翻譯: English 中文 GB

約翰福音5:1-18

起來,拿你的褥子走吧

5:1 這事以后,到了猶太人的一個節期,耶穌就上耶路撒冷去。
5:2 在耶路撒冷,靠近羊門有一個池子,
希伯來話叫作畢士大,旁邊有五個廊子。
5:3 里面躺著瞎眼的,瘸腿的,血氣枯干的,許多病人。
(有古卷在此有“等候水動,
5:4 因為有天使按時下池子攪動那水,
水動之后,誰先下去,無論害什么病,就痊愈了。”)

5:5 在那里有一個人,病了三十八年。
5:6 耶穌看見他躺著,知道他病了許久,
就問他說:“你要痊愈嗎?”
5:7 病人回答說:
“先生,水動的時候,沒有人把我放在池子里。
我正去的時候,就有別人比我先下去。”
5:8 耶穌對他說:“起來,拿你的褥子走吧。”
5:9 那人立刻痊愈,就拿起褥子來走了。

5:10 那天是安息日,
所以猶太人對那醫好的人說:
“今天是安息日,你拿褥子是不可的。”
5:11 他卻回答說:
“那使我痊愈的,對我說:‘拿你的褥子走吧。’
5:12 他們問他說:
“對你說拿褥子走的是什么人?”
5:13 那醫好的人不知道是誰。
因為那里的人多,耶穌已經躲開了。
5:14 后來耶穌在殿里遇見他,對他說:
“你已經痊愈了。不要再犯罪。恐怕你遭遇的更加利害。”
5:15 那人就去告訴猶太人,使他痊愈的是耶穌。

5:16 所以猶太人逼迫耶穌,
因為他在安息日作了這事。
5:17 耶穌對他們說:“我父作事直到如今,我也作事。”
5:18 所以猶太人越發想要殺他。
因他不但犯了安息日,并且稱神為他的父,
將自己和神當作平等


問題討論

vs 7 這個瘸腿的人有受浸可以使人從疾病里解救出來的概念。這與有些基督徒的什么概念相類似?
vs 8 你將如何描述耶穌治好他的方式,而這與那個人所預想的有什么不同?
vs 10 為什么說耶穌讓他拿起褥子走的命令不違背耶利米書17:21,22所細述的律法的精神?
vs 14 為什么耶穌告訴這個人不要再犯罪了?
vs 15 你覺得這個人對此的反應如何?
vs 17 為什么耶穌所說關于在安息日做事的話不違背律法?(參見馬太福音12:11,12
vs 18 至此為止,約翰福音還在什么地方將耶穌等同于神?耶穌是神的兒子和基督徒被算作是神的兒子有什么不同?


注釋

起來!
在這里,約翰繼續了他不要把絮節或地點作為信的目標這一主題。神是恩慈的,有時他會按時行神跡,就像通過畢士大池子的天使所做的那樣。但有時,這些東西本身成了信的目標。這使我們想起在申命記21里,神讓摩西制一銅蛇挂在杆子上以救活被蛇咬的人。但几個世紀以后,它成了偶像,就被打碎了。今天,有人認為施洗的水有能使人重生的神奇特性。然而,“從肉身生的就是肉身。從靈生的就是靈。”像水這樣屬于物質的東西不能造成靈的重生。就像畢士大池子里的水一樣,施洗的水也不應該成為信的目標,似乎人必須浸濕了才能得救。這個人得到的命令是起來而不是下去。可嘉的是這個瘸腿的人把他的信放在神的奇異供應上。就如第四章里的大臣一樣,他悟出信神的話本身就能治好病,而不需在乎地點或絮節。

拿你的褥子走吧!
服從這個命令很像在水里受洗的本意。應該是“我相信所以我服從”。服從是信的外在表現。而不是“我服從所以我得救”,否則做某件事,比如浸濕或拿褥子,就成了信的目標而不是信的外在表現。

我覺得耶穌有意給他這個命令以引出安息日的爭議。在水里受洗是把基督徒與世上其它人區別開的外在記號。在安息日拿著你的褥子走也使一個猶太人突顯出來。雖然在摩西律法里沒有詳細說明,神通過先知耶利米詳細地解說這個律法說:“耶和華如此說:你們要謹慎,不要在安息日擔什么擔子,進入耶路撒冷的各門。也不要在安息日從家中擔出擔子去。無論何工都不可作,只要以安息日為聖日,正如我所吩咐你們列祖的。”耶利米書17:21,22但猶太人常常沒有考慮到寫這些的本意,而是用咬文嚼字和墨守律法的方式來理解,失去了其精神。這個人所擔的擔子不是他的褥子而是他的病患。能夠拿著他的褥子走是從這種捆綁中解脫出來。所以耶穌不但將他從疾病的擔子下解脫出來,更使他能夠享受到拿著自己褥子走的歡心。他是甩掉了他的疾病,拿著他所擁有的一切朝家走去。難道所寫的不是以這種精神寫的嗎?但無情的宗教領袖只顧墨守律法。水動的時候,他們在哪呢?他們為什么不幫這個人下池子呢?他們缺乏謙卑來意識到他們明顯的偽善,就像許多人一樣。

不要再犯罪!
行是指某種生活方式。生活方式的罪會導致腐敗和死亡。瘸腿三十八年已經夠糟糕了,但比起罪的惡果來這算不得什么。耶穌是想讓他認識到他需要通過罪的赦免和靈的重生而醫治他的靈。他說的是從罪里悔改。這種說法今天在由經不住推敲的神學教義所主導的現代福音派里很難聽到,這種神學只字不提人的行為與他們的得救狀況的關系。甚至有些早期的基督徒也在這一點上受騙,保羅給他們寫到:

“你們豈不知不義的人不能承受神的國嗎?不要自欺!無論是淫亂的、拜偶像的、奸淫的、作孌童的、親男色的、偷竊的、貪婪的、醉酒的、辱罵的、勒索的,都不能承受神的國。”歌林多前書6:9,10
耶穌在此刻講的不是因信而得救。他只是在讓這個人認識到罪,而為尋求神的恩典做好准備。你認識到你的靈有病而想成為聖潔嗎?那么把你的信放在神的話上。如果你認為你是健康的,那么就不要再犯罪了,否則將被定罪。罪的生活方式不是那些由神生的人的特征,這不是出于努力,而是重生的自然屬性。“凡從神生的就不犯罪,因神的道(原文作“種”)存在他心里。他也不能犯罪,因為他是由神生的。從此就顯出誰是神的兒女,誰是魔鬼的兒女。凡不行義的就不屬神,不愛弟兄的也是如此。”約翰一書3:9,10

那人就去告訴猶太人,使他痊愈的是耶穌。
我的印像是這有點類似于猶大的做法。他也許因為耶穌暗示他是有罪的人,并告訴他不要再犯罪而感到羞辱。身體上的痛苦可使人謙卑,但如果人驕傲的話,也可產生苦毒。值得慶幸的是他在神殿里遇見耶穌。但這個人似乎毫不感激,不但不去尋找主謝謝他,反而只顧把因他在安息日拿褥子走所遭的責難推掉。他似乎一點也不顧這樣告訴宗教領袖會給主帶來的更多的逼迫。因為他沒有任何義務要告訴他們是誰治好了他的病。與此形成鮮明對比的,我又要指出,是路加福音7里的百夫長,他避免要耶穌到他家去治他的仆人。其中一個使他做出這樣一個決定的因素就是,出于愛,他想避免耶穌被看成是羅馬人的合作者而招致無端的責難。

安息日的問題
“我父作事直到如今。”而經上寫著神在第七日安息了,十誡中有關安息日的第四誡就由此而出。按照摩西律法,違犯安息日是要受死刑的。(也可說是一種安息吧!)“凡在安息日作工的,必要把他治死。” 出埃及記31:15這是殺耶穌的理由之一 。然而猶太人又一次誤解了所寫的話的精神。我們現在知道安息日是我們在基督里安息的像征,希伯來書4詳細地闡明了這一點。猶太人是以其像征通過律法而做的。但安息日的精神是休息。神做工使我們能夠安息。耶穌治好這人,從而使他從疾病里解脫出來,得以安息。但這些工作是使別人能夠安息。

讓我們類比一下基督徒的生活。經上寫到:“作工的得工價,不算恩典,乃是該得的,惟有不作工的,只信稱罪人為義的神,他的信就算為義。” 羅馬書4:4,5所以救贖是出于恩點給的,而不是靠工作掙來的。如果誰認為必須靠工作來獲取或維持他的救贖,那么他就不能說他已經進入了神的安息。但某些工作是與基督徒的生活有關系的。我們勞作是使其它人得以安息,就像主所做的和主現在通過我們所做的一樣。但這種工作與那種使我們得以安息的工作屬于不同的范疇。

