翻譯:English GB

羅馬書 3:9-31

結論:所有的人在神面前都是有罪的

3:9 這卻怎麼樣呢?我們比他們強嗎?決不是的!
  因我們已經証明:猶太人和希利尼人都在罪惡之下。

3:10 就如經上所記:
  “沒有義人,連一個也沒有﹔

3:11 沒有明白的,沒有尋求神的。
3:12 都是偏離正路,一同變為無用﹔
  沒有行善的,連一個也沒有。”
【詩篇 14:1-3】,
        【詩篇 53:1-3】,【傳道書 7:20】
3:13 “他們的喉嚨是敞開的墳墓,他們用舌頭弄詭詐﹔”【詩篇 5:9】
  “嘴唇埵陪k蛇的毒氣﹔”【詩篇 140:3】
3:14 “滿口是咒罵苦毒﹔”【詩篇 10:7】
3:15 “殺人流血,他們的腳飛跑﹔
3:16 所經過的路,便行殘害暴虐的事﹔
3:17 平安的路,他們未曾知道。”【以賽亞書 59:7-8】
3:18 “他們眼中不怕神。”【詩篇 36:1】
3:19 我們曉得律法上的話都是對律法以下之人說的,
  好塞住各人的口,
  叫普世的人都伏在神審判之下。

3:20 所以,凡有血氣的沒有一個因行律法能在神面前稱義,
  因為律法本是叫人知罪。


3:21 但如今,神的義在律法以外已經顯明出來,
  有律法和先知為証:


3:22 就是神的義,因信耶穌基督,
  加給一切相信的人,
  并沒有分別﹔
3:23 因為世人都犯了罪,虧缺了神的榮耀,
3:24 如今卻蒙神的恩典,
  因基督耶穌的救贖,就白白地稱義。

3:25 神設立耶穌作挽回祭,
  是憑著耶穌的血,借著人的信,要顯明神的義﹔
  因為他用忍耐的心寬容人先時所犯的罪,


3:26 好在今時顯明他的義,
  使人知道他自己為義,也稱信耶穌的人為義。


3:27 既是這樣,哪堹鄏j口呢?沒有可夸的了。
  用何法沒有的呢?是用立功之法嗎?
  不是,乃用信主之法。

3:28 所以(有古卷作“因為”)我們看定了:
  人稱義是因著信,不在乎遵行律法。

3:29 難道神只作猶太人的神嗎?
  不也是作外邦人的神嗎?
  是的,也作外邦人的神。

3:30 神既是一位,他就要因信稱那受割禮的為義,
  也要因信稱那未受割禮的為義。


3:31 這樣,我們因信廢了律法嗎?
  斷乎不是!更是堅固律法。


問題討論

世上有行善的人嗎?(試比較【馬可福音 10:18】
對“善”有什麼不同的理解?
神如何使不在律法之下的人伏在神審判之下?
律法的好處或目的是什麼?
律法是如何使我們知罪的?這為什麼很重要?
從神來的義與律法的義有什麼不同?
“人稱義是因著信,不在乎遵行律法”是什麼意思?

注釋

沒有義人

羅馬書 3:9-12 這卻怎麼樣呢?我們比他們強嗎?決不是的!因我們已經証明:猶太人和希利尼人都在罪惡之下。就如經上所記:“沒有義人,連一個也沒有﹔沒有明白的,沒有尋求神的。都是偏離正路,一同變為無用﹔沒有行善的,連一個也沒有。”

這堜畛羲熙o一點,無論如何強調也不過分,也就是所有的人都在罪之下,因為所有的人都犯了罪。第十節和接下來的幾節充滿了所有人都基于他們的行為犯了罪的証據。我說這一點是因為有人認為神帶著偏見給人定罪,把罪算到那些并沒有真正犯罪的人的身上。但事實并非如此,如果真是那樣的話,那將與神的公義性質相悖。

詩篇的作者寫到:“他們各人都退後,一同變為污穢。并沒有行善的。連一個也沒有。”【詩篇 53:3】他還說:“愚頑人心婸﹛A沒有神。他們都是邪惡,行了可憎惡的事。沒有一個人行善。”【詩篇 14:1】

雖然聖經的確提到過義人。比如:“在耶路撒冷有一個人名叫西面,這人又公義又虔誠,”【路加福音 2:25a】還有詩篇和箴言的作者也經常說到義人與惡人的對比,也說到尋求神。然而這不是相對于完美的標准說的。“有一個官問耶穌說:‘良善的夫子,我該作什麼事才可以承受永生?’耶穌對他說:‘你為什麼稱我是良善的?除了神一位之外,再沒有良善的。’”【路加福音 18:18-19】我們說有些人是“好人”,然而按照神的標准沒有任何人是好人。至于行善和尋求神也同樣。

然而壞的行為是人類的共同特點這個事實使人不禁發問,為什麼會是這樣呢?


說壞話:人的本性

羅馬書 3:13-14
“他們的喉嚨是敞開的墳墓,他們用舌頭弄詭詐﹔”【詩篇 5:9】
“嘴唇埵陪k蛇的毒氣﹔”【詩篇 140:3】
“滿口是咒罵苦毒﹔”【詩篇 10:7】

雖然詩篇的作者用“他們”來指某些人,保羅用這些節來表明人類的特征。耶穌說:“惟獨出口的,是從心媯o出來的,這才污穢人。”【馬太福音 15:18】雅各寫到:“惟獨舌頭沒有人能制伏,是不止息的惡物,滿了害死人的毒氣。我們用舌頭頌贊那為主、為父的,又用舌頭咒詛那照著神形像被造的人。頌贊和咒詛從一個口堨X來,我的弟兄們,這是不應當的。”【雅各書 3:8-10】

這就是人類本性的特征。


暴力和傲慢:人的本性

羅馬書 3:15-18
“殺人流血,他們的腳飛跑﹔所經過的路,便行殘害暴虐的事﹔
平安的路,他們未曾知道。”
【以賽亞書 59:7-8】
“他們眼中不怕神。”【詩篇 36:1】

暴力也是人類本性的特征。事實上歷史書多是關于戰爭。雖然神愛每個人,他并不喜歡每個人。他不喜歡的一類人就是嗜好暴力的人。“耶和華試驗義人,惟有惡人和喜愛強暴的人,他心堳賵c。”【詩篇 11:5】這種罪使我們與神隔絕,不能與神建立起關系。這堜狺猼漸H賽亞書第五十九章是這樣開始的:“耶和華的膀臂并非縮短不能拯救,耳朵并非發沉不能聽見。但你們的罪孽使你們與神隔絕,你們的罪惡使他掩面不聽你們。因你們的手被血沾染,你們的指頭被罪孽沾污。”【以賽亞書 59:1-3a】這是人的本性。

但雖然這有其節果,人有不懼怕神的特征。這堜狺猼爾祧g第三十六章是這樣說的:“惡人的罪過在他心婸﹛G我眼中不怕神。他自夸自媚,以為他的罪孽終不顯露,不被恨惡。”【詩篇 36:1-2】詩篇的作者再一次指的是某一類人,這些其實是整個社會的特征,就每個人來說也不時地是這樣。就如保羅在前面所講的:“他們雖知道神判定行這樣事的人是當死的,然而他們不但自己去行,還喜歡別人去行。”【羅馬書 1:32】人們因為社會,和我們都有的罪性,以及魔鬼的影響,變得對他們的罪性不再敏感。無論是偶爾,還是經常,我們都過多地夸獎自己,無法察覺或恨我們的罪。


律法本是叫人知罪

羅馬書 3:19-20 我們曉得律法上的話都是對律法以下之人說的,好塞住各人的口,叫普世的人都伏在神審判之下。所以,凡有血氣的沒有一個因行律法能在神面前稱義,因為律法本是叫人知罪。

