翻譯: English 中文 GB

哥林多後書 第四章

我們就不喪膽

4:1 我們既然蒙憐憫,受了這職分,就不喪膽

我們以清潔的良心事奉

4:2 乃將那些暗昧可恥的事棄絕了,
  不行詭詐,不謬講神的道理。
  只將真理表明出來
  好在神面前把自己薦與各人的良心。

我們把光從黑暗媟茈X來

4:3 如果我們的福音蒙蔽,就是蒙蔽在滅亡的人身上。
4:4 此等不信之人,被這世界的神弄瞎了心眼,
  不叫基督榮耀福音的光照著他們。基督本是神的像。

4:5 我們原不是傳自己,乃是傳基督耶穌為主,
  并且自己因耶穌作你們的仆人。

4:6 那吩咐光從黑暗媟茈X來的神,【創世紀 1:3】
  已經照在我們心堙A
  叫我們得知神榮耀的光,顯在耶穌基督的面上。

我們的死顯明耶穌的生

4:7 我們有這寶貝放在瓦器堙A
  要顯明這莫大的能力,
  是出于神,不是出于我們。

4:8 我們四面受敵,卻不被困住﹔
  心塈@難,卻不至失望﹔

4:9 遭逼迫,卻不被丟棄﹔
  打倒了,卻不至死亡。

4:10 身上常帶著耶穌的死,
  使耶穌的生也顯明在我們身上。

4:11 因為我們這活著的人,是常為耶穌被交于死地,
  使耶穌的生在我們這必死的身上顯明出來,

4:12 這樣看來,死是在我們身上發動,生卻在你們身上發動。

我們的話顯明我們的深信

4:13 但我們既有信心,正如經上記著說:
  “我因信,所以如此說話。
【詩篇 116:10】
  我們也信,所以也說話。
4:14 自己知道那叫主耶穌復活的,也必叫我們與耶穌一同復活,
  并且叫我們與你們一同站在他面前。

4:15 凡事都是為你們,好叫恩惠因人多越發加增,
  感謝格外顯多,以致榮耀歸與神。

我們盼望永遠的榮耀

4:16 所以我們不喪膽
  外體雖然毀壞,內心卻一天新似一天。

4:17 我們這至暫至輕的苦楚,
  要為我們成就極重無比、永遠的榮耀。

4:18 原來我們不是顧念所見的,乃是顧念所不見的。
  因為所見的是暫時的,所不見的是永遠的。


問題討論

第1節 你自己會如何完成這個句子:“我們既然蒙憐憫,受了這職分,就……”
第2節 謬講神的道理有哪些例子?
世人為推銷他們的產品打廣告的方式與保羅的做法有什麼不同?
第3-6節 如果人們不懂或不接受福音的信息,這在多大程度上是我們的錯?
第7-12節 你覺得你的遭遇和資源是如何妨礙和限制你的事奉的?你所面臨的敵對來自哪堙H再同樣看一看耶穌和耶穌的事奉。你與耶穌在這些方面有什麼相同之處?從何種意義上講你去事奉的方式也是其信息的一部分?
第13-15節 你說的哪種話是因為你信,或者說你認為因為信會說哪種話?保羅在此指的是說哪種話?(只是對別的基督徒說,還是也包括對不信的人傳道?)
第16-18節 盼望未來的什麼目前所不見的事激勵你把信付之于應用?

注釋

坦然地將真理表明出來

哥林多後書 4:1-2 我們既然蒙憐憫,受了這職分,就不喪膽。乃將那些暗昧可恥的事棄絕了,不行詭詐,不謬講神的道理。只將真理表明出來,好在神面前把自己薦與各人的良心。

因為看到無論我們是否參與,基督都將建立他的教會,我們就不喪膽。參與一個根基不可動搖,果子永遠長存的事奉是一個榮耀。沒有任何事比基督福音的事工和把他的身體建造成熟更有意義,更不可少,或更造就人。“所以我們不喪膽。外體雖然毀壞,內心卻一天新似一天。”【哥林多後書 4:16】

政治家、商人和諸如此類的往往使用營銷手段、欺騙和這類的方法來影響他們的聽眾,以期擺布他們。保羅不這樣做。他沒有像歷史上那些假冒為善的宗教精英,比如那些把耶穌釘十字假的人那樣戴上一副假面具。這種人往往歪曲神的道。人們歪曲神的道的方法有很多。大多數教派都是這種歪曲的結果。有些人過分地夸大經上說的某些東西,通過夸大某些不應夸大的教義來抬高他們的教派。有些人則靠斷章取義來使他們的教派與眾不同。今天,在後現代主觀為主的文化堙A最常見的現象是把自己想說的話讀到聖經堨h,而不是尋求作者的本意。事實上彼得甚至關于保羅所寫的說:“他一切的信上,也都是講論這事。信中有些難明白的,那無學問不堅固的人強解,如強解別的經書一樣,就自取沉淪。”【彼得後書 3:16】讓聖經自己為自己說話,否則就要面對結果。

記得在第一章堳O羅說:“我們所夸的,是自己的良心,見証我們憑著神的聖潔和誠實,在世為人,不靠人的聰明,乃靠神的恩惠,向你們更是這樣。”【哥林多後書 1:12】希伯來書說:“請你們為我們禱告。因我們自覺良心無虧,愿意凡事按正道而行。”【希伯來書 13:18】要按清潔的良心行事。要以清潔無虧的良心來解釋和應用聖經。“但命令的總歸就是愛﹔這愛是從清潔的心和無虧的良心、無偽的信心生出來的。”【提摩太前書 1:5】


福音蒙蔽在滅亡的人身上

哥林多後書 4:3-4 如果我們的福音蒙蔽,就是蒙蔽在滅亡的人身上。此等不信之人,被這世界的神弄瞎了心眼,不叫基督榮耀福音的光照著他們。基督本是神的像。

“這世界的神”當然是撒但,耶穌稱他為“這世界的王”(【約翰福音 12:31;14:30】)。當然我們都曾經是忿怒的對像,隨從空中掌權者的首領。“你們死在過犯罪惡之中,他叫你們活過來。那時,你們在其中行事為人,隨從今世的風俗,順服空中掌權者的首領,就是現今在悖逆之子心中運行的邪靈。我們從前也都在他們中間,放縱肉體的私欲,隨著肉體和心中所喜好的去行,本為可怒之子,和別人一樣。”【以弗所書 2:1-3】撒但還能影響信徒的心,就如保羅在這封信媢麰籅L多的聖徒說:“我只怕你們的心或偏于邪,失去那向基督所存純一清潔的心,就像蛇用詭詐誘惑了夏娃一樣。”【哥林多後書 11:3】

至于瞎了心眼,他不是說這些人是無辜的受害者。因為我們在羅馬書媗爸魽G“因為他們雖然知道神,卻不當作神榮耀他,也不感謝他。他們的思念變為虛妄,無知的心就昏暗了。”【羅馬書 1:21】頑固的人拒絕榮耀神,神就聽任他們心和思念的敗壞。“他們既然故意不認識神,神就任憑他們存邪僻的心行那些不合理的事﹔”【羅馬書 1:28】

至于耶穌,“他是神榮耀所發的光輝,是神本體的真像,常用他權能的命令托住萬有。”【希伯來書 1:3a】


傳基督耶穌為主

哥林多後書 4:5 我們原不是傳自己,乃是傳基督耶穌為主,并且自己因耶穌作你們的仆人。

不要為自己的名努力。要為耶穌的名努力。很多人得到傳道的機會,結果卻在傳他們自己,雖然是借著“分享他們的見証”的名義。至于那些有權威的人,“務要牧養在你們中間神的群羊,按著神旨意照管他們﹔不是出于勉強,乃是出于甘心﹔也不是因為貪財,乃是出于樂意﹔也不是轄制所托付你們的,乃是作群羊的榜樣。”【彼得前書 5:2-3】無論是教會的領袖還是教會的成員都不應該過分夸大領袖的作用。對偉大的衡量不是地位。因為,“你們知道外邦人有君王為主治理他們,有大臣操權管束他們。只是在你們中間不可這樣。你們中間誰愿為大,就必作你們的用人。誰愿為首,就必作你們的仆人。正如人子來,不是要受人的服事,乃是要服事人。并且要舍命,作多人的贖價。”【馬太福音 20:25-28】我們在哥林多前書媥ヮ魽A那堛滷郱|把教會領袖抬高到名人的地位。與此相反,保羅寫到:“人應當以我們為基督的執事”【哥林多前書 4:1a】“亞波羅算什麼?保羅算什麼?無非是執事,照主所賜給他們各人的,引導你們相信。”【哥林多前書 3:5】

我們今天生活在一個娛樂──被名人所主導的文化堙C教會堳h不應該如此。耶穌基督是主,而所有其它的人都是他的仆人。“并且他替眾人死,是叫那些活著的人不再為自己活,乃為替他們死而復活的主活。”【哥林多後書 5:15】


從黑暗媟茈X來的光

哥林多後書 4:6-7 那吩咐光從黑暗媟茈X來的神(【創世紀 1:3】),已經照在我們心堙A叫我們得知神榮耀的光,顯在耶穌基督的面上。我們有這寶貝放在瓦器堙A要顯明這莫大的能力,是出于神,不是出于我們。

“那坐在黑暗堛漲囥m,看見了大光。坐在死蔭之地的人,有光發現照著他們。”【馬太福音 4:16】(【以賽亞書 9:2】)在成為基督徒時,一個人就因耶穌基督得以知道神,因為耶穌基督是神本體的真像。特別地,關于保羅對福音的理解,他寫到:“到了日期,借著傳揚的工夫,把他的道顯明了。這傳揚的責任是按著神我們救主的命令交托了我。”【提多書 1:3】

神選擇最出人意料的人。甚至耶穌都被看作不可能是彌賽亞。他被人厭棄。他的使徒都是普通的、沒有上過學的,大部分是漁民。可是,“他們見彼得、約翰的膽量,又看出他們原是沒有學問的小民,就希奇,認明他們是跟過耶穌的。”【使徒行傳 4:13】“弟兄們哪,可見你們蒙召的,按著肉體有智慧的不多,有能力的不多,有尊貴的也不多。神卻揀選了世上愚拙的,叫有智慧的羞愧﹔又揀選了世上軟弱的,叫那強壯的羞愧。神也揀選了世上卑賤的,被人厭惡的,以及那無有的,為要廢掉那有的,使一切有血氣的,在神面前一個也不能自夸。”【哥林多前書 1:26-29】


基督在愛的勞苦媗膌出來

哥林多後書 4:8-12 我們四面受敵,卻不被困住﹔心塈@難,卻不至失望﹔遭逼迫,卻不被丟棄﹔打倒了,卻不至死亡。身上常帶著耶穌的死,使耶穌的生也顯明在我們身上。因為我們這活著的人,是常為耶穌被交于死地,使耶穌的生在我們這必死的身上顯明出來,這樣看來,死是在我們身上發動,生卻在你們身上發動。

換句話說,不要把今生的困苦和患難看得過重。保羅寫到:“我想現在的苦楚,若比起將來要顯于我們的榮耀,就不足介意了。”【羅馬書 8:18】關于撒在石頭地上的種子,耶穌說:“撒在石頭地上的,就是人聽了道,當下歡喜領受。只因心堥S有根,不過是暫時的。及至為道遭了患難,或是受了逼迫,立刻就跌倒了。”【馬太福音 13:20-21】過基督徒生活就要預料到會有患難。保羅說:“不但如此,凡立志在基督耶穌媟q虔度日的也都要受逼迫。”【提摩太前書 3:12】

誰能使我們與基督的愛隔絕呢?難道是患難嗎?是困苦嗎?是逼迫嗎?是飢餓嗎?是赤身露體嗎?是危險嗎?是刀劍嗎?如經上所記:“我們為你的緣故,終日被殺﹔人看我們如將宰的羊。”然而靠著愛我們的主,在這一切的事上,已經得勝有餘了。因為我深信無論是死,是生,是天使,是掌權的,是有能的,是現在的事,是將來的事,是高處的,是低處的,是別的受造之物,都不能叫我們與神的愛隔絕﹔這愛是在我們的主基督耶穌堛滿C【羅馬書 8:35-39】

還有,我們自己應該把我們的罪性釘在十字架上。“凡屬基督耶穌的人,是已經把肉體,連肉體的邪情私欲,同釘在十字架上了。”【加拉太書 5:24】“因為情欲和聖靈相爭,聖靈和情欲相爭。這兩個是彼此相敵,使你們不能作所愿意作的。”【加拉太書 5:17】因此,我們要檢驗我們所做的每件事和我們心堛漕C個態度,在事奉主耶穌基督中對自己的罪性實行自制。


我因信,所以如此說話

哥林多後書 4:13-14 但我們既有信心,正如經上記著說:“我因信,所以如此說話。”我們也信,所以也說話。自己知道那叫主耶穌復活的,也必叫我們與耶穌一同復活,并且叫我們與你們一同站在他面前。

這引自【詩篇 116:10b】的前一部分,但無論引自哪堙A這都明顯是自明之理。一個人如果相信什麼,將會從他所說的話媗膌出來。“因為心堜狴R滿的,口奡N說出來。”【馬太福音 12:34】事實上,關于信基督,聖經說:“你若口婸{耶穌為主,心堳H神叫他從死奡_活,就必得救。”【羅馬書 10:9】并接著說:“經上說:‘凡信他的人,必不至于羞愧。’猶太人和希利尼人,并沒有分別﹔因為眾人同有一位主,他也厚待一切求告他的人。因為‘凡求告主名的,就必得救。’”【羅馬書 10:11-13】信靠他,也就是信他,是從求告他反映出來的。這也從我們對別人說的話堣洉M出來。如果你信,那麼你說話了嗎?你有沒有告訴別人他們有可能得救呢?你是否真信呢?這是不是你的經歷呢:我每逢講論的時候,就發出哀聲,我喊叫說:“有強暴和毀滅。”因為耶和華的話終日成了我的凌辱、譏刺。我若說:“我不再提耶和華,也不再奉他的名講論,”我便心媊控o似乎有燒著的火,閉塞在我骨中,我就含忍不住,不能自禁。【耶利米書 20:8-9】


感謝神的恩惠

哥林多後書 4:15 凡事都是為你們,好叫恩惠因人多越發加增,感謝格外顯多,以致榮耀歸與神。

勞苦和事奉的人所遇見的患難不但對事奉的人本身有益,而且對所有被他們的勞苦所觸及的人有益。對此的報答就是對神表示感謝。主對義人說:“并要在患難之日求告我,我必搭救你。你也要榮耀我。”【詩篇 50:15】在同一章詩篇還說:“凡以感謝獻上為祭的,便是榮耀我。那按正路而行的,我必使他得著我的救恩。”【詩篇 50:23】神想讓我們經歷他的恩惠,并以感謝神和承認他來作為報答。保羅在後面說到這對實踐康慨大方的作用時說:“叫你們凡事富足,可以多多施舍,就借著我們使感謝歸于神。因為辦這供給的事,不但補聖徒的缺乏,而且叫許多人越發感謝神。”【哥林多後書 9:11-12】所以,“凡事謝恩,因為這是神在基督耶穌埵V你們所定的旨意。”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 5:18】


這是值得的

哥林多後書 4:16-18 所以我們不喪膽。外體雖然毀壞,內心卻一天新似一天。我們這至暫至輕的苦楚,要為我們成就極重無比、永遠的榮耀。原來我們不是顧念所見的,乃是顧念所不見的。因為所見的是暫時的,所不見的是永遠的。

也就是說,盡管這些困苦,他們不喪膽,因為他們看到他們的勞苦所結的果子,并且盼望更多。保羅還說:“既是兒女,便是後嗣,就是神的後嗣,和基督同作後嗣。如果我們和他一同受苦,也必和他一同得榮耀。我想現在的苦楚,若比起將來要顯于我們的榮耀,就不足介意了。”【羅馬書 8:17-18】苦楚是免不了的,榮耀也是免不了的。“極重無比”譯自希臘文“βαροζ”,有意思的是,其它五個用到這個詞的地方都指的是負面的負擔。我想我們任何人都不會介意承擔永遠的榮耀這個負擔。天使對但以理說:“智慧人必發光如同天上的光。那使多人歸義的,必發光如星,直到永永遠遠。”【但以理書 12:3】


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

2Corinthians 4 (web)

We Do Not Lose Heart

4:1 Therefore seeing we have this ministry, even as we obtained mercy, we don't faint.

We Minister with a Clear Conscience

4:2 But we have renounced the hidden things of shame,
not walking in craftiness, nor handling the word of God deceitfully;
but by the manifestation of the truth commending ourselves
to every man's conscience in the sight of God.

We Shine the Light in the Darkness

4:3 Even if our gospel is veiled, it is veiled in those who perish;
4:4 in whom the god of this world has blinded the minds of the unbelieving,
that the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the image of God, should not dawn on them.
4:5 For we don't preach ourselves, but Christ Jesus as Lord,
and ourselves as your servants for Jesus' sake;
4:6 seeing it is God who said, "Light will shine out of darkness,"(Gen 1:3)
who has shone in our hearts,
to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ.

Our Dying Reveals Jesus' Life

4:7 But we have this treasure in clay vessels,
that the exceeding greatness of the power may be of God, and not from ourselves.
4:8 We are pressed on every side, yet not crushed; perplexed, yet not to despair;
4:9 pursued, yet not forsaken; struck down, yet not destroyed;
4:10 always carrying in the body the putting to death of the Lord Jesus,
that the life of Jesus may also be revealed in our body.
4:11 For we who live are always delivered to death for Jesus' sake,
that the life also of Jesus may be revealed in our mortal flesh.
4:12 So then death works in us, but life in you.

Our Words Reveal Our Convictions

4:13 But having the same spirit of faith, according to that which is written,
"I believed, and therefore I spoke." (Ps 116:10)
We also believe, and therefore also we speak;
4:14 knowing that he who raised the Lord Jesus will raise us also with Jesus, and will present us with you.
4:15 For all things are for your sakes, that the grace,
being multiplied through the many, may cause the thanksgiving to abound to the glory of God.

Our Hope is Set Upon Eternal Glory

4:16 Therefore we don't faint, but though our outward man is decaying,
yet our inward man is renewed day by day.
4:17 For our light affliction, which is for the moment,
works for us more and more exceedingly an eternal weight of glory;
4:18 while we don't look at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen.
For the things which are seen are temporal, but the things which are not seen are eternal.


Discussion Questions

vs 1 How would you complete the phrase for yourself: "Since through God's mercy we have this ministry, therefore ..."?
vs 2 What are examples of distortions of the Word of God?
Contrast the manner in which the world advertises it products with the way in which Paul does.
vs 3-6 To what extent is it our fault if people do not understand or receive the gospel message?
vs 7-12 In what ways do you feel limited in your circumstances and resources hindering you from your ministry. And what sources of hostility might you face? Now question the same of Jesus and his ministry. How might you indentify with Jesus in these? In what way is the manner in which you do ministry also part of its message?
vs 13-15 What kind of speaking resulted from you believing, or what kind of speaking would you expect? What kind of speaking was Paul talking about? (Just to other Christians, or also to unbelievers in evangelism?)
vs 16-18 What unseen thing in the future are you looking forward to that encourages you to endure in the application of your faith?


Comments

Present the Truth Frankly

2Cor 4:1,2 Therefore, since through God’s mercy we have this ministry, we do not lose heart. Rather, we have renounced secret and shameful ways; we do not use deception, nor do we distort the word of God. On the contrary, by setting forth the truth plainly we commend ourselves to every man’s conscience in the sight of God.

No need to lose heart in the ministry seeing as Christ will build his church whether we're involved in it or not. It's a priviledge to be in the ministry the foundation of which cannot be shaken and the fruits of which will live on for all eternity. There is nothing more significant, nothing more essential, nothing more edifying than the work of the ministry of the gospel of Christ and building up his body to maturity. "We do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day." 2Cor 4:16

Politicians, salemen and the like often use marketing techniques, deception and such to gain influence over their audience in order to manipulate them. Paul didn't do that. He didn't put on  a false face like the religious hypocrites down through history, like those who crucified Christ. Such people often will distort the Word of God. There are a variety of ways people distort the Bible. Much of denominationalism is a result of such distortions. Some will over-inflate something it says, making their group distinct by over-inflating doctrines which were not meant to be over-inflate. Others will interpret verses out of context in order to distinguish their denomination from others. And very common today in this post-modernistic subjective oriented culture is the phenomenon of reading into scripture whatever one wants it to say rather than seeking for the author's intended meaning. In fact even of Paul's writings Peter says, "His letters contain some things that are hard to understand, which ignorant and unstable people distort, as they do the other Scriptures, to their own destruction." 2Peter 3:16b Let the Bible speak for itself or face the consequences.

