翻譯: English 中文 GB

帖撒羅尼迦後書
第三章

禱告

3:1 弟兄們,我還有話說:

   請你們為我們禱告,好叫主的道理快快行開,得著榮耀,
   正如在你們中間一樣。

3:2 也叫我們脫離無理之惡人的手﹔
   因為人不都是有信心。

3:3 但主是信實的,要堅固你們,
   保護你們脫離那惡者(或作“脫離凶惡”)。


3:4 我們靠主深信你們現在是遵行我們所吩咐的,
   後來也必要遵行。

3:5 愿主引導你們的心,叫你們愛神并學基督的忍耐。

關于杜絕閑懶的命令

3:6 弟兄們,我們奉主耶穌基督的名吩咐你們,
   凡有弟兄不按規矩而行,
   不遵守從我們所受的教訓,就當遠離他。

3:7 你們自己原知道應當怎樣效法我們。
   因為我們在你們中間,未嘗不按規矩而行。

3:8 也未嘗白吃人的飯。
   倒是辛苦勞碌,晝夜作工,免得叫你們一人受累。

3:9 這并不是因我們沒有權柄,
   乃是要給你們作榜樣,叫你們效法我們。

3:10 我們在你們那堛漁伬唌A曾吩咐你們說:
   “若有人不肯作工,就不可吃飯。”

3:11 因我們聽說,在你們中間有人不按規矩而行,
   什麼工都不作,反倒專管閑事。


3:12 我們靠主耶穌基督,吩咐勸戒這樣的人,
   要安靜作工,吃自己的飯。


3:13 弟兄們,你們行善不可喪志。
3:14 若有人不聽從我們這信上的話,
   要記下他,不和他交往,叫他自覺羞愧。

3:15 但不要以他為仇人,要勸他如弟兄。

告別

3:16 愿賜平安的主,隨時隨事親自給你們平安。
   愿主常與你們眾人同在。

3:17 我保羅親筆問你們安。
   凡我的信都以此為記,我的筆跡就是這樣。

3:18 愿我們主耶穌基督的恩常與你們眾人同在。


問題討論


注釋

為傳道的人禱告

帖撒羅尼迦後書 3:1-2 弟兄們,我還有話說:請你們為我們禱告,好叫主的道理快快行開,得著榮耀,正如在你們中間一樣。也叫我們脫離無理之惡人的手﹔因為人不都是有信心。

雖然猜測神是如何參與使福音傳開,使神像在帖撒羅尼迦人堥獐邞漕儥a耀這個過程很有意思,但這些是合理的,而且的確是被應允并被推荐的禱告內容。我們不應該滿足于福音的緩慢傳播,而應該為其快快傳開而禱告。

然而,使用“快快行開”保羅說的不是膚淺地傳播主的道理。在現在這個快速的世界堙A我們要當心,不要像對待快餐一樣對待福音。而要清晰,全面地傳播福音。(假如你要使徒約翰給你講他的福音,他會給你講整整二十一章。)而且要大膽地去講,那樣才會有人聽。在福音被接受之後,要采取協調一致的行動使其建立在信徒的生活堙C保羅往往在一個地方花數年的時間傳道,個別地帶門徒。所以當我們為福音快快行開禱告時,也務必福音能夠被全面地傳播和理解禱告,為那些傳福音的人禱告,愿他們能夠受到尊重,并像保羅對帖撒羅尼迦那樣,投身于那些接受福音的人的建立和成熟。

同時,愿人們在接受福音時不只是把它當做有趣的觀點,而是把它做為改變生命的信念,就像帖撒羅尼迦的那些信徒那樣。這是聖靈所作的工。現在,這樣的對福音的接受很少見于眾人之間,就連在所謂“基督教化”的國家堣]少見,更不用說在那些封閉基督教和對基督教充滿敵意的文化堙C我們離新約堸繴徒的榜樣是多麼的遠啊!所以,在這方面有許多需要我們禱告的。

同時禱告愿傳道的人能夠信靠神來保護他們脫離無理惡人的手,神會在這方面為他們顯出他的大能。


忠實地保護我們脫離撒但

帖撒羅尼迦後書 3:3 但主是信實的,要堅固你們,保護你們脫離那惡者(或作“脫離凶惡”)。

這是主在他與信徒的關系中主動承擔起的一件事。他保護我們脫離那惡者,并在這個過程中堅固我們。這并不是說我們不會遇到魔鬼的手腕,擔我們不會因之遭損。比如主曾對彼得說:“西門,西門,撒但想要得著你們,好篩你們,像篩麥子一樣。但我已經為你祈求,叫你不至于失了信心。你回頭以後,要堅固你的弟兄。”【路加福音 22:31-32】在這個過程中神堅固了他的百姓。他還幫助他們維持適當程度的謙卑。保羅寫到:“又恐怕我因所得的啟示甚大,就過于自高,所以有一根刺加在我肉體上,就是撒但的差役要攻擊我,免得我過于自高。”【哥林多後書 12:7】所以,因為主是信實的,我們不但不受傷害,反而在遭受撒但的攻擊時得益。

增加這種保護的諸多辦法之一就是禱告。

首先主為我們禱告說:
“我不求你叫他們離開世界,只求你保守他們脫離那惡者(或作“脫離罪惡”)。”【約翰福音 17:15】

我們也為我們自己禱告。

“不叫我們遇見試探,救我們脫離凶惡(或作“脫離惡者”)。”【馬太福音 6:13】

“此外又拿著信德當作藤牌,可以滅盡那惡者一切的火箭。”【以弗所書 6:16】


相信你的順服

帖撒羅尼迦後書 3:4 我們靠主深信你們現在是遵行我們所吩咐的,後來也必要遵行。

保羅還給一個擁有奴仆的基督徒寫信,求他給他的一個奴仆自由,他說:“我寫信給你,深信你必順服,知道你所要行的,必過于我所說的。”【腓利門書 1:21】他寫信給加拉太的基督徒,糾正關于教義的問題,他寫到:“我在主堳靮H你們必不懷別樣的心,但攪擾你們的,無論是誰,必擔當他的罪名。”【加拉太書 5:10】他寫信給哥林多的教會,他們遵行了他給他們的第一封信,他寫到:“我如今歡喜,能在凡事上為你們放心。”【哥林多後書 7:16】

這不是說保羅信靠人。而是說,他知道當一個人經歷了真正的轉變,成為由神生的,通過他們的悔改實踐了他們使人得救的信,公開地承認基督并表示對他的效忠,神就會堅持不懈地握住這個人的心,以至這個人不可避免地會按神的道改變自己的生活方式“我深信那在你們心堸吨F善工的,必成全這工,直到耶穌基督的日子。”【腓立比書 1:6】

如果我們是在傳神的道,那麼我們就相信:“認識神的就聽從我們。”【約翰一書 4:6a】同樣,如果你在這個信堙A那麼你就可以相信你將繼續地按其生活。“凡從神生的就不犯罪,因神的道(原文作“種”)存在他心﹔他也不能犯罪,因為他是由神生的。”【約翰一書 3:9】你可以相信這一點。


愿主引導你們的心

帖撒羅尼迦後書 3:5 愿主引導你們的心,叫你們愛神并學基督的忍耐。

“引導”譯自希臘文“κατευθυνω”一詞,意思是使變直,引導,指引,這個詞還被用來表示去掉障礙的意思。當信徒的心想望愛和在基督徒生活中忍耐的時候,會遇到種種障礙。耶穌在撒種的比喻婸”鴗@類信徒:“那落在荊棘堛滿A就是人聽了道,走開以後,被今生的思慮錢財宴樂擠住了,便結不出成熟的子粒來。”【路加福音 8:14】所以,當信徒結合神的道,禱告,和基督徒間的友愛來努力過基督徒的生活時,神會引導他們的心離開這樣的障礙,雖然情況也許會改變,也許不會改變。關于忍耐,雅各寫到:“因為知道你們的信心經過試驗就生忍耐。”【雅各書 1:3】

愿主引導你們的心,“好使你們當我們主耶穌同他眾聖徒來的時候,在我們父神面前,心堸磼T,成為聖潔,無可責備。”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 3:13】


遠離懶惰的基督徒

帖撒羅尼迦後書 3:6 弟兄們,我們奉主耶穌基督的名吩咐你們,凡有弟兄不按規矩而行,不遵守從我們所受的教訓,就當遠離他。

除了“濫交是敗壞善行。”【哥林多前書 15:33】這個問題之外,遠離懶惰的人也是糾正他們行為的一種方法。過于遷就懶惰的人不是愛,那樣即不能造就自己也不能造就懶惰的人。所以保羅寫到:“我們又勸弟兄們,要警戒不守規矩的人。”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 5:14】經上還寫到:“因人懶惰,房頂塌下。因人手懶,房屋滴漏。”【傳道書 10:18】不要讓你們的教會變成那個樣子。因為信心的應用需要勤奮。在天資的寓言堙A那個懶惰的人把給他的銀子埋藏在地堙A而不是把它派上用場。主人對他說:“你這又惡又懶的仆人!”【馬太福音 25:26】所以,“并且不懈怠,總要效法那些憑信心和忍耐承受應許的人。”【希伯來書 6:12】


作工免得叫別人受累

帖撒羅尼迦後書 3:7-10 你們自己原知道應當怎樣效法我們。因為我們在你們中間,未嘗不按規矩而行。也未嘗白吃人的飯。倒是辛苦勞碌,晝夜作工,免得叫你們一人受累。這并不是因我們沒有權柄,乃是要給你們作榜樣,叫你們效法我們。我們在你們那堛漁伬唌A曾吩咐你們說,若有人不肯作工,就不可吃飯。

的確,“主也是這樣命定,叫傳福音的靠著福音養生。”【哥林多前書 9:14】這是他們合法的權力。但保羅說:“這權柄我全沒有用過。”【哥林多前書 9:15】雖然有些人按耶穌所允許的,因事奉得到報酬,但也有人事奉只是為了賺錢。但保羅則不因他的事奉而獲取任何錢財。他說:“我們不像那許多人,為利混亂神的道。”【哥林多後書 2:17】事實上,他對以弗所的長老們說:“我未曾貪圖一個人的金、銀、衣服。我這兩只手,常供給我和同人的需用,這是你們自己知道的。我凡事給你們作榜樣,叫你們知道,應當這樣勞苦,扶助軟弱的人,又當記念主耶穌的話,說:‘施比受更為有福。’”【使徒行傳 20:33-35】

不為事奉收取費用是一個慷慨大方的行為。如果能夠免費地做基督徒的事奉同時又有一份普通的工作就更好,這樣你就不但能夠解決自己的所需,還能幫助別人。因為你沒有不必要地增加其它基督徒的負擔,他們就可以用他們的資源去幫助那些真正有需的。雖然不是所有的人都有機會這樣做。事實上,這做法在保羅看來是標准的,正常的。而且他自己這樣去做,給我們樹立了一個榜樣。

從他的兩封信可以看出,帖撒羅尼迦的基督徒很熱心于基督徒生活,但對屬世的事則顯得有些懶惰。所以,不要讓你的肉身使你誤認為你的屬靈的生活可以做為你懶惰的借口。

至于“若有人不肯作工”,其意思不是“如果一個人不作工”。“不肯”譯自希臘文“θελω”,是意愿的意思。有些人不工作是因為他們由于機會或能力的原因不能工作。他在這堳的不是這些人。而有些人是因為懶而拒絕工作。我曾收留過一個無家可歸的人,督促他去找份工作。他找到一份開出租車的工作。但干了一天就不干了。他辭了那份工因為他覺的太無聊了。工作會很辛苦。而且與屬世的哲學相反,我們工作不是為了要從中感到“滿足”。工作會很辛苦,所以我們把它叫作“工作”。保羅說到他晝夜“作工”。不能因為工作沒有樂趣,就以之為借口不去工作。


要安靜作工,吃自己的飯

帖撒羅尼迦後書 3:11-12 因我們聽說,在你們中間有人不按規矩而行,什麼工都不作,反倒專管閑事。我們靠主耶穌基督,吩咐勸戒這樣的人,要安靜作工,吃自己的飯。

“好管閑事”譯自希臘文“περιεργαζομαι”一詞,這個詞有兩個意思。一個意思是忙于一些不必要的細瑣小事,而拖拖拉拉地不去作該作的事﹔另一個意思是對別人的事過于感興趣,也就是說好管閑事。比如說保羅在說到年輕的寡婦易犯的一個毛病時說:

“并且她們又習慣懶惰,挨家閑游﹔不但是懶惰,又說長道短,好管閑事,說些不當說的話。”【提摩太前書 5:13】

有句俗話說:“閑懶是魔鬼的作坊。”罪往往在我們空閑的時候悄然而至。所以,“又要立志作安靜人,辦自己的事,親手作工,正如我們從前所吩咐你們的,叫你們可以向外人行事端正,自己也就沒有什麼缺乏了。”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 4:11-12】


不和他交往,叫他自覺羞愧

帖撒羅尼迦後書 3:13-15 弟兄們,你們行善不可喪志。若有人不聽從我們這信上的話,要記下他,不和他交往,叫他自覺羞愧。但不要以他為仇人,要勸他如弟兄。

他再一次提起不和不遵從神的道的基督徒交往的問題。但不應該把他們視為敵人,雖然結果會的確如此。但那將由他們對這種態度和警告的反應顯示出來。耶穌說:“我的羊聽我的聲音﹔我也認識他們,他們也跟著我。”【約翰福音 10:27】雖然這種刺激需要有不同的程度。在【哥林多前書】奡ㄗ鴘漕滬虓d性的不道德的人。保羅命令說:“若有稱為弟兄是行淫亂的,或貪婪的,或拜偶像的,或辱罵的,或醉酒的,或勒索的,這樣的人不可與他相交,就是與他吃飯都不可。”【哥林多前書 5:11】顯然,從【帖撒羅尼迦後書】我們看到,這堶掄晱]括懶惰。耶穌也肯定了不與交往的這個辦法,他說:“若是不聽他們,就告訴教會。若是不聽教會,就看他像外邦人和稅吏一樣。”【馬太福音 18:17】

【哥林多後書】我們看到這個辦法的確起了作用。這個人悔改了。事實上【哥林多後書】提到關于不和某些基督徒交往這個過程的另一個問題。保羅在【哥林多後書】詳細地說到,當這個人悔改之後,他被徹底地饒恕,重新被接納到基督徒中。有些人會覺得不與犯罪的基督徒交往很難,因為他們是自己的朋友。但也有些人會覺得與悔改的人重新和好很難。這兩種人都需要明白這是一個幫助犯罪的基督徒潔淨的過程,而不是為了永遠地斷絕關系。一但悔改了,就必須歡迎這樣的基督徒回到基督徒弟兄中來。


隨時隨事親自給你們平安

帖撒羅尼迦後書 3:16-18 愿賜平安的主,隨時隨事親自給你們平安。愿主常與你們眾人同在。我保羅親筆問你們安。凡我的信都以此為記。我的筆跡就是這樣。愿我們主耶穌基督的恩,常與你們眾人同在。

主在那些方面給我們帶來平安呢?