從實際角度出發,猶太人應該如何對待安息日所像征的呢?應該特別地關照那些有需之人,給他們提供安息,盡管這意味著有些不那么有需的人不得不工作。耶穌嘲諷他們的偽善說“你們中間誰有一只羊,當安息日掉在坑里,不把他抓住拉上來呢?人比羊何等貴重呢!所以在安息日作善事是可以的。”馬太福音12:11,12“善事”,按他在此說這句話的意思,不是安息日律法所禁的“工”的一部分。不考慮所寫的話的精神能夠導致在應用聖經時如此的偏差,縱觀歷史,這在宗教權貴當中是很顯然的。

基督的神性
雖然聖經的確多處以比喻的口氣說以色列人就如神的子孫,并且保羅也以比喻的口氣提到人類是神的后裔,但耶穌說他獨一無二的是神的兒子。在后面的章節里他將更詳細地說明他與父的關系。這是約翰福音從第一章起,把他等同于神的一個重要主題。在約翰福音第三章里我們看到他稱他自己是神的“獨生子”。耶穌是神的兒子與今天基督徒認為我們自己是神的兒子意義不同。耶穌是獨一的,有與父神相同的性質,同時又是分開的個體。對他的敵人來說,他教的關于他和父的獨特關系所意味著的毫無疑問是異端。他們相信神的確有兒子,卻不相信那就是耶穌。在箴言30:4里寫到:“誰升天又降下來?誰聚風在掌握中?誰包水在衣服里?誰立定地的四極?他名叫什么?他兒子名叫什么?你知道嗎?”自古引藏的現在顯現出來了。今天,我們已經知道他兒子的名字。還有,在他受審的時候,大祭司問他說:“我指著永生神叫你起誓告訴我們,你是神的兒子基督不是?”馬太福音26:63這表明猶太人相信彌賽亞(就是基督)是神的兒子。我們還看到拿但業在約翰福音1:49里說:“拉比,你是神的兒子,你是以色列的王。”這又一次顯示出猶太人相信神有個兒子,并且他是以色列真正的王。





庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Wednesday, 29-Jul-2015 17:23:09 EDT

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

John 5:1-18 (web)

Take Up Your Bed and Walk

5:1 After these things, there was a feast of the Jews, and Jesus went up to Jerusalem.
5:2 Now in Jerusalem by the sheep gate, there is a pool,
which is called in Hebrew, "Bethesda," having five porches.
5:3 In these lay a great multitude of those who were
sick, blind, lame, or paralyzed, waiting for the moving of the water;
5:4 for an angel of the Lord went down at certain times into the pool, and stirred up the water.
Whoever stepped in first after the stirring of the water was made whole of whatever disease he had.

5:5 A certain man was there, who had been sick for thirty-eight years.
5:6 When Jesus saw him lying there, and knew that he had been sick for a long time,
he asked him, "Do you want to be made well?"
5:7 The sick man answered him,
"Sir, I have no one to put me into the pool when the water is stirred up,
but while I'm coming, another steps down before me."
5:8 Jesus said to him, "Arise, take up your mat, and walk."
5:9 Immediately, the man was made well, and took up his mat and walked.

Now it was the Sabbath on that day.
5:10 So the Jews said to him who was cured,
"It is the Sabbath. It is not lawful for you to carry the mat."
5:11 He answered them,
"He who made me well, the same said to me, 'Take up your mat, and walk.'"
5:12 Then they asked him,
"Who is the man who said to you, 'Take up your mat, and walk'?"
5:13 But he who was healed didn't know who it was,
for Jesus had withdrawn, a crowd being in the place.
5:14 Afterward Jesus found him in the temple, and said to him,
"Behold, you are made well. Sin no more, so that nothing worse happens to you."
5:15 The man went away, and told the Jews that it was Jesus who had made him well.

5:16 For this cause the Jews persecuted Jesus, and sought to kill him,
because he did these things on the Sabbath.
5:17 But Jesus answered them, "My Father is still working, so I am working, too."
5:18 For this cause therefore the Jews sought all the more to kill him,
because he not only broke the Sabbath, but also called God his own Father,
making himself equal with God.


