翻譯: English 中文 GB

以弗所書

1:15-1:23

為神的家庭的啟示禱告

1:15 因此,我既聽見
  你們信從主耶穌,
    親愛眾聖徒,

1:16 就為你們不住地感謝神,禱告的時候,常提到你們。
1:17 求我們主耶穌基督的神,榮耀的父,
  將那賜人智慧和啟示的靈賞給你們,使你們真知道他。

1:18 并且照明你們心中的眼睛,
  使你們知道
    他的恩召有何等指望
    他在聖徒中得的基業有何等丰盛的榮耀。

1:19 并知道
    他向我們這信的人所顯的能力是何等浩大,

1:20 就是照他在基督身上所運行的大能大力,
  使他從死奡_活,
  他在天上坐在自己的右邊,

1:21 遠超過一切執政的、掌權的、有能的、
  主治的和一切有名的,
  不但是今世的,
  連來世的也都超過了。

1:22 又將萬有服在他的腳下,
  使他為教會作萬有之首。

1:23 教會是他的身體,是那充滿萬有者所充滿的。


問題討論

觀察

解釋

應用


注釋

今天為那些表現出對基督的信和對其它基督徒的愛的人禱告。為他們的成熟禱告,他們對基督的知識會增加,他們能夠得到啟示,認識到他們在基督堛漲鼽m。

因看到使人得救的信的效果而禱告

以弗所書 1:15-16 因此,我既聽見你們信從主耶穌,親愛眾聖徒,就為你們不住地感謝神,禱告的時候,常提到你們。

前面一段是贊美神的禱告,這一段是替以弗所的信徒祈求神的供應的禱告。

聽見他們信從耶主穌暗示他們的信不只是心埵P意這些概念,而是把這個信融匯到他們的生活方式和言語之中。這種信和愛不可避免地顯示出使人得救的信,以及他們是由神生的,如約翰寫到:“親愛的弟兄啊,我們應當彼此相愛,因為愛是從神來的。凡有愛心的,都是由神而生,并且認識神。”【約翰一書 4:7】保羅基于福音在他們身上的這些效果為他們感恩。福音在你身上有什麼可以衡量的效果使你為之感謝神呢?


為更好地知道神禱告

以弗所書 1:17 求我們主耶穌基督的神,榮耀的父,將那賜人智慧和啟示的靈賞給你們,使你們真知道他。

認識神就是永生。耶穌禱告說:“認識你,獨一的真神,并且認識你所差來的耶穌基督:這就是永生。”【約翰福音 17:3】這是所有聖徒所接受的聖靈的功能之一。“如果神的靈住在你們心堙A你們就不屬肉體,乃屬聖靈了。人若沒有基督的靈,就不是屬基督的。”【羅馬書 8:9】保羅不是在為他們接受聖靈禱告。因為他說過他們已經接受了聖靈。他是在為聖靈把使他們能夠知道神的智慧和啟示給他們而禱告。

我認為他說的“啟示”指的是從他們已經知道的真理婸{識到一般性的原則。我認為他說的“智慧”指的是從他們所知道的真理堭o出應用。換句話說,他是在為他們認識到信意味著什麼及如何將信付之于應用禱告。這就是聖靈在我們生活中的一個作用,如經上說:“只等真理的聖靈來了,他要引導你們明白(原文作“進入”)一切的真理﹔”【約翰福音 16:13a】

通常,對這樣的禱告神會通過聖靈顯示出神的道奡I有挑戰性的應用。如果我們合作,真地按那些應用去做,我們就會更多地知道基督。因為聖經堜珨〞滷狴雂ㄛO坐在太師椅上的哲學操練。“有了我的命令又遵守的,這人就是愛我的。愛我的必蒙我父愛他,我也要愛他,并且要向他顯現。”【約翰福音 14:21】


關于指望、丰盛和能力的啟示

以弗所書 1:18-19 并且照明你們心中的眼睛,使你們知道他的恩召有何等指望﹔他在聖徒中得的基業有何等丰盛的榮耀。并知道他向我們這信的人所顯的能力是何等浩大,

“指望,丰盛和能力”這三樣是以弗所書的一個主題(見以弗所書筆記。“指望”本身是一個因相信將來要發生某件事而存在的期盼的感覺。“指望”還可以指將來要發生的那件事,或狀態。

