翻譯:English GB

羅馬書 2:1-16

罪的審判

自以為義的人的罪

猶太人按他們所做的工受審判

2:1 你這論斷人的,無論你是誰,也無可推諉,

你在什麼事上論斷人,就在什麼事上定自己的罪﹔
因你這論斷人的,自己所行卻和別人一樣。

2:2 我們知道這樣行的人,神必照真理審判他。
2:3 你這人哪,你論斷行這樣事的人,
  自己所行的卻和別人一樣,你以為能逃脫神的審判嗎?

2:4 還是你藐視他豐富的恩慈、寬容、忍耐,
  不曉得他的恩慈是領你悔改呢?


2:5 你竟任著你剛硬不悔改的心,為自己積蓄忿怒,
  以致神震怒,顯他公義審判的日子來到。


2:6 他“必照各人的行為報應各人。”
2:7 凡恆心行善,尋求榮耀、尊貴和不能朽壞之福的,
  就以永生報應他們﹔


2:8 惟有結黨,不順從真理,反順從不義的,
  就以忿怒、惱恨報應他們。


2:9 將患難、困苦加給一切作惡的人,
  先是猶太人,後是希利尼人﹔


2:10 卻將榮耀、尊貴、平安加給一切行善的人,
  先是猶太人,後是希利尼人﹔

神不偏待人

2:11 因為神不偏待人。

2:12 凡沒有律法犯了罪的,也必不按律法滅亡﹔
  凡在律法以下犯了罪的,也必按律法受審判。


2:13 (原來在神面前,不是聽律法的為義,
  乃是行律法的稱義。


2:14 沒有律法的外邦人若順著本性行律法上的事,
  他們雖然沒有律法,自己就是自己的律法。

2:15 這是顯出律法的功用刻在他們心堙A
  他們是非之心同作見証,
  并且他們的思念互相較量,或以為是,或以為非。

2:16 就在神借耶穌基督審判人隱秘事的日子,
  照著我的福音所言。


問題討論

你對達不到神完美的標准有什麼借口嗎?
哪一類的罪最使你忿怒?
你是不是發現自己在類似的罪堭瓣耤H
人為什麼會以為借著論斷別人能夠逃脫神的審判?
在第4節堙A神的恩慈是如何領我們悔改的?這婸〞漪O哪種恩慈?
“恆心”行善是什麼意思?你是不是恆心行善呢?
你是不是發現有時你在只圖己利?而且有時別人對你講真話的時候,你不愿聽,因為那與你所選擇的生活方式有抵觸?
你能把自己算作是“好”人嗎?(對照【路加福音 18:19】
從來沒有讀過聖經的人,他們不知道神的標准,那麼他們是不是有借口呢?神將如何審判他們呢?

注釋

“好”人的假冒為善的特征

羅馬書 2:1 你這論斷人的,無論你是誰,也無可推諉,你在什麼事上論斷人,就在什麼事上定自己的罪﹔因你這論斷人的,自己所行卻和別人一樣。

在第一章堙A保羅說到人外在的罪,所有人都會承人這些是罪。但在這一章堙A保羅將說到宗教精英和自以為義的人所犯的罪。耶穌是這樣開始講關于法利賽人與稅吏的寓言的:“耶穌向那些仗著自己是義人,藐視別人的,設一個比喻,”【路加福音 18:9】同樣,今天有些人,特別是信教的人,藐視其它所有的人。雖然耶穌在那個寓言堜珨〞漕滬茠k利賽人的假冒為善和馬太福音第二十三章堜珨〞漫v教精英的假冒為善很可笑,但穆斯林中所固有的宗教的假冒為善聽上去則更是即可悲又可笑,對所有人來說都是明顯的。事實上,如這一章所說,所有的人都是有罪的,因此都需要得救,無論是同性戀者,還是阿訇。

使徒在這堨R滿信心地道出這一點,因為人出于本性,對自己有罪的地方很敏感,盡管這也許是藏在心堛滿C雖然這不是自己有愧的具體某個罪,而是那一類的罪。因此,有些人雖然在聽到強奸的事會很憤怒,但他們自己卻參與某種形式的性的不道德行為,比如看淫穢的東西。

