翻譯:English GB

羅馬書 7

成為聖潔與律法

7:1 弟兄們,我現在對明白律法的人說:
  你們豈不曉得律法管人是在活著的時候嗎?

7:2 就如女人有了丈夫,丈夫還活著,就被律法約束﹔
  丈夫若死了,就脫離了丈夫的律法。


7:3 所以丈夫活著,她若歸于別人,便叫淫婦﹔

  丈夫若死了,她就脫離了丈夫的律法,
  雖然歸于別人,也不是淫婦。

7:4 我的弟兄們,這樣說來,你們借著基督的身體,在律法上也是死了,
  叫你們歸于別人,就是歸于那從死奡_活的,
  叫我們結果子給神。

7:5 因為我們屬肉體的時候,
  那因律法而生的惡欲就在我們肢體中發動,
  以致結成死亡的果子。


7:6 但我們既然在捆我們的律法上死了,
  現今就脫離了律法,叫我們服事主,
  要按著心靈的新樣,不按著儀文的舊樣
  (“心靈”或作“聖靈”)。

保羅過去在肉身堛爾g歷

7:7 這樣,我們可說什麼呢?
  律法是罪嗎?斷乎不是!
  只是非因律法,我就不知何為罪。
  非律法說:“不可起貪心,”
  我就不知何為貪心。


7:8 然而罪趁著機會,
  就借著誡命叫諸般的貪心在我媕Y發動﹔
  因為沒有律法罪是死的。

7:9 我以前沒有律法是活著的﹔
  但是誡命來到,罪又活了,我就死了。


7:10 那本來叫人活的誡命,反倒叫我死﹔
7:11 因為罪趁著機會,
  就借著誡命引誘我,并且殺了我。

7:12 這樣看來,律法是聖潔的,誡命也是聖潔、公義、良善的。

7:13 既然如此,那良善的是叫我死嗎?
  斷乎不是!叫我死的乃是罪。
  但罪借著那良善的叫我死,就顯出真是罪,
  叫罪因著誡命更顯出是惡極了。

保羅現在所經歷的
基督徒的兩重性

7:14 我們原曉得律法是屬乎靈的,但我是屬乎肉體的,是已經賣給罪了。
7:15 因為我所做的,我自己不明白﹔
  我所愿意的,我并不做﹔我所恨惡的,我倒去做。
7:16 若我所做的是我所不愿意的,
  我就應承律法是善的。
7:17 既是這樣,就不是我做的,乃是住在我媕Y的罪做的。
7:18 我也知道,在我媕Y,就是我肉體之中,沒有良善﹔
  因為立志為善由得我,
  只是行出來由不得我。

7:19 故此,我所愿意的善,我反不做﹔
  我所不愿意的惡,我倒去做。

7:20 若我去做所不愿意做的,
  就不是我做的,乃是住在我媕Y的罪做的。

7:21 我覺得有個律,就是我愿意為善的時候,便有惡與我同在。
7:22 因為按著我堶悸熒N思(原文作“人”),我是喜歡神的律﹔
7:23 但我覺得肢體中另有個律,
  和我心中的律交戰,把我擄去,
  叫我附從那肢體中犯罪的律。

7:24 我真是苦啊!誰能救我脫離這取死的身體呢?
7:25 感謝神,靠著我們的主耶穌基督就能脫離了。

  這樣看來,我以內心順服神的律﹔
  我肉體卻順服罪的律了。


問題討論

在第2-3節奡ㄜ猁疑鬗_婚姻婚姻是終生的原則是不是現在為一般人所接受?
第5節說的似乎是過去的事情。你認為律法是不是仍然能誘發基督徒肉體堛煽c欲?你的經歷是什麼?
按著心靈的新樣服事主與按著儀文的舊樣服事主有什麼不同?
律法是怎麼誘發我們犯罪的?
你在小孩子堿搢儦L這種現像嗎?
保羅說:“我以內心順服神的律﹔我肉體卻順服罪的律了。”是什麼意思?
你現在也是處于這個狀態嗎?
如果你已經由神生,并且向罪死了,那麼你為什麼還犯罪呢?

注釋

至死不分

羅馬書 7:1-3 弟兄們,我現在對明白律法的人說:你們豈不曉得律法管人是在活著的時候嗎?就如女人有了丈夫,丈夫還活著,就被律法約束﹔丈夫若死了,就脫離了丈夫的律法。所以丈夫活著,她若歸于別人,便叫淫婦﹔丈夫若死了,她就脫離了丈夫的律法,雖然歸于別人,也不是淫婦。

婚姻是到死才分手,而不是像有些人錯誤地以為的那樣,離了婚就分手。因此保羅寫到:“丈夫活著的時候,妻子是被約束的。丈夫若死了,妻子就可以自由,隨意再嫁,只是要嫁這在主堶悸漱H。”【哥林多前書 7:39】因為耶穌說:“凡休妻另娶的,就是犯奸淫,辜負他的妻子﹔妻子若離棄丈夫另嫁,也是犯奸淫了。”【馬可福音 10:11-12】他們犯奸淫所辜負的是誰呢?他們的配偶。如果是這樣的話,離婚就不能解除婚姻。的確,這正是保羅在這堜珨〞滿C當時的基督徒很明白,并接受這個概念。因此保羅引用這個原則來給我們講解在基督堛漲菪恁C


與基督結婚

羅馬書 7:4 我的弟兄們,這樣說來,你們借著基督的身體,在律法上也是死了,叫你們歸于別人,就是歸于那從死奡_活的,叫我們結果子給神。

保羅在別處曾把婚姻比作與基督的連合。“因我們是他身上的肢體(有古卷在此有“就是他的骨他的肉”)。為這個緣故,人要離開父母,與妻子連合,二人成為一體。這是極大的奧秘,但我是指著基督和教會說的。”【以弗所書 5:30-32】婚姻本身是按照基督與教會的形像造的。對其一的誤解導致對另一個的誤解。

很多人今天把婚姻看作像參加俱樂部,就如你可以隨時終止你的會員身份一樣,可以隨時從婚姻娷鬙X來。但婚姻不是這樣的。一但一個人結了婚,他就被約束在這個婚姻堙A直到他死為止。無論他們作出任何選擇都不能使他們從婚姻婺挐璆X來。就如一個人一但與基督結婚,沒有任何事可以使他們與基督分開一樣。這就不再是件可以選擇的事。可以選擇的只是你想在這個關系媯畢h少果子。

先前,我們被綁在罪、敗壞和被定罪的律法堙C但對于那個原則來說我們已經死了,因此不再認為我們還受它的約束。我們現在已經與基督結婚,兒女應該是這個關系自然的產品,就如任何婚姻關系一樣。結果子可以代表著使人成為基督徒,或者產生出像神那樣的品質。“撒在好地上的,就是人聽道明白了,後來結實,有一百倍的,有六十倍的,有三十倍的。”【馬太福音 13:23】

耶穌說:“你們多結果子,我父就因此得榮耀,你們也就是我的門徒了。”【約翰福音 15:8】


律法的事奉與屬靈的事奉

羅馬書 7:5-6 因為我們屬肉體的時候,那因律法而生的惡欲就在我們肢體中發動,以致結成死亡的果子。但我們既然在捆我們的律法上死了,現今就脫離了律法,叫我們服事主,要按著心靈的新樣,不按著儀文的舊樣(“心靈”或作“聖靈”)。

關于重生之前,保羅寫到:“你們死在過犯罪惡之中,他叫你們活過來。那時,你們在其中行事為人,隨從今世的風俗,順服空中掌權者的首領,就是現今在悖逆之子心中運行的邪靈。我們從前也都在他們中間,放縱肉體的私欲,隨著肉體和心中所喜好的去行,本為可怒之子,和別人一樣。”【以弗所束 2:1-3】罪性對律法所固有的約束作出激情的反應。這是神引進摩西律法的主要原因。“律法本是外添的,叫過犯顯多﹔”【羅馬書 5:20a】這樣就有可能使罪的問題明顯出來。就像對不以為自己有病的病人一樣,醫生想辦法使征狀更為明顯,這樣病人也許會尋求醫治。

“因為那字句是叫人死,精意是叫人活(“精意”或作“聖靈”)。”【哥林多後書 3:6b】按著心靈的新樣事奉主與按著儀文的舊樣事奉有什麼區別呢?其中之一就是事奉律法的儀文全在于遵從條例。而按著心靈的新樣事奉全在于態度。按照儀文,重要的是你做什麼。而按著心靈,人是在恩典之下,看到復活的盼望,按照新的本質,在聖靈的影響之下行事。


命令引出罪

羅馬書 7:7-8 這樣,我們可說什麼呢?律法是罪嗎?斷乎不是!只是非因律法,我就不知何為罪。非律法說:“不可起貪心,”我就不知何為貪心。然而罪趁著機會,就借著誡命叫諸般的貪心在我媕Y發動﹔因為沒有律法罪是死的。

類似地,保羅曾對人說:“我們若求在基督媞椓q,卻仍舊是罪人,難道基督是叫人犯罪的嗎?斷乎不是!”【加拉太書 2:17】得救的門檻是認識到罪。就如我們在前面學到的:“因為律法本是叫人知罪。”【羅馬書 3:20b】

這不是說如果人不知道律法就不會犯罪。而是說他意識不到他在犯罪。在崇尚“自由”的無法社會堙A很多人認為他們自己是“好人”,因為他們不認為神的標准是義的。但由于罪性所固有的悖逆,律法自然地會引出罪性堛爾o。它是出于自然的還養育出的?當然是自然的!“因為耶和華說:‘我養育兒女,將他們養大,他們竟悖逆我。’”【以賽亞書 1:2】因此,如果主養育兒女,結果他們竟成為悖逆的,那一定是出于自然。


誡命帶來的是死

羅馬書 7:9-11 我以前沒有律法是活著的﹔但是誡命來到,罪又活了,我就死了。那本來叫人活的誡命,反倒叫我死﹔因為罪趁著機會,就借著誡命引誘我,并且殺了我。

在犯罪之前,一個人向神是活著的。但通過罪性,律法誘發了我們堶悸爾o性來使我們犯罪。無論是寫下來的律法,還是在第二章堜珨〞漕}心的律法,律法通過我們的肉身激發我們去犯罪,在我們順從罪性的惡欲時,我們就死了。你也許以為規則和條例是幫助我們變成更好的人,但這卻沒有考慮到罪性對律法的約束的反應。單單靠引進條例不能使一個人變成更好的人。而你最多不過成為那些殺死耶穌的宗教精英。

“你們若是與基督同死,脫離了世上的小學,為什麼仍像在世俗中活著,服從那‘不可拿!不可嘗!不可摸!’等類的規條呢?這都是照人所吩咐、所教導的。說到這一切,正用的時候就都敗壞了。這些規條使人徒有智慧之名,用私意崇拜,自表謙卑,苦待己身,其實在克制肉體的情欲上是毫無功效。”【歌羅西書 2:20-23】


罪使聖潔的敗壞

羅馬書 7:12-13 這樣看來,律法是聖潔的,誡命也是聖潔、公義、良善的。既然如此,那良善的是叫我死嗎?斷乎不是!叫我死的乃是罪。但罪借著那良善的叫我死,就顯出真是罪,叫罪因著誡命更顯出是惡極了。

罪借著良善的行出惡來,而神卻往往借著惡的行出善來。律法的引進是為了要顯出人的邪僻,這引導人尋求對罪的饒恕。“這樣,律法是我們訓蒙的師傅,引我們到基督那堙A使我們因信稱義。”【加拉太書 3:24】

耶穌說:“康健的人用不著醫生,有病的人才用得著。……我來,本不是召義人,乃是召罪人。”【馬太福音 9:12b,13b】在感到你有病之前,你也許不會去尋求醫治。使我們生病的不是律法,律法顯示出我們的病,引我們到基督那奡M求醫治。律法雖然是好的,但其目的不是醫治人的罪。


住在我媕Y的罪

羅馬書 7:14-17 我們原曉得律法是屬乎靈的,但我是屬乎肉體的,是已經賣給罪了。因為我所做的,我自己不明白﹔我所愿意的,我并不做﹔我所恨惡的,我倒去做。若我所做的是我所不愿意的,我就應承律法是善的。既是這樣,就不是我做的,乃是住在我媕Y的罪做的。

