翻譯: English 中文 GB

哥林多後書 第二章

以平安的心事奉

避免不必要的憂愁

2:1 我自己定了主意,再到你們那堨h,必須大家沒有憂愁。
2:2 倘若我叫你們憂愁,除了我叫那憂愁的人以外,誰能叫我快樂呢?
2:3 我曾把這事寫給你們,恐怕我到的時候,
  應該叫我快樂的那些人,反倒叫我憂愁。
  我也深信,你們眾人都以我的快樂為自己的快樂。

2:4 我先前心媄纗L痛苦,多多地流淚,
  寫信給你們,不是叫你們憂愁,
  乃是叫你們知道我格外地疼愛你們。

2:5 若有叫人憂愁的,他不但叫我憂愁,也是叫你們眾人有幾分憂愁。
  我說幾分,恐怕說得太重。

赦免的事奉

2:6 這樣的人,受了眾人的責罰,也就夠了。
2:7 倒不如赦免他,安慰他,
  免得他憂愁太過,甚至沉淪了。

2:8 所以我勸你們,要向他顯出堅定不移的愛心來。
2:9 為此我先前也寫信給你們,
  要試驗你們,看你們凡事順從不順從。

2:10 你們赦免誰,我也赦免誰。
  我若有所赦免的,是在基督面前為你們赦免的。

2:11 免得撒但趁著機會勝過我們,因我們并非不曉得他的詭計。

以平安的心事奉

2:12 我從前為基督的福音到了特羅亞,
  主也給我開了門。

2:13 那時因為沒有遇見兄弟提多,
  我心堣ㄕw,便辭別那堛漱H往馬其頓去了。

基督馨香之氣的事奉

2:14 感謝神,常帥領我們在基督埵j勝,
  并借著我們在各處顯揚那因認識基督而有的香氣。

2:15 因為我們在神面前,
  無論在得救的人身上,或滅亡的人身上,
  都有基督馨香之氣。

2:16 在這等人,就作了死的香氣叫他死﹔
  在那等人,就作了活的香氣叫他活。
  這事誰能當得起呢?

免費事奉

2:17 我們不像那許多人,為利混亂神的道,
  乃是由于誠實,由于神,在神面前憑著基督講道。


問題討論

第1-5節 你能不能舉例說明什麼時候讓人感到不爽或憂愁是合宜的?
什麼時候我們應該為其它基督徒的罪而憂愁?還是我們應該忽略這種罪以得到一種人為的合一感覺?
第6-11節 這堛滿坏L”可能是誰?(哥林多前書 5:1-5
撒但的計謀在這堨i能是什麼?
第12-13節 他心堿陘偵礞ㄕw?他為什麼在找提多(哥林多後書 7:6-7
第14-16節 為什麼對將要滅亡的人來說基督就像是死的氣味一樣?
在你傳基督的時候,有沒有人做出反應就好像他們聞到死的氣味一樣?
有沒有人待你就像你是死的氣味一樣?
對你來說,為什麼基督徒就像活的香氣一樣?
第17節 今天有誰在為利混亂神的道?
為什麼保羅把自己與這種人區別開來?
人是如何為利混亂神的道的?

注釋

責備表現出愛

哥林多後書 2:1-4 我自己定了主意,再到你們那堨h,必須大家沒有憂愁。倘若我叫你們憂愁,除了我叫那憂愁的人以外,誰能叫我快樂呢?我曾把這事寫給你們,恐怕我到的時候,應該叫我快樂的那些人,反倒叫我憂愁。我也深信,你們眾人都以我的快樂為自己的快樂。我先前心媄纗L痛苦,多多地流淚,寫信給你們,不是叫你們憂愁,乃是叫你們知道我格外地疼愛你們。

“當面的責備,強如背地的愛情。”【箴言 27:5】試想你不得不當面嚴厲責備你所愛的人。再想像一下他們悔改了。下一步該怎麼做呢?這就是保羅所面臨的難題。也許他想最好先在別的地方獃一下,等事情冷卻一下,他們的傷口有所愈合。因為馬上見他們也許會使他們憂愁,使他們想起他們的創傷,并有可能使傷口重新裂開。但雖然當時如果他親自到那堨h對他們來說也許太強烈,難于把握,但他還是寫信給他們,向他們表示他對他們不是無動于衷,他的心埵野L們。

當面談所起的作用最大。但在糾正錯誤時有的時候作用會過于強烈。保羅自己寫到:“你們作父親的,不要惹兒女的氣,恐怕他們失了志氣。”【歌羅西書 3:21】還有,“你們作父親的,不要惹兒女的氣,”【以弗所書 6:4a】如果一個人已經悔改了,你再過細地管理他就表現出你對他的不信任。但分享你的感情是可以的。


重建悔改的人

哥林多後書 2:5-8 若有叫人憂愁的,他不但叫我憂愁,也是叫你們眾人有幾分憂愁。我說幾分,恐怕說得太重。這樣的人,受了眾人的責罰,也就夠了。倒不如赦免他,安慰他,免得他憂愁太過,甚至沉淪了。所以我勸你們,要向他顯出堅定不移的愛心來。

他在這堳的是那個他曾在哥林多前書第五章婸”鴘漕滬虓d不道德的性關系的人。他在那封信上說:“你們還是自高自大,并不哀痛,把行這事的人從你們中間趕出去。”【哥林多前書 5:2】“要把這樣的人交給撒但,敗壞他的肉體,使他的靈魂在主耶穌的日子可以得救。”【哥林多前書 5:5】這個責備是相當嚴厲的。就如耶穌說:“你們要謹慎。若是你的弟兄得罪你,就勸戒他。他若懊悔,就饒恕他。”【路加福音 17:3】犯罪的基督徒應該受到責備,饒恕是以他們的悔改作為前題條件的。然而他們一但悔改了,就必須饒恕他們。保羅在這奡N樹立了一個榜樣。盡管他原來說的嚴厲的話,在這堨L表現出了溫柔,不再忌恨或不信任那個人。

要鼓勵那些悔改了的人。不但那些責備他們的人是榜樣,那些悔改了的人也是榜樣。責備、悔改、饒恕,那就是神如何對待我們的。“我兒,你不可輕看主的管教,被他責備的時候,也不可灰心。因為主所愛的,他必管教,又鞭打凡所收納的兒子。”【希伯來書 12:5b-6】


當心撒但的詭計

哥林多後書 2:9-11 為此我先前也寫信給你們,要試驗你們,看你們凡事順從不順從。你們赦免誰,我也赦免誰。我若有所赦免的,是在基督面前為你們赦免的。免得撒但趁著機會勝過我們,因我們并非不曉得他的詭計。

如果不需要做一個人不愿做的事,順服就不需要起作用。因此,關于耶穌,只有在他道成肉身之後才能說:“他雖然為兒子,還是因所受的苦難學了順從。”【希伯來書 5:8】他是這樣禱告的:“父啊,你若愿意,就把這杯撤去。然而不要成就我的意思,只要成就你的意思。”【路加福音 22:42】類似地在【馬太福音 21:28-32】中關于兩個兒子的寓言堙A受到稱贊的是那個開始不愿意,但還是順服地去做的那個兒子。在這個情形堨L們的挑戰就是要面對犯罪的基督徒。有沒有面對過嚴重犯罪的基督徒呢?這種懼怕中很大的一個因素就是一個人出于自身的罪性耽心別人腦羞成怒。因為你知道出于人的本性,如果你去仔細檢查別人,別人也會仔細地檢查你。這就是順從耶穌的代價之一,或好處之一,看你怎樣去看。因為耶穌說:“你們要謹慎。若是你的弟兄得罪你,就勸戒他。他若懊悔,就饒恕他。”【路加福音 17:3】

作為順服的另一個行為,饒恕本身與面對別人同樣是個挑戰,特別是饒恕你不太喜歡的基督徒。不應對從罪堮洹麊滌繴徒懷怨。如果你負起面犯罪的人的責任,那麼那人一但悔改,你就要承擔重新建立起他,與他恢復基督徒弟兄關系的責任。通常在一個人決定與別人斷絕關系的時候,往往在分手時對那個人大加批評,沒有一點如果那個人悔改要與他恢復友誼的愿望。但注意到在堙A這個人的基督徒弟兄關系被恢復了,盡管保羅不在那堙A他讓他知道一切都被饒恕了。

