翻譯: English 中文 GB

約翰福音11:1-32

拉撒路的復活:之一

1  有一個患病的人,名叫拉撒路,住在伯大尼,
就是馬利亞和她姐姐馬大的村庄。
2  這馬利亞就是那用香膏抹主,
又用頭發擦他腳的。患病的拉撒路是她的兄弟。
3  她姊妹兩個就打發人去見耶穌說:
“主啊,你所愛的人病了。”
4  耶穌聽見就說:
“這病不至於死,乃是為神的榮耀,
叫神的兒子因此得榮耀。”
5  耶穌素來愛馬大和她妹子并拉撒路。
6  聽見拉撒路病了,
就在所居之地,仍住了兩天。

7  然後對門徒說:“我們再往猶太去吧。”
8  門徒說:“拉比,猶太人近來要拿石頭打你,
你還往那里去嗎?”
9  耶穌回答說:“白日不是有十二小時嗎?
人在白日走路,就不至跌倒,因為看見這世上的光。
10  若在黑夜走路,就必跌倒,因為他沒有光。”
11  耶穌說了這話,隨後對他們說:
“我們的朋友拉撒路睡了,
我去叫醒他。”
12  門徒說:“主啊,他若睡了,就必好了。”
13  耶穌這話是指著他死說的。
他們卻以為是說照常睡了。
14  耶穌就明明地告訴他們說:“拉撒路死了。
15  我沒有在那里就歡喜,這是為你們的緣故,好叫你們相信。
如今我們可以往他那里去吧。”
16  多馬,又稱為低土馬,就對那同作門徒的說:
“我們也去和他同死吧。”

17  耶穌到了,就知道拉撒路在墳墓里已經四天了。
18  伯大尼離耶路撒冷不遠,約有六里路。
19  有好些猶太人來看馬大和馬利亞,
要為她們的兄弟安慰她們。
20  馬大聽見耶穌來了,就出去迎接他。
馬利亞卻仍然坐在家里。
21  馬大對耶穌說:
“主啊,你若早在這里,我兄弟必不死。
22  就是現在,我也知道,你無論向神求什么,神也必賜給你。”
23  耶穌說:“你兄弟必然復活。”
24  馬大說:“我知道在末日復活的時候,他必復活。”
25  耶穌對她說:“復活在我,生命也在我。
信我的人,雖然死了,也必復活。
26  凡活著信我的人,必永遠不死。你信這話嗎?”
27  馬大說:“主啊,是的,我信你是基督,
是神的兒子,就是那要臨到世界的。”

28  馬大說了這話,就回去暗暗地叫她妹子馬利亞說:
“夫子來了,叫你。”
29  馬利亞聽見了,就急忙起來,到耶穌那里去。
30  那時,耶穌還沒有進村子,
仍在馬大迎接他的地方。
31  那些同馬利亞在家里安慰她的猶太人,
見她急忙起來出去,就跟著她,
以為她要往墳墓那里去哭。
32  馬利亞到了耶穌那里,
看見他,就俯伏在他腳前說:
“主啊,你若早在這里,我兄弟必不死。”


問題討論

vs 2 約翰在這里說的是哪件事?
vs 4 耶穌說這病不至於死是什么意思?
vs 6 為什么耶穌不在他病死之前醫好他呢?
這樣做是不是太殘酷了?為什么耶穌好像對他的朋友比陌生人更嚴厲?
vs 9,10 試解釋耶穌給他門徒的回答。
vs 11 為什么耶穌說拉撒路是睡著了,而其實他是死了?
如果他知道他的門徒會誤解他的意思,為什么還要用那種方式說話呢?
vs 22 馬大說這話的意思是什么?
這如何表現了她的信?
vs 24 馬大說末日復活指的是什么?


注釋

vs 1-2 伯大尼離耶路撒冷很近。約翰所說的馬利亞用香膏抹主是指的哪一件事呢?也許,他指的是路加在路加福音7:36所寫的﹔也許,他是用預期描寫法,指的是他將要在第十二章里描述的,而當時的讀者已熟知的那件事。第一種解釋的根據是路加福音寫在約翰福音之前,所以當時基督徒已經對那段描述很熟悉了,雖然那里沒有提到“馬利亞”這個名字。按照那段描述,那個女人有以罪的生活方式生活的名聲,在宗教權貴里不受歡迎。耶穌說她因為罪孽深重而深欠神的債,或至少按法利賽人對她的看法是如此。但因信了基督,悔改了她的罪,她現在被赦免了,并且通過耶穌基督與神建立了正確的關系。如果那在悔改時膏抹主的果真是馬利亞,她又一次來膏抹他,為安葬他做准備很有寓意。第一次是為了她,第二次是為了他,而兩次行動都是出於信。路加福音里所說的那個有罪的女人也有可能不是這個馬利亞,但不管怎么樣,馬利亞在第十二章里用香膏抹主這一舉動是與她相認同的。約翰的描述給人的印象是馬利亞是未婚的,這似乎給她是路加所說的有罪女人的說法几分可信之處,因為妓女或這類的人既使悔改了也很難找到合適的婚姻伴侶。但從另一方面講,如果的確是那樣的話,她在兩個描述里的社會地位就有出入。在第一個描述里,她是一個被社會所拋棄了的人,但在這里的兩章里我們沒有這種感覺,雖然她悔改了我們也很難指望眾人會這么寬宏。因此,她究竟是不是路加福音里那個有罪的女人,大家可以猜測。

vs 3,5 這里似乎顯示出耶穌與這家人的特殊關系。但我們對這個關系的細節知道得很少。耶穌的確在路加福音第十六章關於復活的寓言里提到過一個“拉撒路”。雖然那不是住在伯大尼的拉撒路本人,但卻無疑有些關聯,以後我還會更詳細地說到這一點。

在此之前,關於馬大和馬利亞,我們知道些什么呢?這個馬利亞大概不是耶穌曾從她身上趕出來七個鬼的、抹大拉的馬利亞。抹大拉的馬利亞住在位於加利利海西岸,很靠北的馬加丹(抹大拉(MagdaIene)就是馬加丹(MagdaIa)人的意思)。而這個馬利亞是伯大尼人。我們還注意到在路加福音第八章里介紹了抹大拉的馬利亞,而在兩章之後路加說到馬大,并說:“她有一個妹子名叫馬利亞”(無疑這就是伯大尼的馬利亞)。但路加似乎是在把她當作一個新的人物來介紹的,而不是他曾說到過的、抹大拉的馬利亞。所以,這兩個馬利亞不是同一個人。

vs 3-6 注意到雖然耶穌很快地就答應別人的請求,無論是陌生人還是隔著很遠把病治好,但是他卻讓這個與他這么近的人生病而死。而這與他要我們做的是一致的。他說:“若有人要跟從我,就當舍己,背起他的十字架來跟從我。因為凡要救自己生命的(‘生命’或作‘靈魂’,下同。),必喪掉生命。凡為我和福音喪掉生命的,必救了生命。”馬可福音8:34,35考慮到神把與他最近的,他自己的兒子,派來完成一項自殺的使命。所以,那些與神和神的兒子最近的被招舍棄生命,以使神的兒子得著榮耀。神對別人很寬容,對自己的卻很嚴厲。外人會覺得這很殘酷,但那些由神生的卻為有幸這樣事奉而感恩,就像使徒一樣,“心里歡喜,因被算是配為這名受辱。”使徒行傳5:41 這種犧牲會是多種形式的。

我想知道當拉撒路生病躺在那里,而主沒有來到他的身旁時,他想的是什么。也許,他的答復就像亞伯拉罕聽見神要他殺他的兒子以撒時一樣。他用信心作答,至終信賴神。雖然我們求告神,但我們要憑著信心把它交在神的手里,由他來回答這些請求。當我們在生活中經歷了這樣的死和羞辱後,別人會鄙視我們或誹謗我們,認為我們之所以遭受這些是受了神的詛咒。然而恰恰是因為他的愛,他纔等在一邊,直到拉撒路死了。

“不至於死”但這“死”是字面上的意思。然而我們看到耶穌在這里,以及福音書到處所講的不能光從字面上理解,而要從靈上理解。但耶穌知道,他的聽眾(在這里是他自己的門徒)經常誤解他的話。我想,耶穌故意不馬上給他們直說出來是要訓練他們在這種情形下用不同的方式思考。

vs 7-16 雖然他的確從逼迫他的地方離開,但他有使命要完成。如果他沒有使拉撒路復活,那么他到猶太地時就會面臨被捉拿,審判和釘十字架。但時候還沒有到。使拉撒路復活的確在社會大多數的眼里榮耀了神的兒子,為他在猶太地贏得了一段時間的安全。多馬(有時被稱為多疑的多馬)以為去猶太地就是意味著死,沒有料想到主所安排的。但值得贊賞的是既使面臨著死,多馬還是決定跟隨主。(當然,我們知道他在面臨十字架時沒有能夠做到這一點。)

第9、10里,耶穌說他是世界的光,所以不顧後果地要讓他自己被看到。這是我們的一堂課。我們是世界的光。讓我們不要把神的話“藏起來”,而要把它彰顯出來。是的,我們會經受到教外的和教內的逼迫。無論我們面臨的阻力是什么,我們有工作需要完成。讓我們來完成工作吧。

vs 11-14 “睡”與“死”。在他的人從肉體上講死了時,耶穌不愿用“死了”一詞來形容他們,而是說他們“睡了”。這一做法被使徒們沿用,用“睡了”來表達肉體的死亡。

歌林多前書11:30
因此,在你們中間有好些軟弱的與患病的,死的也不少(“死”原文作“睡”)。
歌林多前書15:51  “我如今把一件奧秘的事告訴你們,
我們不是都要睡覺,乃是都要改變。”
因為生與死不是由人的身體狀況衡量的,而是由人的精神狀況衡量的。
約翰一書5:12 “人有了神的兒子就有生命﹔
沒有神的兒子就沒有生命。”
事實上,從死到生的過渡不是發生在屬物的範疇里,而是發生在信的時候。
約翰福音5:24“我實實在在地告訴你們,那聽我話,又信差我來者的,就有永生,不至於定罪,是已經出死入生了。”
vs 17-27 耶穌在路加福音第十章里訪問這對姐妹時,稱贊馬利亞過於馬大,因為馬利亞聽他的話,而馬大卻忙她自己的瑣事。但在這里我們看到馬大對主的理解很深,稱他是基督、神的兒子。但她在第22節所說的話似乎是指著她兄弟有意對耶穌說的。她對當時的情形表現出了很大的信心和理解,甚至似乎超過了耶穌門徒的表現。

猶太人當時熟知末日復活。這不是耶穌當時引入的新的信念。早在約伯記里就表述了這個信念。

“我知道我的救贖主活著,末了必站立在地上。我這皮肉滅絕之後,我必在肉體之外得見神。我自己要見他,親眼要看他,并不像外人。我的心腸在我里面消滅了。” 約伯記19:25-27

“你且去等候結局,因為你必安歇。到了末期,你必起來,享受你的福分。”但以理書12:13

但拉撒路的復活有不同的特征,那就是他在復活後還會死。歌林多前書第十五章詳述了末日的復活。

vs 28-32 馬利亞滿懷憂傷來到耶穌面前,但她的第一句話與馬大相同。她憂傷的程度也許反映出對耶穌所能夠做的缺乏信心。保羅寫到:“論到睡了的人,我們不愿意弟兄們不知道,恐怕你們憂傷,像那些沒有指望的人一樣。” 帖撒羅尼迦前書4:13 為所愛的人的死而憂傷當然是合益的,但基督徒會感到他們以後還會團聚的。




庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Wednesday, 29-Jul-2015 17:23:10 EDT

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

John 11:1-32 (web)

The Resurrection of Lazarus: Part I

1  Now a certain man was sick, Lazarus from Bethany,
of the village of Mary and her sister, Martha.
2  It was that Mary who had anointed the Lord with ointment,
and wiped his feet with her hair, whose brother, Lazarus, was sick.
3  The sisters therefore sent to him, saying,
"Lord, behold, he for whom you have great affection is sick."
4  But when Jesus heard it, he said,
"This sickness is not to death, but for the glory of God,
that God’s Son may be glorified by it."
5  Now Jesus loved Martha, and her sister, and Lazarus.
6  When therefore he heard that he was sick,
he stayed two days in the place where he was.

7  Then after this he said to the disciples, "Let’s go into Judea again."
8  The disciples told him, "Rabbi, the Jews were just trying to stone you,
and are you going there again?"
9  Jesus answered, "Aren’t there twelve hours of daylight?
If a man walks in the day, he doesn’t stumble, because he sees the light of this world.
10  But if a man walks in the night, he stumbles, because the light isn’t in him."
11  He said these things, and after that, he said to them,
"Our friend, Lazarus, has fallen asleep,
but I am going so that I may awake him out of sleep."
12  The disciples therefore said, "Lord, if he has fallen asleep, he will recover."
13  Now Jesus had spoken of his death,
but they thought that he spoke of taking rest in sleep.
14  So Jesus said to them plainly then, "Lazarus is dead.
15  I am glad for your sakes that I was not there, so that you may believe.
Nevertheless, let’s go to him."
16  Thomas therefore, who is called Didymus, said to his fellow disciples,
"Let’s go also, that we may die with him."

17  So when Jesus came, he found that he had been in the tomb four days already.
18  Now Bethany was near Jerusalem, about fifteen stadia away.
19  Many of the Jews had joined the women around Martha and Mary,
to console them concerning their brother.
20  Then when Martha heard that Jesus was coming, she went and met him,
but Mary stayed in the house.
21  Therefore Martha said to Jesus,
"Lord, if you would have been here, my brother wouldn’t have died.
22  Even now I know that, whatever you ask of God, God will give you."
23  Jesus said to her, "Your brother will rise again."
24  Martha said to him, "I know that he will rise again in the resurrection at the last day."
25  Jesus said to her, "I am the resurrection and the life.
He who believes in me, though he die, yet will he live.
26  Whoever lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?"
27  She said to him, "Yes, Lord. I have come to believe that you are the Christ,
God’s Son, he who comes into the world."

28  When she had said this, she went away, and called Mary,
her sister, secretly, saying, "The Teacher is here, and is calling you."
29  When she heard this, she arose quickly, and went to him.
30  Now Jesus had not yet come into the village,
but was in the place where Martha met him.
31  Then the Jews who were with her in the house, and were consoling her,
when they saw Mary, that she rose up quickly and went out, followed her, saying,
"She is going to the tomb to weep there."
32  Therefore when Mary came to where Jesus was,
and saw him, she fell down at his feet, saying to him,
"Lord, if you would have been here, my brother wouldn’t have died."


Discussion Questions

vs 2 What prior incident was John referring to?
vs 4 In what sense did Jesus mean that the sickness was not to death?
vs 6 Why didn't Jesus heal him before he died?
Was that cruel? Why is it that Jesus appears tougher on his friends than on strangers?
vs 9,10 Paraphrase this to clarify Jesus' answer to his disciples.
vs 11 Why does Jesus speak of Lazarus sleeping even though he was dead?
And why did he speak in this manner if he knew his disciples would misunderstand him?
vs 22 What was Martha implying by this statement?
And what does this indicate about her faith?
vs 24 What is the resurrection at the last day of which Martha speaks?


Comments

vs 1-2 Bethany was quite close to Jerusalem. What event is John referring to concerning Mary's anointing of Jesus? He's either referring
to the event which Luke wrote about in Luke 7:36 or else he's writing in a proleptical sense, referring to the event he is about to mention in chapter 12, but which many of the readers at the time were already aware of.  In defense of the first interpretation, the gospel of Luke was written before the gospel of John and thus the Christians would have been familiar with that account, although the name "Mary" is not mentioned there. According to that account there was a woman who had a reputation for living a sinful lifestyle and was not welcomed among the religious elite. Jesus described her also as one much in debted to God for her multitude of sins, or at least gave deference to the Pharisee's point of view towards her as such. But having come to faith in Christ and repented of her sins, she was now forgiven and reconciled into a right relationship with God through Jesus Christ. If indeed it was Mary who anointed the Lord in an act of repentance it is interesting to note she would have anointed him again to prepare him for his death. The first was for her and the second for him, but both were acts of faith. Or it might have been that the sinful woman of Luke's gospel was not this Mary, but perhaps nonetheless Mary identified with her in the act of anointing the Lord we'll read about in chapter 12. John's accounts give the impression that Mary was unmarried, which perhaps gives some credence to the idea that she was Luke's sinful woman, for even a repentant prostitute or the like may find difficulty find an appropriate marriage partner. But on the other hand if that is the case there appears a discepancy of her social status between the two accounts. For in the first account she is a social outcast, but we get no sense of that in these two chapters, and even though she had repented we wouldn't expect the crowd to be so forgiving. So whether she was or was not the sinful woman of Luke's account is a matter of opinion.

vs 3,5 It appears that Jesus revealed a special attachment to this family. The word used in verse 3 is "phileo", the word for "like" or affection. But we know very little of the details of this relationship. Jesus does mention a "Lazarus" in one of his parables concerning resurrection in Luke 16. And although it wasn't literally the Lazarus of Bethany, yet no doubt there is some connection of which I will elaborate upon later.

What do we know of Martha and Mary prior to this? Mary was probably not the Mary Magdalene from whom Jesus drove out seven demons. That Mary was from the town of Magdala which was on the west bank of the sea of Galilee way up in the north. But this Mary is from Bethany. We notice also that Mary Magdalene was introduce in Luke 8, but just 2 chapters later Luke speaks of Martha that "She had a sister called Mary" (no doubt the Mary here of Bethany). But Luke seems to introduce her as if a new character, and not the Mary Magdalene he had spoken of previously. And thus were two different Marys.

vs 3-6 Notice that while Christ quickly answered requests of others, even strangers, and even healing from afar, yet with one so close to him he leaves in his sickness to die. Yet this is not inconsistent with what he has called us to do. For he said, "Whoever wants to come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow me.  For whoever wants to save his life will lose it; and whoever will lose his life for my sake and the gospel’s will save it."Mark 8:34,35 Consider that God took one who was closest to him, his own Son and sent him on a suicide mission. So those who are closest to God and to his Son are called to give their lives that the Son of God may be glorified. While it appears that God is easy upon others, yet he is tough on his own. Outsiders may view this as cruel and abusive, but those of us who have been born of God are grateful to be allowed the honor of such service, much as the apostles "rejoiced that they were counted worthy to suffer dishonor for Jesus’ name." Acts 5:41 But such sacrifices come in many forms.

I wonder what Lazarus was thinking as he lie sick and dying and the Lord not coming to him. Perhaps he responded as Abraham when God told him to kill is son Isaac. He responded in faith trusting God to the end. Though we make requests of God, in faith we have to leave it in God's hands how he will respond to such requests. When we go through such experiences of death and humiliation in our lives, others may treat us with contempt or slander us reckoning us accursed of God for the sufferings we go through. It was because of his love that he stayed away and waited for Lazarus to die.

"Not to death" But it was "to death" in quite a literal sense. But then again we see Jesus here and throughout much of the gospels speaking of things not in a literal sense but in a spiritual sense. But as is often the case, Jesus knows that his audience (in this case his own disciples) are misunderstanding what he was saying. I think Jesus delays speaking to them plainly because he was training them to think in different terms concerning such circumstances.

vs 7-16 Though he did indeed withdraw himself from areas in which he faced persecution, yet Jesus had a mission to fulfill. If he hadn't raised Lazarus at this point, at his return to Judea he may indeed have face arrest, trial and crucifixion at this time. But it wasn't time for that. The resurrection would indeed proved to glorify the Son in the eyes of much of the society and thus win him safety in Judea for a time. Thomas (at times today referred to as doubting Thomas) perceived that entering Judea meant death, not realizing what the Lord had planned. But what is commendable is that even in face of certain death, Thomas was willing to follow the Lord. (Though of course we know he failed to do so when faced with the cross)

In verse 9,10 Jesus was simply saying that he was meant to be the light of the world and as such must allow himself to be seen regardless of the conseqences. This is also a lesson for us. We are the light of the world. Let us not "hide" God's Word, but expose it to the world. And yes we will experience persecution both from the secular and religious communities. We've got a job to do regardless of the resistance we face. Let's get the job done.

vs 11-14 "Sleep" versus "death". Jesus is reluctant to apply the word "dead" to those who are his even when they are physically dead, but rather speaks of "sleeping". This practiced is carried on by the apostles as well speaking of "sleep", but meaning physical death.

1 Corinthians 11:30
"For this cause many among you are weak and sickly, and not a few sleep."
1 Corinthians 15:51  "Behold, I tell you a mystery.
We will not all sleep, but we will all be changed"
For life and death is not measured by one's physical state, but by one's spiritual state.
1John 5:12 "He who has the Son has the life.
He who doesn’t have God’s Son doesn’t have the life."
And that in fact the passage from death to life occurs not in the physical realm, but when believes.
John 5:24 "Most assuredly I tell you, he who hears my word, and believes him who sent me, has eternal life, and doesn’t come into judgment, but has passed out of death into life."
vs 17-27 In Luke 10 when visiting the sisters, Jesus commended Mary for her listening to him over Martha who busied herself with the chores. But here we see that Martha understood the Lord deeply reckoning him as Christ, the Son of God. But also her statement in verse 22 alludes to his ability to raise the dead, of which it appears she had a sort of tongue in cheek request of Jesus concerning her brother. She showed a great deal of faith and understanding of the stituation more so than it appears Jesus' disciples had portrayed.

The Jews were well aware of the resurrection on the last day. That was not a new belief introduced by Jesus. All the way back in the book of Job such faith was expressed.

"I know that my Redeemer lives, and that in the end he will stand upon the earth. And after my skin has been destroyed, yet in my flesh I will see God;  I myself will see him with my own eyes— I, and not another. How my heart yearns within me!" Job 19:25-27

"As for you, go your way till the end. You will rest, and then at the end of the days you will rise to receive your allotted inheritance." Daniel 12:13

But the resurrection of Lazarus would be of a different character in that he would be raised to die again. 1Corinthians chapter 15 elaborates on the nature of the resurrection on the last day.

vs 28-32 Mary approaches Jesus in grief but with the same initial statement as Martha. Her degree of grief may indicate a lack of faith in what Jesus was capable of doing. Paul writes, "But we don’t want you to be ignorant, brothers, concerning those who have fallen asleep, so that you don’t grieve like the rest, who have no hope." 1Thess 4:13 Grieving at the death of a loved one is appropriate of course but the Christian has the feeling of anticipation that they will be reunited again in the future.



The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015