作為一個例子,看一看大衛王,他與犯拔示巴犯了奸淫,然後又偷偷地殺了她的丈夫。

耶和華差遣拿單去見大衛。拿單到了大衛那堙A對他說:“在一座城埵釣潃茪H,一個是富戶,一個是窮人。富戶有許多牛群羊群。窮人除了所買來養活的一只小母羊羔之外,別無所有。羊羔在他家堜M他兒女一同長大,吃他所吃的,喝他所喝的,睡在他懷中,在他看來如同女兒一樣。有一客人來到這富戶家堙C富戶舍不得從自己的牛群羊群中取一只預備給客人吃,卻取了那窮人的羊羔,預備給客人吃。”大衛就甚惱怒那人,對拿單說:“我指著永生的耶和華起誓,行這事的人該死!【撒母耳記下 12:1-5】

拿單對大衛說:“你就是那人。【撒母耳記下 12:7a】


壞人走運

羅馬書 2:4-5 還是你藐視他豐富的恩慈、寬容、忍耐,不曉得他的恩慈是領你悔改呢?你竟任著你剛硬不悔改的心,為自己積蓄忿怒,以致神震怒,顯他公義審判的日子來到。

有些人問為什麼好人會“倒霉”。但是不是也應該問為什麼壞人會“走運”?這也是亞薩在詩篇堜珧搌滌暋D:“我見惡人和狂傲人享平安,就心懷不平。他們死的時候沒有疼痛,他們的力氣卻也壯實。他們不像別人受苦,也不像別人遭災。所以驕傲如鏈子戴在他們的項上,強暴像衣裳遮住他們的身體。他們的眼睛因體胖而凸出,他們所得的過于心堜珝Q的。他們譏笑人,憑惡意說欺壓人的話。他們說話自高。他們的口褻瀆上天,他們的舌毀謗全地。所以神的民歸到這堙A喝盡了滿杯的苦水。他們說:‘神怎能曉得?至高者豈有知識呢?’看哪,這就是惡人。他們既是常享安逸,財寶便加增。”【詩篇 73:3-12】但當他仔細思考這個問題之後,他做結論說:“我思索怎能明白這事,眼看實系為難。等我進了神的聖所,思想他們的結局。”【詩篇 73:16-17】

神對惡人的恩慈是要他們從他們的惡埵^轉,悔改。神給他們恩慈──一段時間的餘地──和時間本身讓他們回想這件事。恰恰是為了這個原故,主延遲了他的到來,正像對迦南人的審判被延遲了四百年一樣(【創世紀 15:13-16】)。但是,“主所應許的尚未成就,有人以為他是耽延,其實不是耽延,乃是寬容你們,不愿有一人沉淪,乃愿人人都悔改。”【彼得後書 3:9】

然而恩典越多,責任就越大。比如,保羅在說到那些以敵對來反對福音傳播的人時說:“他們不得神的喜悅,且與眾人為敵,不許我們傳道給外邦人使外邦人得救,常常充滿自己的罪惡。”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 2:15b-16a】


對行為的審判

羅馬書 2:6-8 他“必照各人的行為報應各人。”凡恆心行善,尋求榮耀、尊貴和不能朽壞之福的,就以永生報應他們﹔惟有結黨,不順從真理,反順從不義的,就以忿怒、惱恨報應他們。

保羅所引的這句話在舊約和新約堻ㄕh次出現。

“為要照各人所行的和他作事的結果報應他。”【耶利米書 32:19b】

“人被拉到死地,你要解救﹔人將被殺,你須攔阻。你若說:‘這事我未曾知道。’那衡量人心的,豈不明白嗎?保守你命的,豈不知道嗎?他豈不按各人所行的,報應各人嗎?【箴言 24:11-12】

“人子要在他父的榮耀堙A同著眾使者降臨。那時候,他要照各人的行為報應各人。”【馬太福音 16:27】

“死了的人都憑著這些案卷所記載的,照他們所行的受審判。”【啟示錄 20:12b】

現在有些人把羅馬書其它的部分拋在一邊,而斷章取義地用這幾節來傳一個不同的福音。他們宣稱,不需要信基督,只要尋求神,尋求永生,就足以使人得到永生。雖然在福音埵陵成憛A這一點保羅將要在後面說到,但在這堙A保羅只是在講律法,也就是說神出于他的公義性,必須把永生給那些行善的人,施忿怒給那些作惡的人。他在此還沒有說到因信得救。他還沒有說到恩典。

