翻譯: English 中文 GB

約翰福音20:1-31

耶穌的復活:之一

空墳

1  七日的第一日清早,天還黑的時候,
抹大拉的馬利亞來到墳墓那里,看見石頭從墳墓挪開了。
2  就跑來見西門彼得和耶穌所愛的那個門徒,
對他們說:
“有人把主從墳墓里挪了去,
我們不知道放在哪里。”
3  彼得和那門徒就出來,往墳墓那里去。
4  兩個人同跑,那門徒比彼得跑得更快,先到了墳墓。
5  低頭往里看,就見細麻布還放在那里,只是沒有進去。
6  西門彼得隨後也到了,進墳墓里去,
就看見細麻布還放在那里,
7  又看見耶穌的裹頭巾,
沒有和細麻布放在一處,是另在一處卷著。
8  先到墳墓的那門徒也進去,
看見就信了。
9  因為他們還不明白聖經的意思,就是耶穌必要從死里復活。

復活的基督向馬利亞顯現

10  於是兩個門徒回自己的住處去了。
11  馬利亞卻站在墳墓外面哭。
哭的時候,低頭往墳墓里看,
12  就見兩個天使,穿著白衣,在安放耶穌身體的地方坐著,
一個在頭,一個在腳。
13  天使對她說:“婦人,你為什么哭?”
她說:“因為有人把我主挪了去,
我不知道放在哪里。”
14  說了這話,就轉過身來,看見耶穌站在那里,
卻不知道是耶穌。
15  耶穌問她說:“婦人,為什么哭?你找誰呢?”
馬利亞以為是看園的,就對他說:
“先生,若是你把他移了去,
請告訴我,你把他放在哪里,我便去取他。”
16  耶穌說:“馬利亞。”
馬利亞就轉過來,用希伯來話對他說:“拉波尼!”(拉波尼就是夫子的意思。)
17  耶穌說:“不要摸我,因我還沒有升上去見我的父。
你往我弟兄那里去,告訴他們說,
我要升上去見我的父,也是你們的父﹔見我的神,也是你們的神。”
18  抹大拉的馬利亞就去告訴門徒說:“我已經看見了主。”
她又將主對她說的這話告訴他們。

第一次向門徒們顯現

19  那日(就是七日的第一日)晚上,
門徒所在的地方,因怕猶太人,門都關了。
耶穌來站在當中,對他們說:“愿你們平安。”
20  說了這話,就把手和肋旁指給他們看。
門徒看見主,就喜樂了。
21  耶穌又對他們說:
“愿你們平安。父怎樣差遣了我,我也照樣差遣你們。”
22  說了這話,就向他們吹一口氣,
說:“你們受聖靈。
23  你們赦免誰的罪,誰的罪就赦免了﹔
你們留下誰的罪,誰的罪就留下了。”

疑惑的多馬

24  那十二個門徒中,有稱為低土馬的多馬。耶穌來的時候,他沒有和他們同在。
25  那些門徒就對他說:“我們已經看見主了。”
多馬卻說:“我非看見他手上的釘痕,用指頭探入那釘痕,
又用手探入他的肋旁,我總不信。”
26  過了八日,門徒又在屋里,多馬也和他們同在,門都關了。
耶穌來站在當中說:“愿你們平安。”
27  就對多馬說:“伸過你的指頭來,摸(‘摸’原文作‘看’)我的手﹔
伸出你的手來,探入我的肋旁。不要疑惑,總要信。”
28  多馬說:“我的主,我的神。”
29  耶穌對他說:“你因看見了我纔信﹔
那沒有看見就信的有福了。”

結束語

30  耶穌在門徒面前,另外行了許多神跡,
沒有記在這書上。
31  但記這些事,要叫你們信耶穌是基督,
是神的兒子﹔并且叫你們信了他,就可以因他的名得生命。


問題討論

如何解釋几本福書里關於復活的描述看上去有所不同這一佯謬?
在此之前,他們對耶穌復活的理解是什么?
vs 8 約翰在此以前還沒有信的是什么?
信與理解的關系是什么?
vs 17 耶穌說:“不要摸我。”是什么意思?
耶穌從死里復活的意義是什么?
vs 21 他差遣他們去做什么?我們的使命與主的有什么相似之處?
vs 22 他們在此之前接受聖靈了嗎?(約翰福音7:39
vs 23 赦免罪和留下罪是什么意思?
你認為他所指的是什么罪?
神在什么條件下留下人的罪?
vs 24 多馬那樣疑惑是不是合理?為什么?
vs 29 按照這節經文,我們為什么比使徒們更有福?
為什么說沒有看見就信的更有福?
vs 30-31 為什么約翰福音對基督的傳道和復活的敘述不很詳盡?這與第29節有什么關系?
按照約翰福音,什么事實構成相信耶穌就是基督和神的兒子的足夠証據?
當你信耶穌時會發生了些什么?你自己的經歷是什么?


