翻譯: English 中文 GB

以弗所書

6:10-24

像神家庭堛漱h兵那樣去行

6:10 我還有末了的話:
  你們要靠著主,倚賴他的大能大力,作剛強的人

6:11 要穿戴神所賜的全副軍裝,就能抵擋魔鬼的詭計。

6:12 因我們并不是與屬血氣的爭戰,
  乃是與那些執政的、掌權的、管轄這幽暗世界的,
  以及天空屬靈氣的惡魔爭戰(兩“爭戰”原文都作“摔跤”)。

6:13 所以要拿起神所賜的全副軍裝,
  好在磨難的日子,抵擋仇敵,并且成就了一切,還能站立得住。

6:14 所以要站穩了,
  用真理當作帶子束腰,
  用公義當作護心鏡遮胸。

6:15 又用平安的福音當作預備走路的鞋穿在腳上,
6:16 此外,又拿著信德當作藤牌,
  可以滅盡那惡者一切的火箭。

6:17 并戴上救恩的頭盔,
  拿著聖靈的寶劍,就是神的道

6:18 靠著聖靈,隨時多方禱告祈求
  并要在此儆醒不倦,為眾聖徒祈求,

6:19 也為我祈求,使我得著口才,
  能以放膽開口講明福音的奧秘,

6:20 (我為這福音的奧秘,作了帶鎖鏈的使者)。
  并使我照著當盡的本分,放膽講論。

6:21 今有所親愛、忠心事奉主的兄弟推基古,
  他要把我的事情并我的景況如何,全告訴你們,叫你們知道。

6:22 我特意打發他到你們那堨h,
  好叫你們知道我們的光景,又叫他安慰你們的心。

6:23 愿平安、仁愛、信心從父神和主耶穌基督歸與弟兄們。
6:24 并愿所有誠心愛我們主耶穌基督的人都蒙恩惠。


問題討論

找出這一段堛漸D要祈使動詞(命令)
第11節
保羅還在以弗所書堛漕銗早個地方要我們“穿上”什麼?(以弗所書 4:24
他在這堶n我們穿上的東西與他在以弗所書 4:24堶n我們穿上的有什麼不同?
他在這堶n我們穿上這些東西的原因與以弗所書 4:24堛漲酗偵礞ㄕP?
第12節
保羅指的是什麼爭戰?如果保羅指的是我們與罪的爭戰,那麼我們不是在與我們的肉身、罪的社會的影響、還有撒但的勢力爭戰嗎?
第13節
使徒所遇到的“磨難的日子”的一個例子是什麼?(路加福音 22:31-34,54-62
“站立”是什麼意思?對什麼“站立”?
第14-17節
這堥C一樣如何幫助一個人站立得住?
從路加福音堛滌O載看,彼得跌倒可能是因為他缺乏這堛滬几樣?
第18節
你的禱告生活傾向于被哪一類的祈求所主導?
“并要在此”──在什麼上呢?
“儆醒”──我們應該注意些什麼呢?
第19節
帖撒羅尼迦前書 2:13堙A保羅說他所說的是神的道,而從這一節看來,保羅在宣告福音時也在什麼上遇到困難?
你在傳福音的時候或在給那些不熟悉福音的人解釋屬靈的真理的時候遇到過什麼類似的困難?
第20節
關于“使者”,參見歌林多後書 5:20
放膽地傳講福音和膽怯地傳講福音對聽者會有什麼不同的效果?
這與保羅在哥林多前書堜珨〞漪O不是矛盾:“我在你們那堙A又軟弱,又懼怕,又甚戰兢。”歌林多前書 2:3(也許可以從歌林多後書 5:11找出答案。)
第21-23節
與今天文化堛滿坐H一走,茶就涼”的心態相反,保羅看到他的事奉的有效性、他的情緒狀態、甚至他傳道時所說的話,都在某種程度上取決于世界各處的信徒的禱告。為什麼保羅要告訴他們他的情況和他在做些什麼?
你有沒有與某個差傳的人有這樣的關系?

