翻譯: English 中文 GB

約翰福音21:1-25

耶穌的復活:之二

1  這些事以後,耶穌在提比哩亞海邊又向門徒顯現。
他怎樣顯現記在下面。

2  有西門彼得和稱為低土馬的多馬,并加利利的迦拿人拿但業,
還有西庇太的兩個兒子,又有兩個門徒,都在一處。
3  西門彼得對他們說:“我打魚去。”
他們說:“我們也和你同去。”
他們就出去,上了船。
那一夜并沒有打著什么。

得魚

4  天將亮的時候,耶穌站在岸上。
門徒卻不知道是耶穌。
5  耶穌就對他們說:“小子,你們有喫的沒有?”
他們回答說:“沒有。”
6  耶穌說:“你們把網撒在船的右邊,就必得著。”
他們便撒下網去,竟拉不上來了,因為魚甚多。
7  耶穌所愛的那門徒對彼得說:“是主!”
那時西門彼得赤著身子,一聽見是主,
就束上一件外衣,跳在海里。
8  其余的門徒離岸不遠,約有二百肘
(古時以肘為尺,一肘約有今時尺半),
就在小船上把那網魚拉過來。

美餐

9  他們上了岸,就看見那里有炭火,上面有魚,又有餅。
10  耶穌對他們說:“把剛纔打的魚拿几條來。”
11  西門彼得就去(或作“上船”),把網拉到岸上。
那網滿了大魚,共一百五十三條。魚雖這樣多,網卻沒有破。
12  耶穌說:“你們來喫早飯。”
門徒中沒有一個敢問他:“你是誰?”因為知道是主。
13  耶穌就來拿餅和魚給他們。

喂養

14  耶穌從死里復活以後,
向門徒顯現,這是第三次。
15  他們喫完了早飯,
耶穌對西門彼得說:“約翰的兒子西門(‘約翰’馬太十六章十七節稱‘約拿’),你愛我比這些更深嗎?”
彼得說:“主啊,是的。你知道我愛你。”
耶穌對他說:“你喂養我的小羊。”
16  耶穌第二次又對他說:“約翰的兒子西門,你愛我嗎?”
彼得說:“主啊,是的。你知道我愛你。”
耶穌說:“你牧養我的羊。”
17  第三次對他說:“約翰的兒子西門,你愛我嗎?”
彼得因為耶穌第三次對他說:“你愛我嗎?”
就憂愁,對耶穌說:“主啊,你是無所不知的,你知道我愛你。”
耶穌說:“你喂養我的羊。

跟從

18  我實實在在地告訴你,你年少的時候,
自己束上帶子,隨意往來,
但年老的時候,你要伸出手來,
別人要把你束上,帶你到不愿意去的地方。”
19  耶穌說這話,是指著彼得要怎樣死,榮耀神。
說了這話,就對他說:“你跟從我吧!”

專心

20  彼得轉過來,
看見耶穌所愛的那門徒跟著,
就是在晚飯的時候,靠著耶穌胸膛說:
“主啊,賣你的是誰?”的那門徒。
21  彼得看見他,就問耶穌說:“主啊,這人將來如何?”
22  耶穌對他說:
“我若要他等到我來的時候,與你何干?你跟從我吧。”
23  於是這話傳在弟兄中間,說那門徒不死﹔
其實,耶穌不是說他不死,乃是說:
“我若要他等到我來的時候,與你何干?”

結束了!

24  為這些事作見証,并且記載這些事的,就是這門徒。
我們也知道他的見証是真的。
25  耶穌所行的事還有許多,若是一一地都寫出來,
我想,所寫的書,就是世界也容不下了。


問題討論

耶穌在這里重新做了哪件事?他為什么要重復做這件事?
vs 15 愛和喜歡有什么不同?為什么彼得難於說出“愛”一詞?
如何看出我們愛神勝過愛其它人?
耶穌在這里說我們如何表現出對神的愛?
vs 18 如果你聽到主說這樣關於你的預言,你的感受會是什么?
vs 22 你說彼得為什么會問他這個問題?
從耶穌的回答里我們學到了什么原則?


注釋

提比哩亞海就是以色列北邊的加利利海,我們知道,許多門徒都是在那里長大的,他們大多是漁夫。

打魚

這些事情後面的主題顯然是要給彼得一個關於傳道的圖像。注意到這一主題還出現在路加福音第五章里,那章書以耶穌用講道喂養羊開始。接著寫到:
4  講完了,對西門說:
“把船開到水深之處,下網打魚。”
5  西門說:
“夫子,我們整夜勞力,并沒有打著什么。
但依從你的話,我就下網。”
6  他們下了網,
就圈住許多魚,網險些裂開,
7  便招呼那只船上的同伴來幫助。
他們就來把魚裝滿了兩只船,甚至船要沉下去。
8  西門彼得看見,就俯伏在耶穌膝前說:
“主啊,離開我,我是個罪人。”
9  他和一切同在的人都驚訝這一網所打的魚。
10  他的伙伴,西庇太的兒子雅各、約翰,也是這樣。
耶穌對西門說:“不要怕,從今以後,你要得人了。”
11  他們把兩只船攏了岸,就撇下所有的,跟從了耶穌。
那是在此以前所發生的事,現在彼得因為三次不認主而被負罪感所拖累。作為得人的漁夫,彼得需要確知他已被主饒恕了。無疑,如果彼得繼續被這樣的負罪感所拖累的話,就會妨礙他的事奉。所以主把他帶到第一次招他的地方,抹去嚴辭,重新開始。就像他頭一次拋下一切跟隨耶穌一樣,彼得甚至在上岸之前就把所有的東西,包括別的人,打的魚,還有船都拋在後面,急切地要與主和好。正如耶穌所說,被赦免的人愛得更多。(路加福音7:47
許多人在朋友或親屬死去之前沒有機會與他們和解、修好。在人去世以後就再沒有機會與他們和好了,這會使人因為不可解除的負罪感而陷入絕望和憂郁。但彼得現在有機會和好,所以他急切地要抓住它。這種悔改是那些由神生的人自然的特征。
耶穌把他們稱作小子看似有些貶義,但事實上他們的信心和他們對他們的責任的認識還仍然很幼稚,正像許多基督徒不停地從一個教會換到另一個教會,到處找喫的,而不是尋地方事奉。但不管怎樣,如果他們餓了,耶穌就會喂他們。約翰提到共有一百五十三條魚這一事實,說明他們花了時間把魚一條條地數過。也許我們可以從中領悟到這個比喻對我們傳道的應用,耶穌說過:“來跟從我,我要叫你們得人如得魚一樣。”馬太福音4:19數魚告訴我們每一個人都是重要的,都應該數到。每一位都是可貴的。約翰還提到,那么多的魚,網卻沒有破,暗示一般來說網是會破的。在傳道時,雖然有時人數會非常多,但神會給我們能力去給所有的人傳道,而我們的網卻不破。但我們要把網撒在正確的一邊,撒在正確的地方,按主通過他的靈所指點的那樣。否則我們就會打一場空。但主也許會等我們堅持、忍受了一通宵以後纔清楚地指點我們,就像耶穌所說的那位恆切禱告的寡婦那個寓言里所說的那樣(路加福音18:1-18)。

美餐

如果魚代表被轉化的人和門徒的話,那么喫魚就似乎很粗魯。但回想一下在第四章里,當耶穌與井邊的婦女交談之後對門徒們說的話:“我有食物喫,是你們不知道的。”他是說與那為婦女的談話就給他充了飢。帶門徒也同樣可以充飢,約翰說:“我聽見我的兒女們按真理而行,我的喜樂就沒有比這個大的。” 約翰三書1:4 耶穌給的餅可比做他自己,他說:“我是從天上降下來生命的糧。人若喫這糧,就必永遠活著。我所要賜的糧,就是我的肉,為世人之生命所賜的。”約翰福音6:51

喂養

人表示對神的愛的方法就是遵守他的命令。“有了我的命令又遵守的,這人就是愛我的。”約翰福音14:21還有“我們遵守神的誡命,這就是愛他了。”約翰一書5:3  特別地,這包括喂養羊,也就是說造就基督徒。耶穌給基督徒的大使命就是要在各國去帶門徒,這是我們所有基督徒都要擔負起的責任。如果我們愛主的話,就應該運用主給我們的恩賜,按主的命令去做。

許多譯本都沒有准確地譯出耶穌與彼得的這段對話中所用的希臘文“愛”一詞與“喜歡”一詞的區別。“愛”在希臘文中是“agapao”,說的是關心別人的所需。“喜歡”在希臘文中是“phiIeo”,說的是喜好的感覺。耶穌問彼得的問題也許正是彼得自己正在問他自己的問題。

他問彼得的第一個問題不是他是否喜歡他,而是彼得是否關心他勝過關心別的門徒。雖然我們也應該愛別人,但耶穌要求我們首先要毫無保留地愛他。我們還記得他曾說過:“愛父母過於愛我的,不配作我的門徒﹔愛兒女過於愛我的,不配作我的門徒。”馬太福音10:37門徒們之間無疑會建立起友誼,但他們對被他們丟在十字架上的主的愛在哪里呢?

彼得因為他的懊悔感,無法承認他深切地關心主。所以他只是說他很喜歡主。他的第二個回答也是如此。但在第三次問他時,耶穌沒有用“agapao”一詞,而是用彼得所用的“phiIeo”一詞。他的意思大致是:“好吧,你無法承認你愛我,但你果真這么喜歡我嗎?”這自然使彼得很傷心,因為他不得不想一想鑒於他三次不認主,他是否真心地喜歡主。但事時上,他無法否認他的確喜歡主。

說了這些以後耶穌命令他去造就信徒。就這個命令請容我再說几句。注意到耶穌沒有說:“去傳福音”而是說:“牧養我的羊。”基督徒一生最主要的責任不是傳福音而是造就門徒。傳福音,給非基督徒講道則是第二位的。我們的主要任務是造就別的基督徒。“所以有了機會,就當向眾人行善,向信徒一家的人更當這樣。” 加拉太書6:10

隨基督釘十字架

許多時候,那些與主最近的人會遭受巨大的苦難,甚至被迫害至死。世人也許會以為神會給那些他最愛的人最舒適的生活。但想一想神是怎么對待他自己的兒子的,他派他去執行基本上是屬於自殺的使命來拯救別人。他還把他放在某些情形里使他遭受羞辱和逼迫。如經上所記:“他被藐視,被人厭棄,多受痛苦,常經憂患。” 以賽亞書53:3經上還說:“神既不愛惜自己的兒子為我們眾人舍了,豈不也把萬物和他一同白白地賜給我們嗎?”羅馬書8:32 但考慮到他沒有讓他獨生的兒子免受苦難,他也可能不讓他的兒子們免受苦難。但這種苦難對由神生的來說是一個榮耀,因為通過這些事就能夠使我們與基督認同。“親愛的弟兄啊,有火煉的試驗臨到你們,不要以為奇怪(似乎是遭遇非常的事),倒要歡喜﹔因為你們是與基督一同受苦,使你們在他榮耀顯現的時候,也可以歡喜快樂。” 彼得前書4:12,13

教會的先父們記載到彼得的死,他在被捉後被釘了十字架。但在他被釘十字架時,他要求被倒過來釘,說他不配像主那樣釘十字架。不認主的負罪感使他羞愧,他為此遺憾終生。但這也使他謙卑,時刻警覺。

從另一方面講,耶穌還告訴他,他將活到很大年紀,的確,他此後又至少活了四十多年。主告訴他他要活很久這一事實就使他暫時去掉了對死和被殺的恐懼,他就可以做長期的打算,更放膽地去行。耶穌說了這些就給他增加了自信和使命感。

專心

彼得從未少說過錯話,在此又問主使徒約翰會怎樣。耶穌回答的大意是說:“專心管你自己的事吧。”基督徒們也會醉心於各種各樣的太師椅神學。他們甚至會為此浪費許多時間,而置他們的職責於不顧。但重要的是應用神已經顯明的。你也許不理解聖經里一切的東西。但應該應用你已經理解了的。不要使不重要的問題妨礙你盡你對主的責任。

vs 23 這一節說明誤解會發生。許多人自稱信聖經,但他們的意思其實是他們信他們對聖經的解釋。但他們的解釋有可能是會有錯誤的。我們很容易把合我們意的東西讀到聖經里去,而要從聖經里讀出其作者的本意卻是一個挑戰。

結束

就像証人在証人席上宣誓一樣,約翰在此發誓他所講的事是真實的。自由派人士宣稱這些故事是約翰編出來的,而不是真實的歷史事件。這其實是說約翰是騙子,因為他說這些是事實。彼得說:“我們從前將我們主耶穌基督的大能和他降臨的事告訴你們,并不是隨從乖巧捏造的虛言,乃是親眼見過他的威榮。” 彼得後書1:16

約翰可以寫更多的事。但所寫的這些就足以使講理而有良知的人信基督了。




庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Wednesday, 29-Jul-2015 17:23:10 EDT

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

John 21:1-25 (web)

Jesus' Resurrection: Part II

1  After these things, Jesus revealed himself again to the disciples at the sea of Tiberias.
He revealed himself this way.

Fish

2  Simon Peter, Thomas called Didymus, Nathanael of Cana in Galilee,
and the sons of Zebedee, and two others of his disciples were together.
3  Simon Peter said to them, "Iím going fishing."
They told him, "We are also coming with you."
They immediately went out, and entered into the boat.
That night, they caught nothing.

Find

4  But when day had already come, Jesus stood on the beach,
yet the disciples didnít know that it was Jesus.
5  Jesus therefore said to them, "Children, have you anything to eat?"
They answered him, "No."
6  He said to them, "Cast the net on the right side of the boat, and you will find some."
They cast it therefore, and now they werenít able to draw it in for the multitude of fish.
7  That disciple therefore whom Jesus loved said to Peter, "Itís the Lord!"
So when Simon Peter heard that it was the Lord,
he wrapped his coat around him (for he was naked), and threw himself into the sea.
8  But the other disciples came in the little boat
(for they were not far from the land, but about two hundred cubits away),
dragging the net full of fish.

Feast

9  So when they got out on the land, they saw a fire of coals there, and fish laid on it, and bread.
10  Jesus said to them, "Bring some of the fish which you have just caught."
11  Simon Peter went up, and drew the net to land, full of great fish,
one hundred fifty-three; and even though there were so many, the net wasnít torn.
12  Jesus said to them, "Come and eat breakfast."
None of the disciples dared inquire of him, "Who are you?" knowing that it was the Lord.
13  Then Jesus came and took the bread, gave it to them, and the fish likewise.

Feed

14  This is now the third time that Jesus was revealed to his disciples,
after he had risen from the dead.
15  So when they had eaten their breakfast,
Jesus said to Simon Peter, "Simon, son of Jonah, do you love me more than these?"
He said to him, "Yes, Lord; you know that I have affection for you."
He said to him, "Feed my lambs."
16  He said to him again a second time, "Simon, son of Jonah, do you love me?"
He said to him, "Yes, Lord; you know that I have affection for you."
He said to him, "Tend my sheep."
17  He said to him the third time, "Simon, son of Jonah, do you have affection for me?"
Peter was grieved because he asked him the third time, "Do you have affection for me?"
He said to him, "Lord, you know everything. You know that I have affection for you."
Jesus said to him, "Feed my sheep.

Follow

18  Most assuredly I tell you, when you were young,
you dressed yourself, and walked where you wanted to.
But when you are old, you will stretch out your hands,
and another will dress you, and carry you where you donít want to go."
19  Now he said this, signifying by what kind of death he would glorify God.
When he had said this, he said to him, "Follow me."

Focus

20  Then Peter, turning around, saw a disciple following.
This was the disciple whom Jesus sincerely loved,
the one who had also leaned on Jesusí breast at the supper and asked,
"Lord, who is going to betray You?"
21  Peter seeing him, said to Jesus, "Lord, what about this man?"
22  Jesus said to him,
"If I desire that he stay until I come, what is that to you? You follow me."
23  This saying therefore went out among the brothers, that this disciple wouldnít die.
Yet Jesus didnít say to him that he wouldnít die, but,
"If I desire that he stay until I come, what is that to you?"

Finished!

24  This is the disciple who testifies about these things, and wrote these things.
We know that his witness is true.
25  There are also many other things which Jesus did, which if they would all be written,
I suppose that even the world itself wouldnít have room for the books that would be written.


Discussion Questions

What event was Jesus repeating here and why was he repeating it?
vs 15 what is the difference between love and affection and why do you suppose Peter could not bring himself to use the word "love"?
How can we determine whether we love God more than we love others?
What does Jesus say here about how we can show love to God?
vs 18 How would you have felt if you received this prophecy from the Lord?
vs 22 Why do you suppose Peter asked this question?
And what principle do we learn from Jesus' response?


Comments

The sea of Tiberius is the sea of Galilee in Northern Isreal aruond which we know most of the disciples had grown up many of them being fishermen.

Finding Fish

It appears that the theme behind these events have to do with giving Peter a perspective on ministry. Notice how much of this reflects the events in Luke 5 which starts out with Jesus essentially feeding his sheep by preaching. It goes on:
4  When he had finished speaking, he said to Simon,
"Put out into deep water, and let down the nets for a catch."
5  Simon answered,
"Master, weíve worked hard all night and havenít caught anything.
But because you say so, I will let down the nets."
6  When they had done so,
they caught such a large number of fish that their nets began to break.
7  So they signaled their partners in the other boat to come and help them,
and they came and filled both boats so full that they began to sink.
8  When Simon Peter saw this, he fell at Jesusí knees and said,
"Go away from me, Lord; I am a sinful man!"
9  For he and all his companions were astonished at the catch of fish they had taken,
10  and so were James and John, the sons of Zebedee, Simonís partners.
Then Jesus said to Simon, "Donít be afraid; from now on you will catch men."
11  So they pulled their boats up on shore, left everything and followed him.
As was the case then so now Peter is burdened with guilt, having denied the Lord three times. To be a fisher of men Peter needed to have the assurance of being forgiven. For no doubt Peter would feel hindered from doing ministry if he was burdened with such guilt. So the Lord takes him back to the point where he first called him, erasing the slate and starting over again. Just as previousy Peter left everything to follow Christ, so now even before getting to shore he quite literally leaves everything behind to follow Jesus, leaving the others, the fish, the boat, being desparate to reconcile with the Lord. For Jesus had also said those who have been forgiven much love much. (Luke 7:47)
Many people have had friends and relatives who have died before taking the opportunity to reconcile any differences. There's no opportunity to reconcile with the person once they're dead, which can lead to despair and depression because of the unreconcilable guilt. But Peter now had a chance to reconcile and he zealously sought it. Such repentance is a natural characteristic of those born of God.
Jesus addresses them as children which seems a bit derogatory but in fact they were still immature in their faith and perspective on their responsibilities, just as many Christians go from church to church trying to find a place where they can get fed rather than trying to find a place in which they can serve. Nonetheless if they are hungry, Jesus will indeed feed them. The fact that John mentions of 153 fish being caught indicates that they took the time to count each one. Perhaps we may also find allegorical applications from these facts in the context of ministry since Jesus himself had said, "Follow me and I will make you a fisher of men". The counting of the fish teaches that each individual is important and should be counted. Everyone is important. John also notes that though the catch was large yet the nets didn't break, implying they naturally should have broken. So also in ministry that despite the fact that the numbers of people may seem overwhelming yet God provides us the ability to minister to all without breaking our nets. But we have to cast our nets on the right side, in the right place, as the Lord directs through his Spirit. Else our fishing may seem in vain. But the Lord may not provide us clear guidance until we have persisted and endured through the night, just as Jesus also spoke of the prayers of the persistent widow.

Feasting

If the fish represent converts and disciples, eating the fish seems rather rude. But remember what Jesus said to his disciples in chapter 4 after speaking with the woman at the well, "I have food to eat that you donít know about." He was speaking of how he was refreshed by the woman's conversion. And so also disciplemakers are refreshed as well as John says, "I have no greater joy than this, to hear about my children walking in truth." 3 John 1:4  The bread Jesus gave may be likened to himself, of which he said, "I am the living bread which came down out of heaven. If anyone eats of this bread, he will live forever." John 6:51

Feeding

The way a person shows love to God is by obeying his commands. "One who has my commandments, and keeps them, that person is one who loves me." John 14:21 And "This is love for God: to obey his commands."1 John 5:3  In particular this involves feeding the sheep, which more generally means to edify the Christian community. Jesus' great commission to the Christian community is to make disciples of all nations, a responsibility to which we will all be held accountable. And if we love the Lord then we will be involved in that as the Lord directs us in accordance the gifts he has given.

The web version accurately portrays the dialog between Jesus and Peter in that there is a difference between the word "love" and "affection" in Greek which is not brought out by many other translations. The word "love" is "agapao" which speaks of caring for the needs of others. The word for affection is "phileo" which speaks of a feeling of affection. The questions that Jesus asked of Peter were probably questions that he was asking of himself as well.

His first question to Peter is not whether he loves him, but rather whether Peter cares about him more than he cares for his fellow disciples. Though we should love others as well, Jesus demands undivided devotion to himself first. We remember he said, "He who loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; and he who loves son or daughter more than me isnít worthy of me." Matt 10:37 For the disciples no doubt built up a good friendship between themselves but what of their love for the Lord whom they had abandoned at the cross?

Peter could not bring himself to admit that he cared deeply for the Lord, because of his feeling of remorse. Therefore he simply said he had a fond affection for the Lord. And so also was his second reply. But for the third question Jesus didn't use the word "agapao" but rather "phileo" as Peter had been using. Basically he was saying, "Ok you can't admit that you love me, but do you really even have so much as a fond affection for me?" This would naturally grieve Peter as he would have to think whether he sincerely had a fond affection for him seeing as three times he had denied knowing him. But in fact he couldn't deny having a fond affection for him.

I would imagine the discussion as between a man and his wife who committed adultery. After she repents he may ask when she is commited to be faithful to him - to love and to serve. Having betrayed him she might not have the confidence to express such commitement in all honesty. Nonetheless she might acknowlege that she genuinely likes to be around her husband. She enjoys his company. The husband may ask her whether she's answering honestly even in that respect.

It's a humiliating confrontation. Jesus doesn't simply say - forget about it. While Peter is forgiven it seems that Jesus wants him to keep aware of his genuine motivations - to avoid making such confident arrogant statements he had made previously.

Application/meditation questions from that passage might be - how do we measure our genuine love for Jesus? (by feeding his sheep for example) And given a choice of what to do with our free time, would it always be our preference to spend time with Jesus. Do we like to be around Jesus? Do we imagine being in heaven but not hanging around Jesus? Do we presently yearn to be with Him, or do we yearn simply for the pleasures of heaven and being separated from the troubles of this life?

To all these Jesus commanded him to edify the believers. And concerning this command let me make one more point. Notice that Jesus doesn't say, "Preach the gospel" but rather "Feed my sheep." The primary responsibility of the Christian life is not preaching the gospel but making disciples. Preaching the gospel, ministering to non-Christians is secondary. Our primary responsibility is to edify other Christians. Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all people, especially to those who belong to the family of believers.  Galatians 6:10

Follow Christ to the Cross

It seems many times those who are closest to the Lord end up experiencing a good deal of suffering, being even persecuted to death. The world may think that those whom God loves the most He would give the most comfortable life. But consider how God treated his own Son, sending him essentially on a suicide mission to save others. And He placed him in circumstances in which he was subjected to humilation and persecution. As it was written, "He was despised and rejected by men, a man of sorrows, and familiar with suffering." Isaiah 53:3 It is written that "He who didnít spare his own Son, but delivered him up for us all, how would he not also with him freely give us all things?" Romans 8:32  But consider also that if He didn't spare His own Son, He may also not spare His own sons from similar suffering. But such suffering is an honor for those born of God, for in these things we can identify with Christ. "Donít be astonished at the fiery trial which has come upon you, to test you, as though a strange thing happened to you. But because you are partakers of Christís sufferings, rejoice; that at the revelation of his glory also you may rejoice with exceeding joy." 1Peter 4:12,13

The church fathers record Peter's death in that he was arrested and crucified. But in his crucifixion he requested to be crucified upside down saying that he was not worthy to be crucified as the Lord was. For his guilt of denying the Lord probably humilated and haunted him the rest of his life. But it also kept him humble and on his guard.

On the other hand Jesus also said that he would live to be old and indeed he did live till at least 40 years after this. The fact that the Lord told him that he would live to be old would free him up from fears of dying or being killed for now and he could establish long term plans and exercise great boldness fearlessly. Thus in saying this Jesus would instill confidence in him and a sense of mission.

Focus

Peter, never at a lost for inappropriate statements, then asks about the apostle John. Jesus essentially replies, "Mind your own business." So also Christians can get caught up in all kinds of questions of armchair theology. They may even do so to procrastinate, putting off their responsibilities. But the important thing is to apply what God has already revealed. You may not have understood all of the Bible. But apply what you do understand. Don't let peripheral questions distract you from fulfilling your responsibility to the Lord.

vs 23 shows how misinterpretations can arise. Many claim to believe the Bible, but what they mean is they believe their interpretation of the Bible. But their interpretation may be at fault. Easy enough to read into the Bible whatever suits us, but the challenge is to read out of the Bible in accordance with the intentions and spirit of the author.

Finished

As a witness takes an oath on the stand so John swears that he is telling the truth concerning these events. The liberal who claim John simply fabricated these stories and that they didn't represent actually historical events are essentiallly calling John a liar, for he states these as facts, as Peter also said, "For we did not follow cunningly devised fables, when we made known to you the power and coming of our Lord Jesus Christ, but we were eyewitnesses of his majesty." 2 Peter 1:16

And John could have gone on to record even more events. But these are sufficient for reasonable men with good consciences to come to faith in Christ.



The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015