“屬乎肉體”譯自希臘文“σαρκικοζ”,其詞根是“σαρξ”,這個詞的在新國際版堭`被譯作“sinful nature”(罪性)。雖然律法是屬靈的,但我們都有罪性,阻礙我們遵行律法。耶穌說:“所有犯罪的就是罪的奴仆。”【約翰福音 8:34b】這樣我們都因我們的罪性成了罪的奴仆,像他將要描述的那樣。

是什麼妨礙我們把好的愿望變成行為呢?“人多述說自己的仁慈,但忠信人誰能遇著呢?”【箴言 20:6】你也許會想象自己是個好人。但在行動上真正地是個好人卻完全是另一回事。事實上我們認為是惡的事我們結果卻去做了。為什麼呢?是的,關于善惡,我們雖然與律法認同,但那并不幫助我們真正去行善。

于此,保羅作出結論說,他的行為在很大程度上是另一個,仿佛是另一個實體,所控制,他把它稱為“罪”,住在他堶情A逼著他去犯罪的。


人無完人

羅馬書 7:18-20 我也知道,在我媕Y,就是我肉體之中,沒有良善﹔因為立志為善由得我,只是行出來由不得我。故此,我所愿意的善,我反不做﹔我所不愿意的惡,我倒去做。若我去做所不愿意做的,就不是我做的,乃是住在我媕Y的罪做的。

這堙A“肉體”譯自希臘文“σαρξ”,在新國際版堙A這個詞在接下來的幾章堣j多被譯成“sinful nature”(罪性),出于很好的原因。因為問題的根源不只是人屬肉身的性質,而是使那個性質生病,以至使罪性成為人的屬性之一的罪。因此有俗語說:“人無完人”。

然而注意到罪性雖然是完全邪僻的,“我肉體之中,沒有良善”,保羅表明一個人不只是住在他堶悸爾o性。因為雖然承認住在他堶悸爾o性沒有良善,但保羅自己在這堛眯w他愿意行善,而且他認識到善與惡之間的區別。

雖然,如耶穌也說:“除了神一位之外,再沒有良善的。”【馬可福音 10:18b】,然而這并不排除那些愿意行善的可能性,(“我所愿意的善……”),可卻不能完美地行出來,這也許是人類經驗堻抭q常的現像。

但我不把第二十節看作是借口,就像亞當把他的罪推到夏娃身上,夏娃把她的罪怪到蛇身上那樣﹔這是在解釋為什麼雖然人不愿意犯罪,結果卻犯了罪。罪性逼著我們去犯罪。這并不能夠否認我們的參與,因此是要為之負責的。我們有三個敵人在阻止我們良善的意愿:世界、罪性、魔鬼。而在這三者之中,其它的兩者有賴于罪性來影響我們的行為。是的,有一個住在我們堶悸犒篘擛O我們最凶惡的敵人。它不是魔鬼。它是我們自己的罪性。


與罪性的爭戰

羅馬書 7:21-23 我覺得有個律,就是我愿意為善的時候,便有惡與我同在。因為按著我堶悸熒N思(原文作“人”),我是喜歡神的律﹔但我覺得肢體中另有個律,和我心中的律交戰,把我擄去,叫我附從那肢體中犯罪的律。

就像被臭鼬噴上惡臭的狗一樣,無論我們跑得多遠,也逃不脫我們罪性的惡臭。或如耶利米說:“古實人豈能改變皮膚呢?豹豈能改變斑點呢?若能,你們這習慣行惡的便能行善了。”【耶利米書 13:23】雖然良善的愿望也許存在,但行善不是人的本性,這就是為什麼,比方說人類的歷史通常可以由其戰爭,而不是由其美善的舉止來概括。

注意到他說到他心中的律,我推測這包括他的意愿,以及他喜歡良善的內心。這是一個有別于罪性的實體,有其自己的愿望。這兩者在相互爭戰。“親愛的弟兄啊,你們是客旅,是寄居的。我勸你們要禁戒肉體的私欲,這私欲是與靈魂爭戰的。”【彼得前書 2:11】這就是基督徒的性質。但這只是把話題轉入存在于那些由神生的人堛熔臚T個實體,這個實體也影響我們的行為,也就是說聖靈的影響,他在這一章早些時候曾介紹說:“現今就脫離了律法,叫我們服事主,要按著心靈的新樣,”【羅馬書 7:6b】


