翻譯: English GB

神所看顧的三個品德

以賽亞書 66:1-2

耶和華如此說:“天是我的座位,地是我的腳凳。你們要為我造何等的殿宇,哪堿O我安息的地方呢?”耶和華說:“這一切都是我手所造的,所以就都有了。但我所看顧的就是虛心,痛悔,因我話而戰兢的人(“虛心”原文作“貧窮”)。

有意思的是司提反在他即將被猶太人殺害之際,在【使徒行傳 7:49】奡ㄗ麮臚@節。對有些熱衷于他們本地機構的人來說,他們認為任何在他們的小圈子之外的都不屬于神。他們這樣做,就用他們自己本地機構的“神”取代了真正的神,甚至猶太人對耶路撒冷的殿也像希臘人對待他們自己的“神”廟一樣,而不是把神看作是在所有被造物之上。因此基督徒也必須不時地被提醒,神不只是禮拜天的“神”,也不只是一個宗教的“神”。神是每天每處,在一切之上的神。無論你在工作中,在家堙A在學校,在社會活動堜M在教會堙A他都與你在一起。無論你在哪堙A他都希望你承認他是神。

作為蒙神看顧的先決條件的三個主要品德是什麼呢

  1. 虛心
  2. 痛悔
  3. 因神的話而戰兢

虛心或謙卑其實是所有這些的先決條件。它是你能擁有的最重要的品德。因為所有其它的事都有賴于謙卑。如果一個人不虛心他就不會痛悔。因為他覺得他在自己的眼堿O一個好義人。還有,“惡人面帶驕傲,說:‘耶和華必不追究。’他一切所想的,都以為沒有神。”【詩篇 10:4】因此一個沒有謙卑的人就沒有對神的信,不把神的話當回事。

痛悔就是靈的破碎。一匹野馬只有在被“破碎”,也就是被“馴化”之後,騎起來才安全。當我們破碎時,我們就順服于神的意愿,使我們成為甘心情愿的仆人。七十士本在這堥洏峈漣た黎戭O“ησυχιον”,意思是安靜,平和,安寧。彼得用這個詞來描繪敬神的妻子內在的美:“只要以堶惘s著長久溫柔、安靜的心為妝飾,這在神面前是極寶貴的。”【彼得一書 3:4】痛悔的靈是馴服的、可教的、順服的。

因神的話而戰兢是一個虛心痛悔的人在聽到神的道時的自然效果。為什麼戰兢呢?因為神的道所做的第一件事就是使我們認識到自己的罪,神的義的標准,和將要到來的審判。“連心中的思念和主意都能辨明。”【希伯來書 4:12】詩篇的作者也寫到:“首領無故地逼迫我,但我的心畏懼你的言語。”【詩篇 119:161】畏懼埵陷撮z。事實上,“敬畏耶和華是智慧的開端”【詩篇 111:10】還有,那些遵重神的道的人也遵重給神傳遞信息的人。約翰寫到:“我們是屬神的,認識神的就聽從我們﹔不屬神的就不聽從我們。”【約翰一書 4:6a】考慮保羅是如何描寫哥林多的基督徒是怎樣接待提多的:“并且提多想起你們眾人的順服,是怎樣恐懼戰兢地接待他,”【哥林多後書 7:15a】


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Three Character Qualities God Esteems

Isaiah 66:1,2
This is what the LORD says: "Heaven is my throne, and the earth is my footstool. Where is the house you will build for me? Where will my resting place be? Has not my hand made all these things, and so they came into being?" declares the LORD. "This is the one I esteem: he who is humble and contrite in spirit, and trembles at my word.


Comment

Interesting to note that Stephen mentioned verse 1 in Acts 7:49  just before the Jews killed him. For there are those who are so zealous and passionate for their local institutions, that they reckon anything outside their little deal is not of God. By doing so they replace God with their own personal local institutional god, even the Jews treated the temple in Jerusalem like Greeks would their own temple gods, rather than God over all creation. So also Christians must at times be reminded that God is not just a Sunday god, nor just a religious god. God is God every day everywhere over everything. He's with you at work, at home, school, social activities and at church. And He expects you to acknowledge Him as God wherever you are.

What are the three primary character qualities prerequisite to you being esteemed in God's eyes?

1. Humility
2. Contriteness
3. Trembles at God's Word
Humility is really prerequisite to everything. It is the most important character quality you can have. Because everything else is dependent upon humility. If a person doesn't have humility then he won't have contriteness. For he figures he's a good righteous person in his own eyes. So also "In his pride the wicked does not seek him; in all his thoughts there is no room for God." Ps 10:4 And thus one without humility is without faith in God and has no regard for His Word.

Contriteness is brokenness of spirit. A wild horse must be "broken in", that is "tamed", for it to be ridden safely. When we are broken in we are submissive to God's will and make ourselves willing servants. The LXX uses the a Greek word here which means quiet, peaceable, tranquil. Peter uses that word in describing the inner beauty of a godly wife saying, "it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight." 1Peter 3:4 A contrite spirit is one which is tamed, teachable, submissive.

Trembling at God's Word is the natural effect of a humble contrite person hearing the word. And why trembling? Because the first thing God's Word does is convict us of sin, of God's standard of righteousness, and of the judgment to come.  It judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart. Heb 4:12 So also the Psalmist writes, "Rulers persecute me without cause, but my heart trembles at your word." Ps 119:161  There's wisdom in fear. In fact "the fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom." Ps 111:10  So also those who respect God's Word respect God's messengers. John writes, "We are from God, and whoever knows God listens to us; but whoever is not from God does not listen to us." 1John 4:6 And consider how Paul describes the Corinthian Christians receiving Titus, "he remembers that you were all obedient, receiving him with fear and trembling."2Cor 7:15


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources