翻譯: English 中文 GB

以弗所書

6:1-9

合宜的關系

家堜M工作中的合宜行為

6:1 你們作兒女的

  要在主媗弗q父母,這是理所當然的。
6:2-3 要孝敬父母,
  “使你得福,在世長壽。
【申命記 5:16】
  這是第一條帶應許的誡命。
6:4 你們作父親的
  不要惹兒女的氣,
  只要照著主的教訓和警戒,養育他們。

6:5 你們作仆人的
  要懼怕戰兢,用誠實的心聽從你們肉身的主人,
  好像聽從基督一般。

6:6 不要只在眼前事奉,像是討人喜歡的,
  要像基督的仆人,從心媬磽瘥囿漲捕N。

6:7 甘心事奉,好像服事主,不像服事人。
6:8 因為曉得各人所行的善事,
  不論是為奴的,是自主的,都必按所行的得主的賞賜

6:9 你們作主人的,
  待仆人也是一理,不要威嚇他們,
  因為知道他們和你們同有一位主在天上,
  他并不偏待人。


問題討論

第1節
參見 歌羅西書 3:20 你們作兒女的,要凡事聽從父母,因為這是主所喜悅的。
“在主堙走的是只有父母是基督徒時才需聽從他們嗎?
或更一般地講,“在主堙修飾的是“父母”還是“聽從”(服從的方式),比如:“請你們為主接待她,合乎聖徒的體統。她在何事上要你們幫助,你們就幫助她,因她素來幫助許多人,也幫助了我。”羅馬書 16:2
第2-3節
這個應許是不是保証長壽和富足?
如果是這樣的話,如何解釋很多虔誠的基督徒,更不用說耶穌自己,都在年紀尚輕的時候去世,而且不擁有物質上的財富?
保羅表明我們應該遵守第五誡。但這屬于摩西律法。作為基督徒,我們不是不在律法之下嗎?
第4節
如何定義父親在他的兒女之上的權威的范疇?
“惹氣”譯自希臘文“παρογιζω”,就是引起憤怒,激怒的意思。
參見: 羅馬書 10:19 我再說:以色列人不知道嗎?先有摩西說:“我要用那不成子民的,惹動你們的憤恨﹔我要用那無知的民,觸動你們的怒氣。”
參見:歌羅西書 3:21 “你們作父親的,不要惹兒女的氣,恐怕他們失了志氣。”
這堙孚S”譯自希臘文“ερεθιζω”,就是挑起,使激動,刺激,激怒的意思。
父親如何惹他們的兒女生氣呢?兒女生什麼的氣呢?
為什麼這堙妤訄V和警戒”的命令是給父親的,而不是給母親的?
父親的作用與母親的作用會有什麼不同?
你從你的父親受到了什麼教訓和警戒?
第5節
在今天的社會堙A很多人把“奴役”看作是對人類的罪。
為什麼保羅沒有采取這個立場?“奴役”是罪嗎?
現代會有什麼等同于奴役?(雇員,研究生,欠債的人(箴言 22:7))
一個人可以如何表達尊敬?
提摩太前書 6:1 “凡在軛下作仆人的當以自己主人配受十分的恭敬,免得神的名和道理被人褻瀆。”
提多書 2:9 “勸仆人要順服自己的主人,凡事討他的喜歡,不可頂撞他,”
彼得前書 2:18 “你們作仆人的,凡事要存敬畏的心順服主人,不但順服那善良溫和的,就是那乖僻的也要順服。”
第6節
你有沒有注意到當你老板在場的時候你的行為會有所改變?
第7-8節
既然世俗的工作也是為神做工,你覺得自己是不是應該作全職的基督徒工人呢?
然而,你的世俗工作成就了什麼“善”呢?
或者其關鍵不在于做了什麼,而在于是怎麼做的?
第9節
如何定義主人在他仆人之上的權威范疇?
參見: 歌羅西書 4:1 “你們作主人的,要公公平平的待仆人,因為知道你們也有一位主在天上。”
我們都是神的仆人,那麼作為神的仆人,你如何概括神是怎樣對待你的?
偏待人:社會是以什麼為基礎衡量人的?
神是以什麼為基礎衡量人的?

注釋

因為這是理所當然的

以弗所書 6:1 你們作兒女的,要在主媗弗q父母,這是理所當然的。

孩子會問他的父母:“我為什麼要聽你們的話呢?”其原因許有很多,但基本上講,因為這樣做對。義人的特征就是行善,因為那是對的。這是應該給孩子教的──有一個正確的事可做,而你應該要做那正確的事。事實上這是一個很成熟的動機。因為不成熟的人總是以他們能從中得到什麼為動機,而不管這件事本身是不是好的和正確的。神是好的和正確的,這不是因為他可以從中得到什麼好處,而是由于他固有的本性是好的和要行善的。

保羅還了給孩子另一個聽話的原因:“你們作兒女的,要凡事聽從父母,因為這是主所喜悅的。”【歌羅西書 3:20】孩子要逐漸學著懂得他們要練習討主的喜悅,他們應該渴望討主的喜悅。討主的喜悅是件好的和正確的事。“所以無論是住在身內,離開身外,我們立了志向,要得主的喜悅。”【哥林多後書 5:9】

至于“在主堙芋A這不是指“在主堛漱H”,所以不只是要聽基督徒父母的話。我相信保羅所指的是一個我們曾經說到過的概念,也就是說人的權威都有一個有限的范疇,在此范疇之外這個人就沒有合法的權威。要“在主堙乳弗q父母指的是在主給你父母的合法權威范疇之內聽從你父母,無論你父母是不是基督徒﹔也就是說,在不違背主的旨意的前題下聽從你父母。


長壽得福

以弗所書 6:2-3 要孝敬父母,使你得福,在世長壽。這是第一條帶應許的誡命。【申命記 5:16】

這是服從你父母的又一好處﹔也就是,總的來說,那些孝敬父母的會活得更好。父母的特點是以他們的孩子的最佳利益為念。這并不是說他們一定會按他們孩子的興趣去做,但是會按他們孩子的最佳利益去做。而因為“愚蒙迷住孩童的心,”【箴言 22:15a】,有必要訓練他們去做正確的和好的事。“教養孩童,使他走當行的道,就是到老他也不偏離。”【箴言 22:6】沒有教養好的孩子到頭來會早亡。他們會與不三不四的人混在一起,被牽扯到犯法、毒品、亂搞性關系,或諸如此類,其結果若不是早亡,就是痛苦的生活,并且有永恆的痛苦結局。

不成熟的往往愚蠢地以為“享受生命”就在于滿足他們肉身的欲望。但他們沒有想到長遠的結果,命運的問題,人的靈魂和良心的敗壞,意念和身體的敗壞。雖然他們也許會經歷短暫的快樂,他們錯過了生命的真正意義,人生不是為了尋求快樂。惡人“愛宴樂,不愛神。”【提摩太後書 3:4b】“但那好宴樂的寡婦,正活著的時候,也是死的。”【提摩太前書 5:6】


不要過于嚴厲

以弗所書 6:4 你們作父親的,不要惹兒女的氣,只要照著主的教訓和警戒,養育他們。

同樣保羅寫到:“你們作父親的,不要惹兒女的氣,恐怕他們失了志氣。”【歌羅西書 3:21】雖然有些父親對他們的孩子沒有什麼興趣,但那些愛他們的孩子的要當心不要過于壓制和要求過分,否則會適得其反。孩子比成人感情更脆弱,可塑性更強。母親在養育孩子時會對他們的感情更敏感,而且出于本性會比父親更溫柔。但孩子一般會更聽父親的話。所以作父親的要記住這一點,你的孩子會比你所意識到的更認真地對待你。下面是一段與此有關的經文,這對所有我們在作為神的兒女受訓練的人都是有教益的:

“我兒,你不可輕看主的管教,被他責備的時候,也不可灰心。因為主所愛的他必管教,又鞭打凡所收納的兒子。”你們所忍受的,是神管教你們,待你們如同待兒子。焉有兒子不被父親管教的呢?管教原是眾子所共受的,你們若不受管教,就是私子,不是兒子了。再者,我們曾有生身的父管教我們,我們尚且敬重他,何況萬靈的父,我們豈不更當順服他得生嗎?生身的父都是暫隨己意管教我們﹔惟有萬靈的父管教我們,是要我們得益處,使我們在他的聖潔上有分。凡管教的事,當時不覺得快樂,反覺得愁苦,後來卻為那經練過的人,結出平安的果子,就是義。”【希伯來書 12:5-11】

所以作父親的要管教你的孩子,但不要激怒他們,使他們喪志。


全心地事奉你的雇主

以弗所書 6:5-8 你們作仆人的,要懼怕戰兢,用誠實的心聽從你們肉身的主人,好像聽從基督一般。不要只在眼前事奉,像是討人喜歡的,要像基督的仆人,從心媬磽瘥囿漲捕N。甘心事奉,好像服事主,不像服事人。因為曉得各人所行的善事,不論是為奴的,是自主的,都必按所行的得主的賞賜。

在那個時候,主人在仆人之上的權威是很大的。現在雇主與雇員的關系與之相似,但雇主的權威相比之下是很有限的。但這種順從和順服的原則還是適用的。在聖經堙A但以理和約瑟就是在世俗的權威之下事奉的好榜樣,他們全心地事奉,但他們在信上從不作妥協。

“你們作仆人的,要凡事聽從你們肉身的主人,不要只在眼前事奉,像是討人喜歡的,總要存心誠實敬畏主。”【歌羅西書 3:22】這就是以真誠的心去事奉。一個基督徒雇員要在不違背他的基督徒原則的前題下,使他對世俗工作的愿望、意向與他雇主的相一致,不追求自己的成功,而追求他雇主的成功。他應該是忠誠可靠的。

那麼如果你的雇主不替他人著想該怎麼辦呢?“你們作仆人的,凡事要存敬畏的心順服主人。不但順服那善良溫和的,就是那乖僻的也要順服。”【彼得前書 2:18】這樣做會得到賞賜的。“你們若因犯罪受責打,能忍耐,有什麼可夸的呢?但你們若因行善受苦,能忍耐,這在神看是可喜愛的。你們蒙召原是為此。因基督也為你們受過苦,給你們留下榜樣,叫你們跟隨他的腳蹤行。”【彼得前書 20-21】

今天,像順從和順服這樣的概念被看作是貶義詞,然而這些態度在雇主看來是很有價值的,就如男人尋求妻子時一樣。這樣的仆人是鮮有的寶物。你如何在工作中事奉會關系到你如何影響別人。“勸仆人要順服自己的主人,凡事討他的喜歡,不可頂撞他,不可私拿東西,要顯為忠誠,以致凡事尊榮我們救主神的道。”【提多書 2:9-10】事實上如果你事奉得好,那會使你周圍的人更愿意了解聖經上說了些什麼。

“凡在軛下作仆人的當以自己主人配受十分的恭敬,免得神的名和道理被人褻瀆。”【提摩太前書 6:1】

另外,“無論作什麼,都要從心塈@,像是給主作的,不是給人作的。因你們知道從主那堙A必得著基業為賞賜。你們所事奉的乃是主基督。”【歌羅西書 3:23-24】


對雇主的話

以弗所書 6:9 你們作主人的待仆人也是一理,不要威嚇他們,因為知道他們和你們同有一位主在天上,他并不偏待人。

“你們作主人的,要公公平平的待仆人,因為知道你們也有一位主在天上。”【歌羅西書 4:1】

主人與仆人的關系是以基督徒與神的關系為模型。事實上耶穌的許多喻言用到了主人與仆人的情形來說明屬靈的原則。埃及的法老就是一個凶惡主人,他甚至不給為他制磚的以色列人提供制磚所需的草。如果雇主要他們的雇員完成一項工作,他們應該保証為雇員提供完成工作所需的資源。凶惡的雇主有一天要為他們自己作交代。隨著權威而來的是責任。基督徒雇主不應有威嚇他們的雇員的習慣。不用說那是做生意的一個壞辦法,通常不會有什麼好的長期效果。事實上好公司會照顧到他們雇員的利益,包括經濟上和其它方面的利益。

自然地,隨著權威的位置而來的是高傲和偏見的誘惑,或感到自己應該高人一等。在權威位置的基督徒必須要注意控制這些罪性的欲望。實踐謙卑。“凡事不可結黨,不可貪圖虛浮的榮耀。只要存心謙卑,各人看別人比自己強。各人不要單顧自己的事,也要顧別人的事。”【腓立比書 2:3-4】



庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Jul 29, 2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Ephesians 6:1-9 (web)

Proper Role Relationships

Behaving Properly at Home and on the Job

6:1 Children,
 
obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right.
6:2 "Honor your father and mother,"
which is the first commandment with a promise:
6:3 "that it may be well with you,
and you may live long on the earth." (Deut 5:16)
6:4 You fathers,
 
don't provoke your children to wrath,
but nurture them in the discipline and instruction of the Lord.
6:5 Servants,
 
be obedient to those who according to the flesh are your masters,
with fear and trembling, in singleness of your heart, as to Christ;
6:6 not in the way of service only when eyes are on you, as men-pleasers;
but as servants of Christ, doing the will of God from the heart;
6:7 with good will doing service, as to the Lord, and not to men;
6:8 knowing that whatever good thing each one does,
he will receive the same again from the Lord, whether he is bound or free.
6:9 You masters,
 
do the same things to them, and give up threatening,
knowing that he who is both their Master and yours is in heaven,
and there is no partiality with him.

DISCUSSION QUESTIONS

vs 1

Xref Col 3:20 "Children, obey your parents in all things: for this is well pleasing unto the Lord."
Does "in the Lord" just refer to just obeying Christian parents? vs 2-3
Is this promise a guarantee to long life and prosperity?
If so, how do you explain why many devout Christians, not to mention Jesus Himself, died at a young age without material prosperity?
Paul indicates that we are to obey the 5th commandment. But this is in the Law. As Christians, aren't we free from the Law?
vs 4
How would you define a father's realm of authority over his children?
"exasperate": 3949 parorgizo {par-org-id'-zo} to rouse to wrath, to provoke, exasperate, anger
Xref: Ro 10:19 "But I say, Did not Israel know? First Moses saith, I will provoke you to jealousy by them that are no people, and by a foolish nation I will anger you."
Xref: Col 3:21 "Fathers, provoke not your children to anger, lest they be discouraged."
2042 erethizo {er-eth-id'-zo} to stir up, excite, stimulate, to provoke
How do fathers make their children angry? What are they angry about?
Why is the command for "training and instruction" given to fathers here, and not mothers?
What is the role of a father and how might it differ from a mother?
What kind of training and instruction have you received from your father?
vs 5
In today's society, many consider "slavery" to be the worst sin against humanity.
Why doesn't Paul take this stand? Is "slavery" sin?
What might be some modern day equivalents of slaves? (employees, graduate students, people in dept (prov 22:7))
How might one show respect?
1Ti 6:1 "Exhort servants to be obedient unto their own masters, and to please them well in all things; not answering again;"
Tit 2:9 "Servants, be subject to your masters with all fear; not only to the good and gentle, but also to the froward."
1Pe 2:18 "Servants, be subject to your masters with all fear; not only to the good and gentle, but also to the froward."
vs 6
Have you ever noticed your behavior change when your boss is around?
vs 7-8
Since even secular work is considered working for the Lord, might you consider yourself a full-time Christian worker?
However, what "good" is your secular work accomplishing?
Or is the priority not on what is done, but on the manner in which it is done?
vs 9
How would you define a master's realm of authority over his slave?
Xref: Col 4:1 "Masters, give unto your servants that which is just and equal; knowing that ye also have a Master in heaven."
Since we are all God's slaves, how would you characterize the way God has treated you as His slave?
Favoritism: One what basis are people evaluated in this society?
One what basis does God evaluate them?

Comments

Because it is right

Eph 6:1 Children, obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right.

A child may ask his parents, "Why should I obey you?". There may be a number of reasons why, but fundamentally because it is the right thing to do. It is characteristic of the righteous to do what is right because it is the right thing to do. And this is what children should be taught - that there is a right thing to do, and you should want to do the right thing. In fact this is quite a mature motivation. For the immature are generally motivated by anticipating what they get out of it and not because such behavior is inherently good and right in itself. God is good and righteous not because of the benefits he gets out of it, but because it's inherent in his nature to be good and to do what is right.

In Col 3:20 Paul gives an additional motivation for children, writing, "Children, obey your parents in everything, for this pleases the Lord." Children are to come to understand that they can exercise behaviors that please the Lord to varying degrees, and that they should desire to please the Lord. It is good and a right thing to seek to please the Lord. "So we make it our goal to please him." 2Cor 5:9

Now as for the phrase "in the Lord", it does not say "who are in the Lord", and thus is not limiting this to Christian parents. Rather I believe Paul is alluding to an idea of which I had previously covered, namely the idea that human authority only has a limited realm of authority outside of which it does not hold legitimate authority. To obey your parents "in the Lord" means that your obedience is with regards to the legitimate realm of authority the Lord has granted your parents over you, regardless of whether your parents are Christian or not; that is, obedience with regards to things which are not contrary to the Lord's will.



Live Long and Prosper

Eph 6:2,3  "Honor your father and mother"— which is the first commandment with a promise—  "that it may go well with you and that you may enjoy long life on the earth."(Deut 5:16)

Here's an additional motivation for obeying your parents; namely because generally speaking those who honor their parents are better off for it. Parents characteristically have their children's best interest in mind. Which is not to say that they will necessarily act in accordance with what their children are interested in, but rather in accordance to what is best for their children. For given that "Foolishness is bound up in the heart of a child" Pr 22:15, it is necessary they be trained to do what is right and good. "Train up a child in the way he should go, And when he is old he will not depart from it." Pr 22:6 Children that are untrained may literally end up dead. They may get involved wiht the wrong people, get involved with crime, drugs, sexual promiscuity, or the like, and end up if not dead, end up living a miserable life with miserable eternal consequences.

The immature are generally under the foolish impression that "enjoying life" constitutes fulfilling the desires of their sinful nature. But they fail to consider the long term consquences, issues of fate, corruption to one's spirit and one's conscience, one's mind and body. And while they may experience temporal pleasure, they miss out on what life is really about, and it's not about living for pleasure. The wicked are "lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God" 2Tim 3:4 and "the widow who lives for pleasure is dead even while she lives." 1Tim 5:6



Don't be too severe

Eph 6:4  Fathers, do not exasperate your children; instead, bring them up in the training and instruction of the Lord.

Likewise Paul writes, "Fathers, do not embitter your children, or they will become discouraged." Col 3:21 While there are fathers who take little interest in their children, those who love their children have to be careful not to be too overbearing and demanding, or just plain annoying. Children are more emotionally fragile and impressionable than adults. Mothers are more in tuned to the emotional aspects of raising children, and by nature are generally more gentle than fathers. But children tend to listen to their father more so than to their mother. So fathers keep this is mind, your children may take you more seriously than you think. A passage related to this verse, that may be instructive to us all as we are being trained as children of God is Heb 12:5-11

"'My son, do not make light of the Lord’s discipline, and do not lose heart when he rebukes you, because the Lord disciplines those he loves, and he punishes everyone he accepts as a son.' Endure hardship as discipline; God is treating you as sons. For what son is not disciplined by his father? If you are not disciplined (and everyone undergoes discipline), then you are illegitimate children and not true sons.  Moreover, we have all had human fathers who disciplined us and we respected them for it. How much more should we submit to the Father of our spirits and live! Our fathers disciplined us for a little while as they thought best; but God disciplines us for our good, that we may share in his holiness. No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it."

So fathers, discipline your children, but do not exasperate them.



Serve Your Boss Wholeheartedly

Eph 6:5-8  Slaves, obey your earthly masters with respect and fear, and with sincerity of heart, just as you would obey Christ. Obey them not only to win their favor when their eye is on you, but like slaves of Christ, doing the will of God from your heart. Serve wholeheartedly, as if you were serving the Lord, not men, because you know that the Lord will reward everyone for whatever good he does, whether he is slave or free.

In those days, the authority that masters had over slaves was rather extensive. Today there is the employer/employee relationship which is similar, but the employer's realm of authority quite limited in comparison. Nonetheless the principles of subordination and submission apply. In the Bible, Daniel and Joseph are good examples of serving under secular authority, men who submitted wholeheartedly without compromising their convictions.

"Slaves, obey your earthly masters in everything; and do it, not only when their eye is on you and to win their favor, but with sincerity of heart and reverence for the Lord." Col 3:22 This is to serve with sincerity of heart. A good Christian employee is to align his will, his desires and intentions with regards to his secular job, to that of his boss, seeking not for his own success, but the success of his boss, without compromising his Christian principles. He is to be trustworthy and reliable among other things.

What if your boss is inconsiderate? "Slaves, submit yourselves to your masters with all respect, not only to those who are good and considerate, but also to those who are harsh." 1Peter 2:18 There's reward in doing so. "If you suffer for doing good and you endure it, this is commendable before God. To this you were called, because Christ suffered for you, leaving you an example, that you should follow in his steps." 1Peter 2:20,21

"Teach slaves to be subject to their masters in everything, to try to please them, not to talk back to them, and not to steal from them, but to show that they can be fully trusted, so that in every way they will make the teaching about God our Savior attractive."Titus 2:9,10

Today in which the concepts of subordination and submission are bad words, these attributes are nonetheless highly valued assets among employers, just as they are for men seeking a wife. Such a servant is a rare commodity today. The way you serve on the job effects how you influence others. "All who are under the yoke of slavery should consider their masters worthy of full respect, so that God’s name and our teaching may not be slandered."1Tim 6:1 In fact conversely if you serve well, that may influence others to be open and investigate what the Bible says.

And besides, "Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving." Col 3:23,24



A Word to Employers

Eph 6:9 "And masters, treat your slaves in the same way. Do not threaten them, since you know that he who is both their Master and yours is in heaven, and there is no favoritism with him."

Col 4:1 "Masters, provide your slaves with what is right and fair, because you know that you also have a Master in heaven."

The relationship between master and slave is well modeled in the Christian's relationship with God. In fact many of Jesus' parables utilize a master/slave scenario in speaking of spiritual principles. An evil task master is portrayed in the Pharoah of Egypt who did not even provide straw for the Israelites to make bricks. If employers want their employers to accomplish a task, they should make sure their employees have the necessary resources to do so. Abusive employers will have to give an account of themselves one day. With authority comes responsibility. And with responsibility comes accountability. Christian employers should not be in the habit of threatening their employees. Not to mention it's a poor business practice, and usually does little to increase productivity in the long term. In fact the best companies look out for their employees interests, financial and otherwise.

Naturally with all positions of authority come the temptations of pride and prejudice, or a sense of entitlement. Christians in authority need to keep these desires of the sinful nature in check. Practice humility. "Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves. Each of you should look not only to your own interests, but also to the interests of others." Php 2:3,4


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015