翻譯: English 中文 GB

希伯來書 7:11-28

基督比亞倫更尊榮,之三

基督──完美的祭司

一、因為這個大祭司更高的等次

7:11 從前百姓在利未人祭司職任以下受律法,
  倘若借這職任能得完全
  又何用另外興起一位祭司,
  照麥基洗德的等次,不照亞倫的等次呢?

7:12 祭司的職任既已更改,律法也必須更改。
7:13 因為這話所指的人本屬別的支派,
  那支派堭q來沒有一人伺候祭壇。

7:14 我們的主分明是從猶大出來的,
  但這支派摩西并沒有提到祭司。

7:15 倘若照麥基洗德的樣式另外興起一位祭司來,
  我的話更是顯而易見的了。

7:16 他成為祭司并不是照屬肉體的條例,
  乃是照無窮之生命的大能(“無窮”原文作“不能毀壞”)。

7:17 因為有給他作見証的說:
  “你是照著麥基洗德的等次永遠為祭司。”
【詩篇 110:4】
7:18 先前的條例因軟弱無益,所以廢掉了。
7:19 (律法原來一無所成),【加拉太書 3:21】
  就引進了更美的指望,靠這指望我們便可以進到神面前。

二、因為這個大祭司是基于神所起的誓

7:20 再者,耶穌為祭司并不是不起誓立的!
7:21 至于那些祭司,原不是起誓立的,
  只有耶穌是起誓立的。因為那立他的對他說:
  “主起了誓決不後悔,你是永遠為祭司。”

7:22 既是起誓立的,耶穌就作了更美之約的中保。

三、因為這個大祭司是永遠常存的

7:23 那些成為祭司的數目本來多,
  是因為有死阻隔,不能長久。

7:24 這位既是永遠常存的,
  他祭司的職任就長久不更換。

7:25 凡靠著他進到神面前的人,
  他都能拯救到底,
  因為他是長遠活著,替他們祈求。

四、因為這個大祭司是聖潔的

7:26 像這樣聖潔,無邪惡,無玷污,遠離罪人,高過諸天的大祭司,
  原是與我們合宜的。

7:27 他不像那些大祭司,
  每日必須先為自己的罪,
  後為百姓的罪獻祭,
  因為他只一次將自己獻上,就把這事成全了。

7:28 律法本是立軟弱的人為大祭司﹔
  但在律法以後起誓的話是立兒子為大祭司,
  乃是成全到永遠的


問題討論

從這一章,例數幾個耶穌作大祭司高于利未大祭司的原因。
第11-14節 猶太人會有什麼原因對說耶穌是我們的大祭司表示反對?
今天有沒有人類似于利未祭司?
第15-17節 基督從哪些方面像麥基洗德?
第18節 即然以前的條例因軟弱無益被廢掉,那麼神為什麼要立它呢?(加拉太書 3:19-25】
第11,19節 為什麼不能通過律法達到完美?
第19節 “更美的指望”指的是什麼?
第20-22節 鑒于【希伯來書 6:16-18】,基于神所起的誓立基督為大祭司有什麼重要意義?
第25節 基督總是為我們代禱意味著什麼?如果他不這樣做會有什麼不同?
另見羅馬書 8:26-27
基督這樣替我們祈求與信徒得救的保証有什麼關系?(羅馬書 8:34哥林多前書 1:8
第26節 為什麼說大祭司的這些品德是與我們合宜的?
第27節 為什麼這與天主教的彌撒是相對立的?
(考慮天主教彌撒堭`用的一句話:“為了你的善和所有你的教會的善,請接受這個為了你的贊美和榮耀,用我們的手所造的祭。”)

注釋

祭司職任和律法的更改

希伯來書 7:11-14 從前百姓在利未人祭司職任以下受律法,倘若借這職任能得完全,又何用另外興起一位祭司,照麥基洗德的等次,不照亞倫的等次呢?祭司的職任既已更改,律法也必須更改。因為這話所指的人本屬別的支派,那支派堭q來沒有一人伺候祭壇。我們的主分明是從猶大出來的,但這支派摩西并沒有提到祭司。