這使人想起彼得三次不認基督,但後來在他悔改之後,主親自與他說話,向他保証他已得到饒恕和重新建立,并且給了他為神的國出力的權柄。

要避免對撒但的詭計掉以輕心。這不是因為這些詭計特別隱蔽,而是因為基督徒往往容易上當,忘記了我們都有罪性,會受到誘惑,為魔鬼所利用。因此魔鬼驅使基督徒走向他們毫無恩慈的律法主義極端,比如約翰﹒開爾文,他說:“任何人如果認為把異端和褻瀆神的人處死是不公的就是緒意地和有意地招致他們自己的罪。”或如自由恩典的放蕩無羈,他們不加任何檢點。


被心堛漸郎w指引

哥林多後書 2:12-13 我從前為基督的福音到了特羅亞,主也給我開了門。那時因為沒有遇見兄弟提多,我心堣ㄕw,便辭別那堛漱H往馬其頓去了。

這封信數次提到提多的情形──第七、八、十二章──表明保羅派提多到他們那堨h,他在這媟t示他曾盼望提多從哥林多回來,告訴他哥林多的聖徒對他前一封信的反應。他當時心堣ㄕw。雖然就連保羅自己也命令我們應當一無挂慮(【腓立比書 4:6】),而且耶穌也同樣命令我們(【約翰福音 14:27】),然而,如果我們的愛是真誠的話,為期盼那些我們所愛的人對糾正的反應而心堣ㄕw沒有什麼不合宜的。那正是保羅想要表達的。

至于開了的門,一個人不能只被情形所指引。雖然神開了門,一個人未必要走進去。一個人還應該有心堛漸郎w。雖然缺乏心堛漸郎w不能作為什麼都不做的借口。如果一個人沒有心堛漸郎w,就要找出原因,改正過來,然後從開了的門走進去。

第三就是保羅最關心的是那些已經在信堛漱H,就如他自己說的那樣:“所以有了機會,就當向眾人行善,向信徒一家的人更當這樣。”【加拉太書 6:10】傳福音相對于帶門徒來講是第二位的。薄弱的環節、虛弱的羊、壓傷的蘆葦是重點,那些渴望學的人比那些對學習尚猶豫不決的更優先。


基督馨香之氣

哥林多後書 2:14-16 感謝神,常帥領我們在基督埵j勝,并借著我們在各處顯揚那因認識基督而有的香氣。因為我們在神面前,無論在得救的人身上,或滅亡的人身上,都有基督馨香之氣。在這等人,就作了死的香氣叫他死﹔在那等人,就作了活的香氣叫他活。這事誰能當得起呢?

馨香之氣暗指在律法之下所獻的祭。“要把全羊燒在壇上,是給耶和華獻的燔祭,是獻給耶和華為馨香的火祭。”【出埃及記 29:18】耶穌所獻的祭也是這樣。“也要憑愛心行事,正如基督愛我們,為我們舍了自己,當作馨香的供物和祭物,獻與神。”【以弗所書 5:2】這使我想起對梅爾﹒吉布森(Mel Gibson)的電影《耶穌受難記》(The Passion of the Christ)的兩種截然不同的反應。基督徒一般都認為這部影片感人。但其它有些人則認為這部影片價值不高,只是在描寫一個人在遭受酷刑。同樣對不信的人來講,福音聞上去是臭的。但那說明的是他們而不是福音。

對于不信的人來講,因看到我們的信息是關于為人的死和所要面對的審判做准備,他們不但覺得基督有死的氣味,就連我們基督徒也有同樣的氣味。因為,“按著定命,人人都有一死,死後且有審判。”【希伯來書 9:27】但那些得救的人,“論到世上的聖民,他們又美又善,是我最喜悅的。”【詩篇 16:3】

使基督馨香之氣飄溢,沒有比這更大的蒙召,無論它是死亡的惡臭,還是生命的芳香。


為利混亂神的道

哥林多後書 2:17 我們不像那許多人,為利混亂神的道,乃是由于誠實,由于神,在神面前憑著基督講道。

有很多人為利混亂神的道。很少人真正關心他們聲稱在事奉的人的益處。關于提摩太,保羅說:“因為我沒有別人與我同心,實在挂念你們的事。別人都求自己的事,并不求耶穌基督的事。”【腓立比書 2:20-21】從那時到現在,基督徒領袖中的統計數據改變了嗎?

保羅勸以弗所的長老們說:“我未曾貪圖一個人的金、銀、衣服。我這兩只手,常供給我和同人的需用,這是你們自己知道的。我凡事給你們作榜樣,叫你們知道,應當這樣勞苦,扶助軟弱的人,又當記念主耶穌的話,說:‘施比受更為有福。’”【使徒行傳 20:33-35】

但很少人聽保羅的勸告。保羅還在哥林多前書第九章婸﹛A雖然他和巴拿巴有權為他們的事奉得到報酬,“但這權柄我全沒有用過。”【哥林多前書 9:15a】因此他免費傳福音。那樣做是應該的。但傳福音的人中很少有人這麼康慨大方,愿意免費傳福音。用自己的雙手做工謀生,同時免費傳福音是一個康慨大方的行為,就如保羅說:“既是這樣,我的賞賜是什麼呢?就是我傳福音的時候,叫人不花錢得福音,免得用盡我傳福音的權柄。”【哥林多前書 9:18】而福音不正是關于康慨大方嗎?再者,為利販賣神的道使人對一個人的動機置疑,就連保羅也在此對這種人的動機置疑。事實上,有些人,“他們以敬虔為得利的門路。”【提摩太前書 6:5b】彼得命令神的群羊的牧者:“不是因為貪財,乃是出于樂意﹔”【彼得前書 5:2b】

他還對帖撒羅尼迦的聖徒指著他的榜樣說:“你們自己原知道應當怎樣效法我們。因為我們在你們中間,未嘗不按規矩而行。也未嘗白吃人的飯,倒是辛苦勞碌,晝夜作工,免得叫你們一人受累。這并不是因我們沒有權柄,乃是要給你們作榜樣,叫你們效法我們。”【帖撒羅尼迦後書 3:7-9】

在基督徒領袖中,今天很少能找到那些愿意不成為他們所事奉的人的經濟負擔的。這是什麼榜樣呢?賣東西的人有為了更多獲利給他們的商品摻雜的習慣。有些人僅僅為了更多賺錢而扭曲神的道或他們對基督的表述。有的人甚至意識不到金錢對他們的鉗制,為了賺更多的錢下意識地曲解神的道。他們歪曲神的道,使之更“迎合眾人的口味”,或使人對自己有良好的感覺。“因為時候要到,人必厭煩純正的道理,耳朵發痒,就隨從自己的情欲,增添好些師傅,”【提摩太後書 4:3】迎合眾人口味的基督教很少是符合聖經的基督教。而真正的信徒大概不是大多數,而是基督徒中的餘剩。


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

2Corinthians 2 (web)

Ministering with Peace of Mind

Avoiding Unnecessary Grief

2:1 But I determined this for myself, that I would not come to you again in sorrow.
2:2 For if I make you sorry, then who will make me glad but he who is made sorry by me?
2:3 And I wrote this very thing to you, so that, when I came,
I wouldn't have sorrow from them of whom I ought to rejoice;
having confidence in you all, that my joy would be shared by all of you.
2:4 For out of much affliction and anguish of heart I wrote to you with many tears,
not that you should be made sorry, but that you might know the love that I have so abundantly for you.
2:5 But if any has caused sorrow, he has caused sorrow,
not to me, but in part (that I not press too heavily) to you all.

Ministering Forgiveness

2:6 Sufficient to such a one is this punishment which was inflicted by the many;
2:7 so that on the contrary you should rather forgive him and comfort him,
lest by any means such a one should be swallowed up with his excessive sorrow.
2:8 Therefore I beg you to confirm your love toward him.
2:9 For to this end I also wrote, that I might know the proof of you,
whether you are obedient in all things.
2:10 Now I also forgive whomever you forgive anything.
For if indeed I have forgiven anything, I have forgiven that one for your sakes in the presence of Christ,
2:11 that no advantage may be gained over us by Satan; for we are not ignorant of his schemes.
 

Ministering with Peace of Mind

2:12 Now when I came to Troas for the gospel of Christ,
and when a door was opened to me in the Lord,
2:13 I had no relief for my spirit, because I didn't find Titus, my brother,
but taking my leave of them, I went out into Macedonia.

Ministering the Aroma of Christ

2:14 Now thanks be to God, who always leads us in triumph in Christ,
and reveals through us the sweet aroma of his knowledge in every place.
2:15 For we are a sweet aroma of Christ to God, in those who are saved, and in those who perish;
2:16 to the one a stench from death to death; to the other a sweet aroma from life to life.
Who is sufficient for these things?

Ministering Free of Charge

2:17 For we are not as so many, peddling the word of God.
But as of sincerity, but as of God, in the sight of God, we speak in Christ.


Discussion Questions

vs 1-5 Can you give examples when it is appropriate to make people feel bad or grieve?
When should we grieve over the sinfulness of other Christians or should we simply ignore such sinfulness so as to promote an artificial sense of unity?
vs 6-11 Who might the "him" be? (1Cor 5:1-5)
What might satan's scheme be?
vs 12-13 Why did he have no peace of mind and why was he looking for Titus? (2Cor 7:6,7)
vs 14-16 In what way may Christ be the smell of death to those perishing?
When you have presented Christ, has anyone ever reacted as if they smelled death?
Do people treat you as if you have the aroma of death?
In what way are Christians the aroma of life to you?
vs 17 Who peddles the Word of God for profit today?
Why does Paul distant himself from such people?
In what ways might the Word of God have been corrupted so as to make more money?


Comments

Rebuke Shows Love

2Cor 2:1-4  So I made up my mind that I would not make another painful visit to you. For if I grieve you, who is left to make me glad but you whom I have grieved? I wrote as I did so that when I came I should not be distressed by those who ought to make me rejoice. I had confidence in all of you, that you would all share my joy. For I wrote you out of great distress and anguish of heart and with many tears, not to grieve you but to let you know the depth of my love for you.

Proverbs 27:5 "Better is open rebuke than hidden love." But imagine you had to confront someone you love with harsh words due to serious sin in their life. Now imagine they repented. What would be the best thing to do next. This was Paul's dilemma. Perhaps he was thinking best to stay away for now and let things cool off for their wounds to heal. For revisiting them immediately may cause them grief in reminding them of their wounds and possibly reopening wounds. But while his presence may have been too intense for them to handle at this time, he nonetheless writes them to show he is not dispassionate about them but has them in his heart.

Communicating a message face to face can have the greatest impact. But there is such a thing as too much impact when it comes to correction. Paul himself writes, "Fathers, do not embitter your children, or they will become discouraged." Col 3:21 and "Fathers, do not exasperate your children" Eph 6:4a If a person has repented then you only cause them grief in showing your distrust by micromanaging them. But do feel free to share your feelings.


Restore the Repentant

2Cor 2:5-8 If anyone has caused grief, he has not so much grieved me as he has grieved all of you, to some extent— not to put it too severely.  The punishment inflicted on him by the majority is sufficient for him. Now instead, you ought to forgive and comfort him, so that he will not be overwhelmed by excessive sorrow.  I urge you, therefore, to reaffirm your love for him.

The one he is referring to is the one he spoke of in 1Corinthians chapter 5 who was involved in a sexually immoral relationship and of whom he said, "Shouldn’t you rather have been filled with grief and have put out of your fellowship the man who did this?" 1Cor 5:2b and "Hand this man over to Satan, so that the sinful nature may be destroyed and his spirit saved on the day of the Lord." 1Cor 5:5 The rebuke is harsh as it should have been. Just as Jesus said, "If your brother sins, rebuke him, and if he repents, forgive him." Luke 17:3, sinning Christians are to be rebuke, and forgiveness is contingent upon their repentance. However when they do repent, then they must be forgiven. And Paul sets the example here. Despite his former harsh words he shows tenderness here, holding no grudge or distrust of the man.