他的恩召的指望是將來完美無罪的狀態,我們將像基督那樣聖潔,無可指謫地站在神的面前,與基督有親密的關系,并被顯示出是神的兒子。在頭腦埵P意這個道理是一回事,而明白其重要意義則是另一回事。因為對這個事實的啟示會影響一個人的行為,如經上說:

“親愛的弟兄啊,我們現在是神的兒女,將來如何,還未顯明。但我們知道主若顯現,我們必要像他,因為必得見他的真體。凡向他有這指望的就潔淨自己,像他潔淨一樣。”【約翰一書 3:2-3】

丰盛我認為指的是對罪的赦免這種事的丰富,比如:“我們借這愛子的血得蒙救贖,過犯得以赦免,乃是照他丰富的恩典。”【以弗所書 1:7】但更廣泛地說的是神對我們的恩典的程度。羅馬書婸﹛G“既是兒女,便是後嗣,就是神的後嗣,和基督同作後嗣。如果我們和他一同受苦,也必和他一同得榮耀。”【羅馬書 8:17】對這一方面是很好的描述。我遇到几個基督徒,他們不能夠接受神對罪的赦免,而以煉獄的概念取而代之。但在新約之下,如我們在前面看到的:“我不再記念他們的罪愆和他們的過犯”【希伯來書 10:17】

能力說的是神的權威和能力,特別是他潔淨信徒的能力。是的,神很有能力改變人。因為在死後,我們將忽然間不再有罪性。但即使是現再,神也能夠在一定程度上改變信徒的生命,如經上所記:“凡從神生的就不犯罪,因神的道(原文作“種”)存在他心堙Q他也不能犯罪,因為他是由神生的。”【約翰一書 3:9】在這堙坐ㄞ遄角@詞與這一節堛滿妖鄐O”使用的是同一希臘詞。那些由神生的人就失去了以罪的生活方式生活的能力。我們有一定的自由意識,神也在某種程度上限制他自己的權威以給我們自由意識,為了要按他的設計和目的來對待我們。一但決定要接受基督為救主,我們就把按照神的計划改變我們本性的權利交給了神。最終,這會使我們在天上完全無罪。這對神來說是不成問題的,對神來說是很容易的。我們不需要在煉獄婺g受數百年的痛苦來達到無罪的完美。持有這種觀念的人還沒有認識到神改變人的能力。這個改變發生在一霎時,眨眼之間。而且這個改變是永久性的。有些人,雖然他們相信在今生可以得到某種形式的“完美”,但同時又相信這個完美不一定是永久的,達到這個狀態的人又可以失去這種狀態。但神在我們的來生給我們的完美將是永久的效果。


復活的大能大力

以弗所書 1:20 就是照他在基督身上所運行的大能大力,使他從死奡_活,叫他在天上坐在自己的右邊,

基督的復活是大能大力的一幅圖像。我們知道我們的罪性是故有的。江山易改,本性難移,要去掉我們故有的罪性就如一只豹子改變它的斑點一樣難。然而,在基督的復活中,我們看到神可以做到在世人看來不可能做到的事。對我們自己來說,我們罪性的肉身將在復活後成為嶄新的,完美沒有罪性的。(見【哥林多前書 第十五章】

基督從死奡_活,坐在天上,信徒也將如此,這將在下一章說到。


萬有之首

以弗所書 1:21-23 遠超過一切執政的、掌權的、有能的、主治的和一切有名的,不但是今世的,連來世的也都超過了。又將萬有服在他的腳下,使他為教會作萬有之首。教會是他的身體,是那充滿萬有者所充滿的。

強調基督的權威使信徒們意識到他們實踐基督徒生活的權利。注意到基督的權威是如何應用到如下几點的:

基督是主

他們見了耶穌就拜他,然而還有人疑惑。耶穌進前來,對他們說:“天上、地下所有的權柄,都賜給我了。所以,你們要去使萬民作我的門徒,奉父子聖靈的名,給他們施洗(或作“給他們施洗,歸于父子聖靈的名。”)。凡我所吩咐你們的,都教訓他們遵守,我就常與你們同在,直到世界的末了。”【馬太福音 28:17-20】

他的權威還暗示了以下永恆的保証:

基督是救主

“正如你曾賜給他權柄,管理凡有血氣的,叫他將永生賜給你所賜給他的人。”【約翰福音 17:2】

他的權威還包括基督將行審判的權威。

基督將行審判

“并且因為他是人子,就賜給他行審判的權柄。”【約翰福音 5:27】

教會作為基督的身體是基督外在的表像,就如大使代表他的派遣國一樣。但在更親密的意義上,基督通過聖靈以及與聖靈所居住的信徒的合作,運行在世界堙C



庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Jul 29, 2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Ephesians 1:15-1:23 (web)

Prayer for the Revelation of God's Family

1:15 For this cause I also,
having heard of the faith in the Lord Jesus which is among you,
and the love which you have toward all the saints,
1:16 don't cease to give thanks for you, making mention of you in my prayers,
1:17 that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory,
may give to you a spirit of wisdom and revelation in the knowledge of him;
1:18 having the eyes of your hearts enlightened,
{TR reads "understanding" instead of "hearts"}
that you may know
what is the hope of his calling, and
what are the riches of the glory of his inheritance in the saints,
1:19 and what is the exceeding greatness of his power toward us who believe,
according to that working of the strength of his might
1:20 which he worked in Christ, when he raised him from the dead,
and made him to sit at his right hand in the heavenly places,
1:21 far above all rule, and authority, and power, and dominion, and every name that is named, not only in this world, but also in that which is to come.
1:22 He put all things in subjection under his feet,
and gave him to be head over all things for the assembly,
1:23 which is his body, the fullness of him who fills all in all.

Discussion Questions

Observation

Interpretation

Application


Comments

Today pray for those who have demonstrated their faith in Christ and love for other Christians. Pray that they may mature in their knowledge of Christ increasing in their revelation and enlightenment of their position in Christ.


Pray in view of the Effects of Saving Faith

Eph 1:15,16 For this reason, ever since I heard about your faith in the Lord Jesus and your love for all the saints, I have not stopped giving thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers.

Whereas the previous section was a prayer of praise to God, this section is a prayer of supplication on behalf of the believers in Ephesus.

Hearing about their faith in Christ implies that their faith was not simply a mental agreement to ideas, but an integration of such faith into their lifestyle and speech. Such faith and love is inevitably indicative of salvific faith and that they  have been born of God, as John writes, "Dear friends, let us love one another, for love comes from God. Everyone who loves has been born of God and knows God." 1John 4:7 It is upon the basis of the effect that the gospel had on them that Paul gave thanks for them. What measurable effect has the gospel had on you that you can be thankful for?



Pray to Know Him Better

Eph 1:17  I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know him better.

Eternal life is about knowing God. Jesus prayed, "this is eternal life: that they may know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom you have sent." John 17:3 This is one of the functions of the Holy Spirit whom all the saints have received. "And if anyone does not have the Spirit of Christ, he does not belong to Christ." Rom 8:9 Paul was not praying that they receive the Holy Spirit. For he had already said that they had received him. Rather he was praying that the Spirit may impart to them wisdom and revelation in their knowledge of God.

By "revelation" I would say he's referring to the realization of general principles which can be inferred from what they know. By "wisdom" I would say he's referring to the revelation of applications of what they know. In other words he's praying that they come to realize what the faith implies and how it applies.  This is one of the roles the Holy Spirit has in our lives, as it is written: "But when he, the Spirit of truth, comes, he will guide you into all truth."John 16:13

What typically happens with such prayers is that God, through the Holy Spirit reveals challenging applications from the Word. Then if we cooperate, actually doing those applications, we get to know Christ better. For Biblical revelation is not simply a arm-chair philosophical exercise. "Whoever has my commands and obeys them, he is the one who loves me. He who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love him and show myself to him." John 14:21



The Revelation of Hope, Riches and Power

Eph 1:18,19 I pray also that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in the saints, and his incomparably great power for us who believe. That power is like the working of his mighty strength

These three things "hope, riches, and power" are a theme in Ephesians as can be seen in the notes on Ephesians. "Hope" itself is a feeling of anticipation of a future event one has faith will occur. But "the hope" is referring to that future event, or state itself.

