翻譯: English GB

他將榮耀加利利

以賽亞書 9:1-2

但那受過痛苦的必不再見幽暗。從前神使西布倫地和拿弗他利地被藐視,末後卻使這沿海的路,約旦河外,外邦人的加利利地得著榮耀。在黑暗中行走的百姓看見了大光﹔住在死蔭之地的人有光照耀他們。

耶穌應驗了這個預言

“耶穌聽見約翰下了監,就退到加利利去。後又離開拿撒勒,往迦百農去,就住在那堙C那地方靠海,在西布倫和拿弗他利的邊界上。這是要應驗先知以賽亞的話,說:‘西布倫地、拿弗他利地,就是沿海的路,約但河外,外邦人的加利利地。那坐在黑暗堛漲囥m,看見了大光。坐在死蔭之地的人,有光發現照著他們。’從那時候耶穌就傳起道來,說:‘天國近了,你們應當悔改。’”【馬太福音 4:12-17】

關于這個大光,耶穌說:“我是世界的光。跟從我的,就不在黑暗堥哄A必要得著生命的光。”【約翰福音 8:12】

還有接下來在【以賽亞書 9:6】堭N說到彌賽亞的性質,我們將在後面說到。

西布倫和拿弗他利是以色列的十三個部落中的兩個。按照摩西律法,他們分得加利利地的領土。這塈畯怓搢麭o堻Q稱為“外邦人的加利利地”,其實在耶穌的時代這個地區混居著猶太人和希臘人。因為這個原故,加利利的猶太人受到耶路撒冷猶太人的歧視。

應用:

榮耀這個被藐視的地方是彌賽亞的一個主題。因為以賽亞書還寫到彌賽亞自己:“他被藐視,被人厭棄,多受痛苦,常經憂患。他被藐視,好像被人掩面不看的一樣。我們也不尊重他。”【以賽亞書 53:3】神也看顧謙卑的:“但我所看顧的,就是虛心痛悔,因我話而戰兢的人(“虛心”原文作“貧窮”)。”【以賽亞書 66:2】我們可以從耶穌的一生、教導和事奉看到這一點。

彌賽亞的第一次到來引進了一個離開宗教精英的哲理上的轉變,但在一開始這并沒有能夠得到保持。耶穌的很大一部分教導集中在謙卑與高傲上。比如法利賽人與稅吏的寓言卑微的座位的寓言,而且他不斷地羞辱宗教精英。也有一個一般性的關于權威離開精英主義的轉變。耶穌說:“外邦人有君王為主治理他們,那掌權管他們的稱為‘恩主’。但你們不可這樣。你們媕Y為大的,倒要像年幼的﹔為首領的,倒要像服事人的。”【路加福音 22:25-26】關于誰為大,他說:“你們中間誰為大,誰就要作你們的用人。”【馬太福音 23:11】

雖然開始不錯,基督教後來在幾個世紀堣S回到了精英主義。但無論如何,謙卑的概念幫助塑造了人類文明,現在的基督教的狀態比黑暗時代的宗教精英主義要健康得多。政府的形式也由精英的獨裁形式轉向更民主化的形式,這要求領袖具有更多的仆人般的態度,更少享受特權的態度。關于基督徒的弟兄關系,“在此并不分希利尼人、猶太人、受割禮的、未受割禮的、化外人、西古提人、為奴的、自主的,惟有基督是包括一切,又住在各人之內。”【歌羅西書 3:11】每個人都可以平等地接近神,不再有精英的牧師和俗人之間的區別。每個基督徒都親身地認識神:“他們不用各人教導自己的鄉鄰和自己的弟兄說:‘你該認識主,’因為他們從最小的到至大的都必認識我。”【希伯來書 8:11】


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

He will Honor Galilee

Isaiah 9:1-2

Nevertheless, there will be no more gloom for those who were in distress. In the past he humbled the land of Zebulun and the land of Naphtali, but in the future he will honor Galilee of the Gentiles, by the way of the sea, along the Jordan— The people walking in darkness have seen a great light; on those living in the land of the shadow of death a light has dawned.


Jesus fulfilled this prophecy

Matthew 4:12-17
When Jesus heard that John had been put in prison, he returned to Galilee. Leaving Nazareth, he went and lived in Capernaum, which was by the lake in the area of Zebulun and Naphtali—  to fulfill what was said through the prophet Isaiah: "Land of Zebulun and land of Naphtali, the way to the sea, along the Jordan, Galilee of the Gentiles— the people living in darkness have seen a great light; on those living in the land of the shadow of death a light has dawned." From that time on Jesus began to preach, "Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is near."

And concerning the great light, Jesus said, "I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life." John 8:12

So also Isaiah 9:6 goes on to speak of characteristics of the Messiah, which will be covered later.

 Zebulun and Naphtali were two of the 13 tribes of Israel. According to the Law of Moses they were given territory in the Galilee area. Here we see it is spoken of as "Galilee of the Gentiles", but actually the area by Jesus' time was a mixture of Jews and Greeks. For this reason Galilean Jews were despised by the Jews of Jerusalem.

Application:

The honoring of this despised territory is a Messianic theme. For Isaiah also writes of the Messiah himself, "He was despised and rejected by men, a man of sorrows, and familiar with suffering. Like one from whom men hide their faces he was despised, and we esteemed him not." Isaiah 53:3 And so also God esteems the humble "This is the one I esteem: he who is humble and contrite in spirit, and trembles at my word." Isaiah 66:2 And this we can see in Jesus life, teaching and ministry.

The first coming of the Messiah introduced a philosophical shift away from religious elitism but which failed to take hold initially. A great deal of Jesus' teachings focussed on humility versus pride. For example The Parable of the Pharisee and the Tax Collector , The Parable of the Lowest Seat, and his constant humiliating of the religious elite. There was also a shift away from elitism concerning authority in general. Luke 22:25,26  Jesus said to them, "The kings of the Gentiles lord it over them; and those who exercise authority over them call themselves Benefactors.  But you are not to be like that. Instead, the greatest among you should be like the youngest, and the one who rules like the one who serves." And about greatness, "The greatest among you will be your servant." Matt 23:11

Though intially starting off well, the Christian community fell back into elitism for centuries, but nonetheless these concepts of humility have helped to shape much of civilization and the present state of the Christian community is much healthier than in the dark ages of religious elitism.  So also we see a shift in forms of government away from elitist dictatorial forms towards more democratic forms, which requires more an attitude of servant leadership and less an attitude of entitlement. Concerning Christian fellowship, "Here there is no Greek or Jew, circumcised or uncircumcised, barbarian, Scythian, slave or free, but Christ is all, and is in all." Colossians 3:11 And everyone can equally approach God, there no longer being an elitist clery/laity division. And every Christian knows God personally, "No longer will a man teach his neighbor, or a man his brother, saying, ‘Know the Lord,’ because they will all know me, from the least of them to the greatest." Heb 8:11


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015