Discussion Questions

vs 7 The lame man had the conception that one had to get wet to be saved from one's infirmity. What similar conception to do some Christians have?
vs 8 How would you describe the manner in which Jesus healed him and how is it different from the man's expectations?
vs 10 How was Jesus' command to carry his bed not in violation of the spirit of the Law as elaborated upon in Jeremiah 17:21,22?
vs 14 Why do you suppose Jesus really told this man to sin no more?
vs 15 Do you have the impression that the man reacted well or poorly to this?
vs 17 How is Jesus' statement concerning working on the Sabbath not in violation of the Law? (Xref Matt 12:11,12)
vs 18 Where else in John so far is Jesus equated with God? How is Jesus being the Son of God different than Christians being reckoned sons of God?


Comments

Rise!
In this account John continues on with his theme of not making rituals or locations the object of faith. God is gracious and at times will do the miraculous in such a fashion as he did periodically through the angel of the pool of Bethesda. But often what can happen is that these things themselves can become the object of faith. We are reminded of Numbers 21 in which God instructed Moses to make a bronze serpent and put it on a rod for the purpose of healing people. But centuries later it became an idol and so was destroyed. There are some today who reckon the water of water baptism to have magical properties by which regeneration occurs. But "Flesh gives birth to flesh, but the Spirit gives birth to spirit." Material things like water do not cause spiritual regeneration. Like the water of the pool of Bethesda, the water of water baptism should not become the object of faith as if a person must get wet to get saved. This man was commanded to get up rather than to go down. It was commendable for the lame man to put his faith in God's miraculous provision. But just as with the nobleman of chapter 4 he came to realize that faith in God's Word by itself heals apart from issues of location and rituals.

Take up your bed and walk!
Obeying this command is much like water baptism as it was intended. It should be "I believe therefore I obey". Obedience is an indication of faith. Rather than "I obey in order to be saved", in which doing particular things like getting wet or carrying your mat become the object of faith rather than the indication of faith.

I infer that Jesus purposely gave him this command in order to bring up the Sabbath controversy. Water baptism was to be an outward sign distinguishing the Christian from the rest of society. Carrying your mat on the Sabbath would also make a Jew stand out.  Though it is not explicitly stated in the Law, God elaborates on the Law through the prophet Jeremiah saying, "This is what the LORD says: Be careful not to carry a load on the Sabbath day or bring it through the gates of Jerusalem.  Do not bring a load out of your houses or do any work on the Sabbath, but keep the Sabbath day holy, as I commanded your forefathers." Jer 17:21,22 But the Jews often don't take into account the sense in which such things are written, but rather interpret in a very literal and legalistic manner, missing the spirit. The load that the man carried was not his mat but his infirmity. Being able to carry his mat at all would have been a get release from such bondage. And thus Jesus released him not only of the burden of his infirmity, but allowed him with pleasure to carry his bed away. He was going home with all his possessions and free from his infirmity. Now isn't that in the spirit of what is written? But the heartless religous leaders were all caught up in the legalism of it. Where were they when the waters stirred? Why is it that they wouldn't even help this man into the pool? They lacked to humility to recognize their blatant hypocrisy, as is the case for many people.

Sin no more!
Walking implies a certain lifestyle.  A lifestyle of sin brings only corruption and death. To be lame for 38 years would be considered bad enough, but that is nothing compared to the effects sin can have. What Jesus attempted was to make the man aware of his need for spiritual healing through the forgiveness of sins and through spiritual regeneration.  He preached repentance from sin. Such a message may be rare today in modern Evangelicalism dominated by antinomial theology in which little correlation is made between a person's behavior and their salvation status. And some of the early Christians were even deceived on this point to whom Paul wrote:

"Do you not know that the wicked will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: Neither the sexually immoral nor idolaters nor adulterers nor male prostitutes nor homosexual offenders nor thieves nor the greedy nor drunkards nor slanderers nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God." 1Cor 6:9,10
Jesus was not preaching salvation by faith at this point. He was simply working on developing conviction of sin to prepare the person to seek God's grace. Do you recognize your spiritual infirmity and want to be made whole? Put your faith in God's Word. But if think that you are well, then stop sinning or else face condemnation. A lifestyle of sin is not characteristic of those born of God, not because of effort, but because of the nature of the regeneration. "No one who is born of God will continue to sin, because God's seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been born of God. This is how we know who the children of God are and who the children of the devil are: Anyone who does not do what is right is not a child of God; nor is anyone who does not love his brother."1John 3:9,10

