翻譯: English GB

希西家絕望的禱告

以賽亞書 38:9-20

猶大王希西家患病已經痊愈,就作詩說:
“我說:正在我中年(或作“晌午”)之日,必進入陰間的門,我餘剩的年歲不得享受。我說:我必不得見耶和華,就是在活人之地不見耶和華﹔我與世上的居民不再見面。我的住處被遷去離開我,好像牧人的帳棚一樣﹔我將性命卷起,像織布的卷布一樣。耶和華必將我從機頭剪斷,從早到晚,他要使我完結。

我使自己安靜,直到天亮﹔他像獅子折斷我一切的骨頭,從早到晚,他要使我完結。
我像燕子呢喃,像白鶴鳴叫,又像鴿子哀鳴。我因仰觀,眼睛困倦。耶和華啊,我受欺壓﹔求你為我作保。

我可說什麼呢?他應許我的,也給我成就了。

我因心堛滬W楚,在一生的年日必悄悄而行。
主啊,人得存活,乃在乎此。我靈存活,也全在此。
所以求你使我痊愈,仍然存活。

看哪,我受大苦本為使我得平安
你因愛我的靈魂(或作“生命”),便救我脫離敗壞的坑,
因為你將我一切的罪扔在你的背後。

原來陰間不能稱謝你,死亡不能頌揚你,下坑的人不能盼望你的誠實。只有活人,活人必稱謝你,像我今日稱謝你一樣。為父的必使兒女知道你的誠實。
耶和華肯救我,所以我們要一生一世在耶和華殿中,用絲弦的樂器唱我的詩歌。”

絕望的禱告

希西家就在死亡的門坎上。注意到他的行動:他表達了他的絕望﹔他日夜忍耐,等候神的幫助﹔他哀哭,求神的幫助。神回答他,并把他救出。

回顧這些,他可以見証說:“看哪,我受大苦本為使我得平安。”

“凡管教的事,當時不覺得快樂,反覺得愁苦,後來卻為那經練過的人結出平安的果子,就是義。”【希伯來書 12:11】

受苦有助于使人保持謙卑,如希西家說:“我因心堛滬W楚,在一生的年日必悄悄而行。”受苦還使我們看到我們罪性的狀態、神的聖潔和將要到來的審判。神不時地把我們從苦難堭洏X來,提醒我們神的恩慈和通過信對我們的罪的饒恕。希西家在信堻葝痋A他說:“你將我一切的罪扔在你的背後。”

在經過苦難時,神要我們即不輕看受苦,也不要完全灰心。“我兒,你不可輕看主的管教,被他責備的時候,也不可灰心。因為主所愛的,他必管教,又鞭打凡所收納的兒子。你們所忍受的是神管教你們,待你們如同待兒子。焉有兒子不被父親管教的呢?”【希伯來書 12:5b-7】

復活

雖然希西家禱告的這些方面和他的信是值得稱贊的,但在我看來他似乎過于關心今生的事,在乎暫時的事而不是永恆的事。

比方說,他表示盼望從死奡_活時在哪堜O?在苦難中,約伯說:“我知道我的救贖主活著,末了必站立在地上。我這皮肉滅絕之後,我必在肉體之外得見神。我自己要見他,親眼要看他,并不像外人。我的心腸在我堶戛禶壑F。”【約伯記 19:25-27】這對比于希西家,他說:“我必不得見耶和華,就是在活人之地不見耶和華﹔我與世上的居民不再見面。”希西家在這一點上搞錯了,這加重了他的絕望。又注意到保羅對他自己的死的看法與此形成鮮明的對比:“照著我所切慕所盼望的,沒有一事叫我羞愧,只要凡事放膽。無論是生,是死,總叫基督在我身上照常顯大。因我活著就是基督,我死了就有益處。但我在肉身活著,若成就我工夫的果子,我就不知道該挑選什麼。我正在兩難之間,情愿離世與基督同在。因為這是好得無比的。然而我在肉身活著,為你們更是要緊的。”【腓立比書 1:20-24】希西家沒有表達出基督徒的這種盼望。我們基督徒在絕望的時候的盼望是多麼的大!

在希西家之後很多年,但以理也得到一個異像肯定復活,這個異像說:“你且去等候結局,因為你必安歇。到了末期,你必起來,享受你的福分。”【但以理書 12:13】新約塈騤埴茼a說到這個復活,在耶穌的時候很多猶太人也都明白這個復活。

在說到她的兄弟拉撒路時,馬大說:“我知道在末日復活的時候,他必復活。”【約翰福音 11:24b】

雖然撒都該人不信復活,但復活為法利賽人所接受。關于復活,耶穌也說得很多,比如:“當復活的時候,人也不娶也不嫁,乃像天上的使者一樣。”【馬太福音 22:30】

使徒也教了復活,比如哥林多前書第十五章說到我們在復活時將有什麼樣的身體。關于死,保羅寫到:“論到睡了的人,我們不愿意弟兄們不知道,恐怕你們憂傷,像那些沒有指望的人一樣。我們若信耶穌死而復活了,那已經在耶穌媞峇F的人,神也必將他與耶穌一同帶來。”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 4:13-14】

啟示錄還告訴我們說復活將分兩次到來。“他們都復活了,與基督一同作王一千年。這是頭一次的復活。其餘的死人還沒有復活,直等那一千年完了。在頭一次復活有分的有福了,聖潔了。”【啟示錄 20:4b-6a】

因此,讓我們不要把今生的事抱得太緊。“因為這世界的樣子將要過去了。”【哥林多前書 7:31b】“這世界和其上的情欲都要過去,惟獨遵行神旨意的是永遠常存。”【約翰一書 2:17】


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Hezekiah's Prayer of Despair

Isaiah 38:9-20
A writing of Hezekiah king of Judah after his illness and recovery:
I said, "In the prime of my life must I go through the gates of death and be robbed of the rest of my years? I will not again see the LORD, the LORD, in the land of the living; no longer will I look on mankind, or be with those who now dwell in this world.