Encourage those who repent. The repentant just as much are an example to follow as those who rebuked them. Rebuke, repent, forgive. That's how God deals with each of us. "My son, do not make light of the Lord’s discipline, and do not lose heart when he rebukes you, because the Lord disciplines those he loves, and he punishes everyone he accepts as a son." Heb 12:5,6


Be Aware of Satan's Schemes

2Cor 2:9-11 The reason I wrote you was to see if you would stand the test and be obedient in everything. If you forgive anyone, I also forgive him. And what I have forgiven— if there was anything to forgive— I have forgiven in the sight of Christ for your sake, in order that Satan might not outwit us. For we are not unaware of his schemes.

Obedience is not really in play unless it regards something of which one would be reluctant to do. Thus for example it was only when he was incarnate into sinful flesh that it could be said of Jesus, "Although he was a son, he learned obedience from what he suffered" Heb 5:8, such as in his prayer, "Take this cup from me. Yet not what I will, but what you will." Luke 22:42 Likewise of the parable of the two sons of Matt 21:28-32, the one who exercised obedience reluctantly was commended. In this case they were challenged with confronting sinful Christians. Ever been reluctant to confront fellow Christians who are sinning overtly? A large element of such fear is simply one's own sinful nature afraid to take it in the manner in which one dishes it out. For you know that it is human nature that if you scrutinize others, they will scrutinize you. That is one of the costs - or benefits depending on your perspective - of obeying Jesus. For Jesus said, "If your brother sins, rebuke him, and if he repents, forgive him." Luke 17:3

Forgiveness itself, with again is an act of obedience, can be as challenging as confront people with sin, especially in the case of Christians you might not particularly like. Grudges are not to be held against Christians who repent of sin. And if you take on the responsibility of confronting someone with sin, then you also take on the responsibility of restoring that person and fellowshipping with them after they repent. Common for people who upon deciding to part with someone takes a parting shot criticizing that person without having any intention of restoring fellowship with them upon their repentance. But notice in this case the man was restored to fellowship, and even through Paul was away he made sure to let him know that all was forgiven.

One is reminded of Peter who denied Christ three times, but later, having repented, the Lord made sure to speak to him personally assuring him that he was forgiven and restored, being given authority to labor for the kingdom.

Avoid being naive about Satan's schemes. It's not that such schemes are allusive, but Christians are often gullible, forgetting that we all have a sinful nature subject to temptation of which the devil plays upon. Thus the devil drives Christians to the extremes of either merciless legalism, like in the case  John Calvin who said, "Whoever shall now contend that it is unjust to put heretics and blasphemers to death will knowingly and willingly incur their very guilt.", or to free grace licentiousness in which there is no scrutinizing at all.


Peace of Mind Guides

2Cor 2:12-13 Now when I went to Troas to preach the gospel of Christ and found that the Lord had opened a door for me, I still had no peace of mind, because I did not find my brother Titus there. So I said good-by to them and went on to Macedonia.

The situation with Titus will be mentioned a number of times - chapters 7,8,12 - indicating that Paul had sent Titus to them and here he is alluding to a time when he expected Titus to return from Corinth to give him news of the Corinthian's response to his former letter. He was waiting in anticipation. Now much as even Paul himself commands us to be anxious for nothing (Php 4:6), as does Jesus (John 14:27), yet it is not inappropriate to be anxious about the unpredictable response to correction of those we love, if indeed our love is genuine. And that's what Paul wanted to communicate.

Also with regards to this open door, one should not be guided soley by circumstances. Though God opens a door, one should not necessarily go through it. One should also have peace of mind. Though lack of peace of mind should not be an excuse for doing nothing. If one does not have peace of mind, then find out why and fix it. Then go through the open door.

Thirdly notice that Paul's priority concerned those already in the faith, as he himself said, "As we have opportunity, let us do good to all people, especially to those who belong to the family of believers." Gal 6:10 Evangelism is secondary to discipleship. And the weaker link, the feeble sheep, the bruised reed is to be the priority, and those who are eager to learn are more a priority than those who are reluctant to do so.


The Aroma of Christ

2Cor 2:14-16  But thanks be to God, who always leads us in triumphal procession in Christ and through us spreads everywhere the fragrance of the knowledge of him. For we are to God the aroma of Christ among those who are being saved and those who are perishing. To the one we are the smell of death; to the other, the fragrance of life. And who is equal to such a task?

Fragrant aroma is an allusion to the sacrifices made under the Law. "Burn the entire ram on the altar. It is a burnt offering to the LORD, a pleasing aroma, an offering made to the LORD by fire." Ex 29:18 And this was likewise the case with Christ's sacrifice. "Walk in love, as Christ also has loved us and given Himself for us, an offering and a sacrifice to God for a sweet-smelling aroma." Eph 5:2 I'm reminded of two different reactions some had to  Mel Gibson's  movie, "The Passion of the Christ". The Christians generally found it moving. But some others thought it degrading, being just about a man being tortured. Likewise to the unbeliever the gospel may stink. But that says more about them than it does the gospel message.

To the unbelievers, not only does Christ smell of death, but we Christians are also perceived that way, seeing as our message is about preparing people to die and face judgement. For "man is destined to die once, and after that to face judgment" Heb 9:27 But to those who are being saved, "as for the saints who are in the land, they are the glorious ones in whom is all my delight." Ps 16:3

There is no greater calling than to spread the aroma of Christ, be it the stench of death or the aroma of life.


Bible Peddlers

2Cor 2:17 Unlike so many, we do not peddle the word of God for profit. On the contrary, in Christ we speak before God with sincerity, like men sent from God.

There are so many people who peddle the word of God for profit. And so few take a genuine interest in those to whom they allegedly minister. Paul spoke of Timothy in Php 2:20-21 saying, "I have no one else like him, who takes a genuine interest in your welfare. For everyone looks out for his own interests, not those of Jesus Christ." Has the statistic among Christian leadership really changed since then?

Paul advised the Ephesian elders, "I have not coveted anyone’s silver or gold or clothing. You yourselves know that these hands of mine have supplied my own needs and the needs of my companions. In everything I did, I showed you that by this kind of hard work we must help the weak, remembering the words the Lord Jesus himself said: ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’" Acts 20:33-35

But so few take Paul's advice. And again Paul says in 1Corinthians chapter 9 that while he and Barnabus have a right to get paid, they " have not used any of these rights." 1Cor 9:15 so to offer the gospel free of charge. That's the way it should be. But few who preach the gospel have the generosity to offer their services free of charge. For it's an act of generosity for preachers to work for a living and offer their services free of charge, as Paul said, "What then is my reward? Just this: that in preaching the gospel I may offer it free of charge." 1Cor 9:18 And isn't the gospel about generosity. Furthermore peddling the word of God for profit calls into question one's motives as even Paul here calls into question such people's motives. And there are in fact "those think that godliness is a means to financial gain." 1Tim 6:5 Peter commands shepherds of God's flock to be "not greedy for money, but eager to serve" 1Peter 5:2 and why does he say that if that weren't an issue.

To the Thessalonians he again pointed out his example. "You yourselves know how you ought to follow our example. We were not idle when we were with you, nor did we eat anyone’s food without paying for it. On the contrary, we worked night and day, laboring and toiling so that we would not be a burden to any of you. We did this, not because we do not have the right to such help, but in order to make ourselves a model for you to follow." 2Thess 3:7-9

Rare to find Christian leadership today which has not chosen to be a financial burden to those to whom they are ministering. What kind of example is that? Peddlers are also in the habit of adulterating their commodities for the sake of gain. There are those who distort the Word of God or their presentation of Christ in order to simply make more money. There are even ministers who may not even realize the hold that money has on them, who unconsciously distort the Word so as to make more of it. They distort it so as to make it more "Popular" or to simply make people feel good about themselves. "They will gather around them a great number of teachers to say what their itching ears want to hear." 2Tim 4:3 Popular Christianity seldom represents Biblical Christianity. If something is popular, there's usually something wrong with it. And true believers are probably not the majority, but the remnant of Christendom.



The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015