翻譯: English 中文 GB

哥林多後書 第三章

聖靈在事奉中的作用

聖靈結果子

3:1 我們豈是又舉薦自己嗎?
  豈像別人,用人的薦信給你們,或用你們的薦信給人嗎?

3:2 你們就是我們的薦信,寫在我們的心堙A被眾人所知道、所念誦的。
3:3 你們明顯是基督的信,借著我們修成的。
  不是用墨寫的,乃是用永生神的靈寫的﹔
  不是寫在石版上,乃是寫在心版上。

聖靈使我們有事奉的能力

3:4 我們因基督,所以在神面前才有這樣的信心。
3:5 并不是我們憑自己能承擔什麼事,
  我們所能承擔的,乃是出于神。

3:6 他叫我們能承當這新約的執事,不是憑著字句,乃是憑著精意﹔
  因為那字句是叫人死,精意是叫人活(“精意”或作“聖靈”)。

聖靈顯現出主的榮光
使我們變成主的形狀

3:7 那用字刻在石頭上屬死的職事,尚且有榮光,
  甚至以色列人因摩西面上的榮光,不能定睛看他的臉。
  這榮光原是漸漸退去的。

3:8 何況那屬靈的職事,豈不更有榮光嗎?
3:9 若是定罪的職事有榮光,
  那稱義的職事,榮光就越發大了。

3:10 那從前有榮光的,
  因這極大的榮光就算不得有榮光了。

3:11 若那廢掉的有榮光,
  這長存的就更有榮光了。

3:12 我們既有這樣的盼望,就大膽講說,
3:13 不像摩西將帕子蒙在臉上,
  叫以色列人不能定睛看到那將廢者的結局。

3:14 但他們的心地剛硬,
  直到今日誦讀舊約的時候,這帕子還沒有揭去。
  這帕子在基督堣w經廢去了。

3:15 然而直到今日,每逢誦讀摩西書的時候,
  帕子還在他們心上。

3:16 但他們的心幾時歸向主,
  帕子就幾時除去了。

3:17 主就是那靈,主的靈在哪堙A哪奡N得以自由。
3:18 我們眾人既然敞著臉,得以看見主的榮光,
  好像從鏡子堛薸荂A就變成主的形狀,
  榮上加榮,如同從主的靈變成的。


問題討論

第1-3節 你會如何衡量事奉的成效?
人們用哪些方法來衡量事奉的成效?
第4-6節 神是如何配養人事奉的能力的?
是不是一定要進神學院才行?
什麼“字句”是叫人死?
那種“字句”是耶穌的事奉的一部分嗎?
第7-16節 為什麼新約的事奉更有榮光?
保羅從這個事實得出了什麼應用?
如果人在讀聖經時心媮棡X著帕子,那麼他能夠做什麼來更好地懂得聖經?
第17,18節 主與聖靈的區別是什麼?
聖靈在信徒的生命中的效果是什麼?

注釋

薦信

哥林多後書 3:1-3 我們豈是又舉薦自己嗎?豈像別人,用人的薦信給你們,或用你們的薦信給人嗎?你們就是我們的薦信,寫在我們的心堙A被眾人所知道、所念誦的。你們明顯是基督的信,借著我們修成的。不是用墨寫的,乃是用永生神的靈寫的﹔不是寫在石版上,乃是寫在心版上。

保羅的憑據的一部分就是他所結的果子,這可以由他對那些他所事奉的人的影響來衡量。這種影響不是由到場人數衡量的,這從某種意義上講是字面上的。因為有些人以人數來衡量結果子。但那只是對是不是受歡迎的衡量。有些人以建筑物和節目的大小和豪華程度來衡量。而保羅是以反映出一個人的心上是什麼的行為來衡量。因為神說:“我要將我的律法放在他們堶情A寫在他們心上。”【耶利米書 31:33b】

