翻譯: English 中文 GB

約翰福音8:31-59

魔鬼之家

從罪的奴役里被贖出來

31  耶穌對信他的猶太人說:
“你們若常常遵守我的道,就真是我的門徒。
32  你們必曉得真理,真理必叫你們得以自由。”

33  他們回答說:
“我們是亞伯拉罕的後裔,從來沒有作過誰的奴仆。
你怎么說:‘你們必得自由’呢?”

34  耶穌回答說:
“我實實在在地告訴你們,所有犯罪的就是罪的奴仆。
35  奴仆不能永遠住在家里,兒子是永遠住在家里。
36  所以天父的兒子若叫你們自由,你們就真自由了。

你們的父是魔鬼

37  我知道你們是亞伯拉罕的子孫﹔你們卻想要殺我,
因為你們心里容不下我的道。
38  我所說的是在我父那里看見的﹔
你們所行的是在你們的父那里聽見的。”

39  他們說:我們的父就是亞伯拉罕。”

耶穌說:
“你們若是亞伯拉罕的兒子,就必行亞伯拉罕所行的事。
40  我將在神那里所聽見的真理告訴了你們,現在你們卻想要殺我。
這不是亞伯拉罕所行的事。
41  你們是行你們父所行的事。”

他們說:“我們不是從淫亂生的,我們只有一位父,就是神。”
42  耶穌說:
“倘若神是你們的父,你們就必愛我﹔
 因為我本是出於神,也是從神而來,
 并不是由著自己來,乃是他差我來。
43  你們為什么不明白我的話呢?無非是因你們不能聽我的道。
44  你們是出於你們的父魔鬼,你們父的私欲,你們偏要行。
他從起初是殺人的,不守真理,
因他心里沒有真理。
他說謊是出於自己,因他本來是說謊的,也是說謊之人的父。
45  我將真理告訴你們,你們就因此不信我。
46  你們中間誰能指証我有罪呢?我既然將真理告訴你們,為什么不信我呢?
47  出於神的,必聽神的話﹔
你們不聽,因為你們不是出於神。”

榮耀

48  猶太人回答說:
“我們說你是撒瑪利亞人,并且是鬼附著的,這話豈不正對嗎?”
49  耶穌說:
“我不是鬼附著的。我尊敬我的父,你們倒輕慢我。
50  我不求自己的榮耀。有一位為我求榮耀定是非的。
51  我實實在在地告訴你們,人若遵守我的道,就永遠不見死。”

52  猶太人對他說:
“現在我們知道你是鬼附著的。
亞伯拉罕死了,眾先知也死了。你還說:
‘人若遵守我的道,就永遠不嘗死味。’
53  難道你比我們的祖宗亞伯拉罕還大嗎?他死了,眾先知也死了。
你將自己當作什么人呢?”

54  耶穌回答說:
“我若榮耀自己,我的榮耀就算不得什么。
榮耀我的乃是我的父,就是你們所說是你們的神。
55  你們未曾認識他。我卻認識他。
我若說不認識他,我就是說謊的,象你們一樣。
但我認識他,也遵守他的道。
56  你們的祖宗亞伯拉罕歡歡喜喜地仰望我的日子﹔既看見了,就快樂。”

57  猶太人說:
“你還沒有五十歲,豈見過亞伯拉罕呢?”

58  耶穌說:
“我實實在在地告訴你們,還沒有亞伯拉罕,就有了我。”
59  於是他們拿石頭要打他。
耶穌卻躲藏,從殿里出去了。


問題討論

常常遵守他的道是什么意思?
第31節暗示那些不常常遵守他的道的人會怎么樣?
我們過去是以哪些方式做罪的奴仆的?
耶穌是以哪些方式讓信徒從這種奴役里自由出來的?
做魔鬼的奴仆與做魔鬼的兒子有什么不同?
猶太人的行為是如何像魔鬼的?
在這一段和前一段里的許多地方,那些不信的人都誤解了耶穌的話。為什么耶穌不解釋清楚他的意思呢?
我們該不該求自己的榮耀?(對比羅馬書2:7箴言25:27
第58節里耶穌說了些什么關於他自己的話?為什么猶太人會做出那種反應?


注釋

vs 31-36
約翰福音第六章里,我們看到有些門徒離開了耶穌。他們本不是真門徒。真門徒就會保持信心,并且著眼於如何把主的話付諸應用。在這里,耶穌是在給一群信徒和非信徒混合在一起的人講話。他的第一句話是對那些信他的人說的。但回答的卻像是人群中那些不信的,這種情形在不信的人中是司空見慣的,他們就是搞不明白。在第47節里耶穌說:“你們不聽,因為你們不是出於神。”

耶穌講到自由,那么是從什么底下獲得自由呢?通常會想到的是從人的奴役下獲得自由。耶穌所講的是比這更大的事情。雖然人類社會驕傲地自稱消除了奴隸制,然而他們并沒有做到這一點。奴隸仍然存在,而且一直存在著。所有以罪的生活方式生活的人都是罪的奴仆。而那些由神生的現在是神的兒子,不再是罪的奴仆。

約翰一書3:
5  你們知道主曾顯現,是要除掉人的罪。在他并沒有罪。
6  凡住在他里面的,就不犯罪。
凡犯罪的,是未曾看見他,也未曾認識他。
7  小子們哪,不要被人誘惑。
行義的纔是義人,正如主是義的一樣。
8  犯罪的是屬魔鬼,因為魔鬼從起初就犯罪。
神的兒子顯現出來,為要除滅魔鬼的作為。
9  凡從神生的就不犯罪,
因神的道(原文作“種”)存在他心里。他也不能犯罪,因為他是由神生的
這是由神生的結果,保羅曾在羅馬書6-8里論及於此。

vs 35 奴仆不能永遠住在家里,兒子是永遠住在家里。
他在這里所說的“家”指的是什么呢?因為他正在說罪,所以這個家指的是魔鬼之家,盡管這個原則適用於任何家庭。那么魔鬼的奴仆與魔鬼的兒子有什么區別呢?後面在這一章的第44節他的確把他們叫作魔鬼的兒子。我認為魔鬼的兒子是那些主動、自愿地以罪的生活方式生活的﹔魔鬼的奴仆是那些受迫、不情愿地以罪的生活方式生活的。
 

魔鬼的兒子 主動、自愿地以罪的生活方式生活
魔鬼的奴仆 受迫、不情愿地以罪的生活方式生活

這大致是未得救的人的兩個種類。我可以想見,開爾文主義者會把他們宿命的先救贖神學理論應用到這個模型上,進一步地把未得救的人分成受撿選的和未受撿選的兩個類。但我不愿走這么遠,作出這種假設。比如,使徒保羅就曾清楚地顯示出具有魔鬼的兒子特征的行為,可他還是得救了。所以我認為如果人悔改的話,是可以從一類轉化成另一類的。
 

在此順便插一句,我想,反過來是不是也對呢?可不可以說神的兒子主動、自愿地以義的生活方式生活﹔神的奴仆不情愿地以義的生活方式生活呢?這一模型的問題在於,由神生的不單單地要么是兒子、要么是奴仆,而是二者皆是。
羅馬書6:22  但現今你們既從罪里得了釋放,
作了神的奴仆
加拉太書4:7  可見,從此以後,你不是(律法的)奴仆,乃是兒子了。
既是兒子,就靠著神為後嗣。
類似地,保羅稱他自己是神的奴仆,同時也是神的兒子。其區別也許在於對基督徒生活的態度。因為我們有奴仆和兒子的雙重身分,我們的態度也會有類似的分類。已經由神生了,我們就不可避免地要以義的生活方式生活,但有時我們會主動、情愿地這么做,有時又會被動、不太情愿地這么做。有的時候事情會來得很自然。保羅給帖撒羅尼迦人寫到:“論到弟兄們相愛,不用人寫信給你們,因為你們自己蒙了神的教訓,叫你們彼此相愛。” 帖撒羅尼迦前書4:9 還有,“我們遵守神的誡命,這就是愛他了。并且他的誡命不是難守的。因為凡從神生的,就勝過世界。使我們勝了世界的,就是我們的信心。”約翰一書5:3,4但有時又會有特殊的情形使我們的信心和順從受到考驗。我可以想見耶穌的禱告:“不要成就我的意思,只要成就你的意思。”就反應出這種挑戰。

但一般說來,盡管不斷地經受試煉,神家里的人發覺他們就是不能以罪的生活方式生活﹔盡管他們試圖,魔鬼家里的人發覺他們就是不能以義的生活方式生活。

你們的父是魔鬼

vs 37-47
在第37節里,耶穌承認他們是亞伯拉罕的子孫,但在第40節里他又否認這一點。如何解釋這個佯謬呢?亞伯拉罕有兩個兒子,一個是自由女人撒拉生的,另一個是使女夏甲生的。保羅用這一點在加拉太書第四章里說,不信的人,盡管是亞伯拉罕的子孫,其實是使女的後裔,他們與在以撒身上所應驗的應許無緣。我們可以看到保羅在這一章里說的是什么,當他寫到:“弟兄們,我們是憑著應許作兒女,如同以撒一樣。當時那按著血氣生的,逼迫了那按著聖靈生的。現在也是這樣。”加拉太書4:28,29因為逼迫耶穌的人從血肉上說是猶太人,而從靈上說卻不是。

那些從血肉上說是“基督徒”,而從靈上說卻不是的人也一樣。也許,他們生長在基督徒家庭,用水受過洗,去教會,參加與基督教有關的各種儀式,根據屬血肉的事自認為是義人。而恰恰是這種人,往往是敵對那些由神生的人的根源。

耶穌在這里說的那些魔鬼的子孫有哪些特征呢?

vs 41他們提到從淫亂生的也許是沖著耶穌的,在世人眼里,他是在可疑的情形下懷上的。然而,在第46節里,耶穌向他們挑戰,讓他們指出他的罪,他的意思是說:“我已經指出了你們的罪。現在你們來說出我的罪吧。”因為盡管耶穌被許多人所藐視,他卻是無罪的。所以,若我們也想像耶穌那樣傳道的話,就應首先檢驗我們自己,看我們有沒有偽善,我們應該樂意接受批評。更進一步地說,傳道最重要的原則很簡單,那就是講真話。這與現在許多人把重點放在避免使人失去興趣截然不同。當然不能說,耶穌傳道沒有得罪人。事實上,考慮到耶穌的教訓,几乎可以說,若我們傳道不得罪人的話,我們肯定把什么做錯了。

第47節里他說出於神的,必聽神的話。約翰還寫到:“我們是屬神的,認識神的就聽從我們。不屬神的就不聽從我們。” 約翰一書4:6基督徒也是這樣。在我們傳神的道時,屬神的就聽從我們,不屬神的就不聽從我們。

榮耀

vs 48-51
耶穌在坐落於撒瑪利亞北面、加利利的拿撒勒長大,拿但業說:“拿撒勒還能出什么好的嗎?”猶太人,尤其是那些住在猶大地的,有偏見和種族歧似。他們看不起那些來自猶大地以外的猶太人。

侮辱主本身就已經是很壞的事了。經上寫到:“當以嘴親子,恐怕他發怒,你們便在道中滅亡,因為他的怒氣快要發作。” 詩篇2:12而說耶穌是鬼附著的則是非常嚴重的罪。因為他們所反對的是聖靈。這就可以決定他們的命運,經上說:“惟獨說話干犯聖靈的,今世來世總不得赦免。”馬太福音12:32

vs 54
箴言25:27 “喫蜜過多,是不好的。
考究自己的榮耀,也是可厭的。”
箴言27:2  “要別人夸獎你,不可用口自夸。
等外人稱贊你,不可用嘴自稱。”

vs 55
基督徒說:“我認識神。”似乎有點傲慢,但如不這么說則是在說謊。經上寫到,按照新約,“他們不用各人教導自己的鄉鄰和自己的弟兄,說:‘你該認識主。’因為他們從最小的到至大的,都必認識我。”希伯來書8:11耶利米書里也命令說:“夸口的卻因他有聰明,認識我是耶和華。” 耶利米書9:24

vs 56 亞伯拉罕看見了是什么意思呢?他的意思可能是說亞伯拉罕預見到了,或者說他從給他作的關於以撒的應許里領悟到了。

vs 58 “就有了我”也譯作“自有永有的”  神對摩西說:“我是自有永有的。”又說:“你要對以色列人這樣說:‘那自有的打發我到你們這里來。’”出埃及記3:14故此,猶太人要拿石頭打他。當然,耶穌在成為肉身之前就存在了,因為萬物是藉著他造的。凡被造的,沒有一樣不是藉著他造的。

但注意到這些人多次誤解了他的話。而有意思的是耶穌并不向他們解釋清楚。這是教授聖經時的要點之一。在世俗世界里,教的目的就是要讓人懂。如果他們誤解了你的話,你就要用他們能夠接受的方式給他們講清楚。但那并不是耶穌在這里所做的。還記得他對他的門徒說的話嗎?他說:
門徒進前來,問耶穌說:“對眾人講話,為什么用比喻呢?”
耶穌回答說:“因為天國的奧秘,只叫你們知道,不叫他們知道。凡有的,還要加給他,叫他有余。凡沒有的,連他所有的,也要奪去。所以我用比喻對他們講,是因他們看也看不見,聽也聽不見,也不明白。在他們身上,正應了以賽亞的預言,說:‘你們聽是要聽見,卻不明白。看是要看見,卻不曉得。因為這百姓油蒙了心,耳朵發沉,眼睛閉著。恐怕眼睛看見,耳朵聽見,心里明白,回轉過來,我就醫治他們。’”馬太福音13:10-15
正因為不信的人用聾子的耳朵來應付神,神也用啞巴的口來對他們。對向基督教發問不是為了尋求真理,而只是為了誹謗的那些不信的玩世不恭者,我們要說的是什么呢?我們要說的就是定罪。當他們用他們對聖經的扭曲解釋來問我們愚蠢的問題時,我們用不著回答他們。因為耶穌就沒有。妨礙他們的不是他們的誤解,而是他們不愿悔改的心,它敗壞了他們的思維和良心,使他們又聾又瞎。反之,有誠實的懷疑者,他們有問題而且是在真誠地尋求答案。我們應把焦點放在教這樣的人上。




庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Wednesday, 29-Jul-2015 17:23:10 EDT

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

John 8:31-59 (web)

The Devil's Household

Free from Slavery to Sin

31  Jesus therefore said to those Jews who had believed him,
"If you remain in my word, then you are truly my disciples.
32  You will know the truth, and the truth will make you free."

33  They answered him,
"We are Abrahamís seed, and have never been in bondage to anyone.
How do you say, ĎYou will be made free?í"

34  Jesus answered them,
"Most assuredly I tell you, everyone who commits sin is the bondservant of sin.
35  A bondservant doesnít live in the house forever. A son remains forever.
36  If therefore the Son makes you free, you will be free indeed.

Your Father is the Devil

37  I know that you are Abrahamís seed, yet you seek to kill me,
because my word finds no place in you.
38  I say the things which I have seen with my Father;
and you also do the things which you have seen with your father."

39  They answered him, "Our father is Abraham."

Jesus said to them,
"If you were Abrahamís children, you would do the works of Abraham.
40  But now you seek to kill me, a man who has told you the truth,
which I heard from God. Abraham didnít do this.
41  You do the works of your father."

