翻譯: English 中文 GB

以弗所書

1:1-1:14

神的家庭的建立

資格和引言

1:1 奉神旨意,作基督耶穌使徒的保羅,
  寫信給在以弗所的聖徒,就是在基督耶穌埵釧黎萿漱H。

    1:2 愿恩惠、平安從神我們的父和主耶穌基督歸與你們。

父神

1:3 愿頌贊歸與我們主耶穌基督的父神,
  他在基督奡蕭蝯鳩畯怳悀W各樣屬靈的福氣。

1:4 就如神從創立世界以前,在基督奡z選了我們,
  使我們在他面前成為聖潔,無有瑕疵。

1:5 又因愛我們,就按著自己意旨所喜悅的,
  預定我們借著耶穌基督得兒子的名分,

1:6 使他榮耀的恩典得著稱贊
  這恩典是他在愛子堜瓟蝯鳩畯怐滿C

愛子

1:7 我們借這愛子的血得蒙救贖,過犯得以赦免,
  乃是照他丰富的恩典。

1:8 這恩典是神用諸般智慧聰明,充充足足賞給我們的,
1:9 都是照他自己所預定的美意,
  叫我們知道他旨意的奧秘,

1:10 要照所安排的,在日期滿足的時候,
  使天上地上一切所有的,都在基督堶惘P歸于一。

1:11 我們也在他堶控o了基業(“得”或作“成”),
  這原是那位隨己意行作萬事的照著他旨意所預定的,

1:12 叫他的榮耀,從我們這首先在基督埵閉葑瑼漱H,
  可以得著稱贊

聖靈

1:13 你們既聽見真理的道,就是那叫你們得救的福音,
  也信了基督,既然信他,
  就受了所應許的聖靈為印記。

1:14 這聖靈是我們得基業的憑據(原文作“質”),
  直等到神之民(“民”原文作“產業”)被贖,
  使他的榮耀得著稱贊


問題討論

觀察

解釋

應用


注釋

資格和引言

以弗所書 1:1-2 奉神旨意,作基督耶穌使徒的保羅,寫信給在以弗所的聖徒,就是在基督耶穌有忠心的人。愿恩惠、平安從神我們的父和主耶穌基督歸與你們。

就像他大部分的書信那樣,保羅以他的資格開始。他所做的和所寫的,都是出于神的意愿。他的書信有耶穌基督的贊同。

注意到他是如何稱呼以弗所的基督徒的。他稱他們為聖徒。今天有很多基督徒誤以為“聖徒”指的是某一類特殊的基督徒。其實并非如此。這個稱呼的意思是“聖潔的人”,是基督徒相互間的稱謂,有點像“弟兄”這個稱呼。這個稱謂的使用基本上與今天我們使用“基督徒”這個稱呼的意思一樣。事實上,“基督徒”這個稱呼在聖經堨u在三個地方出現,從其用法看來似乎是外人對教內人的稱呼,而“聖徒”是教內人對教內人的稱呼。

在基督耶穌忠心的人就是聖徒。他們不是某類分開的聖徒。因為我們讀到:“我們知道凡從神生的必不犯罪﹔”【約翰一書 5:18a】忠心是聖徒的特征,因為在由神生之後,這對他們來說是自然的。因為,“我們遵守神的誡命,這就是愛他了,并且他的誡命不是難守的。因為凡從神生的,就勝過世界﹔”【約翰一書 5:3-4a】


對三位一體的贊頌

以弗所書 1:3-14 從這一段的結構和重點可以看出,如前兩節所顯示的,這一段是榮耀頌(doxology),贊頌神堛漱T位:父,子和聖靈。其中每一小段集中在神頭堿Y一位的作用,并以 “使他的榮耀得著稱贊”結尾。整段的關健詞可見于第三節“頌贊”,這是這一段堸艉@的命令。這與有些詩篇很相似,首先號召敬拜,接下來例舉神所做的工和神的特征。在學這一段時,要特別注意所使用的動詞。因為它們顯示出了神的行動──神做了些什麼,這是這堛漸D題。

以弗所書 1:3 愿頌贊歸與我們主耶穌基督的父神,他在基督奡蕭蝯鳩畯怳悀W各樣屬靈的福氣。

神不是以世俗的方式賜福給信徒,比如金錢、權勢、名望或舒適。我們看到,使徒和耶穌的祝福不是世上的。他們生活艱辛,充滿了苦難。神賜給我們的福是天上的。他在基督婼蝯鳩畯怐漪O屬靈的福氣而不是物質上的福氣。具體地說,這些保括──罪得赦免和我們故有的罪性最終將被除去,接納我們作兒女,與我們建媬丳K的關系。


被揀選,成為無有瑕疵

以弗所書 1:4 就如神從創立世界以前,在基督奡z選了我們,使我們在他面前成為聖潔,無有瑕疵。

神揀選了誰呢?保羅說的“我們”指的是誰呢?不是某種神秘未知的人。神揀選了那些信基督的人。在創立世界以前,神就立定了這種人將被揀選,在他面前成為聖潔和無有瑕疵。那些真正信基督的──也就是聖徒,在基督耶穌埵釧黎萿滯w─就是被揀選的。如果你是一個聖徒,那麼你就被揀選,將成為在神的面前聖潔和無有瑕疵。這就是你的歸宿。

拯救不只包括從神的忿怒堻Q拯救出來,還包括從我們的罪性堻Q拯救出來。在基督堙A我們不但稱義(罪得赦免),而且我們的罪性將被去掉(成為聖潔),所以我們在他面前不但無罪,而且將沒有罪性。因此,我們贊美榮耀他。因為,“惟有你們是被揀選的族類,是有君尊的祭司,是聖潔的國度,是屬神的子民,要叫你們宣揚那召你們出黑暗入奇妙光明者的美德。”【彼得前書 2:9】


注定要得著兒子的名分

以弗所書 1:5 又因愛我們,就按著自己意旨所喜悅的,預定我們借著耶穌基督得兒子的名分,

神預定誰得他兒子的名分呢?就是那些信耶穌的人──也就是基督徒。“所以,你們因信基督耶穌,都是神的兒子。”【加拉太 3:26】當然,我們應該明白聖經教我們說人不是生來就是神的兒子。他們必須成為神的兒子。)首先,一個人必須信,屆時,他就屬于“被揀選的”或“選民”。神就賜他們權柄,作神的兒女。“凡接待他的,就是信他名的人,他就賜他們權柄,作神的兒女。”【約翰福音 1:12】

神可以只把我們從罪性堭洏X來就了事。但要更進一步地顯示他的恩慈,他還接納我們作他的兒女。我們存在的主要目的就是要彰顯神的恩慈。如果有人對你犯罪,饒恕他或甚至幫他克服罪性的惡習是一回事﹔而把他接納到你的家庭堳h完全是另一回事!那正是神所做的。被接納不只是將來我們達到完美無罪性的境界之後的事,甚至現在我們信徒就是神的兒女。

“我們曉得萬事都互相效力,叫愛神的人得益處,就是按他旨意被召的人。因為他預先所知道的人,就預先定下效法他兒子的模樣,使他兒子在許多弟兄中作長子。”【羅馬書 8:28-29】神預先注定了那些愛他的人將會變得像他的兒子耶穌基督。當一個人信基督時,這就成了他的歸宿。


贊美神的恩典

以弗所書 1:6 使他榮耀的恩典得著稱贊。這恩典是他在愛子堜瓟蝯鳩畯怐滿C

我們每做一件事,就會顯示出我們的某些品質來。神對人類的救贖顯示出神的恩慈的品質。這種顯現被稱做榮耀。“恩典”的概念就是白白地把禮物給不配得的人的態度。這不是說這種給予一定要是無條件的或任意的才算是恩典。而這些條件或要求不是這種給予的報償,這種給予不是靠滿足這些條件掙來的。

比如,如果某人決定給同鄉的每位瘸腿人一輛輪椅,瘸腿就是得到輪椅的條件。如果一個人瘸了腿,或故意把腿搞瘸以得到一輛輪椅,腿瘸不能被看作是為得到這輛輪椅而付出的價碼。類似地,如果我把禮物白白地給某人,唯一的要求是他伸手來接。那麼他伸手來接不能被看作是他靠做工來掙得這個禮物,好像他伸手就為其付出了價錢。他不能說:“你不是真正的恩慈,因為我必須伸手來拿它,我做工了!”那將是愚蠢的。

救贖是白白給我們的禮物。但你必須伸手去接受它。我們靠信基督而接受稱義這件禮物。但這個信不能被看作是做工,經上說:“作工的得工價,不算恩典,乃是該得的﹔惟有不作工的,只信稱罪人為義的神,他的信就算為義。”【羅馬書 4:4-5】

神的恩典不會因為我們為接受這個禮物與神配合而無效。事實上,如果我們只是木偶,那麼神的禮物就不能真正地被看做是一件禮物,給這件禮物也不能被看作是恩典。因為若是那樣的話,就不是誰應該得或誰不應該得,因為所有的人都只被看作是木偶,給或不給只是主權的問題,與恩典沒有關系。所以如果神只是把我們造成木偶,按照邏輯他就無法通過我們顯示出他的愛,也不能顯示出他的恩慈,或他的公義。因為那樣他只是在玩他的木偶。


借這愛子的血得蒙救贖

以弗所書 1:7-8 我們借這愛子的血得蒙救贖,過犯得以赦免,乃是照他丰富的恩典。這恩典是神用諸般智慧聰明,充充足足賞給我們的,

罪得赦免是稱義所必須的。更具體地說,在新約之下罪得赦免就是把罪忘掉,如經說所寫:“主說:‘那些日子以後,我與他們所立的約乃是這樣:我要將我的律法寫在他們心上,又要放在他們的堶情C’”以後就說:“我不再記念他們的罪愆和他們的過犯。”【希伯來書 10:16-17】神丰丰富富地這樣做,因為沒有煉獄可以補足基督的救贖工。信徒的罪被徹底地忘卻,過去的,現在的和將來的。


神的國的奧秘

以弗所書 1:9-10 都是照他自己所預定的美意,叫我們知道他旨意的奧秘,要照所安排的,在日期滿足的時候,使天上地上一切所有的,都在基督堶惘P歸于一。

他將在【以弗所書 3:6】奡ㄗ麭o個“奧秘”的一個側面,關于外邦人被包括在神拯救的計划堙C這在今天也許不再是奧秘,但試想作為一個猶太人,從小就受猶太人是神獨一的民,非猶太人(外邦人)是外人這種觀念的熏陶。我們看到就連耶穌的門徒都有這種種族主義的觀念,耶穌還得教導他們使他們克服這種觀念。拯救包括外邦人的概念對猶太人來說是很難接受的。因為他們認為他們的血統使他們更優越。

以基督為首的神的國將有不同的階段,千禧年和地上的新耶路撒冷,經上說:“我神的救恩,能力,國度,并他基督的權柄,現在都來到了。”【啟示錄 12:10】在其中:“世上的國成了我主和主基督的國。他要作王,直到永永遠遠。”【啟示錄 11:15】魔鬼和他的天使將被從屬靈的領域清除出去。


在他堶

以弗所書 1:11 我們也在他堶控o了基業(“得”或作“成”),這原是那位隨己意行作萬事的照著他旨意所預定的,

神在基督堿偃o樣的歸宿選擇了我們。也就是說,作為基督徒,我們是被揀選的。聖經堛熒妝擊P宿命論的觀念不同,因為我們通過信基督而參與了被揀選的過程。因為讓我們參與這個過程是神的意愿。然而,一但這樣被揀選我們的歸宿就是有保障的。這就像走進一個預先定好要去某層樓的電梯一樣,一但上去,你就不用操心你會不會到達那堙C你只需要耽心你是不是真在這個電梯上。(如果你站在樓道堙A那麼你是到不了那一層的。)所以,要確定你的確“在他堶情芋C


我們要榮耀神

以弗所書 1:12 叫他的榮耀,從我們這首先在基督埵閉葑瑼漱H,可以得著稱贊。

神通過他對聖徒的恩慈而被榮耀。信基督,那麼神就會以恩慈待你,使他的榮耀可以得著稱贊。那些首先在基督埵閉葑瑼漱H──就是使徒們──樹立了一個先例。保羅說:“‘基督耶穌降世,為要拯救罪人。’這話是可信的,是十分可佩服的。在罪人中我是個罪魁,然而我蒙了憐憫,是因耶穌基督要在我這罪魁身上顯明他一切的忍耐,給後來信他得永生的人作榜樣。”【提摩太前書 1:15-16】同樣,那些首先在基督埵閉葑瑼漱H成了基督教初始的發言人,他們的話直到几千年後的今日仍被讀誦。把你的盼望寄托在基督堙A在你宣告他的品格時,他將給你一份遺產。


印記

以弗所書 1:13-14 你們既聽見真理的道,就是那叫你們得救的福音,也信了基督,既然信他,就受了所應許的聖靈為印記。這聖靈是我們得基業的憑據(原文作“質”),直等到神之民(“民”原文作“產業”)被贖,使他的榮耀得著稱贊。

這是得救的順序。首先你必須聽見,之後信,然後接受聖靈。我們在使徒行傳第二章所記述發生在五旬節的事堿搢麭o個過程。彼得傳講了福音。那些信了的人受了洗,接受了聖靈。

接受聖靈是一次性的事。這就是施洗約翰所說的“受聖靈的洗“:“我是用水給你們施洗,他卻要用聖靈給你們施洗。”【馬可福音 1:8】信還使人由神而生。“凡接待他的,就是信他名的人,他就賜他們權柄,作神的兒女。這等人不是從血氣生的,不是從情欲生的,也不是從人意生的,乃是從神生的。”【約翰福音 1:12-13】由神生不需要自己的努力。一但信了基督,聖靈就使人自然地從神生。重生就是這個意思。耶穌說:“我實實在在地告訴你,人若不是從水和聖靈生的,就不能進神的國。從肉身生的就是肉身。從靈生的就是靈。我說:‘你們必須重生,’你不要以為希奇。風隨著意思吹,你聽見風的響聲,卻不曉得從哪堥荂A往哪堨h。凡從聖靈生的,也是如此。”【約翰福音 3:5-8】

從聖靈生有許多結果和側面,但在這堳O羅指出的側面是為某個特定的歸宿而受的印記,他在這一整章強調了這一點。官員用官印來標示一個文件的權威性或真實性。基督徒的印記是什麼呢?那就是聖靈對一個人的行為的效果,約翰寫到:“凡從神生的就不犯罪,因神的道(原文作“種”)存在他心堙Q他也不能犯罪,因為他是由神生的。從此就顯出誰是神的兒女,誰是魔鬼的兒女:凡不行義的就不屬神,不愛弟兄的也是如此。”【約翰一書 3:9-10】

所以,印記的一方面就是標志。而其另一方面的意義則是保証。現在你買一個產品,產品堻q常帶有一個印記。你若沒有那個印記,那麼你就沒有保証。因為拯救是永恆的保証,是不會失去的,基督徒只需耽心他是不是得到了拯救。如果一個人以能夠使人得救的信來信基督,那麼他就由神生,他重生的証據就從他的生活方式和態度媗膆雈X來。這些是聖靈的效果。如果一個人在他的生活堿搢麭o些效果,那麼他就可以肯定他的救贖。反之,他們就應該考慮保羅對哥林多人的警告:“你們總要自己省察有信心沒有,也要自己試驗。豈不知你們若不是可棄絕的,就有耶穌基督在你們心媔隉H”【哥林多後書 13:5】

基業是將來的。盼望成為無罪的完美,像基督一樣,在神的面前無可指謫,極度喜樂地享受與基督的親密關系,被顯示出是神的兒子,更不用說在今生因基督徒的事奉而得的賞賜。


庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Jul 29, 2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Ephesians 1:1-1:14 (web)

The Creation of God's Family

Credentials and Intro

1:1 Paul, an apostle of Christ Jesus through the will of God, to the saints who are at Ephesus, and the faithful in Christ Jesus:
1:2 Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.

The Father

1:3 Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ,
who has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places in Christ;
1:4 even as he chose us in him before the foundation of the world,
that we would be holy and without blemish before him in love;
1:5 having predestined us for adoption as children through Jesus Christ to himself,
according to the good pleasure of his desire,
1:6 to the praise of the glory of his grace,
by which he freely bestowed favor on us in the Beloved,

The Son

1:7 in whom we have our redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of our trespasses,
according to the riches of his grace,
1:8 which he made to abound toward us in all wisdom and prudence,
1:9 making known to us the mystery of his will,
according to his good pleasure which he purposed in him

1:10 to an administration of the fullness of the times, to sum up all things in Christ,
the things in the heavens, and the things on the earth, in him;
 

1:11 in whom also we were assigned an inheritance, having been foreordained
according to the purpose of him who works all things after the counsel of his will;
1:12 to the end that we should be to the praise of his glory,
we who had before hoped in Christ:

The Holy Spirit

1:13 in whom you also, having heard the word of the truth, the gospel of your salvation
,--in whom, having also believed, you were sealed with the Holy Spirit of promise,
1:14 who is a pledge of our inheritance, to the redemption of God's own possession,
to the praise of his glory.

Discussion Questions

Observation

Interpretation

Application


Commentary

Credentials and Intro

Eph 1:1-2 Paul, an apostle of Christ Jesus by the will of God, To the saints in Ephesus, the faithful in Christ Jesus: Grace and peace to you from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.

As with most of his letters Paul starts off with his credentials. It was God's will for him to do the things he was doing and to write what he wrote. His letters have the endorsement of Jesus Christ.

Note how he addresses the Ephesian Christians. He calls them saints. Many Christians today  are under the misconception that "saint" refers to an elite class of Christians. It doesn't. It's merely a term meaning "holy ones" which Christians used to refer to one another, like the term "brethren". It's used in much the same sense as we use the term "Christian" today among the brethren. But in fact the term "Christian" is only found three places in the Bible and from its usage it seems to be the term outsiders used to refer to insiders, whereas "saint" is what insiders called insiders.

The faithful in Christ Jesus are the saints. They are not a separate class of saints. For as we read in 1John 5:18a, "We know that anyone born of God does not continue to sin." Faithfulness is characteristic of the saints because it is natural to them, having been born of God. For "this is love for God: to obey his commands. And his commands are not burdensome, for everyone born of God overcomes the world." 1John 5:3,4



A Doxology to the Trinity

Eph 1:3-14 As is evident from the structure and emphasis of this section as revealed in its phrasing above, this is a doxology giving praise to God in the person of the Father, Son and Holy Spirit. Each section focuses on the role of each member of the godhead and ends essentially with "to the praise of his glory". The key phrase in this whole section is found in verse 3 "Blessed be" or "Praise be", which is also the only command found in this section. It's very similar to the psalms in which there is first a call to worship followed by a listing of God's works and attributes. In studying this section, pay particular attention to the verbs. For they reveal God's action - what God did, which is the main subject here.

Eph 1:3  Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in the heavenly realms with every spiritual blessing in Christ.

God has not blessed the believers in a worldly way, much as the world considers blessing through getting rich, powerful, popular, or comfortable. It is not in the earthly realm that we see the apostles and Jesus blessed. They lived difficult lives full of suffering. But God has blessed us in the heavenly realms. He has given us spiritual rather than material blessings in Christ. Practically speaking, some of these are - the forgiveness of sins and the inevitable removal of our innate sinfulness, having adopted us as children, establishing an intimate relationship with us.



Chosen to be Blameless

Eph 1:4 For he chose us in him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in his sight. In love

Whom did He chose? Who is the "us" Paul is referring to? It is not some unknown mysterious category of people. God has chosen those who believe in Christ. Before the creation of the world God predetermined that this would be the category of people whom he would chose to be holy and blameless in his sight. Those who have come to genuine faith in Christ - namely the saints, the faithful in Christ Jesus - are the chosen. If you are a saint, then you are chosen to become holy and blameless in his sight. That is your destiny. 

Salvation incorporates not only salvation from the wrath of God, but also salvation from our sinfulness. In Christ we are not only justified (forgiven of sin), but also our sinfulness will be removed (sanctification) and thus we will be guilt free and sinless in his presence. And so we declare the praises due him. For "you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people belonging to God, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light." 1Peter 2:9



Predestined to be Adopted

Eph 1:5 he predestined us to be adopted as his sons through Jesus Christ, in accordance with his pleasure and will—

Whom did he predestine to be adopted as sons? Those who have come to believe in Jesus - namely Christians. For "You are all sons of God through faith in Christ Jesus" Gal 3:26 (We realize of course that the Bible teaches us that people are not born children of God. Rather they must become children of God) First a person comes to faith, upon which he enters the category of  being "chosen" or "elect". Then they are given the right to become children of God. For "to all who received him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God." John 1:12

God could have simply saved us from our sinfulness and called it a day. But to further demonstrate his graciousness, which is the primary purpose of our existence, to reveal his graciousness, he  adopts us as his children. If a someone sins against you, it's one thing to forgive him and even to help him to overcome his sinful habits. But it's quite another to adopt him into your family! That's what God did. And being adopted is not simply a future event when we achieve sinless perfection, but even right now we believers are children of God.

