翻譯: English 中文 GB

以弗所書

2:11-2:22

傳化到神的家庭

由外人到公民

2:11 所以你們應當記念,
  你們從前按肉體是外邦人,是稱為沒受割禮的,
  這名原是那些憑人手在肉身上稱為受割禮之人所起的。

2:12 那時你們與基督無關,
  在以色列國民以外,
  在所應許的諸約上是局外人,
  并且活在世上沒有指望,沒有神。
2:13 你們從前遠離神的人,
  如今卻在基督耶穌堙A靠著他的血,已經得親近了。

2:14 因他使我們和睦(原文作“因他是我們的和睦”),

  將兩下合而為一,拆毀了中間隔斷的牆,

2:15 而且以自己的身體廢掉冤仇,
  就是那記在律法上的規條,
  為要將兩下借著自己造成一個新人,如此便成就了和睦。

2:16 既在十字架上滅了冤仇,
  便借這十字架使兩下歸為一體,
  與神和好了。
2:17 并且來傳和平的福音給你們遠處的人,也給那近處的人。

2:18 因為我們兩下借著他被一個聖靈所感,得以進到父面前。

2:19 這樣,你們不再作外人和客旅,
  是與聖徒同國,是神家堛漱H了。

2:20 并且被建造在使徒和先知的根基上,
  有基督耶穌自己為房角石。

2:21 各(或作“全”)房靠他聯絡得合式,漸漸成為主的聖殿。
2:22 你們也靠他同被建造,成為神借著聖靈居住的所在。


問題討論

觀察

  • 保羅用了哪些詞來描繪我們在成為基督徒之前與神的關系?
  • 保羅用了哪些詞來描繪我們在成為基督徒之後與神的關系?
  • 在這一段堨i以找到哪些關于“三位一體”這個概念的証據?
  • 解釋

  • 這一段開始主要的動詞是“記念”。為什麼保羅要強調“記念”呢?他們可能忘記了什麼呢?
  • 你認為保羅在這一段堭j調的是神使外邦人與猶太人和好,還是神使人與神和好?
  • 如何解釋這奡y寫的和平【馬太福音 10:34】表面看上去的矛盾?
  • 應用

  • 你與猶太人信徒有什麼區別?
  • 在保羅用來描繪我們成為基督徒之前與神分離的詞堙A你對哪一個最有同感?
  • 在保羅用來描繪我們成為基督徒之後的情形的詞堙A你對哪一個最有同感?
  • 你在基督的身體堸_什麼作用?


  • 注釋

    以前,神把人划分為猶太人和外邦人,新約堣ㄕA是這樣了。現在,“人有了神的兒子就有生命﹔沒有神的兒子就沒有生命。”【約翰一書 5:12】以前,看的是一個人肉身的出生。但現在看的是一個人在靈堛滬咱矷C以前看的是肉身,現在看的是靈。因為神通過猶太人所做的事只是他正在通過基督徒所做的事的象征。外邦人曾象征著非基督徒,死在罪中。但現在真實的已經到來,取代了象征。基督徒是真猶太人,神的真子民,無論他們肉身的出生是什麼。

    在基督堙A“并不分猶太人、希利尼人,自主的、為奴的,或男、或女﹔因為你們在基督耶穌堻ㄕ足陘@了。”【加拉太書 3:28】雖然有不同角色的問題和合益的行為的問題,種族、人種和文化背景在基督的身體堻ㄓ應成為問題。“弟兄們,我借我們主耶穌基督的名,勸你們都說一樣的話。你們中間也不可分黨,只要一心一意,彼此相合。”【哥林多前書 1:10】


    被歸化的外人

    以弗所書 2:11-13 所以你們應當記念,你們從前按肉體是外邦人,是稱為沒受割禮的,這名原是那些憑人手在肉身上稱為受割禮之人所起的。那時你們與基督無關,在以色列國民以外,在所應許的諸約上是局外人,并且活在世上沒有指望,沒有神。你們從前遠離神的人,如今卻在基督耶穌堙A靠著他的血,已經得親近了。

    今天這已經不再成問題了,但要看到這曾是很困難的,就連使徒們都難于接受外邦人被接納到基督徒堻o個概念。因此在猶太人和外邦人混合的教會堙A猶太人會因為自己的血統而感到優越,外邦人會被當做外人看待。但保羅身為猶太人,想讓我們感到我們都在同一個家庭堙A其中沒有這樣的區別。一個人的背景與他在基督堛漲鼽m是無關的,這不應該影響基督徒弟兄間的關系。

    我們看到這在使徒行傳和加拉太書奡翱O很嚴重的問題。這個問題的一個側面就是按照福音,宗教的禮儀絮節沒有使人聖潔的價值。這對今天許多信教的人來說很難接受,甚至許多“基督徒”。

    “憑人手在肉身上”保羅指的是割禮,一個神指示的宗教儀式,就如受洗一樣。但一個宗教儀式無論是神立定的還是人立定的,做在肉身上的都沒有使人聖潔的價值“從肉身生的就是肉身。從靈生的就是靈。”【約翰福音 3:6】雖然對肉身做的事有可能像征著某件屬靈的事,但對肉身做的不能帶來靈的重生。聖禮的教義是于聖經的教義相悖的。“受割禮不受割禮都無關緊要,要緊的就是作新造的人。”【加拉太書 6:15】“我只要問你們這一件:你們受了聖靈,是因行律法呢?是因聽信福音呢?你們既靠聖靈入門,如今還靠肉身成全嗎?你們是這樣的無知嗎?你們受苦如此之多,都是徒然的嗎?難道果真是徒然的嗎?”【加拉太書 3:2-4】

    聖禮的教義一直是機構化精英主義的一個基礎,因而在基督徒中產生了非法的分爭,無論是天主教堛爾t禮概念,比如他們屬聖禮性質的“聖餅”,還是有些新教徒搞的嬰兒受洗的異端。但更隱晦的是基督徒因為形式而不是工用發生分爭。所有這些都與保羅在這堜珣衁漲X一的靈相悖。使我們離神更近,因而我們互相間更近的是基督的血,不是在肉身上作的儀式。


    猶太人與外邦人的和好

    以弗所書 2:14-15 因他使我們和睦(原文作“因他是我們的和睦”),將兩下合而為一,拆毀了中間隔斷的牆,而且以自己的身體廢掉冤仇,就是那記在律法上的規條,為要將兩下借著自己造成一個新人,如此便成就了和睦。

    這堙妝M睦”說的不只是平靜的感覺,而是結束存在于猶太人和外邦人之間的冤仇。但這個冤仇似乎是神引起的,因為神依著血統選擇了某些人,而沒有選擇其它的人。然後讓他們按照一套對其它人來說是陌生的規矩和誡律來生活。但神只是在區分一場戲堣ㄕP的角色,誰代表那些離他近的,誰代表那些離他遠的。但就如基督給人和神之間帶來和平,廢掉其間的冤仇一樣,基督還給所有信基督的人之間帶來和睦,無論是猶太人還是外邦人。

    使雙方隔開的是摩西律法,甚至在具體的細節上。律法埵陶y成分爭的像征性的絮節。為保險起見,猶太人甚至不與外邦人在一起吃飯。雙方間己乎不可能有基督徒之間的弟兄關系,除非外邦人按摩西律法變成猶太人。但那不是神給基督徒定的計划。基督廢掉了摩西律法堛熙W矩和誡律

    但真正廢掉的是什麼呢?因為十誡甚至對今天的基督徒仍有應用。摩西律法是一套建立在一般原則上的條規,或具體的應用。雖然具體的條規已經被釘在十字架上,這些條規的靈(它們賴以為基礎的一般原則)仍然適用于基督徒。

    “你們從前在過犯和未受割禮的肉體中死了,神赦免了你們(或作“我們”)一切過犯,便叫你們與基督一同活過來。又涂抹了在律例上所寫,攻擊我們,有礙于我們的字據,把它撤去,釘在十字架上。”【歌羅西書 2:13-14】

    這堿O一個具體規條的例子:

    “牛在場上踹谷的時候,不可籠住它的嘴。”【申命記 25:4】

    而下面是如何將其應用到基督徒生活中的一個例子:

    “有誰當兵自備糧餉呢?有誰栽葡萄園不吃園堛漯G子呢?有誰牧養牛羊不吃牛羊的奶呢?我說這話,豈是照人的意見?律法不也是這樣說嗎?就如摩西的律法記著說:“牛在場上踹谷的時候,不可籠住它的嘴。”難道神所挂念的是牛嗎?不全是為我們說的嗎?分明是為我們說的。因為耕種的當存著指望去耕種﹔打場的也當存得糧的指望去打場。”【哥林多前書 9:7-10】

    這個條規被用來証明基督徒因事奉得到報償的合法性。看上去與牛在場上踹谷相去甚遠,但對基督徒來說,需要關心的是其原則,而不是具體的條規。

    注意到耶穌說:“莫想我來要廢掉律法和先知。我來不是要廢掉,乃是要成全。我實在告訴你們,就是到天地都廢去了,律法的一點一畫也不能廢去,都要成全。所以無論何人廢掉這誡命中最小的一條,又教訓人這樣作,他在天國要稱為最小的。但無論何人遵行這誡命,又教訓人遵行,他在天國要稱為大的。”【馬太福音 5:17-19】

    耶穌接下來說到律法的一般原則,并把它們應用到遠超過摩西律法中的具體規條。因為沒有被廢掉的是律法的一般原則。所以摩西律法堥C個規條的靈在基督徒生活中都有應用。耶穌說的是成全律法的靈──甚至每一個條規的靈。基督徒不需要在字面上遵守摩西律法堥C個條規,但要從它們得出應用。事實上,如耶穌在馬太福音第五章所指出的那樣,在字面上“遵守”具體的條規,但卻違反作為這些條規的基礎的原則,其實根本不是遵守它們。

    現在,因為已經從這些條規婺挐璆X來,猶太基督徒和外邦人基督徒之間就再也沒有沖突的原因,因為雙方都在共同努力把律法的原則應用到他們的生活中去。


    與神和好

    以弗所書 2:16-18 既在十字架上滅了冤仇,便借這十字架使兩下歸為一體,與神和好了。并且來傳和平的福音給你們遠處的人,也給那近處的人。因為我們兩下借著他被一個聖靈所感,得以進到父面前。

    通過十字架,信徒之間建立起了和平,信徒與神之間和好了。因此橫向和縱向的關系都和好了。但十字架對猶太基督徒和外邦人基督徒間的和好起到了什麼作用呢?

    若沒有十字架,義只能以義的行為作為基礎。人必須靠完美的行為來掙得拯救。但如果是以行為為基礎,就要有一套規則和條例來衡量他們的行為。那正是摩西律法。摩西律法含有一套具體的條例,就如亞當和夏娃所受的果子的試探一樣,一個人可以通過它得到以行為為基礎的義。但通過十字架,基督打開了另外一條得到義的途徑。這條途徑是以信為基礎而不是以行為為基礎。“但如今神的義,在律法以外已經顯明出來,有律法和先知為証:就是神的義,因信耶穌基督,加給一切相信的人,并沒有分別﹔”【羅馬書 3:21-22】

    在律法之下,人試圖得到以行為為基礎的義,而在恩典的福音之下,人有以義為基礎的行為。基督徒先因信稱義,然後通過信的工顯示出他的義。在恩典之下,人不在受律法的條例的約束,不再受其試探,并可以自由地從律法的靈堭o出應用,以之作為基督徒生活的一部分。