基督徒實現我們良善的意愿

羅馬書 7:24-25 我真是苦啊!誰能救我脫離這取死的身體呢?感謝神,靠著我們的主耶穌基督就能脫離了。這樣看來,我以內心順服神的律﹔我肉體卻順服罪的律了。

信徒的一個共同經歷就是,雖然已經由神生,我們內在的人與我們的罪性的衝突總是存在著。事實上我要說,那些不經歷這種衝突的人只不過是向他們的罪性投了降,無論他們把他們自己看作是多麼的完美無罪。

保羅在這婸〞熔磏鬙峈漪O將來時態,因為他所著眼的是墳墓以後,不再受罪性束縛將來。他現在的經歷是:雖然他的意愿是要事奉神,然而他卻沒有能夠完美地行出他的意愿來。第八章將主要是關于按照聖靈行,而不是按照肉身行。但這始于內心,把我們自己看作是向罪死了,向神活著。(【羅馬書 6:11】

“就要脫去你們從前行為上的舊人,這舊人是因私欲的迷惑漸漸變壞的。又要將你們的心志改換一新,并且穿上新人,這新人是照著神的形像造的,有真理的仁義和聖潔。”【以弗所書 4:22-24】


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Romans 7 (web)

Sanctification and the Law

7:1 Or don't you know, brothers (for I speak to men who know the law),
that the law has dominion over a man for as long as he lives?
7:2 For the woman that has a husband is bound by law to the husband while he lives,
but if the husband dies, she is discharged from the law of the husband.

7:3 So then if, while the husband lives, she is joined to another man,
she would be called an adulteress.

But if the husband dies, she is free from the law,
so that she is no adulteress, though she is joined to another man.

7:4 Therefore, my brothers, you also were made dead to the law through the body of Christ,
that you would be joined to another, to him who was raised from the dead,
that we might bring forth fruit to God.
7:5 For when we were in the flesh, the sinful passions which were through the law,
worked in our members to bring forth fruit to death.

7:6 But now we have been discharged from the law,
having died to that in which we were held;
so that we serve in newness of the spirit, and not in oldness of the letter.
 

Paul's Past Experience
In the Flesh

7:7 What shall we say then? Is the law sin? May it never be! However,
I wouldn't have known sin, except through the law.
For I wouldn't have known coveting,
unless the law had said, "You shall not covet."

7:8 But sin, finding occasion through the commandment,
produced in me all kinds of coveting.
For apart from the law, sin is dead.

7:9 I was alive apart from the law once,
but when the commandment came, sin revived, and I died.

7:10 The commandment, which was for life, this I found to be for death;

7:11 for sin, finding occasion through the commandment,
deceived me, and through it killed me.
7:12 Therefore the law indeed is holy, and the commandment holy, and righteous, and good.

7:13 Did then that which is good become death to me? May it never be!
But sin, that it might be shown to be sin, by working death to me through that which is good;
that through the commandment sin might become exceeding sinful.

Paul's Present Experience 
The Dual Nature of the Christian

7:14 For we know that the law is spiritual, but I am fleshly, sold under sin.
7:15 For I don't know what I am doing.
For I don't practice what I desire to do; but what I hate, that I do.
7:16 But if what I don't desire, that I do,
I consent to the law that it is good.
7:17 So now it is no more I that do it, but sin which dwells in me.
7:18 For I know that in me, that is, in my flesh, dwells no good thing.
For desire is present with me,
but I don't find it doing that which is good.
7:19 For the good which I desire, I don't do;
but the evil which I don't desire, that I practice.
7:20 But if what I don't desire, that I do,
it is no more I that do it, but sin which dwells in me.
7:21 I find then the law, that, to me, while I desire to do good, evil is present.
7:22 For I delight in God's law after the inward man,
7:23 but I see a different law in my members,
warring against the law of my mind,
and bringing me into captivity under the law of sin which is in my members.
7:24 What a wretched man I am! Who will deliver me out of the body of this death?
7:25 I thank God through Jesus Christ, our Lord!

So then with the mind, I myself serve God's law,
but with the flesh, the sin's law.


