翻譯: English 中文 GB

希伯來書 8:1-9:10

基督──更好的祭、之一

新的現實代替舊的影像

地上的供奉是天上的事的影像

8:1 我們所講的事,其中第一要緊的,

  就是我們有這樣的大祭司,已經坐在天上至大者寶座的右邊,

8:2 在聖所,就是真帳幕塈@執事﹔
  這帳幕是主所支的,不是人所支的。

8:3 凡大祭司都是為獻禮物和祭物設立的,
  所以這位大祭司也必須有所獻的。


8:4 他若在地上,必不得為祭司,
  因為已經有照律法獻禮物的祭司。

8:5 他們供奉的事,本是天上事的形狀和影像,
  正如摩西將要造帳幕的時候,蒙神警戒他說:
  “你要謹慎,作各樣的物件
  都要照著在山上指示你的樣式。”
【出埃及記 25:40】

新約──更美的約

8:6 如今耶穌所得的職任是更美的,
  正如他作更美之約的中保﹔
  這約原是憑更美之應許立的。


8:7 那前約若沒有瑕疵,
  就無處尋求後約了。

8:8 所以主指責他的百姓說(或作“所以主指前約的缺欠說”):
  “日子將到,我要與以色列家和猶大家另立約。
8:9 不像我拉著他們祖宗的手,
  領他們出埃及的時候,與他們所立的約。
  因為他們不恆心守我的約,我也不理他們。”
  這是主說的。

8:10 主又說:
  “那些日子以後,我與以色列家所立的約乃是這樣:
  我要將我的律法放在他們堶情A寫在他們心上
  我要作他們的神,他們要作我的子民。

8:11 他們不用各人教導自己的鄉鄰和自己的弟兄說:
  ‘你該認識主,’
  因為他們從最小的到至大的都必認識我

8:12 我要寬恕他們的不義
  不再記念他們的罪愆。”
【耶利米書 31:31-34】

8:13 既說約,就以前約為舊了﹔
  但那漸舊漸衰的,就必快歸無有了。

新帳幕更美

屬世的帳幕

9:1 原來前約有禮拜的條例和屬世界的聖幕。
9:2 因為有預備的帳幕。
  頭一層叫作聖所
  堶惘鹵O台、桌子和陳設餅。


9:3 第二幔子後又有一層帳幕,
  叫作至聖所

9:4 有金香爐(“爐”或作“壇”),
  有包金的約櫃,
    櫃埵陴捷颩的金罐和亞倫發過芽的杖,
    并兩塊約版。

9:5 櫃上面有榮耀基路伯的影罩著施恩座(“施恩”原文作“蔽罪”)。
  這幾件我現在不能一一細說。


9:6 這些物件既如此預備齊了,
  眾祭司就常進頭一層帳幕,行拜神的禮。

9:7 至于第二層帳幕,惟有大祭司一年一次獨自進去,
  沒有不帶著血,為自己和百姓的過錯獻上。

9:8 聖靈用此指明,
  頭一層帳幕仍存的時候,
  進入至聖所的路還未顯明。

9:9 那頭一層帳幕作現今的一個表樣,
  所獻的禮物和祭物,就著良心說,
  都不能叫禮拜的人得以完全。

9:10 這些事,連那飲食和諸般洗濯的規矩,
  都不過是屬肉體的條例,命定到振興的時候為止。


問題討論

第8:1-5節 影像這個概念為什麼一子使得舊約與基督徒更為相關?
你能不能例舉幾個在舊約堛漯F西,它們有可能是新約堛漯F西的影像?(希伯來書 10:1歌羅西書 2:16-17
是什麼使的影像消失?
第6-13節 即然舊約有瑕疵,而且後來又被取代,哪麼神一開始為什麼要立它呢?(參見【加拉太書 3:17-24】
這堜狺犍峈【耶利米書 31:31-34】堛瑰陶\是如何在基督徒的生活中應驗的?
如何把新約的應許分為代表拯救的兩個側面的兩個類別?
(1、潔淨──拯救我們的態度和行為。
 2、稱義──把我們從罪的罪責中拯救出來。)
作為基督徒,你有沒有經歷過這些應許的應驗?
第12節 跟據這一節,在審判日上,如果神問你他為什麼要讓你進入他的王國,你的一個可能的回答是什麼?(問他是否能夠想起什麼原因不讓你進去。因為他將不能記起你的任何罪愆。)
第9:1-10節 舊帳幕堛漕C一層和每一件陳設對基督徒來說代表著什麼?
有一個完全的良心是什麼意思?在新約之下,基督是如何使人的良心得以完全的?

筆記

雖然舊約堣j多是歷史事件的實際記錄,但新約的作者懷著這個“影像”概念比喻性地把它們加以應用。希伯來書第八至十章媄鬗_律法,摩西的舊約,聖所及在其中所進行的儀式就是這樣的例子,它們是可以應用到基督徒身上的天上事的影像──形像的像征。

另一個清晰的例子可見于加拉太書:

懂得這個概念可以幫助基督徒從舊約堭o出應用。

注釋

只是一個影像

希伯來書 8:1-5 我們所講的事,其中第一要緊的,就是我們有這樣的大祭司,已經坐在天上至大者寶座的右邊,在聖所,就是真帳幕塈@執事﹔這帳幕是主所支的,不是人所支的。凡大祭司都是為獻禮物和祭物設立的,所以這位大祭司也必須有所獻的。他若在地上,必不得為祭司,因為已經有照律法獻禮物的祭司。他們供奉的事,本是天上事的形狀和影像,正如摩西將要造帳幕的時候,蒙神警戒他說:“你要謹慎,作各樣的物件都要照著在山上指示你的樣式。【出埃及記 25:40】

律法既是將來美事的影兒──不是本物的真像。總不能借著每年常獻一樣的祭物,叫那近前來的人得以完全。”【希伯來書 10:1】

一個影像只是一個代表,而且只是平面的。舊約雖然說的是具體的史實,但在很大程度上應被理解成一個影像。但對影像很容易產生誤解。我可以用我的手做出一個鳥的影子來,但原物卻不是鳥,而是我的兩只手。“所以不拘在飲食上,或節期、月朔、安息日,都不可讓人論斷你們。這些原是後事的影兒,那形體卻是基督。”【歌羅西書 2:16-17】基督復臨安息日會的人應對此留心。)要以新約的光來解釋舊約。


新約、之一

希伯來書 8:6-9 如今耶穌所得的職任是更美的,正如他作更美之約的中保﹔這約原是憑更美之應許立的。那前約若沒有瑕疵,就無處尋求後約了。所以主指責他的百姓說(或作“所以主指前約的缺欠說”):“日子將到,我要與以色列家和猶大家另立新約。不像我拉著他們祖宗的手,領他們出埃及的時候,與他們所立的約。因為他們不恆心守我的約,我也不理他們。”這是主說的。【耶利米書 31:31-33】

舊約是有缺陷的,的確如【希伯來書 7:18-19】所說的那樣,是軟弱無益的,因此被新約所取代。這是耶利米書媢w言的。同樣,耶穌的事奉比利未祭司在律法之下的事奉更美。

在最後的晚餐上,耶穌飯後也照樣拿起杯來,說:“這杯是用我血所立的新約,是為你們流出來的。”【路加福音 22:20】耶穌用他自己的血給新約蓋了印,這是為世人的罪給神獻上的祭。“神設立耶穌作挽回祭,是憑著耶穌的血,借著人的信,”【羅馬書 3:25a】


新約、之二

希伯來書 8:10-13 主又說:“那些日子以後,我與以色列家所立的約乃是這樣:我要將我的律法放在他們堶情A寫在他們心上﹔我要作他們的神,他們要作我的子民。他們不用各人教導自己的鄉鄰和自己的弟兄說:‘你該認識主,’因為他們從最小的到至大的都必認識我。我要寬恕他們的不義,不再記念他們的罪愆。”既說新約,就以前約為舊了﹔但那漸舊漸衰的,就必快歸無有了。

新約有兩個方面。一個是成為聖潔,一個是稱義。首先他提到成為聖潔。在舊約之下律法的字句是叫人死。保羅寫到:“他叫我們能承當這新約的執事,不是憑著字句,乃是憑著精意﹔因為那字句是叫人死,精意是叫人活(“精意”或作“聖靈”)。”【哥林多後書 3:6】在新約之下,由聖靈帶來的重生引起行為的改變。義的行為對基督徒來說是自然的。所以約翰寫到:“凡從神生的就不犯罪,因神的道(原文作“種”)存在他心堙Q他也不能犯罪,因為他是由神生的。從此就顯出誰是神的兒女,誰是魔鬼的兒女:凡不行義的就不屬神,不愛弟兄的也是如此。”【約翰一書 3:9-10】并且,“隨從聖靈的人體貼聖靈的事。”【羅馬書 8:5b】在新約之下,每一個信徒都通過基督和與聖靈的合作被賜與與神的直接親密關系。誰曾知道主的心去教導他呢?”但我們是有基督的心了。【哥林多前書 2:16】

稱義,其中包括罪得赦免,使那個直接的親密關系成為可能。因為“你們的罪孽使你們與神隔絕,你們的罪惡使他掩面不聽你們。”【以賽亞書 59:2】但是,“我們借這愛子的血得蒙救贖,過犯得以赦免,乃是照他豐富的恩典。”【以弗所書 1:7】在新約之下,我們的罪不但得到赦免,而且神“不再記念他們的罪愆。”假如神問你為什麼要讓你進他的國,一個基督徒有很多可能的回答,其中之一就是:“為什麼不讓呢?”因為神不再記念的罪在審判日上就不會得到考慮。(那麼,如果神不在記念我們的罪和我們的基督徒同伴的罪,你是不是也應該那樣呢?)


帳幕

希伯來書 9:1-5 原來前約有禮拜的條例和屬世界的聖幕。因為有預備的帳幕。頭一層叫作聖所,堶惘鹵O台、桌子和陳設餅。第二幔子後又有一層帳幕,叫作至聖所。有金香爐(“爐”或作“壇”),有包金的約櫃,櫃埵陴捷颩的金罐和亞倫發過芽的杖,并兩塊約版。櫃上面有榮耀基路伯的影罩著施恩座(“施恩”原文作“蔽罪”)。這幾件我現在不能一一細說。

關于新舊帳幕的詳細學習,請見http://www.bcbsr.com/survey/tabncl_b5.html。


贖罪日

希伯來書 9:6-7 這些物件既如此預備齊了,眾祭司就常進頭一層帳幕,行拜神的禮。至于第二層帳幕,惟有大祭司一年一次獨自進去,沒有不帶著血,為自己和百姓的過錯獻上。

直到今日,猶太人仍然慶祝贖罪日,他們把這個節日叫作“Yom Kippur”,但事實上他們沒有按摩西律法的要求來守這個節日,因為今天的猶太人沒有利未祭司,也沒有帳幕或神的殿來在堶惘u這個節。

但這只是一個影像,被主耶穌所獻上的真實和有效贖罪祭所廢除。“他為我們的罪作了挽回祭,”【約翰一書 2:2a】還要進一步地注意到在律法之下,贖罪日只能贖因無知而犯的罪。但新約通過基督所獻的祭能贖所有的罪。“你們靠摩西的律法,在一切不得稱義的事上,信靠這人,就都得稱義了。”【使徒行傳 13:39】

當時在贖罪日上要取兩只公山羊。一只獻為贖罪祭,這代表基督為我們的罪所獻的贖罪祭。另一只作為“替罪羊”:“兩手按在羊頭上,承認以色列人諸般的罪孽過犯,就是他們一切的罪愆,把這罪都歸在羊的頭上,借著所派之人的手,送到曠野去。要把這羊放在曠野,這羊要擔當他們一切的罪孽,帶到無人之地。”【利未記 16:21-22】聖經把那只羊稱為“替罪羊”,這是今天“替罪羊”這個詞的出處。替罪羊代表基督把我們的罪擔在他自己身上,把它們拿走。“我們都如羊走迷,各人偏行己路。耶和華使我們眾人的罪孽都歸在他身上。……因受欺壓和審判他被奪去。至于他同世的人,誰想他受鞭打,從活人之地被剪除,是因我百姓的罪過呢?”【以賽亞書 53:6,8】


外在條例的軟弱無益

希伯來書 9:8-10 聖靈用此指明,頭一層帳幕仍存的時候,進入至聖所的路還未顯明。那頭一層帳幕作現今的一個表樣,所獻的禮物和祭物,就著良心說,都不能叫禮拜的人得以完全。這些事,連那飲食和諸般洗濯的規矩,都不過是屬肉體的條例,命定到振興的時候為止。

“所以不拘在飲食上,或節期、月朔、安息日,都不可讓人論斷你們。這些原是後事的影兒,那形體卻是基督。”【歌羅西書 2:16-17】

“你們不要被那諸般怪異的教訓勾引了去。因為人心靠恩得堅固才是好的,并不是靠飲食。那在飲食上專心的從來沒有得著益處。”【希伯來書 9:8-10 聖靈用此指明,頭一層帳幕仍存的時候,進入至聖所的路還未顯明。那頭一層帳幕作現今的一個表樣,所獻的禮物和祭物,就著良心說,都不能叫禮拜的人得以完全。這些事,連那飲食和諸般洗濯的規矩,都不過是屬肉體的條例,命定到振興的時候為止。

“所以不拘在飲食上,或節期、月朔、安息日,都不可讓人論斷你們。這些原是後事的影兒,那形體卻是基督。”【歌羅西書 2:16-17】

“你們不要被那諸般怪異的教訓勾引了去。因為人心靠恩得堅固才是好的,并不是靠飲食。那在飲食上專心的從來沒有得著益處。”【 13:9】

很多基督徒和其它人熱衷于慶典主義和隨之而來的聖禮主義神學。但律法在很大程度上是像征性的。不要把像征性的與實在的混淆起來。舊約所像征的不是新約的禮儀,而是實在地發生在屬靈范疇堛漕ヾC因為屬肉身的和對肉身所做的都是肉身的,只有從靈生的才是靈。外在的條例即不能使人稱義也不能使人成為聖潔。新約在于賜給我們屬靈的重生和使我們稱義。

“又有一位大祭司治理神的家。并我們心中天良的虧欠已經洒去,身體用清水洗淨了,就當存著誠心和充足的信心來到神面前。”【希伯來書 10:21-22】


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

HEBREWS 8:1-9:10 (web)

Christ the Better Sacrifice I

New Reality Replaces Old Shadows

Earthly Ministry a Shadow of the Heavenly

8:1 Now in the things which we are saying, the main point is this.

We have such a high priest, who sat down on the right hand of the throne of the Majesty in the heavens,
8:2 a minister of the sanctuary, and of the true tabernacle, which the Lord pitched, not man.
 

8:3 For every high priest is appointed to offer both gifts and sacrifices.
Therefore it is necessary that this high priest also have something to offer.

8:4 For if he were on earth, he would not be a priest at all,
seeing there are priests who offer the gifts according to the law;
8:5 who serve a copy and shadow of the heavenly things,
even as Moses was warned by God when he was about to make the tabernacle, for he said,

"See, you shall make everything according to
the pattern that was shown to you on the mountain." (Ex 25:40)

The Superiority of the New Covenant

8:6 But now he has obtained a more excellent ministry,
by so much as he is also the mediator of a better covenant,
which has been enacted on better promises.

8:7 For if that first covenant had been faultless,
then no place would have been sought for a second.
8:8 For finding fault with them, he said,
 

"Behold, the days come," says the Lord, "That I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and with the house of Judah;
8:9 Not according to the covenant that I made with their fathers, In the day that I took them by the hand to lead them out of the land of Egypt; For they didn't continue in my covenant, And I disregarded them," says the Lord.
8:10 "For this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel. After those days," says the Lord; "I will put my laws into their mind, I will also write them on their heart. I will be to them a God, And they will be to me a people.
8:11 They will not teach every man his fellow citizen,
{TR reads "neighbor" instead of "fellow citizen"}
Every man his brother, saying, 'Know the Lord,' For all will know me,
From the least of them to the greatest of them.
8:12 For I will be merciful to their unrighteousness.
I will remember their sins and lawless deeds no more." (Jer 31:31-34)

8:13 In that he says, "A new covenant," he has made the first old. But that which is becoming old and grows aged is near to vanishing away.

The Superiority of the New Sanctuary

The Earthly Sanctuary

9:1 Now indeed even the first {TR adds "tabernacle"}
covenant had ordinances of divine service, and an earthly sanctuary.
 
9:2 For there was a tabernacle prepared.
In the first part were the lampstand, the table, and the show bread;
which is called the Holy Place.

9:3 After the second veil was the tabernacle which is called the Holy of Holies,
9:4 having a golden altar of incense,
and the ark of the covenant overlaid on all sides with gold,
in which was a golden pot holding the manna, Aaron's rod that budded,
and the tables of the covenant;
9:5 and above it cherubim of glory overshadowing the mercy seat,
of which things we can't now speak in detail.

9:6 Now these things having been thus prepared,
the priests go in continually into the first tabernacle, accomplishing the services,
9:7 but into the second the high priest alone, once in the year, not without blood,
which he offers for himself, and for the errors of the people.
 

9:8 The Holy Spirit is indicating this, that the way into the Holy Place wasn't yet revealed
while the first tabernacle was still standing;
9:9 which is a symbol of the present age,
where gifts and sacrifices are offered that are incapable,
concerning the conscience, of making the worshiper perfect;
9:10 being only (with meats and drinks and various washings)
fleshly ordinances, imposed until a time of reformation.

Discussion Questions

vs 8:1-5 How might this concept of shadows suddenly make much of the Old Testament more relevant to Christians?
Can you name a number of things in the Old Testament that may be shadows of the New? (Heb 10:1; Col 2:16,17)
What causes shadows to vanish?
vs 6-13 If the Old Covenant was defective and later made obsolete, why do you suppose God introduced it to begin with? (xref Gal 3:17-24)
In what ways do the promises in the new covenant as quoted from Jer 31:31-34 fulfill themselves in the Christian life?
How might the New Covenant promises be divided into two categories representative of two aspects of salvation?
(1. Sanctification - salvation with respect to our attitude and behavior.
 2. Justification - salvation from the guilt of sin)
As a Christian have you experienced the fulfillment of these promises?
vs 12 From this verse what is one possible response to God on judgment day if He asks you why He should let you into His kingdom? (Ask Him if He can think of any reason why not? Like if He can remember any sin you committed)
vs 9:1-10 What does each room and item in the old sanctuary represent for the Christian?
What does it mean to have a clear conscience and how has Christ provided this under the New Covenant?


Notes

Much of the Old Testament, while containing a record of actual historical events, is often applied allegorically by the New Testament authors with this idea of "shadows" in mind. The example given in Hebrews 8-10 considers the Law, the old Mosaic covenant, the sanctuary and its ritualistic practices, to be shadows - symbolic illustrations - of what applies to Christians, which is the heavenly reality.

Another clear example of this is given in Galatians

Understanding this concept is helpful to Christians in deriving applications from the Old Testament.

COMMENTS

Only a Shadow

Heb 8:1-5 The point of what we are saying is this: We do have such a high priest, who sat down at the right hand of the throne of the Majesty in heaven, and who serves in the sanctuary, the true tabernacle set up by the Lord, not by man. Every high priest is appointed to offer both gifts and sacrifices, and so it was necessary for this one also to have something to offer. If he were on earth, he would not be a priest, for there are already men who offer the gifts prescribed by the law. They serve at a sanctuary that is a copy and shadow of what is in heaven. This is why Moses was warned when he was about to build the tabernacle: "See to it that you make everything according to the pattern shown you on the mountain." (Ex 25:40)

"The law is only a shadow of the good things that are coming— not the realities themselves. For this reason it can never, by the same sacrifices repeated endlessly year after year, make perfect those who draw near to worship" Heb 10:1

A shadow is not only a mere representation, it is also only two dimensional. The Old Testament, while speaking of actual history, it's largely to be interpreted as a shadow. But it's easy to misinterpret shadows. I can make a shadow of a bird with my hands, but the reality is not a bird but two hands. "Therefore do not let anyone judge you by what you eat or drink, or with regard to a religious festival, a New Moon celebration or a Sabbath day. These are a shadow of the things that were to come; the reality, however, is found in Christ." Col 2:16,17 (Something 7th Day Adventists need to take to heart) Interpret the Old Testament in light of the New.


A New Covenant

Heb 8:6-9  But the ministry Jesus has received is as superior to theirs as the covenant of which he is mediator is superior to the old one, and it is founded on better promises.  For if there had been nothing wrong with that first covenant, no place would have been sought for another. But God found fault with the people and said: "The time is coming, declares the Lord, when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and with the house of Judah. It will not be like the covenant I made with their forefathers when I took them by the hand to lead them out of Egypt, because they did not remain faithful to my covenant, and I turned away from them, declares the Lord." (Jer 31:31,32)

The Old Covenant was defective, indeed ineffective as noted in Heb 7:18-19, and so was replace by a new covenant. Such was prophesied in Jeremiah. Likewise the ministry Jesus received was superior to that of the Levitical priests who officiated under the Law.

At the last supper after the supper he took the cup, saying, "This cup is the new covenant in my blood, which is poured out for you." Luke 22:20 Jesus himself sealed the new covenant with his blood, which was the offering made to God to pay for the sins of the world. "God presented him as a sacrifice of atonement, through faith in his blood." Rom 3:25a

Heb 8:10-13  This is the covenant I will make with the house of Israel after that time, declares the Lord. I will put my laws in their minds and write them on their hearts. I will be their God, and they will be my people. No longer will a man teach his neighbor, or a man his brother, saying, ‘Know the Lord,’ because they will all know me, from the least of them to the greatest. For I will forgive their wickedness and will remember their sins no more. By calling this covenant "new," he has made the first one obsolete; and what is obsolete and aging will soon disappear.

There are two aspects to this New Covenant. These may be categorized as Sanctification and Justification. First he mentions Sanctification. Under the Old Covenant the letter of the Law kills. And Paul writes, "He has made us competent as ministers of a new covenant— not of the letter but of the Spirit; for the letter kills, but the Spirit gives life." 2Cor 3:6 Under the New Covenant behavior is affected by the regeneration brought about by the Holy Spirit. Right behavior comes naturally to the Christian. Thus John writes, "No one who is born of God will continue to sin, because God’s seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been born of God. This is how we know who the children of God are and who the children of the devil are: Anyone who does not do what is right is not a child of God; nor is anyone who does not love his brother." 1John 3:9,10 And "those who live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires." Rom 8:5b Under the New each individual believer is given a personal relationship with God through Jesus Christ in cooperation with the Spirit of God. "For who has known the mind of the Lord that he may instruct him?" But we have the mind of Christ. 1Cor 2:16 

 Justification, which incorporates the forgiveness of sins, makes that personal relationship possible. For "your iniquities have separated you from your God; your sins have hidden his face from you" Is 59:2 But "In Christ we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the riches of God’s grace" Eph 1:7 Under the New Covenant our sins are not only forgiven but also he will remember their sins no more. If God were to ask you why he should let you into his kingdom, of the many possible answers a Christian can give, he can simply say "Why not?" For sins which God doesn't remember cannot be taken into account on the judgement day. (Now if God forgets our sins and that of our fellow Christians, maybe you should as well!)


The Tabernacle

Heb 9:1-5  Now the first covenant had regulations for worship and also an earthly sanctuary. A tabernacle was set up. In its first room were the lampstand, the table and the consecrated bread; this was called the Holy Place. Behind the second curtain was a room called the Most Holy Place,  which had the golden altar of incense and the gold-covered ark of the covenant. This ark contained the gold jar of manna, Aaron’s staff that had budded, and the stone tablets of the covenant. Above the ark were the cherubim of the Glory, overshadowing the atonement cover. But we cannot discuss these things in detail now.

See http://www.bcbsr.com/survey/tabncl.html for a detailed study of the old/new tabernacle


Yom Kippur

Heb 9:6,7 When everything had been arranged like this, the priests entered regularly into the outer room to carry on their ministry.  But only the high priest entered the inner room, and that only once a year, and never without blood, which he offered for himself and for the sins the people had committed in ignorance.

To this day Jews celebrate the day of atonement, which they call "Yom Kippur", but in fact do not observe it as required under the Law of Moses as the Jews today have no Levitical priesthood and no tabernacle or temple in which to observe this.

But such was merely a shadow made obsolete by the true and effective sacrifice of the Lord Jesus who atoned for sin. "He is the atoning sacrifice for our sins" 1John 2:2a Furthermore note that under the Law the day of atonement only dealt with sins committed in ignorance. But the New Covenant deals with all sins through the sacrifice of Christ. "By Him everyone who believes is justified from all things from which you could not be justified by the law of Moses." Acts 13:39

Now on the day of atonement there were two goats. One is sacrificed, which represents Christ's death atoning for sins. The other is the "scapegoat"  "Aaron is to lay both hands on the head of the live goat and confess over it all the wickedness and rebellion of the Israelites— all their sins— and put them on the goat’s head. He shall send the goat away into the desert in the care of a man appointed for the task. The goat will carry on itself all their sins to a solitary place; and the man shall release it in the desert." Lev 16:21,22 That goat the Bible calls the "scapegoat" and is where we get the word "scapegoat" today. He represents Christ taking our sins upon himself and taking them away. "We all, like sheep, have gone astray, each of us has turned to his own way; and the LORD has laid on him the iniquity of us all ... By oppression and judgment he was taken away. And who can speak of his descendants? For he was cut off from the land of the living; for the transgression of my people he was stricken." Is 53:6,8


Ineffective External Regulations

Heb 9:8-10 The Holy Spirit was showing by this that the way into the Most Holy Place had not yet been disclosed as long as the first tabernacle was still standing. This is an illustration for the present time, indicating that the gifts and sacrifices being offered were not able to clear the conscience of the worshiper. They are only a matter of food and drink and various ceremonial washings— external regulations applying until the time of the new order.

Col 2:16,17 Therefore do not let anyone judge you by what you eat or drink, or with regard to a religious festival, a New Moon celebration or a Sabbath day. These are a shadow of the things that were to come; the reality, however, is found in Christ.

Heb 13:9 "Do not be carried away by all kinds of strange teachings. It is good for our hearts to be strengthened by grace, not by ceremonial foods, which are of no value to those who eat them."

Many Christians and others get caught up in ceremonialism and consequently sacramental theology. But the Law is largely symbolic. Don't confuse symbolism with substance. And the substance of Old Testament symbols are not New Testament  ceremonies, but rather that which occurs in the spiritual realm. For that which is of the flesh, that which is done to the flesh, is flesh, but Spirit gives birth to spirit. External regulations neither justify nor sanctify. The new order is one of regeneration and justification is imputed.

"Since we have a great priest over the house of God,  let us draw near to God with a sincere heart in full assurance of faith, having our hearts sprinkled to cleanse us from a guilty conscience and having our bodies washed with pure water." Heb 10:21,22


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015