同樣,有一次有個自認為是好人的人(【馬可福音 10:17】),還有一次一個律法師來問:“我該作什麼才可以承受永生?”耶穌沒有用恩典的福音回答他們,而是用律法。他說:“律法上寫的是什麼?”【路加福音 10:26】這就是對那些認為他們好到足以能夠靠行為得救的人的回答。這種人因看不到自己的罪,所以不尋求恩典。因此恩典的福音與他們無關,不適用于他們,除非他們認識的自己的罪。這正是保羅和耶穌用這種方式對自以為義的人說話的目的。

但如果一個人恆心行善,從來不犯罪,那麼他的確將有永生。那是律法。他們掙得了永生,因為神出于公義沒有理由來給他們定罪。那些作惡的將按照神公義的性質,遭受神的忿怒。保羅將要說明的是所有的人都犯了罪,都虧欠了神的榮耀,因此不能靠好的行為來得到永生。

但這并不是說那些靠恩典因信稱義的人可以按有罪的生活方式生活。事實上,由于重生的性質,不存在這樣的人:“凡從神生的就不犯罪,因神的道(原文作“種”)存在他心堙Q他也不能犯罪,因為他是由神生的。”【約翰一書 3:9】正像:“時常行善而不犯罪的義人,世上實在沒有。”【傳道書 7:20】


猶太人和外邦人都要受到審判

羅馬書 2:9-10 將患難、困苦加給一切作惡的人,先是猶太人,後是希利尼人﹔卻將榮耀、尊貴、平安加給一切行善的人,先是猶太人,後是希利尼人﹔

這是對行善的人的好消息。但耶穌說:“除了神一位之外,再沒有良善的。”【路加福音 18:19b】如果是那樣的話,所剩下的就只有壞消息了。

至于先是猶太人,他在第一章奡艘ㄗ魽G“我不以福音為恥﹔這福音本是神的大能,要救一切相信的,先是猶太人,後是希利尼人。”【羅馬書 1:16】最早的基督徒都是猶太人。這些猶太人并沒有“皈依”基督教,因為一個人可以即是猶太人又是基督徒,這兩者并不是不相容的。而且耶穌也是猶太人。他是像比如【以賽亞書第五十三章】這樣的地方所預言的猶太人的彌賽亞。他的使徒和新約的作者也是猶太人。保羅自己也是法利賽人,屬于猶太教中最嚴緊的教門。但基督的福音遠超出了猶太教,把所有的國家都包含在內。然而你知道得越多,責任也就越大,猶太人也是這樣。在第三章堳O羅將說到作猶太人的好處,但隨著好處而來的是責任。因此耶穌說:“仆人知道主人的意思,卻不預備,又不順他的意思行,那仆人必多受責打﹔惟有那不知道的,作了當受責打的事,必少受責打。因為多給誰,就向誰多取﹔多托誰,就向誰多要。”【路加福音 12:47-48】


神在審判時不偏待人

羅馬書 2:11-13 因為神不偏待人。凡沒有律法犯了罪的,也必不按律法滅亡﹔凡在律法以下犯了罪的,也必按律法受審判。(原來在神面前,不是聽律法的為義,乃是行律法的稱義。

偏待和偏見的問題作為一個主題在新約堨X現,主要是針對猶太人對外邦人的偏見。記住他還沒有說明做工之外,恩典的福音。但除了恩典之外,對“好人”有一個基于行為的拯救。至于為什麼那些沒有律法的人仍然要受到審判,他馬上就要說到。

關于猶太人,就是那些明確地聽到神的律法的人,他的意思是說只聽到律法并不是美德,除非將其放在行動堙C猶太人若靠他是猶太人來得救,那是徒勞的。“凡以行律法為本的,都是被咒詛的,因為經上記著:‘凡不常照律法書上所記一切之事去行的,就被咒詛。’”【加拉太書 3:10】