    歸化了的公民

    以弗所書 2:19 這樣,你們不再作外人和客旅,是與聖徒同國,是神家堛漱H了。

    遺憾的是,今天,由于教派或機構的傲慢,基督徒在走進一個教會時會被當作外人,而不是神的家庭堛漱@個成員。當然,在早期教會堙A外邦人開始有可能會感到是外人。哥尼流是第一個成為基督徒的外邦人。使徒彼得給他和他的家人講道,給他們施洗。但鑒于使徒行傳第十五章堛滷“峞A他不太可能被允許參加耶路撒冷的教會,因為在那媢鴷~邦人存在著很大的偏見。他有沒有受到像同胞和基督徒弟兄那樣關照呢?的確,保羅後來因為彼得不尊重外邦人基督徒不得不當面責備他。(“後來磯法到了安提阿,因他有可責之處,我就當面抵擋他。”【加拉太書 2:11】)同樣,今天有好些基督徒感到被排除在基督徒弟兄之外。有很多的確如此,而且是因為非法的原因。你的教會對基督徒是不是像對待同一家庭堛漲身呢?你對你家庭的成員是不是像你對待基督徒弟兄那樣呢?基督徒弟兄在我們的生活中應該占有一定的位置。“所以有了機會,就當向眾人行善,向信徒一家的人更當這樣。”【加拉太書 6:10】

    至于公民也同樣。作為公民,就有某些權利和特權。保羅對腓立比的基督徒說:“我們卻是天上的國民,并且等候救主,就是主耶穌基督從天上降臨。”【腓立比書 3:20】所以在回答神為什麼要讓一個基督徒進天堂這個問題時,許多可能的回答中的一個就是:因為他是神的國民,他有一個天國的護照,上面蓋有基督的血的印章。所有的基督徒在此都是等同的。


    根基

    以弗所書 2:20 并且被建造在使徒和先知的根基上,有基督耶穌自己為房角石。

    “使徒和先知的根基”指的是神的道──聖經。因為是聖經告訴我們關于耶穌,我們的信的目標,以及他的教訓和保証,還有保羅顯明的福音,因為他寫到:

    “到了日期,借著傳揚的工夫,把他的道顯明了。這傳揚的責任是按著神我們救主的命令交托了我。”【提多書 1:3】

    我們還看到耶穌在智者的根基的寓言婸”麈囿犒D是根基。

    但耶穌自己也被視作是根基:“因為那已經立好的根基就是耶穌基督,此外沒有人能立別的根基。”【哥林多前書 3:11】但這是聖經堜珨〞滬C穌,被使徒和先知宣告的耶穌。因為有很多人講的耶穌不符合聖經堜畛羲滬C穌。然而神的道若沒有耶穌也不是完整的根基,因為耶穌是根基的房角石。而房角石是根基的一部分。(“人必不從你那堥石頭為房角石,也不取石頭為根基石。你必永遠荒涼。”這是耶和華說的。【耶利米書 51:26】

    先知們也提到作為房角石的耶穌。

    所以主耶和華如此說:“看哪,我在錫安放一塊石頭,作為根基,是試驗過的石頭,是穩固根基,寶貴的房角石,信靠的人必不著急。”【以賽亞書 28:16】

    房角石、釘子、爭戰的弓和一切掌權的都從他而出。”【撒迦利亞書 10:4】

    如果你搬開房角石,整個房子就會倒塌。這像征性地發生在猶太人身上,他們把耶穌搬開,結果他們的房子在公元七十年真地被毀壞了,連殿也被拆毀了:“你們不是看見這殿宇嗎?我實在告訴你們,將來在這堙A沒有一塊石頭留在石頭上不被拆毀了。”【馬太福音 24:2】


    神的房屋

    以弗所書 2:21-22 各(或作“全”)房靠他聯絡得合式,漸漸成為主的聖殿。你們也靠他同被建造,成為神借著聖靈居住的所在。

    基督徒弟兄們就如一幢建筑。“因為我們是與神同工的﹔你們是神所耕種的田地,所建造的房屋。”【哥林多前書 3:9】特別地,是一幢神的殿,人們被吸引到那堨h接近神,其中還有禱告與神交通。遺憾的是,在聖經之後的機構化的基督教堙A“教會”往往被與建筑物聯系起來。所以今天基督徒往往說去教會,而不知道他們自己其實就是教會。構成神的殿的不是建筑物,也不是被稱為“教會”的機構,而是那些把信建筑在基督上的基督徒們,無論他們哪一天去哪幢建筑物。

    神通過聖靈住在信徒中,聖靈把屬靈的恩賜賜給信徒,使基督的身體得到造就。每個人都是重要的,不只是牧師。


    以弗所書2:11-2:22的應用

    時至今天,在基督徒中仍有基于種族、人種的紛爭。有些教會几乎全是黑人,有些几乎全是白人,有些几乎全是中國人或西班牙人。雖然集中地針對某個群體來事奉有其一定的合法性,但這些往往蛻變為不同族裔的社會具樂部。所幸的是猶太人與外邦人間的沖突已經在新約堭o到解決,這個沖突的解決使得基督徒之間,以至整個世界堙A有了一種大家庭合一的感覺。我們因此得益于早期基督徒逾越這個問題。



    庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
    問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
    索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
    查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

    Edition: Jul 29, 2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Ephesians 2:11-2:22 (web)

The Transition into God's Family

From Strangers to Citizens

2:11 Therefore remember that once you, the Gentiles in the flesh,
who are called "uncircumcision" by that which is called "circumcision,"
(in the flesh, made by hands);
2:12 that you were at that time separate from Christ,
alienated from the commonwealth of Israel,
and strangers from the covenants of the promise,
having no hope and without God in the world.
2:13 But now in Christ Jesus you who once were far off are made near in the blood of Christ.
2:14 For he is our peace,
who made both one, and broke down the middle wall of partition,
2:15 having abolished in the flesh the hostility,
the law of commandments contained in ordinances,
that he might create in himself one new man of the two, making peace;
2:16 and might reconcile them both in one body to God through the cross,
having killed the hostility thereby.
2:17 He came and preached peace to you who were far off and to those who were near.
2:18 For through him we both have our access in one Spirit to the Father.
2:19 So then you are no longer strangers and foreigners,
but you are fellow citizens with the saints, and of the household of God,
2:20 being built on the foundation of the apostles and prophets,
Christ Jesus himself being the chief cornerstone;
2:21 in whom the whole building, fitted together, grows into a holy temple in the Lord;
2:22 in whom you also are built together for a habitation of God in the Spirit.

Discussion Questions

Observation

  • What are some terms that Paul uses to describe our relationship with God before we became Christians?
  • What are some terms that Paul uses to describe our relationship with God after we became Christians?
  • What evidence of the concept of the "trinity" can be found in this section?
  • Interpretation

  • The main introductory verb of this section is "remember". Why does Paul emphasize to "remember"? What may have they forgotten?
  • Do you think Paul's main emphasis in this section that God reconciled Gentile to Jew or that God reconciled man to God?
  • How do you resolve the contradiction between the peace described here with that in Matt 10:34?
  • Application

  • What is the difference between you and a Jewish believer?
  • Of the terms that Paul used to describe our separation from God before we became Christians, which could you identify with the most?
  • Of the terms that Paul used to describe our condition in this section after we became Christians, which would you identify with the most?
  • What role do you see yourself playing in the body of Christ?


  • Comments

    The previous focus of God's categorization of people as Gentiles or Jews was changed under the New Covenant. Now the focus is "he who has the Son has life; he who does not have the Son of God does not have life." 1John 5:12 Before the focus was on the circumstances of one's physical birth. But now the focus would be on the circumstances of one's spiritual rebirth. Before the focus was on the flesh, but now on the spirit. For what God was doing through the Jewish people was only symbolic of what he is doing through the Christians. Gentiles used to be symbolic of non-Christians, dead in sin. But now the reality had come which was replacing the symbolic. Christians are the true Jews, the true people of God, irrespective of the circumstances of their physical birth.

    Likewise in Christ "There is neither Jew nor Greek, slave nor free, male nor female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus." Gal 3:28 While there are issues of role and issues of appropriate behavior, ethnic, racial, and cultural boundaries should not be an issue among the body of Christ. "I appeal to you, brothers, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that all of you agree with one another so that there may be no divisions among you and that you may be perfectly united in mind and thought." 1Cor 1:10



    Legalized Aliens

    Eph 2:11-13 Therefore, remember that formerly you who are Gentiles by birth and called "uncircumcised" by those who call themselves "the circumcision" (that done in the body by the hands of men)— remember that at that time you were separate from Christ, excluded from citizenship in Israel and foreigners to the covenants of the promise, without hope and without God in the world.  But now in Christ Jesus you who once were far away have been brought near through the blood of Christ.

    Today this is not so much an issue in people's minds, but realize that it was very difficult, even for the apostles to accept the idea of Gentile believers being accepted as Christians. Thus in a church with a mix of Jews and Gentiles, the Jews may feel superior just because of their flesh, while the Gentiles made to feel like outsiders. But Paul, a Jew himself, tried to give the sense that we are all in the same family where there are no such distinctions. One's background is irrelevant to one's status in Christ, and should not factor into issues of fellowship.

    This became a major issue as we see in the book of Acts and Galatians.One aspect of this issue is the fact the according to the gospel, religious rituals have no sanctifying value. And this is difficult for many religious people today to accept, even many "Christians".

    "That done in the body by the hands of men". Paul is referring to circumcision, a religious ritual which God instituted, much like water baptism. But regardless of whether a religious ritual has been instituted by God or man, that which is done to the flesh has no sanctifying value. "Flesh gives birth to flesh, but the Spirit gives birth to spirit." John 3:6 While that which is done to the flesh may be symbolic of something spiritual, that which is done to the flesh cannot give spiritual regeneration. Sacrimental theological constructs are contrary to Biblical theology. "Neither circumcision nor uncircumcision means anything; what counts is a new creation." Gal 6:15  "This only I want to learn from you: Did you receive the Spirit by the works of the law, or by the hearing of faith? Are you so foolish? Having begun in the Spirit, are you now being made perfect by the flesh? Have you suffered so many things in vain——if indeed it was in vain?" Gal 3:2-4

    Sacrimental theologies have been a basis for institutional elitism and consequently for illegitimate divisions among Christians historically, whether they be the sacramental concepts of Catholicism, like their concept of the sacramental nature of their "Eucharist", or of the heresy of infant baptism practiced by some Protestant denominations. But even more subtely Christians have divided over issues of form over function. All are contrary to the spirit of unity Paul is teaching here. It was through the blood of Christ, and not through a ritual done to the flesh, which brought us all near to God and consequently near to each other.



    Reconciliation of Jew to Gentile

    Eph 2:14,15 For he himself is our peace, who has made the two one and has destroyed the barrier, the dividing wall of hostility, by abolishing in his flesh the law with its commandments and regulations. His purpose was to create in himself one new man out of the two, thus making peace

    "Peace" here is not simply a feeling of tranquility, but rather an ending of hostility between two sides, Jews and Gentiles. But it seems that God had started the hostility to begin with, chosing certain people based on genetics over others. And then having them live by a set of rules and regulations foreign to the other. But he was simply distinguishing actors in a play, who represent those near to him and those far from him. But just as Christ brings peace as an ending of hostility between man and God, so he brings peace between Gentile and Jew, for all those who put their faith in Christ.

    It was the Law of Moses which divided the two, even in very practical ways. The law had symbolic rituals which caused divisions. Just to be safe, Jews would not even eat with Gentiles. Christian fellowship would be impossible between the two unless Gentiles became Jews and came under the Law of Moses. But that was not God's plan in Christianity. Rather, Christ abolished the Law of Moses with its commandments and regulations.

    But what was actually abolished? For surely the Ten Commandments have application even to Christians today. The phrase "commandments and regulations" is more literally "commandments in decrees" or "the regulatory commandments". ("and" is not the conjuction, but "in") The Law of Moses is a set of regulations, or particular applications, based upon general principles. But while the particular regulations found in the written code were nailed to the cross, the spirit of those regulations (which is the general principles upon which they were based) are still applicable to the Christian.

