翻譯: English GB

羅馬書

1:1-17

保羅傳福音的憑據

1:1

1:2 這福音是神從前借眾先知在聖經上所應許的,
1:3 論到他兒子,
我主耶穌基督,按肉體說,是從大衛後裔生的﹔
1:4 按聖善的靈說,
  因從死奡_活,
  以大能顯明是神的兒子。

1:5 我們從他受了恩惠,并使徒的職分,
  在萬國之中叫人為他的名信服真道。

1:6 其中也有你們這蒙召屬耶穌基督的人。
1:7 我寫信給你們在羅馬 愿恩惠、平安從我們的父神,并主耶穌基督歸與你們。

保羅傳福音的愿望

1:8 第一,我靠著耶穌基督,為你們眾人感謝我的神,
  因你們的信德傳遍了天下。

1:9 我在他兒子福音上,用心靈所事奉的神,
  可以見証我怎樣不住地提到你們﹔

1:10 在禱告之間常常懇求,或者照神的旨意,
  終能得平坦的道路往你們那堨h。

1:11 因為我切切地想見你們,
  要把些屬靈的恩賜分給你們,使你們可以堅固﹔

1:12 這樣我在你們中間,
  因你與我彼此的信心,就可以同得安慰。

1:13 弟兄們,我不愿意你們不知道,
  我屢次定意往你們那堨h,要在你們中間得些果子,
  如同在其餘的外邦人中一樣,只是到如今仍有阻隔。


1:14 無論是希利尼人、化外人、聰明人、愚拙人,
  我都欠他們的債﹔

1:15 所以情愿盡我的力量,將福音也傳給你們在羅馬的人。
1:16 我不以福音為恥﹔
  這福音本是神的大能,要救一切相信的,
  先是猶太人,後是希利尼人。

1:17 因為神的義正在這福音上顯明出來﹔
  這義是本于信,以致于信。
  如經上所記:
  “義人必因信得生。”
【哈巴谷書 2:4】

問題討論

有哪些憑証肯定了保羅對福音的定義,以及他傳福音的權柄和責任?
保羅在此指出了哪些事來肯定耶穌是神的兒子的?
根據保羅,是什麼在激勵他傳福音?
為什麼保羅不以福音為恥?
為什麼有人會以福音為恥?(參見【馬可福音 8:38】
第17節 這奡ㄗ鴗F來自神的義。
人還在別的什麼地方尋求義?

注釋

保羅特派傳福音

羅馬書 1:1 耶穌基督的仆人保羅,奉召為使徒,特派傳神的福音﹔

耶穌基督親自召保羅來傳福音。耶穌說:“他是我所揀選的器皿,要在外邦人和君王并以色列人面前宣揚我的名。”【使徒行傳 9:15b】保羅說:“我為這福音奉派作傳道的,作使徒,作師傅。”【提摩太後書 1:11】他不是被人召的,也不是被彼得或任何其它使徒召的。“作使徒的保羅(不是由于人,也不是借著人,乃是借著耶穌基督,與叫他從死奡_活的父神),”【加拉太書 1:1】他所傳的福音也不是從人領受的,而是直接從耶穌基督來的。“因為我不是從人領受的,也不是人教導我的,乃是從耶穌基督啟示來的。”【加拉太書 1:12】


舊約關于福音

羅馬書 1:2-4 這福音是神從前借眾先知在聖經上所應許的,論到他兒子,我主耶穌基督,按肉體說,是從大衛後裔生的﹔按聖善的靈說,因從死奡_活,以大能顯明是神的兒子。

舊約埵釩雃h關于彌賽亞的預言,比如以賽亞書第五十三章詩篇第二十二章【但以理書 9:25-26】。但最先預言一個由女人生的將摧毀魔鬼權能的是【創世紀 3:15】

按照肉體說,耶穌是大衛的後裔。馬太福音第一章提到他的合法監護人約瑟的族譜,而在路加福音第三章奡ㄗ鴠L從馬利亞按肉身的族譜,一直追溯到亞當。耶穌基督道成肉身,與我們同樣具有肉身的性質,包括肉身所有的弱點。事實上“肉體”譯自希臘文“σαρξ”一詞,這個詞在羅馬書中共出現了二十三次,其中十三次在新國際版(NIV)堻Q翻譯成“sinful nature”(罪性)。因此,就有,“因我們的大祭司并非不能體恤我們的軟弱,他也曾凡事受過試探,與我們一樣──只是他沒有犯罪。”【希伯來書 4:15】因為我們所遭受的試探主要是來自我們人類的罪性,耶穌也曾與我們同有這樣的性質。雖然有人拒絕承認基督屬人的性質,“凡靈認耶穌基督是成了肉身(“σαρξ”)來的,就是出于神的。……凡靈不認耶穌,就不是出于神。”【約翰一書 4:2a,3a】

耶穌從死奡_活是他的主要憑據──適用于在法庭上証明他見証的証據。在聖經堥C當講述福音的時候都要提到這個事實。“并且叫他從死奡_活,給萬人作可信的憑據。”【使徒行傳 17:31b】


信服真道

羅馬書 1:5 我們從他受了恩惠,并使徒的職分,在萬國之中叫人為他的名信服真道。

對福音的接受包括信和順服。但搞懂這兩者間的關系很重要。他在此所說的順服來自于他將要在這媔Щ羲澈H。因此信先于順服。這個信不來自于順服,而順服來自于信。這是羅馬書的一個重要主題,教我們因著信得救,而不是靠作工。因為信先于順服,一個人是在任何順服的行為之先得救的。然而,順服不可避免地會跟隨使人得救的信的腳步,若沒有順服就表明沒有使人得救的信。

保羅在向亞基帕王描述他的事奉時說:“先在大馬色,後在耶路撒冷和猶太全地,以及外邦,勸勉他們應當悔改,歸向神,行事與悔改的心相稱。”【使徒行傳 26:20】行為是一個人得救的証據,而不是得救的原因。


蒙召屬耶穌基督

羅馬書 1:6-7 其中也有你們這蒙召屬耶穌基督的人。我寫信給你們在羅馬為神所愛,奉召作聖徒的眾人:愿恩惠、平安從我們的父神,并主耶穌基督歸與你們。

福音的一個方面就是歸屬性,“我們或活或死,總是主的人。”【羅馬書 14:8b】“我的弟兄們,這樣說來,你們借著基督的身體,在律法上也是死了,叫你們歸于別人,就是歸于那從死奡_活的,叫我們結果子給神。”【羅馬書 7:4】因此,在一個人成為基督徒時,他就放棄了對自己的所有權。

一個人必須達到一定的條件才能屬于耶穌基督。就像一個女人若不與她丈夫結婚就不能說自己是丈夫的妻子一樣,一個人若不表是對基督的效忠,放棄依靠其它的什麼來得救,就不能屬于基督。這將是羅馬書的一個主題。

保羅不假定他的讀者屬于基督,但肯定他們是蒙召屬于基督。他沒有假定他們是聖徒,而是說他們被稱為聖徒。這與他在其它書信婸‘L的讀者已經達到這個狀態形成對比,比如以弗所書說:“寫信給在以弗所的聖徒”【以弗所書 1:1】彼得寫到:“惟有你們是被揀選的族類,是有君尊的祭司,是聖潔的國度,是屬神的子民,”【彼得前書 2:9a】“因為被召的人多,選上的人少。”【馬太福音 22:14】因此羅馬書包含了福音的基本元素,作為給被稱為基督徒但尚未得救的人的信息,和給那些新近歸于基督的人關于基督徒生活的基本教訓。


具有公開的信

羅馬書 1:8 第一,我靠著耶穌基督,為你們眾人感謝我的神,因你們的信德傳遍了天下。

盡管生活在確乏我們今天這種全球性媒介的時代,這些人的信德仍然傳遍了天下(他指的是羅馬帝國)。首先這說明他們公開了他們的信。他們的信不是私下的事,不像今天有些人那樣對待他們的信仰。同樣,保羅給帖撒羅尼迦的聖徒寫到:“并且你們在大難之中,蒙了聖靈所賜的喜樂,領受真道,就效法我們,也效法了主。甚至你們作了馬其頓和亞該亞所有信主之人的榜樣。因為主的道從你們那堣w經傳揚出來,你們向神的信心不但在馬其頓和亞該亞,就是在各處也都傳開了﹔所以不用我們說什麼話。”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 1:6-8】

今天,有些人把他們的信當作私事,害怕受苦,就像耶穌時代的某些人那樣:“雖然如此,官長中卻有好些信他的,只因法利賽人的緣故,就不承認,恐怕被趕出會堂。”【約翰福音 12:42】許多基督徒面臨著逼迫和死,這些逼迫來自于反基督教的宗教,伊思蘭教就是一個主要的例子,以及反基督教的思想意識,比如在中國。那正是基督徒生活的一部分。在當時的情形正是如此,然而他們還是公開了他們的信,事實上耶穌和他的使徒教導基督徒應該預料到這種逼迫。保羅對提摩太說:“但你已經服從了我的教訓、品行、志向、信心、寬容、愛心、忍耐,以及我在安提阿、以哥念、路司得所遭遇的逼迫、苦難。我所忍受是何等的逼迫,但從這一切苦難中主都把我救出來了。不但如此,凡立志在基督耶穌媟q虔度日的也都要受逼迫。只是作惡的和迷惑人的,必越久越惡,他欺哄人,也被人欺哄。”【提摩太後書 3:10-13】

如何公開你的信呢?耶穌說:“我實實在在地告訴你們,一粒麥子不落在地埵漱F,仍舊是一粒。若是死了,就結出許多子粒來。愛惜自己生命的,就失喪生命。在這世上恨惡自己生命的,就要保守生命到永生。若有人服事我,就當跟從我。我在哪堙A服事我的人也要在哪堙C若有人服事我,我父必尊重他。”【約翰福音 12:24-26】


恆切禱告

羅馬書 1:9-12 我在他兒子福音上,用心靈所事奉的神,可以見証我怎樣不住地提到你們﹔在禱告之間常常懇求,或者照神的旨意,終能得平坦的道路往你們那堨h。因為我切切地想見你們,要把些屬靈的恩賜分給你們,使你們可以堅固﹔這樣我在你們中間,因你與我彼此的信心,就可以同得安慰。

保羅常常為基督徒禱告。他不但為眾人禱告,也為個人禱告,比如為提摩太。“我感謝神,就是我接續祖先,用清潔的良心所事奉的神,祈禱的時候,不住地想念你,”【提摩太前書 1:3】但與今天在基督徒中通常聽到的關于健康和物質上憂慮那種禱告或代禱的請求不同,保羅的禱告多是以屬靈的事為主的。(見新約媄鬗_禱告的查經

安慰是屬靈的禮物。因為如果你給某個人安慰,你所給他的不是屬物的,而是屬靈的。保羅心堜珝Q的正是這種事,勸阻行罪,鼓勵信心。在我們實行慷慨大方的時候,我們心堜珝Q的也應該是這種事。考慮一下你如何能夠鼓勵別人的信心──鼓勵別人把他們的信付之于應用。“總要趁著還有今日,天天彼此相勸,免得你們中間有人被罪迷惑,心奡N剛硬了。”【希伯來書 3:13】


要渴望傳道

羅馬書 1:13-15 弟兄們,我不愿意你們不知道,我屢次定意往你們那堨h,要在你們中間得些果子,如同在其餘的外邦人中一樣,只是到如今仍有阻隔。無論是希利尼人、化外人、聰明人、愚拙人,我都欠他們的債﹔所以情愿盡我的力量,將福音也傳給你們在羅馬的人。

當時羅馬具有多樣的文化,雖然大部分人口是奴隸。有希利尼人(希臘人)和化外人(非希臘人)。有的被看作是聰明人,有的被看作是愚拙人。在有些人看來羅馬書很難懂,其中所講的神學很深奧,而事實上保羅是在給一群非常多樣化的人寫的這封信。不聰明的人也應該懂得了這封信,因為保羅把他們包括在堶情C

保羅對到他們那堨h,的確還有這封信本身,將結出果子很樂觀。在我們尋求做主的工作時──特別是去傳福音時──都應該有這種樂觀。因為聖經保証說:“雨雪從天而降,并不返回,卻滋潤地土,使地上發芽結實,使撒種的有種,使要吃的有糧。我口所出的話,也必如此,決不徒然返回,卻要成就我所喜悅的,在我發他去成就的事上(“發他去成就”或作“所命定”)必然亨通。”【以賽亞書 55:10-11】我們還可在腓立比書中看到保羅的這種樂觀:“但我在肉身活著,若成就我工夫的果子,我就不知道該挑選什麼。”【腓立比書 1:22】