耶穌說:“所以憑著他們的果子,就可以認出他們來。”【馬太福音 7:20】這個原則對真假教師都適用。耶穌說:“你們多結果子,我父就因此得榮耀,你們也就是我的門徒了。”【約翰福音 15:8】如果人們按你的樣子來衡量基督教,(他們真地會這樣做),你的生活方式所提供的是什麼樣的憑據呢?因為你作為基督徒所做的反映出基督和那些花時間教你的人。不要給他們說你壞話的把柄。“你自己凡事要顯出善行的榜樣,在教訓上要正直、端庄,言語純全,無可指責,叫那反對的人,既無處可說我們的不是,便自覺羞愧。”【提多書 2:7-8】


從神來的能力

哥林多後書 3:4-6 我們因基督,所以在神面前才有這樣的信心。并不是我們憑自己能承擔什麼事,我們所能承擔的,乃是出于神。他叫我們能承當這新約的執事,不是憑著字句,乃是憑著精意﹔因為那字句是叫人死,精意是叫人活(“精意”或作“聖靈”)。

聖靈不但產生了從哥林多的聖徒顯明出來的果子,聖靈還使保羅成為一個稱職的事奉者。成為一個稱職的事奉者不是靠進神學院,而是靠在事奉的時候與聖靈合作。你的能力是從哪堥茠漫O?

“字句”譯自希臘文“γραμμα”。保羅在羅馬書婸﹛G“惟有堶惕@的,才是真猶太人﹔真割禮也是心堛滿A在乎靈,不在乎儀文。”【羅馬書 2:29】這堙宏鬗憛角]是譯自“γραμμα”。保羅來到他們不是作為一個“摩西”,以一套條例和規則,如果他們做不到就有罪。他也不是以是否能夠獃在某些節目堜M外在的形式來,而是以他們的心作為他們的憑據的衡量。因為基督徒的生活對那些已經由神生的人來說應該是自然的。

現在有些人聲稱“字句”在這堳的是傳福音。但這婸﹛A字句是叫人死。福音是叫人死嗎?的確,有人聲稱傳福音可以叫人的興趣死掉,因為傳福音會使人不自在,甚至使人變得敵對。于是他們聲稱以他們的生活而不是以神的道來傳。然而一個人的生活雖然可能為福音打開一扇門,但福音的真正內容是那些寫在聖經堙A被目擊者見証了的信息。你可以自己看一看。在使徒行傳堙A彼得傳的是他自己嗎?保羅呢?不,他們傳的都是基督。

“字句”(γραμμα)指的不是福音的信息。而那叫人死的字句是律法。律法并非沒有價值。保羅寫到:“我以前沒有律法是活著的﹔但是誡命來到,罪又活了,我就死了。”【羅馬書 7:9】但他接著說那是件好事。“我因律法就向律法死了,叫我可以向神活著。”【加拉太書 2:19】“因為律法本是叫人知罪。”【羅馬書 2:19b】“這樣,律法是我們訓蒙的師傅,引我們到基督那堙A使我們因信稱義。”【加拉太書 3:24】


那字句是叫人死

哥林多後書 3:7-11 那用字刻在石頭上屬死的職事,尚且有榮光,甚至以色列人因摩西面上的榮光,不能定睛看他的臉。這榮光原是漸漸退去的。何況那屬靈的職事,豈不更有榮光嗎?若是定罪的職事有榮光,那稱義的職事,榮光就越發大了。那從前有榮光的,因這極大的榮光就算不得有榮光了。若那廢掉的有榮光,這長存的就更有榮光了。

關于摩西,經上寫到:“摩西手堮陬菬漍籅k版下西乃山的時候,不知道自己的面皮因耶和華和他說話就發了光。亞倫和以色列眾人看見摩西的面皮發光就怕挨近他。……摩西與他們說完了話就用帕子蒙上臉。”【出埃及記 34:29-30,33】

但至于刻在石頭上的字,這堛滿圻r”又是他在前面說的“字句是叫人死”堛漕滬荂圻r”“γραμμα”。因為律法是叫人死。“我以前沒有律法是活著的﹔但是誡命來到,罪又活了,我就死了。那本來叫人活的誡命,反倒叫我死﹔”【羅馬書 7:9-10】

這是舊約與新約的主要區別。舊約帶來的是審判。新約帶來的是義。舊約只是意在通過顯示出神是多麼的聖潔,他對罪的恨和他的公義性給人帶來一種無望的感覺。而能夠參與新約的傳播是何等的榮耀,新約的主題就是神的恩典,罪的饒恕和永恆的生命。“所以凡有血氣的,沒有一個因行律法能在神面前稱義,因為律法本是叫人知罪。但如今神的義,在律法以外已經顯明出來,有律法和先知為証:就是神的義,因信耶穌基督,加給一切相信的人,并沒有分別﹔因為世人都犯了罪,虧缺了神的榮耀﹔如今卻蒙神的恩典,因基督耶穌的救贖,就白白地稱義。”【羅馬書 3:20-24】


因盼望就大膽

哥林多後書 3:12-16 我們既有這樣的盼望,就大膽講說,不像摩西將帕子蒙在臉上,叫以色列人不能定睛看到那將廢者的結局。但他們的心地剛硬,直到今日誦讀舊約的時候,這帕子還沒有揭去。這帕子在基督堣w經廢去了。然而直到今日,每逢誦讀摩西書的時候,帕子還在他們心上。但他們的心幾時歸向主,帕子就幾時除去了。

有沒有注意到盼望影響一個人熱忱,結果也影響一個人的膽量?如果你期盼一個好的結果,那麼你就將有熱忱,并能克服與那個結果相反的懼怕。保羅在面對哥林多教會的罪時就大膽,使用坦然的,無掩飾的言語。

在舊約之下就沒有什麼盼望。大多數罪都是要判死罪的,贖罪祭只可贖不是故意犯的罪,而許多罪,比如一夫多妻,基本上被律法忽視了,因為神知道人的心太硬,根本無法哪怕接近于按他的標准生活(【馬可福音 10:5】)。結果以色列人就不愿面對他們中間的罪,特別是他們家人中的罪。但在新約之下,因為所有的罪都可以被饒恕,所以有盼望。即有了盼望,一個人可以大膽地面對罪。一個人現在可以把罪稱作罪,而不需要藏在帕子後面。

直到今日猶太人仍然不知道舊約背後的意思。因為在他們看來,舊約只是一些誡律和規則,而不知其後面的目的。如保羅說:“然而,屬血氣的人不領會神聖靈的事,反倒以為愚拙,并且不能知道,因為這些事惟有屬靈的人才能看透。”【哥林多前書 2:14】但當一個人歸向主的時候,就會得到關于舊約背後的意義的啟示。

如果一個人不懂舊約怎麼能歸向主呢?懂舊約不是得救所必須的,雖然它使人知罪。但歸向主未必需要懂得舊約背後屬靈的意義和目的。但新約事實上不是蒙著帕子的。新約是被清楚地傳的,因此任何人都能明白。


被聖靈轉變

哥林多後書 3:17-18 主就是那靈,主的靈在哪堙A哪奡N得以自由。我們眾人既然敞著臉,得以看見主的榮光,好像從鏡子堛薸荂A就變成主的形狀,榮上加榮,如同從主的靈變成的。

有些人認為“主就是那靈”是對“形態論”(modalism)的肯定。形態論認為聖父、聖子和聖靈不是有區別的三位,而是神的不同形態。但這樣做就忽視了關于聖父、聖子和聖靈的其它每節經文。聖經上說耶穌在天上坐在天父的右邊,并派聖靈──基督的靈──來到信徒堙C整本新約都在說這是有區別的三位。即使在這堙A形態論的解釋對接下來的一句“主的靈”就不成立。如果聖靈就是主的話,聖靈怎麼又是主的呢?但聖靈是主的一個代表,一個大使。因此他在所有的事上代表主的意愿。

他提到聖靈因為他是在講“屬靈的職事”【哥林多後書 3:8】“精意是叫人活(“精意”或作“聖靈”)”【哥林多後書 3:6】還有在第一章堨L說:“他又用印印了我們,并賜聖靈在我們心塈@憑據(原文作“質”)。”【哥林多後書 1:22】基督徒的生活和基督徒的事奉都是有神的靈帶領的。