成為基督徒必須要接受的一個對猶太人來說困難的概念就是利未人祭司──的確,摩西律法本身──是不足的,而只有在基督堣H才能得完全。是的,猶太人也許會拒絕接受耶穌基督為祭司,因看到他來自猶大支派,而不是利未支派,這是摩西律法下對祭司職任的要求。但事實上基督是不同等次,不同的律法,一個新的約定的祭司。與這個新約相隨的律法不同于摩西的舊約律法,作者將在後來述及。祭司的職任也不同。

比如在新約的律法之下,那些按照摩西律法不可饒恕的罪可以得到赦免:“所以弟兄們,你們當曉得,赦罪的道是由這人傳給你們的。你們靠摩西的律法,在一切不得稱義的事上,信靠這人,就都得稱義了。”【使徒行傳 13:38-39】得救是通過信祭司(耶穌),在摩西律法之下則不是這樣。後來作者將提到在摩西律法之下祭司用動物獻祭,而在新約之下,耶穌,我們的大祭司,把自己獻上為祭。還有在舊約之下必須獻許多的祭,而在新約之下我們都因耶穌一次將自己獻上為祭而稱義。


獨立于族譜的祭司職位,之一

希伯來書 7:15-17 倘若照麥基洗德的樣式另外興起一位祭司來,我的話更是顯而易見的了。他成為祭司并不是照屬肉體的條例,乃是照無窮之生命的大能(“無窮”原文作“不能毀壞”)。因為有給他作見証的說:“你是照著麥基洗德的等次永遠為祭司。”

利未祭司職位是基于族譜,已顯出其不足。這種祭司職位不能超過人的一生。在前任死的時候就得換位。但新約堛熔膝q,照著麥基洗德的等次,是永恆的。因為耶穌勝了死亡,將永恆地活著。他的祭司職位是基于生命。


獨立于族譜的祭司職位,之二

希伯來書 7:18-19 先前的條例因軟弱無益,所以廢掉了。(律法原來一無所成),就引進了更美的指望,靠這指望我們便可以進到神面前。

律法作為一套規則和條例對于改變人的行為來說是無用的。同樣保羅寫到:“你們若是與基督同死,脫離了世上的小學,為什麼仍像在世俗中活著,服從那‘不可拿!不可嘗!不可摸!’等類的規條呢?這都是照人所吩咐、所教導的。說到這一切,正用的時候就都敗壞了。這些規條使人徒有智慧之名,用私意崇拜,自表謙卑,苦待己身,其實在克制肉體的情欲上是毫無功效。”【歌羅西書 2:20-23】這對摩西律法來說也是這樣。

律法對于使人稱義也是無能為力的。律法只給人定罪。“所以凡有血氣的,沒有一個因行律法能在神面前稱義,因為律法本是叫人知罪。”【羅馬書 3:20】“若曾傳一個能叫人得生的律法,義就誠然本乎律法了。”【加拉太書 3:21b】律法是不能救人的。但是“律法既因肉體軟弱,有所不能行的,神就差遣自己的兒子,成為罪身的形狀,作了贖罪祭,在肉體中定了罪案,”【羅馬書 8:3】

律法是沒有指望的,事實上律法把我們帶到一個絕望的地方。但在新約指下我們有一個更美的指望。基督“以自己的身體廢掉冤仇,就是那記在律法上的規條,”【以弗所書 2:15a】“使律法的義成就在我們這不隨從肉體,只隨從聖靈的人身上。”【羅馬書 8:4】


我保証!之一

希伯來書 7:20-22 再者,耶穌為祭司并不是不起誓立的!至于那些祭司,原不是起誓立的,只有耶穌是起誓立的。因為那立他的對他說:“主起了誓決不後悔,你是永遠為祭司。”既是起誓立的,耶穌就作了更美之約的中保。

在摩西律法下祭司的職位是按命令,用條例立的。與之相隨的沒有保証。事實上神殺了亞倫的兩個兒子,因為他們沒有按祭司當做的去做。神還在其它幾個情況下這樣做。但基督作了一個保証。這是新約所作的保証的一個方面,與新約相隨的還有其它保証。