Questions

Is the principle advocated in vs 2-3 of marriage being a lifelong obligation generally accepted today?
vs 5 is spoken of as if in the past. Would you expect for Christians that their sinful passions in their flesh are still aroused by the law? Is that your experience?
What is the difference between serving in the old way of the written code and the new way of the Spirit?
How does the law provoke us to sin?
Have you seen this effect in children?
What does Paul mean when he says, "I myself in my mind am a slave to God's law,
but in the sinful nature a slave to the law of sin."?
Is this your condition also?
If you have been born of God and died to the law, then why do you sin?

Comments

Till Death Do You Part

Rom 7:1-3
Or do you not know, brethren (for I speak to those who know the law), that the law has dominion over a man as long as he lives? For the woman who has a husband is bound by the law to her husband as long as he lives. But if the husband dies, she is released from the law of her husband. So then if, while her husband lives, she marries another man, she will be called an adulteress; but if her husband dies, she is free from that law, so that she is no adulteress, though she has married another man.

Marriage is till death do you part, not till divorce do you part, as some have misconceived it. Thus Paul writes, "A woman is bound to her husband as long as he lives. But if her husband dies, she is free to marry anyone she wishes, but he must belong to the Lord." 1Cor 7:39 For Jesus said, "Anyone who divorces his wife and marries another woman commits adultery against her. And if she divorces her husband and marries another man, she commits adultery." Mk 10:11,12 Who are they committing adultery against? Their spouse. For this to be the case it must be that divorce does not nullify a marriage. And indeed this is what Paul is saying. And this concept was well understand and accepted among the Christian community. And so Paul drew upon this principle to teach us about freedom in Christ.


Married to Christ

Rom 7:4 So, my brothers, you also died to the law through the body of Christ, that you might belong to another, to him who was raised from the dead, in order that we might bear fruit to God.

Elsewhere Paul had also used the analogy of marriage to being united with Christ. "We are members of his body.  For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and the two will become one flesh. This is a profound mystery— but I am talking about Christ and the church." Eph 5:30-32 Marriage itself was made to be in the image of the relationship between Christ and the church. Misconceptions of one lead to misconceptions concerning the other.

Many people today treat marriage like joining a club, like you can turn in your club membership any time you want, divorcing yourself from the club. But marriage is not like that. Once a person is married, they are bound to stay married till one dies. No choice they make can separate them from that marriage. Likewise once a person is married to Christ, there is nothing that can separate them from Christ. It becomes no longer a matter of choice. But what does become a matter of choice is how fruitful you wish to be in that relationship.

Formerly we were bound to the law of sin, corruption and condemnation. But we died to that principle, and as such should reckon ourselves no longer bound to it. Now being married to Christ, children should be the natural byproduct of that relationship, as with any marriage, whether such offspring be people becoming Christians, or the fruitfulness portrayed in godly character qualities. "The one who received the seed that fell on good soil is the man who hears the word and understands it. He produces a crop, yielding a hundred, sixty or thirty times what was sown." Mt 13:23

Jesus said, "This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples." John 15:8


Legal vs Spiritual Service

Rom 7:5,6 For when we were in the flesh, the sinful passions which were aroused by the law were at work in our members to bear fruit to death.  But now we have been delivered from the law, having died to what we were held by, so that we should serve in the newness of the Spirit and not in the oldness of the letter.

Concerning the pre-regenerate Paul writes, "As for you, you were dead in your transgressions and sins, in which you used to live when you followed the ways of this world and of the ruler of the kingdom of the air, the spirit who is now at work in those who are disobedient. All of us also lived among them at one time, gratifying the cravings of our sinful nature and following its desires and thoughts. Like the rest, we were by nature objects of wrath." Eph 2:1-3 And the sinful nature responds passionately to the restrictions inherent in the law. Which is the main reason God introduced the law of Moses. "The law was added so that the trespass might increase." Rom 5:20a so that the sin problem might be evident. It's like a patient denying being sick, and so the doctor introduces something to make the symptoms more evident so that the patient may seek a cure.

"The letter kills, but the Spirit gives life." 2Cor 3:6b What is the difference between serving in the newness of the Spirit in contrast to that of the oldness of the letter? For one thing, serving the letter of the law is all about conforming to regulations. Serving in the newness of the Spirit is all about attitude. Under the letter what is important is what you do. Under the Spirit what is important is why you do it. Under the letter one operates under fear of condemnation. Under the Spirit one operates under grace in view of the hope of the resurrection and in accordance with a new nature, being influenced by the Holy Spirit.


Commands Invoke Sin

Rom 7:7,8 What shall we say then? Is the law sin? Certainly not! On the contrary, I would not have known sin except through the law. For I would not have known covetousness unless the law had said, "You shall not covet." But sin, taking opportunity by the commandment, produced in me all manner of evil desire. For apart from the law sin was dead.

Similarly Paul once said to people, "If, while we seek to be justified in Christ, it becomes evident that we ourselves are sinners, does that mean that Christ promotes sin? Absolutely not!" Gal 2:17  The threshold to the door of salvation is conviction of sin. And as we learned previously, "through the law we become conscious of sin." Rom 3:20

It is not that he would not have sinned if he was unaware of the law. Rather he would not have realized that he was sinning. In a lawless society devoted to "freedom" are many people who reckon themselves "good" because they don't consider God's standard of righteousness. But given that the sinful nature is inherently rebellious, the law naturally invokes sin within the sinful nature. Is it nature or nurture? It's nature! For the LORD has spoken: "I reared children and brought them up, but they have rebelled against me." Is 1:2 So if the Lord raised children and they nonetheless turn out to be rebellious, it must be nature.


The Commandments Bring Death

Rom 7:9-11 I was alive once without the law, but when the commandment came, sin revived and I died. And the commandment, which was to bring life, I found to bring death. For sin, taking occasion by the commandment, deceived me, and by it killed me.

Prior to committing sin a person is alive to God. But through the sinful nature, the law invokes sin in us coercing us to sin. Regardless of whether that law is written law, or the law of the conscience spoken of in chapter 2, the law provokes us, through the flesh, to sin and so upon acting upon the evil desires of the sinful nature we die. Now you would think that rules and regulations would help us to be better people, but this does not take into account the reaction that sinful nature has to legal restrictions. A person cannot actually become a better person solely through the introduction of regulations. Rather what you end up with at best are the kind of religiously elite people that had Jesus put to death.

"Since you died with Christ to the basic principles of this world, why, as though you still belonged to it, do you submit to its rules: "Do not handle! Do not taste! Do not touch!"? These are all destined to perish with use, because they are based on human commands and teachings. Such regulations indeed have an appearance of wisdom, with their self-imposed worship, their false humility and their harsh treatment of the body, but they lack any value in restraining sensual indulgence." Col 2:20-23 


Sin Corrupts the Holy

Rom 7:12,13 Therefore the law is holy, and the commandment holy and just and good. Has then what is good become death to me? Certainly not! But sin, that it might appear sin, was producing death in me through what is good, so that sin through the commandment might become exceedingly sinful.

Sin does evil through what is good, whereas God often does good through that which is evil. The introduction of the law was for the purpose of revealing human depravity which would lead one to seek for forgiveness of sins. "Therefore the law was our tutor to bring us to Christ, that we might be justified by faith." Gal 3:24

Jesus said, "It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners." Mt 9:12 You might not seek a doctor until you feel you are sick. While the law does not make us sick, it reveals the sickness in us and so leads us to Christ to seek healing. The Law, while it is good, is not for the purpose of curing people from sin.


Inhabited by a Sinful Nature

Rom 7:14-17 For we know that the law is spiritual, but I am carnal, sold under sin. For what I am doing, I do not understand. For what I will to do, that I do not practice; but what I hate, that I do. If, then, I do what I will not to do, I agree with the law that it is good. But now, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells in me.

"carnal" is "fleshly" (sarkikos), the root word being "sarx" in Greek, which is the same word often translated "sinful nature". While the law is spiritual, we all have a sinful nature that gets in the way of following the law. And as Jesus said "everyone who sins is a slave to sin." John 8:34, so also we are enslaved to sin through our sinful nature as he will describe.