與時漲時落的經濟投資不同,在神的國塈賳磪u會看漲。在此我們都可以為把我們的信付之于應用而受到鼓勵。


福音拯救信的人

羅馬書 1:16-17 我不以福音為恥﹔這福音本是神的大能,要救一切相信的,先是猶太人,後是希利尼人。因為神的義正在這福音上顯明出來﹔這義是本于信,以致于信。如經上所記:“義人必因信得生。”

耶穌說:“凡在這淫亂罪惡的世代,把我和我的道當作可恥的,人子在他父的榮耀堙A同聖天使降臨的時候,也要把那人當作可恥的。”【馬可福音 8:38】保羅寫到:“你不要以給我們的主作見証為恥,也不要以我這為主被囚的為恥。總要按神的能力,與我為福音同受苦難。”【提摩太後書 1:8】他還說:“你當竭力在神面前得蒙喜悅,作無愧的工人,按著正意分解真理的道。”【提摩太後書 2:15】

有些人對傳福音很猶豫,因為耽心為之遭受恥辱。有些人把福音改來改去,造出他們自己的福音來,因為以福音的內容為恥。在這個時代堙A有些人用他們個人的見証來取代福音。但神的義是從在福音媗蓂{出來的。福音說的是神如何使人在看到自己的不義之後與神和好的方法。

神的道路不是人的道路。對于一個普通人來說,在被問到如何才能進天堂時,如果他信有天堂的話,會造出他自己的方法來。但神在聖經婸﹞F話,顯現出他使人成義的方法。人常常將其看作是取決于個人的行為,但保羅後來寫到:“所以,凡有血氣的沒有一個因行律法能在神面前稱義,因為律法本是叫人知罪。但如今,神的義在律法以外已經顯明出來,有律法和先知為証:就是神的義,因信耶穌基督,加給一切相信的人,并沒有分別﹔”【羅馬書 3:20-22】

信是得救的唯一條件。因此,諸如嬰兒受洗之類的禮儀,或你工作的表現,比如遵守十誡,都不能使人得救。惟義人因信得生。引自【哈巴谷書 2:4】,這句話還被引用在加拉太書堙G“沒有一個人靠著律法在神面前稱義,這是明顯的,因為經上說:‘義人必因信得生。’”【加拉太書 3:11】和希伯來書堙G“只是義人必因信得生(“義人”有古卷作“我的義人”),他若退後,我心奡N不喜歡他。”【希伯來書 10:38】他在此引用【哈巴谷書 2:4】的意思是說義人將因相信福音而有永生。

“本于信,以致于信”直譯過來就是“從信到信”。因為傳福音需要信,相信福音也需要信。這樣信就在信徒中一代代地傳下去。雖然有人錯誤地以為教會在歷史上是如何傳播的,但這不是靠強迫、遺傳、傳統、或禮儀,而是靠信的人傳福音,而屬靈的下一代聽見後靠信相信福音。從第一代到最後一代都是如此。


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Paul's Epistle to the Romans

Chapter 1 (web)

Paul's Credentials to Preach the Gospel

1:1 Paul,
  • a servant of Jesus Christ,
  • called to be an apostle,
  • set apart for the gospel of God,
  • 1:2 which he promised before through his prophets in the holy Scriptures,
    1:3 concerning his Son,
    who was born of the seed of David according to the flesh,
    1:4 who was declared to be the Son of God with power,
    according to the Spirit of holiness,
    by the resurrection from the dead, Jesus Christ our Lord,
    1:5 through whom we received grace and apostleship,
    for obedience of faith among all the nations, for his name's sake;
    1:6 among whom you are also called to belong to Jesus Christ;
    1:7 to all who are in Rome,
  • beloved of God,
  • called to be saints:

  • Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.

    Paul's Desire to Preach the Gospel

    1:8 First, I thank my God through Jesus Christ for all of you,
    that your faith is proclaimed throughout the whole world.
    1:9 For God is my witness, whom I serve in my spirit in the gospel of his Son,
    how unceasingly I make mention of you always in my prayers,
    1:10 requesting, if by any means now at last
    I may be prospered by the will of God to come to you.
    1:11 For I long to see you, that I may impart to you some spiritual gift,
    to the end that you may be established;
    1:12 that is, that I with you may be encouraged in you,
    each of us by the other's faith, both yours and mine.
    1:13 Now I don't desire to have you unaware, brothers,
    that I often planned to come to you, and was hindered so far,
    that I might have some fruit among you also, even as among the rest of the Gentiles.

    1:14 I am debtor both to Greeks and to foreigners, both to the wise and to the foolish.
    1:15 So, as much as is in me, I am eager to preach the gospel to you also who are in Rome.

    1:16 For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ,
    for it is the power of God for salvation for everyone who believes;
    for the Jew first, and also for the Greek.
    1:17 For in it is revealed God's righteousness from faith to faith.
    As it is written, "But the righteous shall live by faith." (Hab 2:4)

    Discussion Questions

    What are some of Paul's credentials that affirm his definition of the gospel
    and his right and responsibility to preach it?
    What event does Paul point out that confirmed Jesus to be the Son of God?
    According to Paul, what are his motives for preaching the gospel?
    Why was Paul not ashamed of the gospel?
    Why would anyone be ashamed of the gospel? (xref Mark 8:38)
    vs 17 It mentions of a righteousness which comes from God.
    Where else do people seek to obtain righteousness from?

    Comments


    Paul set apart for the Gospel

    Rom 1:1 Paul, a servant of Christ Jesus, called to be an apostle and set apart for the gospel of God

    Jesus Christ personally called Paul to the ministry of the gospel. Jesus said, "This man is my chosen instrument to carry my name before the Gentiles and their kings and before the people of Israel." Acts 9:15 And Paul says, "of this gospel I was appointed a herald and an apostle and a teacher." 2Tim 1:11 He was not called by men, neither by Peter or any other apostle. "Paul, an apostle— sent not from men nor by man, but by Jesus Christ and God the Father, who raised him from the dead." Gal 1:1 Nor did he receive his gospel from the other apostles, but from Jesus Christ directly. "I did not receive it from any man, nor was I taught it; rather, I received it by revelation from Jesus Christ." Gal 1:10


    The Gospel in the Old Testament

    Rom 1:2-4 the gospel he promised beforehand through his prophets in the Holy Scriptures regarding his Son, who as to his human nature was a descendant of David, and who through the Spirit of holiness was declared with power to be the Son of God by his resurrection from the dead: Jesus Christ our Lord.

    There are many prophecies of the Messiah, such as Isaiah chapter 53, Psalm 22 and Daniel 9:25,26. But the first was Genesis 3:15 prophecying of one who would be born of a woman and who would destroy the power of the devil.

    Concerning his human nature, Jesus was a descendant of David. While the genealogy of his legal guardian, Joseph, is mentioned in Matthew chapter 1, his physical genealogy from Mary in Luke chapter 3 goes all the way back to Adam. Jesus Christ came in the flesh, having the same human nature that we all share with its flaws. In fact the word for "human nature" here is the Greek word "Sarx", of which out of the 23 times it's used in Romans the NIV translates "sinful nature" 13 times. Thus the saying in Hebrews 4:15 "We do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are— yet was without sin." For the temptations we suffer as humans are primarily due to our sinful human nature, of which Jesus also shared. Though there are those who deny Christ's human nature, "every spirit that does not confess that Jesus Christ has come in the flesh (sarx) is not of God." 1John 4:3a 

    Jesus' resurrection from the dead was his primary credential - the forensic evidence validating his testimony. This fact is mentioned every time the gospel is preached in the Bible. "He has given proof of this to all men by raising him from the dead." Acts 17:31


    Obedience Comes from Faith

    Rom 1:5 Through him and for his name’s sake, we received grace and apostleship to call people from among all the Gentiles to the obedience that comes from faith.

    The reception of the gospel involves both faith and obedience. But it's important to understand the relationship between the two. The obedience he refers to here is that which comes from the faith he is about to preach. Thus faith precedes obedience. This faith does not come from obedience, but rather obedience from faith. This is an important theme in Romans, which teaches us that salvation is by faith, not by works. And since faith precedes obedience, a person is saved prior to any acts of obedience. Nonetheless, it is inevitable that obedience will follow in the steps of the faith that saves, the absence of which would indicate the absence of saving faith.

    When Paul described his ministr to King Agrippa he said, "First to those in Damascus, then to those in Jerusalem and in all Judea, and to the Gentiles also, I preached that they should repent and turn to God and prove their repentance by their deeds." Acts 26:20 Deeds are a proof of, not a cause of one's salvation.


    Called to Belong to Christ

    Rom 1:6,7 And you also are among those who are called to belong to Jesus Christ. To all in Rome who are loved by God and called to be saints: Grace and peace to you from God our Father and from the Lord Jesus Christ.

    One aspect of the gospel is that of ownership such that "whether we live or die, we belong to the Lord." Rom 14:18b "So, my brothers, you also died to the law through the body of Christ, that you might belong to another, to him who was raised from the dead, in order that we might bear fruit to God." Rom 7:4 Consequently when a person becomes a Christian he is relinquishing ownership of himself.

    One has to be qualified to belong to Jesus Christ. Just as no woman can claim to be someone's wife without marrying him, so also no one can claim to belong to Christ without pledging allegiance to him, relinquishing one's reliance on other sources of salvation. This will be a theme in Romans.

    Paul does not assume his readers belong to Christ, but that they are being called to belong to Christ. He does not assume they are saints, but rather that they are being called to be saints. This is in contrast to some of his other letters in which he speaks of his readers already achieving such a status, like Ephesians, "To the saints in Ephesus" Eph 1:1 And Peter writes, "But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people belonging to God" 1Peter 2:9 "For many are called, but few are chosen." Mt 22:14 Thus Romans contains fundament elements of the gospel as a message to the unsaved among the Christian community, as well as fundamental teachings concerning Christian living for those who have just come to belong to Christ.


    Have Public Faith

    Rom 1:8 First, I thank my God through Jesus Christ for all of you, because your faith is being reported all over the world.

    Despite living in an age absent of the kind of global media we have access to today, these people's faith was being reported all over the world (by which he means the Roman Empire). This first of all implies that they made their faith public. Their beliefs were not a private matter, as some treat their own religious beliefs today. Likewise of the Thessalonians Paul notes, "You became imitators of us and of the Lord; in spite of severe suffering, you welcomed the message with the joy given by the Holy Spirit. And so you became a model to all the believers in Macedonia and Achaia. The Lord’s message rang out from you not only in Macedonia and Achaia— your faith in God has become known everywhere. " 1Thess 1:6-8

    Today there are those who keep their faith a private matter in fear of severe suffering much like some in Jesus' day like, "at the same time many even among the leaders believed in him. But because of the Pharisees they would not confess their faith for fear they would be put out of the synagogue" John 12:42 Many Christians today face persecution and death by anti-Christian religions, Islam being the primary example, and by anti-Christian ideologies, such as in China. That's just part of the Christian life. Such opposition was the case back then and yet they made their faith public, and in fact Jesus and his apostles taught that Christians should expect persecution. Paul says to Timothy, "You, however, know all about my teaching, my way of life, my purpose, faith, patience, love, endurance, persecutions, sufferings— what kinds of things happened to me in Antioch, Iconium and Lystra, the persecutions I endured. Yet the Lord rescued me from all of them. In fact, everyone who wants to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted, while evil men and impostors will go from bad to worse, deceiving and being deceived." 2Tim 3:10-13

    How might you make your faith known? Jesus said, "I tell you the truth, unless a kernel of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains only a single seed. But if it dies, it produces many seeds. The man who loves his life will lose it, while the man who hates his life in this world will keep it for eternal life. Whoever serves me must follow me; and where I am, my servant also will be. My Father will honor the one who serves me." John 12:24-26


    Be Constant in Prayer

    Rom 1:9-12  God, whom I serve with my whole heart in preaching the gospel of his Son, is my witness how constantly I remember you  in my prayers at all times; and I pray that now at last by God’s will the way may be opened for me to come to you. I long to see you so that I may impart to you some spiritual gift to make you strong— that is, that you and I may be mutually encouraged by each other’s faith.

    Paul prayed constantly for Christians, both for communities and individuals, as in the case of Timothy. "I thank God, whom I serve, as my forefathers did, with a clear conscience, as night and day I constantly remember you in my prayers." 2Tim 1:3  But in contrast to the kinds of prayers and prayer requests you commonly hear today in the Christian community dominated by health and material concerns, Paul's prayers were dominated by spiritual things. (See the study guide of prayers in the New Testament http://www.bcbsr.com/topics/prayerseries.html)

    Encouragement is a gift which is spiritual. For if you give someone encouragement you're not giving them a material thing but a spiritual thing. It's this kind of thing which was on Paul's mind, discouraging sin and encouraging faith. And it's this kind of thing which should be on our mind when it comes to our practice of generosity. Consider how you may encourage others in the faith - encourage others to apply their faith. "encourage one another daily, as long as it is called Today, so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness." Heb 3:13


    Be Eager to Preach

    Rom 1:13-15 I do not want you to be unaware, brothers, that I planned many times to come to you (but have been prevented from doing so until now) in order that I might have a harvest among you, just as I have had among the other Gentiles. I am obligated both to Greeks and non-Greeks, both to the wise and the foolish. That is why I am so eager to preach the gospel also to you who are at Rome.

    Rome was a diverse culture, though primarily composed of slaves. There were Greeks and non-Greeks. There were those reckoned wise and others simple. Much as some view the letter of Romans as difficult to understand, high theology, fact is Paul wrote it to a diverse group of people. People who are not wise should nonetheless be able to understand it as Paul made it inclusive to them.

    Paul was optimistic that his coming to them, indeed this letter itself, will bear fruit. And this kind of optimism is something we should all share in as we seek to do the Lord's work - and in particular with regards to the spread of the gospel. For it is promised, "As the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return to it without watering the earth and making it bud and flourish, so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater, so is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it." Is 55:10,11 We see this optimism in Paul also in Php 1:22, "If I am to go on living in the body, this will mean fruitful labor for me."

    Unlike financial investments, which may grow or shrink, there is no down side to investing in the kingdom of God. In this we can all be encouraged to apply our faith.


    The Gospel Saves Believers

    Rom 1:16,17  I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God for the salvation of everyone who believes: first for the Jew, then for the Gentile. For in the gospel a righteousness from God is revealed, a righteousness that is by faith from first to last, just as it is written: "The righteous will live by faith."

    Jesus said, "If anyone is ashamed of me and my words in this adulterous and sinful generation, the Son of Man will be ashamed of him when he comes in his Father’s glory with the holy angels." Mr 8:38 Paul writes, "So do not be ashamed to testify about our Lord, or ashamed of me his prisoner. But join with me in suffering for the gospel, by the power of God." 2Tim 1:8 And "do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a workman who does not need to be ashamed and who correctly handles the word of truth." 2Tim 2:15

    For there are those who are reluctant to communicate the gospel for fear of shame. And there are those who tinker with the gospel, fabricating their own gospel, being ashamed of the content of the gospel. And in this age there are those who simply replace the gospel with their own personal testimony. But it is in the gospel that God's righteousness is revealed. The gospel is about God's way of man being reconciled to him in view of his unrighteous status.

    God's way is not man's way. The average person, when asked how they expect to get to heaven, if indeed they believe that much, would make up their own way. But God has spoken in the Bible and has revealed His way of man becoming righteous. People often make it a matter of personal performance, but Paul later writes, "no one will be declared righteous in his sight by observing the law; rather, through the law we become conscious of sin. But now a righteousness from God, apart from law, has been made known, to which the Law and the Prophets testify. This righteousness from God comes through faith in Jesus Christ to all who believe." Rom 3:20-22

    Faith is central as the sole requirement for salvation. Consequently rituals like infant baptism, or works that you perform, like obeying the 10 commandments, do not save. "The righteous will live by faith" is quoted from Hab 2:4, and is also quoted in Galatians 3:11, "Clearly no one is justified before God by the law, because, 'The righteous will live by faith.'" And Heb 10:38 "my righteous one will live by faith. And if he shrinks back, I will not be pleased with him." The sense in which he's interpreting Hab 2:4 here is that the righeous will have eternal life by believing the gospel.

    "from first to last" is literally "from faith to faith". For it takes faith to preach the gospel, and it takes faith to believe it. So the faith is passed on from generation to generation through believers. Though some have a misconception about how the church propagates historically, it is not by force, genetics, traditions, or rituals, but rather it is by people of faith preaching the gospel and the next spiritual generation hearing and believing the gospel by faith. Such has been the case from the first to the last.


    The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


    Jul 29,2015