翻譯: English 中文 GB

約翰福音12:1-26

拉撒路:之三 ─ 結果

1  逾越節前六日,耶穌來到伯大尼,
就是他叫拉撒路從死里復活之處。
2  有人在那里給耶穌預備筵席。
馬大伺候,拉撒路也在那同耶穌坐席的人中。

3  馬利亞就拿著一斤極貴的真哪噠香膏,
抹耶穌的腳,又用自己頭發去擦。
屋里就滿了膏的香氣。
4  有一個門徒,就是那將要賣耶穌的加略人猶大,
5  說:“這香膏為什么不賣三十兩銀子周濟窮人呢?”
6  他說這話,并不是挂念窮人,
乃因他是個賊,又帶著錢囊,常取其中所存的。
7  耶穌說:“由她吧,她是為我安葬之日存留的。
因為常有窮人和你們同在,只是你們不常有我。”

9  有許多猶太人知道耶穌在那里,
就來了,不但是為耶穌的緣故,
也是要看他從死里所復活的拉撒路。
10  但祭司長商議連拉撒路也要殺了。
11  因有好些猶太人,為拉撒路的緣故,回去信了耶穌。

12  第二天,
有許多上來過節的人聽見耶穌將到耶路撒冷,
13  就拿著棕樹枝出去迎接他,喊著說:
“和散那!奉主名來的以色列王是應當稱頌的!”詩篇118:26
14  耶穌得了一個驢駒,就騎上,如經上所記的說:
15  “錫安的民哪(‘民’原文作‘女子’),不要懼怕,
你的王騎著驢駒來了。”撒迦利亞9:9
16  這些事門徒起先不明白,
等到耶穌得了榮耀以後,纔想起這話是指著他寫的,
并且眾人果然向他這樣行了。
17  當耶穌呼喚拉撒路,叫他從死復活出墳墓的時候,
同耶穌在那里的眾人就作見証。
18  眾人因聽見耶穌行了這神跡,
就去迎接他。
19  法利賽人彼此說:
“看哪,你們是徒勞無益,世人都隨從他去了。”

20  那時,上來過節禮拜的人中,有几個希利尼人。
21  他們來見加利利伯賽大的腓力,
求他說:“先生,我們愿意見耶穌。”
22  腓力去告訴安得烈﹔安得烈同腓力去告訴耶穌。
23  耶穌說:
“人子得榮耀的時候到了。
24  我實實在在地告訴你們,一粒麥子不落在地里死了,
仍舊是一粒。若是死了,就結出許多子粒來。
25  愛惜自己生命的,就失喪生命。
在這世上恨惡自己生命的,就要保守生命到永生。
26  若有人服事我,就當跟從我。
我在哪里,服事我的人也要在哪里。
若有人服事我,我父必尊重他。


問題討論

vs 2-3 馬大和馬利亞在這里所扮演的角色還如何在路加福音10:38-42里反映出來的?
馬利亞的行動與路加福音7:37-38里的那個有罪女人有什么關系?
vs 4-6 鑒於猶大在此所說的話和他的動機,他代表今天的哪種人?
vs 9-11 參考財主和拉撒路的寓言在路加福音16:31里所作的結論和拉撒路的復活,為什么宗教領袖不信呢?
vs 12-19 你說眾人所期望的是什么呢?
vs 20-26 耶穌對他所得名望的反應是什么?
為什么在被告知希利尼人想要見他的時候,他預告了他的死?
他所說的死和結出子粒與現實生活有什么關系?
跟隨他意味著什么?


注釋

vs 2-8 這里我們看到馬大和馬利亞在路加福音10里所扮演的不同角色:馬大忙著伺候,馬利亞待在耶穌跟前。馬大是個忙忙碌碌的人,她認出并且承認耶穌就是基督,這是很可嘉的。但馬利亞更擅於思考,她得出了她的信更深遠的應用。

盡管我們只能推斷她行動的動機,但我要說,她把香膏抹在耶穌的腳上,又用自己頭發去擦他的腳與路加福音7:37,38里那個有罪的女人所做的相呼應,在那里那是一個悔改的舉動。的確,馬利亞也許就是那個女人,這要看我們如何解釋約翰福音11:2。無論如何,馬利亞與那個女人認同,覺得她自己也是個有罪的女人,需要饒恕。這里耶穌還指出,她所做的是為他的安葬做准備。但為什么只膏抹腳呢?更進一步地說,她是在何種意義上看基督將面臨的死呢?是不是單單因為別人在俟機殺他,所以她預見到他最終會遇害呢?還是更多?我認為,她不但認出他是基督,更認出他就是要替世人的罪而死的,神的羔羊。動物祭牲是猶太教敬拜的核心。但比人低級的動物居然能夠贖人的罪,這不大說得通。義人會得出,這不過是將要發生的事情的一個像征──基督要把他自己獻為燔祭──這具有更高的價值。馬利亞膏抹主不是為了防止尸體腐爛,而是把油抹在燔祭上。這在摩西律法里是很普遍的做法。例如:“你們要把一歲沒有殘疾的公綿羊羔獻給耶和華為燔祭。同獻的素祭,就是調油的細面伊法十分之二,作為馨香的火祭,獻給耶和華。同獻的奠祭,要酒一欣四分之一。”利未記23:12,13馬利亞用的是真哪噠香膏“由一種纈草屬的東印度植物的頭或穗所產出的芳香液汁,古人將其(純的或混合的)用於最貴重的膏抹”OLB

猶大把這看成是浪費。這是他暴露出他真實本性的罕見例子之一。因為猶大是麥子里的稗子。還有如耶穌先前指著他說:“我不是揀選了你們十二個門徒嗎?但你們中間有一個是魔鬼。”耶穌這話是指著加略人西門的兒子猶大說的。他本是十二個門徒里的一個,後來要賣耶穌的。約翰福音6:70,71所以當別的“基督徒”批評你按你的方式奉獻主的時候,你要當心,他們也許正在顯露他們作為羊群里的狼的真實本性。別人也許會批評你在屬靈上的花費太多,而在物質上的花費太少。誠然,這些要有平衡,但不屬靈的人,既使是在考慮他們不需要的、別人的物質所需的時候,也趨向於完全否認屬靈的價值。在此我們看到猶大假裝關心窮人,其實是想染指這些錢。保羅也警告我們當心基督徒里那些貪婪的人。“我們不像那許多人,為利混亂神的道。”  歌林多後書2:17 特別是在選擇管事的人時,不要選貪婪的人。提摩太前書3:3,8提多書1:7盡管這些事實,耶穌還是選擇把猶大放在這樣的位置上。但他這么做也許是要表明豺狼的確存在於基督教的宗教領袖當中,如保羅所肯定的那樣:“我知道我去之後,必有凶暴的豺狼進入你們中間,不愛惜羊群。就是你們中間,也必有人起來,說悖謬的話,要引誘門徒跟從他們。” 使徒行傳20:29,30

至於窮人,總有機會來滿足他們的所需(另見慈善網頁),但一切都有定時。耶穌以人的形式在世上暫居以完成他的使命。那是當時最主要的。就是考慮到窮人也有主次之分。因為,如果我們滿足他們物質上的需求,而最終他們還是進了地獄,那不是一場空嗎?所以在物質的和屬靈的需求都需要滿足時,屬靈的需求是主要的。

vs 9-11 我想猜想,如果耶穌不行神跡的話,他會有多少聲望。也許,他的聲望會與今天的普通基督徒差不多。還有,因為他冒犯了宗教權貴,他也許會被稱作異端被人回避。但他當然因他行的神跡贏得了人心。誰不想見一個從死里復活的人和那個使人復活的人呢?但祭司長沒有把這個概念搞清楚。如果他們想知道真理的話為什么要毀掉証據呢?其實,他們的態度甚至在基督徒里也并不罕見。因為許多人在各種事情上抱定人的教條,而忽視或試圖歪曲事實,甚至捏造他們自己的事來宣揚他們的教條。

在他講的財主和拉撒路的寓言里耶穌說的要點是路加福音16:31 “若不聽從摩西和先知的話,就是有一個從死里復活的,他們也是不聽勸。”在此,我們看到了其應用。還有在約翰福音5:46里,他說:“你們如果信摩西,也必信我。因為他書上有指著我寫的話。”這些不信的猶太人的問題不在於他們沒有看到足夠的証據,而是他們不信摩西和先知。今天,拒絕承認基督是彌賽亞的猶太人其實是不愿以神想要的方式信摩西和先知。他們不以神想要的方式讀他們的話。“因為有福音傳給我們,像傳給他們一樣。只是所聽見的道與他們無益,因為他們沒有信心與所聽見的道調和。”希伯來書4:2 但他們為什么不信呢?猶太人和外邦人,在有了足夠的証據以後,還是不信的主要原因是“世人因自己的行為是惡的,不愛光,倒愛黑暗。”約翰福音3:19“他們既然故意不認識神,神就任憑他們存邪僻的心行那些不合理的事。”羅馬書1:28這樣,他們就變得不合理、不講道理,他們的良心也敗壞了。

vs 12-19 這個節就是逾越節。這包括兩件事。首先,是用逾越節羔羊獻祭﹔接下來,是歷時七天的無酵餅節。取決於上下文,“逾越節”也許是指羔羊被獻祭和喫掉的第一天,也許是指接下來的七天。馬利亞把她獻祭的油抹在祭物上。而摩西律法里另一種獻祭的方式稱為“搖祭”。它不是用來作為贖罪祭,而是用來感恩的。這些人搖著棕樹枝是為王的到來而感謝神。但他們也許沒有意識到,他們同時也在為獻給神的祭物獻搖祭。我們還可以在啟示錄里看到這種習俗:“此後,我觀看,見有許多的人,沒有人能數過來,是從各國、各族、各民、各方來的,站在寶座和羔羊面前,身穿白衣,手拿棕樹枝。大聲喊著說:‘愿救恩歸與坐在寶座上我們的神,也歸與羔羊。’” 啟示錄7:9,10 還有在利未記關於住棚節的經文:“第一日要拿美好樹上的果子和棕樹上的枝子,與茂密樹的枝條并河旁的柳枝,在耶和華你們的神面前歡樂七日。” 利未記23:40

第13節引用了詩篇118:26,那節經文說:“奉耶和華名來的,是應當稱頌的。”而詩篇同一章賦於預言性地寫到:“匠人所棄的石頭,已成了房角的頭塊石頭。”詩篇118:22這一章還提到光,耶穌說他是世上的光,而且還提到了活祭。“耶和華是神。他光照了我們。理當用繩索把祭牲拴住,牽到壇角那里。”詩篇118:27 (祭牲一般說來在獻祭之前已經殺了,所以不需要用繩索拴住。因而這里指的是活祭,基督則是它的實現。)新國際版把這一節譯作: "The LORD is God, and he has made his light shine upon us. With boughs in hand, join in the festal procession up to the horns of the altar."這里boughs指的是棕樹枝,并且隊列會延申到祭壇。在這里,祭牲就是耶穌基督。

第15節所引用的經文的全文是:
“錫安的民哪,應當大大喜樂。耶路撒冷的民哪,應當歡呼。看哪,你的王來到你這里。他是公義的,并且施行拯救,謙謙和和地騎著驢,就是騎著驢的駒子。”撒迦利亞9:9他騎在驢駒上而不是騎在高頭大馬或馬拉的車上,這代表了他的溫順和謙卑。他來不光是為了統治,更是為了拯救。

vs 17 這里我們看到,使拉撒路復活如何使他贏得了眾人的心。

vs 19 宗教權貴因為他日益增加的聲望而感受到威脅,後悔他們沒有趁有機會的時候對他采取更直接的行動。雖然他們後來在捉拿他時假稱要對他進行公正的審判,但事實上他們已經拿定了主意,而且不會聽也不愿考慮這些神跡意味著什么。

vs 20-26 這些希臘人(希利尼人)也許就屬於那些耶穌所說的:“我另外有羊,不是這圈里的﹔”約翰福音10:16  但他在世上傳道時集中在猶太人那里,如他所說:“我奉差遣,不過是到以色列家迷失的羊那里去。”馬太福音15:24  他在外邦人里的事奉始於他復活升天之後,他派聖靈來教牧信徒把福音傳到萬國去。

我們還在此學到一件有很有意義的事。正當他被猶太人和外邦人稱頌,他在世上的榮耀達到頂峰的時候,他說到了他的死。有些人以今生的事為榮耀。他們成功,成名,為自己修築大廈,建立機構。許多人以為耶穌也會那么做。他們期望他成為王,殺滅他的敵人,建立一個機構政府。基督徒也同樣常常誤解我們的使命和耶穌要我們做的事。耶穌沒有教我們愛我們自己的生命,而要恨惡自己的生命。名望不是衡量成果的尺度。要想富有成果,我們先要讓我們的誤解死亡。死也許包括羞辱,也許是我們的期望的死。它也許是指一個事奉的死,以使別人在我們的地方成功,如施洗約翰所說的那樣:“他必興旺,我必衰微。” 約翰福音3:30  它還可以指肉體的死亡,如俗話說:“烈士的血是教會的種子”但注意到如果按字面意義講的話,耶穌說:“若是死了,就結出許多子粒來。”是不對的。因為如果它真的死了,就不會結果了。但一粒種子并不真是死了,它還會發芽,而這纔是耶穌所指的。它死了而成為一粒種子。讓我們喫進神的話,讓它從我們的殼里長出去,通過把它應用到我們的生命里來滋養別人。做基督徒不光是認同一套教條,而是要跟隨耶穌。如果我們自稱在事奉主,我們就應該學習他的榜樣。




庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Wednesday, 29-Jul-2015 17:23:09 EDT

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

John 12:1-26 (web)

Lazarus: Part III - the Effect

1  Then six days before the Passover, Jesus came to Bethany,
where Lazarus was, who had been dead, whom he raised from the dead.
2  So they made him a supper there.
Martha served, but Lazarus was one of those who sat at the table with him.

3  Mary, therefore, took a pound of ointment of pure nard, very precious,
and anointed the feet of Jesus, and wiped his feet with her hair.
The house was filled with the fragrance of the ointment.
4  Then Judas Iscariot, Simonís son, one of his disciples, who would betray him, said,
"Why wasnít this ointment sold for three hundred denarii, and given to the poor?"
6  Now he said this, not because he cared for the poor,
but because he was a thief, and having the money box, used to steal what was put into it.
7  But Jesus said, "Leave her alone. She has kept this for the day of my burial.
For you always have the poor with you, but you donít always have me."

9  A large crowd therefore of the Jews learned that he was there,
and they came, not for Jesusí sake only,
but that they might see Lazarus also, whom he had raised from the dead.
10  But the chief priests conspired to put Lazarus to death also,
11  because on account of him many of the Jews went away and believed in Jesus.

12  On the next day a great multitude had come to the feast.
When they heard that Jesus was coming to Jerusalem,
13  they took the branches of the palm trees, and went out to meet him, and cried out,
"Hosanna! Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord, the King of Israel!" (Ps 118:26)
14  Jesus, having found a young donkey, sat on it. As it is written,
15  "Donít be afraid, daughter of Zion.
Behold, your King comes, sitting on a donkeyís colt." (Zech 9:9)
16  His disciples didnít understand these things at first, but when Jesus was glorified,
then they remembered that these things were written about him,
and that they had done these things to him.
17  The multitude therefore that was with him when he called Lazarus out of the tomb,
and raised him from the dead, was testifying about it.
18  For this cause also the multitude went and met him,
because they heard that he had done this sign.
19  The Pharisees therefore said among themselves,
"See how you accomplish nothing. Behold, the world has gone after him."

20  Now there were certain Greeks among those that went up to worship at the feast.
21  These, therefore, came to Philip, who was from Bethsaida of Galilee,
and asked him, saying, "Sir, we want to see Jesus."
22  Philip came and told Andrew, and in turn, Andrew came with Philip, and they told Jesus.
23  Jesus answered them,
"The time has come for the Son of Man to be glorified.
24  Most assuredly I tell you, unless a grain of wheat falls into the earth and dies,
it remains by itself alone. But if it dies, it bears much fruit.
25  He who loves his life will lose it.
He who hates his life in this world will keep it to eternal life.
26  If anyone serves me, let him follow me.
Where I am, there will my servant also be.
If anyone serves me, the Father will honor him.


Discussion Questions

vs 2-3 How are Mary and Martha's roles here also reflected in their meeting with Jesus in Luke 10:38-42?
And how might Mary's actions also be related to that of the sinful woman of  Luke 7:37-38?
vs 4-6 Considering Judas's words and motivations here what kind of person might he represent today?
vs 9-11 Considering the conclusion to the parable of the Rich Man and Lazarus as stated in Luke 16:31, and given the resurrection of Lazarus, why did these religious leaders not believe?
vs 12-19 What do you suppose were the expectations of the crowd?
vs 20-26 How did Jesus react to the popularity?
Why was it when informed that Greeks wanted to meet him did he speak of his impending death?
How does what he says concerning dying and bearing fruit relate to real life?
What does it mean to follow him?


Comments

vs 2-8 Here we see somewhat of a reflection of the roles Martha and Mary played in Luke 10 in which Martha served and Mary spent time with the Lord. Martha is a very active person and did recognize and ackowledge Jesus as Christ, which is quite commendable. But Mary was more reflective and came out with an even more profound application of her faith.

Though much of the motivations behind her actions must be inferred, yet I would say that in pouring oil on his feet and wiping his feet with her hair she was reflecting that which was done by the sinful woman of Luke 7:37,38 who did this as an act of repentance. Indeed that Mary may have been that woman depending on how we interpret John 11:2.  In any case I would say Mary may have identified with that woman and was saying that she too was a sinful woman in need of forgiveness. Now Jesus also states that she did this in preparation for his burial. But why just annoint the feet? And furthermore in what sense did she view Christ's impending death? Was it simply that she forsaw that since people were out to kill him eventually he would killed? Or was it something more? I think she recognized him not only as Christ, but as the Lamb of God to be sacrificed for the sins of the world. Animal sacrifices were central to Jewish worship. But it makes no sense that an animal, something which is lower than man, can pay for the sins of people. The righteous would have to infer that these are but symbolic of that which was to come - the sacrifice of Christ himself - which is of much greater value. Mary's annointing of the Lord was not an embalming, but rather a pouring of oil on the sacrifice, which was a common practice under the Mosaic Law. For example: "you must sacrifice as a burnt offering to the LORD a lamb a year old without defect, together with its grain offering of two-tenths of an ephah of fine flour mixed with oiló an offering made to the LORD by fire, a pleasing aromaó and its drink offering of a quarter of a hin of wine."Lev 23:12,13 The oil Mary used was nard "the head or spike of a fragrant East Indian plant belonging to the genus Valerianna, which yields a juice of delicious odour which the ancients used (either pure or mixed) in the preparation of a most precious ointment." OLB

Judas saw this as a waste. And here's a rare instance in which he unveils his true nature. For Judas was as a tare among the wheat. Or as Jesus said of him previously, "Have I not chosen you, the Twelve? Yet one of you is a devil!" (He meant Judas, the son of Simon Iscariot, who, though one of the Twelve, was later to betray him.) John 6:70,71 Thus be aware that when other "Christians" criticize you for wasting yourself on your manner of devotion to Christ, they may also be revealing their true nature as wolves among the flock. Others may criticize you for spending too much on spiritual matters and not enough on material matters. And while there is a balance of these, the unspiritual tend to completely devalue the spiritual and even concerning the material demand of others what they don't demand of themselves. Here we see that Judas, while pretending to appear to have concern for the poor, only wanted to get a hold of the money. Paul also warns of greedy people in the Christian community. "Unlike so many, we do not peddle the word of God for profit."  2Cor 2:17 And particularly in choosing overseers, they should not be greedy. 1Tim 3:3,8; Titus 1:7 Yet Jesus chose Judas to be in such a position of authority despite this fact. But he probably did this to represent the fact that wolves will exist among the religious leaders in the Christian community, as also Paul affirms, "I know that after my departure, vicious wolves will enter in among you, not sparing the flock. Men will arise from among your own selves, speaking perverse things, to draw away the disciples after them." Acts 20:29,30

But concerning the poor, there are always opportunities to meet their needs (See also the Charity page) But all things have their time. Jesus was only briefly on earth in human form to carry out his mission. That was the priority at the time. So also there is a priority even concerning the poor. For in vain do we provide for their physical needs if in the end they go to hell. Thus while both physical and spiritual needs must be met, the priority is on the spiritual.

vs 9-11 I wonder how popular Jesus would be if he hadn't done miracles. Perhaps he would be no more popular than the ordinary Christian today. More likely, having offended the religious elite, he'd probably be reckoned a heretic and be shunned. But he certainly earned clout from his miracles. Who wouldn't want to come to talk with a man who was raised from the dead and with the man who raised him? But the chief priests were a little unclear on the concept. Why would they seek to destroy the evidence if they were concerned for the truth? Actually their attitude is not uncommon even in the Christian community. For there are many caught up in human dogma on various issues and would overlook, or try to slander the actual facts, even falsifying their own facts to promote their own dogma.

In his parable of the Rich Man and Lazarus Jesus' main point is given in Luke 16:31 "If they donít listen to Moses and the prophets, neither will they be persuaded if one rises from the dead." And here we see the application. And in John 5:46 he said, "For if you believed Moses, you would believe me; for he wrote about me." The problem with the unbelieving Jews is not that they didn't have sufficient evidence presented to them, but that they didn't believe Moses and the Prophets. Jews today who reject Christ as the Messiah simply do not believe Moses and the Prophets in the way God intended. They do not read them in the sense in which God intended them to be read. "For indeed we have had good news preached to us, even as they also did, but the word they heard didnít profit them, because it wasnít mixed with faith by those who heard." Hebrews 4:2 But why didn't they listen? The main reason why both Jews and Gentiles disbelieve, even after having sufficient evidence presented to them, was simply because "men loved the darkness rather than the light; for their works were evil." John 3:19 And "furthermore, since they did not think it worthwhile to retain the knowledge of God, he gave them over to a depraved mind"Romans 1:28 Thus they became irrational and unreasonable, their conscience also being corrupted.

vs 12-19 The feast was the feast of the Passover. This incorporated two events. It started with the sacrifice of the passover lamb followed by a 7 day feast of unleavened bread. Depending on the context, "Passover" may refer to the first day in which the lamb is sacrificed and eaten, or to the 7 days following that. Mary provided her offering of oil poured on the sacrifice. But another type of sacrifice instituted under the Law of Moses was known as the "wave offering". It was not used to atone for sin but rather for thanksgiving. Waving their palm branches the people were giving acknowledgement and thanks to God for the coming King. But what they may not have realized is that they were also presenting a wave offering for the sacrifice to be made to God. We can see such a practice in the book of Revelation as well, 'After these things I looked, and behold, a great multitude, which no man could number, out of every nation and of all tribes, peoples, and languages, standing before the throne and before the Lamb, dressed in white robes, with palm branches in their hands.   They cried with a loud voice, saying, "Salvation be to our God, who sits on the throne, and to the Lamb!'"  Rev 7:9,10 And in Leviticus concerning the Feast of Tabernacles that "On the first day you are to take choice fruit from the trees, and palm fronds, leafy branches and poplars, and rejoice before the LORD your God for seven days." Lev 23:40

Verse 13 incorporates part of Ps 118:26 which goes: "Blessed is he who comes in the name of Yahweh!" But prophetically in that same Psalm it is also written, "The stone which the builders rejected has become the head of the corner." Ps 118:22 As well as referencing light, of which Jesus said he was the light of the world, and also referencing a living sacrifice. "Yahweh is God, and he has given us light. Bind the sacrifice with cords, even to the horns of the altar." Ps 118:27 (Sacrifices were normally killed before being offered up as a burnt offering and therefore cords were not needed. Therefore this refers to a living sacrifice of whom Christ is the fulfillment.) Or the NIV translation "The LORD is God, and he has made his light shine upon us. With boughs in hand, join in the festal procession up to the horns of the altar." Here the boughs would be the palm branches and a procession would be made up to the altar for the sacrifice. In this case the sacrifice was Jesus Christ.

The whole quote in verse 15 goes:
"Rejoice greatly, O Daughter of Zion! Shout, Daughter of Jerusalem! See, your king comes to you, righteous and having salvation, gentle and riding on a donkey, on a colt, the foal of a donkey." Zech 9:9 His riding on a donkey as opposed to a horse, or horse and chariot, was to represent his being gentle and humble. He comes not simply to rule, but the bring salvation.

vs 17 Here we see how the resurrection of Lazarus bought him clout among the crowd.

vs 19 The religious elite felt threatened by his increasing popularity and were kicking themselves for not having taken more direct action against him when they had the chance. Though they would arrest him later under the guise of giving him an impartial judgement, yet they had already made up their minds and would not listen nor consider the implications of the miracles.

vs 20-26 These Greeks were probably among those Jesus spoke of saying, "I have other sheep, which are not of this fold." John 10:16  But his earthly preaching ministry was devoted to the Jews as he said, "I wasnít sent to anyone but the lost sheep of the house of Israel."Matthew 15:24  His ministry to the Gentiles would come after his death, resurrection and ascension in which he would send the Holy Spirit to minister through the believers to bring the gospel to the nations.

Yet we learn something interesting here. For in the peak of his glorification on earth when he was praised by Jew and Gentiles, he spoke of his death. There are those who glory in the things of this life. They become successful, popular, and build buildings and establish institutions to themselves. And many expected Jesus to do just that. They expected him to become King, kill off his enemies, and establish an institutional government. So also Christians have often had a misconception about the ministry and what Jesus has called us to. Jesus has not called us to love our lives, but to hate our lives. And popularity is not a measure of fruitfulness. To be fruitful we need to die to our misconceptions. Death may involve humiliation or death to our expectations. It may mean death to a ministry in allowing others to be successful in our place, as  John the Baptist said, "He must increase, but I must decrease." John 3:30  And it could even mean physical death as  the saying goes "the blood of the martyrs is the seed of the church." But notice also that taken literally Jesus is not correct in saying  "if it dies, it bears much fruit" If it actually dies, it bears no fruit. But a seed doesn't really die, it germinates and that is what Jesus meant. It died to being just a seed. So let us take in the word of God and let it break out of our shell to nourish others by applying it to our lives. To be a Christian means not simply that we agree with a set of teachings. Rather it means that we follow Jesus. If we claim to be serving the Lord, then we should be following his example.



The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015