They said to him, "We were not born of sexual immorality. We have one Father, God."
42  Therefore Jesus said to them,
"If God were your Father, you would love me,
for I came out and have come from God.
For I havenít come of myself, but he sent me.
43  Why donít you understand my speech? Because you canít hear my word.
44  You are of your Father, the devil, and you want to do the desires of your father.
He was a murderer from the beginning, and doesnít stand in the truth,
because there is no truth in him.
When he speaks a lie, he speaks on his own; for he is a liar, and the father of it.
45  But because I tell the truth, you donít believe me.
46  Which of you convicts me of sin? If I tell the truth, why do you not believe me?
47  He who is of God hears the words of God.
For this cause you donít hear, because you are not of God."

Honor

48  Then the Jews answered him,
"Donít we say well that you are a Samaritan, and have a demon?"
49  Jesus answered,
"I donít have a demon, but I honor my Father, and you dishonor me.
50  But I donít seek my own glory. There is one who seeks and judges.
51  Most assuredly, I tell you, if a person keeps my word, he will never see death."

52  Then the Jews said to him,
"Now we know that you have a demon.
Abraham died, and the prophets; and you say,
ĎIf a man keeps my word, he will never taste of death.í
53  Are you greater than our father, Abraham, who died?
The prophets died. Who do you make yourself out to be?"

54  Jesus answered,
"If I glorify myself, my glory is nothing.
It is my Father who glorifies me, of whom you say that he is our God.
55  You have not known him, but I know him.
If I said, ĎI donít know him,í I would be like you, a liar.
But I know him, and keep his word.
56  Your father Abraham rejoiced to see my day. He saw it, and was glad."

57  The Jews therefore said to him,
"You are not yet fifty years old, and have you seen Abraham?"

58  Jesus said to them,
"Most assuredly, I tell you, before Abraham came into existence, I AM."
59  Therefore they took up stones to throw at him, but Jesus was hidden,
and went out of the temple, having gone through the midst of them, and so passed by.


Discussion Questions

What does it mean to continue in his word (or hold to his teachings)?
What does vs 31 imply about those who don't continue in his word?
In what ways were we slaves of the devil?
And in what ways has Jesus free those of us who are believers from such slavery?
But what is the difference between being a slave of the devil and being a son of the devil?
How were the Jews behaving like the devil?
It seems that many times in this section and previously that the unbelievers misinterpret what Jesus says. Why doesn't Jesus clarify what he really means?
Should we strive to seek honor for ourselves? (Contrast Rom 2:7 with Prov 25:27)
In verse 58 what is Jesus saying about himself and why did the Jews react the way they did?


Comments

vs 31-36
In John 6 we saw disciples fall away from following Jesus. They were not true disciples. True disciples continue in the faith with a views towards applying his word. It says that Jesus was speaking to a crowd mixed with believers and unbelievers. His first statement was meant only for those who believed in him. But it seems the unbelievers in the crowd responded, and as is the case commonly with unbelievers, they just don't get it. In verse 47 Jesus says, "The reason you do not hear is that you do not belong to God."

Jesus speaks of offering freedom, but freedom from what? Typical of the natural mind to think of freedom from human slavery. Jesus was speaking of something much bigger than this. Though societies may proudly boast of eliminating slavery, yet they haven't. Slave still exists and always has. All who live a lifestyle of sin are slaves to sin.  But those who have been born of God are now sons of God and freed from the slavery to sin.

1John 3:
5  You know that he was revealed to take away our sins, and in him is no sin.
6  Whoever remains in him doesnít sin.
Whoever sins hasnít seen him, neither knows him.
7  Little children, let no one lead you astray.
He who does righteousness is righteous, even as he is righteous.
8  He who sins is of the devil, for the devil has been sinning from the beginning.
To this end the Son of God was revealed, that he might destroy the works of the devil.
9  Whoever is born of God doesnít commit sin,
because his seed remains in him; and he canít sin, because he is born of God.
That is an effect of being born of God, of which Paul also writes in Romans 6-8

vs 35 A bondservant doesnít live in the house forever. A son remains forever.
An issue here is what "house" is he referring to? For his immediate reference is being enslaved to sin and thus this would represent the household of the devil. Although the principle could apply to any household. But is the difference between being a slave to the devil and being a son of the devil? Later in the chapter in verse 44 he does call them sons of the devil. I would infer that sons of the devil are those who live a lifestyle of sin willfully. Slaves of the devil are those who live a lifestyle of sin reluctantly.
 