關于自由,他告誡陷在墨守律法主義堛漸[拉太聖徒說:“基督釋放了我們,叫我們得以自由,所以要站立得穩,不要再被奴仆的軛挾制。”【加拉太書 5:1】但他還說:“弟兄們,你們蒙召是要得自由,只是不可將你們的自由當作放縱情欲的機會,總要用愛心互相服事。”【加拉太書 5:13】其意思就是不要把基督徒的生活當作僅僅是遵循誡律和規則,而行義是因為那就是義──要按基督的形像轉化,要在聖靈的帶領之下,按照那重生的本質行事。因此基督徒的生活對那些有神的靈生的人來說是自然的,正像基督徒的生活對主本身來說是自然的一樣。因為這個轉──重生──來自主的靈。


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

2Corinthians 3 (web)

THE HOLY SPIRIT'S ROLE IN MINISTRY

The Spirit Produces Fruits

3:1 Are we beginning again to commend ourselves?
Or do we need, as do some, letters of commendation to you or from you?
3:2 You are our letter, written in our hearts, known and read by all men;
3:3 being revealed that you are a letter of Christ, ministered by us,
written not with ink, but with the Spirit of the living God;
not in tablets of stone, but in tablets that are hearts of flesh.

The Spirit Makes Us Competent Ministers

3:4 Such confidence we have through Christ toward God;
3:5 not that we are sufficient of ourselves, to account anything as from ourselves;
but our sufficiency is from God;
3:6 who also made us sufficient as servants of a new covenant;
not of the letter, but of the Spirit. For the letter kills, but the Spirit gives life.

The Spirit Reveals the Lord
and Transforms Us into His Image

3:7 But if the service of death, written engraved on stones,
came with glory, so that the children of Israel could not look steadfastly
on the face of Moses for the glory of his face; which was passing away:
3:8 won't service of the Spirit be with much more glory?
3:9 For if the service of condemnation has glory,
the service of righteousness exceeds much more in glory.
3:10 For most assuredly that which has been made glorious
has not been made glorious in this respect, by reason of the glory that surpasses.
3:11 For if that which passes away was with glory, much more that which remains is in glory.
3:12 Having therefore such a hope, we use great boldness of speech,
3:13 and not as Moses, who put a veil on his face,
that the children of Israel wouldn't look steadfastly on the end of that which was passing away.
3:14 But their minds were hardened,
for until this very day at the reading of the old covenant the same veil remains,
because in Christ it passes away.
3:15 But to this day, when Moses is read, a veil lies on their heart.
3:16 But whenever one turns to the Lord, the veil is taken away.
3:17 Now the Lord is the Spirit and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty.
3:18 But we all, with unveiled face beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord,
are transformed into the same image from glory to glory, even as from the Lord, the Spirit.


Discussion Questions

vs 1-3 How would you measure fruitfulness in ministry?
And what are some ways in which it has been measured?

vs 4-6 How does God develop people to be competent ministers?
Does this necessarily include going to seminary?
What "letter" kills?
Was that "letter" a part of Jesus' ministry?

 vs 7-16 Why is the New Covenant ministry more glorious?
What application does Paul derive from this fact?
What can people do to help them understand the Bible better, if it's veiled to them?

vs 17,18 What is the difference between the Lord and the Holy Spirit?
What effect does the Holy Spirit mean to have on the believer's lives?


Comments

A Recommendation Letter

2Cor 3:1-3  Are we beginning to commend ourselves again? Or do we need, like some people, letters of recommendation to you or from you? You yourselves are our letter, written on our hearts, known and read by everybody. You show that you are a letter from Christ, the result of our ministry, written not with ink but with the Spirit of the living God, not on tablets of stone but on tablets of human hearts.

Part of Paul's credentials was his fruitfulness measured by his impact on those to whom he has been ministering. And that impact is not measured by mere attendance, which is in a sense the letter. For some measure fruitfulness by numbers. But that just measures popularity. Some measure it by the size and extravagance of buildings and programs. Rather Paul measures it by a behavior which is a reflection of what on the person's heart. For God said, "I will put my law in their minds and write it on their hearts." Jer 31:33b

Jesus said, "Thus, by their fruit you will recognize them." Mt 7:20This principle holds both of false teachers and true. Jesus said, "This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples." John 15:8 If people were to evaluate Christianity based upon your example, (and they do), what kind of credence does your lifestyle offer? For what you do as a Christian reflects both on Christ and on those who have spent timing teaching you. Give them nothing bad to say about us. "In everything set them an example by doing what is good. In your teaching show integrity, seriousness and soundness of speech that cannot be condemned, so that those who oppose you may be ashamed because they have nothing bad to say about us." Titus 2:7,8


Competence from God

2Cor 3:4-6 Such confidence as this is ours through Christ before God. Not that we are competent in ourselves to claim anything for ourselves, but our competence comes from God. He has made us competent as ministers of a new covenant— not of the letter but of the Spirit; for the letter kills, but the Spirit gives life.

The Holy Spirit not only produced the fruitfulness evident in the Corinthians, but also made Paul into a competent minister. It is not by going to a seminary that one can be made a competent minister. But rather as one ministers in cooperation with the Holy Spirit, one becomes competent. Where does your competance come from?

Don't confuse the "letter" (NIV) of verse 3 which is "epistole" in Greek with the "letter" (NIV) of verse 6 which is "gramma". Paul says in Rom 2:29 "He is a Jew who is one inwardly; and circumcision is that of the heart, in the Spirit, not in the letter" ("gamma") Gamma is the written code, the outward form, the rules and regulations. Paul did not approach them as a "Moses", with a set of rules and regulations that failing to obey they would be held guilty. Nor did he measure competence by adherence to programs and outward forms, but rather by their hearts. For the Christian life should come naturally to those who have been born of the Spirit of God.

Now there are those who claim that the "letter" refers to the preaching of the gospel. But it says, the letter kills. Does the gospel kill? Indeed there are those who claim that the preaching of the gospel kills people's interest as it can turn some people off and even make them hostile. Rather they claim to preach by their lives rather than through the Word of God. But while a person's life may open a door for the gospel, the actual content of the gospel message is what has been written in the Bible as testified by eyewitnesses. See for yourself. In Acts did Peter preach about himself? or Paul? No, they preached Christ.

The letter (gamma) it's referring to is not the gospel message. Rather the letter which kills is the Law, which is not without value. Paul writes, "I was alive once without the law, but when the commandment came, sin revived and I died." Rom 7:9 But he goes on to say that's a good thing. "For I through the law died to the law that I might live to God." Gal 2:19  For "through the law we become conscious of sin." Rom 3:20 and consequently "the law was our tutor to bring us to Christ, that we might be justified by faith." Gal 3:24


The Letter Kills

2Cor 3:7-11 Now if the ministry that brought death, which was engraved in letters on stone, came with glory, so that the Israelites could not look steadily at the face of Moses because of its glory, fading though it was, will not the ministry of the Spirit be even more glorious? If the ministry that condemns men is glorious, how much more glorious is the ministry that brings righteousness! For what was glorious has no glory now in comparison with the surpassing glory. And if what was fading away came with glory, how much greater is the glory of that which lasts!

As for Moses, it is written, "When Moses came down from Mount Sinai with the two tablets of the Testimony in his hands, he was not aware that his face was radiant because he had spoken with the LORD. When Aaron and all the Israelites saw Moses, his face was radiant, and they were afraid to come near him." ... so "When Moses finished speaking to them, he put a veil over his face." Ex 34:29-30,33

But as for the engravings on stone, here again the word "letters" is "gramma" of which he said, "the letter kills". For the Law kills. "Once I was alive apart from law; but when the commandment came, sin sprang to life and I died. I found that the very commandment that was intended to bring life actually brought death." Rom 7:9,10