一些有關“站立”的經文

羅馬書 11:20 “不錯。他們因為不信,所以被折下來﹔你因為信,所以立得住。你不可自高,反要懼怕。”
羅馬書 14:4 你是誰,竟論斷別人的仆人呢?他或站住,或跌倒,自有他的主人在。而且他也必要站住,因為主能使他站住。”
歌林多前書 10:12,13 “所以,自己以為站得穩的,須要謹慎,免得跌倒。你們所遇見的試探,無非是人所能受的。神是信實的,必不叫你們受試探過于所能受的。在受試探的時候,總要給你們開一條出路,叫你們能忍受得住。”
歌林多前書 15:1 “弟兄們,我如今把先前所傳給你們的福音告訴你們知道。這福音你們也領受了,又靠著站立得住。”
歌林多前書 15:58 “所以,我親愛的弟兄們,你們務要堅固,不可搖動,常常竭力多作主工,因為知道你們的勞苦在主堶惜ㄛO徒然的。”
歌林多前書 16:13 “你們務要儆醒,在真道上站立得穩,要作大丈夫,要剛強。”
歌林多後書 1:21 “那在基督堅固我們和你們,并且膏我們的,就是神。”
歌林多後書 1:24 “我們并不是轄管你們的信心,乃是幫助你們的快樂。因為你們憑信才站立得住。”
歌林多後書 2:9 “為此我先前也寫信給你們,要試驗你們,看你們凡事順從不順從。”
加拉太書 5:1 “基督釋放了我們,叫我們得以自由,所以要站立得穩,不要再被奴仆的軛挾制。”
腓立比書 1:27 “只要你們行事為人與基督的福音相稱。叫我或來見你們,或不在你們那堙A可以聽見你們的景況,知道你們同有一個心志,站立得穩,為所信的福音齊心努力。”
歌羅西書 4:12 “有你們那堛漱H,作基督耶穌仆人的以巴弗問你們安。他在禱告之間,常為你們竭力地祈求,愿你們在神一切的旨意上,得以完全,信心充足,能站立得穩。”
帖撒羅尼迦前書 3:8 “你們若靠主站立得穩,我們就活了。”
帖撒羅尼迦後書 2:15 “所以弟兄們,你們要站立得穩,凡所領受的教訓,不拘是我們口傳的,是信上寫的,都要堅守。”
提摩太後書 2:19 然而神堅固的根基立住了,上面有這印記說:“主認識誰是他的人。”又說:“凡稱呼主名的人,總要離開不義。”

關于“站立”的信念

我站立靠的是信基督,而不是靠信我自己。(羅馬書 11:20羅馬書 14:4歌林多後書 1:24
在我順服于主的時候,主自己承擔起使我站立的責任和負擔。(羅馬書 14:4歌林多後書 1:21
主永遠不會讓我經受我承受不了的試煉。(歌林多前書 10:13
我將站立在聖經所定義福音上,而不是我自己所定義的福音上。(歌林多前書 15:1
我站立得穩的原因之一就是因為我知道我在主堛熙珥W不是徒然的。(歌林多前書 15:58
而且我將因這樣的信心而受到賞賜。(希伯來書 10:35
我將站穩在福音的真理堙A既不偏向墨守律法主義(加拉太書 5:1),也不讓這樣的自由成為肉身的機會(加拉太書 5:13提摩太後書 2:19

注釋

站立得住

以弗所書 6:10-13 我還有末了的話:你們要靠著主,倚賴他的大能大力,作剛強的人。要穿戴神所賜的全副軍裝,就能抵擋魔鬼的詭計。因我們并不是與屬血氣的爭戰,乃是與那些執政的、掌權的、管轄這幽暗世界的,以及天空屬靈氣的惡魔爭戰(兩“爭戰”原文都作“摔跤”)。所以要拿起神所賜的全副軍裝,好在磨難的日子,抵擋仇敵,并且成就了一切,還能站立得住。

基督徒的爭戰是在思想、態度、良心的范疇堙C其敵人是:

世界

“不要效法這個世界”【羅馬書 12:2a】

肉身的罪性

“因為情欲和聖靈相爭,聖靈和情欲相爭。這兩個是彼此相敵,”【加拉太書 5:17a】

魔鬼和他的隨從

“務要謹守、儆醒,因為你們的仇敵魔鬼,如同吼叫的獅子,遍地游行,尋找可吞吃的人。”【彼得前書 5:17】

基督徒的生活是一場爭戰。如果你沒有爭戰,那麼你也許還沒有參戰。也許你已經失去了戰斗力,或已經向敵人投降了。


軍裝,之一

以弗所書 6:14-15 所以要站穩了,用真理當作帶子束腰,用公義當作護心鏡遮胸。又用平安的福音當作預備走路的鞋穿在腳上,

真理
在與別人說話的時候最重要的是要講真話。這是作一個好見証人的第一條規則。真理在這堻Q看作是腰帶。牢牢地抓住真理使你的褲子不致在戰斗中掉下來。它還系著進攻性的武器──神的道。使用神的道的合宜的方式是將其以命題式的真理陳述出來。

公義
在基督參戰的時候,他也以公義為護心鏡,以拯救為頭盔。“他以公義為鎧甲(或作“護心鏡”),以拯救為頭盔,以報仇為衣服,以熱心為外袍。”【以賽亞書 59:17】護心鏡保護重要器官,比如心臟。基督徒認識到義有兩個方面。一個是我們被神算作是義的因為我們的罪得到了赦免。這種義是絕對的。但作為其結果還有義的行為,這是我們通過聖靈從與基督的關系所結的果子,也就是外在的工,聖靈丰丰富富地賞賜我們,并改變我們的行為。在我們行義時,我們的心將不責備我們。“親愛的弟兄啊,我們的心若不責備我們,就可以向神坦然無懼了。并且我們一切所求的,就從他得著。因為我們遵守他的命令,行他所喜悅的事。”【約翰一書 3:21-22】

傳福音
腳上穿的代表已為傳福音做好准備。彼得寫到:“有人問你們心中盼望的緣由,就要常作准備,以溫柔敬畏的心回答各人。”【彼得前書 3:15b】但經上還表示要主動地到某些地方去傳福音。“你們往普天下去,傳福音給萬民聽(“萬民”原文作“凡受造的”)。”【馬可福音 16:15】不要一直待在耶路撒冷,變成一根鹽柱。然而人未曾信他,怎能求他呢?未曾聽見他,怎能信他呢?沒有傳道的,怎能聽見呢?若沒有奉差遣,怎能傳道呢?如經上所記:“報福音傳喜信的人,他們的腳蹤何等佳美!”【羅馬書 】


軍裝,之二

以弗所書 6:16-17 此外,又拿著信德當作藤牌,可以滅盡那惡者一切的火箭。并戴上救恩的頭盔,拿著聖靈的寶劍,就是神的道。

信德
信德可以有效地防御進攻。會有各種各樣火爆的觀念和態度向我們投過來。但我們要學著不以其人之道回答,而以信心做答──不是信我們自己,而是以神的道為基礎的信。比如在別人質問我的信時我往往回答說:“我信是因為記錄在福音堛漸媕貌拊麰C穌的生活、事奉和神跡的見証,這些對我來說是令人信服的。你自己去讀一下看是不是也令你信服。

救恩
頭盔是另一個防御性的裝備。知道我們已被從神的憤怒中拯救出來使我們在爭戰中有平靜的心。“我們既因信稱義,就借著我們的主耶穌基督得與神相和。我們又借著他,因信得進入現在所站的這恩典中,并且歡歡喜喜盼望神的榮耀。”【羅馬書 5:1-2】“但我們既然屬乎白晝,就應當謹守,把信和愛當作護心鏡遮胸,把得救的盼望當作頭盔戴上。因為神不是預定我們受刑,乃是預定我們借著我們主耶穌基督得救。”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 5:8-9】

聖經
聖經──神的道──是我們的進攻武器。我們應將其握在我們前面,按聖靈的領引使用。也就是說,我們應該借著聖靈得出其含意和應用,并讓聖靈領著我們,在遇到某件事時,引用適用于具體情況的經文。“神的道是活潑的,是有功效的,比一切兩刃的劍更快,甚至魂與靈,骨節與骨髓,都能刺入剖開,連心中的思念和主意,都能辨明。”【希伯來書 4:12】


禱告

以弗所書 6:18-20 靠著聖靈,隨時多方禱告祈求,并要在此儆醒不倦,為眾聖徒祈求,也為我祈求,使我得著口才,能以放膽開口講明福音的奧秘,(我為這福音的奧秘,作了帶鎖鏈的使者)。并使我照著當盡的本分,放膽講論。

禱告與神的道一同是基督徒的武器。事實上現在就拿點時間來禱告。在心堶n特別記念那些正在傳福音的聖徒。

傳福音有一些基本的要素,但就如我在聖經是如何傳福音的堜珒ㄗ鴘漕獐芊A傳福音沒有一定的標准方法。甚至保羅也隨著聖靈的領引,根據他所遇到的人和情況,靠當時給他的話來傳。祈求神將指引傳福音的人該說什麼。而且不只是言語,也為態度禱告。傳福音應該放膽無懼。因為自信表現出深深的信,這可以有助于信息的接受。“愿你與人所同有的信心顯出功效,使人知道你們各樣善事都是為基督作的。”【腓利門書 1:6】


推基古

以弗所書 6:21-22 今有所親愛、忠心事奉主的兄弟推基古,他要把我的事情并我的景況如何,全告訴你們叫你們知道。我特意打發他到你們那堨h,好叫你們知道我們的光景,又叫他安慰你們的心。

保羅當時沒有電子郵件,所以經常派像提摩太和推基古這樣的人作為書信去鼓勵聖徒,保持與聖徒和他的聯系。因為對我們很多人來說:“看不見,就想不起”是很自然的。所以要定期聯系,如或這種聯系是受歡迎的。今天,如果牧師離開教會,你往往就再也聽不到他們的消息了。保羅的例子可不是那樣。

推基古是亞西亞本地人,聖經媮晹b其它几個地方提到他:“同他到亞西亞去的,有庇哩亞人畢羅斯的兒子所巴特,帖撒羅尼迦人亞媢F古和西公都,還有特庇人該猶,并提摩太,又有亞西亞人推基古和特羅非摩。”【使徒行傳 20:4】“我已經打發推基古往以弗所去。”【提摩太後書 4:12】“我打發亞提馬,或是推基古,到你那堨h的時候,你要趕緊往尼哥波立去見我,因為我已經定意在那媢L冬。”【提多書 3:12】保羅在說到他時說:“有我親愛的兄弟推基古要將我一切的事都告訴你們。他是忠心的執事,和我一同作主的仆人。”【歌羅西書 4:7】


最後的禱告

以弗所書 6:23-24 愿平安、仁愛、信心從父神和主耶穌基督歸與弟兄們。并愿所有誠心愛我們主耶穌基督的人都蒙恩惠。

保羅以這個禱告結尾。他為基督徒弟兄們的平安禱告。他同樣在羅馬書中禱告說:“但愿使人有盼望的神,因信將諸般的喜樂平安充滿你們的心,使你們借著聖靈的能力大有盼望。”【羅馬書 15:13】

與平安一樣,基督徒的愛和基督徒的信是手牽手的。其中一個與另一個一起成長。他為腓立比的聖徒禱告說:“我所禱告的,就是要你們的愛心,在知識和各樣見識上,多而又多。”【腓立比書 1:9】在說到基督徒的信的特點時保羅提到亞伯拉罕:“并且仰望神的應許,總沒有因不信心堸_疑惑,反倒因信心堭o堅固,將榮耀歸給神。且滿心相信神所應許的必能作成﹔”【羅馬書 4:20-21】

恩典是神白白地施恩與不配的人的態度,但這并不一定是無條件的。保羅的這個禱告是特別為那些誠心愛我們主耶穌基督的人作的。他不是在為半心半意的名義上的基督徒禱告。“只是義人必因信得生(“義人”有古卷作“我的義人”),他若退後,我心奡N不喜歡他。我們卻不是退後入沉淪的那等人,乃是有信心以致靈魂得救的人。”【希伯來書 10:38-39】



庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Jul 29, 2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Ephesians 6:10-24 (web)

Walking as a Soldier in God's Family

6:10 Finally, be strong in the Lord, and in the strength of his might.
6:11 Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil.
6:12 For our wrestling is not against flesh and blood, but against the principalities,
against the powers, against the world's rulers of the darkness of this age,
and against the spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places.
6:13 Therefore, put on the whole armor of God,
that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and, having done all, to stand.
6:14 Stand therefore,
having the utility belt of truth buckled around your waist,
and having put on the breastplate of righteousness,
6:15 and having fitted your feet with the preparation of the gospel of peace;
6:16 above all, taking up the shield of faith,
with which you will be able to quench all the fiery darts of the evil one.
6:17 And take the helmet of salvation,
and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God;
6:18 with all prayer and requests, praying at all times in the Spirit,
and being watchful to this end in all perseverance and requests for all the saints:
6:19 on my behalf, that utterance may be given to me in opening my mouth,
to make known with boldness the mystery of the gospel,
6:20 for which I am an ambassador in chains;
that in it I may speak boldly, as I ought to speak.
6:21 But that you also may know my affairs, how I am doing, Tychicus,
the beloved brother and faithful servant in the Lord, will make known to you all things;
6:22 whom I have sent to you for this very purpose,
that you may know our state, and that he may comfort your hearts.
6:23 Peace be to the brothers, and love with faith, from God the Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.
6:24 Grace be with all those who love our Lord Jesus Christ with incorruptible love. Amen.


DISCUSSION QUESTIONS

Identify the main verbs in this section that are in the imperative (commands)
vs 11
Where else in Ephesians does Paul tell us to "Put on" stuff? (Eph 4:24)
How does the stuff he tells you to put on in this section differ from that of Eph 4:24?
How does the reason why you should clothe yourself with such differ in this section from that in Eph 4:24?
vs 12
What struggle is Paul referring to? For if Paul is referring to our struggle against sin, then isn't our struggle against our own flesh and the influence of the sinful society upon us as well as against satanic forces?
vs 13
What is an example of "the day of evil" from the lives of the apostles? (Luke 22:31-34,54-62)
What does it mean to "stand"? "Stand" with respect to what?
vs 14-17
How does each one of these characteristics help one to stand?
From the passage in Luke, which of these might Peter have lacked that caused him to stumble?
vs 18
What types of requests tend to dominate your prayer life?
"With this in mind" - with what in mind?
"Alert" - What should we be on the lookout for?
vs 19
In 1Thess 2:13, Paul proclaims his word is the Word of God, yet from this verse what does even Paul struggle with in proclaiming the gospel?
What similar struggles do you have in proclaiming the gospel or otherwise explaining spiritual truths to those unfamiliar with such?
vs 20
xref "ambassador" - 2Cor 5:20
What effect does it have on the hearers if the gospel is proclaimed to them fearlessly vs. fearfully?
Doesn't this contradict Paul's statement in 1Co 2:3 "I came to you in weakness and fear, and with much trembling."? (Might check out 2Cor 5:11 to resolve this)
vs 21-23
In contrast to the "out-of-sight-out-of-mind" mentality often found in today's culture, Paul saw his effectiveness in ministry, his emotional state and even his very words in preaching to be dependent somewhat upon the prayers of the believers located in other parts of the world. Why did Paul want to tell them how and what he was doing?
Do you have such a relationship with a missionary?


Cross References on "STAND"

Ro 11:20 "Granted. But they were broken off because of unbelief, and you stand by faith. Do not be arrogant, but be afraid."
Ro 14:4 "Who are you to judge someone else's servant? To his own master he stands or falls. And he will stand, for the Lord is able to make him stand."
1Co 10:12,13 "So, if you think you are standing firm, be careful that you don't fall! No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it."
1Co 15:1 "Now, brothers, I want to remind you of the gospel I preached to you, which you received and on which you have taken your stand."
1Co 15:58 "Therefore, my dear brothers, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain."
1Co 16:13 "Be on your guard; stand firm in the faith; be men of courage; be strong."
2Co 1:21 "Now it is God who makes both us and you stand firm in Christ. He anointed us,"
2Co 1:24 "Not that we lord it over your faith, but we work with you for your joy, because it is by faith you stand firm."
2Co 2:9 "The reason I wrote you was to see if you would stand the test and be obedient in everything."
Ga 5:1 "It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery."
Php 1:27 "Whatever happens, conduct yourselves in a manner worthy of the gospel of Christ. Then, whether I come and see you or only hear about you in my absence, I will know that you stand firm in one spirit, contending as one man for the faith of the gospel"
Col 4:12 "Epaphras, who is one of you and a servant of Christ Jesus, sends greetings. He is always wrestling in prayer for you, that you may stand firm in all the will of God, mature and fully assured."
1Th 3:8 "For now we really live, since you are standing firm in the Lord."
2Th 2:15 "So then, brothers, stand firm and hold to the teachings we passed on to you, whether by word of mouth or by letter."
2Ti 2:19 "Nevertheless, God's solid foundation stands firm, sealed with this inscription: "The Lord knows those who are his," and, "Everyone who confesses the name of the Lord must turn away from wickedness."

Convictions on "STANDING"

I stand only by faith in Christ and not by faith in myself. (Rom 11:20; Rom 14:4; 2Cor 1:24)
The Lord has taken on Himself the responsibility and burden to cause me to stand as I submit to Him (Rom 14:4; 2Cor 1:21)
The Lord will never put me through a trial that I cannot stand up under (1Cor 10:13)
I will stand on the gospel as it is defined in the Bible rather than defining it for myself (1Cor 15:1)
One of the reason why I stand firm is because I know that my labor for the Lord is not in vain. (1Cor 15:58)
And I will be rewarded for such confidence. (Heb 10:35)
I will stand firm in the truth of the gospel, neither swaying to legalism (Gal 5:1), nor allowing such freedom to be an opportunity for the flesh (Gal 5:13; 2Tim 2:19)

Comments

Take a Stand

Eph 6:10-13  Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. Put on the full armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.

The Christian battles in the realm of ideas, attitudes, the convictions of the conscience. The enemies are

Worldliness

"Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world" Rom 12:2
The Sinful nature inherent in our flesh
"The sinful nature desires what is contrary to the Spirit, and the Spirit what is contrary to the sinful nature. They are in conflict with each other." Gal 5:17
And the Devil and his minions
"Be self-controlled and alert. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour." 1Peter 5:8
The Christian life is a struggle. If you're not struggling, then maybe you're not in the battle. Maybe you've been marginalized or have surrendered to the enemy.


Get Dressed for Battle 1

Eph 6:14,15
Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist,
with the breastplate of righteousness in place,
and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace.

Truth
The most important thing when it comes to talking to others is to tell the truth. That's the first rule in making a good witness. Truth is viewed as a belt here. A good grasp of the truth will keep your pants from falling down in the middle of the battle. It also holds the offensive weapon - the Word of God. The appropriate way to use the Word of God is to present it as propositional truth.

Righteousness
When Chist dresses for battle, he also puts on the breastplate of righteousness and the helmet of salvation. Isa 59:17 "He put on righteousness as his breastplate, and the helmet of salvation on his head; he put on the garments of vengeance and wrapped himself in zeal as in a cloak." The breastplate protects the vital organs such as the heart. Christians recognize two aspects of righteousness. One is that we are reckoned righteous by God by virtue of the forgiveness of our sins. Such righteousness is absolute. But there is also righteous behavior which is an effect, a fruit or outworking of our relationship with Christ through the Holy Spirit who was given to us graciously and who affects our behavior. Our heart won't condemn us when we practice righteousness. "Dear friends, if our hearts do not condemn us, we have confidence before God and receive from him anything we ask, because we obey his commands and do what pleases him." 1John 3:22

Evangelism
Footware represents the readiness to share the gospel. Peter writes: "Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have." 1Peter 3:15 But it may also allude to going somewhere intentionally to do so. "Go into all the world and preach the good news to all creation." Mark 16:15 Don't just stay in Jerusalem to become a pillar of salt. For how can they hear without someone preaching to them? And how can they preach unless they are sent? As it is written, "How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news!" Rom 10:14,15



Get Dressed for Battle 2

Eph 6:16,17  In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

Faith
Faith can be an effective defense against attacks. We're going to get all kinds of flaming ideas and attitudes thrown at us. But we have to learn to respond not in kind but in faith - a faith not in ourselves, but based upon the Word of God. For example often when people scrutinize my faith I might simply say, "I believe because the eyewitness testimony of Jesus life, ministry and miracles recorded in the gospels is convincing to me. Read them for yourself and see if they're convincing to you."