保羅在前面作出結論說每個人在某種意義上都在律法之下。“沒有律法的外邦人若順著本性行律法上的事,他們雖然沒有律法,自己就是自己的律法。這是顯出律法的功用刻在他們心堙A他們是非之心同作見証,并且他們的思念互相較量,或以為是,或以為非。)”【羅馬書 2:14-15】關于什麼是罪,摩西律法說得很明確,然而即使是對摩西律法一無所知的人也曉得一個律法,因而知道什麼是對,什麼是錯,只是所有的人都做不到,因此要為之負責。

律法,無論是摩西律法,還是良心的律法,使人認識到自己的罪性,因為沒有人能夠達到其標准。還有,點一下很明顯的事,他在這塈漈o與錯誤的行為聯系在一起。因為如果不是關于行為的話,律法怎麼能夠使人感知到罪呢?我再一次說到這一點,因為有的人錯誤地認為神會把那些從未做任何壞事的人算作是有罪的。因為讓人為之負責的標准是要把他們的行為與律法進行對比。

保羅之所以花這麼多時間來講律法和罪這個主題,其原因是福音對那些認識不到罪的人無關。因此,特別是對那些自認為是“好人”的人,耶穌特地提到律法,讓他們認識到罪。“有一個律法師起來試探耶穌說:‘夫子,我該作什麼才可以承受永生?’耶穌對他說:‘律法上寫的是什麼?你念的是怎樣呢?’”【路加福音 10:25-26】但一個人只有完全遵行律法才能靠律法得救。問題在于沒有人完全遵行律法,因此在律法之外,必須另有一條得救的道路。


另一條稱義的路

羅馬書 3:21-24 但如今,神的義在律法以外已經顯明出來,有律法和先知為証:就是神的義,因信耶穌基督,加給一切相信的人,并沒有分別﹔因為世人都犯了罪,虧缺了神的榮耀,如今卻蒙神的恩典,因基督耶穌的救贖,就白白地稱義。

我要把這幾節概括為理解羅馬書的關鍵。在律法之下,在神面前稱義取決于一個人的行為。但在福音堙A在神面前稱義不再取決于一個人的行為。在律法之下其實沒有拯救,因為按照行為,所有的人都達不到神關于義的標准。這不是基于所有的人因為他們是誰而有罪,而是因為他們事實上都犯了罪,所以因為惡行而有罪。結果所有的人都不可能按照律法在神面前稱義,因為沒有做到。

但另外有一條在神面前稱義的道路。與以表現為基礎的拯救相對比,這種義是一件禮物。這是白白賜給的,不需要靠做工掙得,保羅將在第三章接下來的部分和第四章更詳細地闡述這一點。“恩典”是這樣一個概念:神寬宏大量地饒恕我們的罪,不要求我們為其付出任何代價,而他自己為我們的罪付出所有的代價。然而,雖然對于我們的行為來說是無條件的,稱義取決于我們信耶穌基督,這個事實將是羅馬書其餘的部分的主題,保羅還在給加拉太的聖徒的信婸﹛G“但聖經把眾人都圈在罪堙A使所應許的福,因信耶穌基督,歸給那信的人。”【加拉太書 3:22】

盡管這條稱義的道路與靠遵守律法稱義的道路不同,摩西律法和先知書都暗示了這條稱義的路。比如,耶利米預言說:耶和華說:“日子將到,我要與以色列家和猶大家另立新約,不像我拉著他們祖宗的手,領他們出埃及地的時候,與他們所立的約。我雖作他們的丈夫,他們卻背了我的約。”這是耶和華說的。耶和華說:“那些日子以後,我與以色列家所立的約乃是這樣:我要將我的律法放在他們堶情A寫在他們心上。我要作他們的神,他們要作我的子民。他們各人不再教導自己的鄰舍和自己的弟兄說:‘你該認識耶和華,’因為他們從最小的到至大的都必認識我。我要赦免他們的罪孽,不再記念他們的罪惡。”這是耶和華說的。【耶利米書 31:31-34】