I waited patiently till dawn, but like a lion he broke all my bones; day and night you made an end of me.

I cried like a swift or thrush, I moaned like a mourning dove. My eyes grew weak as I looked to the heavens. I am troubled; O Lord, come to my aid!

But what can I say? He has spoken to me, and he himself has done this.

I will walk humbly all my years because of this anguish of my soul.

Lord, by such things men live; and my spirit finds life in them too.
You restored me to health and let me live.

Surely it was for my benefit that I suffered such anguish.
In your love you kept me from the pit of destruction;
you have put all my sins behind your back.

For the grave cannot praise you, death cannot sing your praise; those who go down to the pit cannot hope for your faithfulness. The living, the living— they praise you, as I am doing today; fathers tell their children about your faithfulness.
The LORD will save me, and we will sing with stringed instruments all the days of our lives in the temple of the LORD.

A Prayer of Despair

Hezekiah had been in despair at death's doorway. Notice his actions: He expressed his despair; He endured long through it day and night waiting for God's help; He cried and mourned asking for God's help. Then God answered and delivered him.

Looking back he could testify saying, "Surely it was for my benefit that I suffered such anguish."

"No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it." Heb 12:11
Suffering helps to maintain one's humility, reminding us of our frail humanity, as Hezekiah said, "I will walk humbly all my years because of this anguish of my soul." It also brings to mind our sinful state and God's holiness and the judgement to come. God's deliverance from times of suffering reminds us of God's grace and the forgiveness of sins we have through faith. Hezekiah rejoices in faith, "you have put all my sins behind your back."

When going through suffering God wants us neither to take it lightly nor to lose hope altogether. "My son, do not make light of the Lord’s discipline, and do not lose heart when he rebukes you, because the Lord disciplines those he loves, and he punishes everyone he accepts as a son. Endure hardship as discipline; God is treating you as sons. For what son is not disciplined by his father?" Heb 12:5-7

The Resurrection

While these aspects of Hezekiah's prayers and his underlying faith are commendable, nonetheless it seems to me that he was overly concerned for the things of this life grasping too much the temporal rather than the eternal.

Where for example does he express hope in the resurrection from the dead? In the midst of Job's suffering didn't he proclaim,"I know that my Redeemer lives, and that in the end he will stand upon the earth. And after my skin has been destroyed, yet in my flesh I will see God;  I myself will see him with my own eyes— I, and not another. How my heart yearns within me!" Job 19:25-27 This in contrast to Hezekiah who said, "I will not again see the LORD, the LORD, in the land of the living; no longer will I look on mankind, or be with those who now dwell in this world." Hezekiah was mistaken on this point, which added to his despair.  In contrast notice also Paul's view concerning his own death, "I eagerly expect and hope that I will in no way be ashamed, but will have sufficient courage so that now as always Christ will be exalted in my body, whether by life or by death.  For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain. If I am to go on living in the body, this will mean fruitful labor for me. Yet what shall I choose? I do not know!  I am torn between the two: I desire to depart and be with Christ, which is better by far;  but it is more necessary for you that I remain in the body."Php 1:20-24 Hezekiah doesn't express this Christian hope. How great a hope we Christians have in time of despair!

Many years after Hezekiah Daniel also received a vision affirming the resurrection, as it says, "As for you, go your way till the end. You will rest, and then at the end of the days you will rise to receive your allotted inheritance." Daniel 12:13 This resurrection is extensively spoken of in the New Testament and understood by many Jews at Jesus' time.

Speaking of his brother Lazarus Martha said,  "I know he will rise again in the resurrection at the last day." John 11:24

Granted it was not accepted by the Sadducees (for that was why they were so sad, you see?) Yet it was well accepted among the Pharisees. And Jesus spoke extensively on the resurrection such as Matthew 22:30 At the resurrection people will neither marry nor be given in marriage; they will be like the angels in heaven.

So also the apostles taught on the resurrection, such as what kind of bodies we will have in 1Corinthians 15. And concerning death Paul writes, "Brothers, we do not want you to be ignorant about those who fall asleep, or to grieve like the rest of men, who have no hope. We believe that Jesus died and rose again and so we believe that God will bring with Jesus those who have fallen asleep in him."1Thess 4:13,14

Revelation also reveals that the resurrection comes in two parts. "They came to life and reigned with Christ a thousand years. (The rest of the dead did not come to life until the thousand years were ended.) This is the first resurrection. Blessed and holy are those who have part in the first resurrection." Rev 20:4-6

Therefore let us not hold too tightly on to the things of this life, "For this world in its present form is passing away." 1Cor 7:31 "The world and its desires pass away, but the man who does the will of God lives forever." 1 John 2:17


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources