翻譯: English 中文 GB

希伯來書 6:13-7:10

基督比亞倫更尊榮,之二

相信神的應許

6:13 當初神應許亞伯拉罕的時候,
  因為沒有比自己更大可以指著起誓的,就指著自己起誓說:

6:14 “論福,我必賜大福給你﹔
  論子孫,我必叫你的子孫多起來。”

6:15 這樣,亞伯拉罕既恆久忍耐,就得了所應許的。

6:16 人都是指著比自己大的起誓,
  并且以起誓為實據,了結各樣的爭論。

6:17 照樣,神愿意為那承受應許的人,
  格外顯明他的旨意是不更改的,
  就起誓為証。

6:18 借這兩件不更改的事,神決不能說謊,
  好叫我們這逃往避難所,
  持定擺在我們前頭指望的人可以大得勉勵。

6:19 我們有這指望,如同靈魂的錨,
  又堅固,又牢靠,且通入幔內。

6:20 作先鋒的耶穌,
  既照著麥基洗德的等次成了永遠的大祭司,
【詩篇 110:4】
  就為我們進入幔內。

麥基洗德那樣的祭司

7:1 這麥基洗德就是撒冷王,又是至高神的祭司,
  本是長遠為祭司的。
  他當亞伯拉罕殺敗諸王回來的時候,就迎接他,給他祝福。

7:2 亞伯拉罕也將自己所得來的取十分之一給他。
  他頭一個名翻出來就是仁義王,
  他又名撒冷王,就是平安王的意思。

7:3 他無父,無母,無族譜,
  無生之始,無命之終,
  乃是與神的兒子相似。


7:4 你們想一想,
  先祖亞伯拉罕將自己所擄來上等之物取十分之一給他,
  這人是何等尊貴呢!

7:5 那得祭司職任的利未子孫,
  領命照例向百姓取十分之一,
  這百姓是自己的弟兄,
  雖是從亞伯拉罕身中生的(“身”原文作“腰”),
  還是照例取十分之一。

7:6 獨有麥基洗德,
  不與他們同譜,倒收納亞伯拉罕的十分之一,
  為那蒙應許的亞伯拉罕祝福。

7:7 從來位分大的給位分小的祝福,
  這是駁不倒的理。


7:8 在這埵洶Q分之一的都是必死的人﹔
  但在那埵洶Q分之一的,有為他作見証的說,他是活的。


7:9 并且可說那受十分之一的利未,
  也是借著亞伯拉罕納了十分之一。

7:10 因為麥基洗德迎接亞伯拉罕的時候,
  利未已經在他先祖的身中(“身”原文作“腰”)。


問題討論

第14節 這個應許與我們有什麼關系?
(參見“并且聖經既然預先看明,神要叫外邦人因信稱義,就早已傳福音給亞伯拉罕,說:‘萬國都必因你得福。’”加拉太書 3:8
“你們既屬乎基督,就是亞伯拉罕的後裔,是照著應許承受產業的了。”加拉太書 3:29
另見加拉太書 3:14-18
神能不能造一個如此之大以至他自己都舉不起來的石頭?
第18節 這兩件不可更改,即使神也不能改變的事是什麼?
第19節 你能把你對進天堂的信念描述成堅固和牢靠的嗎?
為什麼像麥基洗德那樣的大祭司高于像亞倫那樣的大祭司?

注釋

應許和起誓

希伯來書 6:13-18 當初神應許亞伯拉罕的時候,因為沒有比自己更大可以指著起誓的,就指著自己起誓說:“論福,我必賜大福給你﹔論子孫,我必叫你的子孫多起來。”這樣,亞伯拉罕既恆久忍耐,就得了所應許的。人都是指著比自己大的起誓,并且以起誓為實據,了結各樣的爭論。照樣,神愿意為那承受應許的人,格外顯明他的旨意是不更改的,就起誓為証。借這兩件不更改的事,神決不能說謊,好叫我們這逃往避難所,持定擺在我們前頭指望的人可以大得勉勵。

