翻譯:English GB

羅馬書 5:1-11

被算為義的好處

5:1 我們既因信稱義,

  就借著我們的主耶穌基督得與神相和
5:2 我們又借著他,
  因信得進入現在所站的這恩典中,
  并且歡歡喜喜
  盼望神的榮耀。
5:3 不但如此,就是在患難中也是歡歡喜喜地,
  因為知道患難生忍耐﹔
5:4 忍耐生老練﹔
  老練生盼望﹔

5:5 盼望不至于羞恥,
  因為所賜給我們的聖靈
  將神的愛澆灌在我們心堙C

5:6 因我們還軟弱的時候,
  基督就按所定的日期為罪人死。

5:7 為義人死,是少有的﹔
  為仁人死,或者有敢作的。

5:8 惟有基督在我們還作罪人的時候為我們死,
  神的愛就在此向我們顯明了。


5:9 現在我們既靠著他的血稱義
  就更要借著他免去神的忿怒
5:10 因為我們作仇敵的時候,
  且借著神兒子的死,得與神和好
  既已和好,就更要因他的生得救了。

5:11 不但如此,我們既借著我主耶穌基督得與神和好
  也就借著他以神為樂。


問題討論

稱義究竟意味著什麼?(來自第四章的問題)
一個信徒稱義是將來的事情,還是已經發生的事情?
第1節堛滿圻]信”稱義與第9節堛滿屁a著他的血”稱義有什麼不同?
就我們在神面前的地位和我們的經歷來講,稱義的結果是什麼?
與神和好與心堛漸郎w有什麼不同?
第2節 “盼望神的榮耀”是什麼意思?為什麼它會帶來歡喜?
神是如何顯明對我們的愛的?
第7節 義人與仁人有區別嗎?如果有的話,區別是什麼呢?
你曾經是神的仇敵嗎?
與神和好對你來說意味著什麼?
靠著耶穌的血稱義與從神的忿怒堿@救出來有什麼關系?
我們既靠著耶穌的血稱義,就更要借著他免去的神的忿怒是什麼意思?
這一段經文堛熒妝彌N會如何改變你與其它基督徒、非基督徒,還有神的關系,以及你對生活的意義的理解?

注釋

與神相和

羅馬書 5:1-2 我們既因信稱義,就借著我們的主耶穌基督得與神相和。我們又借著他,因信得進入現在所站的這恩典中,并且歡歡喜喜盼望神的榮耀。

稱義是因著信,而不是靠行為,正如保羅對彼得所講的:“既知道人稱義不是因行律法,乃是因信耶穌基督,連我們也信了基督耶穌,使我們因信基督稱義,不因行律法稱義,因為凡有血氣的,沒有一人因行律法稱義。”【加拉太書 2:16】結果,我們得與神相和。與神相和不只是一種寧靜平安的感覺。雖然那的確也包含在內,如耶穌說:“我留下平安給你們,我將我的平安賜給你們。我所賜的,不像世人所賜的。你們心堣ㄜn憂愁,也不要膽怯。”【約翰福音 14:27】保羅也說:“應當一無挂慮,只要凡事借著禱告,祈求和感謝,將你們所要的告訴神。”【腓立比書 4:6】但更重要的,我們與神相和就結束了我們與神之間的敵對。而這不是因為我們改變了行為或遵守了條例和規則,而我們稱義,得與神相和是因著信,在神的恩典堙A借著耶穌基督,白白地當作禮物接受的。

因為我們已經得以進入神的至聖所,因著信來到神面前,得以進入我們現在所站的這恩典中。其實“現在所站的”更准確地是“現在一直所站的”,因為這個動詞是完成時。因為基督徒站神的恩典中不是隨著時間變化的,而是從他們一開始信主的時候起就一直是這樣。

由于我們在神堛熙o種狀態,因此可以歡歡喜喜盼望神的榮耀的顯現。(這堙妞葑獢角ㄛO想當然,而是對一個人相信將要發生的事的期盼的感覺。)是什麼妨礙你在這件事上歡歡喜喜呢?是不是你不大肯定你已經得了救?是不是有人誤導你,讓你相信你有可能或已經失去了你的救贖?別的不說,要相信福音,并因那白白給你的恩典而歡喜。“因為那應許我們的是信實的。”【希伯來書 10:23b】


受苦的好處

羅馬書 5:3-4 不但如此,就是在患難中也是歡歡喜喜地,因為知道患難生忍耐﹔忍耐生老練﹔老練生盼望﹔

雅各寫到:“我的弟兄們,你們落在百般試煉中,都要以為大喜樂,因為知道你們的信心經過試驗就生忍耐。但忍耐也當成功,使你們成全完備,毫無缺欠。”【雅各書 1:2-4】

