翻譯: English GB

給假冒為善的“信”教者定罪

以賽亞書 58:1-2

你要大聲喊叫,不可止息。揚起聲來好像吹角,向我百姓說明他們的過犯,向雅各家說明他們的罪惡。他們天天尋求我,樂意明白我的道,好像行義的國民,不離棄他們神的典章,向我求問公義的判語,喜悅親近神。

福音包含兩個基本的信息。一個是神的恩慈和罪得赦免,如我們在前面讀到的:

“要對耶路撒冷說安慰的話,又向他宣告說:他爭戰的日子已滿了,他的罪孽赦免了,他為自己的一切罪,從耶和華手中加倍受罰。”【以賽亞書 40:2】

另一個就是定罪和對將至審判的懼怕。

雖然耶穌帶來恩典的信息,但讓我們不要忘記他的教導的很大一部分是要使人認識到罪。在他與宗教精英接觸的時候特別如此。這使人想起在馬太福音第二十三章堨L常說:“你們這假冒為善的文士和法利賽人有禍了!”很像以賽亞在這一章堜珓出的“宗教”服務的假冒為善。

甘愿冒著被扣上“反猶太”或“偏執宗教”帽子的危險,讓我順從神在這堜珛鼓漫R令,揚聲呼出今日宗教精英的某些罪。因為很多人熱心宗教,作出渴望尋求神和知道神的道的樣子,但事實上卻拒絕神。

猶太人
耶穌對當時的宗教精英說:“所以我對你們說,你們要死在罪中,你們若不信我是基督,必要死在罪中。”【約翰福音 8:24】他還對他們說:“你們是出于你們的父魔鬼,你們父的私欲,你們偏要行。他從起初是殺人的,不守真理,因他心堥S有真理。他說謊是出于自己,因他本來是說謊的,也是說謊之人的父。”【約翰福音 8:44】猶太人對基督的敵意今天并沒有多少改變,考慮比方說他們對《基督受難記》這部影片的反應。他們對基督的拒絕其實是對神的拒絕。雖然他們把自己看作是在神的眼堙妖S別的”或“聖潔的”,僅因為他們是猶太人,但耶穌說:“出于神的,必聽神的話﹔你們不聽,因為你們不是出于神。”【約翰福音 8:47】“你們若是亞伯拉罕的兒子,就必行亞伯拉罕所行的事。”【約翰福音 8:39b】雖然猶太人今天一般來說不是暴力的人,然而你一但像耶穌那樣對他們講話,那麼你就會經歷耶穌從他們那堜珚g歷的。

穆斯林
但我們可以感謝穆斯林給我們提供今天最為明顯和最卑鄙,假冒為善的宗教狂的例子。因為他們以他們的“神”為名,出于宗教的狂熱,屢施暴行。甚至其中很多“溫和”的也與穆斯林恐怖分子聯起手來,肯定他們的非法作為,為他們辯護。對別人的善意和康慨大方,他們報之以謀殺。他們禁止福音在他們中間的傳播。他們以仇恨、謀殺和殘害來回應福音。但最令人驚呀的是這些凶殘成性的人,這些撒謊的人,這些嗜血的屠夫卻自認是宗教精英──在他們的“神”的眼堙A他們是多麼的優越和特別,高于所有其他人。他們禁食,每天禱告五次,并盡他們宗教的義務,似乎是在行義,但他們是魔鬼的後代,毒蛇的子孫,如果不轉向基督的話,注定要被永恆地定罪。鑒于主對假冒為善的宗教精英的憎惡,我想今天他會把穆斯林算在最受他蔑視的人中。

基督徒
在歷史上,基督徒曾具有今天的穆斯林這樣的假冒為善的特徵。中世紀的黑暗時代的確名符其實。天主教施其暴行,但現在要好多了。基督教新教也同樣從他們自己過去的暴行改善了很多。他們曾經因為別人在某些問題上,比如嬰兒受洗,不同意他們的觀點而把人處死。出于宗教的狂熱,以潔淨教會的“異端”為名,基督徒參與了說謊,誹謗和謀殺。但雖然基督徒中今天仍存在問題,如我在評論現代福音派中所指出的一些,我不把今天的基督徒歸于這堜畛羲漕g熱的假冒為善那一類。事實上,我要說今天基督教的問題與之相反,一般來說太不熱心了。雖然基督徒中對主要不是付之于應用的教條有熱心,比如對創世紀和啟世錄的解釋,但至于實際上過基督徒的生活,卻沒有多少熱心。自由恩典神學的異端及其認為把基督作為主是可有可無的觀點產生了一批名義上的“基督徒”,他們仍然是罪的奴仆,雖然他們“作了禱告”或“決了志”,但對基督徒的生活卻很漠然。他們繼續以罪的生活方式生活,為他們自己和他們自己的享樂而活。但經上說:“并且他替眾人死,是叫那些活著的人不再為自己活,乃為替他們死而復活的主活。”【哥林多後書 5:15】他們也許屬于耶穌說的那些人:“凡稱呼我:‘主啊,主啊’的人,不能都進天國。惟獨遵行我天父旨意的人,才能進去。”【馬太福音 7:21】到頭來,他們可能會發現他們與不信的猶太人和穆斯林落在一起。


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Convicting Religious Hypocrites

Isaiah 58:1-2
Shout it aloud, do not hold back. Raise your voice like a trumpet. Declare to my people their rebellion and to the house of Jacob their sins.  For day after day they seek me out; they seem eager to know my ways, as if they were a nation that does what is right and has not forsaken the commands of its God. They ask me for just decisions and seem eager for God to come near them.

Comment

The gospel contains two essential messages. One is a message of the grace of God and the forgiveness of sins, as we read earlier:
"Speak tenderly to Jerusalem, and proclaim to her that her hard service has been completed, that her sin has been paid for, that she has received from the LORDís hand double for all her sins." Isa 40:2
The other we see here is a message bringing conviction of sin and fear of the impending judgment.

While Jesus brought a message of grace let's not forget that much of what he said was for the purpose of bringing conviction of sin. This was particularly the case in his interaction with the religious elite. One is reminded of Matthew chapter 23 in his "Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites!" and going on much as this chapter in Isaiah does to point out the hypocrisy of the "religious" service.

Now at the risk of being labeled an "antisemite" or "religious bigot" let me shout aloud some of the sins of the religious elite of today in obedience to the command God has given here. For there are many who are religiously zealous, who give the appearace of being eager to seek God and know his ways, but who in fact reject God.

Jews:
To the religious elite of his day Jesus said, "I told you that you would die in your sins; if you do not believe that I am the one I claim to be, you will indeed die in your sins." John 8:24 and so also he says to them, "You belong to your father, the devil, and you want to carry out your fatherís desire. He was a murderer from the beginning, not holding to the truth, for there is no truth in him. When he lies, he speaks his native language, for he is a liar and the father of lies." John 8:44 The hostility of the Jews today towards Christ hasn't changed much considering for example their unjustified reaction to the "Passion of the Christ" film. Their rejection of Christ is a rejection of God. While they reckon themselves "special" or "holy" in God's sight just because they're Jewish, Jesus says, "He who belongs to God hears what God says. The reason you do not hear is that you do not belong to God." John 8:47 and "If you were Abrahamís children, then you would do the things Abraham did." John 8:39 While Jews today aren't generally violent people yet touch upon their Jewishness or try to speak to them as Jesus had and you will experience what Jesus experienced from them.

Muslims:
But we can thank the Muslims for providing the most obvious and contemptible examples of religious hypocrisy today. For in the name of their god and with religious zeal they have committed all kinds of acts of atrocity. Even many of those "moderate" types join hands with the Islamic terrorists by affirming and defending their unjustified acts of terrorism. When kindness and generosity is done to them they react with murder. And they forbid the gospel to be spread among them. They respond to it with hatred, murder and mayhem. But what is most astounding about these savages, these liars, these bloodthirsty murders is how religiously elite they seem to think of themselves - how superior and special in their god's sight over everyone else. Oh they fast and pray five times a day and go about their religious duties as if righteous, but they are children of the devil, offspring of serpents, and destined for eternal damnation if they don't turn to Christ. Considering the Lord's particular contempt for religious hypocrites I think today He would reckon the Muslims among the most contemptible.

Christians:
There were times in the past when the Christian community was characterized with religious hypocrisy as the Muslims are today. The dark ages were rightly named. Catholicism has had it's atrocities, but from which they've come a long way presently. So also the Protestants have come a long way from their own atrocities in the past where they would put people to death for not agreeing with them in the matter infant baptism, for example. For with religious zeal in the name of cleansing the church from "heresies" Christians had been involved in lying, slander and murder. But while there are issues in the Christian community today as I've pointed out in A Critique of Modern Evangelicalism, I would not characterize Christians today as zealously hypocritical as it speaks of here. In fact Christianity today I would say has the opposite problem of being generally non-zealous. Yes there are areas in which the Christian community comes off as zealous - primarily concerning non-application oriented dogma concerning interpretations of Genesis and Revelation, but in terms of actually living the Christian life there's really not much zeal at all. The heresy of Free Grace Theology with its treatment of the Lordship of Christ as merely optional has produce a field of nominal "Christians", still slaves to sin, who have "prayed the prayer" or "made the decision", but who live the Christian life apathetically. They continue on in living a lifestyle of sin and they live for themselves and for their own pleasures. But it is written that, "he died for all, that those who live should no longer live for themselves but for him who died for them and was raised again."2Cor 5:15 They may be among those whom Jesus says, "Not everyone who says to me, ĎLord, Lord,í will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only he who does the will of my Father who is in heaven." Mt 7:21 And they may find themselves ending up with the Jewish and Muslim unbelievers.


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources