翻譯: English GB

子民轉作仇敵

以賽亞書 63:8-10

他說:“他們誠然是我的百姓,不行虛假的子民”﹔這樣,他就作了他們的救主。他們在一切苦難中,他也同受苦難,并且他面前的使者拯救他們。他以慈愛和憐憫救贖他們﹔在古時的日子,常保抱他們,懷搋他們。他們竟悖逆,使主的聖靈擔憂。他就轉作他們的仇敵,親自攻擊他們。

在基督徒的生活中仍會犯一些罪,如經上說:“不要叫神的聖靈擔憂,你們原是受了他的印記,等候得贖的日子來到。”【以弗所書 4:30】很多對基督徒關于人的潔淨的命令也是如此,它暗示這樣一個基督徒雖然已經得救,但仍處在勝過這種罪的過程中。

從另一方面講,還有些對基督徒關于更極端的故意犯罪的警告──故意把罪當作他們生活方式的一部分。

“你們豈不知不義的人不能承受神的國嗎?不要自欺!無論是淫亂的、拜偶像的、奸淫的、作孌童的、親男色的、偷竊的、貪婪的、醉酒的、辱罵的、勒索的,都不能承受神的國。”【哥林多前書 6:9-10】

以色列在曠野的悖逆與基督徒的生活有什麼關系呢?這堿O新約堨峊H色列的悖逆來警告基督徒的兩段:

“弟兄們,我不愿意你們不曉得,我們的祖宗從前都在云下,都從海中經過。都在云堙B海堥洗歸了摩西。并且都吃了一樣的靈食,也都喝了一樣的靈水﹔所喝的是出于隨著他們的靈磐石,那磐石就是基督。但他們中間多半是神不喜歡的人,所以在曠野倒斃

這些事都是我們的鑒戒,叫我們不要貪戀惡事,像他們那樣貪戀的。也不要拜偶像,像他們有人拜的。如經上所記:‘百姓坐下吃喝,起來玩耍。’我們也不要行奸淫,像他們有人行的,一天就倒斃了二萬三千人。也不要試探主(“主”有古卷作“基督”),像他們有人試探的,就被蛇所滅。你們也不要發怨言,像他們有發怨言的,就被滅命的所滅。他們遭遇這些事都要作為鑒戒,并且寫在經上,正是警戒我們這末世的人。所以,自己以為站得穩的,須要謹慎,免得跌倒。”
【哥林多前書 10:1-12】

“聖靈有話說:‘你們今日若聽他的話,就不可硬著心,像在曠野惹他發怒,試探他的時候一樣。在那堙A你們的祖宗試我探我,并且觀看我的作為有四十年之久。所以我厭煩那世代的人,說:他們心堭`常迷糊,竟不曉得我的作為。我就在怒中起誓說:他們斷不可進入我的安息。’弟兄們,你們要謹慎,免得你們中間或有人存著不信的惡心,把永生神離棄了。”【希伯來書 3:7-12】

這些經文的目的是什麼呢?這些經文是要讓基督徒懼怕。怕如果他們生出罪性的,不信的心,他們將遭受神的忿怒。因為這樣的人不能進入應許之地,就如悖逆的以色列人不能進入應許之地一樣。他們為什麼不能進入呢?“這樣看來,他們不能進入安息是因為不信的緣故了。”【希伯來書 3:19】那些真正信的人將從他們的行為上表現出來。其他人說他們信,但結果卻從信娷鬙h。開始時他們只有根,但從他們所結的果子,你就可以認出他們來。


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Sons to Enemies

Isaiah 63:8-10
He said, "Surely they are my people, sons who will not be false to me"; and so he became their Savior. In all their distress he too was distressed, and the angel of his presence saved them. In his love and mercy he redeemed them; he lifted them up and carried them all the days of old. Yet they rebelled and grieved his Holy Spirit. So he turned and became their enemy and he himself fought against them.


Comment

There is some allowance for sin in the Christian life, as it says, "Do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, with whom you were sealed for the day of redemption." Eph 4:30 and so also with many other commands to Christians concerning one's sanctification, it is implied that such Christians who are in the process of overcoming such sins are nonetheless saved.

On the other hand there are also warnings to Christians concerning more extreme willful sin - sins which one willfully accepts as part of their lifestyle.

"Do you not know that the wicked will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: Neither the sexually immoral nor idolaters nor adulterers nor male prostitutes nor homosexual offenders nor thieves nor the greedy nor drunkards nor slanderers nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God." 1Cor 6:9,10
What is the relevance of Israel's rebellion in the desert to the Christian life? Here are a couple of passages in the New Testament with apply Israel's rebellion as warnings to Christians:
1Cor 10:1-12
For I do not want you to be ignorant of the fact, brothers, that our forefathers were all under the cloud and that they all passed through the sea. They were all baptized into Moses in the cloud and in the sea. They all ate the same spiritual food  and drank the same spiritual drink; for they drank from the spiritual rock that accompanied them, and that rock was Christ. Nevertheless, God was not pleased with most of them; their bodies were scattered over the desert.

 Now these things occurred as examples to keep us from setting our hearts on evil things as they did. Do not be idolaters, as some of them were; as it is written: "The people sat down to eat and drink and got up to indulge in pagan revelry." We should not commit sexual immorality, as some of them did— and in one day twenty-three thousand of them died.  We should not test the Lord, as some of them did— and were killed by snakes.  And do not grumble, as some of them did— and were killed by the destroying angel. These things happened to them as examples and were written down as warnings for us, on whom the fulfillment of the ages has come.  So, if you think you are standing firm, be careful that you don’t fall!

Heb 3:7-12
So, as the Holy Spirit says: "Today, if you hear his voice, do not harden your hearts as you did in the rebellion, during the time of testing in the desert, where your fathers tested and tried me and for forty years saw what I did. That is why I was angry with that generation, and I said, ‘Their hearts are always going astray, and they have not known my ways.’ So I declared on oath in my anger, ‘They shall never enter my rest.’" See to it, brothers, that none of you has a sinful, unbelieving heart that turns away from the living God.
Now what are the purpose of these passages? These passages are intended to invoke fear in Christians. A fear that if they develop a sinful, unbelieving heart that they would suffer the wrath of God. For such people will not enter the promise land just as the Israel which rebelled did not enter the promise land. And why didn't they enter? "We see that they were not able to enter, because of their unbelief."Heb 3:19 Those who truly believe will show it by their behavior. Others only say they believe but may end up departing from the faith. When they are young they have only roots, but you shall know them by their fruits.


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources