翻譯:English 简体中文

約翰福音 13:1-20

除酵、之一

洗腳

13:1 逾越節以前,
耶穌知道自己離世歸父的時候到了。
他既然愛世間屬自己的人,就愛他們到底。
13:2 吃晚飯的時候,
(魔鬼已將賣耶穌的意思,放在西門的兒子加略人猶大心堙^,
13:3 耶穌知道父已將萬有交在他手堙A
且知道自己是從神出來的,又要歸到神那堨h,
13:4 就離席站起來,脫了衣服,
拿一條手巾束腰。
13:5 隨後把水倒在盆堙A就洗門徒的腳,
并用自己所束的手巾擦幹。

13:6 挨到西門彼得,彼得對他說:“主啊,你洗我的腳嗎?”
13:7 耶穌回答說:
“我所作的,你如今不知道,後來必明白。”
13:8 彼得說:“你永不可洗我的腳。”
耶穌說:“我若不洗你,你就與我無分了。”
13:9 西門彼得說:“主啊,不但我的腳,連手和頭也要洗。”
13:10 耶穌說:“凡洗過澡的人,只要把腳一洗,
全身就幹淨了。你們是幹淨的,然而不都是幹淨的。”
13:11 耶穌原知道要賣他的是誰,所以說:“你們不都是幹淨的。”

13:12 耶穌洗完了他們的腳,就穿上衣服,
又坐下,對他們說:“我向你們所作的,你們明白嗎?
13:13 你們稱呼我夫子,稱呼我主,你們說的不錯,我本來是。
13:14 我是你們的主,你們的夫子,尚且洗你們的腳,
你們也當彼此洗腳。
13:15 我給你們作了榜樣,叫你們照著我向你們所作的去作。
13:16 我實實在在地告訴你們,仆人不能大于主人﹔
差人也不能大于差他的人。
13:17 你們既知道這事,若是去行就有福了。
13:18 我這話不是指著你們眾人說的,我知道我所揀選的是誰。
現在要應驗經上的話,說:
‘同我吃飯的人,用腳踢我。’
13:19 如今事情還沒有成就,我要先告訴你們,
叫你們到事情成就的時候,可以信我是基督。
13:20 我實實在在地告訴你們,有人接待我所差遣的,
就是接待我﹔接待我,就是接待那差遣我的。”

問題討論

耶穌為什麼洗他們的腳?
為什麼耶穌對彼得說如果他不洗他的腳,他就與他無分了?
彼此洗腳是什麼意思?

注釋

概述

當他在世上的職任將要達到頂點的時候,耶穌想給他的門徒上最後幾堂關于如何跟隨他的課。逾越節的一部分就是除去所有的酵(發面的餅),這是耶穌在把職任交給他們的時候像徵性地做的和教他門徒的。在基督徒埵酗ㄕP種類的酵。耶穌說:“你們要謹慎,防備法利賽人和撒都該人的酵。”【馬太福音 16:6】 這在【馬太福音 16:12】 堻Q解釋為法利賽人和撒都該人的教訓。這種教訓是虛偽的,或者像耶穌在【路加福音 12:1】婸〞漕獐芊A會導致假冒為善:“你們要防備法利賽人的酵,就是假冒為善。”因此,錯謬的教訓和假教師應該從信徒中洗掉。猶大就是寓言中所說,羊群堛滲T的具體化身,耶穌馬上就要把他趕出去。類似地,保羅學著耶穌的樣子,當他在以弗所的職任快要結束的時候,告誡長老們說:“聖靈立你們作全群的監督,你們就當為自己謹慎,也為全群謹慎,牧養神的教會,就是他用自己血所買來的(或作“救贖的”)。我知道我去之後,必有凶暴的豺狼進入你們中間,不愛惜羊群。就是你們中間,也必有人起來,說悖謬的話,要引誘門徒跟從他們。”【使徒行傳 20:28-30】  保羅給加拉太人寫到:“把使女和她兒子趕出去。”【加拉太書 4:30】,使女就是奉割禮的教義,“她兒子”就是那些混到基督徒堛澈H奉割禮的、羊群堛滲T。耶穌要把帶領信徒的任務交給他的門徒,他們的責任之一就是要從他們中間洗掉錯謬的教訓和假教師,就像洗他們的腳那樣。一種酵就是墨守律法,如法利賽人和那幫守割禮的人所信奉的那樣。而另一種酵則是放蕩不羈,這是另一個極端,保羅曾在歌林多前書第五章中論要到逐出淫亂的“基督徒”時講到。他說:“你們這自夸是不好的。豈不知一點面酵能使全團發起來嗎?你們既是無酵的面,應當把舊酵除淨,好使你們成為新團。因為我們逾越節的羔羊基督已經被殺獻祭了。所以,我們守這節不可用舊酵,也不可用惡毒(或作“陰毒”)、邪惡的酵,只用誠實真正的無酵餅。”【歌林多前書 5:6-8】 繼續讀那一章顯示出他把這些概念不但應用到棄絕那個淫亂的人,也應用到棄絕那淫亂的作法。以上是些與洗腳有關的。

第2節 猶大作為一個假冒為善的人來參加宴席,他假裝信主,卻一心想要背叛主。彼得後書第二章 詳盡地描述了放蕩不羈的人,其中,他寫到:“正與你們一同坐席,就以自己的詭詐為快樂”

第3-5節 這塈畯怓搢鴠角j的對比:耶穌在既將榮耀地進入父的時候謙卑地屈尊做仆人的卑賤事,為他的門徒洗腳,這表明就像換嬰兒的尿片是父母的活一樣,卑賤、勞苦的活是管事的人的任務。洗腳在當時是普通的事,因為人穿的是涼鞋,而路上有很多塵土和牲口的糞便。就像現在有許多人家進門要脫鞋一樣,當時要洗腳。這一般是仆人或自己做的。在耶穌到法利賽人西門家做客的時候,他責備他說:“我進了你的家,你沒有給我水洗腳。”【路加福音 7:44】 因為西門不是特別熱情好客。

但有意思的是他是遇越節的晚餐之後給他們洗的腳!為什麼是在餐後而不是在飯前呢?你會注意到猶大也是在晚餐之後出去的,的確,猶大是在吃了聖餐的餅,喝了聖餐的酒之後離開的。這些事件是有關聯的。因為當猶大與他們一同吃聖餐的時候,他們的腳是贓的。

第6-11節 如果我們不讓主為我們服務,我們就與他無分了。因為如果我們不讓主去經受為我們死和受難的痛苦和凌辱,他就與我們無幹。這堙A洗腳比喻兩件事。其一就是當我們在這個世界的時候,雖然聚會是在神的眼前洗過和潔淨的,任然會有不幹淨的成員,就像猶大一樣需要被洗掉。但我們還可得出第二個比喻,就是對于具體每一個人來說,我們雖然洗淨了我們的罪,但當我們行在世上時還是會粘惹上罪,我們必須不時地將它們洗掉(【約翰一書 1:9】)像徵著這個的是在摩西律法下建立的神殿儀式,其中規定在進入聖所前必須在銅盆堿~濯。“你要用銅作洗濯盆和盆座,以便洗濯。要將盆放在會幕和壇的中間,在盆堬惜禲C亞倫和他的兒子要在這盆堿~手洗腳。他們進會幕,或是就近壇前供職,給耶和華獻火祭的時候,必用水洗濯,免得死亡。” 【出埃及記 30:18-20】

第12-17節 許多人今天強調耶酥是救世主,卻有些忽視了他還是什麼。耶酥是主,接受他為主就意味著順從他。我們還應該認識到的一個方面就是耶酥是老師。那不光能從他說的話堶惇搘X,還可從他在福音堛漕ぅ^看出。他總是在教什麼,就連他在事奉時也是如此。跟隨耶酥意味著我們也要當老師,雖然也許不是正式的。就像大多數老師所知道的那樣,教不只是講,學也不光是聽。致于彼此洗腳,我不認為這應該像有些團契那樣從字面上理解。更重要的是我在上面提到的它所像徵的應用。

第18節 再一次地,他在洗腳這個背景下指著猶大說的話肯定了從團契堸ㄔh酵的概念。(還要注意“用腳踢”和“腳”的關系)

第20節 前面,耶酥講到了接受父和接受他的關聯。現在又是進一步的關聯。那些接受信徒的也接受耶酥,因而也接受父。約翰後來寫到:“我們是屬神的,認識神的就聽從我們。不屬神的就不聽從我們。”【約翰一書 4:6】 在下一章塈畯戔N聽到耶酥更多地講到門徒的使命。


2020年09月26日

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

John 13:1-20 (web)

Removing the Leaven: Part I

Washing the Feet

1  Now before the feast of the Passover,
Jesus knowing that his time had come that he would depart from this world to the Father,
having loved his own who were in the world, he loved them to the end.
2  After supper, the devil having already put into the heart of Judas Iscariot,
Simonís son, to betray him,
3  Jesus, knowing that the Father had given all things into his hands,
and that he came forth from God, and was going to God,
4  arose from supper, and laid aside his outer garments.
He took a towel, and wrapped a towel around his waist.
5  Then he poured water into the basin, and began to wash the disciplesí feet,
and to wipe them with the towel that was wrapped around him.

6  Then he came to Simon Peter. He said to him, "Lord, do you wash my feet?"
7  Jesus answered him,
"You donít know what I am doing now, but you will understand later."
8  Peter said to him, "You will never wash my feet!"
Jesus answered him, "If I donít wash you, you have no part with me."
9  Simon Peter said to him, "Lord, not my feet only, but also my hands and my head!"
10  Jesus said to him, "Someone who has bathed only needs to have his feet washed,
but is completely clean. You are clean, but not all of you."
11  For he knew him who would betray him, therefore he said, "You are not all clean."

12  So when he had washed their feet, put his outer garment back on,
and sat down again, he said to them, "Do you know what I have done to you?
13  You call me, ĎTeacherí and ĎLord.í You say so correctly, for so I am.
14  If I then, the Lord and the Teacher, have washed your feet,
you also ought to wash one anotherís feet.
15  For I have given you an example, that you also should do as I have done to you.
16  Most assuredly I tell you, a servant is not greater than his lord,
neither one who is sent greater than he who sent him.
17  If you know these things, blessed are you if you do them.
18  I donít speak concerning all of you. I know whom I have chosen.
But that the Scripture may be fulfilled,
ĎHe who eats bread with me has lifted up his heel against me.í
19  From now on, I tell you before it happens,
that when it happens, you may believe that I AM.
20  Most assuredly I tell you, he who receives whomever I send,
receives me; and he who receives me, receives him who sent me."


Discussion Questions

Why did Jesus wash their feet?
Why did Jesus tell Peter that if he didn't wash him he would have no part of him?
What does it mean to wash one another's feet?


Comments

Overview

As the culmination of his ministry on earth was approaching Jesus wanted to teach his disciples some of his final lessons in following him. Part of the feast of the Passover involved removing all leaven (yeasted bread), and this is what Jesus was symbolically doing and teaching his disciples to do as he would pass on the ministry to them. There are different versions of leaven in the Christian community. Jesus said, "Take heed and beware of the yeast of the Pharisees and Sadducees." Mat 16:6 which is explained in Matt 16:12 as the teaching of the Pharisees and Sadducees. Such teachings are also hypocritical or lead to hypocrisy as Jesus says in Luke 12:1 "Beware of the yeast of the Pharisees, which is hypocrisy." Thus false teachings along with false teachers should be washed out from among the Assembly of believers. Judas himself was the personification of the proverbial wolf among sheep whom Jesus was to drive out shortly. And similarly Paul following Jesus' example, at the end of his ministry in Ephesus exhorted the elders there saying, "Take heed, therefore, to yourselves, and to all the flock, in which the Holy Spirit has made you overseers, to shepherd the assembly of the Lord and God which he purchased with his own blood.  For I know that after my departure, vicious wolves will enter in among you, not sparing the flock.  Men will arise from among your own selves, speaking perverse things, to draw away the disciples after them." Acts 20:28-30  And to the Galatians Paul writes, "Throw out the handmaid and her son."Gal 4:30 , the handmaid being the doctrine of the circumcision and "her son" being the group of the circumcision itself infiltrating the Christian community as wolves among sheep. Jesus was going to hand over the leadership of the assemby of believers to his disciples and part of their responsibility will be to wash away false teachings and false teachers from among them, as allegorized in the foot washing. One version of the leaven is legalism as advocated by the Pharisees and the group of the circumcision. But another version of the leaven is licentiousness, being the other extreme, and is spoken of by Paul in 1Cor 5 in which Paul was excommunicating an immoral "Christian" from the assembly. In part he says, "Your boasting is not good. Donít you know that a little yeast leavens the whole lump?  Purge out the old yeast, that you may be a new lump, even as you are unleavened. For indeed Christ, our Passover, has been sacrificed in our place.  Therefore let us keep the feast, not with old yeast, neither with the yeast of malice and wickedness, but with the unleavened bread of sincerity and truth." 1Cor 5:6-8 And reading further in that section reveals his application of these concepts in repudiating both the immoral man and his immoral practices. Such is the relevance of feet washing.

vs 2 Judas came to the feast as a hypocrite with every intent to betray the Lord while feigning belief in him. 2Peter 2 gives an extensive description of the licentious partly of which he describes as "reveling in their deceit while they feast with you".

vs 3-5 Here we see a great contrast in the fact that it speaks of Jesus about to enter his glory returning to the Father yet in humility he condescends to the menial and earthy task of washing his disciple's feet, indicating that much as it's the parent's job to change their baby's diapers, so the dirty job is often the task of those in charge. Feet washing was a common practice at the time as people wore sandals and the roads were dusty and full of animal dung. Therefore just as it is common today in some households to remove one's shoes upon entering a house, so it was common then to wash feet. This was carried out either by a servant or by the person himself. When Jesus entered the house of Simon the Pharisee he later criticized him saying, "I came into your house. You did not give me any water for my feet." Luke 7:44 For Simon was not being particularly hospitable.

But it is interesting at the Passover feast that it was after supper the he washed their feet! Why after supper and not before? You will notice later that Judas also doesn't leave until after supper, indeed it wasn't until after Judas had eaten and drank of the communion bread and wine that he left. These events are correlated. For while Judas was present among them partaking of the feast of communion, their feet were dirty.

vs 6-11 If we don't allow the Lord to serve us, then we can have no part of him. For if we do not allow the Lord to go through the pain and humiliation of suffering and dying for us, he will have nothing to do with us. There are two allegories here with the feet washing. One is that while we are in the world, the assembly though washed and sanctified in God's sight nonetheless will have some dirty members, like Judas which need to be washed away. This seems to be his main point as we notice a number of references to Judas. But secondarily we might also infer another analogy being on an individual basis, we are washed clean of our sins, but there are also sins incurred as we walk on the earth from which we need periodically to be washed (1John 1:9) Analogous to this also is the temple ceremonies established under the Law of Moses in which prior to entry into the Holy Place one would wash in the Bronze laver. "Make a bronze basin, with its bronze stand, for washing. Place it between the Tent of Meeting and the altar, and put water in it.  Aaron and his sons are to wash their hands and feet with water from it. Whenever they enter the Tent of Meeting, they shall wash with water so that they will not die." Ex 30:18-20

vs 12-17 Many today emphasize Jesus being Savior, and somewhat overlook what else he is.  Jesus is Lord and accepting him as Lord obligates us to obey him. But another aspect we should realize is that Jesus is a teacher. And that is clearly evident not simply because he says so, but from his ministry in the gospels. He's always teaching something, even when he serves. Following Jesus means that we also need to be teachers, though maybe not in an official capacity. And as most teachers know, teaching is not simply telling, nor is learning simply a matter of listening. As for washing one another's feet, I don't think this is to be taken literally as some groups do. More importantly is the allegorical applications I mentioned above.

vs 18 And once again his reference to Judas in the context of this foot washing affirms the idea of cleansing the leaven from the group. (Notice also the correlation between "heel" and "feet")

vs 20 Previously Jesus spoke of the correlation between people accepting the Father and people accepting him. Now there is a further correlation. Those who receive the believers also receive Christ and therefore also receive the Father. John later writes, "We are of God. He who knows God listens to us. He who is not of God doesnít listen to us." 1John 4:6 And we will hear Jesus speak more of the disciple's mission in the chapters following.



The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015