翻譯: English GB

尋找和離棄

以賽亞書 55:6-7

當趁耶和華可尋找的時候尋找他,相近的時候求告他。
惡人當離棄自己的道路,不義的人當除掉自己的意念。
歸向耶和華,耶和華就必憐恤他,
當歸向我們的神,因為神必廣行赦免。

部分地因為加爾文主義宿命論的影響,很多基督徒對他們與神的關系采取一種很被動的態度,他們關于人如何才能得到一個與神的正確關系的觀念也同樣。這與彼得對猶太人的勸勉相反:“你們當救自己脫離這彎曲的世代。”【使徒行傳 2:40b】或保羅對雅典的外邦人的講道:“他從一本造出萬族的人(“本”有古卷作“血脈”),住在全地上,并且預先定准他們的年限和所住的疆界。要叫他們尋求神,或者可以揣摩而得,其實他離我們各人不遠。”【使徒行傳 17:26-27】主對一個人是否有恩慈不是一件宿命的事。人們需要主動地尋找主。

當然人在不同的時候可能會因為不同的原因尋找神。他們也許會求經濟上的幫助,或健康,或很多其它的事。但與最重要的事──人的罪──相比,這些都是次要的。為了人的罪得赦免尋求神才是最重要的。但注意這堹姘鴽畯攽晹酗偵糬n求:不但尋求饒恕,還要離棄罪──在思想上和在行為上。因為如果一個人來到神面前只是為了得到饒恕,但沒有改變自己的道路的意愿──這是假冒為善,不值得讓神聽。“我若心堛`重罪孽,主必不聽。”【詩篇 66:18】但還要看到這堹姘翵漕ЁQ看作是“惡人”和”不義的人”的恩慈。作為罪人來到神是可以被接受的,但要有離棄罪的意愿。我們不一定要是行善的“好”人才能來到神。事實上,“惟有不做工的,只信稱罪人為義的神,他的信就算為義。”【羅馬書 4:5】但不要自欺。在這種信中所固有的是離棄罪。

注意到經上還說:“當趁耶和華可尋找的時候”“相近的時候”。因為基督只有偶爾才來叩門。“看哪,我站在門外叩門。若有聽見我聲音就開門的,我要進到他那堨h,我與他,他與我一同坐席。”【啟示錄 3:20】


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Seek and Forsake

Isaiah 55:6-7
Seek the LORD while he may be found; call on him while he is near.
Let the wicked forsake his way and the evil man his thoughts.
Let him turn to the LORD, and he will have mercy on him,
and to our God, for he will freely pardon.


Comment

It would seem today that many Christians have a fatalistic attitude towards a relationship with God. Whatever will be, will be. I think Calvinism has contributed to such an attitude. And consequently many Christians have taken a rather passive attitude in their relationship with God, and so also concerning their ideas as to how a person attains a right relationship with God. This in contrast to Peter's exhortation to the Jews "Save yourselves from this corrupt generation." Acts 2:40 or to Paul's sermon to the Gentiles in Athens, "He determined the times set for them and the exact places where they should live. God did this so that men would seek him and perhaps reach out for him and find him, though he is not far from each one of us." Acts 17:26,27 Whether the Lord has mercy on a person is not a matter of fatalism. People need to take initiative to seek the Lord.

Sure people might seek Him for various reasons at times. They may ask for financial assistance or good health or many other things. But these are secondary to the most important thing which is to deal with one's sinfulness. Seeking God for the forgiveness of one's sins is most important. But notice here what else God requires of us: Not only seeking forgiveness, but also forsaking sin - both in terms of thought and deed. For if a person comes to God just for forgiveness, with no intention of changing their ways - such is hypocrisy and unworthy of God's ear. "If I had cherished sin in my heart, the Lord would not have listened" Ps 66:18 But realize also that God is being gracious here to those he characterizes as "wicked" and "evil men". It is acceptable to come to God as sinners, but with the intention of forsaking sin. We don't have to be "good" people doing good works to come to God.  In fact "the man who does not work but trusts God who justifies the wicked, his faith is credited as righteousness." Romans 4:5 But don't be deceived. Inherent in such faith is a forsaking of sin.

Notice also it says, "while he may be found" and "while he is near". For only on occasion will Christ be knocking. "Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me." Rev 3:20


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources