堶掩☆靰瑣抩琚A我必不寬容。
   因為基督在你們身上不是軟弱的,在你們堶惇O有大能的。

13:4 他因軟弱被釘在十字架上,
   卻因神的大能仍然活著。
   我們也是這樣同他軟弱,
   但因神向你們所顯的大能,
   也必與他同活。

13:5 你們總要自己省察有信心沒有,也要自己試驗。
   豈不知你們若不是可棄絕的,
   就有耶穌基督在你們心媔隉H

13:6 我卻盼望你們曉得,我們不是可棄絕的人。
13:7 我們求神叫你們一件惡事都不做。
   這不是要顯明我們是蒙悅納的,
   是要你們行事端正,任憑人看我們是被棄絕的吧。

13:8 我們凡事不能敵擋真理,只能扶助真理。
13:9 即使我們軟弱,你們剛強,我們也歡喜﹔
   并且我們所求的,就是你們作完全人。

造就人的權柄

13:10 所以我不在你們那堛漁伬唌A把這話寫給你們,
   好叫我見你們的時候,不用照主所給我的權柄嚴厲地待你們。
   這權柄原是為造就人,并不是為敗壞人。


13:11 還有末了的話,愿弟兄們都喜樂,
   要作完全人,要受安慰,要同心合意,要彼此和睦。
   如此,仁愛和平的神必常與你們同在。

13:12 你們親嘴問安,彼此務要聖潔。
13:13 眾聖徒都問你們安。
13:14 愿主耶穌基督的恩惠、神的慈愛、聖靈的感動,
   常與你們眾人同在。


問題討論

你認為保羅為什麼又要計劃到他們那堨h?
你認為保羅在第5節婸〞漪O哪種實驗?
你怎麼才能知道你有信心沒有?
有沒有可能看出別人有沒有信心?
如果別人錯誤地判斷了保羅,你認為他會有什麼樣的態度?
我們生活中的權威會如何有助于我們的造就?
我們如何才能成為同心?
基督徒應該以什麼作為合一的基礎?
應該怎麼做?不應該怎麼做?

注釋

要求裁決的証據

哥林多後書 13:1 這是我第三次要到你們那堨h。憑兩三個人的口作見証,句句都要定准。【申命記 19:15b】

如果有流言飛語和爭吵,就會有沒有根據的指控。如果指控沒有足夠的見証,保羅就不愿聽這樣的指控。在這堙A他顯示了摩西律法的一個應用。雖然基督徒不在摩西律法的條例之下,但我們可以從律法學到其原則。耶穌自己也用到申命記堛熙o一節來描述審斷基督徒的程序。“倘若你的弟兄得罪你,你就去,趁著只有他和你在一處的時候,指出他的錯來。他若聽你,你便得了你的弟兄。他若不聽,你就另外帶一兩個人同去,要憑兩三個人的口作見証,句句都可定准。若是不聽他們,就告訴教會。若是不聽教會,就看他像外邦人和稅吏一樣。”【馬太福音 18:15-17】所以,比如,“控告長老的呈子,非有兩三個見証就不要收。”【提摩太前書 5:19】


總要自己省察

哥林多後書 13:2-6 我從前說過,如今不在你們那堣S說,正如我第二次見你們的時候所說的一樣,就是對那犯了罪的和其餘的人說:“我若再來必不寬容。”你們既然尋求基督在我堶掩☆靰瑣抩琚A我必不寬容。因為基督在你們身上不是軟弱的,在你們堶惇O有大能的。他因軟弱被釘在十字架上,卻因神的大能仍然活著。我們也是這樣同他軟弱,但因神向你們所顯的大能,也必與他同活。

你們總要自己省察有信心沒有,也要自己試驗。豈不知你們若不是可棄絕的,就有耶穌基督在你們心媔隉H我卻盼望你們曉得,我們不是可棄絕的人。

保羅在這婸〞滿屁抩琚足O什麼呢?我的印像是使徒行傳第五章婸〞漕拿尼亞和撒非喇那樣的情形。保羅將到那堨h,人們就開始抬死人。事實上在哥林多前書第十一章堙A他說哥林多的聖徒在吃主的晚餐時藐視神,“因此,在你們中間有好些軟弱的與患病的,死的也不少(“死”原文作“睡”)。”【哥林多前書 11:30】

雖然完美無罪不是基督徒的一個衡量,但對由神生的人的期望是不選擇罪的生活方式,因此行為的確是一個人由神生的一個衡量。從生活方式的意義上講,約翰寫到:“凡從神生的就不犯罪,因神的道(原文作“種”)存在他心堙Q他也不能犯罪,因為他是由神生的。從此就顯出誰是神的兒女,誰是魔鬼的兒女:凡不行義的就不屬神,不愛弟兄的也是如此。”【約翰一書 3:9-10】而且耶穌說:“你們若有彼此相愛的心,眾人因此就認出你們是我的門徒了。”【約翰福音 13:35】保羅所指的正是這樣的試驗。你做得怎麼樣呢?


為真理而行

哥林多後書 13:7-10 我們求神叫你們一件惡事都不做。這不是要顯明我們是蒙悅納的,是要你們行事端正,任憑人看我們是被棄絕的吧。我們凡事不能敵擋真理,只能扶助真理。即使我們軟弱,你們剛強,我們也歡喜﹔并且我們所求的,就是你們作完全人。所以我不在你們那堛漁伬唌A把這話寫給你們,好叫我見你們的時候,不用照主所給我的權柄嚴厲地待你們。這權柄原是為造就人,并不是為敗壞人。

這不是說人是玩偶,但禱告的確會有影響,特別是在基督徒當中,由于我們重生的性質,我們愿意聽神的。“我的羊聽我的聲音﹔我也認識他們,他們也跟著我。”【約翰福音 10:27】但保羅并不是因為他們的順服會証明他的事奉而這樣說。因為他為了他們的好處,寧愿自己被看作是被棄絕的。同樣那些參與事奉的人需要檢驗自己的動機。考慮一下你參與事奉是不是為了自己──為你的自我服務。你是不是真正地關心那些你所事奉的人──即使以你自己被看作是被棄絕的為代價。看一看耶穌。他故意讓他自己受到羞辱,被看成是被棄絕的,以保証被揀選的人的得救。

至于保羅在這方面的決心,注意到他說他凡事“不能”敵擋真理。他說的不是“不會”。“不能”,譯自希臘文“δυναμαι”,英文的“dynamite”(硝酸甘油炸藥)就是從這個詞衍生來的,說的是遠強于取決于一個人的愿望的事。他要做正確的事的意愿是出于如此的深信,以至于其中不包括選擇在堶情C這其中沒有什麼選擇。我記得耶穌在約翰福音第六章堨恞衋揪滷訄V來考驗他的門徒,試驗他們信心的程度。經上記著說:“從此,他門徒中多有退去的,不再和他同行。”【約翰福音 6:66】接下來,“耶穌就對那十二個門徒說:‘你們也要去嗎?’西門彼得回答說:‘主啊,你有永生之道,我們還歸從誰呢?’”【約翰福音 6:67-68】

至于為他們“作完全人”禱告,這個詞還在經上別的地方以“挽回過來”(【加拉太書 6:1】)和“成全”(【希伯來書 13:21】)的形式出現。他不是在為他們的得救禱告,盡管他們尚不完美,而是在為他們的成熟──他們的潔淨禱告。


追求完美

哥林多後書 13:11-14 還有末了的話,愿弟兄們都喜樂,要作完全人,要受安慰,要同心合意,要彼此和睦。如此,仁愛和平的神必常與你們同在。你們親嘴問安,彼此務要聖潔。眾聖徒都問你們安。愿主耶穌基督的恩惠、神的慈愛、聖靈的感動,常與你們眾人同在。

基本上就是說:要彼此和睦相處。哥林多教會最大的問題不是教義,最大的問題是哥林多的聖徒不能彼此和睦相處。事實上今天有些聲稱“追求完美”的人拒絕與其它基督徒彼此和睦相處,認為他們不夠完美。他們停止聚會,好像那些停止慣了的人(【希伯來書 10:25】),因為其它基督徒對他們來說不夠好。與這種態度相反,保羅的態度是不要把任何人留在後面,無論他們是多麼的不完美。

在這塈馴人是裝備好了去有效地事奉。如果你不計劃去參與事奉,那麼你還在尿布堙A還遠不完美。


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

2Corinthians 13 (web)

EXAMINE YOURSELVES

Dealing with Sinful Christians

13:1 This is the third time I am coming to you.
"At the mouth of two or three witnesses shall every word established."
13:2 I have said beforehand, and I do say beforehand,
as when I was present the second time, so now, being absent,
I write to those who have sinned before now, and to all the rest,
that, if I come again, I will not spare;
13:3 seeing that you seek a proof of Christ who speaks in me;
who toward you is not weak, but is powerful in you.
13:4 For he was crucified through weakness,
yet he lives through the power of God.
For we also are weak in him,
but we will live with him through the power of God toward you.
13:5 Test your own selves, whether you are in the faith. Test your own selves.
Or don't you know as to your own selves, that Jesus Christ is in you?
--unless indeed you are disqualified.
13:6 But I hope that you will know that we aren't disqualified.
13:7 Now I pray to God that you do no evil; not that we may appear approved,
but that you may do that which is honorable, though we are as reprobate.
13:8 For we can do nothing against the truth, but for the truth.
13:9 For we rejoice when we are weak and you are strong.
And this we also pray for, even your perfecting.

Authority to Build Up

13:10 For this cause I write these things while absent, that I may not deal sharply when present,
according to the authority which the Lord gave me for building up, and not for tearing down.

13:11 Finally, brothers, rejoice.
Be perfected, be comforted, be of the same mind, live in peace,
and the God of love and peace will be with you.
13:12 Greet one another with a holy kiss.
13:13 All the saints greet you.
13:14 The grace of the Lord Jesus Christ, the love of God,
and the communion of the Holy Spirit, be with you all. Amen.


Discussion Questions

Why do you think Paul plans to visit them again?
What kind of test do you suppose Paul was referring to in verse 5?
How do you know whether you are in the faith?
Is it possible to identify whether others are in the faith or not in the faith?
What do you suppose Paul's attitude would be if people misjudged him?
How do authorities in our life help to build us up?
How can we go about becoming of one mind?
What should Christian unity be based around?
How should it be practiced and how should it not be practiced?


Comments


Evidence that Demands a Verdict

2Cor 13:1 This will be my third visit to you. "Every matter must be established by the testimony of two or three witnesses." (Deut 19:15b)

Where there is gossip and quarreling there are often baseless accusations. Paul doesn't want to hear it unless there are sufficient witnesses to back up an accusation. Here he shows an application of the Law of Moses. For while Christians are not under the regulations of the Law, we can learn from its principles. And Jesus himself used this verse in Deuteronomy to described the process of judging fellow Christians. "If your brother sins against you, go and show him his fault, just between the two of you. If he listens to you, you have won your brother over. But if he will not listen, take one or two others along, so that ‘every matter may be established by the testimony of two or three witnesses.’ If he refuses to listen to them, tell it to the church; and if he refuses to listen even to the church, treat him as you would a pagan or a tax collector." Mt 18:15-17 So, for example, "Do not entertain an accusation against an elder unless it is brought by two or three witnesses." 1Tim 5:19 


Examine Yourselves

2Cor 13:2-6 I already gave you a warning when I was with you the second time. I now repeat it while absent: On my return I will not spare those who sinned earlier or any of the others, since you are demanding proof that Christ is speaking through me. He is not weak in dealing with you, but is powerful among you. For to be sure, he was crucified in weakness, yet he lives by God’s power. Likewise, we are weak in him, yet by God’s power we will live with him to serve you.