    "When you were dead in your sins and in the uncircumcision of your sinful nature, God made you alive with Christ. He forgave us all our sins, having canceled the written code, with its regulations, that was against us and that stood opposed to us; he took it away, nailing it to the cross." Col 2:13,14
    Here, for example is a particular regulation:
    "Do not muzzle an ox while it is treading out the grain." Deut 25:4
    And here is an example as to how it is applied in the Christian life:
    "Who serves as a soldier at his own expense? Who plants a vineyard and does not eat of its grapes? Who tends a flock and does not drink of the milk?  Do I say this merely from a human point of view? Doesn't the Law say the same thing?  For it is written in the Law of Moses: "Do not muzzle an ox while it is treading out the grain." Is it about oxen that God is concerned?  Surely he says this for us, doesn't he? Yes, this was written for us, because when the plowman plows and the thresher threshes, they ought to do so in the hope of sharing in the harvest." 1Cor 9:7-10
    It is applied to justify ministering Christians getting paid for doing ministry. Seems quite far from an ox treading grain, but again it is the principle and not the particular regulation which is of concern to the Christian.

    Notice also that Jesus said, "Do not think that I have come to abolish the Law or the Prophets; I have not come to abolish them but to fulfill them.  I tell you the truth, until heaven and earth disappear, not the smallest letter, not the least stroke of a pen, will by any means disappear from the Law until everything is accomplished. Anyone who breaks one of the least of these commandments and teaches others to do the same will be called least in the kingdom of heaven, but whoever practices and teaches these commands will be called great in the kingdom of heaven."Matt 5:17-19

    Jesus then goes on to speak of the general principles of the Law and applying them beyond the particular regulations found in the Law of Moses. For what has not been abolished is the general principles of the Law. Thus the spirit of every regulation in the Law of Moses has application in the Christian life. And Jesus is speaking of keeping the spirit of the Law - even the spirit of every particular commandment. Christians are not bound to keep the particular regulations in the Law of Moses in a literal sense, but rather to infer applications from them. In fact, as Jesus revealed in Matthew 5, to "keep" the particular regulations in a literal sense while violating the principles upon which they are based is to not keep them at all.

    So now, being freed up from the regulations, there is no longer a basis for conflict between Jew and Gentile Christian, as both strive to together to apply the principles of the Law to their lives.



    Reconciled to God

    Eph 2:16-18 and in this one body to reconcile both of them to God through the cross, by which he put to death their hostility.  He came and preached peace to you who were far away and peace to those who were near. For through him we both have access to the Father by one Spirit.

    Through the cross peace has been established among the community of believers and reconciliation has been accomplished between the believers and God. Thus both horizontal and vertical relationships have been brought to reconciliation. But what role did the cross play in reconciling Jew and Gentile believer?

    Without the cross the only other righteousness available was a performance based one. One had to earn salvation by perfect performance. But if by performance, then there has to be some set of rules and standards by which one can measure their level of performance. That's what the Law of Moses was. It contained a set of particular regulations, like the fruit test with Adam and Eve, through which one could try and attain a performance-based righteousness. But through the cross, Christ opened up a different way to obtain righteousness. One which was based on faith rather than performance.  "But now a righteousness from God, apart from law, has been made known, to which the Law and the Prophets testify. This righteousness from God comes through faith in Jesus Christ to all who believe." Rom 3:21,22

    Under the Law one tries to obtain a performance-based righteousness, but under the gospel of grace one has righteousness-based performance. The Christian first becomes righteous through faith and then reveals his righteousness through works of faith. Under grace, one becomes free from the regulations of law, not being subject to the test, and is free to infer and derive applications from the spirit of the law as part of his living of the Christian life.



    Legalized Citizens

    Eph 2:19 Consequently, you are no longer foreigners and aliens, but fellow citizens with God’s people and members of God’s household

    It is unfortunate today, due to denominational or institutional pride, that a Christian will go to a church and be treated as a foreigner and not as a fellow member of God's household. Certainly being a Gentile in the early church one might have initially felt like a foreigner. Cornelius was the first Gentile convert. The apostle Peter preached the gospel to him and his household and had them baptized. Yet given the rhetoric of Acts 15 it was unlikely he was allowed to attend the church at Jerusalem, there being so much prejudice against Gentiles. Was he cared for as a fellow citizen and a brother in Christ? Indeed later Paul had to rebuke Peter for treating Gentile Christians with contempt. (Gal 2:11) Likewise today many Christians feel ostracized from Christian fellowship. And indeed many have been, for illegitimate reasons. Does your church treat Christians like members of a common family? Would you treat your family members like you treat fellow Christians? Fellow Christians should have a certain priority in our lives. "Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all, especially to those who are of the household of faith." Gal 6:10

    Likewise with regards to citizenship. Being a citizen comes with it certain rights and privileges. Paul says to the Philippians, "Our citizenship is in heaven, from which we also eagerly wait for the Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ" Php 3:20 So, of the many possible responses a Christian could legitimately give as to why God should let him into heaven, one is simply that he has his citizenship, he has a heavenly passport stamped with the blood of Christ. All Christians have equal standing in this regards.



    The Foundation

    Eph 2:20 built on the foundation of the apostles and prophets, with Christ Jesus himself as the chief cornerstone.

    By "the foundation of the apostles and prophets" he means the Word of God - the Bible. For it is the Bible that tells us of Jesus, the object of our faith, along with his teachings and promises, and the gospel revealed by Paul, as he writes:

    "At his appointed season he brought his word to light through the preaching entrusted to me by the command of God our Savior" Titus 1:3
    We also see Jesus speaking of the Word of God as a foundation in the parable of the Wise Man's Foundation.
    But Jesus himself is also viewed as a foundation in 1Cor 3:11"For no one can lay any foundation other than the one already laid, which is Jesus Christ." But this is the Jesus of the Bible, the Jesus declared by the apostles and prophets. For there many who declare a Jesus who is not conformed to the Biblical declaration. Nor is the Word of God without Jesus a complete foundation. For Jesus is the corner stone of the foundation. For cornerstones were used as part of the foundation. (Jer 51:26  No rock will be taken from you for a cornerstone, nor any stone for a foundation, for you will be desolate forever," declares the LORD.)

    Jesus as the chief cornerstone was also mentioned by the prophets.

    Isa 28:16  So this is what the Sovereign LORD says: "See, I lay a stone in Zion, a tested stone, a precious cornerstone for a sure foundation; the one who trusts will never be dismayed.

    Zec 10:4  From Judah will come the cornerstone, from him the tent peg, from him the battle bow, from him every ruler.

    If you take away the cornerstone, the whole house falls down. This symbolically happened to the Jews who took Jesus away, their house was quite literally destroyed in 70 ad, including the temple being torn down"I tell you the truth, not one stone here will be left on another; every one will be thrown down." Matt 24:2


    The Lord's Building

    Eph 2:21-22 In him the whole building is joined together and rises to become a holy temple in the Lord. And in him you too are being built together to become a dwelling in which God lives by his Spirit.

    The Christian community is likened to a building "For we are God's fellow workers; you are God's field, God's building." 1Cor 3:9 And in particular a temple to which people are drawn in their approach to God and in which is prayerful communication with God. Unfortunately post-Biblical Institutional Christianity has characteristically  associated "church" with a physical building. Thus Christians today speak of going to a church rather than thinking of themselves as the church. It is neither the buildings nor the institutions called "churches" which compose God's temple, but rather the community of those who have put their faith in Christ regardless of whether they go to a particular building on a particular day of the week.

    God lives in the believers through the Spirit, who imparts spiritual gifts for the mutual edification of the body of Christ. Everyone is important, not just pastors.


    Application of Eph 2:11-22

    Even today there are divisions based on racial and ethnic backgrounds within the Christian community. There are churches that are almost exclusively Black, White, Chinese or Hispanic and whereas there is some legitimacy in focussing a ministry on a particular peoples group, these can often become not much more than ethnic social clubs. But fortunately the Jew/Gentile conflict had been resolved in the New Testament, so also this resolution has led to  a sense of family unity within the Christian community throughout the world. Thus we reap the benefit of the early Christians going to the cross over this matter.

    The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


    Jul 29,2015