耶穌在撒種的寓言堿O這樣描寫好土的:“那落在好土堛滿A就是人聽了道,持守在誠實善良的心堙A并且忍耐著結實。”【路加福音 8:15】結好果子取決于一個人的忍耐。隨著忍耐而來的是成熟。

造就經得起考驗的品德不只是靠學習聖經,還要靠在因把聖經應用到生活埵茖的苦中忍耐,無論是肉身因自制而受的苦,還是面對世界的敵對,或是在靈堥到魔鬼的攻擊而受的苦。在過基督徒的生活時,不可必免地需要忍耐。

但隨著忍耐而來的是經得起考驗的品德,以及隨之而來的堅固的信和聲譽。關于提摩太,保羅寫到:“但你們知道提摩太的明証,他興旺福音,與我同勞,待我像兒子待父親一樣。”【腓立比書 2:22】

一個基督徒的盼望取決于他有多麼相信他的確是一個信徒。如保羅說:“你們總要自己省察有信心沒有,也要自己試驗。豈不知你們若不是可棄絕的,就有耶穌基督在你們心媔隉H”【哥林多後書 13:5】耶穌說:“凡樹木看果子,就可以認出他來。”【路加福音 6:44a】經得起考驗的品德使基督徒有盼望,因為它使一個基督徒相信他的確是一個信徒。保羅這樣對帖撒羅尼迦的聖徒說:“被神所愛的弟兄啊,我知道你們是蒙揀選的﹔因為我們的福音傳到你們那堙A不獨在乎言語,也在乎權能和聖靈,并充足的信心,正如你們知道我們在你們那堙A為你們的緣故是怎樣為人。”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 1:4-5】他接著例數了一系列他們已蒙揀選的証據,其中他提到:“并且你們在大難之中,蒙了聖靈所賜的喜樂,領受真道,就效法我們,也效法了主。”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 1:6】


聖靈,一個保証

羅馬書 5:5 盼望不至于羞恥,因為所賜給我們的聖靈將神的愛澆灌在我們心堙C

很多人把他們的盼望建筑在不確定的事上。但由聖靈所生的盼望──那些信基督的人的歸宿是確保的──則不是這樣。“并且膏我們的就是神。他又用印印了我們,并賜聖靈在我們心塈@憑據(原文作“質”)。”【哥林多後書 1:21b-22】而且,“神將他的靈賜給我們,從此就知道我們是住在他堶情A他也住在我們堶情C”【約翰一書 4:13】“人若沒有基督的靈,就不是屬基督的。”【羅馬書 8:9b】

“羞恥”譯自希臘文“καταιχυνω”,這個詞還用于:“信靠他的人必不至于羞愧。”【羅馬書 9:33b】因此,不要因你在福音堛漪葑璁茞蛪\,而要面對敵對大膽地宣告。因為作這個應許的是信實的,你在基督堛甄k宿是確保的。


基督為罪人死

羅馬書 5:6-8 因我們還軟弱的時候,基督就按所定的日期為罪人死。為義人死,是少有的﹔為仁人死,或者有敢作的。惟有基督在我們還作罪人的時候為我們死,神的愛就在此向我們顯明了。

基督不是為好人而是為罪人死的。如果你認為你是一個好人,那麼基督就不是為你死的。他是為罪人死的。“耶穌聽見,就對他們說:‘健康的人用不著醫生,有病的人才用得著,我來本不是召義人,乃是召罪人。’”【馬可福音 2:17】

關于第七節,雖然保羅在前面說過:“沒有義人,連一個也沒有﹔”【羅馬書 3:10b】還有:“沒有行善的,連一個也沒有。”【羅馬書 3:20b】但有的地方按人的說法這樣說。比如關于巴拿巴經上寫到:“這巴拿巴原是個好人,”【使徒行傳 11:24a】關于約瑟經上說:“她丈夫約瑟是個義人,”【馬太福音 1:19a】但所有都達不到神的標准,因此都需要得到拯救。但如果一個人為另一個人死,你會認為那個他為之而死的一定不是他的敵人。但神的確是如此做的。

第八節回答了很多人也許要問的問題:神是如何顯明他對我們的愛的。在我們還作罪人的時候,基督為我們死,神的愛就在此向我們顯明了。甚至關于保羅個人的經歷,他說:“‘基督耶穌降世,為要拯救罪人。’這話是可信的,是十分可佩服的。在罪人中我是個罪魁,然而我蒙了憐憫,是因耶穌基督要在我這罪魁身上顯明他一切的忍耐,給後來信他得永生的人作榜樣。”【提摩太前書 1:15-16】


從神的忿怒中得救

羅馬書 5:9-11 現在我們既靠著他的血稱義,就更要借著他免去神的忿怒。因為我們作仇敵的時候,且借著神兒子的死,得與神和好﹔既已和好,就更要因他的生得救了。不但如此,我們既借著我主耶穌基督得與神和好,也就借著他以神為樂。

耶穌的血是新約的核心,如他在最後的晚餐上說:“這杯是用我血所立的新約,是為你們流出來的。”【路加福音 22:20a】“所以耶穌要用自己的血叫百姓成聖,也就在城門外受苦。”【希伯來書 13:12】所以,“神設立耶穌作挽回祭,是憑著耶穌的血,借著人的信,要顯明神的義﹔”【羅馬書 3:25a】

因為信徒已經稱義,我們就脫離了將來的忿怒。耶穌說:“我實實在在地告訴你們,那聽我話,又信差我來者的,就有永生,不至于定罪,是已經出死入生了。”【約翰福音 5:24】因為“那位救我們脫離將來忿怒的耶穌。”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 1:10b】“因為神不是預定我們受刑,乃是預定我們借著我們主耶穌基督得救。”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 5:9】

但他說:“更要”是什麼意思呢?如果說基督的血使罪人稱義是可信的,那麼那些與神和好的人就不再是神的敵人,他們的保障就更加地確實,這暗示了永恆保証的教義。假如得救是基于我們自己的行為這個不可靠的基礎,而不是基督的血,我們怎麼可能喜樂呢?


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Romans 5:1-11 (web)

The Benefits of Imputed Righteousness

5:1 Being therefore justified by faith,
we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ;
5:2 through whom we also have our access by faith
into this grace in which we stand.
We rejoice
in hope of the glory of God.
5:3 Not only this, but we also rejoice in our sufferings,
knowing that suffering works perseverance;
5:4 and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope:
5:5 and hope doesn't disappoint us,
because God's love has been poured out into our hearts
through the Holy Spirit who was given to us.
5:6 For while we were yet weak, at the right time Christ died for the ungodly.
5:7 For one will hardly die for a righteous man.
Yet perhaps for a righteous person someone would even dare to die.
5:8 But God commends his own love toward us,
in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.

5:9 Much more then, being now justified by his blood,

we will be saved from God's wrath through him.
5:10 For if, while we were enemies,
we were reconciled to God through the death of his Son,
much more, being reconciled, we will be saved by his life.
5:11 Not only so, but we also rejoice in God through our Lord Jesus Christ,
through whom we have now received the reconciliation.

Discussion Questions

What does it mean to be justified? (Carried over from Chapter 4)
Is the believer's justification a future event or a past event?
What is the difference between being justified "though faith" in vs 1 and "by his blood" vs 9?
What results from our being justified, in terms of our positional status before God and our experience?
How is peace with God different from peace of mind?
vs 2 What is the "hope of glory of God"? Why is it cause for rejoicing now?
How does God demonstrate His love for us?
vs 7 What might be the difference between a righteous man and a good man?
Were you ever an enemy of God?
What does it mean to you to be reconciled to God?
How is being justified by Jesus' blood related to being saved from God's wrath?
Compared to being justified, how much more shall we be saved from God's wrath?
How might the concepts in this section affect your relationships with Christians,
Non-Christians, and God and your priorities in life?


Comments

Peace with God

Rom 5:1,2 Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And we rejoice in the hope of the glory of God.

Justification is by faith and not by works, just a Paul said to Peter, "We know that a man is not justified by observing the law, but by faith in Jesus Christ. So we, too, have put our faith in Christ Jesus that we may be justified by faith in Christ and not by observing the law, because by observing the law no one will be justified." Gal 2:16 Consequently we have peace with God. This peace is not simply a feeling of tranquility. Though it does include that as Jesus said, "Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid." John 14:27 and as Paul said, "Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus." Php 4:6 But more significantly the peace we have with God is an ending of hostility between us and God. And this, not because of a change of behavior or compliance to rules and regulations, but rather this justification, this ending of hostility between us and God is a free gift accepted simply by faith in God's grace though Jesus Christ.

For we have gained access to the throneroom of God, to the presence of God by faith into this grace in which we now stand. Actually "now stand" is more accurately "have been standing" as the verb is in the perfect tense. For a Christian's standing with God is not something which varies from time to time, but has always been the case since they first believed.

Given such a status as we have with God, who can but rejoice in anticipation of the glory yet to be revealed. (Again, "hope" here is not wishful thinking, but rather the feeling of anticipation of that which one believes will occur) What affects your rejoicing in this matter? Is it that you're not sure you have been saved? Is it that someone has misled you into believing you can or have lost your salvation? Rest assured, believe the gospel and rejoice in anticipation of the grace to be give you. "For he who promised is faithful." Heb 10:23


Benefits of Suffering

Rom 5:3,4  Not only so, but we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope.