This is the main distinction between the Old and New Covenant. The Old brings condemnation. The New brings righteousness. The Old was only intended to bring people to a sense of hopelessness by revealing the awesome holiness of God, his hatred of sin and his judicial nature. But what a priviledge to be involved in propagating the New the central theme of which is God's grace, forgiveness of sins and eternal life. For "no one will be declared righteous in his sight by observing the law; rather, through the law we become conscious of sin. But now a righteousness from God, apart from law, has been made known, to which the Law and the Prophets testify. This righteousness from God comes through faith in Jesus Christ to all who believe. There is no difference, for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and are justified freely by his grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus." Rom 3:20-24


Hope leads to Boldness

2Cor 3:12-16  Therefore, since we have such a hope, we are very bold. We are not like Moses, who would put a veil over his face to keep the Israelites from gazing at it while the radiance was fading away. But their minds were made dull, for to this day the same veil remains when the old covenant is read. It has not been removed, because only in Christ is it taken away.  Even to this day when Moses is read, a veil covers their hearts. But whenever anyone turns to the Lord, the veil is taken away.

Ever notice how hope affects one's enthusiasm, and consequently one's courage? If you anticipate a good outcome, you will be enthusiastic and overcome fears counter to that outcome. Paul was bold in confronting sin in the Corinthian church with an unveiled frankness of speech.

There was little hope under the Old Covenant. Most sins were punishable by death, sacrifices of atonement being only for sins of ignorance, and many sins, like polygamy, were simply overlooked by the Law because God knew that people were too hardened of heart to come anywhere close to living up to His standards. (Mark 10:5) Consequently there was a reluctance among the Israelites to deal with sinfulness among themselves, and especially among their family members. But under the New Covenant there was hope because all sin was forgiveable. Therefore one could deal with it boldly as there was hope. And one can now call sin for what it is and not hide behind a veil.

To this day the meaning behind the Old Covenant alludes the Jews. For they see it only as rules and regulations and miss the purpose behind it. As Paul said, "the natural man does not receive the things of the Spirit of God, for they are foolishness to him; nor can he know them, because they are spiritually discerned" 1Cor 2:14 But when a person turns to the Lord, then also comes revelation of the meaning behind the Old Covenant.

How can a person turn to the Lord without understanding the Old Covenant? Understanding the Old Covenant is not necessary for salvation, though it drives one to conviction of sin. But it's not necessary to understand the spiritual meaning and purpose behind the Old Covenant to turn to the Lord. But the New Covenant is not veiled in allegory. Rather it's clearly preached so that anyone can understand.


Transformed by the Spirit

2Cor 3:17,18 Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. And we, who with unveiled faces all reflect the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his likeness with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Spirit of the Lord.

Some take the phrase "the Lord is the Spirit" as a justification for a theology of "modalism" in which the Father, Son and Holy Spirit are not distinct persons, but rather different modes of God. But to do so is to overlook almost every other verse which speaks of the Father, Son and Spirit. Jesus is spoken of as being in heaven sitting at the Father's right hand, having sent the Holy Spirit - the Spirit of Christ - into the believers. Throughout the New Testament these are spoken of as distinct persons. And even here a modalistic interpretation doesn't hold for the very next phrase is "the Spirit of the Lord". So how can the Spirit be "of the Lord" if in fact it is the Lord? But the Spirit is a proxy server to the Lord, an ambassador. As such he represents the Lord's will in all matters.

He brings up the Spirit because he's talking about the "ministry of the Spirit" mentioned earlier in 2Cor 3:6 and "the Spirit gives life" in 2Cor 3:8 and all the way back to chapter 1 he said, "He set his seal of ownership on us, and put his Spirit in our hearts as a deposit, guaranteeing what is to come." 2Cor 1:22 The Christian life and Christian ministry is led by the Spirit of God.

Concerning freedom, he warned the Galatians getting caught up in legalism, "It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery." Gal 5:1 But also, "You, my brothers, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the sinful nature; rather, serve one another in love." Gal 5:13  The idea is to not live the Christian life as if it were merely a matter of following rules and regulations, but rather to do what is right because it is the right thing to do - to be transformed into the likeness of Christ and walk according to that new nature as the Spirit directs. Thus the Christian life would come naturally to those born of the Spirit of God just as the Christian life is natural to the Lord himself. For the transformation - the regeneration - comes from the Spirit of the Lord.



The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 31,2010