翻譯:English GB

羅馬書 13

順服權威

13:1 在上有權柄的,人人當順服他,

  因為沒有權柄不是出于神的。凡掌權的都是神所命的。
13:2 所以抗拒掌權的,就是抗拒神的命。
  抗拒的必自取刑罰。

13:3 作官的原不是叫行善的懼怕,乃是叫作惡的懼怕。
  你愿意不懼怕掌權的嗎?
  你只要行善,就可得他的稱贊。

13:4 因為他是神的用人,是與你有益的。
  你若作惡,卻當懼怕,
  因為他不是空空的佩劍。
  他是神的用人,是伸冤的,刑罰那作惡的。

還債

13:5 所以你們必須順服,
  不但是因為刑罰,也是因為良心。

13:6 你們納糧也為這個緣故,
  因他們是神的差役,常常特管這事。

13:7 凡人所當得的,就給他:

13:8 凡事都不可虧欠人,
  惟有彼此相愛,要常以為虧欠,
  因為愛人的就完全了律法。

13:9 像那
  “不可奸淫”,
  “不可殺人”,
  “不可偷盜”,
  “不可貪婪”,

  或有別的誡命,都包在
  “愛人如己”
  這一句話之內了。

13:10 愛是不加害與人的,所以愛就完全了律法。

光明的行為

13:11 再者,你們曉得現今就是該趁早睡醒的時候,
  因為我們得救,現今比初信的時候更近了。

13:12 黑夜已深,白晝將近,
  我們就當脫去暗昧的行為,帶上光明的兵器。

13:13 行事為人要端正,好像行在白晝。

13:14 總要披戴主耶穌基督,
  不要為肉體安排,去放縱私欲。


問題討論

對保羅講的關于順服于世人的權威的話,當時的基督徒會有什麼顧慮?
如果這些權威是“邪惡”的或暴虐的怎麼辦?
順服于世人的權威的合宜動機是什麼?
如果算上所納的稅,你給神的奉獻占你收入的百分之幾?
你所見到的人對其它人帶來的直接或間接的傷害有哪些?
你所見到的人對其它人帶來的直接或間接的好處有哪些?
舉例說明有些事雖然是以愛的名義做的,卻給人帶來了傷害。
舉幾個基督徒的愛的例子。
如何衡量“端正”的行為?
是什麼促使你作為基督徒端正地行事為人?
你以哪些人作為你生活的典范?

注釋

順服有權柄的

羅馬書 13:1-2 在上有權柄的,人人當順服他,因為沒有權柄不是出于神的。凡掌權的都是神所命的。所以抗拒掌權的,就是抗拒神的命。抗拒的必自取刑罰。

同樣,保羅指示提多說:“你要提醒眾人,叫他們順服作官的、掌權的,遵他的命,預備行各樣的善事。不要毀謗,不要爭競,總要和平,向眾人大顯溫柔。”【提多書 3:1-2】

彼得寫到:“你們為主的緣故,要順服人的一切制度,或是在上的君王,或是君王所派罰惡賞善的臣宰。因為神的旨意原是要你們行善,可以堵住那糊涂無知人的口。你們雖是自由的,卻不可借著自由遮蓋惡毒(或作“陰毒”),總要作神的仆人。務要尊敬眾人:親愛教中的弟兄,敬畏神,尊敬君王。”【彼得前書 2:13-17】


人的權威是神的用人

羅馬書 13:3-4 作官的原不是叫行善的懼怕,乃是叫作惡的懼怕。你愿意不懼怕掌權的嗎?你只要行善,就可得他的稱贊。因為他是神的用人,是與你有益的。你若作惡,卻當懼怕,因為他不是空空的佩劍。他是神的用人,是伸冤的,刑罰那作惡的。

作惡的人通常生活在對合法權威的懼怕之中。“愛堥S有懼怕。愛既完全,就把懼怕除去,因為懼怕塈t著刑罰。”【約翰一書 4:18a】所以如果你不想生活在這種懼怕之中,就要愛,做義的事。

當然人的權威都只在有限的范疇埵陵纂A但在那個范疇堙A他們是合法的事奉神的權威。保羅是在這種意義上講人的權威的。如果他們獎惡罰善,他們就是在他們合法的權威范疇之外行事。但那并不使他們事奉神的獎善罰惡的權威無效,在舊約堛澈雃h例子中神甚至用異教的權威來事奉他,并且如果他們越過了界限還懲罰他們。“亞述是我怒氣的棍,手中拿我惱恨的杖。”【以賽亞書 10:5】

下屬,無論是兒女、妻子、公民、雇員等,在受到管教或自由受到限制時,他們的反應常常是悖逆的,無視在他們之上的合法權威。但神命定了用權威來限制人的罪性對自己和別人的破壞性影響。因此權威對社會的益處來說是必須的。

在此還注意到其它兩件事。權威的責任不但是要主持公道,還要獎賞善行,雖然後者往往被忽視。還有,注意主持公道不在于改造,雖然改造也許會發生。主持公道主要在于伸冤。


納稅

羅馬書 13:5-7 所以你們必須順服,不但是因為刑罰,也是因為良心。你們納糧也為這個緣故,因他們是神的差役,常常特管這事。凡人所當得的,就給他:當得糧的,給他納糧﹔當得稅的,給他上稅﹔當懼怕的,懼怕他﹔當恭敬的,恭敬他。

雖然在理想情況下,在成熟時,我們行義的事因為那件事是義的。但與此同時,神用正面的和負面的得失來激勵我們。關于良心,經上說:“正直人的純正必引導自己﹔”【箴言 11:3a】還有,“行為正直的,有公義保守。”【箴言 13:6a】但我們還要留心別人的良心。“眾人以為美的事,要留心去做。”【羅馬書 12:17】

有些人試圖把這些命令解釋成只限于屬靈的權威,但如果這還沒有足夠的清楚的話,保羅提到納稅,這徹底說明他主要是在講人的權威。無論他們是不是信徒或是不是敬神,人的權威是神的用人,要你納稅是神的旨意,基督徒在不違背他們的良心的前題下應該遵守法律。這是一個值得討論的主題。我要問那些違犯法律的人,他們那樣做是不是符合神意愿。

“務要尊敬眾人:親愛教中的弟兄,敬畏神,尊敬君王。”【彼得前書 2:17】

“我勸你第一要為萬人懇求,禱告,代求,祝謝﹔為君王和一切在位的也該如此,使我們可以敬虔,端正,平安無事地度日。”【提摩太前書 2:1-2】


愛就完全了律法

羅馬書 13:8-10 凡事都不可虧欠人,惟有彼此相愛,要常以為虧欠,因為愛人的就完全了律法。像那“不可奸淫”,“不可殺人”,“不可偷盜”,“不可貪婪”,或有別的誡命,都包在“愛人如己”這一句話之內了。愛是不加害與人的,所以愛就完全了律法。

世界的經濟在很大程度上依賴信用──用人所不擁有的錢來付帳,指望他投資所賺的錢能夠付清所欠的債。人不應對神沒有保証的事想當然。“嗐,你們有話說:‘今天、明天我們要往某城堨h,在那埵矰@年,作買賣得利。’其實明天如何,你們還不知道。你們的生命是什麼呢?你們原來是一片云霧,出現少時就不見了。你們只當說:‘主若愿意,我們就可以活著,也可以做這事,或做那事。’現今你們竟以張狂夸口,凡這樣夸口都是惡的。”【雅各書 4:13-16】要避免不必要地欠債。而關于你與人定的合同,經上寫到,對義人來說:“他發了誓,雖然自己吃虧,也不更改。”【詩篇 15:4】

至于愛,那是一個永遠還不清的債。這個責任將存留到永遠。有的關系是以你對我好我就對你好為基礎的,在這種關系中,一個人為別人做好事,這樣別人也許會感到有義務回報。但那不是愛。耶穌說:“你們若單愛那愛你們的人,有什麼可酬謝的呢?就是罪人也愛那愛他們的人。你們若善待那善待你們的人,有什麼可酬謝的呢?就是罪人也是這樣行。你們若借給人,指望從他收回,有什麼可酬謝的呢?就是罪人也借給罪人,要如數收回。你們倒要愛仇敵,也要善待他們,并要借給人不指望償還。你們的賞賜就必大了,你們也必作至高者的兒子,因為他恩待那忘恩的和作惡的。”【路加福音 6:32-35】

心懷墨守律法的觀念的人只關心條例,但如果人互相相愛,就沒有條例的必要。因為愛就完全了律法。


一個急迫的信息

羅馬書 13:11-12 再者,你們曉得現今就是該趁早睡醒的時候,因為我們得救,現今比初信的時候更近了。黑夜已深,白晝將近,我們就當脫去暗昧的行為,帶上光明的兵器。

他在這婸〞滷o救不是我們的稱義。我們已經稱義。因為我們已經靠著恩典因信得救。他在這婸〞滷o救指的是把我們從現在的世界堿@救到榮耀堙A那將發生在主的日子。“但主的日子要像賊來到一樣。那日天必大有響聲廢去,有形質的都要被烈火銷化。地和其上的物都要燒盡了。這一切既然都要如此銷化,你們為人該當怎樣聖潔,怎樣敬虔,切切仰望神的日子來到。”【彼得後書 3:12a】類似地,關于現在的危機保羅寫到:“弟兄們,我對你們說,時候減少了。從此以後,那有妻子的,要像沒有妻子﹔哀哭的,要像不哀哭﹔快樂的,要像不快樂﹔置買的,要像無有所得﹔用世物的,要像不用世物。因為這世界的樣子將要過去了。”【哥林多前書 7:29-31】

我們不必要地承擔了某些重擔、物質上的東西、責任,更重要的是我們所犯的罪。“就當放下各樣的重擔,脫去容易纏累我們的罪,存心忍耐,奔那擺在我們前頭的路程,”【希伯來書 12:1b】所有這些經文都含有一種急迫的意思在堶情A這應該是基督徒生活的特征。

至于“光明的兵器”,他還在【以弗所書 6:14-18】奡ㄗ魽C以弗所書也講到關于暗昧的行為:“那暗昧無益的事,不要與人同行,倒要責備行這事的人。”【以弗所書 5:11】


光明的行為

羅馬書 13:13-14 行事為人要端正,好像行在白晝。不可荒宴醉酒,不可好色邪蕩,不可爭競嫉妒。總要披戴主耶穌基督,不要為肉體安排,去放縱私欲。

“你們都是光明之子,都是白晝之子,我們不是屬黑夜的,也不是屬幽暗的。所以我們不要睡覺,像別人一樣,總要儆醒謹守。因為睡了的人是在夜間睡,醉了的人是在夜間醉。但我們既然屬乎白晝,就應當謹守,把信和愛當作護心鏡遮胸,把得救的盼望當作頭盔戴上。因為神不是預定我們受刑,乃是預定我們借著我們主耶穌基督得救。”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 5:5-9】

有意思的是注意他在兩處所給出的動機。他沒有靠對被定罪的懼怕來激勵義的行為。因為那將與得救是因著信而不是靠行為的概念相反。反之,他用讓我們看到我們所擁有的盼望來激勵我們的行為。還有,義的行為是那些由神生的人的特征。“凡屬基督耶穌的人,是已經把肉體,連肉體的邪情私欲,同釘在十字架上了。”【加拉太書 5:24】因此,“我說:你們當順著聖靈而行,就不放縱肉體的情欲了。”【加拉太書 5:16】


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Romans 13 (web)

Submission to Civil Authorities

13:1 Let every soul be in subjection to the higher authorities,
for there is no authority except from God, and those who exist are ordained by God.
13:2 Therefore he who resists the authority, withstands the ordinance of God;
and those who withstand will receive to themselves judgment.
13:3 For rulers are not a terror to the good work, but to the evil.
Do you desire to have no fear of the authority?
Do that which is good, and you will have praise from the same,
13:4 for he is a servant of God to you for good.
But if you do that which is evil, be afraid,
for he doesn't bear the sword in vain;
for he is a minister of God, an avenger for wrath to him who does evil.

Paying Debts

13:5 Therefore you need to be in subjection,
not only because of the wrath, but also for conscience' sake.
13:6 For this reason you also pay taxes, for they are ministers of God's service,
attending continually on this very thing.
13:7 Give therefore to everyone what you owe: 13:8 Owe no one anything, except to love one another;
for he who loves his neighbor has fulfilled the law.

Love

13:9 For the commandments, "You shall not commit adultery," "You shall not murder," "You shall not steal," "You shall not give false testimony," "You shall not covet," and whatever other commandments there are, are all summed up in this saying, namely, "You shall love your neighbor as yourself."
13:10 Love doesn't harm a neighbor. Love therefore is the fulfillment of the law.

Enlightened Behavior

13:11 Do this, knowing the time, that it is already time for you to awaken out of sleep,
for salvation is now nearer to us than when we first believed.
13:12 The night is far gone, and the day is near.
Let's therefore throw off the works of darkness, and let's put on the armor of light.
13:13 Let us walk properly, as in the day; 13:14 But put on the Lord Jesus Christ,
and make no provision for the flesh, for its lusts.


Questions

What problems do you supposed the Christians might have had back then with Paul's statements concerning submission to the civil authorities?
What about authorities that might be considered "evil" or overly oppressive?
What are appropriate motivations to submit to civil authorities?
When you figure in taxes, what percentage of your income are you giving back to God?
What harm do you see people doing to others - directly or indirectly?
What good - directly or indirectly?
What are examples of where doing things in the name of love actually brings harm to others?
What are examples of Christian love?
How do you measure "decent" behavior?
What motivates you to live appropriately as a Christian?
What people are you modeling your life after?


Comments

Submit to Authorities

Rom 13:1,2
Everyone must submit himself to the governing authorities, for there is no authority except that which God has established. The authorities that exist have been established by God. Consequently, he who rebels against the authority is rebelling against what God has instituted, and those who do so will bring judgment on themselves.

Likewise Paul instructs Titus, "Remind the people to be subject to rulers and authorities, to be obedient, to be ready to do whatever is good, to slander no one, to be peaceable and considerate, and to show true humility toward all men." Titus 3:1,2

And Peter writes, "Submit yourselves for the Lord’s sake to every authority instituted among men: whether to the king, as the supreme authority, or to governors, who are sent by him to punish those who do wrong and to commend those who do right. For it is God’s will that by doing good you should silence the ignorant talk of foolish men. Live as free men, but do not use your freedom as a cover-up for evil; live as servants of God. Show proper respect to everyone: Love the brotherhood of believers, fear God, honor the king." 1Peter 2:13-17


Civil Authorities God's Servants

Rom 13:3,4 For rulers hold no terror for those who do right, but for those who do wrong. Do you want to be free from fear of the one in authority? Then do what is right and he will commend you. For he is God’s servant to do you good. But if you do wrong, be afraid, for he does not bear the sword for nothing. He is God’s servant, an agent of wrath to bring punishment on the wrongdoer.

Evil doers generally live in fear of legitimate authority. "There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment." 1John 4:18a So if you want to be free from such fear, practice love, do what is right.

Of course human authority only has a limited realm of authority, but within that realm they are legitimate God-ministering authorities. And in this sense Paul is speaking of these civil authorities. If they are rewarding evil and punishing good, they are acting outside their legitimate realm of authority. But that does not nullify their God-given authority to reward good and punish evil. The Old Testament has many examples of God even using pagan authority figures as his ministers, and punishing them if they overstep their authority. "Woe to the Assyrian, the rod of my anger, in whose hand is the club of my wrath!" Isaiah 10:5 (niv)

Subordinates, whether they be children, wives, citizens, employees or the like often are rebelliousness and contemptuous of those who are in legitimate authority over them in reaction to discipline and restrictions to their freedom. But God has ordained authority to limit the destructive influence of the sinful nature upon oneself and others. And thus such authority is necessary for the benefit of society.

Notice also a couple of other things here. It is the authority's responsibility not only to dispense justice, but also to reward good behavior, though the latter is often neglected. Furthermore notice that the dispensing of justice is not about reform, though reform may occur. It is primarily about pay back - more literally it says, "he is God’s minister, an avenger to execute wrath on him who practices evil."


Taxing Issues

Rom 13:5-7 Therefore, it is necessary to submit to the authorities, not only because of possible punishment but also because of conscience. This is also why you pay taxes, for the authorities are God’s servants, who give their full time to governing. Give everyone what you owe him: If you owe taxes, pay taxes; if revenue, then revenue; if respect, then respect; if honor, then honor.

While ideally when we reach maturity we will do what is right just because it is the right thing to do. But in the mean time God gives us motivations based upon positive and negative incentives. And with regards to conscience, "The integrity of the upright guides them" Pr 11:3a and "Righteousness guards the man of integrity" Pr 13:6, but we should also be sensitive to the conscience of others. "Be careful to do what is right in the eyes of everybody." Rom 12:17

Now some attempt to read these commands as limited only to spiritual authorities, but if it hasn't been clear enough yet Paul's mention of taxes makes it perfectly clear that he's primarily referring to secular authority. Regardless of whether they're believers or godly, civil authorities are God's servants, and it's God's will for you to pay your taxes, and Christians should obey the law where it does not violate their conscience to do so. This is a good topic for a discussion group. I would particularly challenge those who are illegal aliens and those who hire them, whether they are in God's will in this regard.

"Show proper respect to everyone: Love the brotherhood of believers, fear God, honor the king." 1Peter 2:17 

 "I urge, then, first of all, that requests, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made for everyone— for kings and all those in authority, that we may live peaceful and quiet lives in all godliness and holiness." 1Tim 2:1-2


Love Fulfills the Law

Rom 13:8-10 Let no debt remain outstanding, except the continuing debt to love one another, for he who loves his fellowman has fulfilled the law. The commandments, "Do not commit adultery," "Do not murder," "Do not steal," "Do not covet," and whatever other commandment there may be, are summed up in this one rule: "Love your neighbor as yourself." (Lev 19:18) Love does no harm to its neighbor. Therefore love is the fulfillment of the law.

The world's economy is run largely on credit - paying for things with money one does not have in hopes that the gamble of one's investments will pay off so as to gain more than cover the debt. One should not be too presumptuous about what God has not promised. "Now listen, you who say, "Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money." Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. Instead, you ought to say, "If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that." As it is, you boast and brag. All such boasting is evil." Jam 4:13-16 Avoid taking on unnecessary debt. And concerning agreements you enter into, it is written that a righteous man, "keeps his oath even when it hurts" Ps 15:4

But concerning love, that is a debt which can never be fully paid off. The obligation remains forever. There are relationships based upon an enlightened self-interest in which one does good to another so that those other person may feel obligated to reciprocate. But that's not love. Jesus said, "If you love those who love you, what credit is that to you? Even ‘sinners’ love those who love them. And if you do good to those who are good to you, what credit is that to you? Even ‘sinners’ do that. And if you lend to those from whom you expect repayment, what credit is that to you? Even ‘sinners’ lend to ‘sinners,’ expecting to be repaid in full. Love your enemies, do good to them, and lend to them without expecting to get anything back." Luke 6:32-35

The legalistically minded are only concerned for regulations, but there would be no need for regulations if people loved one another. For love fulfills the law.


An Urgent Message

Rom 13:11-12 And do this, understanding the present time. The hour has come for you to wake up from your slumber, because our salvation is nearer now than when we first believed. The night is nearly over; the day is almost here. So let us put aside the deeds of darkness and put on the armor of light.

The salvation he is referring to is not our justification. We have already been justified. For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith. But rather the salvation he is referring to is our being delivered out of this present world into glory, to occur on the day of the Lord. "The day of the Lord will come like a thief. The heavens will disappear with a roar; the elements will be destroyed by fire, and the earth and everything in it will be laid bare. Since everything will be destroyed in this way, what kind of people ought you to be? You ought to live holy and godly lives as you look forward to the day of God and speed its coming." 2Peter 3:10-12a Likewise Paul writes concerning the present crisis, "What I mean, brothers, is that the time is short. From now on those who have wives should live as if they had none; those who mourn, as if they did not; those who are happy, as if they were not; those who buy something, as if it were not theirs to keep; those who use the things of the world, as if not engrossed in them. For this world in its present form is passing away." 1Cor 7:29-31

There are unnecessary weights, materials things, responsibilities which we take on, and more significantly are the sins we commit. "Let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which so easily ensnares us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us" Heb 12:1b All these passages contain a sense of urgency which should be characteristic of the Christian life.

As for "the armor of light", he alludes to this also in Eph 6:14-18. And also to the deeds of darkness here "Have nothing to do with the fruitless deeds of darkness, but rather expose them." Eph 5:11


Enlightened Behavior

Rom 13:13,14 Let us behave decently, as in the daytime, not in orgies and drunkenness, not in sexual immorality and debauchery, not in dissension and jealousy. Rather, clothe yourselves with the Lord Jesus Christ, and do not think about how to gratify the desires of the sinful nature.

"You are all sons of the light and sons of the day. We do not belong to the night or to the darkness. So then, let us not be like others, who are asleep, but let us be alert and self-controlled. For those who sleep, sleep at night, and those who get drunk, get drunk at night. But since we belong to the day, let us be self-controlled, putting on faith and love as a breastplate, and the hope of salvation as a helmet. For God did not appoint us to suffer wrath but to receive salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ." 1Th 5:5-9

Interesting to note the motivation he gives in both passages. He doesn't motivate right behavior out of fear of condemnation. For that would be contrary to the idea that salvation is by faith and not attained by means of behavior. Rather he motivates Christians to behave well in view of who we are and in view of the hope we have. Furthermore, right behavior is simply characteristic of those born of God. "Those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the sinful nature with its passions and desires." Gal 5:24 So "walk by the Spirit, and you will not carry out the desire of the flesh." Gal 5:16


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Aug 31,2012