The man went and told on Jesus.
I have the impression that this was done in somewhat Judas-like fashion. He was probably humiliated at Jesus' implication of him being a sinful man and being told to sin no more. The humiliation of physical suffering can develop humilty, but it can also develop bitterness if the person is proud. It was commendable that Jesus found him in the temple. But the man seemed ungrateful, perhaps not even seeking the Lord to thank him and only interested in passing the blame of this accusation incurred upon him for carrying his mat on the Sabbath. He seemed insensitive to the additional persecution he was incurring upon the Lord by telling the religious leaders. For he was under no obligation to tell them who healed him.  In contrast to this I will again point out the Centurion of Luke 7 who avoided having Jesus come to his house to heal his servant. One of the factors that no doubt led him to such a decision was that in love he wanted to avoid Jesus being viewed as a Roman collaborator and open him up to undue criticism.

The Sabbath Question
"My Father is always at his work" And yet it is written that God rested on the 7th day, from which the 4th commandment concerning the Sabbath rest is derived. Under the Mosaic Law violation of the Sabbath rest incurred the death penalty. (Kind of a permanent rest!) "Whoever does any work on the Sabbath day must be put to death." Ex 31:15 Which was one basis for putting Jesus to death. But again the Jews misunderstand the spirit of what is written. We know now that the Sabbath was symbolic of the rest we have in Christ which Hebrews 4 elaborates upon. The Jews were to act out that symbol through the Law. But the spirit of the Sabbath is rest. God works to provide us rest. Jesus healed the man to provide him rest from his affliction. But these works are to provide rest for others.

Let us by analogy consider the Christian life. It is written that "when a man works, his wages are not credited to him as a gift, but as an obligation. However, to the man who does not work but trusts God who justifies the wicked, his faith is credited as righteousness." Rom 4:4,5 And thus salvation is given graciously rather than earned through works. If a person views works as necessary in order to obtain or maintain one's salvation then they cannot say that they have entered into God's Sabbath rest. But there are works associated with the Christian life. We labor to provide rest for others just as the Lord did and as the Lord is doing through us. But such works are in a different category from those from which we rest.

Practically speaking how should the Jews have played out the Sabbath symbolism? By paying special attention to the needy providing them rest even if it means that some, not so needy, have to work. Jesus goes so far as to mock their hypocrisy saying, "If any of you has a sheep and it falls into a pit on the Sabbath, will you not take hold of it and lift it out?  How much more valuable is a man than a sheep! Therefore it is lawful to do good on the Sabbath." Matt 12:11,12 "Good works", in the sense in which he is speaking here, are not a part of the "any work" spoken of in the Sabbath Law. Not taking into account the spirit of what is written can result in such deviant applications of the Bible as is apparent among the religious elite throughout history.

The Deity of Christ
Though it is true that at times the Bible speaks of Israel being likened to God's children in an allegorical sense, and Paul makes reference to  mankind being the offspring of God again in an allegorical sense, but Jesus spoke of himself as being uniquely the Son of God. And he elaborates on his relationship with the Father for the rest of the chapter. This is a major theme in the gospel of John starting in chapter 1 where he is equated with God. And we saw in John 3 that he calls himself the only begotten Son. Jesus is the Son of God not in the same sense as Christians today reckon ourselves sons of God. Jesus is unique, having the same nature as God the Father and yet being a separate individual.  The implication of his teachings concerning his unique relationship with the Father was unmistakeably heretical from the point of view of his enemies. They did believed that God had a Son, but they didn't believe Jesus was him. The book of Proverbs 30:4 says "Who has gone up to heaven and come down? Who has gathered up the wind in the hollow of his hands? Who has wrapped up the waters in his cloak? Who has established all the ends of the earth? What is his name, and the name of his son? Tell me if you know!" What has been hidden in ages past has now been revealed. Today we do know the name of his son. Furthermore at his trial he was asked by the high priest "Tell us if you are the Christ, the Son of God."Matt 26:63 thus revealing that the Jews believed the Messiah (the Christ) to be the Son of God. And we saw Nathanael of John 1:49 say, "you are the Son of God; you are the King of Israel." again revealing Jewish beliefs that God had a Son and that he was the true King of Israel.


NIV version used in comments


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015