神的挽回祭

羅馬書 3:25-26 神設立耶穌作挽回祭,是憑著耶穌的血,借著人的信,要顯明神的義﹔因為他用忍耐的心寬容人先時所犯的罪,好在今時顯明他的義,使人知道他自己為義,也稱信耶穌的人為義。

那就是說:“我們借這愛子的血得蒙救贖,過犯得以赦免,乃是照他豐富的恩典。”【以弗所書 1:7】至于這個挽回祭所涉及的范圍:“他為我們的罪作了挽回祭,不是單為我們的罪,也是為普天下人的罪。”【約翰一書 2:2】但得救的條件就是要信基督,其中一個基本的要素就是信他在十字架上所作的挽回工足以付清每個人的罪。

關于顯明他的義,這幾節解釋了一個佯謬。這個佯謬說神會讓一些罪不受到懲罰。然而神是公義的。神的公義性要求為罪付出代價。但為了忍耐,他使一些先前所犯的罪沒有得到懲罰。如果神真像某些假宗教所描寫的那樣,比如伊斯蘭教堛滿妖u主安拉”就沒有神的公義性,因為他不認為有必要為罪付出贖價,或者認為可以把罪大事化小,用人所做的工來付清。但神不把罪大事化小,而且神是公義的。通過十字架,神用他的獨生子代替我們作為罪的挽回祭獻上,以滿足他公義性的要求,這即顯明了他公義的性質,又顯明了他恩慈的性質。

神顯示出他的公義性,因為饒恕不能不為罪付出應有的代價,他執行公義,因為他代替我們為罪付出了代價。保羅對教會的監督們說:“牧養神的教會,就是他用自己血所買來的(或作“救贖的”)。”【使徒行傳 20:28b】


人稱義是因著信,不在乎遵行律法

羅馬書 3:27-28 既是這樣,哪堹鄏j口呢?沒有可夸的了。用何法沒有的呢?是用立功之法嗎?不是,乃用信主之法。所以(有古卷作“因為”)我們看定了:人稱義是因著信,不在乎遵行律法。

這堙A保羅緊接著把話題轉入義不是靠人的努力得來意味著什麼。義不是靠遵守命令得來,不是靠禮儀、慶典,也不是靠按某種准則生活得來。人單單需要信──信基督──得以在神面前稱義。接下來將說到信與作工的區別。事實上信是態度,不是作工。

保羅提醒彼得說:“既知道人稱義不是因行律法,乃是因信耶穌基督,連我們也信了基督耶穌,使我們因信基督稱義,不因行律法稱義,因為凡有血氣的,沒有一人因行律法稱義。”【加拉太書 2:16】

但再回憶一下律法是什麼。律法就是十誡。“有一個律法師起來試探耶穌說:‘夫子,我該作什麼才可以承受永生?’耶穌對他說:‘律法上寫的是什麼?你念的是怎樣呢?’他回答說:‘你要盡心、盡性、盡力、盡意愛主你的神﹔又要愛鄰舍如同自己。’耶穌說:‘你回答的是。你這樣行,就必得永生。’”【路加福音 10:25-28】那是靠遵行律法稱義。那是一個以行為為基礎的拯救。這樣的一個人是靠完美,持久地愛神,愛它人得救的。但那不是人在新約之下如何得救的。按照新約,一個人不是靠愛神和愛它人得救。一個人是靠信耶穌得救。

前者可以因使自己得救夸口。前者可以指著他們自己的善夸口。但那些因靠信基督得救的人不能指著他們所做的工夸口,因為他們得救是因著信,而不是靠做工。


信──對猶太人和外邦人同樣的要求

羅馬書 3:29-31 難道神只作猶太人的神嗎?不也是作外邦人的神嗎?是的,也作外邦人的神。神既是一位,他就要因信稱那受割禮的為義,也要因信稱那未受割禮的為義。這樣,我們因信廢了律法嗎?斷乎不是!更是堅固律法。

關于靠信基督得救,猶太人和外邦人只間沒有區別。彼得說:“我們(猶太人)得救乃是因主耶穌的恩,和他們(外邦人)一樣,這是我們所信的。”【使徒行傳 15:11】他還說:“又借著信,潔淨了他們的心,并不分他們、我們。”【使徒行傳 15:9】同樣,保羅說:“在此并不分希利尼人、猶太人、受割禮的、未受割禮的、化外人、西古提人、為奴的、自主的,惟有基督是包括一切,又住在各人之內。”【歌羅西書 3:11】

但那些相信能夠靠做工得救的人的特征是把神對行為的標准降低到他們自己的標准。那些今天指著律法夸口的猶太人其實自己并不遵行律法。同樣,有些基督徒教派用靠遵行某種律法系統得救來取代靠信基督得救,認為人得救是靠遵從由他們教派的教條所定的標准。

通過造出一條在律法之外使人得救的道路,神的聖潔在律法中得以完全。也就是說神關于聖潔的標准是完美的。因此,與其為罪人降低他的標准,他造了一條完全不同的使罪人得救的路,這就是靠信,而不是人的努力。這樣并不廢除律法,因為如果任何人從不犯罪,那麼他就能在律法之下稱義。然而現實中,除了主耶穌本人以外,沒有這樣的人存在。


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Romans 3:9-31 (web)

Conclusion: All Are Guilty Before God

3:9 What then? Are we better than they? No, in no way.
For we previously charged both Jews and Greeks, that they are all under sin.
3:10 As it is written, "There is no one righteous. No, not one.
3:11 There is no one who understands.
There is no one who seeks after God.
3:12 They have all turned aside.
They have together become unprofitable.
There is no one who does good,
No, not, so much as one."  (Psalms 14:1-3; 53:1-3; Eccles. 7:20)
3:13 "Their throat is an open tomb. (Psalm 5:9)
With their tongues they have used deceit."
"The poison of vipers is under their lips;" (Psalm 140:3)
3:14 "Whose mouth is full of cursing and bitterness."  (Psalm 10:7)
3:15 "Their feet are swift to shed blood.
3:16 Destruction and misery are in their ways.
3:17 The way of peace, they haven't known."  (Isaiah 59:7,8)
3:18 "There is no fear of God before their eyes." (Psalm 36:1)
3:19 Now we know that whatever things the law says,
it speaks to those who are under the law,
that every mouth may be closed,
and all the world may be brought under the judgment of God.
3:20 Because by the works of the law, no flesh will be justified in his sight.
For through the law comes the knowledge of sin.


3:21 But now apart from the law,
a righteousness of God has been revealed,
being testified by the law and the prophets;

3:22 even the righteousness of God through faith in Jesus Christ
to all and on all those who believe.

For there is no distinction,
3:23 for all have sinned, and fall short of the glory of God;
3:24 being justified freely by his grace through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus;
3:25 whom God set forth to be an atoning sacrifice{or, a propitiation},
through faith in his blood, for a demonstration of his righteousness
through the passing over of prior sins, in God's forbearance;
{sacrifice of atonement: "as the one who would turn aside his wrath, taking away sin"}
3:26 to demonstrate his righteousness at this present time;
that he might himself be just, and the justifier of him who has faith in Jesus.

3:27 Where then is the boasting? It is excluded.
By what manner of law? Of works? No, but by a law of faith.

3:28 We maintain therefore that a man is justified by faith apart from the works of the law.
3:29 Or is God the God of Jews only?
Isn't he the God of Gentiles also? Yes, of Gentiles also,
3:30 since indeed there is one God who will justify the circumcised by faith,
and the uncircumcised through faith.

3:31 Do we then nullify the law through faith?
May it never be! No, we establish the law.


Discussion Questions

Are there any good people in the world? (Compare with Mark 10:18)
How might the word "good" be understood differently?
How can God hold accountable those who are not under the law?
What is the benefit or purpose of the law?
How does it make us conscious of sin and why is this essential?
What is different about the righteousness which is from God
and the righteousness which is from the law?
What does it mean that "a man is justified by faith apart from observing the law"?


Comments


There is No One Righteous

Rom 3:9-12  What shall we conclude then? Are we any better? Not at all! We have already made the charge that Jews and Gentiles alike are all under sin. As it is written: "There is no one righteous, not even one,  there is no one who understands, no one who seeks God. All have turned away, they have together become worthless; there is no one who does good, not even one."

An important point to note here, which cannot be emphasized enough, is that he is saying that all are under sin in that all have actually sinned. Verse 10 and following are filled with evidence that all are under sin based upon their behavior. I say this because there those who reckon that God reckons sin prejudicially, reckoning guilt upon those who haven't actually sinned. Such is not only not the case, but in fact would be contrary to God's judicial nature.

The Psalmist writes, "Everyone has turned away, they have together become corrupt; there is no one who does good, not even one." Ps 53:3 And likewise, "There is no one who does good" Ps 14:1

And yet there those the Bible refers to as righteous. For example, "Now there was a man in Jerusalem called Simeon, who was righteous and devout." Lk 2:25a and the Psalms and Proverbs says a great deal about the righteous in contrast with the wicked. So also with regards to seeking God. Yet not so with regards to a perfect standard. "A certain ruler asked him, "Good teacher, what must I do to inherit eternal life?" "Why do you call me good?" Jesus answered. "No one is good— except God alone." Luke 18:18,19 We speak of some people being "good" and yet by God's standard no one is good. And likewise with regards to doing which is right and seeking God.

However the fact that bad behavior universally characterizes the human condition begs the question as to why that is.


Bad Mouthing the Human Condition

Rom 3:13,14
"Their throats are open graves; their tongues practice deceit." (Ps 5:9)
"The poison of vipers is on their lips." (Ps 140:3)
"Their mouths are full of cursing and bitterness." (Ps 10:7)

While by "their" the Psalmist is referring to particular people, Paul is using these verses as indicators of what is typical of the human condition. Jesus said, "the things that come out of the mouth come from the heart, and these make a man ‘unclean.’" Mat 15:18

Such is characteristic of the human condition.


Violence and Arrogance, it's only Human

Rom 3:15-18
"Their feet are swift to shed blood; ruin and misery mark their ways,
and the way of peace they do not know." (Is 59:7,8)
"There is no fear of God before their eyes." (Ps 36:1)

Violence is also characteristic of the human condition. In fact history books are mostly about war. Now much as God loves everyone, he doesn't like everyone. One category of people he doesn't like are those who love violence. "The LORD examines the righteous, but the wicked and those who love violence his soul hates." Ps 11:5  Such sin separates us from having a relationship with God. The quote from Isaiah 59 starts, "Surely the arm of the LORD is not too short to save, nor his ear too dull to hear. But your iniquities have separated you from your God; your sins have hidden his face from you, so that he will not hear. For your hands are stained with blood, your fingers with guilt." Is 59:1-3a Such is the human condition.

But despite the consequences, people characteristically have no fear of God. The quote from Psalm 36 goes, "An oracle is within my heart concerning the sinfulness of the wicked: There is no fear of God before his eyes. For in his own eyes he flatters himself too much to detect or hate his sin." Ps 36:1,2 And again while the Psalmist is referring to a certain category of people, these attributes are characteristic of society in general, and true of each individual from time to time. And as Paul said earlier, "Although they know God’s righteous decree that those who do such things deserve death, they not only continue to do these very things but also approve of those who practice them." Rom 1:32 People become desensitized to their own sinfulness due the influences of society, the sinful nature we all have, and the devil. Whether at times, or in general, we all flatter ourselves too much to detect or hate our sin.


The Law Exposes Sin

Rom 3:19,20 Now we know that whatever the law says, it says to those who are under the law, so that every mouth may be silenced and the whole world held accountable to God. Therefore no one will be declared righteous in his sight by observing the law; rather, through the law we become conscious of sin.

Paul previously concluded that everyone is in some sense under the law. (Indeed, when Gentiles, who do not have the law, do by nature things required by the law, they are a law for themselves, even though they do not have the law, since they show that the requirements of the law are written on their hearts, their consciences also bearing witness, and their thoughts now accusing, now even defending them.) Rom 2:14,15 So while the Law of Moses is rather explicit as to what constitutes sin, even those ignorant of the law of Moses are aware of a law by which the reckon what is right and wrong, of which all also fail to live up to, and consequently are accountable.

Law, whether it be the law of Moses, or the law of the conscience, invokes an awareness of ones sinfulness, because no one lives up to it. Also, to state the obvious, here he's associating sin with misbehavior. For how could law invoke a sense of guilt if not with regards to behavior. I say this again for those who have the misconception that God reckons guilt to those who haven't actually done anything wrong. For the standard by which people are held accountable is with regards to their behavior in comparison to law.

The reason why Paul has spent so much time on the subject of law and sin is because the gospel is not relevant to those who have not been convicted of sin. Thus, particularly to those who reckon themselves "good", Jesus especially brings up the law, so as to convict them of sin.   On one occasion an expert in the law stood up to test Jesus. "Teacher," he asked, "what must I do to inherit eternal life?" "What is written in the Law?" he replied. "How do you read it?" He answered. Luke 10:25,26 But one can only be saved by law if one keeps the law. Problem is no one keeps the law, so there has to be another way to be saved apart from law.


Another Way to Righteousness

Rom 3:21-24 But now a righteousness from God, apart from law, has been made known, to which the Law and the Prophets testify. This righteousness from God comes through faith in Jesus Christ to all who believe. There is no difference,  for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and are justified freely by his grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus.

These verses I would characterize as the key to understanding Romans. Under the law, a righteous standing with God is a function of one's behavior. But under the gospel, one's righteous standing with God is not a function of one's behavior. There is no actual salvation under the law in that all have fallen short of God's standards of righteousness with regards to their behavior. It is not that all are sinners in some positional sense, but rather all have actually committed sin and consequently are guilty due to misbehavior. And consequently all are disqualified from having a righteous standing with God according to law, not having lived up to it.

But there is a different way to obtain a righteous standing with God. In contrast to the performance based salvation, this righteousness is given as a gift. It is something given freely, of which one does not work for, of which Paul will elaborate upon in the rest of Romans chapter 3 and chapter 4. "Grace" is the idea of God magnanimously forgiving our sins, not requiring any payment from us, but rather absorbing the cost of our sins Himself. However, though unconditional with regards to our behavior, this righteousness is condtioned upon faith in Jesus Christ, a fact of which will also be the subject of the rest of Romans, and of which Paul wrote in Galatians, "the Scripture declares that the whole world is a prisoner of sin, so that what was promised, being given through faith in Jesus Christ, might be given to those who believe." Gal 3:22

But much as this way of righteousness is different than that obtained by obedience to the law, the Law of Moses as well as the prophets allude to this second way of righteousness. For example, Jeremiah prophecied, "Behold, the days are coming, says the LORD, when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and with the house of Judah—  not according to the covenant that I made with their fathers in the day that I took them by the hand to lead them out of the land of Egypt, My covenant which they broke, though I was a husband to them, says the LORD.  But this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, says the LORD: I will put My law in their minds, and write it on their hearts; and I will be their God, and they shall be My people. No more shall every man teach his neighbor, and every man his brother, saying, ‘Know the LORD,’ for they all shall know Me, from the least of them to the greatest of them, says the LORD. For I will forgive their iniquity, and their sin I will remember no more." Jeremiah 31:31-34


God's Sacrifice of Atonement

Rom 3:25,26 God presented him as a sacrifice of atonement, through faith in his blood. He did this to demonstrate his justice, because in his forbearance he had left the sins committed beforehand unpunished—  he did it to demonstrate his justice at the present time, so as to be just and the one who justifies those who have faith in Jesus.

That is, "In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the riches of God’s grace" Eph 1:7 And with regards to the extent of his atonement, "He is the atoning sacrifice for our sins, and not only for ours but also for the sins of the whole world." 1John 2:2 But to be qualified to be saved one must put faith in Christ, one essential element of which is putting faith in his atoning work on the cross as being sufficient for the payment for one's sins.

As for the demonstration of his justice, there was a paradox which these verse resolve. The paradox is that God would have been unjust to have left sins unpunished. Yet God is just. God's judicial nature demands payment for sin. But in forbearance he left sins committed beforehand unpunished. This would not be a problem if God were like that described in false religions like Islam in which their god "Allah" does not have the judicial nature of God and as such does not see the necessity of atoning for sin, or else trivializes the payment for sin in terms of human works. But God does not trivialize sin and God is just. It is through the cross that God demonstrated both his judicial nature and his grace by graciously providing the sacrifice of his one and only son in our place to atone for sin so as to appease his own judicial nature.

Thus God demonstrates that he is just in that forgiveness is not granted apart from the payment of the penalty of sin, and he is the justifier in that he paid for sin on our behalf. Paul speaks to overseers of the church saying, "Be shepherds of the church of God, which he bought with his own blood." Acts 20:28b


Justified by Faith apart from Performance

Rom 3:27,28 Where, then, is boasting? It is excluded. On what principle? On that of observing the law? No, but on that of faith. For we maintain that a man is justified by faith apart from observing the law.

Here Paul begins to segue into the implications that this righteousness is not obtain by human effort. It is not obtained by obedience to commands, nor by ritual, ceremony, nor by living up to a certain standard. One is qualified to receive this righteous standing with God simply by faith - by believing in Christ. Much of what will follow with show that faith is distinct from works. In fact faith is an attitude. It is not a work.

Paul reminds Peter, "We know that a man is not justified by observing the law, but by faith in Jesus Christ. So we, too, have put our faith in Christ Jesus that we may be justified by faith in Christ and not by observing the law, because by observing the law no one will be justified." Gal 2:16

But remember again what the Law is. The Law is the 10 commandments. "On one occasion an expert in the law stood up to test Jesus. "Teacher," he asked, "what must I do to inherit eternal life?" "What is written in the Law?" he replied. "How do you read it?"  He answered: "’Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’"  "You have answered correctly," Jesus replied. "Do this and you will live." Luke 10:25-28 That is justification by observing the Law. It is a performance based salvation. Such a person is saved by perfectly and consistently loving God and loving others. But that is not how New Covenant justification works. Under the New Covenant a person is not saved by loving God and loving others. Rather a person is saved by believing in Jesus.

The former could boast of saving themselves. The former could boast of their own goodness. But those who have put their faith in Christ cannot boast of having worked for their salvation, which is by faith and not works.


Faith - the Same Requirement for Jew and Gentile

Rom 3:29-31 Is God the God of Jews only? Is he not the God of Gentiles too? Yes, of Gentiles too, since there is only one God, who will justify the circumcised by faith and the uncircumcised through that same faith. Do we, then, nullify the law by this faith? Not at all! Rather, we uphold the law.

With regards to salvation through faith in Christ, there is no difference between Jew and Gentile. Peter said, "We believe it is through the grace of our Lord Jesus that we (Jews) are saved, just as they (Gentiles) are." Acts 15:11 and "He made no distinction between us and them, for he purified their hearts by faith." Acts 15:9 Likewise Paul said, "Here there is no Greek or Jew, circumcised or uncircumcised, barbarian, Scythian, slave or free, but Christ is all, and is in all." Col 3:11 

But those who believe salvation can be obtained by works characteristically bring down God's standards of behavior to their own. Jews today who boast in the Law don't themselves actually follow the Law. But likewise there are whole Christian denominations who replace salvation through faith in Christ with a system of legalism whereby one is only saved by conforming to the standards set by their denominational dogma.

By making a way of salvation by faith apart from law, the holiness of God is preserved in the Law. Which is to say that God's standard of holiness is perfection. And as such rather than bring down his standards to accommodate sinners, he made a completely different way for sinners to be saved, which is by faith and not by human effort. This does not nullify the law in that if anyone never sins, they are justified under the law. Yet no such person actually exists except the Lord Jesus himself.


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015