翻譯: English 中文 GB

約翰福音7:1-25

住棚節:之一

不信的弟兄

7:1 這事以後,耶穌在加利利游行,
不愿在猶太游行,因為猶太人想要殺他。
7:2 當時猶太人的住棚節近了。
7:3 耶穌的弟兄就對他說:
“你離開這里上猶太去吧,
叫你的門徒也看見你所行的事。
7:4 人要顯揚名聲,沒有在暗處行事的。
你如果行這些事,就當將自己顯明給世人看。”
7:5 因為連他的弟兄說這話,是因為不信他

7:6 耶穌就對他們說:
“我的時候還沒有到。你們的時候常是方便的。
7:7 世人不能恨你們,卻是恨我。
因為我指証他們所作的事是惡的。
7:8 你們上去過節吧。我現在不上去過這節,
因為我的時候還沒有滿。”
7:9 耶穌說了這話,仍舊住在加利利。
7:10 但他弟兄上去以後,
他也上去過節,不是明去,似乎是暗去的。

7:11 正在節期,猶太人尋找耶穌,說:“他在哪里?”
7:12 眾人為他紛紛議論。
有的說:“他是好人。”
有的說:“不然,他是迷惑眾人的。”
7:13 只是沒有人明明地講論他,因為怕猶太人。

7:14 到了節期,
耶穌上殿里去教訓人。
7:15 猶太人就希奇,說:
“這個人沒有學過,怎么明白書呢?”
7:16 耶穌說:
“我的教訓不是我自己的,乃是那差我來者的。
7:17 人若立志遵著他的旨意行,
就必曉得這教訓或是出於神,或是我憑著自己說的。
7:18 人憑著自己說,是求自己的榮耀。
惟有求那差他來者的榮耀,
這人是真的,在他心里沒有不義。
7:19 摩西豈不是傳律法給你們嗎?你們卻沒有一個人守律法。
為什么想要殺我呢?”

7:20 眾人回答說:“你是被鬼附著了。誰想要殺你?
7:21 耶穌說:“我作了一件事,你們都以為希奇。
7:22 摩西傳割禮給你們(其實不是從摩西起的,乃是從祖先起的),
因此你們也在安息日給人行割禮。
7:23 人若在安息日受割禮,
免得違背摩西的律法。
我在安息日叫一個人全然好了,你們就向我生氣嗎?
7:24 不可按外貌斷定是非,總要按公平斷定是非。”
7:25 耶路撒冷人中有的說:這不是他們想要殺的人嗎?


問題討論

作為耶穌的弟兄,盡管他們看到了他行的神跡,為什么卻不信他呢?
你的家庭對你成為基督徒的反應是什么?
為什么基督徒會遭世人恨惡?
受神學院教育有哪些利弊?
人怎么知到耶穌的教訓是有權威的?
愚頑的人是如何對待你的責備的?
為什么耶穌在安息日治好病人是與安息日的律法相一致的?
論斷他人有什么對和不對?


注釋

他的弟兄不信他

vs 1-10
猶太人想殺他,因為他羞辱了他們,指出了他們的罪。責備人,指出他們的罪,是件危險的事,既使是在基督徒里也是如此。而在宗教權貴和掌權的人中尤其危險。你可能遭到謫貶,誹謗,徊避,甚至會被趕出教堂。如果是與穆斯林打交道的話,你可能性命不保。然而這就是基督徒所要面臨的。我們必須要給世人見証他們的所作所為是有罪的。有人亂引耶穌的話,你們不要論斷人,免得你們被論斷。”,來讓我們閉嘴。耶穌給我們樹立了榜樣,鼓勵我們論斷,不是論斷外在的宗教形式,而要進行公義的論斷。(第24節)還有,不要太輕信,“一切的靈,你們不可都信。總要試驗那些靈是出於神的不是。因為世上有許多假先知已經出來了。”約翰一書4:1

世人愛你嗎?如果回答是肯定的話,你可能就有什么沒有做對。如果你正確地作基督徒的話,世人就會恨你,就像他們恨耶穌一樣。耶穌說:“世人若恨你們,你們知道(或作該知道)恨你們以先,已經恨我了。你們若屬世界,世界必愛屬自己的。只因你們不屬世界,乃是我從世界中揀選了你們,所以世界就恨你們。”約翰福音15:18,19約翰還寫道:“弟兄們,世人若恨你們,不要以為希奇。我們因為愛弟兄,就曉得是已經出死入生了。沒有愛心的,仍住在死中。凡恨他弟兄的,就是殺人的。你們曉得凡殺人的,沒有永生存在他里面。” 約翰一書3:13-15

耶穌的親兄弟,比如雅各和猶大,當他在世上傳道的時候并不信他。(第5節)他們恨他,不在乎他的安危。耶穌說:“你們不要想我來,是叫地上太平。我來并不是叫地上太平,乃是叫地上動刀兵。因為我來,是叫‘人與父親生疏,女兒與母親生疏,媳婦與婆婆生疏。人的仇敵,就是自己家里的人。’”馬太福音10:34-36 在他起初傳道的時候,他開始給人治病,趕鬼,招門徒,馬可記錄到:耶穌的親屬聽見,就出來要拉住他,因為他們說他癲狂了。 馬可福音3:21 這就是他的家庭對他的態度。因為先知在自己家里不受榮耀,熟悉生不敬。他們忌妒他的名氣。

廣為接受的真理

vs 11-13
人們害怕公開表明對耶穌的立場,因為眾人里有支持他的也有反對他的。當人相信自己的觀點與眾人一致時,就容易坦率直言,而在與自己的觀點相同的人不占絕大多數時,就緘默不語。這是人的本性。問題在於,大家都贊同的觀點并不需要說出來,因為大家已經有了共識。真正需要說出來的是沒有被大多數人接受的真理,這樣纔能施加影響,使人從錯謬中走出來。但那需要勇氣,而大部分人是懦弱的。

為什么耶穌要在暗中去呢?是他膽小嗎?他所面臨的問題是如何活著去過節。那樣他纔能公開講話。當時沒人會當眾殺他。但如果他與他弟兄一起去,反對他的猶太人會在路上埋伏,暗殺他。因為這個原因,他經常挪地方,穿過撒瑪利亞,去加利利。就連他還是嬰孩的時候,他父母就到處搬家,因為政府官員要尋著殺他。

上神學院?

vs 14-15
在節期中,他上殿里去教訓人。耶穌從小就是出色的老師。經上記著,他十二歲的時候在殿里講論,“凡聽見他的,都希奇他的聰明和他的應對。”路加福音2:46,47耶穌從未受過科班的神學訓練。這是一個應該學習的榜樣。傳道不一定要上神學院。我就沒有上,而根據我所見到從神學院出來的,也不鼓勵別人上。從神學院出來的往往是宗教權貴的態度,這種態度是那些耶穌的敵人的特征,瞧不起非全職事奉的。於是“教會”就單單成了牧師給他蠢笨的羊上課的地方,他覺得他們除了最卑下的事以外什么也做不了。真正需要的不是頭銜、學位,而是將聖經應用到生活中。與耶穌生活在一起,我們可以學到很多。我們在耶穌的使徒身上就看到這種效果。“他們見彼得、約翰的膽量,又看出他們原是沒有學問的小民,就希奇,認明他們是跟過耶穌的。”使徒行傳4:13

耶穌的教訓的權威?

我們如何知道耶穌的教訓是有權威的呢?懷疑的人不肯信服是因為他們故意不想順從神的意愿。耶穌在他的一個寓言里說:“若不聽從摩西和先知的話,就是有一個從死里復活的,他們也是不聽勸。” 路加福音16:31有許許多多的神跡和其它這類的証據証實耶穌的見証。問題在於這些玩世不恭的人常常由於不順服而變得是如此的腐敗,以至他們不能理智地思考。保羅在羅馬書第一章里談到這種現象說: “他們既然故意不認識神,神就任憑他們存邪僻的心行那些不合理的事。”羅馬書1:28因為思維和良知的敗壞,人必需要在神將他們拽向耶穌,而他們還沒有認識到基督的教訓的意義時,與神合作。在前一章里,耶穌說:“若不是差我來的父吸引人,就沒有能到我這里來的。到我這里來的,在末日我要叫他復活。” 約翰福音6:44 人只有在造就出了服從和順服的態度,樂意按神的意愿行事之後,纔會信基督。如果你不愿按神的意愿行事,那么你就找錯地方了。

律法的精神

有意思的是開始猶態人否認想要殺他,而在第25節有些人說:“這不是他們想要殺的人嗎?”
坦率地把這事說出來,耶穌是要羞辱他們,讓他們認識到他們的罪。然而如箴言9:8所說:“不要責備褻慢人,恐怕他恨你。要責備智慧人,他必愛你。”這不是一個命令,而是一個對人的本性的箴言式的觀察。耶穌常常責備褻慢的人,結果他們就恨你,甚至把他釘了十字架。這正是基督徒生活的一部分。

他們稱他是被鬼附著了,而耶穌卻顯示出他所做的是與律法的精神相一致的。安息日的精神是讓人安歇,使人聖潔。而那正是他在治好癱瘓的人時所做的。我們應該論斷,就如耶穌在這里所說的那樣和約翰所寫的那樣:“親愛的弟兄啊,一切的靈,你們不可都信。總要試驗那些靈是出於神的不是。因為世上有許多假先知已經出來了。”約翰一書4:1但這種論斷應該基於精神而不是字面。我看到許多例子,甚至連著名的宗教人物都曲解別人的文章以誣告,用草人的推理給人捏造罪名。





庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Wednesday, 29-Jul-2015 17:23:09 EDT

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

John 7:1-25 (web)

The Feast of Tabernacles: Part I

Unbelieving Brethren

7:1 After these things, Jesus was walking in Galilee,
for he wouldn't walk in Judea, because the Jews sought to kill him.
7:2 Now the feast of the Jews, the Feast of Booths, was at hand.
7:3 His brothers therefore said to him,
"Depart from here, and go into Judea,
that your disciples also may see your works which you do.
7:4 For no one does anything in secret, and himself seeks to be known openly.
If you do these things, reveal yourself to the world."
7:5 For even his brothers didn't believe in him.

7:6 Jesus therefore said to them,
"My time has not yet come, but your time is always ready.
7:7 The world can't hate you, but it hates me,
because I testify about it, that its works are evil.
7:8 You go up to the feast. I am not yet going up to this feast,
because my time is not yet fulfilled."
7:9 Having said these things to them, he stayed in Galilee.
7:10 But when his brothers had gone up to the feast,
then he also went up, not publicly, but as it were in secret.

7:11 The Jews therefore sought him at the feast, and said, "Where is he?"
7:12 There was much murmuring among the multitudes concerning him.
Some said, "He is a good man."
Others said, "Not so, but he leads the multitude astray."
7:13 Yet no one spoke openly of him for fear of the Jews.

7:14 But when it was now the midst of the feast,
Jesus went up into the temple and taught.
7:15 The Jews therefore marveled, saying,
"How does this man know letters, having never been educated?"
7:16 Jesus therefore answered them,
"My teaching is not mine, but his who sent me.
7:17 If anyone desires to do his will, he will know about the teaching,
whether it is from God, or if I am speaking from myself.
7:18 He who speaks from himself seeks his own glory,
but he who seeks the glory of him who sent him,
the same is true, and no unrighteousness is in him.
7:19 Didn't Moses give you the law, and yet none of you keeps the law?
Why do you seek to kill me?"

7:20 The multitude answered,"You have a demon! Who seeks to kill you?"
7:21 Jesus answered them, "I did one work, and you all marvel because of it.
7:22 Moses has given you circumcision (not that it is of Moses, but of the fathers),
and on the Sabbath you circumcise a boy.
7:23 If a boy receives circumcision on the Sabbath,
that the law of Moses may not be broken, are you angry with me,
because I made a man every bit whole on the Sabbath?
7:24 Don't judge according to appearance, but judge righteous judgment."
7:25 Therefore some of them of Jerusalem said, "Isn't this he whom they seek to kill?


Discussion Questions

Growing up with Jesus as your brother, why might you not have come to believe in him at first despite the miracles he did?
How did your family react to you becoming a Christian?
Why should Christians expect to be hated by the world?
What are the advantages and disadvantages to a seminary education?
How can a person know whether Jesus' teachings are authoritative?
How do fools react when you rebuke them?
In what ways is Jesus' healing of the man consistent with Sabbath law?
What are some right and wrong was to judge others?


Comments

His brothers didn't believe in him

vs 1-10
The Jews sought to kill him because he humilates them, convicting them of sin. Rebuking people, convicting them of sin, is a dangerous ministry even within the Christian community. For it is particularly dangerous among the religious elite and those who are in positions of power. You may be demoted, slandered, shunned, and even thrown out of churches. Or in the case of dealing with Muslims you may even be murdered. But that is the Christian life. We must testify of the world that its deeds are evil. Some may misapply Jesus' words saying, "Judge not and you shall not be judged", and try to shut us up. But we will testify to the truth. Jesus set the example and commands us to judge, not according to outward appearance of religiousity, but to judge righteously. (vs 24) And  don't be gullible, "do not believe every spirit, but test the spirits to see whether they are from God, because many false prophets have gone out into the world." 1John 4:1

Does the world love you? Maybe you're doing something wrong. If you're living the Christian life correctly then the world should hate you, just as it did Jesus. For Jesus said, "If the world hates you, keep in mind that it hated me first. If you belonged to the world, it would love you as its own. As it is, you do not belong to the world, but I have chosen you out of the world. That is why the world hates you." John 15:18,19 And John writes, "Do not be surprised, my brothers, if the world hates you.  We know that we have passed from death to life, because we love our brothers. Anyone who does not love remains in death.  Anyone who hates his brother is a murderer, and you know that no murderer has eternal life in him." 1John 3:13-15

Jesus own brothers, such as James and Jude, did not believe in him during his earthly ministry. (vs 5) They hated him and disregarded his safety. For Jesus said, "Do not suppose that I have come to bring peace to the earth. I did not come to bring peace, but a sword. For I have come to turn a man against his father, a daughter against her mother, a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law -- a man's enemies will be the members of his own household." Matt 10:34-36 And even early in his ministry when he started to heal people and cast out demons and started to get a following Mark records, When his family heard about this, they went to take charge of him, for they said, "He is out of his mind." Mark 3:21  Such was the attitude of his family towards him. For a prophet has no honor in his own home and familiarity breeds contempt. And they were envious of his popularity.