Sons of the Devil Live a lifestyle of sin willfully
Slaves of the Devil Live a lifestyle of sin reluctantly

Thus these may be two categories of unredeemed. I could imagine Calivinists applying their fatalistic pre-salvation theology to this model and further categorize these as the elect and non-elect among the unredeemed. But I wouldn't go so far as to make that assumption. For example the apostle Paul clearly demonstrated behavior which would have been characteristic of a son of the devil. And in fact he labels himself the chief of all sinners, referencing his former behavior, and yet he got saved. Thus I would infer that it's possible to change categories if one repents.
 

As a digression I wonder if the converse is also true. That is that sons of God live a righteous lifestyle willfully and slaves of God live a righteous lifestyle reluctantly. But a problem with this model is those who have been born of God are not uniquely sons or slaves of God, but rather are both.
Romans 6:22  But now, being made free from sin,
and having become servants of God
Galatians 4:7  So you are no longer a bondservant (to the law), but a son;
and if a son, then an heir of God through Christ.
And similarly Paul calls himself a servant of God, but also a son of God. But perhaps the difference lies in the attitude towards the Christian life. For though we have both status of son and slave, yet our attitude can also be categorized thusly. Having been born of God, it's inevitable that we will live a righteous life, but at times we will do so willfully and at other times reluctantly. At times somethings come quite naturally. Paul writes of the Thessalonians, "But concerning brotherly love, you have no need that one write to you. For you yourselves are taught by God to love one another." 1Th 4:9  And "this is the love of God, that we keep his commandments. His commandments are not grievous. For whatever is born of God overcomes the world" 1John 5:3,4 But then there arise particular circumstances which test our faith and obedience. I can imagine Jesus' prayer "not my will be yours be done" reflects such challenges.

But generally speaking try as they might, those in God's household find that they just cannot live a lifestyle of sin. And try as they might, those of the devil find that they just cannot live a righteous lifestyle.

Your Father is the Devil

vs 37-47
In verse 37 Jesus acknowledges that they are Abraham's seed, but in verse 40 he denies it. How can we resolve this paradox? Abraham had two sons, one of Sarah, the free woman, and one of Hagar, the slave woman. Paul uses this point in Galatians 4 to say that unbelieving Jews, though sons of Abraham, were really sons of the slave woman, and thus having no part in the promise which was fulfilled in Isaac. And we can see in this chapter what Paul spoke of when he said, "Now we, brothers, as Isaac was, are children of promise. But as then, he who was born according to the flesh persecuted him who was born according to the Spirit, so also it is now." Gal 4:28,29 For Jesus was persecuted by those who were only Jews in the flesh and not in spirit.

But then the same goes for "Christians" who are only so in flesh and not in spirit, who may have  grown up in a Christian household, gotten wet in baptism, going to church, partaking in the ceremonies associated with Christianity, and who reckon themselves righteous upon the basis of fleshly things. It is these kind of people that are often a source of hostility against those who have been born of God.

What are characteristics of children of the devil which Jesus references here?

vs 41 Their reference to not being born of fornication may have been directed at Jesus who, from the society's viewpoint, was conceived under questionable circumstances. But regardless, in verse 46 Jesus challenges them to point out sin in him in a sense saying, "I pointed out your sinfulness. Now go ahead and try to point out mine." For Jesus was sinless, though despised by many. So let us also who intend to preach as Jesus did, to first examine ourselves to see if there be hypocrisy in us and let us be open to criticism. And furthermore the most important principle of preaching is simply TO TELL THE TRUTH. This in contrast to the priority of many today of not turning people off or offending people. It certainly cannot be said of Jesus' preaching that he didn't offend people. In fact given Jesus' sermons it can almost be said that if our preaching doesn't offend people then we must be doing something wrong.

In verse 47 he says that those who are of God hear the words of God. John also writes, "We are of God. He who knows God listens to us. He who is not of God doesnít listen to us. " 1John 4:6 And this is true of us as Christians. As we preach the Word, those who are of God listen to us. But those who are not of God don't.