In his parable of the sower Jesus describes the good soil in this way, "the seed on good soil stands for those with a noble and good heart, who hear the word, retain it, and by persevering produce a crop." Luke 8:15 Producing a good crop is partly a function of one's persevering. And with perseverance comes maturity.

The development of a proven character comes not so much from Bible study, but from enduring through the suffering associated with applying the Bible to life, whether it be the suffering associated with the exercise of self-control over the flesh, or from enduring the opposition from the world, or the spiritual attacks from the devil. It is inevitable that perseverance will be an issue in living the Christian life.

But with endurance comes a proven character, and the confidence and reputation which comes from such. Paul wrote of Timothy, "You know his proven character, that as a son with his father he served with me in the gospel." Php 2:22 

The Christian's hope is a function of how confident they are that they are a believer. So as Paul said, "Examine yourselves to see whether you are in the faith; test yourselves. Do you not realize that Christ Jesus is in you— unless, of course, you fail the test?" 2Cor 13:5, and as Jesus said, "Each tree is recognized by its own fruit." Lk 6:44, a proven character invokes Christian hope in that it gives the Christian the confidence that they are in fact a believer. Thus Paul said to the Thessalonians, "We know, brothers loved by God, that he has chosen you,  because our gospel came to you not simply with words, but also with power, with the Holy Spirit and with deep conviction." 1Th 1:4,5 and he goes on to list the evidences of their being chosen, one of which he mentions, "You became imitators of us and of the Lord; in spite of severe suffering" 1Th 1:6a


The Spirit, a Guarantee

Rom 5:5 And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us.

There are many who with false expectations set their hopes on things of which are uncertain. But not so with regards to the hope inspired by the Holy Spirit of the guaranteed destiny of those who have put their faith in Christ. "He anointed us,
 set his seal of ownership on us, and put his Spirit in our hearts as a deposit, guaranteeing what is to come." 2Cor 1:21b-22 and "we know that we live in him and he in us, because he has given us of his Spirit." 1John 4:13  "And if anyone does not have the Spirit of Christ, he does not belong to Christ." Rom 8:9

The word "disappoint" is Greek word which means "to make ashamed". It's used 12 times in the New Testament in this sense. For example Rom 9:33b "the one who trusts in him will never be put to shame." Therefore don't be ashamed of your hope in the gospel, but rather proclaim it boldly in the face of opposition. For He who has promised is faithful, and your destiny secure in Christ.


Christ Died for the Ungodly

Rom 5:6-8 You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly. Very rarely will anyone die for a righteous man, though for a good man someone might possibly dare to die. But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

Christ didn't die for good people but for the ungodly. If you reckon yourself a good person, it wasn't for you that Christ died. He died for sinners.  Jesus said to them, "It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners." Mk 2:17

As for verse 7,  granted that Paul had previously said, "There is no one righteous, not even one" Rom 3:10 and "there is no one who does good, not even one" Rom 3:12, yet there are such when speaking in human terms. For example of Barnabus it is written, "He was a good man" Acts 11:24a and Joseph "was a righteous man" Mt 1:19b Yet all have fallen short of God's standard and thus in need of salvation. But if one were to die for another, you would think the person they were to die for are not their enemies. But God did.

Verse 8 answers the question many may ask as to how God demonstrates his love for us, God demonstrates his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Even of Paul's personal experience he says, "Here is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance: Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners— of whom I am the worst. But for that very reason I was shown mercy so that in me, the worst of sinners, Christ Jesus might display his unlimited patience as an example for those who would believe on him and receive eternal life." 1Tim 1:15,16


Saved from God's Wrath

Rom 5:9-11 Since we have now been justified by his blood, how much more shall we be saved from God’s wrath through him. For if, when we were God’s enemies, we were reconciled to him through the death of his Son, how much more, having been reconciled, shall we be saved through his life! Not only is this so, but we also rejoice in God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have now received reconciliation.

Jesus' blood is central to the New Covenant as he said at the last supper, "This cup is the new covenant in my blood, which is poured out for you." Lk 22:20 For "Jesus also suffered outside the city gate to make the people holy through his own blood." Heb 13:12 For "God presented him as a sacrifice of atonement, through faith in his blood." Rom 3:25a

And since believers have been justified, we are no longer subject to wrath. Jesus said, "I tell you the truth, whoever hears my word and believes him who sent me has eternal life and will not be condemned; he has crossed over from death to life." John 5:24 For "Jesus, rescues us from the coming wrath." 1Th 1:10b "For God did not appoint us to suffer wrath but to receive salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ." 1Th 5:9

But what does he mean by "how much more"? If it is a trustworthy saying that Christ's blood justifies sinners, how much more certain is the security of those who have been reconciled with God and consequently no longer declared enemies of God, which subtly implies the doctrine of Eternal Security. For how could one rejoice if salvation were on such shaky ground as our own behavior rather than upon faith in his blood?

The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015