翻譯: English GB

提摩太後書 第二章 上

忠心的事奉者的特徵

能教導別人

2:1 我兒啊,你要在基督耶穌的恩典上剛強起來。
2:2 你在許多見証人面前聽見我所教訓的,
  也要交托那忠心能教導別人的人。

專心的士兵或運動員

2:3 你要和我同受苦難,好像基督耶穌的精兵。
2:4 凡在軍中當兵的不將世務纏身,
  好叫那招他當兵的人喜悅。

2:5 人若在場上比武,非按規矩,就不能得冠冕。

忍耐的農夫

2:6 勞力的農夫理當先得糧食。
2:7 我所說的話你要思想,因為凡事主必給你聰明。
2:8 你要記念耶穌基督乃是大衛的後裔,
  他從死奡_活,正合乎我所傳的福音。

2:9 我為這福音受苦難,甚至被捆綁,像犯人一樣﹔
  然而神的道卻不被捆綁。

2:10 所以我為選民凡事忍耐,
  叫他們也可以得著那在基督耶穌堛滷炷扣M永遠的榮耀。

2:11 有可信的話說:
  “我們若與基督同死,也必與他同活﹔
2:12 我們若能忍耐,也必和他一同作王﹔
  我們若不認他,他也必不認我們﹔

2:13 我們縱然失信,他仍是可信的,
  因為他不能背乎自己。”


問題討論

能教導別人

在第2節埵@提到了幾代?
你將做什麼來幫助其它基督徒?
你對促進神的國有什麼長遠的目標?
什麼樣的人才算是“忠心”的人?

專心的士兵或運動員

對基督徒來說將世務纏身是什麼意思?
基督徒必須按什麼規矩才能得冠冕?他指的是什麼賞賜?(參見【哥林多前書 3:11-15】

忍耐的農夫

保羅指的是什麼“糧食”?(例子:【哥林多前書 9:11-14】
你在傳福音的時候遇到了什麼阻礙?
第12、13節 “失信”與“不認”基督有什麼區別?

注釋

把神的道交托給可靠的人

提摩太後書 2:1-2 我兒啊,你要在基督耶穌的恩典上剛強起來。你在許多見証人面前聽見我所教訓的,也要交托那忠心能教導別人的人。

雖然我們也許都從食物或與人的關系奡M求力量,但我們要學會從神的恩典堭o到力量。“你們不要被那諸般怪異的教訓勾引了去。因為人心靠恩得堅固才是好的,并不是靠飲食。那在飲食上專心的從來沒有得著益處。”【希伯來書 13:9】

最需要傳的就是聖經婸§o多,說得清楚和明確的事。因為很多人把注意力放在不清楚,或沒有強調,或被人讀到聖經堙A而聖經沒有講的事上,他們這樣做是要夸大這樣的概念以証明自己教派的合法化或自己所信的比別人的更優越。比方說,嬰兒受洗,聖經堭q來沒有說到這件事,然而早期的歸正派基督徒把它當作如此的重要,以至于為此謀殺其它的基督徒。但保羅從來沒有在眾人面前說過這件事。

靈知派對聖經的看法認為聖經含有隱藏著的意思。但那些曾被隱藏的意思在新約堻Q完全地顯示出來。把聖經的教訓交托給那些將保持其公開性,強調聖經明確所講的人很重要。歷史上曾經有一個時候,這被交托給不可靠的人,有一千多年之久,那些人把聖經從公眾中拿走,用自己的想法取代聖經明確所講的概念。

一個人,即使有教導的屬靈恩賜,也許不夠教導人的資格,如果他們對神的道沒有忠心。成為這樣的一個人選是一個成熟的過程,但在太多的時候,那些被派來教導的人自己還仍處在尚未對他們被派來教的事情產生深信的階段。事實上,“但命令的總歸就是愛﹔這愛是從清潔的心和無虧的良心、無偽的信心生出來的。有人偏離這些,反去講虛浮的話,想要作教法師,卻不明白自己所講說的,所論定的。”【提摩太前書 1:5-7】


受苦難

提摩太後書 2:3-4 你要和我同受苦難,好像基督耶穌的精兵。凡在軍中當兵的不將世務纏身,好叫那招他當兵的人喜悅。

如我們前面在第一章奡ㄗ鴘漕獐芊A人是白白地成為基督徒的,就像可以白白地參軍一樣。雖然與伊斯蘭教或法西斯的鬥士在本質上截然不同,但我們基督徒可比作士兵。雖然救火員也許是更好的比喻。但無論怎麼說,耶穌被看作是我們的主。那些只把他當作救主,卻不把他當作主的人是從窗戶爬進來,而不是從門進來。因為耶穌是主,我們把在所有的事上服從他作為我們的目標。耶穌是我們的指揮官。我們只有服從他的命令才是他的朋友。“你們若遵行我所吩咐的,就是我的朋友了。”【約翰福音 15:14】

但要避免的“世物”是什麼呢?也許這是他所說的:“弟兄們,我對你們說,時候減少了。從此以後,那有妻子的,要像沒有妻子﹔哀哭的,要像不哀哭﹔快樂的,要像不快樂﹔置買的,要像無有所得﹔用世物的,要像不用世物。因為這世界的樣子將要過去了。我愿你們無所挂慮。沒有娶妻的,是為主的事挂慮,想怎樣叫主喜悅﹔娶了妻的,是為世上的事挂慮,想怎樣叫妻子喜悅。婦人和處女也有分別。沒有出嫁的,是為主的事挂慮,要身體、靈魂都聖潔﹔已經出嫁的,是為世上的事挂慮,想怎樣叫丈夫喜悅。我說這話是為你們的益處,不是要牢籠你們,乃是要叫你們行合宜的事,得以殷勤服事主,沒有分心的事。”【哥林多前書 7:29-35】

換句話說,有些事在生活中是可有可無的──這些事本身并不壞,但卻能不必要地浪費我們的時間、精力和資原,使我們不能參與事奉。因此要當心被今生暫時的事纏身,以至失去對人的永恆的歸宿的影響。


把自己獻身于事奉

提摩太後書 2:5-7 人若在場上比武,非按規矩,就不能得冠冕。勞力的農夫理當先得糧食。我所說的話你要思想,因為凡事主必給你聰明。

在第四章堙A保羅將再次使用運動員竟技的比喻。“那美好的仗我已經打過了,當跑的路我已經跑盡了,所信的道我已經守住了。從此以後,有公義的冠冕為我存留,就是按著公義審判的主到了那日要賜給我的﹔不但賜給我,也賜給凡愛慕他顯現的人。”【提摩太後書 4:7-8】

但我們究竟是在與誰竟爭則是個問題,因為看到保羅愿所有的基督徒都贏得這個比賽。從他的書信塈A看不到他有與其它基督徒竟爭的意思。這也許是這個比喻不適用的地方。而這堜珣j調的首先是要守規矩。這不是說我們在律法的條例之下。而是說基督徒的事奉有一般的原則,其中首先就是要讓自己的教義和實踐符合保羅所教的。第二就是他用這個比喻來說明獻身這個概念。就如運動員必須獻身于其訓練,參與事奉的人也必須這樣。

同樣,勞力的農夫辛勤地勞作,并且必須遵守種地的規律,按時播種,澆水,按時收割。而且保羅接著說這樣的農夫理當先得糧食。他還在別的地方,比如提摩太前書婸﹛G“那善于管理教會的長老,當以為配受加倍地敬奉﹔那勞苦傳道教導人的,更當如此。因為經上說:‘牛在場上踹谷的時候,不可籠住它的嘴。’又說:‘工人得工價是應當的。’【提摩太前書 5:17-18】還有下面這段話:

“獨有我與巴拿巴沒有權柄不做工嗎?有誰當兵自備糧餉呢?有誰栽葡萄園不吃園堛漯G子呢?有誰牧養牛羊不吃牛羊的奶呢?我說這話,豈是照人的意見?律法不也是這樣說嗎?就如摩西的律法記著說:‘牛在場上踹谷的時候,不可籠住它的嘴。’難道神所挂念的是牛嗎?不全是為我們說的嗎?分明是為我們說的。因為耕種的當存著指望去耕種﹔打場的也當存得糧的指望去打場。我們若把屬靈的種子撒在你們中間,就是從你們收割奉養肉身之物,這還算大事嗎?若別人在你們身上有這權柄,何況我們呢?然而我們沒有用過這權柄,倒凡事忍受,免得基督的福音被阻隔。你們豈不知為聖事勞碌的就吃殿中的物嗎?伺候祭壇的就分領壇上的物嗎?主也是這樣命定,叫傳福音的靠著福音養生。”【哥林多前書 9:6-14】

對此當好好思考一下!


除去對神的道的捆綁

提摩太後書 2:8-9 你要記念耶穌基督乃是大衛的後裔,他從死奡_活,正合乎我所傳的福音。我為這福音受苦難,甚至被捆綁,像犯人一樣﹔然而神的道卻不被捆綁。

聖經在陳述福音時,總要提到基督的復活,作為可以用于法庭的証據來証實福音的立場。因為信基督不是盲目的信,也不是想當然。而是基于見目擊者對神蹟的証實,包括基督的復活。他是大衛的後裔不僅是對他的人性的陳述,同時還指出他是舊約所預言的,從大衛的後裔而出的基督。

注意保羅是如何開始他給羅馬基督徒的信的:“耶穌基督的仆人保羅,奉召為使徒,特派傳神的福音﹔這福音是神從前借眾先知在聖經上所應許的,論到他兒子,我主耶穌基督,按肉體說,是從大衛後裔生的﹔按聖善的靈說,因從死奡_活,以大能顯明是神的兒子。”【羅馬書 1:1-4】

保羅最關心的,的確也應該是我們所有基督徒最關心的,就是除去對神的道的捆綁,使之傳到世界堨h。在歷史上對基督教最大的妨礙就是限制對神的道的接觸。其中天主教造成了最大的損害,在歷時一千多年的時間堙A他們把神的道捆綁起來,使百姓成為文盲,甚至用拉丁文──一個死去的語言──來講神的道,這樣誰都不懂神的道。事奉基督最重要的事就是用人們能夠懂得的語言,保持人們對神的道的接觸。


使別人能夠得救

提摩太後書 2:10 所以我為選民凡事忍耐,叫他們也可以得著那在基督耶穌堛滷炷扣M永遠的榮耀。

“選民”就是那些通過信基督將得到拯救的人。注意到選民不是在福音之外得救的。因為得救取決于聽到并且信福音。然而因為神預知每個人將對福音如何做出反應,所以可以說有些人是選民,雖然他們當時尚未得救,但他們是選民因為他們將要聽到并且相信福音。也就是說,他們“就是照父神的先見被揀選,”【彼得前書 1:2a】

超加爾文主義的觀點與此不同,比如約翰﹒瑞蘭在聽到威廉﹒開瑞說要去印度傳道時對他說:“坐下吧,年輕人。當神決定要救異教徒時,他不用你幫忙就會去做。”保羅對這種情形有非常不同的觀點。對人們的得救,保羅沒有那種漠不關心的宿命論的觀點。因為神救人不是在人們聽到并且相信福音之外。比如在帖撒羅尼迦前書堙A他說有些猶太人“不許我們傳道給外邦人使外邦人得救,”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 2:16a】

對保羅的態度唯一合邏輯的解釋就是假定保羅說選民的意思是神預先知道誰將聽到并且相信福音。換句話說,有些人不是選民,其原因是基督徒的懶惰和對福音的事奉的不負責,如果基督徒們勤快一點,負起責任的話,這些人其實是選民。有多少人因為你太忙于其它的事,太分心,沒有參與救他們而不必要地落入了地獄呢?


有可信的話說

提摩太後書 2:11-13 有可信的話說:
  “我們若與基督同死,也必與他同活﹔
   我們若能忍耐,也必和他一同作王﹔
   我們若不認他,他也必不認我們﹔
   我們縱然失信,他仍是可信的,因為他不能背乎自己。”

第一個條件從句是永恆的保証的教義。“死”說的是過去的事件,如耶穌說:“我實實在在地告訴你們,那聽我話,又信差我來者的,就有永生,不至于定罪,是已經出死入生了。”【約翰福音 5:24】因此,“我們若是與基督同死,就信必與他同活﹔”【羅馬書 6:8】

第二個條件從句是聖徒的堅忍不拔的教義。這說的不是得救的條件,而是診斷一個人是不是得救了。因為雖然“那些受洪恩又蒙所賜之義的,豈不更要因耶穌基督一人在生命中作王”【羅馬書 5:17b】,也就是說:“惟有忍耐到底的必然得救。”【馬太福音 24:13】或如保羅說的那樣:“并且你們若不是徒然相信,能以持守我所傳給你們的,就必因這福音得救。”【哥林多前書 15:2】

第三個條件句說的不是孤立的事件,比如彼得否認他認識基督,而是從生活方式上深信否認基督,因為這個動詞是現在時而不是不定過去時,現在時在希臘文中有行為的特徵的意思。這與聖徒的堅忍不拔正好相反。聖徒的堅忍不拔是說:“當且僅當我們堅信到底。”

在第四個條件從句堙A“失信”譯自希臘文“απιστεω”一詞,這個詞在新約埵@使用了七次,其中六次被譯作“不信”,“不相信”,或“不敢信”。而又因為這堜狳洏峈漪O希臘文的現在時,表示生活方式的特點而不是單獨的事件或非特徵性的行為,這應該被理解成:“如果我們的特徵是不信的”……如果我們不是信徒,他將信實地將我們投入地獄,因為他忠實于他的新約,“信子的人有永生。不信子的人得不著永生(原文作‘不得見永生’),神的震怒常在他身上。”【約翰福音 3:36】那是靠得住的!


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

2Timothy 2:1-13 (web)

Characteristics of a Faithful Minister

Discipling Teacher

2:1 You therefore, my child, be strengthened in the grace that is in Christ Jesus.
2:2 The things which you have heard from me among many witnesses,
commit the same to faithful men, who will be able to teach others also.

Single-Minded Soldier or Athlete

2:3 You therefore must endure hardship, as a good soldier of Christ Jesus.
2:4 No soldier on service entangles himself in the affairs of life,
that he may please him who enrolled him as a soldier.
2:5 Also, if anyone competes in athletics, he isn't crowned unless he has competed by the rules.

Enduring Farmer

2:6 The farmers who labor must be the first to get a share of the crops.
2:7 Consider what I say, and may the Lord give you understanding in all things.
2:8 Remember Jesus Christ, risen from the dead, of the seed of David, according to my gospel,
2:9 in which I suffer hardship to the point of chains as a criminal. But God's word isn't chained.
2:10 Therefore I endure all things for the chosen ones' sake,
that they also may obtain the salvation which is in Christ Jesus with eternal glory.
2:11 This saying is faithful:
For if we died with him, We will also live with him.
2:12 If we endure, We will also reign with him.
If we deny him, He also will deny us.
2:13 If we are faithless, He remains faithful. He can't deny himself.

Discussion Questions

Discipling Teacher

How many generations are mentioned in vs 2?
What are you doing to help Christians in the future?
What long-term goals do you have for the furtherance of the kingdom?
What constitutes a "reliable" person?

Single-Minded Soldier or Athlete

What does it mean for a Christian to get involved (be entangled) with civilian affairs?
What rules must a Christian follow to receive a reward? What reward is he referring to? (see 1Cor 3:11-15)

Enduring Farmer

What "crops" is Paul referring to? (example: 1Cor 9:11-14)
What hinderances have you encountered in communicating the gospel?
vs 12,13 What is the difference between being "faithless" and "disowning" Christ?


Comment


Entrust the Word to the Reliable

2Tim 2:1,2 You then, my son, be strong in the grace that is in Christ Jesus. And the things you have heard me say in the presence of many witnesses entrust to reliable men who will also be qualified to teach others.

While we all may seek to find strength from various things from food to relationships, what we need to learn is to gain strength from the grace of God. "Do not be carried away by all kinds of strange teachings. It is good for our hearts to be strengthened by grace, not by ceremonial foods, which are of no value to those who eat them." Heb 13:9

The most important ideas to propagate are those things of which the Bible speaks about abundantly, clearly and explicitly. For many will focus on things which may be unclear or not emphasized or to read into the Bible ideas which the Bible doesn't intend, in order to inflate such ideas so as to justify one's denominational or personal beliefs as being superior to others. You take, for example, the idea of infant baptism, of which the Bible never speaks, and yet was considered so important early in the Reformation that Christians would murder fellow Christians over that issue. But Paul never said such a thing in the presence of many witnesses.

A Gnostic view of scripture is to view it as containing hidden meaning. But that which may have been hidden has been revealed to all through the New Testament. It is very important to entrust the teaching of the Bible to those who will keep it public, emphasizing that which the Bible clearly states. There came a time when it was entrusted to unreliable men and for over 1000 years the Bible was taken away from the public by those who replaced what it clearly said with their own ideas.

A person, though even having the spiritual gift of teaching, may not be qualified to teach unless they are found to be faithful to the Word. There is a maturing process to become such a candidate, but all too often there are those assigned to teach who are yet in the process of developing convictions about what they are assigned to teach. In fact "some have wandered away from these (a pure heart and a good conscience and a sincere faith), and turned to meaningless talk. They want to be teachers of the law, but they do not know what they are talking about or what they so confidently affirm." 1Tim 1:5-7


Endure Hardship

2Tim 2:3,4  Endure hardship with us like a good soldier of Christ Jesus. No one serving as a soldier gets involved in civilian affairs— he wants to please his commanding officer.

As I commented previously in chapter 1, becoming a Christian is free, much like joining the US Marines is free. And though it is quite different than the sense inherent in Militant Islamo-facism, we Christians are analogous to soldiers. Though perhaps firemen might be the better analogy. In either case, Jesus is to be viewed as our Lord. Those who view him as merely Savior, but not Lord have entered through the window and not through the door. Since Jesus is Lord we make it our aim to comply with Him in all things. Jesus is our commanding officer. We are His "friends" in so much as we obey His commands. John 15:14 "You are my friends if you do what I command."

But what would constitute "civilian affairs" to be avoided? Perhaps that is what Paul was alluding to when he said, "From now on those who have wives should live as if they had none; those who mourn, as if they did not; those who are happy, as if they were not; those who buy something, as if it were not theirs to keep; those who use the things of the world, as if not engrossed in them. For this world in its present form is passing away. I would like you to be free from concern. An unmarried man is concerned about the Lord’s affairs— how he can please the Lord. But a married man is concerned about the affairs of this world— how he can please his wife— and his interests are divided. An unmarried woman or virgin is concerned about the Lord’s affairs: Her aim is to be devoted to the Lord in both body and spirit. But a married woman is concerned about the affairs of this world— how she can please her husband. I am saying this for your own good, not to restrict you, but that you may live in a right way in undivided devotion to the Lord." 1Cor 7:29-35

In other words, there are things what are optional in life - things which are not bad in themselves, but may unnecessarily drain our time, energy and resources, making us unavailable for ministry. So beware of being engrossed in the temporal things of this life and missing out on affecting people's eternal destiny.


Devote Youself to the Ministry

2Tim 2:5-7 Similarly, if anyone competes as an athlete, he does not receive the victor’s crown unless he competes according to the rules. The hardworking farmer should be the first to receive a share of the crops. Reflect on what I am saying, for the Lord will give you insight into all this.

In chapter 4 Paul will again call upon this analogy of competing in an athelitic competition. "I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day— and not only to me, but also to all who have longed for his appearing." 2Tim 4:7,8

Though there is the question as to whom we are commpeting against, seeing Paul desires to see all Christians win the race. You don't get a sense in his writings that he's competing against other Christians. So perhaps that's where the analogy breaks down. Rather it seems here to emphasize the idea firstly that there are rules to follow. This is not to say that we are under the regulations of the Law. But rather that there are general principles to Christian ministry, primary of which is to comply one's doctrine and practice to that which Paul teaches. And secondly he uses this analogy to communicate the concept of devotion. For as an athlete must devote himself to training, so must those involved in minstry.

Likewise the hardworking farmer works laboriously, and must follow the rules of farming, sowing in season, watering, and reaping in season. But in addition Paul adds that such a farmer be the first to receive a share. This he mentions elsewhere, such as in 1Tim 5:17,18 "The elders who direct the affairs of the church well are worthy of double honor, especially those whose work is preaching and teaching. For the Scripture says, 'Do not muzzle the ox while it is treading out the grain,' and 'The worker deserves his wages.'" And also this passage:

1Cor 9:6-14 "Is it only I and Barnabas who must work for a living? Who serves as a soldier at his own expense? Who plants a vineyard and does not eat of its grapes? Who tends a flock and does not drink of the milk? Do I say this merely from a human point of view? Doesn’t the Law say the same thing? For it is written in the Law of Moses: "Do not muzzle an ox while it is treading out the grain." Is it about oxen that God is concerned? Surely he says this for us, doesn’t he? Yes, this was written for us, because when the plowman plows and the thresher threshes, they ought to do so in the hope of sharing in the harvest. If we have sown spiritual seed among you, is it too much if we reap a material harvest from you? If others have this right of support from you, shouldn’t we have it all the more? But we did not use this right. On the contrary, we put up with anything rather than hinder the gospel of Christ. Don’t you know that those who work in the temple get their food from the temple, and those who In the same way, the Lord has commanded that those who preach the gospel should receive their living from the gospel."

So reflect on that!


Unleash God's Word

2Tim 2:8,9 Remember Jesus Christ, raised from the dead, descended from David. This is my gospel, for which I am suffering even to the point of being chained like a criminal. But God’s word is not chained.

Whenever the gospel is preached in the Bible the resurrection of Christ is mention as forensic evidence validating the propositions of the gospel. For faith in Christ is not blind faith or wishful thinking. But rather it's based upon the affadavit of eyewitnesses to the miracles and resurrection of Christ. Being descended from David is not just a statement if His humanity, but also refers to Him being the Christ prophecied in the Old Testament who was to come through the line of David.

Note how Paul starts his epistle to the Romans, "Paul, a servant of Christ Jesus, called to be an apostle and set apart for the gospel of God— the gospel he promised beforehand through his prophets in the Holy Scriptures regarding his Son, who as to his human nature was a descendant of David, and who through the Spirit of holiness was declared with power to be the Son of God by his resurrection from the dead: Jesus Christ our Lord." Rom 1:1-4

Paul's main concern, indeed the main concern we Christians should all have, is that he Word of God be unleased upon the world. The one thing that has historically hindered Christiantity is restricting access to the Word of God. Catholicism did the worse damage of all where for over 1000 years it kept the Word of God in chains and kept populations illiterate, even speaking the Word in Latin - a dead language - so that no one would understand it. The most important thing in Christian ministry is to keep the Word of God accessable and in a languages people understand.


See to Others' Salvation

2Tim 2:10 Therefore I endure everything for the sake of the elect, that they too may obtain the salvation that is in Christ Jesus, with eternal glory.

The "elect" are those who will obtain salvation through faith in Christ. Notice the elect are not presumed to be saved apart form the gospel. For salvation is contingent upon hearing and believing the gospel. Yet given God's foreknowlege of how people will respond to the gospel, it could be said that there are those who are elect, though presently unsaved, but only elect insomuch as they will inevitably hear and believe the gospel. That is they are "elect according to the foreknowledge of God the Father." 1Peter 1:2

But contrary to a fatalistic hyper-Calvinistic view whereby when John Ryland heard William Carey talking about becoming a missionary to India, and told him, "Sit down, young man. When God decides to save the heathen, He will do it without your help.", Paul viewed the situation much differently. Paul did not have a dispassionate fatalistic viewpoint concerning people's salvation. For God doesn't save people apart from hearing and believing the gospel.For example in 1Thess 2:16 he speaks of Jews "forbidding us to speak to the Gentiles that they may be saved."

The only logical explanation for Paul's attitude is to assume Paul was speaking of election in terms of God's foreknowledge of those who would hear and believe the gospel. In other words there are people who are not elect, but who would have been elect, had the Christian community not been so lazy and irresponsible with regards to the ministry of the gospel. How many people have unnecessarily gone to hell because you were too busy with other things, too distracted, to be involved in saving others from hell?


A TrustWorthy Saying

2Tim 2:11-13  Here is a trustworthy saying:
If we died with him, we will also live with him;
if we endure, we will also reign with him.
If we deny him, he will also deny us;
if we are faithless, he will remain faithful, for he cannot disown himself.

The first conditional clause is the doctrine of Eternal Security. "Died" is speaking of a past event, as Jesus said, "whoever hears my word and believes him who sent me has eternal life and will not be condemned; he has crossed over from death to life." Jn 5:24 And consequently "if we died with Christ, we believe that we shall also live with Him." Rom 6:8

The second conditional clause is the doctrine of the Perseverance of the Saints. Which speaks not of a condition for salvation, but rather diagnoses whether a person is saved. For while "those who receive abundance of grace and of the gift of righteousness will reign in life through the One, Jesus Christ" Rom 5:17, it is also the case that "he who endures to the end shall be saved" Mt 24:13, or as Paul puts it, "By this gospel you are saved, if you hold firmly to the word I preached to you. Otherwise, you have believed in vain." 1Cor 15:2

The third conditional clause speaks not of singular event, such as Peter's denial of Christ, but of a lifestyle conviction denying Christ, seeing as the verb in the present rather than aorist, which in Greek has the sense of characteristic behavior. This is the converse to the perseverance of the saints, which is to say, "if and only if we endure in faith to the end".

For the fourth conditional clause, the Greek word for "faithless" is used seven times in the New Testament. Six of the seven times it's translated "not believed". And again given the usage of the Greek present tense here, which indicates lifestyle characteristic versus a mere singular event or uncharacteristic behavior, this should more accurately be translated "If we are characteristically unbelievers"... If we are unbelievers, He will faithfully throw us into hell, being faithful to his New Covenant whereby "Whoever believes in the Son has eternal life, but whoever rejects the Son will not see life, for God’s wrath remains on him." John 3:36 You can count on that!



Notice the commands
  • Entrust - (delegating responsibilities to other Christians)
  • Endure - (reacting properly to difficulties)
  • Reflect - (deriving applications from the Word of God through meditation)


  • The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


    Jul 29,2015