Remember back in chapter 1 Paul said, "Now this is our boast: Our conscience testifies that we have conducted ourselves in the world, and especially in our relations with you, in the holiness and sincerity that are from God. We have done so not according to worldly wisdom but according to God’s grace." 2Cor 1:12  In Hebrews 13:18 it says, "Pray for us. We are sure that we have a clear conscience and desire to live honorably in every way." Walk in a good conscience. Interpret and apply the Bible with a good conscience. "The goal of this command is love, which comes from a pure heart and a good conscience and a sincere faith." 1Tim 1:5 


Gospel Veiled to the Perishing

2Cor 4:3,4 And even if our gospel is veiled, it is veiled to those who are perishing. The god of this age has blinded the minds of unbelievers, so that they cannot see the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the image of God.

The "god of this age" is of course Satan whom Jesus refers to the prince of this world (John 12:31; 14:30) Of course we were all at one time objects of wrath following the ruler of the kingdom of the air. "You were dead in your transgressions and sins, in which you used to live when you followed the ways of this world and of the ruler of the kingdom of the air, the spirit who is now at work in those who are disobedient. All of us also lived among them at one time, gratifying the cravings of our sinful nature and following its desires and thoughts. Like the rest, we were by nature objects of wrath." Eph 2:1-3 Satan can also affect the minds of believers as Paul says to the Corinthians in this same letters, "I am afraid that just as Eve was deceived by the serpent’s cunning, your minds may somehow be led astray from your sincere and pure devotion to Christ." 2Cor 11:3

As for being blinded, he is not speaking of such people being innocent victims. For we read in Romans 1:21 that "although they knew God, they neither glorified him as God nor gave thanks to him, but their thinking became futile and their foolish hearts were darkened." The obstinate refusal to glorify God as God leads to the corruption of the heart and of the mind. For "since they did not think it worthwhile to retain the knowledge of God, he gave them over to a depraved mind, to do what ought not to be done." Rom 1:28

As for Jesus, "The Son is the radiance of God’s glory and the exact representation of his being, sustaining all things by his powerful word." Heb 1:3


Preach Jesus as LORD

2Cor 4:5 For we do not preach ourselves, but Jesus Christ as Lord, and ourselves as your servants for Jesus’ sake.

Don't try to make a name for yourself. Make a name for Jesus. For many given the opportunity to preach end up preaching about themselves, though it may be under the guise of  "sharing their testimony." As for those in authority, "Be shepherds of God’s flock that is under your care, serving as overseers— not because you must, but because you are willing, as God wants you to be; not greedy for money, but eager to serve; not lording it over those entrusted to you, but being examples to the flock." 1Peter 5:2,3 Neither church leaders nor their constiuents should overinflate the role of leadership. Status is not a measure of greatness. For "You know that the rulers of the Gentiles lord it over them, and their high officials exercise authority over them. Not so with you. Instead, whoever wants to become great among you must be your servant, and whoever wants to be first must be your slave— just as the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many." Mt 20:25-28 We learned in 1Corinthians that the church was elevating leaders to celebrity status. In contrast Paul wrotes, "men ought to regard us as servants of Christ" 1Cor 4:1a "What, after all, is Apollos? And what is Paul? Only servants, through whom you came to believe— as the Lord has assigned to each his task." 1Cor 3:5

Today we live in an entertainment - celebrity oriented culture. This should not be so in the church. Jesus Christ is Lord and everyone else his servant. "He died for all, that those who live should no longer live for themselves but for him who died for them and was raised again." 2Cor 5:15


Be a Light Shining out of Darkness

2Cor 4:6,7 For God, who said, "Let light shine out of darkness," (Gen 1:3) made his light shine in our hearts to give us the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Christ. But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us.

"The people living in darkness have seen a great light; on those living in the land of the shadow of death a light has dawned." Mt 4:16 (Is 9:2) Becoming a Christian one becomes enlightened in the knowledge of God in view of Jesus Christ who is the image of God. In particular concerning Paul's understanding of the gospel he writes, "at God's appointed season he brought his word to light through the preaching entrusted to me by the command of God our Savior" Titus 1:3

God chose the most unlikely of characters. Even Jesus was reckoned an unlikely candidate for the Messiah. He was despised among men. His apostles were ordinary unschooled, largely fishermen. But "When they saw the courage of Peter and John and realized that they were unschooled, ordinary men, they were astonished and they took note that these men had been with Jesus." Acts 4:13   "Brothers, think of what you were when you were called. Not many of you were wise by human standards; not many were influential; not many were of noble birth. But God chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise; God chose the weak things of the world to shame the strong. He chose the lowly things of this world and the despised things— and the things that are not— to nullify the things that are, so that no one may boast before him." 1Cor 1:26-29


Christ Revealed in Labors of Love

2Cor 4:8-12 We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed. We always carry around in our body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be revealed in our body.  For we who are alive are always being given over to death for Jesus’ sake, so that his life may be revealed in our mortal body. So then, death is at work in us, but life is at work in you.