神保証那些在新約之下的人有永生的生命,被重生,接受神的靈,“這聖靈是我們得基業的憑據(原文作“質”),直等到神之民(“民”原文作“產業”)被贖,使他的榮耀得著稱贊。”【以弗所書 1:14】“那在基督堸磼T我們和你們,并且膏我們的,就是神。他又用印印了我們,并賜聖靈在我們心塈@憑據(原文作“質”)。”【哥林多後書 1:21-22】


我保証!之二

希伯來書 7:23-25 那些成為祭司的數目本來多,是因為有死阻隔,不能長久。這位既是永遠常存的,他祭司的職任就長久不更換。凡靠著他進到神面前的人,他都能拯救到底,因為他是長遠活著,替他們祈求。

在摩西律法之下,沒有保証說你將得救。新約埵野禱磲澈O証。那些通過基督來到神的人將完全徹底地得救,極度地得救,永恆地得救。耶穌說:“我就是門,凡從我進來的,必然得救,”【約翰福音 10:9a】“到那時候,凡求告主名的,就必得救。”【使徒行傳 2:21】“因為我們作仇敵的時候,且借著神兒子的死,得與神和好﹔既已和好,就更要因他的生得救了。”【羅馬書 5:10】因此,“當信主耶穌,你和你一家都必得救。”【使徒行傳 16:31】


一勞永逸

希伯來書 7:26-28 像這樣聖潔,無邪惡,無玷污,遠離罪人,高過諸天的大祭司,原是與我們合宜的。他不像那些大祭司,每日必須先為自己的罪,後為百姓的罪獻祭,因為他只一次將自己獻上,就把這事成全了。律法本是立軟弱的人為大祭司﹔但在律法以後起誓的話是立兒子為大祭司,乃是成全到永遠的。

靠同是罪人的人替你向神說話有什麼益處呢?難怪那些宗教精英──祭司和諸如此類的──變得高傲,因為他們漸漸錯誤地以為由于他們替別人禱告所以比別人更高貴。我們所需要的是一個救主,一個能被神接受的中保,這意味著他必須是無罪的。“因我們的大祭司并非不能體恤我們的軟弱,他也曾凡事受過試探,與我們一樣──只是他沒有犯罪。”【希伯來書 4:15】

雖然利未祭司周期性地獻上許多動物為祭,但基督在十字架上一次獻上他自己為祭,足以贖所有的罪。“因基督也曾一次為罪受苦(“受苦”有古卷作“受死”),就是義的代替不義的,為要引我們到神面前。按著肉體說,他被治死﹔按著靈性說,他復活了。”【彼得前書 3:18】“也不是多次將自己獻上,像那大祭司每年帶著牛羊的血進入聖所(“牛羊的血”原文作“不是自己的血”)。如果這樣,他從創世以來,就必多次受苦了。但如今在這末世顯現一次,把自己獻為祭,好除掉罪。按著定命,人人都有一死,死後且有審判。象這樣,基督既然一次被獻,擔當了多人的罪,將來要向那等候他的人第二次顯現,并與罪無關,乃是為拯救他們。”【希伯來書 9:25-28】

天主教徒特別要懂得這一點。天主教教士職位是以利未祭司職位作為模型的。天主教每個禮拜有一個被稱為“彌撒聖祭”的儀式,其間天主教教士魔術般地使基督變成一塊餅,然後他們把基督重釘十字架。下面幾段譯自天主教網站:

彌撒聖祭不只是獻上贊美和感恩,或單單記念在十字架上所獻的祭。它是為活人和死人獻上的至高無上的祭,為罪的重新發作和罪所招至的懲罰,作為對罪和其它需要的補償。

在髑髏地,這個獻祭的敬拜是帶血的,因十字架造成基督肉身的死亡,而在彌撒堙A以不帶血的方式,耶穌獻上他自己為祭,因為他現在已得著榮耀,是不死得,不能再以他肉身的自己受苦或死亡。

在彌撒堙A同樣那位曾在髑髏地獻上他自己的耶穌基督現在把他自己獻在壇上。

會眾也是這個儀式的主動參與者,他們說:“接受這個用我們的手所造的祭。

這是天主教所繼承的許多異端之一。與此相反,聖經說:“凡祭司天天站著事奉神,屢次獻上一樣的祭物,這祭物永不能除罪。但基督獻了一次永遠的贖罪祭,就在神的右邊坐下了。”【希伯來書 10:11-12】

天主教徒必須決定是把他們的信放在天主教教士職位和彌撒聖祭上,還是他們的信放在耶穌基督和他一次所獻的祭上。

關于天主教的其它問題,請見“一個曾為天主教的人對天主教的看法”。


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Hebrews 7:11-28 (web)

Christ Superior to Aaron III

The Perfection of Christ's Priesthood

I. Because of its Superior Order

7:11 Now if there was perfection through the Levitical priesthood
(for under it the people have received the law),
what further need was there for another priest to arise after the order of Melchizedek,
and not be called after the order of Aaron?
 
7:12 For the priesthood being changed, there is of necessity a change made also in the law.
7:13 For he of whom these things are said belongs to another tribe,
from which no one has officiated at the altar.
7:14 For it is evident that our Lord has sprung out of Judah,
about which tribe Moses spoke nothing concerning priesthood.
7:15 This is yet more abundantly evident,
if after the likeness of Melchizedek there arises another priest,
7:16 who has been made,
not after the law of a fleshly commandment, but after the power of an endless life:
7:17 for it is testified,
"You are a priest forever, According to the order of Melchizedek." (Ps 110:4)
7:18 For there is an annulling of a foregoing commandment
because of its weakness and uselessness
7:19 (for the law made nothing perfect), (Gal 3:21)
and a bringing in thereupon of a better hope, through which we draw near to God.

II. Because it was Based on God's Oath

7:20 Inasmuch as he was not made priest without the taking of an oath
 
7:21 (for they indeed have been made priests without an oath),
but he with an oath by him that says of him,
"The Lord swore and will not change his mind,
'You are a priest forever, According to the order of Melchizedek'".
7:22 By so much has Jesus become the collateral of a better covenant.

III. Because of its Permanence

7:23 Many, indeed, have been made priests, because they are hindered from continuing by death.
 
7:24 But he, because he lives forever, has his priesthood unchangeable.
7:25 Therefore he is also able to save to the uttermost those who draw near to God through him,
seeing he ever lives to make intercession for them.

IV. Because of its Purity

7:26 For such a high priest was fitting for us: holy, guiltless, undefiled,
separated from sinners, and made higher than the heavens;
7:27 who doesn't need, like those high priests, to daily offer up sacrifices,
first for his own sins, and then for the sins of the people.
For this he did once for all, when he offered up himself.
 
7:28 For the law appoints men as high priests who have weakness,
but the word of the oath which came after the law appoints
a Son forever who has been perfected.

DISCUSSION QUESTIONS

From this chapter, name a number of ways in which the priesthood of Jesus was superior to the Levitical priesthood.
vs 11-14 What objection might Jews have about claiming that Jesus is our high priest?
Is there anything today that might be analogous to the Levitical priesthood?
vs 15-17 In what ways is Christ like Melchizedek?
vs 18 If the former regulation was weak and useless, then why did God establish it? (Gal 3:19-25)
vs 11,19 why was perfection not attainable through the law?
vs 19 What is the "better hope" being referred to?
vs 20-22 In view of Heb 6:16-18, what so significant about God confirming the priesthood of Christ with an oath?
vs 25 What does it mean that Christ always intercedes for us and what difference would it make if he didn't?
See also Rom 8:26,27.
How is this intercession also related to the security of the believer? (Rom 8:34, 1Cor 1:8)
vs 26 How do these characteristics in a High Priest meet our need? What need is he talking about?
vs 27 How might this be viewed in contrast to a catholic mass?
(Consider the phrase in the catholic mass: "Accept this offering made by our hands to the praise and glory of your name for you good and the good of all your church")

COMMENTS

Change of Priesthood, Change of Law

Heb 7:11-14  If perfection could have been attained through the Levitical priesthood (for on the basis of it the law was given to the people), why was there still need for another priest to come— one in the order of Melchizedek, not in the order of Aaron? For when there is a change of the priesthood, there must also be a change of the law.  He of whom these things are said belonged to a different tribe, and no one from that tribe has ever served at the altar. For it is clear that our Lord descended from Judah, and in regard to that tribe Moses said nothing about priests.

A difficult concept that Jews must accept to become Christians is that the Levitical priesthood - indeed the Law of Moses itself - is deficient, whereas in Christ one finds perfection. Yes Jews may object to the idea of Jesus Christ being a priest seeing as he is from the tribe of Judah and not of Levi, which is a requirement for priesthood under the Law of Moses. Fact is, Christ is a priest of a different order, a different law, a New Covenant. The New Covenant has different law associated with it than the Old Mosaic Covenant, of which the author will bring up later. The priesthood is different.

For example under New Covenant law sins of which could not be forgiven under the Law of Moses are forgiven, "I want you to know that through Jesus the forgiveness of sins is proclaimed to you. Through him everyone who believes is justified from everything you could not be justified from by the law of Moses." Acts 13:38,39 Salvation is through faith in the priest (Jesus) himself, which was not the case under the Law of Moses. Later the author will bring up the fact that under the Law of Moses priests brought animal sacrifices, whereas under the New, Jesus, our High Priest, is himself the sacrifice. And also that under the Old many sacrifices had to be made, but under the New we are justified by the one sacrifice.


A Priesthood Independent of Ancestry

Heb 7:15-17  And what we have said is even more clear if another priest like Melchizedek appears,  one who has become a priest not on the basis of a regulation as to his ancestry but on the basis of the power of an indestructible life.  For it is declared: "You are a priest forever, in the order of Melchizedek."

The Levitical  Priesthood based on ancestry was shown to be deficient. Such priesthood only lasted a man's lifetime. It was transferred upon death. But  the New Covenant, the Melchizedekian order, lasts forever. For Jesus conquered death and lives forever. His priesthood is based upon life.

Heb 7:18-19  The former regulation is set aside because it was weak and useless  (for the law made nothing perfect), and a better hope is introduced, by which we draw near to God.

The law, as a set of rules and regulations was useless to change one's behavior. Likewise Paul notes, "Since you died with Christ to the basic principles of this world, why, as though you still belonged to it, do you submit to its rules: "Do not handle! Do not taste! Do not touch!"? These are all destined to perish with use, because they are based on human commands and teachings. Such regulations indeed have an appearance of wisdom, with their self-imposed worship, their false humility and their harsh treatment of the body, but they lack any value in restraining sensual indulgence." Col 2:20-23 This same truth holds for the Law of Moses.

The Law also is useless in that it doesn't justify a person. It only condemns. "No one will be declared righteous in his sight by observing the law; rather, through the law we become conscious of sin." Rom 3:20  "For if a law had been given that could impart life, then righteousness would certainly have come by the law." Gal 3:21b The Law is useless to save people. But "what the law was powerless to do in that it was weakened by the sinful nature, God did by sending his own Son in the likeness of sinful man to be a sin offering." Rom 8:3

The Law held out no hope and in fact brought us to a place of hopelessness. But under the New Covenant we have a better hope. Christ "abolished in his flesh the law with its commandments and regulations." Eph 2:15 "in order that the righteous requirements of the law might be fully met in us, who do not live according to the sinful nature but according to the Spirit." Rom 8:4

I Guarantee it!

Heb 7:20-22 And it was not without an oath! Others became priests without any oath,  but he became a priest with an oath when God said to him: "The Lord has sworn and will not change his mind: ‘You are a priest forever.’"  Because of this oath, Jesus has become the guarantee of a better covenant.

Under the Law of Moses the priesthood was given by commandment, by regulation. It didn't come with guarantees. In fact God killed two of Aaron's sons because they misbehaved as priests, as also He did on other occasions. But Christ is given a guarantee. This is one aspect of the New Covenant that comes with a guarantee, and there are other guarantees associated with the New Covenant.

Those under the New Covenant are guaranteed eternal life, and they are born-again, given the Spirit of God, "who is a deposit guaranteeing our inheritance until the redemption of those who are God’s possession— to the praise of his glory." Eph 1:14 "Now it is God who makes both us and you stand firm in Christ. He anointed us, set his seal of ownership on us, and put his Spirit in our hearts as a deposit, guaranteeing what is to come." 2Cor 1:21,22

Heb 7:23-25 Now there have been many of those priests, since death prevented them from continuing in office; but because Jesus lives forever, he has a permanent priesthood.  Therefore he is able to save completely those who come to God through him, because he always lives to intercede for them.

Under the Mosaic Law there were no guarantees that you would be saved. New Covenant includes eternal security. Those who come to God through Christ will be completely saved, saved to the uttermost, saved eternally. Jesus said, "I am the gate; whoever enters through me will be saved." John 10:9a "And everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved." Acts 2:21 "For if, when we were God’s enemies, we were reconciled to him through the death of his Son, how much more, having been reconciled, shall we be saved through his life!" Rom 5:10 So "Believe in the Lord Jesus, and you will be saved" Acts 16:31


Once for all

Heb 7:26-28  Such a high priest meets our need— one who is holy, blameless, pure, set apart from sinners, exalted above the heavens. Unlike the other high priests, he does not need to offer sacrifices day after day, first for his own sins, and then for the sins of the people. He sacrificed for their sins once for all when he offered himself. For the law appoints as high priests men who are weak; but the oath, which came after the law, appointed the Son, who has been made perfect forever.

What good is it for a fellow sinner to speak to God on your behalf? It's no wonder that the religiously elite - the priests and such, became proud because they developed the misconception that because they were intercessors they were superior to those for whom they were interceding. Our need is for a Savior, a Mediator acceptable to God, which means he has to be without sin.  "We do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are— yet was without sin." Heb 4:15

While the Levitical priests offered many animal sacrifices periodically, the one sacrifice which Christ offered up of himself on the cross was sufficient to atone for sin. "For Christ died for sins once for all, the righteous for the unrighteous, to bring you to God." 1Pet 3:18  "Nor did he enter heaven to offer himself again and again, the way the high priest enters the Most Holy Place every year with blood that is not his own. Then Christ would have had to suffer many times since the creation of the world. But now he has appeared once for all at the end of the ages to do away with sin by the sacrifice of himself. Just as man is destined to die once, and after that to face judgment, so Christ was sacrificed once to take away the sins of many people" Heb 9:25-28

Catholics especially have to understand this. The Catholic priesthood is modeled after the Levitical priesthood. Catholicism has a weekly ritual known as the "sacrifice of the Mass" in which in which the Catholic priests magically cause Christ to become a piece of bread and then they recrucify Christ. Here are some quotes from  Catholic website:

"The Sacrifice of the Mass is not merely an offering of praise and thanksgiving, or simply a memorial of the sacrifice on the Cross. It is a propitiatory sacrifice which is offered for the living and dead, for the remission of sins and punishment due to sin, as satisfaction for sin and for other necessities."

"whereas on Calvary, this sacrificial adoration was bloody, causing Christ's physical death by crucifixion, in the Mass the same Jesus is now sacrificing Himself in an unbloody manner because he is now glorified, immortal, and incapable of suffering or dying in His own physical person."

"in the Mass the same Jesus Christ who offered Himself on Calvary now offers Himself on the altar"

The congregation are also will participants in this ceremony saying, "Accept this offering made by our hands"

This is one of the many heresies inherent in Catholicism. Again in contrast the Bible says, "Day after day every priest stands and performs his religious duties; again and again he offers the same sacrifices, which can never take away sins. But when this priest (Jesus Christ) had offered for all time one sacrifice for sins, he sat down at the right hand of God." Heb 10:11,12

Catholics must decide between putting their faith in the Catholic priesthood and the sacrifices of the Mass, or tputting heir faith in Jesus Christ and his one sacrifice.

For other issues with Catholicism see "An Ex-Catholic's Perspective on Catholicism"


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015