指著比自己更大的起誓是人的特點,但這并不是說他們應該這樣做。事實上雅各書說:“我的弟兄們,最要緊的是不可起誓。不可指著天起誓,也不可指著地起誓,無論何誓都不可起。你們說話,是就說是,不是就說不是,免得你們落在審判之下。”【雅各書5:12】耶穌說:“你們又聽見有吩咐古人的話,說:‘不可背誓,所起的誓,總要向主謹守。’只是我告訴你們,什麼誓都不可起:不可指著天起誓,因為天是神的座位﹔不可指著地起誓,因為地是他的腳凳﹔也不可指著耶路撒冷起誓,因為耶路撒冷是大君的京城﹔又不可指著你的頭起誓,因為你不能使一根頭發變黑變白了。你們的話,是,就說是﹔不是,就說不是。若再多說,就是出于那惡者(或作“是從惡堨X來的”)。”【馬太福音 5:33-37】

然而神不在這個推理之內,因為事實上神的確控制所有的事,所以可以保証他所起的誓得以實現。就是說,人可以相信神所起的誓。“神非人,必不致說謊,也非人子,必不致後悔。他說話豈不照著行呢?他發言豈不要成就呢?”【民數記 23:19】

應許和起誓是兩件不更改的事。它們之所已不更改是因為神是信實的,神決不說謊。這堜珣j調的是我們可以相信神所應許的。要知道神是在以他的名作保。他將實現他所應許的,不只是為承受應許的人的益處,還因他自己的名的原故。


靈魂的錨

希伯來書 6:19-20 我們有這指望,如同靈魂的錨,又堅固,又牢靠,且通入幔內。作先鋒的耶穌,既照著麥基洗德的等次成了永遠的大祭司,就為我們進入幔內。

雖然我們是否能夠滿足神的應許對我們的要求也許有些不確定性,但神將滿足他那一方面的要求是毫無疑問的。雖然我們必須滿足這個應許的條件,但如滿足了這些條件,我們可以完全地相信這個應許將會實現。關于亞伯拉罕的信,經上說:“并且仰望神的應許,總沒有因不信心堸_疑惑,反倒因信心堭o堅固,將榮耀歸給神。且滿心相信神所應許的必能作成﹔”【羅馬書 4:20-21】

幔內指的是殿中幔子後面的部分,起初帳幕是神指示摩西建造的。幔內被稱為至聖所,只有大祭司一年可以進入一次,堶惘閉驩d。它代表神最聖潔的地方。也就是說,這個應許就是接受新約的人將與神和好,神將讓他們進入他最聖潔的地方。

“弟兄們,我們既因耶穌的血,得以坦然進入至聖所,是借著他給我們開了一條又新又活的路從幔子經過,這幔子就是他的身體。又有一位大祭司治理神的家。并我們心中天良的虧欠已經洒去,身體用清水洗淨了,就當存著誠心和充足的信心來到神面前。也要堅守我們所承認的指望,不至搖動,因為那應許我們的是信實的。”【希伯來書 10:19-23】


麥基洗德的等次

希伯來書 7:1-3 這麥基洗德就是撒冷王,又是至高神的祭司,本是長遠為祭司的。他當亞伯拉罕殺敗諸王回來的時候,就迎接他,給他祝福。亞伯拉罕也將自己所得來的取十分之一給他。他頭一個名翻出來就是仁義王,他又名撒冷王,就是平安王的意思。他無父,無母,無族譜,無生之始,無命之終,乃是與神的兒子相似。

作者在第七章說了基督作祭司的等次,以及這個祭司職位高于按照摩西律法作祭司的利未人。這樣做是因為他是在與猶太人說話,這些猶太人一直在受利未祭司的熏陶。耶穌不是利未人那樣的祭司,的確他沒有資格做利未祭司。因此人們發問如何看待他的祭司職位。

作者用麥基洗德作為一個影子,一個前奏,一個先例來描繪基督的祭司職位。盡管這只是一個影子,就如舊約堛澈雃h影子一樣,只是平面的,但我們仍然能夠從這樣的描繪作出推斷,學到東西。

“麥基洗德”的名字最初指的是一個王。與此不同,利未人作祭司時,以色列的王出自猶大支派,而祭司出自利未支派。因此,按照摩西律法,一個人不能既作祭司又作王。但基督既是我們的王,又是我們的大祭司。同樣,基督也既是仁義王,又是平安王,也就是說,他使我們稱義,同時又使我們與神相和。“耶穌被交給人,是為我們的過犯﹔復活,是為叫我們稱義(或作“耶穌是為我們的過犯交付了,是為我們稱義復活了。”)。我們既因信稱義,就借著我們的主耶穌基督得與神相和。”【羅馬書 4:25-5:1】

另一件事就是耶穌的祭司職位不取決于他的族譜。這就是作者提到麥基洗德無父,無母的意思。這并不是說他沒有父母,而是說聖經沒有提到他的父親或母親,作者從這個先例推斷出麥基洗德作祭司的等次與他的族譜無關。同樣,因為聖經沒有提到他的死或麥基洗德的祭司職位的終止,從這個先例可以推斷出基督的祭司職位──最佳定冠詞的祭司職位──同樣是沒有終止的。


基督的祭司職位比利未人的更尊貴

希伯來書 7:4-10 你們想一想,先祖亞伯拉罕將自己所擄來上等之物取十分之一給他,這人是何等尊貴呢!那得祭司職任的利未子孫,領命照例向百姓取十分之一,這百姓是自己的弟兄,雖是從亞伯拉罕身中生的(“身”原文作“腰”),還是照例取十分之一獨有麥基洗德,不與他們同譜,倒收納亞伯拉罕的十分之一,為那蒙應許的亞伯拉罕祝福。從來位分大的給位分小的祝福,這是駁不倒的理。

在這埵洶Q分之一的都是必死的人﹔但在那埵洶Q分之一的,有為他作見証的說,他是活的。并且可說那受十分之一的利未,也是借著亞伯拉罕納了十分之一。因為麥基洗德迎接亞伯拉罕的時候,利未已經在他先祖的身中(“身”原文作“腰”)。

在此我們又一次看到──通過推斷──麥基洗德的祭司職位比利未人的祭司職位更尊貴,因為位分大的,也就是被作者用比喻與基督聯系起來的麥基洗德,為位分小的──在這堿O亞伯拉罕,并且通過推斷還有亞伯拉罕的子孫──祝福。捐贈也同樣。

至于利未在亞伯拉罕的身中,我們必須謹慎不要把太多的讀進文字堨h。只按字面去理解有可能會陷入異端。要看到這一段大多是比喻。麥基洗德只是基督的比喻。有一個稱為靈魂遺傳論(Traducianism)的異端認為靈魂存在于其祖先的身體中。但聖經說:“不可因子殺父,也不可因父殺子。凡被殺的都為本身的罪。”【申命記 24:16】,因此不能把一個人的罪歸到他的後代的身上,每一個人與他的祖先是分開的。靈魂遺傳論是某些關于原罪的錯誤概念的基礎,也是與聖經相悖的種族歧視的基礎。

但這所說的關于利未的事,換一個說法也同樣成立:如果一個人的父親覺得自己必須尊重某個人,那麼他當然也希望他兒子也照樣做。因此麥基洗德,通過比喻──基督──比利未更尊貴。因此利未人的祭司職位不如基督的祭司職位尊貴。“因為只有一位神,在神和人中間,只有一位中保,乃是降世為人的基督耶穌。”【提摩太前書 2:5】

還有一點他沒有提到,因為他是在與猶太人說話,就是利未人祭司盡限于猶太人,而基督的祭司職位不但適用于猶太人,也適用于外邦人。事實上甚至可以用麥基洗德的比喻,并注意到在他取十分之一給麥基洗德的時候,亞伯拉罕本人當時也是一個外邦人。正如保羅在加拉太書婸”鴘漕獐芊G并且聖經既然預先看明,神要叫外邦人因信稱義,就早已傳福音給亞伯拉罕,說:“萬國都必因你得福。”可見那以信為本的人和有信心的亞伯拉罕一同得福。凡以行律法為本的,都是被咒詛的,因為經上記著:“凡不常照律法書上所記一切之事去行的,就被咒詛。”【加拉太書 3:8-10】并且,“你們既屬乎基督,就是亞伯拉罕的後裔,是照著應許承受產業的了。”【加拉太書 3:29】同樣,麥基洗德自己也不是猶太人。因此,麥基洗德的祭司職位所包含的范圍比利未人祭司所包含的范圍更廣。


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Hebrews 6:13-7:10 (web)

Christ Superior to Aaron II

Trusting in the Promise of God

6:13 For when God made a promise to Abraham,
since he could swear by none greater, he swore by himself,
6:14 saying, "Most surely I will bless you, and I will surely multiply you."
6:15 Thus, having patiently endured, he obtained the promise.
 
6:16 For men indeed swear by a greater one,
and in every dispute of theirs the oath is final for confirmation.
6:17 In this way God, being determined to show more abundantly
to the heirs of the promise the immutability of his counsel, interposed with an oath;
6:18 that by two immutable things, in which it is impossible for God to lie,
we may have a strong encouragement,
who have fled for refuge to take hold of the hope set before us.
6:19 This hope we have as an anchor of the soul,
a hope both sure and steadfast and entering into that which is within the veil;
6:20 where as a forerunner Jesus entered for us,
having become a high priest forever after the order of Melchizedek. (Ps 110:4)

The Melchizedekian Priesthood

7:1 For this Melchizedek, king of Salem, priest of God Most High,
who met Abraham returning from the slaughter of the kings and blessed him,
7:2 to whom also Abraham divided a tenth part of all
(being first, by interpretation, king of righteousness,
and then also king of Salem, which is king of peace;
7:3 without father, without mother, without genealogy,
having neither beginning of days nor end of life, but made like the Son of God),
remains a priest continually.

7:4 Now consider how great this man was,
to whom even Abraham, the patriarch, gave a tenth out of the best spoils.
 

7:5 They indeed of the sons of Levi
who receive the priest's office
have a commandment to take tithes of the people according to the law,
that is, of their brothers, though these have come out of the loins of Abraham,

7:6 but he whose genealogy is not counted from them has taken tithes of Abraham,
and has blessed him who has the promises.
7:7 But without any dispute the less is blessed by the better.

7:8 Here people who die receive tithes,
but there one receives tithes of whom it is testified that he lives.

7:9 So to say, through Abraham even Levi, who receives tithes, has paid tithes,
7:10 for he was yet in the loins of his father when Melchizedek met him.


DISCUSSION QUESTIONS

vs 14 How is this promise relevant to us?
(Xref Gal 3:8 "And the scripture, foreseeing that God would justify the heathen through faith, preached before the gospel unto Abraham, saying, In thee shall all nations be blessed."
Gal 3:29 "And if ye be Christ's, then are ye Abraham's seed, and heirs according to the promise."
Also check Gal 3:14-18)
Can God make a rock so big that He cannot move it?
vs 18 What are the 2 unchangeable things in which are impossible for God to violate?
vs 19 Would you describe your confidence of going to heaven as firm and secure?
How is the Melchizedekian priesthood superior to the Aaronic priesthood?


COMMENTS

The Promise and the Oath

Heb 6:13-18
When God made his promise to Abraham, since there was no one greater for him to swear by, he swore by himself, saying, "I will surely bless you and give you many descendants." And so after waiting patiently, Abraham received what was promised. Men swear by someone greater than themselves, and the oath confirms what is said and puts an end to all argument. Because God wanted to make the unchanging nature of his purpose very clear to the heirs of what was promised, he confirmed it with an oath.  God did this so that, by two unchangeable things in which it is impossible for God to lie, we who have fled to take hold of the hope offered to us may be greatly encouraged.