對良心的審判

羅馬書 2:14-16 沒有律法的外邦人若順著本性行律法上的事,他們雖然沒有律法,自己就是自己的律法。這是顯出律法的功用刻在他們心堙A他們是非之心同作見証,并且他們的思念互相較量,或以為是,或以為非。)就在神借耶穌基督審判人隱秘事的日子,照著我的福音所言。

因為這個原故,那些從來沒有讀過聖經的人也將負責,因為每個人都將按他的良心為自己的行為負責。而且,“人若知道行善,卻不去行,這就是他的罪了。”【雅各書 4:17】

而且不只是外在的行為。因為神還將審判隱藏在內心的事。比如,“凡看見婦女就動淫念的,這人心堣w經與她犯奸淫了。”【馬太福音 5:28b】還有,“凡恨他弟兄的就是殺人的,你們曉得凡殺人的沒有永生存在他堶情C”【約翰一書 3:15】

雖然世上所有的宗教人士都會同意他到目前為止所說的這些,但這有一件事他們也許還沒有聽說過。那就是施行審判的將是耶穌基督。“因為他已經定了日子,要借著他所設立的人,按公義審判天下。并且叫他從死奡_活,給萬人作可信的憑據。”【使徒行傳 17:31】


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Romans 2:1-16 (web)

Sin's Condemnation
The Guilt of the Self-Righteous

Jews Are Judged by Their Works

2:1 Therefore you are without excuse, O man, whoever you are who judge.
For in that which you judge another, you condemn yourself.
For you who judge practice the same things.
2:2 We know that the judgment of God is according to truth against those who practice such things.
2:3 Do you think this, O man who judges those who practice such things,
and do the same, that you will escape the judgment of God?
2:4 Or do you despise the riches of his goodness, forbearance,
and patience, not knowing that the goodness of God leads you to repentance?

2:5 But according to your hardness and unrepentant heart you are treasuring up
for yourself wrath in the day of wrath, revelation, and of the righteous judgment of God;

2:6 who "will pay back to everyone according to their works:"
2:7 to those who by patience in well-doing seek for
glory and honor and incorruptibility, eternal life;

2:8 but to those who are self-seeking, and don't obey the truth,
but obey unrighteousness, will be wrath and indignation,

2:9 oppression and anguish, on every soul of man who works evil,
on the Jew first, and also on the Greek.

2:10 But glory and honor and peace to every man who works good,
to the Jew first, and also to the Greek.

Jews Are Judged with Impartiality

2:11 For there is no partiality with God.

2:12 For as many as have sinned without law will also perish without the law.
As many as have sinned under the law will be judged by the law.

2:13 For it isn't the hearers of the law who are righteous before God,
but the doers of the law will be justified

2:14 (for when Gentiles who don't have the law do by nature the things of the law,
these, not having the law, are a law to themselves,

2:15 in that they show the work of the law written in their hearts,
their conscience testifying with them,
and their thoughts among themselves accusing or else excusing them)
2:16 in the day when God will judge the secrets of men,
according to my gospel, by Jesus Christ.

Questions

What excuses do you have for not living up to God's perfect standards?
What types of sin do you get most angry at?
Do you find that you are struggling with a similar form of that sin yourself?
How might people think that they can escape the judgment of God by judging others?
In vs 4, how does God's kindness lead us to repentance? What sort of kindness?
What does it mean to "persist" in doing good? And have you always persisted in doing good?
Do you find that at times you are self-seeking and that at times, when people tell you the truth, that you reject it because it conflicts with your chosen lifestyle?
Would you characterize yourself as a "good" person? (Compare with Luke 18:19)
What about people who never read the Bible, who were not aware of God's standards? Can they be excused? How will God judge them?


Comments


Hypocrisy Characteristic of "Good" People

Rom 2:1 Therefore you are inexcusable, O man, whoever you are who judge, for in whatever you judge another you condemn yourself; for you who judge practice the same things.