Salvation
A helmet is another defensive shield. Knowing that we are saved from the wrath of God gives us peace of mind in the midst of the battle. "Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And we rejoice in the hope of the glory of God." Rom 5:1,2 "Since we belong to the day, let us be self-controlled, putting on faith and love as a breastplate, and the hope of salvation as a helmet. For God did not appoint us to suffer wrath but to receive salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ." 1Thess 5:8,9

The Bible
The Bible - the Word of God - is our offensive weapon. It's what we should hold out in front of us, utilizing it as the Spirit leads. That is, we should proclaim the proper sense of its meaning and application as we have inferred by the Spirit and allow the Spirit to lead us in particular situations to bring out appropriate passages. "For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart." Heb 4:12



Pray

Eph 6:18-20  And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the saints. Pray also for me, that whenever I open my mouth, words may be given me so that I will fearlessly make known the mystery of the gospel, for which I am an ambassador in chains. Pray that I may declare it fearlessly, as I should.

Along with the Word of God, Prayer is another weapon the Christian has in his arsenal. In fact take time now to pray. Especially keep in mind those fellow saints who are preaching the gospel.

Now while there are some essential elements to preaching the gospel, as I've noted at http://www.bcbsr.com/topics/preaching.html, there is no standard way of preaching the gospel. Even Paul relies upon words being given him at the time as the Spirit leads and given the people and circumstances he faces. Pray that God may guide those who preach the gospel as to what words they should use. But not only words, pray also about attitude. The manner in which the gospel should be presented is without fear. For Confidence Communicates Conviction, which influences how the message is received. And "I pray that you may be active in sharing your faith, so that you will have a full understanding of every good thing we have in Christ." Phm 1:6



Tychicus

Eph 6:21,22  Tychicus, the dear brother and faithful servant in the Lord, will tell you everything, so that you also may know how I am and what I am doing. I am sending him to you for this very purpose, that you may know how we are, and that he may encourage you.

Paul, not having access to email, would frequently send men like Timothy and Tychicus as letters to  encourage the saints and keep both the saints and himself mutually informed. For many of us "out of sight, out of mind" comes naturally. Therefore it's best to periodically keep up communication if such is welcomed. Often today pastors will leave churches and you'll never hear from them again. That's not Paul's example.

Tychicus was from the area, Asia minor, and is mentioned in a number of other places: Acts 20:4; Col 4:7; 2Tim 4:12; Titus 3:12, and described as "a dear brother, a faithful minister and fellow servant in the Lord." Col 4:7



Final Prayer

Eph 6:23,24  Peace to the brothers, and love with faith from God the Father and the Lord Jesus Christ. Grace to all who love our Lord Jesus Christ with an undying love.

Paul ends in this prayer. He prays for the Christian community to experience peace. Likewise he prays in Romans 15:13 "Now may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that you may abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit."

As with peace, Christian love and Christian faith go hand in hand. One grows with the other. Of the Philippians he prays, "This I pray, that your love may abound still more and more in knowledge and all discernment" Php 1:9 and characterizing Christian faith Paul writes of Abraham, "he did not waver in unbelief but grew strong in faith, giving glory to God, and being fully assured that what God had promised, He was able also to perform." Rom 4:20,21

Grace is God's attribute of freely giving to the unworthy, but not necessarily to the unqualified. Paul qualifies this prayer as being directed specifically on behalf of those who have an undying, or incorruptible, love for our Lord Jesus Christ. He is not praying on behalf of mere nominal half-hearted Christians here. "'My righteous one will live by faith. And if he shrinks back, I will not be pleased with him.' But we are not of those who shrink back and are destroyed, but of those who believe and are saved." Hebrews 10:38-39


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015