What gets in the way of our good intentions turning into actions? "Most men will proclaim each his own goodness, But who can find a faithful man?" Pr 20:6 You might imagine yourself a good person. But actually being a good person in action is quite different thing. In fact the very thing that we consider evil are the very things that we end up doing. Why is that? Yes, we agree with the law with regards to good and evil. But that does not help us in actually doing good.

Consequently Paul concludes that his actions are largely controlled by another, as if a separate entity, which he labels "sin", lives in him coercing him to sin.


To Err is Human

Rom 7:18-20 For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh) nothing good dwells; for to will is present with me, but how to perform what is good I do not find. For the good that I will to do, I do not do; but the evil I will not to do, that I practice. Now if I do what I will not to do, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells in me.

"flesh" (sarx) here is translated "sinful nature" in the NIV as it is in most cases in these next few chapters, and for good reason. For it is not merely the physical nature of man which is the problem, but rather sin which has infested that nature so as to make a sinful nature part of human nature, and thus the saying, "To err is human".

However notice that while the sinful nature is total depraved in that "nothing good dwells in me", yet Paul indicates  that a man is more than just that sinful nature which abides in him. For while acknowledging that nothing good dwells in his sinful nature, yet Paul himself here affirms that he intends good, and that he recognizes the distinction between good and evil.

While, as Jesus also says, "No one is good— except God alone." Mk 10:18, yet such does not exclude the possibility of those who intend to do good, ("For the good that I will to do ...") and yet fail to perfectly carry it out, which is likely the most common case among human experience.

But I don't view verse 20 as an excuse, much as Adam blamed Eve and Eve blamed the serpent for their sinning; but rather as an explanation as to why people unintentionally end up sinning. The sinful nature coerces us to sin. This is not to deny our being complicit in the matter and thus culpable. But we have three enemies which are working against our good intentions - the world, the sinful nature, and the devil - and of these, the sinful nature is what the other two grab hold of to influence our behavior. Yes, there's an entity which dwells in all of us which is our worst enemy. It isn't the devil. It's our own sinful nature.


Battling the Sinful Nature

Rom 7:21-23 So I find this law at work: When I want to do good, evil is right there with me. For in my inner being I delight in God’s law; but I see another law at work in the members of my body, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within my members.

Like a dog who got sprayed by a skunk, no matter how far we run we cannot escape the stench of our sinful nature. Or as Jeremiah says, "Can the Ethiopian change his skin or the leopard its spots? Neither can you do good who are accustomed to doing evil." Jer 13:23  While the good intention may be present, it is not in the nature of man to do good, which is why for example history is most commonly cataloged according to its wars rather than according to its virtuous actions.

Notice that he speaks of the law of his mind, of which I would infer includes his intentions, and his inner being which delights in that which is good. Such is a distinct entity from the sinful nature, which has a mind of its own. These two are in conflict with each other. "Dear friends, I urge you, as aliens and strangers in the world, to abstain from sinful desires, which war against your soul." 1Peter 2:11 Such is the nature of the Christian. But this is just a segue into the subject of a third entity which exists in those born of God which also influences our behavior, namely the influence of the Holy Spirit of which he introduced earlier in this chapter saying, "we have been released from the law so that we serve in the new way of the Spirit" Rom 7:6b


Christ Actualizes Our Good Intentions

Rom 7:24-25 O wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death? I thank God——through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, with the mind I myself serve the law of God, but with the flesh the law of sin.

The common experience among believers is that, despite being born of God, there is a constant conflict between our inner man and that of our sinful nature. In fact I would say that those who don't experience such a conflict have merely surrendered to their sinful nature, regardless of how sinlessly perfect they reckon themselves to be.

The deliverance Paul speaks of here is in the future tense as he looks forward to what lies beyond the grave no longer be encumbered by the sinful nature. His present experience is that while he intentionally serves God, yet he fails to perfectly carry out his intentions. Chapter 8 will be primarily about walking in accordance with the Spirit in contrast to that of walking in accordance to the flesh. But it starts in the mind, reckoning ourselves dead to sin and alive to God. (Rom 6:11)

"Put off, concerning your former conduct, the old man which grows corrupt according to the deceitful lusts, and be renewed in the spirit of your mind, and that you put on the new man which was created according to God, in true righteousness and holiness." Eph 4:22-24

The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Feb 19,2011