Examine yourselves to see whether you are in the faith; test yourselves. Do you not realize that Christ Jesus is in you— unless, of course, you fail the test? And I trust that you will discover that we have not failed the test.

What "proof" was Paul speaking of here? I get the impression that he's speaking of a sort Ananias and Sapphira situation we read of in Acts 5. Paul's going to show up and people are going to start dropping dead. In fact in 1Corinthians 11 he spoke of the Corinthians abusing the communion service, "That is why many among you are weak and sick, and a number of you have fallen asleep." (That is, died) 1Cor 11:30

Though sinless perfection is not a measure of a Christian, there is an expectation that those born of God won't chose to live a lifestyle of sin, and thus behavior is a measure of whether one has been born of God. Speaking in a lifestyle sense, John writes, "No one who is born of God will continue to sin, because God’s seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been born of God. This is how we know who the children of God are and who the children of the devil are: Anyone who does not do what is right is not a child of God; nor is anyone who does not love his brother." 1John 3:9,10 and Jesus said, "By this all will know that you are My disciples, if you have love for one another." John 13:35 These are the kind of tests Paul was alluding to. How do you measure up?


Do it for the Truth

2Cor 13:7-10 Now we pray to God that you will not do anything wrong. Not that people will see that we have stood the test but that you will do what is right even though we may seem to have failed. For we cannot do anything against the truth, but only for the truth. We are glad whenever we are weak but you are strong; and our prayer is for your perfection. This is why I write these things when I am absent, that when I come I may not have to be harsh in my use of authority— the authority the Lord gave me for building you up, not for tearing you down.

It is not that people are puppets, but prayer can have an influence, particularly among Christians, seeing as we are open to listening to him due to our regenerate nature. "My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me." John 10:27 But Paul is not saying this because their obedience would validate his ministry. For he would rather be viewed a failure if it were for their good. Likewise those involved in ministry need to evaluate their own motivations. Consider whether or not you're doing ministry simply for yourself - serving your own ego. And whether you have a genuine concern for those to whom you are ministering, even at the cost of you being viewed as a failure. Consider Jesus. He purposely allowed himself to be subject to humiliation, being viewed as a failure, in order to secure the salvation of the elect.

As for Paul's determination along these lines, notice he says he "cannot" do anything against the truth. He doesn't say "will not". "Cannot", which uses the Greek word "dunamai", from which we get "dynamite", speaks stronger than that which is dependent on one's volition. He intention of doing what is right is a conviction of such magnitude that choice is no longer involved. There is no option along these lines. I recall when Jesus challenged his disciples with hard teachings in John 6 to test their level of conviction. It was written, "From this time many of his disciples turned back and no longer followed him." John 6:66 Which is followed by Jesus asking, 'You do not want to leave too, do you?' Jesus asked the Twelve.  Simon Peter answered him, 'Lord, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life.' John 6:67-68

As for praying for their "perfection" (NIV) or "that they may be made complete" (NKJV), this word is also used in the sense of "restoring" (Gal 6:1) and "equipping" (Heb 13:21) He wasn't praying for their salvation, despite their imperfection, but rather for their maturity - their sanctification.

Aim for Perfection

2Cor 13:11-14 Finally, brothers, good-by. Aim for perfection, listen to my appeal, be of one mind, live in peace. And the God of love and peace will be with you. Greet one another with a holy kiss. All the saints send their greetings. May the grace of the Lord Jesus Christ, and the love of God, and the fellowship of the Holy Spirit be with you

Basically - get along with one another. The main problem in the Corinthian church was not doctrinal. The main problem was that Christians couldn't get along with one another. In fact some today who allegedly "aim for perfection" refuse to get along with fellow Christians whom they view as less than perfect. And thus perfectionism has been used as an excuse for not getting along with fellow Christians. Contrast that attitude,  giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing (Heb 10:25), because fellow Christians are not good enough for them, with Paul's attitude here of not leaving anyone behind, regardless of how imperfect they may be.

Perfection here is about being equipped to do effective ministry. And if you're not planning on doing ministry, you're still in diapers, far from complete.




The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015