注釋

一個禮拜的頭一天是禮拜天,這是創世紀第一章里立定的,而第七天是安息日,也就是禮拜六。有些人把禮拜天稱為基督徒的安息日,但這個概念沒有什么聖經上的依據。盡管如此,因為基督是在禮拜天從死里復活的,基督徒一般把禮拜天作為聖日來慶祝。

許多人注意到四本福音書里關於復活的記載有些不太一樣。見網頁關於復活的佯謬的解釋。總地說來,在復活的前後發生了很多事,每一本福音的作者只記錄了其中的几件,就像約翰在第30節里說的那樣。所以,再加上修辭方法的不同,就很難說几本書所說的是相互矛盾的。

馬利亞對空墳的反應是憂傷,雖然它應該是盼望。馬利亞以為事情更糟糕了,而其實事情是更好了。在生活中,當我們只考慮屬世的事情時,事情就像死尸一樣越來越糟,而其實神卻在做工使事情變得越來越好。這一原理也體現在耶穌的話里:“我實實在在地告訴你們,一粒麥子不落在地里死了,仍舊是一粒。若是死了,就結出許多子粒來。” 約翰福音12:24約翰的反應則是出於信心的。我們也看見過那使他相信的空墳墓。我們在生活中會面臨許多困難,許多空墳墓,和許多空母腹,但要知道:“我們曉得萬事都互相效力,叫愛神的人得益處,就是按他旨意被召的人。”羅馬書8:28

雖然馬利亞沒有能夠認識到所發生的是怎么回事,但因為她如此地悲傷,主首先向她顯現。因為“耶和華靠近傷心的人,拯救靈性痛悔的人。”詩篇34:18,在同一章詩篇里還說:“又保全他一身的骨頭,連一根也不折斷。”這在前一章說耶穌的死時曾引用到。 另一章詩篇說:“我的心哪,你為何憂悶?為何在我里面煩躁?應當仰望神,因我還要稱贊他。他是我臉上的光榮(原文作“幫助”),是我的神。”詩篇43:5

vs 17 為什么耶穌不讓馬利亞摸他,而在馬太福音28:9里我們卻看到那些婦女抱住他的腳拜他呢?一般在說歷史時,“摸”用的是不定過去時,通常指的是過去某一時刻發生的事情。但這里用卻的是現在時,指的是生活方式意義下的行為。因為從某種意義上說,馬利亞還是抱著主在世上時的形體,還沒有意識到他復活的意義。因為他的復活與拉撒路以及其它一些人復活的意義不同,他們是復活到他們死前的形體,也就是將來還會死的形體。而他是以榮耀的方式復活的,就如我們在最後的復活時那樣,他正在去他父那里的路上。所以他只是在說:“很高興見到你,但我不會在這里待太久。我只是在我去天上的路中經過這里。”事實上,今天每一個基督徒也都可以這么說。

vs 19-23 耶穌差遣他的門徒
就像耶穌安慰馬利亞那樣,耶穌在他的門徒們害怕猶太人的時候把平安帶給他們。他將要通過聖靈給他們帶來的平安會給他們巨大的勇氣。取代懼怕的將是他們的自信,而這本身就是對福音的肯定。

就像父差遣我那樣

就像父差遣他一樣,他也照樣差遣他們去做具體的事。使命所給予的不光是責任,還有去完成使命的權柄。我們在馬太福音28:18-20讀到了他所給予的使命:“天上、地下所有的權柄,都賜給我了。所以,你們要去使萬民作我的門徒,奉父子聖靈的名,給他們施洗(或作‘給他們施洗,歸於父子聖靈的名。’)。凡我所吩咐你們的,都教訓他們遵守,我就常與你們同在,直到世界的末了。”完成這個使命是每一個基督徒的責任。“人若說他住在主里面,就該自己照主所行的去行。” 約翰一書2:6

聖靈

 接受了使命,他們還需要聖靈來幫助他們執行使命。因為當神在把職責交給我們時,他同時也將盡職責的能力交給我們。我們記得約翰福音7:39里說:“那時還沒有賜下聖靈來,因為耶穌尚未得著榮耀。”所以他命令他們接受聖靈,并向他們吹了一口氣。但那并不是說他當時就把聖靈賜給了他們。因為他還沒有回到他父那里去,而他說過:“我若不去,保惠師就不到你們這里來。”約翰福音16:7我們還在記載那件事之後直到他升天以前的事件的使徒行傳第一章里看到他說:“不要離開耶路撒冷,要等候父所應許的,就是你們聽見我說過的。約翰是用水施洗,但不多几日,你們要受聖靈的洗。”使徒行傳1:4,5 那么耶穌為什么要向他們吹一口氣呢?“吹氣”一詞只有在這里用到,還有LXX(賽普途景──舊約的希臘文譯本)的譯者在創世紀2:7里用到,在那里神往亞當鼻孔里吹氣,他就成了有靈的活人。還有以西結書37:9“主耶和華如此說:‘氣息啊,要從四方(原文作“風”)而來,吹在這些被殺的人身上,使他們活了。’”  他對他們吹氣代表著新的生命將在五旬節賜給他們,屆時,他們將重生。的確,五旬節是摩西律法立定的,也稱作初熟節,教會就是在五旬節始創的。

饒恕

當我們行如基督時,我們應該像基督那樣去饒恕。但當我們仔細看基督是怎樣饒恕人時,就明白他的饒恕不是毫無條件的。基督所饒恕的人基本有兩種。他所饒恕的一種就是悔改的人,在路加福音17:4里他命令信徒說:“倘若他一天七次得罪你,又七次回轉說:‘我懊悔了,’你總要饒恕他。”他偶而還饒恕的另一種人就是由於良心敗壞而出於無知犯罪的人。“父啊,赦免他們,因為他們所作的,他們不曉得。”路加福音23:34這與知道而故意犯罪的不同,他要求故意犯罪的必須悔改。但是,由於福音事實上已經被廣氾地傳開,無知越來越不能再被當成藉口了。“世人蒙昧無知的時候,神并不監察,如今卻吩咐各處的人都要悔改。”使徒行傳17:30然而,還是有許多情形,特別是在與非基督徒打交道的時候,我們應該說:“父啊,赦免他們,因為他們所作的,他們不曉得。”對這些概念更詳細的說明,可見關於饒恕的查經。

但作為神的子民,我們還應該明白,饒恕是需要權柄的。這也是耶穌在這里說這話的意思。我們不但被授予傳福音的權柄,而且當我們赦免別人時,神也赦免他們。不過在學了整個新約以後,我想我們首先應該理解到他指的那些是對我們個人所犯的罪。如果有人不是對你犯罪而是對別的某個人犯罪,那么你是無權去饒恕的。只有罪的對像纔有權饒恕。從另一方面來講,沒有人是孤立的,任何罪都會影響到我們。那樣的話,我們有權力饒恕對我們犯的那一部分罪。但所有的罪,就連所謂的無受害者的罪,都是對神的罪。

當我們赦免別人對我們所犯的某些具體的罪時,神也赦免他們的這些罪。這并不是說因為他赦免一個人的某些具體的罪就赦免那個人所有的罪。那么把罪留下又是怎么回事呢?耶穌在此似乎肯定在有些情況下把罪留下,或者說不赦免是合理的。這與聖經里神的作為是一致的。

疑惑的多馬

vs 24-29 耶穌在這里并不是不鼓勵健康的懷疑,而多馬則是有些不講道理。聖經的信不是盲目的信,因為神總是為他的話提供証據。然而今天大多數証據都是別人的見証,比如使徒們在聖經里為神跡作見証。耶穌在這里是說,雖然多馬沒有見到他,但是其它使徒所作的見証應該足以為信。為什么靠聽見別人的見証就信了更有福呢?因為那是神樂於接受的信。“信就是所望之事的實底,是未見之事的確據。” 希伯來書11:1 還有“人非有信,就不能得神的喜悅﹔因為到神面前來的人,必須信有神,且信他賞賜那尋求他的人。” 希伯來書11:6 所以信包括尋求神。那些不尋求神的是在不講道理地懷疑。

就“我的主,我的神”,羅博遜(Robertson)寫道:“這不是驚嘆,而是稱呼,雖然用的是主格,其實它是呼格,這在當時地中海一帶使用的希臘文(Koine)里是很普遍的。多馬完全信服了,於是就毫不猶豫地稱復活的基督為主和神。耶穌接受了這些稱呼,并且為多馬這樣做稱贊他。”

結束語

vs 30-31 繼續信這個主題,約翰作見証說耶穌除此之外還行了許多其它神跡,我們雖然沒有看見就信了,因為他的見証就是足夠的証據。正是因為信耶穌就是基督,神的兒子,我們纔有了生命。




庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Wednesday, 29-Jul-2015 17:23:10 EDT

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

John 20:1-31 (web)

Jesus' Resurrection: Part I

The Empty Tomb

1  Now on the first day of the week, Mary Magdalene went early,
while it was still dark, to the tomb, and saw the stone taken away from the tomb.
2  Therefore she ran and came to Simon Peter,
and to the other disciple whom Jesus loved, and said to them,
"They have taken away the Lord out of the tomb,
and we donít know where they have laid him!"
3  Therefore Peter and the other disciple went out, and they went toward the tomb.
4  They both ran together. The other disciple outran Peter, and came to the tomb first.
5  Stooping and looking in, he saw the linen cloths lying, yet he didnít enter in.
6  Then Simon Peter came, following him, and entered into the tomb.
He saw the linen cloths lying,
7  and the cloth that had been on his head,
not lying with the linen cloths, but rolled up in a place by itself.
8  So then the other disciple who came first to the tomb also entered in,
and he saw and believed.
9  For as yet they didnít know the Scripture, that he must rise from the dead.

Mary Encounters the Resurrected Christ

10  So the disciples went away again to their own homes.
11  But Mary was standing outside at the tomb weeping.
So, as she wept, she stooped and looked into the tomb,
12  and she saw two angels in white sitting, one at the head,
and one at the feet, where the body of Jesus had lain.
13  They told her, "Woman, why are you weeping?"
She said to them, "Because they have taken away my Lord,
and I donít know where they have laid him."
14  When she had said this, she turned around and saw Jesus standing,
and didnít know that it was Jesus.
15  Jesus said to her, "Woman, why are you weeping? Who are you looking for?"
She, supposing him to be the gardener, said to him,
"Sir, if you have carried him away,
tell me where you have laid him, and I will take him away."
16  Jesus said to her, "Mary."
She turned and said to him, "Rhabbouni!" which is to say, "Teacher!"
17  Jesus said to her, "Donít touch me, for I havenít yet ascended to my Father;
but go to my brothers, and tell them,
ĎI am ascending to my Father and your Father, to my God and your God.í"
18  Mary Magdalene came and told the disciples that she had seen the Lord,
and that he had said these things to her.

The Disciples First Encounter

19  When therefore it was evening, on that day, the first day of the week,
and when the doors were locked where the disciples were assembled, for fear of the Jews,
Jesus came and stood in the midst, and said to them, "Peace be to you."
20  When he had said this, he showed them his hands and his side.
The disciples therefore were glad when they saw the Lord.
21  Jesus therefore said to them again,
"Peace be to you. As the Father has sent me, even so I send you."
22  When he had said this, he breathed on them,
and said to them, "Receive the Holy Spirit!
23  Whoeverís sins you forgive, they are forgiven them.
Whoeverís sins you retain, they have been retained."

Doubting Thomas

24  But Thomas, one of the twelve, called Didymus, wasnít with them when Jesus came.
25  The other disciples therefore said to him, "We have seen the Lord!"
But he said to them, "Unless I see in his hands the print of the nails,
and put my hand into his side, I will not believe."
26  After eight days again his disciples were inside, and Thomas was with them.
Jesus came, the doors being locked, and stood in the midst, and said, "Peace be to you."
27  Then he said to Thomas, "Reach here your finger, and see my hands.
Reach here your hand, and put it into my side. Donít be unbelieving, but believing."
28  Thomas answered him, "My Lord and my God!"
29  Jesus said to him, "Because you have seen me, you have believed.
Blessed are those who have not seen, and have believed."

Epilog

30  Therefore Jesus did many other signs in the presence of his disciples,
which are not written in this book;
31  but these are written, that you may believe that Jesus is the Christ,
the Son of God, and that believing you may have life in his name.


Discussion Questions

How do you resolve the paradoxes between the different resurrection accounts?
What was their understanding of Jesus' resurrection prior to this?
vs 8 What was it that John had previously not believed?
And how is belief related to understanding?
vs 17 What did Jesus mean by "Don't touch me"?
What is the significance of Jesus' resurrection from the dead?
vs 21 What was he sending them to do? And how is our mission similar to that of the Lord's?
vs 22 Had they received the Holy Spirit prior to this? (John 7:39)
vs 23 What is significant of forgiving and retaining sins?
What kind of sins do you suppose he is referring to?
Under what conditions does God retain sins?
vs 24 Was Thomas being unreasonably skeptical? Why or why not?
vs 29 In what way are we more blessed than the apostles according to this verse?
Why is believing without see a more blessed condition?
vs 30-31 Why wasn't John comprehensive in speaking of the events surrounding Christ's ministry and resurrection? And how might this fact be related to verse 29?
What particular facts according to John constitute sufficient evidence to believe is the Christ, the Son of God?
What happens when you come to believe in Jesus? And how have you experienced that yourself?


Comments

The first day of the week is Sunday as established in Genesis 1 whereby the 7th day is the Sabbath, Saturday. Sunday is referred to by some as the Christian Sabbath, but there is little Biblical basis for such a concept. Nonetheless it is because Christ rose from the dead on Sunday that Christians generally celebrate it as a holy day.

Many have noted discrepencies between the resurrection accounts of the 4 gospels. See the web page on the Resolution to Resurrection Paradoxes. But generally speaking there were many things going on during and after the resurrection of which each gospel writers only notes a few events, which John also notes in verse 30. Given also the figures of speech being used it is unnecessary to infer any contradictions between the accounts.

Mary's reaction to the empty tomb was distress, and yet it should have been hope. Mary thought that the situation had gotten worse, but it had gotten much better. So also in life when we concern ourselves only with earthly matters like dead corpses situations may appear to get worse, but actually God is doing a work to make things much better. This principle is reflect in Jesus' saying, "Most assuredly I tell you, unless a grain of wheat falls into the earth and dies, it remains by itself alone. But if it dies, it bears much fruit." John 12:24 John's reaction however was one of faith. We had saw the empty tomb he believed. Many difficulties we will face in life, many empty tombs, or perhaps many empty wombs, but know that "all things work together for good for those who love God, to those who are called according to his purpose." Rom 8:28

Though Mary did not have the insight to understand what was going on, yet because she was so distressed the Lord visited her first. For "the LORD is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit."Psalm 34:18, which is also the same Psalm which says, "he protects all his bones, not one of them will be broken." which was quoted concerning Jesus death in the previous chapter. Another Psalm also says, "Why are you downcast, O my soul? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God." Ps 43:5

vs 17 Why is it that Jesus prohibs her to touch him and yet according to Matt 28:9 the other women took hold of his feet to worship him? Normally in speaking in an historic context "Touch" is in the aorist tense indicated a point in time event. But here it is in the present tense speaking of a lifestyle behavior. For Mary was in a sense holding on to the Lord in his earthly form and had not yet "grasped" the significance of his resurrection. For he had not been raised from the dead in the sense that Lazarus and others had been raised in which they were back in their form to die again some time in the future. Rather he was raised in a glorified manner as we will be in the final resurrection, and was on his way to the Father. So he was just saying, "Good to see you, but realize I'm not going to hang around here for very long. I'm just passing by on my way to heaven." In fact each Christian today can echo these words.

vs 19-23 Jesus Commissions his Disciples
Just as Jesus had comforted Mary, so in the midst of their fear of the Jews Jesus brings peace to his disciples. The peace that he will impart to them through the Holy Spirit will give them great boldness. Their fears will give way to confidence which will itself affirm the message of the gospel.

As the Father sent Me

He commissions them just as he was commission by the Father for a particular work. Commissioning imparts not only a sense of responsibility, but also a sense of authority to carry it out. We read of his commission in Matthew 28:18-20 "All authority has been given to me in heaven and on earth. Therefore go, and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all things that I commanded you. Behold, I am with you always, even to the end of the age." Fulfilling this commission is the responsibility of every individual Christian.  "Whoever claims to live in him must walk as Jesus did." 1 John 2:6

The Holy Spirit

 Having been commission, they still needed the Spirit to carry out their ministry. For when God gives responsibility He also gives ability to carry it out. We remember John 7:39, "Up to that time the Spirit had not been given, since Jesus had not yet been glorified." Therefore He commands them to receive the Holy Spirit and breathes on them. But that is not to say that he had given them the Holy Spirit at this point.  For he had not yet ascended to his Father, and as he said, "Unless I go away, the Counselor will not come to you; but if I go, I will send him to you." John 16:7 And we read in Acts 1 which occurred after these events and just before his ascension that he also said, "Donít depart from Jerusalem, but wait for the promise of the Father, which you heard from me.  For John indeed baptized in water, but you will be baptized in the Holy Spirit not many days from now." Acts 1:4,5 But then why did Jesus breathe on them? The word for "breathe" is used only here in the New Testament and by the LXX (Septuagint - Old Testament in greek) translators in Gen 2:7 where God breathed on Adam and he became a living soul. And in Ezekiel 37:9 "This is what the Sovereign LORD says: Come from the four winds, O breath, and breathe into these slain, that they may live.í"  His breathing on them represents the impartation of new life to be given them on Penetecost where they will be born-again. Indeed the feast of Penetecost, which was established in the Law of Moses, was also called the feast of the first fruits and it is at Pentecost that the church is first established.

Forgiveness

As we walk as Christ walked we should forgive as Christ forgave. But when we consider how Christ forgave people we come to realize that his forgiveness was not universal. There are basically two categories whom Christ forgives.  One is that he forgives the repentant and this he also commanded of the believers in Luke 17:4 If he sins against you seven times in the day, and seven times returns, saying, íI repent,í you shall forgive him."  Secondly on occasion he forgives those who sin out of an ignorance born of a corrupt conscience. "Father, forgive them, for they donít know what they are doing."Luke 23:34 This is in contrast to willful sin of which he requires repentance. But  the facts of the gospel having becomes more wide spread, ignorance is less an excuse."The times of ignorance therefore God overlooked. But now he commands that all people everywhere should repent." Acts 17:30 Nonetheless there are still many occasions, particularly dealing with non-Christians, in which we should also say, "Father, forgive them, for they donít know what they are doing." For more elaboration on these concepts see the study guide on Forgiveness.

But what we must also realize about forgiveness as the people of God is that it comes with authority. That is Jesus' point here. Not only are we given authority to preach the gospel, but also when we forgive others, God also forgives them. However having studied the rest of the New Testament I think we should understand the sense of this to be first of all that he is talking about sins committed against us personally. If someone has committed a sin not against you but against someone else you don't have the right to forgive. It was the person who was sinned against, they have the right to exercise forgiveness. On the other hand no man is an island and therefore any sin has some impact on us. That being the case we do have the right to forgive that portion of such sin. But all sins, even the so-called victimless crimes, are sins committed against God.

When we forgive particular sins committed against us, God also forgives such sins. This is not to say that he necessarily forgives all the person's sins just because he forgave some particular sins. But what about this idea of holding back forgiveness. Jesus appears here to affirm that at times holding back forgiveness is appropriate. And this is consistent with God's practice throughout the Bible.

Doubting Thomas

vs 24-29 Jesus is not discouraging a healthy skepticism here, but Thomas was being unreasonable. Biblical faith is not blind faith, for God has always provided evidence affirming his word. However much of the evidence today is simply the testimony of other people - like the apostles as they give their testimony in the Bible of the miracles done. Jesus is saying here that even though Thomas hadn't seen him, yet the testimony of the other apostles should have been sufficient evidence to believe. Why is it more blessed to believe on the testimony of others? Because it exercises the kind of faith acceptable to God. "Now faith is assurance of things hoped for, proof of things not seen." Heb 11:1 And "Without faith it is impossible to be well pleasing to him, for he who comes to God must believe that he exists, and that he is a rewarder of those who seek him." Heb 11:6 Thus faith involves seeking God. Those who don't seek God are unreasonably skeptical.

Concerning "My Lord and my God" Robertson writes, "Not exclamation, but address, the vocative case though the form of the nominative, a very common thing in the _Koiné_. Thomas was wholly convinced and did not hesitate to address the Risen Christ as Lord and God. And Jesus accepts the words and praises Thomas for so doing."

Eplilog

vs 30-31 And continuing on the issue of believing John testifies of Jesus doing many other signs besides these, and though we have not seen yet we believe because his testimony is sufficient evidence enough. It is by believing that Jesus is Christ, the Son of God, that we have life.



The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015