Much as men characteristically swear by someone greater than themselves, it is not that they should do so. Jesus said, "Again, you have heard that it was said to the people long ago, ‘Do not break your oath, but keep the oaths you have made to the Lord.’ But I tell you, Do not swear at all: either by heaven, for it is God’s throne; or by the earth, for it is his footstool; or by Jerusalem, for it is the city of the Great King. And do not swear by your head, for you cannot make even one hair white or black. Simply let your ‘Yes’ be ‘Yes,’ and your ‘No,’ ‘No’; anything beyond this comes from the evil one." Mt 5:33-37

God is somewhat an exception in this line of reasoning seeing as God in fact does have control over all things and as such can see to it that the oath is fulfilled. But the point is that one can have confidence in God's oath. Num 23:19  "God is not a man, that he should lie, nor a son of man, that he should change his mind. Does he speak and then not act? Does he promise and not fulfill?"

The two unchangeable things are the promise and the oath. They are immutable in that God is faithful and God cannot lie. The emphasis is that we can have confidence in what God has promised. Understand that God has put his reputation at stake. He will fulfill his promise not just for the good of the recipients of the promise, but also for His own name sake.


An Anchor for the Soul

Heb 6:19,20 We have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure. It enters the inner sanctuary behind the curtain, where Jesus, who went before us, has entered on our behalf. He has become a high priest forever, in the order of Melchizedek.

While with regards to our part in fulfilling God's requirement to be qualified for the promise there may be some uncertainty, there is no doubt with regards to God fulfilling his part. Though we have to meet the conditions for the promise, having done so we can have full confidence that what was promised will be fulfilled. Concerning Abraham's faith it is written, "He did not waver through unbelief regarding the promise of God, but was strengthened in his faith and gave glory to God, being fully persuaded that God had power to do what he had promised." Rom 4:20,21

The inner sanctuary behind the curtain is in the temple, which was originally the tent meeting of which God instructed Moses to build. It was called the Holy of Holies of which only the high priest was allowed to enter once a year and contained the ark of the covenant. It represented God most holy place. That is, the promise is that the recipients of the New Covenant would be so reconciled to God that God would allow them into his most holy place.

Heb 10:19-23 Therefore, brothers, since we have confidence to enter the Most Holy Place by the blood of Jesus, by a new and living way opened for us through the curtain, that is, his body, and since we have a great priest over the house of God, let us draw near to God with a sincere heart in full assurance of faith, having our hearts sprinkled to cleanse us from a guilty conscience and having our bodies washed with pure water. Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful.


The Order of Melchizedek

Heb 7:1-3 This Melchizedek was king of Salem and priest of God Most High. He met Abraham returning from the defeat of the kings and blessed him, and Abraham gave him a tenth of everything. First, his name means "king of righteousness"; then also, "king of Salem" means "king of peace." Without father or mother, without genealogy, without beginning of days or end of life, like the Son of God he remains a priest forever.

In chapter 7 the author will speak of the order of Christ's priesthood and of its superiority to the Levitical order established under the Law of Moses. The reason for doing this is that he is speaking to Jews who had only been schooled in the Levitical priesthood. Jesus was not a Levitical priest, indeed he did not even qualify to be a Levitical priest. So the question arises as to how one should reckon his priesthood.

By way of illustration the author speaks of Melchizedek as a shadow, a forerunner, the precedent for the order of Christ's priesthood. And though it is but a shadow as there are also many shadows in the Old Testament, and therefore only two dimensional, we nonetheless can learn by inference from such illustrations.