In other words, don't take the problems and troubles in this life too seriously. Paul writes, "I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us." Rom 8:18 Concerning the seed that fell on rocky soil Jesus said is he "who hears the word and at once receives it with joy.  But since he has no root, he lasts only a short time. When trouble or persecution comes because of the word, he quickly falls away." Mt 13:20,21 Expect trouble with regards to living the Christian life. Paul said, "everyone who wants to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted" 2Tim 3:12

Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword? As it is written: "For your sake we face death all day long; we are considered as sheep to be slaughtered." No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers,  neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.
Rom 8:35-39

Furthermore we ourselves should be crucifying our sinful nature. "Those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the sinful nature with its passions and desires." Gal 5:24 "For the sinful nature desires what is contrary to the Spirit, and the Spirit what is contrary to the sinful nature. They are in conflict with each other, so that you do not do what you want." Gal 5:17 Therefore we are to scrutinize everything we do and every attitude of our heart, exercising self-control over our sinful nature in service to the LORD Jesus Christ.


I Speak because I Believe

2Cor 4:13,14  It is written: "I believed; therefore I have spoken." With that same spirit of faith we also believe and therefore speak, because we know that the one who raised the Lord Jesus from the dead will also raise us with Jesus and present us with you in his presence.

The quote is from the first part of Ps 116:10 but regardless where it's from, it's an obvious truism. If a person believes something, that will be reflected in what they say. "For out of the overflow of the heart the mouth speaks." Mt 12:34 In fact concerning faith in Christ it says, "That if you confess with your mouth, "Jesus is Lord," and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved." Rom 10:9 and goes on to say, "Anyone who trusts in him will never be put to shame." For there is no difference between Jew and Gentile— the same Lord is Lord of all and richly blesses all who call on him,  for, "Everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved." Rom 10:11-13 To trust in him, which is to believe in him, is reflect by calling upon him. But it is also reflected in what we say to other people. If you have come to believe, have you spoken? Have you told others of the faith so that they may be saved? Or do you really believer afterall? Or is this your experience: Whenever I speak, I cry out proclaiming violence and destruction. So the word of the LORD has brought me insult and reproach all day long. But if I say, "I will not mention him or speak any more in his name," his word is in my heart like a fire, a fire shut up in my bones. I am weary of holding it in; indeed, I cannot. Jer 20:8,9


Be Thankful for God's Grace

2Cor 4:15 All this is for your benefit, so that the grace that is reaching more and more people may cause thanksgiving to overflow to the glory of God.

The labor and difficulties faced by those who minister is intended to benefit not simply themselves but for all those who are touched by their labor. And what is primarily desired in return is simply thanksgiving to God. The Lord says to the righteous, "Call upon me in the day of trouble; I will deliver you, and you will honor me." Ps50:15 and in the same Psalm "He who sacrifices thank offerings honors me, and he prepares the way so that I may show him the salvation of God." Ps 50:23 God wants us to experience his grace and in return to thank God, acknowledging Him. Later Paul talks about this effect with regards to the practice of generosity, when he says, "You will be made rich in every way so that you can be generous on every occasion, and through us your generosity will result in thanksgiving to God. This service that you perform is not only supplying the needs of God‘s people but is also overflowing in many expressions of thanks to God." 2Cor 9:11,12 Now "give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God‘s will for you in Christ Jesus." 1Th 5:18 


It's Worth the Trouble

2Cor 4:16-18 Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.

That is, they were not losing heart because despite the difficulties, they were seeing fruitful results of their labor and anticipating more. And again as Paul said, "if we are children, then we are heirs— heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings in order that we may also share in his glory. I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us." Rom 8:17,18 Suffering comes with the territory as does glory. Funny that the 5 other places the Gk. word for "weight" or "outweighs" (NIV) is used are all negative connotations of burden. Having an eternal burden of glory is a burden I don't think any of us would mind bearing. The angel told Daniel, "Those who are wise will shine like the brightness of the heavens, and those who lead many to righteousness, like the stars for ever and ever." Dan 12:3



The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Aug 01,2010