翻譯:English 简体中文

約翰福音 11:33-57

拉撒路的復活、之二

耶穌哭了

11:33 耶穌看見她哭,
并看見與她同來的猶太人也哭,就心奡d嘆,又甚憂愁,
11:34 便說:“你們把他安放在哪堙H”
他們回答說:“請主來看。”
11:35 耶穌哭了。
11:36 猶太人就說:“你看他愛這人是何等懇切。”
11:37 其中有人說:“他既然開了瞎子的眼睛,
豈不能叫這人不死嗎?”
11:38 耶穌又心奡d嘆,來到墳墓前。

把石頭挪開

那墳墓是個洞,有一塊石頭擋著。
11:39 耶穌說:“你們把石頭挪開。”
那死人的姐姐馬大對他說:
“主啊,他現在必是臭了,因為他死了已經四天了。”
11:40 耶穌說:
“我不是對你說過,你若信,就必看見神的榮耀嗎?”
11:41 他們就把石頭挪開。
耶穌舉目望天說:
“父啊,我感謝你,因為你已經聽我。
11:42 我也知道你常聽我,
但我說這話是為周圍站著的眾人,
叫他們信是你差了我來。”

拉撒路出來!

11:43 說了這話,就大聲呼叫說:“拉撒路出來!”
11:44 那死人就出來了,手腳裹著布,
臉上包著手巾。
耶穌對他們說:“解開,叫他走。”
11:45 那些來看馬利亞的猶太人見了耶穌所作的事,
就多有信他的。
11:46 但其中也有去見法利賽人的,
將耶穌所作的事告訴他們。

宗教領袖的反應

11:47 祭司長和法利賽人聚集公會,說:
“這人行好些神蹟,我們怎麼辦呢?
11:48 若這樣由著他,人人都要信他。
羅馬人也要來奪我們的地土和我們的百姓。”
11:49 內中有一個人,名叫該亞法,
本年作大祭司,對他們說:“你們不知道什麼。
11:50 獨不想一個人替百姓死,
免得通國滅亡,
就是你們的益處。”
11:51 他這話不是出于自己,是因他本年作大祭司,
所以預言耶穌將要替這一國死。
11:52 也不但替這一國死,
并要將神四散的子民都聚集歸一。
11:53 從那日起,他們就商議要殺耶穌。
11:54 所以耶穌不再顯然行在猶太人中間,
就離開那堜嗾a近曠野的地方去,
到了一座城,名叫以法蓮,就在那堜M門徒同住。

11:55 猶太人的逾越節近了,
有許多人從鄉下上耶路撒冷去,要在節前潔淨自己。
11:56 他們就尋找耶穌,站在殿堜憐劂﹛G “你們的意思如何,他不來過節嗎?”
11:57 那時,祭司長和法利賽人早已吩咐說,
若有人知道耶穌在哪堙A就要報明,好去拿他。

問題討論

第35節耶穌為什麼哭?
第40節耶穌使拉撒路復活兩個原因是什麼?
第39, 44節 如果我們將這個復活所像徵的與信耶穌聯系起來的話,可以如何應用這兩節經文呢?
第47節 盡管承認他行了好些神蹟,法利賽人沒有考慮到什麼含意?
第48節 他們的政治顧慮成立嗎?殺害基督解除了這個威協嗎?
第50節 結果,耶穌是在什麼意義上替這一國死了?
第54節 耶穌離開那堿O膽小嗎?

注釋

第33-38節 第35節是聖經堻拑u的一節,如果你覺得記聖經太難的話,這一節是很好的開始。雖然短小,卻耐人尋味。耶穌為什麼哭呢?不是因為拉撒路死了。他在這以前很久就知道他死了,卻并沒有表現出這種情感。還有,他知道他馬上就要活過來。眾人又一次誤解了他。雖然大家都自認為認識他,耶穌還是常常被誤解。耶穌哭是因為同情馬利亞和她失去親人的悲。以賽亞寫到:“他誠然擔當我們的憂患,背負我們的痛苦。”【以賽亞書 53:4】有些人把神貶低為不近人情的機器,只要你按對了按鈕,就能得到你想要的。或者認為神雖然可接近,但卻沒有情感。聖經可不是這麼說的。神是有情感的,并且受他所造之物的影響。神關心你的感受。

第39-42節 在第40節堙A耶穌表明,因為馬大的信,他要使拉撒路從死奡_活。現在我們明白他最初是在哪種意義上接受姊妹兩的信息的。我們也聯想起在馬太福音15堨L與迦南婦人的對話,談話中他似乎不太愿意答應她的請求,但其實是在誘導她顯露出她的信的深度。所以神會通過應允我們的禱告來加強我們的信心,但同時神也會通過不應允我們的禱告來顯露出我們的信心的深度。

也許,我們可以把這件事比喻地應用到通過耶穌基督而獲得靈的復活,進入與神的救贖關系,這種復活是那些由神生的已經經歷過的。“當我們死在過犯中的時候,便叫我們與基督一同活過來(你們得救是本乎恩)。他又叫我們與基督耶穌一同復活,一同坐在天上。”【以弗所書 2:5,6】但那些在過犯中死了的人常常有石頭存在于他們的生活中,需要挪開,騰出路來,由基督把他們從死奡_活。這正是我們可以利用神給我們的恩典和責任來盡力的地方。

第43-46節“我實實在在地告訴你們,時候將到,現在就是了,死人要聽見神兒子的聲音。聽見的人就要活了。”【約翰福音 5:25】  雖然已經復活了,他仍然需要幫助來解開捆綁。當我們在基督堶咱肏寣A仍然需要克服罪性,成為聖潔,但我們有其它的基督徒幫助我們。因為這個神蹟許多人就信了。這埵乎在暗示,那些去見法利賽人的是不信的,他們想要給基督找麻煩。不然的話,他們就是信徒,報著“你瞧,我說的吧”的態度,去嘲弄法利賽人。無論如何,這件事沒有為他在宗教權貴堛黿o任何好感,盡管他在眾人媗亃o更受歡迎。

第47-48節 這節經文顯示出他們對這個概念是多麼的生疏和模糊。他們承認他行了好些神蹟,但卻不知道這個事實意味著什麼。至于羅馬人要來奪他們的地土和百姓,與事實正好相反。基督并不敵視羅馬人。他們是由神指派來管轄以色列的,就像過去的亞述人和巴比倫人一樣。正是因為拒絕基督才導致後來羅馬人奪了他們的地土和百姓。同樣,今天的不信的人把世上的壞事歸罪于基督教,而事實正好相反。

第50-52節 同樣地,神利用不信的人來達到他的目地。這堙A我們這位大祭司是個不信的人,但神用他來預言基督將要替這一國死。“哪知他為我們的過犯受害,為我們的罪孽壓傷。因他受的刑罰我們得平安。因他受的鞭傷我們得醫治。我們都如羊走迷,各人偏行己路。耶和華使我們眾人的罪孽都歸在他身上。”【以賽亞書 53:5,6】“神四散的子民”指的是信以色列的神的外邦人。

第53節 雖然他們先前已經定意要殺他,如【約翰福音 7:25】所指出的那樣,但是他們現在是開始制定出謀殺的實際計劃。他們在策劃一個陰謀。

第54節 盡管他新近迎得的人心,他又一次藏躲起來,因為他意識到所面臨危險。在宗教節期堙A在眾人中他會更安全些。如我前面說過的那樣,只有當完成他的使命所必需的時候,耶穌才把自己暴露在危險之下。他不是一個尋求驚險的人,無故地把自己愚蠢地暴露在危險之下。“通達人見禍藏躲。愚蒙人前往受害。”【箴言 27:12】


2020年09月26日

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

John 11:33-57 (web)

The Resurrection of Lazarus: Part II

Jesus Wept

33  When Jesus therefore saw her weeping,
and the Jews weeping who came with her, he groaned in the spirit, and was troubled,
34  and said, "Where have you laid him?"
They told him, "Lord, come and see."
35  Jesus wept.
36  The Jews therefore said, "See how much affection he had for him!"
37  Some of them said, "Couldnít this man,
who opened the eyes of him who was blind, have also kept this man from dying?"
38  Jesus therefore, again groaning in himself, came to the tomb.

Take away the Stone

Now it was a cave, and a stone lay against it.
39  Jesus said, "Take away the stone."
Martha, the sister of him who was dead, said to him,
"Lord, by this time there is a stench, for he has been dead four days."
40  Jesus said to her,
"Didnít I tell you that if you believed, you would see Godís glory?"
41  So they took away the stone from the place where the dead man was lying.
Jesus lifted up his eyes, and said,
"Father, I thank you that you listened to me.
42  I know that you always listen to me,
but because of the multitude that stands around I said this,
that they may believe that you sent me."

Lazarus, come out!

43  When he had said this, he cried with a loud voice, "Lazarus, come out!"
44  He who was dead came out, bound hand and foot with wrappings,
and his face was wrapped around with a cloth.
Jesus said to them, "Free him, and let him go."
45  Therefore many of the Jews,
who came to Mary and saw what Jesus did, believed in him.
46  But some of them went away to the Pharisees,
and told them the things which Jesus had done.

The Reaction of the Religious Leaders

47  The chief priests therefore and the Pharisees gathered a council, and said,
"What are we doing? For this man does many signs.
48  If we leave him alone like this, everyone will believe in him,
and the Romans will come and take away both our place and our nation."
49  But a certain one of them, Caiaphas,
being high priest that year, said to them, "You know nothing at all,
50  nor do you consider that it is advantageous
for us that one man should die for the people,
and that the whole nation not perish."
51  Now he didnít say this of himself, but being high priest that year,
he prophesied that Jesus would die for the nation,
52  and not for the nation only, but that he might also
gather together into one the children of God who are scattered abroad.
53  So from that day forward they took counsel that they might put him to death.
54  Jesus therefore walked no more openly among the Jews,
but departed from there into the country near the wilderness,
to a city called Ephraim. He stayed there with his disciples.

55  Now the Passover of the Jews was at hand.
Many went up from the country to Jerusalem before the Passover, to purify themselves.
56  Then they sought for Jesus and spoke one with another,
as they stood in the temple, "What do you thinkóthat he isnít coming to the feast at all?"
57  Now the chief priests and the Pharisees had commanded that
if anyone knew where he was, he should report it, that they might seize him.


Discussion Questions

vs 35 Why did Jesus weep?
vs 40 What are two reasons why Jesus rose Lazarus?
vs 39, 44 If we made an allegorically connection between this resurrection and coming to faith in Christ, how might these two verses apply?
vs 47 Though acknowledging his many signs, what implication was the Pharisees not taking into consideration?
vs 48 Were they're political concerns valid? And did killing Christ solve resolve this threat?
vs 50 In what sense did Jesus end up dying for the nation?
vs 54 In running away, was Jesus a coward?


Comments

vs 33-38 Verse 35 is the shortest verse in the Bible and a good verse to start on if you think scripture memory is overly challenging. But despite its brevity it offers much meditation. Why did Jesus weep? It's not because Lazarus died. He knew he died long before this and yet showed no such emotion previously. And further he knows that he will come back to life shortly. The crowd misinterpreted him once again. It seems despite presuming to know him, Jesus gets misinterpreted a whole lot. Jesus was empathizing with Mary and her feeling of loss. One aspect of Christ's love is that it is empathetic. Isaiah writes, "Surely he took up our infirmities and carried our sorrows." Isaiah 53:4 Some reduce God to an imperson wishing machine of which you just have to push the right buttons to get what you want. Or think that God is personal but non-emotional. But the Bible proves otherwise. God has emotions and is influenced by the emotions of his creatures. God cares how you feel.

vs 39-42 In verse 40 Jesus is indicating that he is going to raise Lazarus in view of Martha's faith. Now we understand the sense in which he originally received the message from the sisters. We may also be reminded of his interaction with the Canaanite woman of Matthew 15 in which he seemed reluctant to answer the request, but really was provoking her to reveal the depth of her faith. Thus though God may strengthen our faith through answers to prayer, he can reveal the depth of our faith through unanswered prayer.

Perhaps we may also apply this allegorically to the resurrection of the spiritually dead into a saving relationship with God through Jesus Christ, a resurrection which those born of God have already experienced, "we were dead through our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ (by grace you have been saved), and raised us up with him." Eph 2:5,6 But those who are dead in their trespasses often have stones in their lives which need to be removed to make way for Christ to raise them from the dead. And that's where we can help as we minister in accordance with the gifts and responsibilities God has given us.

vs 43-46 "Most assuredly, I tell you, the hour comes, and now is, when the dead will hear the Son of Godís voice; and those who hear will live." John 5:25  But even having been raised he still needed others to help him be freed. So also when we are made alive in Christ, yet we still need to be sanctified from our sinfulness, but we have other Christians to help us with that. Because of this miracle many believed. It is somewhat implied that those who went to the Pharisees were unbelievers who wanted to stir up trouble for Christ. Either that or they were believers who mocked the Pharisee's with a "see I told you so" attitude. In any case this incident didn't win him any favors among the religious elite, although he became more popular in general.

vs 47-48 Here's a verse that shows just how out of touch or how unclear on the concept they were. They admit that he does many signs, but they don't seem to understand the implications of that fact. As for the Romans taking away their place and nation, just the opposite appeared to be the case. Christ was not hostile to the Romans. They were appointed by God to govern Israel much in the same way as the Assyrians and Babylonians had been in the past.  It was in the rejecting of Christ that led to the Romans taking away their place and their nation. In a similar manner today the unbelievers try to blame Christianity for the world's troubles whereas quite the opposite is true.

vs 50-52 And in the same light of God using unbelievers to further his purpose, here we have a high priest was an unbeliever, but whom God used to prophecy of Christ dying for the nation. "But he was pierced for our transgressions, he was crushed for our iniquities; the punishment that brought us peace was upon him, and by his wounds we are healed. We all, like sheep, have gone astray, each of us has turned to his own way; and the LORD has laid on him the iniquity of us all." Isaiah 53:5,6 The "children of God scattered abroad" refer to the Gentiles who were believers in the God of Israel.

vs 53 Although they had previously had a mind to kill him as John 7:25 indicates, yet now they were going to actually make plans as to how to carry out the murder. They were forming a conspiracy.

vs 54 Despite his new found popularity, he again withdrew due to his perception of the danger. He would be safer in the crowds during the religious festivals. As I pointed out previously Jesus only exposed himself to danger when it was necessary to do so in accordance with his mission. He was not a thrill seeker, foolishly exposing himself to danger for no good reason. Proverbs 27:12 "The prudent see danger and take refuge, but the simple keep going and suffer for it."



The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015