"And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. For those God foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the likeness of his Son" Rom 8:28,29 God has foreordained that those who love him will be conformed to the likeness of his Son, Jesus Christ. When a person comes to faith in Christ, this is their destiny.



In Praise of His Grace

Eph 1:6 to the praise of his glorious grace, which he has freely given us in the One he loves.

Whenever we do something, it reveals something about ourselves. God's redemption of mankind reveals His character of graciousness. This revealing is known as glorifying or glory. The idea of "grace" is the attitude of freely giving to the undeserving. This is not to say that such giving must be unconditional or arbitrary for such giving to be consider gracious. But rather that such conditions or requirements are not viewed as payments for the gift as if one earned the gift by meeting such requirements.

For example, if a man decided to give a wheelchair to everyone one who was lame in his town, being lame would be a requirement to receive a wheelchair. If one happens to become lame, or puposely makes himself lame just to get a wheelchair, such lameness is not viewed as payment for the wheelchair. Similarly if I hand a free gift to someone with only the requiement that they reach out and take it, their reaching out and taking it is not viewed as work that they do to earn the gift, as if by reaching out they are paying for it. They cannot say, "You are not really gracious and the gift is not really free, for I had to do all that work in reaching out and taking it!" That would be foolish.

Salvation is a free gift. But you have to reach out and take it. We have to put our faith in Christ in order to receive the gift of righteousness.  But such faith it not reckoned as a work, as it is written, "Now when a man works, his wages are not credited to him as a gift, but as an obligation. However, to the man who does not work but trusts (believes) God who justifies the wicked, his faith is credited as righteousness." Romans 4:4,5

Thus God's graciousness in no way is nullified by our cooperation in receiving the gift. In fact, if we were just puppets, then God's gift would not really be view as a gift, nor would giving it be considered gracious. For then it would not have been a matter of who is deserving or undeserving, for everyone would be simply viewed as a puppet, and giving would be simply a matter of sovereignty having nothing to do with graciousness. So if He created us simply as puppets, He logically could not reveal his love, nor his graciousness, or his justice through us. For He would be simply viewed as playing with puppets.



Redemption through his blood

Eph 1:7,8  In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the riches of God’s grace that he lavished on us with all wisdom and understanding.

To be forgiven of sin is essentially what it means to be justified. More specifically, the forgiveness of sins under the New Covenant is the forgetting of sins, as it is written: "This is the covenant I will make with them after that time, says the Lord. I will put my laws in their hearts, and I will write them on their minds." Then he adds: "Their sins and lawless acts I will remember no more." Heb 10:16,17 This he does richly, for there is no purgatory to make up for deficiencies in Christ's atoning work. The believers sins are completely forgiven, past, present and future.



The Mystery of the Kingdom

Eph 1:9,10  And he made known to us the mystery of his will according to his good pleasure, which he purposed in Christ, to be put into effect when the times will have reached their fulfillment— to bring all things in heaven and on earth together under one head, even Christ.

As for the "mystery", one aspect of this he mentions this further in Ephesians 3:6 which involves the inclusion of the Gentiles in God's plan of salvation. It may not seem like much of a mystery today, but imagine being a Jew and growing up with the idea that the Jewish people were uniquely God's people and that non-Jews (Gentiles) were outsiders and like dogs. This accounts for the racist attitude we see even in Jesus' disciples against non-Jews, which Jesus had to teach them to overcome. The idea that salvation extended to the Gentiles was very difficult for Jews to accept. For they considered themselves superior simply based on genetics.

The kingdom of God with Christ as head will also have further dispensations in the Millenial Kingdom and the New Jerusalem on earth in which it will be said, "Now have come the salvation and the power and the kingdom of our God, and the authority of his Christ." Rev 12:10 And in which "The kingdom of the world has become the kingdom of our Lord and of his Christ, and he will reign for ever and ever." Rev 11:15 And the spiritual realm will be cleansed of the devil and his angels.



Predestined in Him

Eph 1:11 In him we were also chosen, having been predestined according to the plan of him who works out everything in conformity with the purpose of his will

There is a sense of security being in Christ, knowing God's will and intention that all in Christ will be saved. And it seems that it is this sense of security which Paul is trying to communicate to the saints at Ephesus. In Christ we are chosen for this destiny. That is, as Christians we are chosen. The Biblical idea of predestination is not the same as fatalism, for we are involved in being chosen by putting our faith in Christ. For it was His will that we be involved in this process. However, having been chosen as such our destiny is secure. It's like stepping on an elevator that is predestined for a certain floor. Once you're on, you don't have to worry about whether you're going to get there or not. You just have to worry about whether you are in fact on the elevator. (And you're not going anywhere if you just stand in the doorway) So make sure you are "in Him".



We are to His Praise

Eph 1:12 in order that we, who were the first to hope in Christ, might be for the praise of his glory.

God is glorified by the gracious manner in which he treats the saints. Put your faith in Christ and God will intentionally be gracious to you to the praise of his glory. Those who first hoped in Christ - namely the apostles - set a precedent. Like Paul who said, "Here is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance: Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners— of whom I am the worst. But for that very reason I was shown mercy so that in me, the worst of sinners, Christ Jesus might display his unlimited patience as an example for those who would believe on him and receive eternal life." 1Tim 1:15,16 Likewise it was those who were the first to hope in Christ who became the original spokesmen for Christianity, their words being read even to this day thousands of years later. Put your hope in Christ and he will give you a legacy as you declare his attributes.



Marked with a Seal

Eph 1:13,14 And you also were included in Christ when you heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation. Having believed, you were marked in him with a seal, the promised Holy Spirit, who is a deposit guaranteeing our inheritance until the redemption of those who are God’s possession— to the praise of his glory.

 Here is the order of salvation. First you have to hear, then believe, then you receive the Holy Spirit. We saw this worked out in the Penetcost of Acts 2. Peter preached the message. Those who believed were baptized received the Holy Spirit.

The receiving of the Holy Spirit is a one time event. This is the "baptism of the Holy Spirit" that John the Baptist refers to "I baptize you with water, but he will baptize you with the Holy Spirit." Mark 1:8 It is also what makes one born of God. "Yet to all who received him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God--  children born not of natural descent, nor of human decision or a husband's will, but born of God." John 1:12 It takes no effort on the person's part to be born of God. Having believed in Christ, one is automatically born of God by the Holy Spirit. And that is also what it means to be born again. "I tell you the truth, no one can enter the kingdom of God unless he is born of water and the Spirit.  Flesh gives birth to flesh, but the Spirit gives birth to spirit. You should not be surprised at my saying, 'You must be born again.' The wind blows wherever it pleases. You hear its sound, but you cannot tell where it comes from or where it is going. So it is with everyone born of the Spirit." John 3:5-8

There are many implications and aspects of being born of the Spirit, but in particular here Paul points out the aspect of being marked out in a special category for a particular destiny, which has been his emphasis throughout this chapter. Officials used official seals to indicate the authority or authenticity of a document. What is the mark of the Christian? It is the effects that the Holy Spirit has on one's behavior, as John writes in 1John 3:9,10 mentioned previously in the comment on verse 5.

So one aspect of a seal is as an identifying mark. But another aspect is in the sense of being a guarantee. Today when you buy a product, it may come with a guarantee associated with a seal. But if you don't have that seal, then neither do you have a guarantee. Since salvation is eternally secure and unloseable, the Christian only need be concerned whether he has obtained it. If a person has put salvific faith in Christ, such a person is then born of God, and the evidence of his regeneration will be revealed in his lifestyle and attiutudes. These are the effects of the Holy Spirit. If a person sees these effects in their life, they can be assured of their salvation. But if not, then they should take heed to Paul's warning to the Corinthians "Examine yourselves to see whether you are in the faith; test yourselves. Do you not realize that Christ Jesus is in you-- unless, of course, you fail the test?"2Cor 13:5

The inheritance is in the future. It is the future hope of becoming sinlessly perfect, like Christ and entering into God's presence blameless with great joy experiencing intimacy with Christ and being revealed as a son of God, not to mention the rewards for Christian services rendered in this life.


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Nov 02,2011