Popular Truths

vs 11-13
People were afraid to take a public stand concerning Jesus for among the crowd he had those who support and opposed him. People easily become outspoken when they believe their opinion is popular, but are reluctant to speak their opinion if they don't hold a clear majority. This is just human sinful nature. The problem is that what is popular doesn't really need to be spoken out so much as people already agree on it. It is the unpopular truths that need to be spoken so as to influence people away from the misconception of the popular opinion. But that takes courage, and most people are cowards.

But then why did Jesus come secretly? Was he a coward? The problem he faced was simply to get to the feast alive. Then he could speak openly. For at this time no one was going to kill him in public. But if he had gone with his brothers, the Jews who opposed him may have ambushed him and killed him on the way there. And it was this reason that he often moved around quite a bit passing through Samaria and going to Galillee. Even as an infant his parents had to move around because government officials sought to have him put to death.

Seminary Training?

vs 14-15
Here in the midst of the feast he goes to the temple to teach. Since his youth Jesus had been an outstanding teacher. He spoken in the temple when he was 12 and it is written, "After three days they found him in the temple courts, sitting among the teachers, listening to them and asking them questions. Everyone who heard him was amazed at his understanding and his answers." Luke 2:46,47 Jesus had no formal theological training.  There's an example to follow. You don't have to go to seminary to do ministry. I didn't, and I wouldn't even recommend going, based upon my experience of what I've seen come out of seminaries. What comes out of seminaries is often an attitude of religious eliteness characteristic of Jesus' enemies, contemptuous of lay ministry.  And thus the "church" becomes a place where a pastor simply lectures his stupid sheep whom he reckons incapable of doing anything but the most menial tasks. What is needed is not titles and degees but rather to simply to apply the Bible to life. We learn alot by living with Jesus. For we notice the same effect on Jesus' apostles. "When they saw the courage of Peter and John and realized that they were unschooled, ordinary men, they were astonished and they took note that these men had been with Jesus." Ac 4:13

Jesus' Teachings Authoritative?

How do we know Jesus' teachings are authoritative? Skeptics will not be convinced simply through reason if they have already chosen to willfully not do God's will. In one of his parables Jesus says, "If they do not listen to Moses and the Prophets, they will not be convinced even if someone rises from the dead." Luke 16:31 There are plenty of miracles and other such evidences affirming Jesus' testimony. The problem is that the cynic is often so corrupted by willful disobedience so as to render their reasoning useless. Paul speaks of this effect in Romans chapter 1. "Since they did not think it worthwhile to retain the knowledge of God, he gave them over to a depraved mind, to do what ought not to be done." Rom 1:28 It is because of the corruption of the mind and the conscience that a person must cooperate with God as He draws them to Christ before they can come to the revelation of the significance of Christ's teachings. In the previous chapter Jesus said,  "No one can come to me unless the Father who sent me draws him." Joh 6:44 One cannot come to faith in Christ until one has developed an attitude of submission and obedience, being willing to do God's will. If you're not willing to do God's will then you've come to the wrong place.

The Spirit of the Law

Interesting that at first the Jews denied trying to kill him, and yet in verse 25 some say, "Isn't this the man they are trying to kill?"
Speaking frankly of this matter Jesus attempted to humilate them convicting them of sin. But Proverbs 9:8  indicates, "Do not rebuke a mocker or he will hate you; rebuke a wise man and he will love you." Not that such is a command, but rather a proverbial observation of human nature. Jesus frequently rebukes fools, and they end up hating him, even crucifying him. That's just part of the Christian life.

They claimed he was possessed of a demonic spirit, but Jesus showed that his actions were consistent with the spirit of the Law. The spirit of the Sabbath is to give man rest and to make men whole. That is what he did in healing the paralytic. We should judge, just as Jesus says here, and just as John writes, "Dear friends, do not believe every spirit, but test the spirits to see whether they are from God, because many false prophets have gone out into the world." 1John 4:1 But such judgements should be make in accordance with the spirit and not simply by letter. I have seen a number of examples where even popular religous figures will misinterpret the sense of someone else's writings so as to falsely accuse and condemn using straw man arguments.


NIV version used in comments


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015