In chapter one Paul spoke of people's outward sinfulness of which all would agree is bad. But here in this chapter he'll speak of sins such as the religious elite and self-righteous commit. Jesus' parable of the Pharisee and Tax Collector starts, "To some who were confident of their own righteousness and looked down on everybody else, Jesus told this parable:" Luke 18:9 Likewise there are those today, particularly among religious people who look down on everyone else. While the hypocrisy that Jesus pointed out of the Pharisee in that parable and of the religious elite in Matthew chapter 23, it is even more tragically amusing to hear of the religious hypocrisy of inherent in the Muslim community which should be obvious to all. Fact is, as this chapter will show, all are guilty and therefore all need to be saved, be it the homosexual or the imam.

Here the apostle confidently makes this claim because it is so characteristic of human nature to be sensitive to those areas of which oneself is guilty, though it be secretly. Though it may not be the particular sin of which one is guity, but rather the category of sin. Thus in being outraged at hearing of rape, one may nonetheless themselves be involved in some form of sexual immorality, such as pornography.

As an example consider King David, who had committed adultery with Bathseba and then had her husband secretly killed.

2Samuel 12:1-5
The LORD sent Nathan to David. When he came to him, he said, "There were two men in a certain town, one rich and the other poor. The rich man had a very large number of sheep and cattle, but the poor man had nothing except one little ewe lamb he had bought. He raised it, and it grew up with him and his children. It shared his food, drank from his cup and even slept in his arms. It was like a daughter to him. Now a traveler came to the rich man, but the rich man refrained from taking one of his own sheep or cattle to prepare a meal for the traveler who had come to him. Instead, he took the ewe lamb that belonged to the poor man and prepared it for the one who had come to him." David burned with anger against the man and said to Nathan, "As surely as the LORD lives, the man who did this deserves to die!"

2Samuel 12:7a Then Nathan said to David, "You are the man!"


Judging Others

Rom 2:2,3 Now we know that God’s judgment against those who do such things is based on truth. So when you, a mere man, pass judgment on them and yet do the same things, do you think you will escape God’s judgment?

He is not discouraging people from scrutinizing another. For isn't he himself doing so in these very sections? And doesn't he teach that Christians should judge another, as he asks rhetorically, "Are you not to judge those inside (the church)?" 1Cor 5:12b Now there are those who frequently misapply the saying, "Judge not and you shall not be judged". Luke 6:37 in order to condemn others who scrutinize them, which itself is a violation of their own interpretation of the saying. But many in this post-modernistic society would like to believe they can get away with anything so long as they don't scrutinize others. Jesus was actually speaking in a proverbial sense of that which is human nature, namely that if you scrutinize others, they will scrutinize you, which is a truisim. Try it. When you judge others, they will almost immediately turn around and judge you.

Such is one of the expression of self-righteousness - to try and envade scrutiny by putting the spotlight on others. It started in the garden where Adam, being accused by God, accused Eve in return, who then turned the spotlight on the serpent. Pointing fingers is not going to help on the judgement day, where each must give an account of themselves to God. And much as there are those of a liberal or libertarian mindset who may claim there are no absolute moral standards, such show their hypocrisy when someone does  something bad to them.

Now consider incidents in which you've thought or pointed out something wrong about someone else, and consider whether in some way you had likewise been guilty.


Why Good Things Happen to Bad People

Rom 2:4,5 Or do you show contempt for the riches of his kindness, tolerance and patience, not realizing that God’s kindness leads you toward repentance? But because of your stubbornness and your unrepentant heart, you are storing up wrath against yourself for the day of God’s wrath, when his righteous judgment will be revealed.

Some ask as to why bad things happen to good people. But shouldn't one also ask as to why good things happen to bad people? This was the queston Asaph expressed in Psalm 73 saying, "I envied the arrogant when I saw the prosperity of the wicked. They have no struggles; their bodies are healthy and strong. They are free from the burdens common to man; they are not plagued by human ills. Therefore pride is their necklace; they clothe themselves with violence. From their callous hearts comes iniquity; the evil conceits of their minds know no limits. They scoff, and speak with malice; in their arrogance they threaten oppression. Their mouths lay claim to heaven, and their tongues take possession of the earth. Therefore their people turn to them and drink up waters in abundance. They say, "How can God know? Does the Most High have knowledge?" This is what the wicked are like— always carefree, they increase in wealth." Ps 73:3-12 But when he thought further on this matter, this is what he concluded, "When I tried to understand all this, it was oppressive to me till I entered the sanctuary of God; then I understood their final destiny." Ps 73:16,17

God is gracious to the wicked so that they may turned from their wickedness and repent. He gives them grace - leeway for a time - and time itself for them to reflect on the matter. And it is for this reason the Lord delays his return, just as the judgement against Caanan was delayed 400 years (Gen 15:13-16)  But "The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. He is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance." 2Peter 3:9

However the more grace, the more accountability. Thus for example Paul spoke of those who oppose the propagation of the gospel with hostility and said of them, "They displease God and are hostile to all men  in their effort to keep us from speaking to the Gentiles so that they may be saved. In this way they always heap up their sins to the limit." 1Th 2:15b-16a


The Judgement of Works

Rom 2:6-8 God "will give to each person according to what he has done." To those who by persistence in doing good seek glory, honor and immortality, he will give eternal life. But for those who are self-seeking and who reject the truth and follow evil, there will be wrath and anger.

The quote Paul is using is found in a number of places, both in the Old and New Testaments.

Jer 32:19b You reward everyone according to his conduct and as his deeds deserve.

Proverbs 24:11,12  Rescue those being led away to death; hold back those staggering toward slaughter. If you say, "But we knew nothing about this," does not he who weighs the heart perceive it? Does not he who guards your life know it? Will he not repay each person according to what he has done?"

Mt 16:27  For the Son of Man is going to come in his Father’s glory with his angels, and then he will reward each person according to what he has done.

Re 20:12b  The dead were judged according to what they had done as recorded in the books.

Now there are those who ignore the rest of Romans and simply take these verses out of context preaching a different gospel. They claim that apart from faith in Christ, just seeking God, seeking eternal life, that itself is sufficient to qualify a person for eternal life.  Though in the gospel there is grace is of which Paul will speak of later, here Paul is just speaking of Law, namely that God is judicially obligated to give eternal life to those who do good, and wrath to those who do evil. He's not talking about salvation by faith yet. He's not talking about grace yet.

Likewise on one occasion when a man who considered himself good (Mr 10:17), and on another occasion when a lawyer ask, "What must I do to inherit eternal life?", Jesus didn't answer with the gospel of grace, but rather with the Law. He said, "What is written in the Law?" Luke 10:26 Such is the response to those who think they are good enough to be saved. Such people don't seek grace in view of their guilt. And so the gospel of grace is irrelevant and inapplicable to them, until they come to conviction of sin, which is Paul and Jesus' purpose in speaking to the self-righteous in such  a manner.

But if a person persistently only does good, never committing sin, that person will have earned eternal life. That's the Law. They earn eternal life simply because there is no basis upon which God could judicially condemn them. And those who do evil, will of course suffer God's wrath in accordance with God's judicial nature. What Paul is about to show is that all have sinned and come short of the glory of God, and as such are not qualified to earn eternal life by good behavior.

This is not to say that those who have been justified by grace through faith can then live a lifestyle of sin. But again - in reality, due to the nature of regeneration, there exists no such person (1John 3:9), just as "There is not a righteous man on earth who does what is right and never sins." Ecc 7:20


A Judgement of Jew and Gentile Alike

Rom 2:9,10 There will be trouble and distress for every human being who does evil: first for the Jew, then for the Gentile; but glory, honor and peace for everyone who does good: first for the Jew, then for the Gentile.

Good news for those who do good. But Jesus said, "No one is good— except God alone." Luke 18:19b That being the case, only the bad news is left.