The hope of his calling is the future state of sinless perfection, in which we will be like Christ and stand blameless before God in holiness, having an intimate relationship with Christ and being revealed as sons of God. It's one thing to mentally agree with this, but quite another to realize the significance of it. For the revelation of this fact affects one's behavior, as it is written:

"Dear friends, now we are children of God, and what we will be has not yet been made known. But we know that when he appears, we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is. Everyone who has this hope in him purifies himself, just as he is pure." 1John 3:2,3
The riches I think refers to such things as the riches of the forgiveness of sins, as Eph 1:7 indicates. "In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the riches of God's grace." But more generally deals with the extent of God's grace to us. Romans 8:17 to the end is also very good on this aspect. I've met a number of Christians who simply cannot accept the extend of God's forgiveness of sins, and have opted for a purgatory concept. But under the New Covenant, as I mentioned before, our sins and lawless deeds will be remembered no more. (Heb 10:17)

The power speaks of God's authority and his ability, and in particular his power to sanctify the believer. Yes, God is quite able to change people. For after death, we will suddenly no longer be sinful. But even now he has power which does change the lives of the believers to an extent as it is written, "No one who is born of God will continue to sin, because God's seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been born of God." 1John 3:9 The word "cannot" is actually using the same Greek word for "power" as in this verse. Those who have been born of God have lost the ability to live a lifestyle of sin. You see, we have a degree of free will and God has limited his authority to an extent to give deference to our free will, so as to treat us in accordance with his design and purpose. But having decided to accept Christ as Savior, we give Him the right to change our nature, in accordance with His plan. Ultimately this will of course result in complete sinlessness in heaven. This is not a problem with God, it is quite easy for Him. And one is not subjected to centuries in some kind of purgatorial suffering to attain sinless perfection. People with such a concept have not come to the revelation of God's power to change people. The change is instantaneous, in a twinkling of an eye. And it is a permanent effect. For there are those who, though they believe a form of "perfection" can be obtained in this life, believe also that such perfection is not guaranteed as permanent, but that one can fall away again. But the perfection God brings us to in the next life is a permanent effect.



The Power of the Resurrection

Eph 1:20 which he exerted in Christ when he raised him from the dead and seated him at his right hand in the heavenly realms

Christ's resurrection is a picture of this power. Though we may view ourselves as innately sinful and that the removal of our innate sinfulness like a leopard changing its spots, yet in the resurrection of Christ we see that God can do what the world considers impossible. And for ourselves, the deadness of our own sinful flesh is raise anew, sinlessly perfect. (1Cor 15)

This raising and seating of Christ is also allegorically true of the believers, which the next chapter will reveal.



Head over All

Eph 1:21-23  far above all rule and authority, power and dominion, and every title that can be given, not only in the present age but also in the one to come. And God placed all things under his feet and appointed him to be head over everything for the church, which is his body, the fullness of him who fills everything in every way.

The emphasis on Christ's authority was to give the believers a sense of their right to practice the Christian life. Notice how Christ's authority is applied in the following
Christ as Lord:

Then Jesus came to them and said, "All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age." Matthew 28:17-20
His authority also implies eternal security in the following:
Christ as Savior:
"For you granted him authority over all people that he might give eternal life to all those you have given him." John 17:2
And his authority also speaks of Christ authority to judge
Christ as Judge:
"And he has given him authority to judge because he is the Son of Man." John 5:27
The church as the body of Christ is the outward manifestation of Christ in a simlar way in which an ambassador is a representative of the country he represents. But in a more intimate sense, Christ operates in the world through the Holy Spirit and in cooperation with the believers in whom he dwells.

The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015