與神的平安

“我們既因信稱義,就借著我們的主耶穌基督得與神相和。”【羅馬書 5:1】

與基督徒弟兄的平安

“所以,我們務要追求和睦的事與彼此建立德行的事。”【羅馬書 14:19】

“還有末了的話,愿弟兄們都喜樂,要作完全人,要受安慰,要同心合意,要彼此和睦。如此,仁愛和平的神必常與你們同在。”【哥林多後書 13:11】

與敵人的平安

“人所行的若蒙耶和華喜悅,耶和華也使他的仇敵與他和好。”【箴言 16:7】

“你們要追求與眾人和睦,并要追求聖潔。非聖潔沒有人能見主。”【希伯來書 12:14】

“若是能行,總要盡力與眾人和睦。”【羅馬書 12:18】

心堛漸郎w

“應當一無挂慮,只要凡事借著禱告,祈求和感謝,將你們所要的告訴神。神所賜出人意外的平安,必在基督耶穌堙A保守你們的心懷意念。”【腓立比書 4:6-7】

他還召我們作使人和平的人

“并且使人和平的,是用和平所栽種的義果。”【雅各書 3:18】

至于他的筆跡,保羅大多口述他書信的內容。這可能是因為他在事奉的早期染上了眼疾。(見【加拉太書 4:13】查經)他親筆問安更加重了這些信的親切感。



庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Jul 29, 2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

2Thessalonians 3 (web)

Prayer

3:1 Finally, brothers, pray for us,
that the word of the Lord may spread rapidly and be glorified,
even as also with you;
3:2 and that we may be delivered from unreasonable and evil men; for not all have faith.
3:3 But the Lord is faithful, who will establish you, and guard you from the evil one.
3:4 We have confidence in the Lord concerning you,
that you both do and will do the things we command.

3:5 May the Lord direct your hearts into the love of God, and into the patience of Christ.

Commands Dealing with the Idle

3:6 Now we command you, brothers, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ,
that you withdraw yourselves from every brother who walks in rebellion,
and not after the tradition which they received from us.
3:7 For you know how you ought to imitate us.
For we didn't behave ourselves rebelliously among you,
3:8 neither did we eat bread from anyone's hand without paying for it,
but in labor and travail worked night and day, that we might not burden any of you;
3:9 not because we don't have the right,
but to make ourselves an example to you, that you should imitate us.
3:10 For even when we were with you, we commanded you this:
"If anyone will not work, neither let him eat."

3:11 For we hear of some who walk among you in rebellion,
who don't work at all, but are busybodies.

3:12 Now those who are that way, we command and exhort in the Lord Jesus Christ,
that with quietness they work, and eat their own bread.

3:13 But you, brothers, don't be weary in doing well.

3:14 If any man doesn't obey our word in this letter, note that man,
that you have no company with him, to the end that he may be ashamed.
3:15 Don't count him as an enemy, but admonish him as a brother.

Farewell

3:16 Now may the Lord of peace himself give you peace at all times in all ways.
The Lord be with you all.

3:17 The greeting of me, Paul, with my own hand,
which is the sign in every letter: this is how I write.
3:18 The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you all. Amen.


Discussion Questions

  • Recall a number of Christian workers involved in the communication of the gospel and pray that they may be protected from evil men and that the word may spread rapidly through them.
  • What kind of strengthening and protection do we have from Satan?
  • Where does obedience to commands come in your practice of the Christian life, or do you feel that such a concept is too legalistic?
  • What would be an example of a brother who choses to be "idle" in the sense Paul means?
  • How should Christians treat such a brother in Christ?
  • How does this conflict with the popular idea of "love" in the modern Christian community?
  • After reading this chapter, if you were really serious about "entering the ministry", what view would you have towards secular work?
  • What does it mean in vs 11 by "? (xref Tim 5:13)
  • What additional things besides being idle would a basis upon which to disassociate from other Christians?

  • How would you practically carry out Paul's commands?

    Comments

    A Missionary Prayer

    2Thess 3:1,2  Finally, brothers, pray for us that the message of the Lord may spread rapidly and be honored, just as it was with you. And pray that we may be delivered from wicked and evil men, for not everyone has faith.

    While it's interesting to speculate about how exactly God involves himself in the process of causing the message to spread rapidly and be honored as it had been in Thessalonica, the fact is that these are legitimate and indeed authorized and recommended subjects of prayer. We should not be content with the slow dissemination of the gospel, but rather should pray for its rapid spread.

    However, in saying "rapidly" Paul did not mean to imply shallowness to the communication of the message. In this fast-paced world we should be careful not treating the gospel like fast-food. Rather the gospel is to be communicated clearly and comprehensively. (If you asked the apostle John to preach his gospel he would go on for 21 chapters) And it should be communicated boldly, with an effort made to win a hearing. And when embraced, there should be a concerted effort to establish it in the lives of the believers. Paul would often spend years in a location preaching and discipling individuals. So while we pray that the message may spread rapidly, we pray also that it may preached and understood comprehensively, and that those who spread the message may be respected and committted to the establishment and maturing of those who accept the message, as Paul set forth in his example with the Thessalonians.

    Likewise, pray that the message may be embraced not simply as an interesting idea, but as a life-changing conviction, as it had been among the Thessalonians. This is a work of the Holy Spirit. These days such an embracing of the gospel is yet to be experienced among many, even among "Christianized" countries, let alone those cultures which are closed and hostile to the gospel in which Christians seemingly cower in secrecy. How far have we come from the example of New Testament Christianity! So there's plenty of room for prayer along these lines.

    And pray that the messengers may place their confidence in God in protecting them from wicked and evil men, and that God would show himself to be strong on their behalf in this regards.



    Faithfully protected from Satan

    2Thess 3:3  But the Lord is faithful, and he will strengthen and protect you from the evil one.

    This is one thing that the Lord has committed himself to in hs relationship with believers. He protects us from the devil and strengthens us in the process. This does not mean that we will not be subject to the devil's hand, but it means that we need not be damaged by it. For example at one time he said to Peter, "Simon, Simon, Satan has asked to sift you as wheat.  But I have prayed for you, Simon, that your faith may not fail. And when you have turned back, strengthen your brothers." Luke 22:13,32 In the process God strengths his people. He also helps them to maintain a proper level of humility. Paul writes, "To keep me from becoming conceited because of these surpassingly great revelations, there was given me a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me." 2Cor 12:7 Thus due to the Lord's faithfulness, rather than being harmed, believers actually benefit from such attacks of Satan.

    Among other things, to enhance this protection is prayer.

    Firstly the Lord prays for us:
    Joh 17:15  My prayer is not that you take them out of the world but that you protect them from the evil one.
    And we also pray for ourselves
    Mt 6:13  And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from the evil one.

    And "in addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one." Eph 6:16



    Confident of your Obedience

    2Thess 3:4 We have confidence in the Lord that you are doing and will continue to do the things we command.

    Elsewhere Paul wrote to a Christian slave owner requesting him to free his slave, saying,  "Confident of your obedience, I write to you, knowing that you will do even more than I ask." Phm 1:21 Of the Christians in Galatia of whom he was correcting concerning matters of doctrine, he writes,  "I am confident in the Lord that you will take no other view." Gal 5:10 And to the Corinthians who complied to his first letter he wrote, "I am glad I can have complete confidence in you." 2Cor 7:16

    It is not that Paul had confidence in men. But rather that Paul recognized that once a person has gone through a genuine conversion experience, being born of God, having exercised the faith that saves through their repentance, their public acknowledgement of Christ and allegience to him, God takes a hold of that person's heart and conscience in such a persistent manner that it is inevitable for such people to conform their lifestyle to his ways. I am "confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus." Php 1:6

    If we are preaching the Word of God we can be confident that "whoever knows God listens to us." 1John 4:6b And likewise if you are in the faith, then you can be confident that you will continue in it living accordingly. "No one who is born of God will continue to sin, because God’s seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been born of God." 1John 3:9 Of that you can be confident.



    May the Lord direct your hearts

    2Thess 3:5 May the Lord direct your hearts into God’s love and Christ’s perseverance.

    "direct" = "kateuthuno" means to make straight, guide, direct and is also used to refer to the removal of the hindrances. While the believer's heart is inclined to love and persevere in living out the Christian life, there may be hinderances to doing so. In his parable of the sower Jesus noted a category of believers where the Word for them "fell among thorns which stands for those who hear, but as they go on their way they are choked by life’s worries, riches and pleasures, and they do not mature." Lk 8;14 Consequently in conjunction with the Word, Prayer, and Fellowship as the believers strive to live out the Christian life, God will direct their hearts away from such influences, though circumstances may or may not change.

    And now "may he strengthen your hearts so that you will be blameless and holy in the presence of our God and Father  when our Lord Jesus comes with all his holy ones." 1Th 3:13



    Shun the Lazy Christian

    2Thess 3:6 In the name of the Lord Jesus Christ, we command you, brothers, to keep away from every brother who is idle and does not live according to the teaching you received from us.

    Besides the issue of "Bad company corrupts good character." 1Cor 15:33, shunning the idle is a way of correcting their behavior. Too much toleration of idleness is not love; it is neither edifying to oneself nor to the idle. So in 1Thess 5:14 Paul wrote, "we urge you, brothers, warn those who are idle." It is written that "If a man is lazy, the rafters sag; if his hands are idle, the house leaks." Ecc 10:18 Let that not be the state of your local Christian fellowship. For applications of faith require diligence. Consider the parable of the Talents in which the lazy man simply hid his talent, burying it in the ground, rather than applying it. The master said of him, "you wicked, lazy servant!" Mt 25:26 So, "we do not want you to become lazy, but to imitate those who through faith and patience inherit what has been promised." Heb 6:12



    Work to free others up

    2Thess 3:7-10 For you yourselves know how you ought to follow our example. We were not idle when we were with you, nor did we eat anyone’s food without paying for it. On the contrary, we worked night and day, laboring and toiling so that we would not be a burden to any of you.  We did this, not because we do not have the right to such help, but in order to make ourselves a model for you to follow. For even when we were with you, we gave you this rule: "If a man will not work, he shall not eat."

    Now it is true that "the Lord has commanded that those who preach the gospel should receive their living from the gospel." 1Cor 9:14 This is their legitimate entitlement. But Paul says, "I have not used any of these rights." 1Cor 9:15 While there were those who did get paid for ministry as Jesus allowed, there were also those who ministered just for financial gain. But Paul took no financial profit from his ministry. He says, "Unlike so many, we do not peddle the word of God for profit." 2Cor 2:17 In fact he instructs the Ephesian elders saying, "I have not coveted anyone’s silver or gold or clothing. You yourselves know that these hands of mine have supplied my own needs and the needs of my companions. In everything I did, I showed you that by this kind of hard work we must help the weak, remembering the words the Lord Jesus himself said: ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’" Acts 20:33-35

    It is an act of generosity to not require payment for one's ministry. And better yet is to do Christian ministry free of charge while also working at a secular job in order not only to supply your own needs, but those of others. And by not unnecessarily burdening other Christians with one's financial needs, you also free up their resources to practice generosity to the truly needy. Though not all have an opportunity to do so. But in fact Paul viewed that scenario as what should have been the norm. And so he lived it out as an example to follow.

    From his writings in his two letters it appears that much as the Thessalonians were enthusiastic with regards to the Christian life, they were prone to laziness with regards to secular matters. So don't let your flesh mislead you into thinking your spirituality can be an excuse for laziness.

    Now as for "If a man will not work", it does not mean "If a man does not work". "will" is the greek word "thelo" which speaks of intention. There are those who do not work because they cannot work, whether because of opportunity or ability. These are not the people he is referring to. But there are those who are simply lazy and refuse to work. I remember taking in a homeless man and urged him to find a job. He got a job driving a taxi. It lasted one day. He left it because he was bored. Work can be hard. And contrary to the world's philosophy, it is not the objective to demand that we feel "fulfilled" with our jobs. Work can be hard, that's why it's called "work". Paul spoke of "laboring" night and day. Just because it may not be fun, it's no excuse not to work.



    Settle down and get a job

    2Thess 3:11,12  We hear that some among you are idle. They are not busy; they are busybodies. Such people we command and urge in the Lord Jesus Christ to settle down and earn the bread they eat.

    A "busybody" has two concepts to it. One is "to busy one's self about trifling" or to avoid working in the sense of procrastination and the other is used of a person officiously inquisitive about other's affairs, in other words a meddler. For example Paul speaks of the characteristic trend of younger widows saying:

    "they get into the habit of being idle and going about from house to house. And not only do they become idlers, but also gossips and busybodies, saying things they ought not to." 1Tim 5:13
    There's a saying that goes: "Idle hands are the devil's workshop". It is often when we are idle that sin creeps in. So "make it your ambition to lead a quiet life, to mind your own business and to work with your hands, just as we told you, so that your daily life may win the respect of outsiders and so that you will not be dependent on anybody." 1Thess 4:11,12


    Disassociate to Sanctify

    2Thess 3:13-15  And as for you, brothers, never tire of doing what is right. If anyone does not obey our instruction in this letter, take special note of him. Do not associate with him, in order that he may feel ashamed. Yet do not regard him as an enemy, but warn him as a brother.

    Again he brings up this matter of shunning fellow Christians who don't obey the Word. And yet one is not to regard them necessarily as enemies, though that may turn out to be the case. But that will become more clear by their reaction to being shunned or warned. Jesus said, "My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me." John 10:27, though prodding may be required to differing degrees. Such was the case of the man in 1Corinthians who was involved in sexual immorality. Paul commanded, "You must not associate with anyone who calls himself a brother but is sexually immoral or greedy, an idolater or a slanderer, a drunkard or a swindler. With such a man do not even eat."1Cor 5:11 Apparently from what we've read in 2Thess, such a list is to include the lazy as well. Jesus also affirms this idea of disassociation in Matt 18:17 saying, "if he refuses to listen even to the church, treat him as you would a pagan or a tax collector."

    Now we learn in 2Corinthians that this process worked. The man repented. In fact 2Corinthians brings up another issue regarding this process of shunning fellowing Christians. Paul goes to great extents in 2Corinthians to see that, having repented, the man is welcomed back into the fellowship fully forgiven. There are those who may find it hard to disassociate with sinning Christians who may be friends of theirs. But then there are also those who might find it hard reconciling with the repentant. Both need to understand that this is a process of discipline to help sanctify sinning Christians and is not intended to cut off Christian fellowship in a permanent sense. Upon repentance, such Christians MUST be welcomed back into the fellowship.


    Peace in Every Way

    2Thess 3:16-18  Now may the Lord of peace himself give you peace at all times and in every way. The Lord be with all of you. I, Paul, write this greeting in my own hand, which is the distinguishing mark in all my letters. This is how I write. The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you all.

    What are some areas in which the Lord brings peace?

    Peace with God
    Rom 5:1 "Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ"

    Peace with our fellow Christians
    Rom 14:19  "Let us therefore make every effort to do what leads to peace and to mutual edification"
    2Cor 13:11 "Aim for perfection, listen to my appeal, be of one mind, live in peace. And the God of love and peace will be with you."

    Peace with our enemies
    Pr 16:7 "When a man’s ways please the LORD, He makes even his enemies to be at peace with him."
    Heb 12:14  "Make every effort to live in peace with all men and to be holy; without holiness no one will see the Lord."
    Rom 12:18  "If it is possible, as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone."

    Peace of mind
    Php 4:6,7 "Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus."

    And he has called us to be peace makers
    Jas 3:18 "Peacemakers who sow in peace raise a harvest of righteousness."

    As for his signature, Paul dictated most of the content of his letters. This was possibly due to an eye disease he may have contracted early in his ministry. (See note Gal 4:13) But the salutations he wrote with his own hand so as to further personalize the letters.


    The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


    Jul 29,2015