As for the Jew being first, he mentioned this also in Rom 1:16, "I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God for the salvation of everyone who believes: first for the Jew, then for the Gentile." The earliest Christians were Jews. Such Jews didn't "convert" to Christianity, for one can be both a Jew and a Christian, as these were not incompatible with each other. Futhermore Jesus was Jewish. He was the Jewish Messiah prophesied in such places as Isaiah 53. And his apostles and the writers of the New Testament were Jewish. Paul himself came from the strictest sect of Judaism, being a Pharisee. But the gospel of Christ also extends beyond Judaism to embrace all nations. However as the more you know, the more you will be held responsible, so also with the Jews.  In chapter 3 Paul will speak of the advantage of being a Jew, but with advantages come responsibility and consequently accountability. Thus Jesus said, "That servant who knows his master’s will and does not get ready or does not do what his master wants will be beaten with many blows. But the one who does not know and does things deserving punishment will be beaten with few blows. From everyone who has been given much, much will be demanded; and from the one who has been entrusted with much, much more will be asked." Luke 12:47,48


God is Impartial in Judgement

Rom 2:11-13 For there is no partiality with God. For as many as have sinned without law will also perish without law, and as many as have sinned in the law will be judged by the law (for not the hearers of the law are just in the sight of God, but the doers of the law will be justified

Issues of favoritism and prejudice is a theme in the New Testament primarily with regards to the prejudice the Jews had towards the Gentiles. Remember he has yet to present the gospel of grace, which is apart from works. But apart from grace there is a performance based salvation available for "good" people. As for why those who don't have the law will nonetheless be judged, he will speak on shortly.

With regards to the Jews, that is, those who have explicitly heard the law of God, his point is that there is no virtue in merely hearing the law if one does not practice it. It is vain for a Jew to rely upon his Jewishness to save him. "All who rely on observing the law are under a curse, for it is written: 'Cursed is everyone who does not continue to do everything written in the Book of the Law.'" Gal 3:10 


A Judgement of the Conscience

Rom 2:14-16  for when Gentiles, who do not have the law, by nature do the things in the law, these, although not having the law, are a law to themselves, who show the work of the law written in their hearts, their conscience also bearing witness, and between themselves their thoughts accusing or else excusing them) in the day when God will judge the secrets of men by Jesus Christ, according to my gospel.

For this reason those who have never read the scriptures will nonetheless be held accountable, for each is accountable to act in accordance with their conscience. And "Anyone, then, who knows the good he ought to do and doesn‘t do it, sins." Jas 4:17 
And not only with regards to outward behavior. For God will also judge the secrets of the heart. For example, "anyone who looks at a woman lustfully has already committed adultery with her in his heart." Mt 5:28 and "Anyone who hates his brother is a murderer, and you know that no murderer has eternal life in him." 1John 3:15

Now while religious people worldwide may agree with his points so far, here we see something they may not have known. Namely the Jesus Christ will be the judge. "For God has set a day when he will judge the world with justice by the man he has appointed. He has given proof of this to all men by raising him from the dead." Acts 17:31


A Judgement of the Religious Elite

Rom 2:17-20 Now you, if you call yourself a Jew; if you rely on the law and brag about your relationship to God; if you know his will and approve of what is superior because you are instructed by the law; if you are convinced that you are a guide for the blind, a light for those who are in the dark, an instructor of the foolish, a teacher of infants, because you have in the law the embodiment of knowledge and truth—

Jesus and here Paul speak of two classes of people - those who consider themselves right with God based upon being "good" and those who disregard God. Both need to be saved. But the common approach to preparing "good" people for the gospel is to show that they are sinners and thus need to be saved. Here Paul starts to really focus on the religious elite, the self-righteous with the same kind of tone Jesus used with regards to the religious elite to convict them of sin.

Today such is the case not only regards to Jews or Muslims, and even among Christians there are those who rely upon the law to justify them. That is today we could just as well replace the word "Jew" here with "Muslim" or "Christian".

However here he is not saying that these attributes are bad. For example with regards to bragging about one's relationship with God it says, "Let not the wise man boast of his wisdom or the strong man boast of his strength or the rich man boast of his riches, but let him who boasts boast about this: that he understands and knows me, that I am the LORD, who exercises kindness, justice and righteousness on earth, for in these I delight." Jer 9:23,24

With respect to God's will it says, "Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God‘s will is— his good, pleasing and perfect will." Rom 12:2

With respect to being a light it says, "For God, who said, 'Let light shine out of darkness,' made his light shine in our hearts to give us the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Christ." 2Cor 4:6

With regards to teaching it says, "The elders who direct the affairs of the church well are worthy of double honor, especially those whose work is preaching and teaching." 1Tim 5:17 

So all these activities of which he is speaking are commendable.


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015