The name "Melchizedek" first refers to a king. This is distinct from the Levitical priesthood in that the kings of Israel were of the tribe of Judah, while it's priests were of the tribe of the Levites. Thus one could not be both a priest and a king under the Law of Moses. But Christ is both our King and our High Priest. Also Christ is both king of righteousness and that of peace, meaning that he justifies us and gives us peace with God.  "He was delivered over to death for our sins and was raised to life for our justification. Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ" Rom 4:25-5:1

Another thing is that Jesus' priesthood was not dependent upon his genealogy. Which is the sense in which he brings up Melchizedek being without father or mother. Not that he didn't have a father or mother, but rather as the Bible mentions nothing of his father or mother, then the author infers from this precedent that genealogy was not relevant to the Melchizedekian order. Likewise as the Bible makes no mention of his death nor an end to Melchizedek's priesthood, the precedent infers that Christ's priesthood - the "Par Excellent" version of the prieshood - is likewise without end.


Christ's Priesthood Superior to Levi

Heb 7:4-10 Just think how great he was: Even the patriarch Abraham gave him a tenth of the plunder! Now the law requires the descendants of Levi who become priests to collect a tenth from the people— that is, their brothers— even though their brothers are descended from Abraham. This man, however, did not trace his descent from Levi, yet he collected a tenth from Abraham and blessed him who had the promises. And without doubt the lesser person is blessed by the greater.

In the one case, the tenth is collected by men who die; but in the other case, by him who is declared to be living.  One might even say that Levi, who collects the tenth, paid the tenth through Abraham, because when Melchizedek met Abraham, Levi was still in the body of his ancestor.

Here we see again - by way of inference - the superiority of the Melchizedekian priesthood over that of the Levitical priestood, in that the lesser person - in this case Abraham and by inference Abraham's descendants - was blessed by the greater, namely Melchizedek whom the author associates with Christ by analogy. And likewise with regards to donations.

But as for Levi living in the body of his ancestory Abraham, one must be careful not to read too much into the text. Reading literally what was meant as analogy one can end up with heresy. Realize that most of this text is analogous. Christ himself is only analogous to Melchizedek. There is a a heresy known as Traducianism whereby the soul exists in the fabric of one's ancestors. But given that the Bible states,  "Fathers shall not be put to death for their children, nor children put to death for their fathers; each is to die for his own sin." Deut 24:16, one cannot attribute sin to one's descendants and therefore the individual is considered separate from his ancestors. Nor are ancestors reckoned a composite of their descendants. Traducianism had been a basis for misconceptions concerning original sin and a basis for racial prejudice but is inconsistent with Biblical Christianity.

But the point made here concerning Levi could be just as well stated by saying that if one's father reckoned himself obligated to pay respect to someone, then certainly that would likewise be the case with his son. Thus Melchizedek, and by analogy - Christ, is superior to Levi. Thus the Levitical priesthood is overshadowed by the Priesthood of Christ. "For there is one God and one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus" 1Tim 2:5

One additional point he hasn't bought up because he's just speaking to Jews, is the fact that the Levitical priesthood was limited to Jews, whereas Christ's priesthood applies across the board to Jews and Gentiles. In fact one could even use the Melchizedekian analogy and note that Abraham himself was a Gentile when he gave a tithe to him. As Paul noted in Gal 3:8-10 Therefore know that only those who are of faith are sons of Abraham. And the Scripture, foreseeing that God would justify the Gentiles by faith, preached the gospel to Abraham beforehand, saying, "In you all the nations shall be blessed." So then those who are of faith are blessed with believing Abraham. And "If you belong to Christ, then you are Abraham‘s seed, and heirs according to the promise." Gal 3:29 Likewise Melchizedek himself was not Jewish. Thus the Melchizedekian priesthood encompasses a much broader field than the Levitical priesthood.


NOTES

Trusting in the Promise of God

When God makes a promise, it is as if He creates a rock so big that not even He can move it. For if He doesn't keep His promise, He violates His own character.

If a believer in Christ is denied access to heaven, then God shows Himself to be a liar.

But since it's impossible for God to lie, then the believer has a secure anticipation of entering heaven, which is the reason why God made a big deal about making an oath, so that our confidence would be based on His unchangable character.

The Melchizedekian Priesthood Greater than Aaronic Priesthood

(King of "Salem" = King of Jerusalem according to Ps 76:2)


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015