Jesus' Rhetoric

Jesus rhetoric is inflammatory. The tone resonant in his message is hostile, insulting. But what he says is true. Jesus sets the precedent for Christian rhetoric.

vs 51 Jesus' comeback is like throwing pearls to swine. He tells them something spiritual which they would not understand and which they could easily misinterpret. He does this all the time. He invites them to slander him. It's like he's playing basketball and draws the foul to get the three point shot.




Honor

vs 48-51
Nazareth of Galilee where Jesus was from was north of Samaria and as Nathanael said, "Can any good thing come out of Nazareth?" Jews, especially those in Judea, were prejudice and racist. They looked down even upon other Jews who were not from Judea.

As it was, insulting the Lord was bad enough. For it is written, "Kiss the Son, lest he be angry and you be destroyed in your way, for his wrath can flare up in a moment." Ps 2:12 But declaring that Jesus was demon possessed was a serious charge. For they were speaking against the Holy Spirit. This may have sealed their fate in that it is written,"whoever speaks against the Holy Spirit, it will not be forgiven him, neither in this world, nor in that which is to come." Mat 12:32


vs 54
Pr 25:27  "It is not good to eat too much honey,
nor is it honorable to seek oneís own honor."
Pr 27:2  "Let another praise you, and not your own mouth;
someone else, and not your own lips."

vs 55
It may seem arrogant for the Christian to say "I know God", but to say otherwise may be a lie. Under the New Covenant it is written that, "They will not teach every man his fellow citizen, Every man his brother, saying, ĎKnow the Lord,í For all will know me, From the least of them to the greatest of them." Heb 8:11 And it is also commanded in Jeremiah, "let him who boasts boast about this: that he understands and knows me, that I am the LORD" Jer 9:24

vs 56 What did he mean that Abraham saw it? He could mean that Abraham foresaw it, or perceived it coming in the promise given to him concerning Isaac.

vs 58 "I AM"  God said to Moses, "I AM WHO I AM. This is what you are to say to the Israelites: íI AM has sent me to you.í" Exodus 3:14 And it is for this reason that the Jews intended to stone Jesus. Jesus of course preexisted his incarnation, for through him all things were made and without him nothing was made that has been made.

Teaching

But notice how many times these people misinterpret what he says. And yet it is also interesting that Jesus doesn't clarify. This is an important point when it comes to teaching the Bible. In the secular world the objective in teaching is to get people to understand. If they misinterpret what you say then you clarify in a way in which they will understand. But that is not what Jesus does here. And remember what he said to his disciples:
The disciples came, and said to him, "Why do you speak to them in parables?"
He answered them, "To you it is given to know the mysteries of the Kingdom of Heaven, but it is not given to them. For whoever has, to him will be given, and he will have abundance, but whoever doesnít have, from him will be taken away even that which he has. Therefore I speak to them in parables, because seeing they donít see, and hearing, they donít hear, neither do they understand. In them the prophecy of Isaiah is fulfilled, which says,  ĎBy hearing you will hear, And will in no way understand; Seeing you will see, And will in no way perceive:  For this peopleís heart has grown callous, Their ears are dull of hearing, They have closed their eyes; Or else perhaps they might perceive with their eyes, Hear with their ears, Understand with their heart, And should turn again; And I would heal them.í" Mat 13:10-15
Just as unbelievers turn a deaf ear to God, so God turns a mute tongue to them. What is our message to the unbelieving cynics who simply question Christianity not to obtain truth but simply to slander? Our message is one of condemnation. When they approach us with stupid questions concerning their distorted interpretations of the Bible we need not answer them. For Jesus didn't. And what would be the point. It isn't their misinterpretations which hinder them. It is their unrepentant heart which has led to their corrupt mind and conscience and which has made them deaf and blind. But on the other hand there are honest skeptics - Berean types - who have questions and honestly seek answers. Those are the ones we should focus on teaching.



The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015